DETAILED ACTION
In a communication received on 3 December 2025, the applicants amended claims 1, 3, 7, 8, 12, 14, 17, 18, 20, and 21 and added claims 22-28.
Claims 1-3, 7, 8, 12-14, 17, 18 and 20-28 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 8, 12, 14, 17, 18, 20, and 21-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8, 12, 17, 18, 20-22, 24, 25 and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2015/0326738 A1) in view of Duan (US 2007/0189297 A1), and further in view of Noldus (US 2008/0293386 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Li (2015) discloses: a charging method performed by a charging function apparatus (i.e., online charging system in Li (2015), ¶0044), comprising:
receiving a first charging request sent by a charging trigger function apparatus (i.e., CTF sends request message, CCR, to the OCS in Li (2015), ¶0043, ¶0094)
wherein the first charging request carries both a parameter of one-time event charging (i.e., requests have attribute value pairs; supporting one-stage event based charging via a single one-time request in Li (2015), ¶0043, ¶0065)
and a parameter of an event charging processing mode (i.e., request indicates the charging mode to the OCS in attribute value pairs (AVP) that may be defined for transporting online charging information in Li (2015), ¶0043, ¶0065, ¶0082, ¶0093),
the parameter of one-time charging indicating whether there is a subsequent third charging request (i.e., indicates a two-stage charging wherein an initial requests indicates desired units to reserve, followed by another request indicating units actually consumed in Li (2015), ¶0065),
a first value of the event charging processing mode parameter indicating that a type of the one-time event is direct deduction (i.e., one-stage and two-stage charging functionally require debiting the account; the request corresponds with a direct debit in Li (2015), ¶0065);
determining the event charging processing mode is the direct deduction based on the first value of the event charging processing mode parameter in the first charging request from the charging trigger function apparatus (i.e., performing direct debit of an account based on request including immediate event charging; AVPs can explicitly indicate charging information discussed above in Li (2015), ¶0065, ¶0093);
performing rating based on the first charging request (i.e., returning a rating output as monetary or non-monetary units in Li (2015), ¶0044), and
performing deduction from an account balance of a user based on a rating result (i.e., determine account balance of user and debit the account in Li (2015), ¶0061, ¶0065)
receiving a second charging request for the event charging service, wherein the second charging request comprises indication information indicating to refund a deduction amount in the direct deduction performed by using the first charging request (i.e., if usage cannot be performed, CTF communicates with OCS to refund the account of the user; AVPs indicating online charging information in requests in Li (2015), ¶0065, ¶0093);
refunding the deduction amount to the account balance of the user. (i.e., subsequent request to refund the user in Li (2015), ¶0065).
Li (2015) discloses defined AVPs and corresponding Charging ID (¶0087, ¶0095). Li (2015) do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Duan, in order to improve reuse of session identifier for corresponding mapped rules (¶0022), discloses: and an identifier of a first event charging resource (i.e., providing allocated session identifier to requester; when requesting again the session identifier is reused in Duan, ¶0022, ¶0051).
Based on Li (2015) in view of Duan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Duan to improve upon those of Li (2015) in order to improve reuse of session identifier for corresponding mapped rules.
Li (2015) discloses refunding on failure corresponding to the account debit (¶0065). Li (2015) and Duan do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Noldus, in order to refund the costs of failed transmission in a short message (¶0037), discloses:
and the identifier of the first event charging resource is used to determine the deduction amount in the direct deduction performed by using the first charging request the identifier of the first event charging resource is obtained from a charging response for the first charging request (i.e., calculating a refund amount from failed transaction by referencing call detail records corresponding to a short message identifier for the failed delivery in Noldus, ¶0011);
determining, based on the identifier of the first event charging resource, the deduction amount in the direct deduction performed by using the first charging request (i.e., requests service record identifier to calculate refund according to the corresponding previous transmission in Noldus, ¶0037, ¶0040).
Based on Li (2015) in view of Duan, and further in view of Noldus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Noldus to improve upon those of Li (2015) in order to refund the costs of failed transmission in a short message.
With respect to claim 7, the limitation(s) of claim 7 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 7 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1. Li (2015) further discloses: a charging method performed by a charging trigger function apparatus, comprising:
determining that a charging event of an event charging service occurs; (i.e., CTF detects chargeable events triggered on service request in Li (2015), ¶0031)
determining that the event charging service fails to be performed; and (i.e., if the resource usage cannot be performed CTF communicates to refund the user account in Li (2015), ¶0065)
sending a second charging request for the event charging service, wherein the second charging request comprises indication information used to indicate to refund a deduction amount in the direct deduction performed by using the first charging request and the identifier of the first event charging resource (i.e., requesting the refund after failure of resource usage; the refund corresponds to an amount deducted by the initial request; further CTF can also indicate the amount used such that the original reserved resource and the actual used can be compared in Li (2015), ¶0065).
Li (2015) discloses refunding on failure corresponding to the account debit (¶0065). Li (2015) and Duan do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Noldus, in order to refund the costs of failed transmission in a short message (¶0037), discloses: the identifier of the first event charging resource is configured to be used to determine the deduction amount in the direct deduction performed by using the first charging request (i.e., short message identifier is used to correlate and calculate how much of charged amount is refunded in Noldus, ¶0011-0012).
Based on Li (2015) in view of Duan, and further in view of Noldus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Noldus to improve upon those of Li (2015) in order to refund the costs of failed transmission in a short message.
With respect to claim 8, Li (2015) discloses: the method according to claim 7, wherein the first charging request is for creating the first event charging resource, and:
the parameter of one-time event charging indicates that there is no subsequent charging request for the first event charging resource (i.e., one-time one-stage direct debit of user account for service in Li (2015), ¶0065),
or
the parameter of one-time event charging indicates that there is a subsequent charging request for the first event charging resource. (i.e., indicating a refund or indicating an amount of actual used resources compared to reserved resources in Li (2015), ¶0065).
With respect to claim 12, the limitation(s) of claim 12 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1.
With respect to claim 17, the limitation(s) of claim 17 are similar to those of claim(s) 7. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 7.
With respect to claim 18, the limitation(s) of claim 18 are similar to those of claim(s) 8. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 8.
With respect to claim 20, the limitation(s) of claim 20 are similar to those of claim(s) 1 and 7. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1 and 7.
With respect to claim 21, the limitation(s) of claim 21 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 21 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1, 7, and 8.
With respect to claim 22, Li (2015) discloses: the method according to claim 1, further comprising: returning a first charging response for the first charging request to the charging trigger function apparatus (i.e., returning a credit control answer, CCA, with credit result in Li (2015), ¶0095)
Li (2015) discloses defined AVPs and corresponding Charging ID (¶0087, ¶0095). Li (2015) do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Duan, in order to improve reuse of session identifier for corresponding mapped rules (¶0022), discloses: wherein the first charging response carries the determined first event charging processing mode (i.e., indicating the charging rule and corresponding session ID in Duan, ¶0058).
Based on Li (2015) in view of Duan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Duan to improve upon those of Li (2015) in order to improve reuse of session identifier for corresponding mapped rules.
With respect to claim 24, Li (2015) discloses: the method according to claim 1, wherein the first charging request further comprises a retransmission determining parameter (i.e., Charging ID combines application ID, code, and session id in Li (2015), ¶0087).
Li (2015) discloses one stage charging for immediate event charging as a one-time request corresponding to direct debit (¶0065). Li (2015) do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Duan, in order to improve context by establishing session and a corresponding state machine for reusing session context information (¶0023), discloses: and the method further comprises: after determining, based on the retransmission determining parameter, that the first charging request is not a retransmitted create request for the first event charging resource, creating the first event charging resource (i.e., determining whether State Model has been established, need to establish new session corresponds to if State model is established in Duan, ¶0051, ¶0082, ¶0113).
Based on Li (2015) in view of Duan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Duan to improve upon those of Li (2015) in order to improve context by establishing session and a corresponding state machine for reusing session context information.
With respect to claim 25, Li (2015) discloses: the method according to claim 1, wherein the second charging request further comprises a retransmission determining parameter (i.e., Charging ID combines application ID, code, and session id in Li (2015), ¶0087)
Li (2015) discloses one stage charging for immediate event charging as a one-time request corresponding to direct debit (¶0065). Li (2015) do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Duan, in order to improve context by establishing session and a corresponding state machine for reusing session context information (¶0023), discloses: the method further comprises: after determining, based on the retransmission determining parameter, that the second charging request is not a retransmitted create request for the first event charging resource, creating the second event charging resource. (i.e., determining whether State Model has been established, need to establish new session corresponds to if State model is established in Duan, ¶0051, ¶0082, ¶0113).
Based on Li (2015) in view of Duan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Duan to improve upon those of Li (2015) in order to improve context by establishing session and a corresponding state machine for reusing session context information.
With respect to claim 27, the limitation(s) of claim 27 are similar to those of claim(s) 24 and 25. Therefore, claim 27 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 24 and 25.
With respect to claim 28, Li (2015) discloses: the method according to claim 7, wherein the method further comprises: determining a quantity of times of occurrence of the service event (i.e., receiving a message indicating the units of the service that have been delivered in Li (2015), ¶0070),
wherein the first charging request further carries an event identifier (i.e., indicating application ID, event session id in Li (2015), ¶0082, ¶0097)
and an event quantity (i.e., indicating units of service that have been delivered in a message in Li (2015), ¶0070).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2015/0326738 A1) in view of Duan (US 2007/0189297 A1) and Noldus (US 2008/0293386 A1), and further in view of Sharma (US 2016/0165068 A1).
With respect to claim 2, Li (2015) discloses one stage charging for immediate event charging as a one-time request corresponding to direct debit (¶0065). Li (2015), Duan, and Noldus do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Sharma, in order to improve overloaded conditions by distinguishing between session and non-session related event messages from the CTF for diverting to an alternate unencumbered offline charging system (¶0069), discloses: the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: determining, based on the parameter of one-time event charging, that the first charging request is a charging request for an event charging service (i.e., CTR reports and indicates the single operation such as subscriber registration, re-registration, de-registration in an ACR EVENT message indicating a one-time event with no subsequent event in Sharma, ¶0026).
Based on Li (2015) in view of Duan, and Noldus, and further in view of Sharma, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Sharma to improve upon those of Li (2015) in order to improve overloaded conditions by distinguishing between session and non-session related event messages from the CTF for diverting to an alternate unencumbered offline charging system.
With respect to claim 3, Li (2015) discloses: the method according to claim 1, wherein the first charging request is for creating the first event charging resource (i.e., formatting charging information into a Diameter CCR request in Li (2015), ¶0094), and
determining that the first event charging resource has no third charging request (i.e., the one-stage charging one-time request to directly debit in Li (2015), ¶0065), and
determining that the first event charging resource has a third charging request (i.e., communicating to refund account of end user if transmission not performed in Li (2015), ¶0065)
Li (2015) discloses one stage charging for immediate event charging as a one-time request corresponding to direct debit (¶0065). Li (2015) do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Duan, in order to improve context by establishing session and a corresponding state machine for reusing session context information (¶0023), discloses:
creating the first event charging resource based on the first charging request (i.e., establish a new session state model with allocated diameter session, the session identifier can be carried in the response in Duan, ¶0050-0051),
creating the first event charging resource based on the first charging request (i.e., remove the need to establish new sessions for subsequent new bearers in Duan, ¶0113).
Based on Li (2015) in view of Duan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Duan to improve upon those of Li (2015) in order to improve context by establishing session and a corresponding state machine for reusing session context information.
Li (2015) discloses one stage charging for immediate event charging as a one-time request corresponding to direct debit (¶0065). Li (2015), Duan, and Noldus do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Sharma, in order to improve overloaded conditions by distinguishing between session and non-session related event messages from the CTF for diverting to an alternate unencumbered offline charging system (¶0069), discloses: and the method further comprises:
determining, based on the parameter of one-time event charging, that the first charging request is a one-time event charging request (i.e., in event based charging, CTF reports usage and session based charging using START, INTERIM STOP accounting data in Sharma, ¶0026);
or
determining, based on the parameter of one-time event charging, that the first charging request is a non-one-time event charging request (i.e., signaling multi-record sessions by request type; event based messaging reports ACR event, session based charging uses START INTERIM STOP in Sharma, ¶0045-0046).
Based on Li (2015) in view of Duan, and Noldus, and further in view of Sharma, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Sharma to improve upon those of Li (2015) in order to improve overloaded conditions by distinguishing between session and non-session related event messages from the CTF for diverting to an alternate unencumbered offline charging system.
With respect to claim 13, the limitation(s) of claim 13 are similar to those of claim(s) 2. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 2.
With respect to claim 14, the limitation(s) of claim 14 are similar to those of claim(s) 3. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 3.
Claim(s) 23 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2015/0326738 A1) in view of Duan (US 2007/0189297 A1) and Noldus (US 2008/0293386 A1), and further in view of Cai et al. (US 2011/0040663 A1).
With respect to claim 23, Li (2015) discloses: the method according to claim 1, wherein the second charging request is a create request for a second event charging resource (i.e., a separate refund request corresponding to a second event associated with charging; additionally, first request to reserve and a second request to indicate the amount of resources consumed in Li (2015), ¶0065),
the second charging request carries an indication parameter of one-time event charging (i.e., refund request corresponds to a distinct request associated with the failure to deliver transmission; also suggests the value of the refund based on indicating the charging event resource usage in Li (2015), ¶0065); or
the second charging request is an update request for the first event charging resource (I.e., a communication to refund the end user corresponding to a previous request to debit the account in Li (2015), ¶0065)
Li (2015) discloses one stage charging for immediate event charging as a one-time request corresponding to direct debit (¶0065). Li (2015) do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Duan, in order to improve context by establishing session and a corresponding state machine for reusing session context information (¶0023), discloses: the method further comprises: creating the second event charging resource based on the second charging request (i.e., establishing new State Model when bearer is established in Duan, ¶0051).
Based on Li (2015) in view of Duan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Duan to improve upon those of Li (2015) in order to improve context by establishing session and a corresponding state machine for reusing session context information.
Li (2015) discloses one stage charging for immediate event charging as a one-time request corresponding to direct debit (¶0065). Li (2015), Duan, and Noldus do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Cai, in order to coordinate service according to quotas granted or consumed (¶0063), discloses: the method further comprises: releasing the first event charging resource based on the second charging request (i.e., stopping the service in response to previous quota used up and pending quota not granted in Cai, ¶0063); or
the second charging request is a release request for the first event charging resource, and the method further comprises: releasing the first event charging resource based on the second charging request. (i.e., issuing a charging request stop message in Cai, ¶0064).
Based on Li (2015) in view of Duan, and Noldus, and further in view of Cai, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Cai to improve upon those of Li (2015) in order to coordinate service according to quotas granted or consumed.
With respect to claim 26, the limitation(s) of claim 26 are similar to those of claim(s) 23. Therefore, claim 26 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 23.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Sherman Lin
3/27/2026
/S. L./Examiner, Art Unit 2447
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447