DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art as applied fails to teach the “maintaining of negative pressure during and after removal of the sheath from the chest tube. Applicant argues that Aho, as applied fails to teach removing the sheath from the chest tube while the chest tube remains in place inside the body and while suction to the chest tube is maintained, and Karpiel further fails to remedy this, as the examiner does not specifically point out where in Karpiel that it is taught that the sheath is removed while the tube remains in place while suction is maintained. The examiner notes that one having ordinary skill in the art would find that the prior art does teach this limitation. For clarity the examiner has updated the rejection to better explain the examiner’s position.
Mathis is applied to teach the required structure and steps of inserting a needle, inserting a guidewire via the needle, removing the needle, dilating the track along the guidewire, advancing an insertion apparatus (sheath) along the guidewire, translating the apparatus, removing the guidewire, removing a stylet, and then inserting a chest tube, where the chest tube applies suction to the space. The examiner notes that thus, while the sheath remains in the body, suction is applied. Aho was combined with Mathis to teach the use of local anesthesia. Karpiel was brought in to teach that chest tube sheaths are known in the art to be splitable to aid in the removal process while not disturbing other inserted structures. Therefore, as the chest tube drainage structure of Mathis is inserted into the outer sheath, and Karpiel teaches that sheaths are removable during use while not disturbing inserted structures (in this case the defined drainage structure), one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the removal of the sheath would occur before, during, and after suction is being applied.
Arguments regarding new claims regarding Hart are found to be nonpersuasive as although applicant argues the seals of Hart are not free of the lumen and distal end of the sheath body, figure 7 and 8 show the seals moving independently of the lumen and thus are interpreted to be free of the lumen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathis et al. US 2006/0167416, hereafter Mathis, in view of Hart et al. US 2005/0216028, Aho et al. US 2017/0360290, Karpiel US 5320602, and Lazarus et al. US 4351333, hereafter Hart, Aho, Karpiel, and Lazarus, respectively, where Hart is provided in the IDS.
Regarding claim 8, Mathis discloses
A method of inserting a chest tube into a chest cavity of a patient (Fig. 19 (see sheet 26 of 28), figure 21 where the anatomic location is the chest, para. 0082); inserting and advancing a needle over a top edge of a target rib of the patient into a pleural space (para. 0014, where the pleural layers are pierced with any chest procedure) of the chest cavity until air or fluid is aspirated (para. 0143). The examiner notes that per paragraph 0143, Mathis discloses that the device disclosed may be used with the Seldinger method. The Seldinger method is disclosed to consist of steps of inserting a needle into the patient, inserting a guidewire through and past the distal end of the needle, withdrawing the needle, enlarging the puncture site (if desired), advancing an outer sheath over the guidewire toward the target site, removing the guidewire, and inserting the steerable member. The examiner notes that each of these steps is detailed in paragraph 0143 and are disclosed to be useable with the device of Mathis.
Therefore Mathis further discloses inserting a guidewire into the pleural space of the chest cavity via the needle (para. 0143, inserting guidewire through distal end of needle), and removing the needle (0143) from the inserted guidewire; dilating a tract that runs along the guidewire (enlarging the puncture site and guidewire pathway, where para 0098 details that the sheath may act as a dilator) and advancing a chest tube insertion apparatus along the guidewire (advancing outer sheath), translating the chest tube insertion apparatus along the guidewire until the distal tip of the stylet is located within the pleural space of the chest cavity of the patient (positioning the outer sheath device in the desired location, where previously the desired location was disclosed to be a chest cavity, and where the steerable device may be a stylet (abstract)), and removing the guidewire (removing the guidewire post outer sheath insertion); positioning the chest tube insertion apparatus in the pleural opening oriented to a desired direction for chest tube insertion (positioning outer sheath device in the desired location), and removing the stylet (para. 0099, where the steerable device (previously disclosed to be a stylet) is removed); inserting a chest tube through the lumen of the sheath body to a desired distance past the tapered tube clamp at the distal end of the sheath body (para. 0099, where after the stylet is removed and replaced with a suction source);
Mathis further discloses the structure of the chest tube insertion apparatus comprising a sheath (figure 4a-e, outer sheath (110)) having a stylet installed in the sheath (steerable member (120) disclosed to be a stylet per abstract), the sheath including a sheath body having a distal end and a proximal end (wherein the distal end is interpreted as the insertion end and the proximal end is opposite), a sheath lumen defined axially through the sheath body from the distal end to the proximal end of the sheath (lumen (112)), the stylet having a distal tip (104) and a proximal tip (102), and a stylet lumen defined axially through the stylet from the distal tip to the proximal tip of the stylet (stylet lumen (122) seen in figure 4E);
Mathis however fails to teach that the device comprises a tapered tube clamp at the distal end of the sheath body.
Hart teaches a surgical access device comprising a tubular member and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Hart teaches that the device comprises an elongated body (figure 7,8 (105)) through which an instrument is inserted into (figure 7 showing a large instrument (200) and figure 8 showing a small instrument (250), para. 0065). The elongated body is tapered at an end to facilitate placement through a body wall (para. 0011) and comprises, at the insertion end, a sealing component consisting of seals (140 and 120) to prevent backflow (para. 0064). As seen in figure 7 and 8, these seals (disclosed per para. 0064 as duckbill seals) are interpreted as a clamp at the tapered end. Therefore to aid in placement of a tubular access device into the body and to prevent backflow through the access device, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the tubular access device of Mathis with a taper and tube clamp at the distal end.
Mathis however fails to specifically disclose the administering a local anesthesia to the patient within the boundaries of the surgical site and connecting an end of the chest tube that remains outside of the patient to a suction operated pleural drainage system and applying suction to the chest tube at an appropriate negative pressure for reflating a lung of the patient or evacuating fluid from the chest cavity and confirming the chest tube is in a desired position and the chest tube is functional.
Aho teaches a chest tube insertion device and method and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Aho teaches that the device may be used in the pleural space (para. 0023) where the device and operation consists of inserting a tube into said space, attaching the tube to a suction device, and removing air from the space, allowing the lung to re-expand (para. 0023, see also figure 1 (tube (110) and suction source (120), para. 0026). Aho additionally teaches that said procedures are commonly done under local anesthesia (para. 0023). The examiner notes that the removal of fluid and reinflating of the lung is interpreted as confirmation of the tube being in the correct position and function. Should applicant disagree, Aho teaches that the determination of the chest tube being positioned properly is dependent on a detected pressure level (figure 2 (250). Therefore as Aho discloses that chest tube insertion in the pleural space is typically done under local anesthesia, and comprises steps of connecting a suction tube to an external suction source to aid in removal of air and/or fluid from the lungs in order to re-inflate the lungs, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the suction tube disclosed in Mathis to an external suction source to aid in fluid removal, as well as provide local anesthesia for the procedure.
Mathis further fails to explicitly disclose removing the chest tube insertion sheath from the chest tube while the chest tube remains in place inside the body and while suction to the chest tube is maintained.
Karpiel teaches an insertion guide and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Karpiel teaches that said insertion guide may consist of a sheath or catheter, where said sheath is longitudinally splitable to aid in the removal process, where said splitable sheath splits away from a guidewire or inserted material (Column 1, lines 14-23). Per column 4, lines 14-20, the device of Karpiel is disclosed to have two longitudinal grooves cut into the outer surface of the catheter (or sheath per column 1 citation) to facilitate the removal of said catheter (sheath) without disturbing the placement of the guidewire (or other inserted material per column 1 citation). Therefore as Karpiel teaches that external sheaths for insertable material during surgical procedures commonly have tearable lines for removal of the sheath without disturbing the inserted material’s function, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Mathis with two longitudinal grooves to facilitate removal of the sheath after insertion of the suction tube. The examiner notes that as clarified under the response the arguments, Mathis teaches that while the sheath remains in the body, suction is applied. Karpiel teaches that chest tube sheaths are known in the art to be splitable to aid in the removal process while not disturbing other inserted structures. Therefore, as the chest tube drainage structure of Mathis is inserted into the outer sheath, and Karpiel teaches that sheaths are removable during use while not disturbing inserted structures (in this case the defined drainage structure), one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the removal of the sheath would occur before, during, and after suction is being applied.
Mathis however fails to discloses applying a sterile cleaning and draping to a surgical site on the patient.
Lazarus teaches a fluid treatment surgical access device and method of operation and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention (abstract). Lazarus teaches that for the operation, an area of the skin is prepared for the device by cleaning it with an antiseptic agent, and after cleaning a body drape is applied to leave a patch of prepared skin ready for operation. After which, a local anesthesia is applied. Therefore, as Lazarus teaches that access devices for fluid treatment comprises steps of preparing a patient for the operation including, cleaning the skin, covering the patient with a drape to provide a small window of prepared skin for access, and applying local anesthesia, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to, for the device of Mathis, prepare a patient in the same manner due to Mathis also disclosed a fluid treatment access device.
The examiner notes that in response to the amendments to the claims filed 09/01/25, Hart reads to the claimed limitations as per the previous rejection of claim 12. As detailed above under the same rejection, it was found obvious to modify the distal end opening of Mathis to comprise a taper and duckbill seals to prevent backflow. As seen in figure 7 and 8 of Hart, these seals are plural ((120 and 140) disclosed per para. 0064 as duckbill seals) and are interpreted and angled radially inward as seen in said figures, due to the inward caving of said seals. Per the abstract and as detailed under para. 0088 of Hart, the duckbill seals are occlusive with regard to the object within the space between the opposing seals. Therefore as there is a complete seal formed and occlusion of the object between the two seals, it is interpreted that the seals provide resistance to axial movement. The examiner further notes that per paragraph 0066 of Hart, the seals comprise an orifice through which an appropriate instrument is entered through. Per para. 0068, the end of the instrument is moved through said orifice (145) “appropriately without distorting the sensitive orifice”. Therefore as the seals are configured to occluded an object within the space between both seals and prevent the instrument from distorting the orifice between the seals, it is interpreted that axial movement of the chest tube is resisted by the seals, interpreted as clamps, due resisting the movement (distortion) of the chest tube in relation to the insertion device. Further, per paragraph 0070, Hart teaches that the seals provide strict requirements regarding friction, drag, and durability. Therefore as the seals provide friction to the instrument (as the instrument passes through the seals) it is interpreted that the friction provides at least some resistance in movement of the instrument.
Claim(s) 9-12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathis in view of Hart, Aho, Karpiel and Lazarus, and further in view of Dubrul US 5454790, hereafter Dubrul.
Regarding claim 9, Mathis, Hart, Aho, Karpiel, and Lazarus teach
The method of claim 8, wherein the sheath further comprises: a collar positioned at the proximal end of the sheath body; a first handle disposed on the collar; and a second handle disposed on the collar opposite the first handle. The examiner notes that although the previously described figure 4 of Mathis does not have explicit disclosure of a sheath collar, Mathis figure 8 discloses a control mechanism for the sheath comprising a sheath knob (614), seen to comprise outwardly extending portions configured to be gripped and thus rotating the knob (para. 0120). Therefore it would have been obvious to modify the proximal end of the device of figure 4 to comprise the sheath knob to allow for rotational control of the device.
Should applicant disagree with this interpretation, a secondary rejection is provided in view of Dubrul.
Dubrul teaches a catheterization access device and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Dubrul teaches that the device comprises an outer sleeve assembly (Fig. 19 (114)) comprising handle (134), where said handle is interpreted to be two separate handles due to the splitting line (136) separating the handles. Further, per column 8, lines 35-40, the handle is splitable and is thus interpreted as two handles at the proximal end of the sheath. The first handle is interpreted as the left handle (from the figure) and the second handle is interpreted as the right handle. Per column 8, lines 35-40, the handles are preferably splitable to allow the outer sheath to be easily removable. Therefore, as it was found obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date, under the rejection of claim 8, to provide Mathis with a splitable, removable outer sheath, it would have further been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the splitable line through the handles to further facilitate removal of the device.
Regarding claim 10, Mathis, Hart, Aho, Karpiel, Lazarus and Dubrul teach
The method of claim 9, wherein positioning the chest tube insertion apparatus includes rotating the chest tube insertion apparatus inside the pleural opening via the first handle and the second handle positioned on the proximal end of the sheath body. The examiner notes that as detailed under the rejection of claim 9, Mathis discloses an outer sheath knob for rotating the device, and thus reads to the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 11, Mathis, Hart, Aho, Karpiel, Lazarus and Dubrul teach
The method of claim 10, wherein the chest tube insertion apparatus further comprises a first fracture line and a second fracture line, wherein the first fracture line is a first groove on the sheath body extending from the distal end to the proximal end of the sheath body, and the second fracture line is a second groove on the sheath body extending from the distal end to the proximal end of the sheath body. The examiner notes that as detailed under the rejection of claim 8, per column 4, lines 14-20, the device of Karpiel is disclosed to have two longitudinal grooves cut into the outer surface of the catheter (column 1 of Karpiel, lines 14-20) to facilitate the removal of said catheter (sheath) without disturbing the placement of the guidewire (or other inserted material column 1 of Karpiel, lines 14-20). Per the rejection of claim 8, it was found obvious to combine said teachings with the device of Mathis.
Regarding claim 12, Mathis, Hart, Aho, Karpiel, Lazarus and Dubrul teach
The method of claim 11, wherein the tapered tube clamp of the chest tube insertion apparatus further comprises one or more clamp tabs angled radially inward toward the distal end opening and operable to provide resistance to axial movement of the chest tube relative to the chest tube insertion device. Per the claim 8 rejection of Mathis in view of Hart, it was found obvious to modify the distal end opening of Mathis to comprise a taper and duckbill seals to prevent backflow. As seen in figures 6, 7, and 8 of Hart, these seals are plural ((120 and 140) disclosed per para. 0064 as duckbill seals) and are interpreted and angled radially inward as seen in said figures, due to the inward caving of said seals, and are further interpreted to be angled toward a distal end, as said seals can be seen extending toward or along the distal opening (figure 6). The examiner notes that this inward extension, best seen in figure 6 shows the seals extending inward away from the sheath wall, and forming an orifice (145). Therefore as the seals can be seen extending away from and off of the wall, it is interpreted that the seals are extending free of the sheath body relative to a first ( interpreted as the longitudinal axis of the device).
Regarding claim 14, Mathis, Hart, Aho, Karpiel, Lazarus and Dubrul teach
The method of claim 11, further comprising separating the sheath from the chest tube by splitting the sheath body along the first and second fracture lines and removing sheath body. The examiner notes that as detailed under the rejection of claim 8, per column 4, lines 14-20, the device of Karpiel is disclosed to have two longitudinal grooves cut into the outer surface of the catheter (column 1 of Karpiel, lines 14-20) to facilitate the removal of said catheter (sheath) without disturbing the placement of the guidewire (or other inserted material column 1 of Karpiel, lines 14-20). Per the rejection of claim 8, it was found obvious to combine said teachings with the device of Mathis.
Regarding claim 20, Mathis, Hart, Aho, Karpiel, Lazarus and Dubrul teach
The method of claim 12, wherein each of the plurality of clamp tabs are separated from each other, prior to insertion of the chest tube past the distal end of the sheath body, by a clamp tab gap (Hart para. 0065, figure 9). The examiner notes that as detailed under the rejection of claim 8, the seals of Hart are duckbill valves and are interpreted to be the clamps. The examiner notes that as seen in the figures (6-10) said duckbill valve comprises slits (130 figure 9-10, see also figures 32-33), interpreted to be gaps between the tabs of the valve (tabs interpreted as being the sections on each side of the slit). Per figures 9-10 said slits are seen to overlap with the opening (145), through which an instrument is extended through for treatment. As such it is interpreted that the instrument would pass through said slits. Per paragraph 0065, when an instrument is placed through the lumen, deformation of the seals (interpreted clamps) occurs to allow the instrument to pass through. As such, it is interpreted that the seals are flexible, based on their ability to deform to structures passing through them. Therefore, as the seals comprise gaps to aid in their sealing function, where said seals are flexible when receiving an instrument through them, it is interpreted that the structure of Hart, found obvious to combine under the rejection of claim 8 would read to the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathis in view of Hart, Aho, Karpiel, Lazarus, Dubrul, and further in view of To US 2011/0098531, hereafter TO.
Regarding claim 13, Mathis, Hart, Aho, Karpiel, Lazarus and Dubrul teach
The method of claim 12, but fails to specifically teach the method further comprising obtaining a portable chest X-ray.
TO teaches a cannula accessing system and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. TO teaches, per paragraph 0126, that the device may be used with various chest related procedures, where later, the cannula may be removed and an x-ray may be taken to check for a pneumothorax. Based on the x-ray a determination is made is chest tube drainage may be required. Therefore as TO teaches that x-rays may be used in combination with chest drainage operations to determine treatment progress, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a step of acquiring an x-ray to determine treatment progress in the method Mathis Hart, Aho, Karpiel, Lazarus and Dubrul.
Claim(s) 21,23-26,28-30,33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathis in view of Hart, Aho, and Karpiel.
Regarding Claim 21, Mathis discloses a method of inserting a chest tube into a chest cavity of a patient,
(Fig. 19 (see sheet 26 of 28), figure 21 where the anatomic location is the chest, para. 0082): inserting a guidewire into a pleural space of a chest cavity of a patient (para. 0143). The examiner notes that per paragraph 0143, Mathis discloses that the device disclosed may be used with the Seldinger method. The Seldinger method is disclosed to consist of steps of inserting a needle into the patient, inserting a guidewire through and past the distal end of the needle, withdrawing the needle, enlarging the puncture site (if desired), advancing an outer sheath over the guidewire toward the target site, removing the guidewire, and inserting the steerable member. The examiner notes that each of these steps is detailed in paragraph 0143 and are disclosed to be useable with the device of Mathis.
Therefore Mathis discloses inserting a guidewire into the pleural space of the chest cavity (para. 0143)
advancing a chest tube insertion apparatus over the guidewire (advancing outer sheath), the chest tube insertion apparatus comprising a sheath (figure 4a-e, outer sheath (110)) having a stylet (steerable member (120) disclosed to be a styler per abstract) installed in the sheath (figure 4a-e, para. 0143), the sheath including a sheath body having a distal end and a proximal end (wherein the distal end is interpreted as the insertion end and the proximal end is opposite), a sheath lumen defined axially through the sheath body from the distal end to the proximal end of the sheath (lumen (112)), the stylet having a distal tip (104) and a proximal tip (102), and a stylet lumen defined axially through the stylet from the distal tip to the proximal tip of the stylet (stylet lumen (122) seen in figure 4E);
Mathis however fails to teach that the device comprises a tapered tube clamp at the distal end of the sheath body.
Hart teaches a surgical access device comprising a tubular member and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Hart teaches that the device comprises an elongated body (figure 7,8 (105)) through which an instrument is inserted into (figure 7 showing a large instrument (200) and figure 8 showing a small instrument (250), para. 0065). The elongated body is tapered at an end to facilitate placement through a body wall (para. 0011) and comprises, at the insertion end, a sealing component consisting of seals (140 and 120) to prevent backflow (para. 0064). As seen in figure 7 and 8, these seals (disclosed per para. 0064 as duckbill seals) are interpreted as a clamp at the tapered end. Therefore to aid in placement of a tubular access device into the body and to prevent backflow through the access device, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the tubular access device of Mathis with a taper and tube clamp at the distal end.
Mathis further discloses translating the chest tube insertion apparatus along the guidewire until the distal tip of the stylet is located within the pleural space of the chest cavity of the patient, and removing the guidewire (removing the guidewire post outer sheath insertion, see above under the same rejection, para. 0143); positioning the chest tube insertion apparatus in the pleural opening oriented to a direction for chest tube insertion (positioning the outer sheath device in the desired location, where previously the desired location was disclosed to be a chest cavity, and where the steerable device may be a stylet (abstract) para. 0143), and removing the stylet (para. 0099, where the steerable device (previously disclosed to be a stylet) is removed) inserting a chest tube through the lumen of the sheath body to a distance past the tapered tube clamp at the distal end of the sheath body (para. 0099, where after the stylet is removed and replaced with a suction source).
The examiner notes that while inserting the suction source is the application of suction, it is not specifically stated that said source involves connecting an end of the chest tube that remains outside of the patient to a suction operated pleural drainage system.
Aho teaches a chest tube insertion device and method and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Aho teaches that the device may be used in the pleural space (para. 0023) where the device and operation consists of inserting a tube into said space, attaching the tube to a suction device, and removing air from the space, allowing the lung to re-expand (para. 0023, see also figure 1 (tube (110) and suction source (120), para. 0026). Therefore as Aho discloses that chest tube insertion in the pleural space comprises steps of connecting a suction tube to an external suction source to aid in removal of air and/or fluid from the lungs in order to re-inflate the lungs, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the suction tube disclosed in Mathis to an external suction source to aid in fluid removal. Doing so would merely require combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, that being applying suction to a drainage tube, and thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Mathis further fails to explicitly disclose removing the chest tube insertion sheath from the chest tube while the chest tube remains in place inside the body and while suction to the chest tube is maintained.
Karpiel teaches an insertion guide and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Karpiel teaches that said insertion guide may consist of a sheath or catheter, where said sheath is longitudinally splitable to aid in the removal process, where said splitable sheath splits away from a guidewire or inserted material (Column 1, lines 14-23). Per column 4, lines 14-20, the device of Karpiel is disclosed to have two longitudinal grooves cut into the outer surface of the catheter (or sheath per column 1 citation) to facilitate the removal of said catheter (sheath) without disturbing the placement of the guidewire (or other inserted material per column 1 citation). Therefore as Karpiel teaches that external sheaths for insertable material during surgical procedures commonly have tearable lines for removal of the sheath without disturbing the inserted material’s function, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Mathis with two longitudinal grooves to facilitate removal of the sheath after insertion of the suction tube. The examiner notes that as clarified under the response the arguments, Mathis teaches that while the sheath remains in the body, suction is applied. Karpiel teaches that chest tube sheaths are known in the art to be splitable to aid in the removal process while not disturbing other inserted structures. Therefore, as the chest tube drainage structure of Mathis is inserted into the outer sheath, and Karpiel teaches that sheaths are removable during use while not disturbing inserted structures (in this case the defined drainage structure), one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the removal of the sheath would occur before, during, and after suction is being applied.
The examiner notes that regarding the limitation requiring applying suction while the tapered tube clamp resists axial movement of the chest tube relative to the insertion device, the examiner notes that as detailed above under the same rejection, it was found obvious to modify the distal end opening of Mathis to comprise a taper and duckbill seals to prevent backflow. As seen in figure 7 and 8 of Hart, these seals are plural ((120 and 140) disclosed per para. 0064 as duckbill seals) and are interpreted and angled radially inward as seen in said figures, due to the inward caving of said seals. Per the abstract and as detailed under para. 0088 of Hart, the duckbill seals are occlusive with regard to the object within the space between the opposing seals. Therefore as there is a complete seal formed and occlusion of the object between the two seals, it is interpreted that the seals provide resistance to axial movement. The examiner further notes that per paragraph 0066 of Hart, the seals comprise an orifice through which an appropriate instrument is entered through. Per para. 0068, the end of the instrument is moved through said orifice (145) “appropriately without distorting the sensitive orifice”. Therefore as the seals are configured to occluded an object within the space between both seals and prevent the instrument from distorting the orifice between the seals, it is interpreted that axial movement of the chest tube is resisted by the seals, interpreted as clamps, due resisting the movement (distortion) of the chest tube in relation to the insertion device. Further, per paragraph 0070, Hart teaches that the seals provide strict requirements regarding friction, drag, and durability. Therefore as the seals provide friction to the instrument (as the instrument passes through the seals) it is interpreted that the friction provides at least some resistance in movement of the instrument.
Regarding claim 23, Mathis, Hart, Aho, and Karpiel teach the method of claim 21, wherein the tapered tube clamp includes a plurality of clamp tabs extending, relative to a first axis defined by the sheath lumen, free of the lumen and the distal end of the sheath body. Per the claim 21 rejection of Mathis in view of Hart, it was found obvious to modify the distal end opening of Mathis to comprise a taper and duckbill seals to prevent backflow. As seen in figures 6, 7, and 8 of Hart, these seals are plural ((120 and 140) disclosed per para. 0064 as duckbill seals) and are angled radially inward as seen in said figures, due to the inward caving of said seals, and are further interpreted to be angled toward a distal end, as said seals can be seen extending toward or along the distal opening (figure 6). The examiner notes that this inward extension, best seen in figure 6 shows the seals extending inward away from the sheath wall, and forming an orifice (145). Therefore as the seals can be seen extending away from and off of the wall, it is interpreted that the seals are extending free of the sheath body relative to a first ( interpreted as the longitudinal axis of the device).
Regarding claim 24, Mathis, Hart, Aho, and Karpiel teach the method of claim 23,wherein the plurality of clamp tabs are angled radially inward toward the first axis defined by the sheath lumen. The examiner notes that per the rejection of claim 23, the clamp tabs of the prior art are angled radially inward toward the first axis defined by the sheath lumen.
Regarding claim 26, Mathis discloses a method of inserting a chest tube into a chest cavity of a patient (Fig. 19 (see sheet 26 of 28), figure 21 where the anatomic location is the chest, para. 0082) comprising: inserting a guidewire into a pleural space of a chest cavity of a patient (para. 0143). The examiner notes that per paragraph 0143, Mathis discloses that the device disclosed may be used with the Seldinger method. The Seldinger method is disclosed to consist of steps of inserting a needle into the patient, inserting a guidewire through and past the distal end of the needle, withdrawing the needle, enlarging the puncture site (if desired), advancing an outer sheath over the guidewire toward the target site, removing the guidewire, and inserting the steerable member. The examiner notes that each of these steps is detailed in paragraph 0143 and are disclosed to be useable with the device of Mathis.
Therefore Mathis discloses inserting a guidewire into the pleural space of the chest cavity (para. 0143)
advancing a chest tube insertion apparatus over the guidewire (advancing outer sheath), the chest tube insertion apparatus comprising a sheath (figure 4a-e, outer sheath (110)) having a stylet (steerable member (120) disclosed to be a styler per abstract) installed in the sheath (figure 4a-e, para. 0143), the sheath including a sheath body having a distal end and a proximal end (wherein the distal end is interpreted as the insertion end and the proximal end is opposite), a sheath lumen defined axially through the sheath body from the distal end to the proximal end of the sheath (lumen (112)), the stylet having a distal tip (104) and a proximal tip (102), and a stylet lumen defined axially through the stylet from the distal tip to the proximal tip of the stylet (stylet lumen (122) seen in figure 4E);
Mathis however fails to teach that the device comprises a tapered tube clamp at the distal end of the sheath body.
Hart teaches a surgical access device comprising a tubular member and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Hart teaches that the device comprises an elongated body (figure 7,8 (105)) through which an instrument is inserted into (figure 7 showing a large instrument (200) and figure 8 showing a small instrument (250), para. 0065). The elongated body is tapered at an end to facilitate placement through a body wall (para. 0011) and comprises, at the insertion end, a sealing component consisting of seals (140 and 120) to prevent backflow (para. 0064). As seen in figure 7 and 8, these seals (disclosed per para. 0064 as duckbill seals) are interpreted as a clamp at the tapered end. Therefore to aid in placement of a tubular access device into the body and to prevent backflow through the access device, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the tubular access device of Mathis with a taper and tube clamp at the distal end.
Mathis further discloses translating the chest tube insertion apparatus along the guidewire until the distal tip of the stylet is located within the pleural space of the chest cavity of the patient, and removing the guidewire (removing the guidewire post outer sheath insertion, see above under the same rejection, para. 0143); positioning the chest tube insertion apparatus in the pleural opening oriented to a direction for chest tube insertion (positioning the outer sheath device in the desired location, where previously the desired location was disclosed to be a chest cavity, and where the steerable device may be a stylet (abstract) para. 0143), and removing the stylet (para. 0099, where the steerable device (previously disclosed to be a stylet) is removed) inserting a chest tube through the lumen of the sheath body to a distance past the tapered tube clamp at the distal end of the sheath body (para. 0099, where after the stylet is removed and replaced with a suction source).
The examiner notes that while inserting the suction source is the application of suction, it is not specifically stated that said source involves connecting an end of the chest tube that remains outside of the patient to a suction operated pleural drainage system.
Aho teaches a chest tube insertion device and method and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Aho teaches that the device may be used in the pleural space (para. 0023) where the device and operation consists of inserting a tube into said space, attaching the tube to a suction device, and removing air from the space, allowing the lung to re-expand (para. 0023, see also figure 1 (tube (110) and suction source (120), para. 0026). Therefore as Aho discloses that chest tube insertion in the pleural space comprises steps of connecting a suction tube to an external suction source to aid in removal of air and/or fluid from the lungs in order to re-inflate the lungs, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the suction tube disclosed in Mathis to an external suction source to aid in fluid removal. Doing so would merely require combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, that being applying suction to a drainage tube, and thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Mathis further fails to explicitly disclose removing the chest tube insertion sheath from the chest tube while the chest tube remains in place inside the body and while suction to the chest tube is maintained.
Karpiel teaches an insertion guide and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Karpiel teaches that said insertion guide may consist of a sheath or catheter, where said sheath is longitudinally splitable to aid in the removal process, where said splitable sheath splits away from a guidewire or inserted material (Column 1, lines 14-23). Per column 4, lines 14-20, the device of Karpiel is disclosed to have two longitudinal grooves cut into the outer surface of the catheter (or sheath per column 1 citation) to facilitate the removal of said catheter (sheath) without disturbing the placement of the guidewire (or other inserted material per column 1 citation). Therefore as Karpiel teaches that external sheaths for insertable material during surgical procedures commonly have tearable lines for removal of the sheath without disturbing the inserted material’s function, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Mathis with two longitudinal grooves to facilitate removal of the sheath after insertion of the suction tube. The examiner notes that as clarified under the response the arguments, Mathis teaches that while the sheath remains in the body, suction is applied. Karpiel teaches that chest tube sheaths are known in the art to be splitable to aid in the removal process while not disturbing other inserted structures. Therefore, as the chest tube drainage structure of Mathis is inserted into the outer sheath, and Karpiel teaches that sheaths are removable during use while not disturbing inserted structures (in this case the defined drainage structure), one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the removal of the sheath would occur before, during, and after suction is being applied.
The examiner notes that regarding the limitation requiring applying suction while the tapered tube clamp resists axial movement of the chest tube relative to the insertion device, the examiner notes that as detailed above under the same rejection, it was found obvious to modify the distal end opening of Mathis to comprise a taper and duckbill seals to prevent backflow. As seen in figure 7 and 8 of Hart, these seals are plural ((120 and 140) disclosed per para. 0064 as duckbill seals) and are interpreted and angled radially inward as seen in said figures, due to the inward caving of said seals. Per the abstract and as detailed under para. 0088 of Hart, the duckbill seals are occlusive with regard to the object within the space between the opposing seals. Therefore as there is a complete seal formed and occlusion of the object between the two seals, it is interpreted that the seals provide resistance to axial movement. The examiner further notes that per paragraph 0066 of Hart, the seals comprise an orifice through which an appropriate instrument is entered through. Per para. 0068, the end of the instrument is moved through said orifice (145) “appropriately without distorting the sensitive orifice”. Therefore as the seals are configured to occluded an object within the space between both seals and prevent the instrument from distorting the orifice between the seals, it is interpreted that axial movement of the chest tube is resisted by the seals, interpreted as clamps, due resisting the movement (distortion) of the chest tube in relation to the insertion device. Further, per paragraph 0070, Hart teaches that the seals provide strict requirements regarding friction, drag, and durability. Therefore as the seals provide friction to the instrument (as the instrument passes through the seals) it is interpreted that the friction provides at least some resistance in movement of the instrument.
Mathis in view of Hart (as previously applied) teaches, as seen in figures 6, 7, and 8 of Hart, these seals are plural ((120 and 140) disclosed per para. 0064 as duckbill seals) and are angled radially inward as seen in said figures, due to the inward caving of said seals, and are further interpreted to be angled toward a distal end, as said seals can be seen extending toward or along the distal opening (figure 6). The examiner notes that this inward extension, best seen in figure 6 shows the seals extending inward away from the sheath wall, and forming an orifice (145). Therefore as the seals can be seen extending away from and off of the wall, it is interpreted that the seals are extending free of the sheath body relative to a first ( interpreted as the longitudinal axis of the device).
Regarding claim 28, Mathis, Hart, Aho, and Karpiel teach the method of claim 26, wherein the plurality of clamp tabs are angled radially inward toward a distal end opening of the sheath lumen. The examiner notes that per the rejection of claim 23, the clamp tabs of the prior art are angled radially inward toward the first axis defined by the sheath lumen. However, in an alternate embodiment of Hart, as seen in figure 8, the tapered end narrows (thus is angled radially inward) toward the distal end of the catheter. Therefore, as Hart teaches that the clamp tabs may have multiple suitable positionings including tapering toward the proximal or distal end, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the tabs angled inwardly toward the distal end of the device. Doing so would merely require the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, that being forming a clamp on the tube, and thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding claim 29, Mathis, Hart, Aho, and Karpiel teach the method of claim 26, wherein the plurality of clamp tabs are angled radially inward toward a distal end opening of the sheath lumen. The examiner notes that per the rejection of claim 23, the clamp tabs of the prior art are angled radially inward toward the first axis defined by the sheath lumen.
Regarding claim 30, Mathis, Hart, Aho, and Karpiel teach the method of claim 26, wherein each of the plurality of clamp tabs are separated from each other by a clamp tab gap or a plurality of clamp tab gaps. The examiner notes that (120) of Hart was cited to teach one of the clamp tabs. The examiner notes that figure 34 further depicts a duckbill valve where flaps 126 and 127 are separated from one another by a slit (130). The examiner notes that this slit, as it is not part of the flaps is interpreted as a gap between a plurality of tabs, where the tabs together form the valve (120). The examiner notes that the valve (120) as a whole also functions as a tab, as detailed previously. Therefore, it is interpreted that the flaps (126 and 127) are also tabs, where said tabs are separated by a gap. Further, a different depiction of the valve seen in figure 32 depicts slits in the duckbill valve (see para. 0087). Therefore, as Hart teaches that the duckbill valves (clamp tabs) have a slit (thus a gap) separating individual flaps it is interpreted that the clamps tabs are separated by a gap.
Should applicant disagree with this interpretation the examiner provides an alternate interpretation in that the clamp tabs seen in figure 7 are on opposite sides of the sheath body, the body space between the tabs is a “gap” in the tabs. The space is interpreted to be a gap as it is a portion connecting between tabs that does not have a tab.
Regarding claim 33, Mathis, Hart, Aho, and Karpiel teach the method of claim 26, wherein the tapered tube clamp further includes a clamp tab hinge, wherein the clamp tab hinge is disposed on the distal end of the sheath body, and wherein the clamp tab hinge is positioned between the distal end of the sheath
body and the plurality of clamp tabs. From the examiner’s understanding, the clamp tab hinge is a portion of the tab that connects the tab to the sheath body (per applicant disclosure figure 8c [hinge 42]). The examiner notes that as previously cited, Hart teaches the clamp tabs (120 and 140) in figure 7, where said tabs (Seals) deforms the tabs. The examiner notes that the portion at which the defined tabs of Hart connect to the body are interpreted as the hinge, and thus the prior art reads to the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathis in view of Hart, Aho, and Karpiel, and further in view of Dubrul.
Regarding claim 25, Mathis, Hart, Aho, and Karpiel teach the method of claim 21, wherein the sheath further comprises: a collar positioned at the proximal end of the sheath body; a first handle disposed on the collar; and a second handle disposed on the collar opposite the first handle. The examiner notes that although the previously described figure 4 of Mathis does not have explicit disclosure of a sheath collar, Mathis figure 8 discloses a control mechanism for the sheath comprising a sheath knob (614), seen to comprise outwardly extending portions configured to be gripped and thus rotating the knob (para. 0120). Therefore it would have been obvious to modify the proximal end of the device of figure 4 to comprise the sheath knob to allow for rotational control of the device.
Should applicant disagree with this interpretation, a secondary rejection is provided in view of Dubrul.
Dubrul teaches a catheterization access device and is thus considered analogous to the claimed invention. Dubrul teaches that the device comprises an outer sleeve assembly (Fig. 19 (114)) comprising handle (134), where said handle is interpreted to be two separate handles due to the splitting line (136) separating the handles. Further, per column 8, lines 35-40, the handle is splitable and is thus interpreted as two handles at the proximal end of the sheath. The first handle is interpreted as the left handle (from the figure) and the second handle is interpreted as the right handle. Per column 8, lines 35-40, the handles are preferably splitable to allow the outer sheath to be easily removable. Therefore, as it was found obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date, under the rejection of claim 8, to provide Mathis with a splitable, removable outer sheath, it would have further been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the splitable line through the handles to further facilitate removal of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22,27,31-32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 22 and 27 the prior art of record fails to teach the method further comprising sliding the sheath along the chest tube before removing the sheath from the chest tube. The examiner notes that the opposite is done. Per Mathis, the sheath remains in place where a suction source such as a syringe or other is inserted into the tube. Per the other prior art, the same technique is applied, where an existing sheath has a suction component insert (and translated along) the sheath. The sheath itself is not moving. Further the sheaths, specifically with regard to Karpiel, are not slid, rather are separated apart to move and therefore it would be unclear from the combination of arts, how the sheath would be slid along a suction tube when the sheath is meant to remain in place and be separated into pieces to be removed. Due to said combination being applied, one of ordinary skill in the art would not reasonably apply this method step to the prior art combination.
Regarding claim 31, the examiner notes that the clamp tab gaps were rejected under claim 30, however the prior art fails to teach wherein the plurality of clamp tab gaps are separated from each other prior to insertion of the chest tube past the distal end of the sheath body. While the examiner points out the distinct slits in the valves (where the slits are interpreted as a gap), the gap or gaps (Seen In figure 32) are not separated from one another prior to insertion of the tube. At best the tube causes the gaps to be separated, as the device is a valve and thus would remain closed in its standing state. Further paragraph 0088 further states that the gaps are filled with silicone or other materials for allowing the separate lip portions to form a seal. As such the prior art fails to read to the claimed invention and further would not have been obvious to modify to meet the claimed limitation as it would require a complete reconstruction of Hart using a different means for a clamp than the valve provided.
Claim 32 depends from claim 31 and is thus objected to for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW WRUBLESKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/ARIANA ZIMBOUSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781