48DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that because Jeckel and Rapoport are directed towards prosthetic blood vessels, there would be no expectation of success of configuring the corrugated tubular implant as a nerve conduit as taught by Fibrothelium.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
The Examiner acknowledges that Jeckel and Rapoport are primarily directed towards prosthetic blood vessels. Similarly, Fibrothelium discloses a tubular scaffold can be configured for vasculature (see Figure 1; description of arteriovenous shunt 8 on page 18, lines 13-22). Therefore, Fibrothelium is analogous to both Jeckel and Rapoport. Fibrothelium is relied upon for teaching that a tubular tissue scaffold can alternatively be configured for the purpose of forming a prosthetic nerve conduit in order to fill a gap between injured nerve segments to facilitate regeneration of the nerve (page 18, lines 24-32; Figure 2). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success of configuring the scaffold of Jeckel, as modified by Rapoport, as a nerve conduit, as Fibrothelium teaches that this is an alternative type of implant formed by tubular tissue scaffolds. Additionally, Rapoport teaches that the corrugated tubular prothesis has a high degree of tunability for desired applications, including varying diameter and thickness of the tubular element [0157]. Therefore, altering the diameter of the modified Jeckel implant is well within the capabilities of one having ordinary skill in the art.
In response to applicant's argument that it would not be obvious to form the multilayered Rapoport device as a nerve conduit, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). For clarification, the additional layers of Rapaport are not incorporated into the modified Jeckel device. The rejection is based upon a substitution of the electrospun tube taught by Rapoport for the knitted tube of Jeckel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3,337,673 (Jeckel) in view of USPAP 2009/0227026 (Rapoport et al.), and further in view of WO 2020/109222 (Fibrothelium).
Jeckel discloses an artificial blood vessel graft (column 1, lines 16-20) with a corrugated structure. Jeckel discloses the corrugated pattern is achieved by placing a knitted tube (6) on a rod (7), wrapping a fiber (thread 8) in a helical pattern at 8 threads per inch (revolutions per inch), and the pushing the ends of the tube towards one another to cause the knitted tube (6) to bulge outwardly between turns of the fiber (column 2, lines 46-66). Jeckel explains this process allows the spacing and height of the corrugations to be controlled and have uniform dimensions (col 2, lines 10-24).
Jeckel fails to disclose the scaffold (knitted tube 6) is formed of electrospun fibers. Rapoport discloses another prosthetic blood vessel (abstract; [0071]) that may be corrugated [0113]. Rapaport teaches that a tubular element is formed of an electrospun fiber scaffold [0008], as electrospun fiber scaffolds provide suitable, long-lasting biomechanical properties for implants [0134]. By using electrospinning, various material properties of the scaffold can be tailored for a particular application [0157]. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to substitute an electrospun fiber scaffold taught by Rapoport for the knitted tube of the Jeckel device, as the modification provides a scaffold for a prosthetic blood vessel with improved mechanical properties.
Rapoport further teaches that a second element applied over the first tubular element can be formed of a monofilament [0151]. It would have been further obvious to substitute a monofilament fiber taught by Rapoport for the thread of the Jeckel assembly in order to provide a prosthetic blood vessel with improved mechanical properties that more closely resemble those of a native vessel [0078].
Further in regards to claim 10, Jeckel and Rapoport fail to disclose that the fiber assembly is in a shape of a nerve conduit. Similar to Jeckel and Rapoport, Fibrothelium discloses a tubular scaffold configured for vasculature (see Figure 1; description of arteriovenous shunt 8 on page 18, lines 13-22). Therefore, Fibrothelium is analogous to both Jeckel and Rapoport. Fibrothelium is relied upon for teaching that a tubular tissue scaffold can alternatively be configured for the purpose of forming a prosthetic nerve conduit in order to fill a gap between injured nerve segments to facilitate regeneration of the nerve (page 18, lines 24-32; Figure 2). In light of Fibrothelium’s disclosure, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to configure the electrospun fiber scaffold of the modified Jeckel device as a nerve conduit, as taught by Fibrothelium, as the modification merely involves a combination of known implantable tubular scaffolds that obtains a predictable result of a tubular nerve conduit for aiding in nerve regeneration.
The limitation “wherein the corrugated surface of the electrospun fiber scaffold is formed without the application of heat” is not given patentable weight. This is a product-by-process limitation directed towards a particular method by which the product is made, which is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Modified Jeckel meets all the claimed structural requirements of the final product.
In regards to claim 11, Jeckel discloses the fiber is wound at 8 threads per inch (column 2, lines 46-66), which falls within the claimed range of 2 TPI to about 20 TPI.
Regarding claim 13, the electrospun fiber scaffold may comprise polyurethane or PET [0027-0028; 0036; 0039].
Regarding claim 14, Jeckel fails to disclose the particular diameter of the thread (8). Rapoport teaches that a fiber diameter can be varied to achieve a desired mechanical behavior [0078; 0129] and the diameter of a fiber can be in the range of 0.05 - 20 micrometers (see Table 2; [0128]). 20 micrometers overlaps with the claimed range. Applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range (see claimed presented as a variety of options at [0060]), and it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to configure the monofilament fiber of modified Jeckel to have a diameter of about 20 micrometers, as taught by Rapoport, in order to achieve the desired mechanical behavior of the prosthetic blood vessel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 5,011,486 generally discloses an implantable tubular nerve conduit.
US 6,171,338 discloses it is well known to form a tubular implant as a nerve conduit as an alternative to blood vessels, intestines, etc. (col 1, liens 15-25).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH W ALEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774