Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 9/11/2025. Applicant amended claims 1,8, and 17. Claims 1, 4-5, 8, 11-13, 17, and 19 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species (A) of Group 1 (Fig.5), claims 1, 4-5, 8, 11-13, 15 and 17-20 without traverse in the reply filed on 04/25/2025 is acknowledged. Applicant also withdrew claims 15 and 20 in the reply filed 9/11/2025. Claims 2-3, 6-7, 9-10, 14-16 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Response to Arguments
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1,8 and 17 Applicant asserts:
Figure 7 of Nalbant reproduced …. Turning on the transistors 704 and 708 effectively adds capacitance (from capacitors 702 and 706) to the input terminals of the rectifier 318. Therefore, Nalbant cannot satisfy the newly amended feature of "a plurality of load modulation circuit switches of the load modulation circuit to be turned on, such that the low-frequency coils are short-circuited at a high operating frequency without introducing additional capacitance to input terminals of the high-frequency rectifier circuit" (emphasis added).
And further asserts:
As shown in Figure 5, the load modulation circuit 123 is only connected to the low frequency rectifier circuit 122. The load modulation circuit 123 is not directly connected to the high frequency rectifier circuit 132.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree. As seen in the rejection of claims 1 and similarly claims 8 and 17, the Examiner does not rely on Nalbant rectifier 318 but uses Parks rectifier to teach the claimed high-frequency rectifier circuit (Fig.3C,312_1 and SW 311 of Park).
Therefore the examiner does not uses Nalbant alone but the combined teachings of Park and Nalbant to teach claim language:
“wherein the low-frequency charging unit (Fig.7 of Nalbant a low frequency circuit 304 and switching circuit 340) further comprises a load modulation circuit (switching circuit 340 of Nalbant), and the controller configured to control, in response to detecting that the high-frequency charging unit supplies power to the battery, a plurality of load modulation circuits witches of the low- frequency charging unit (transistors 704 and 708 of Nalbant) to be turned on, such that the low-frequency coils are short-circuited at a high operating frequency ([0041] FIG. 7 of Nalbant illustrates an example of switching circuit 340. Switching circuit 340 effectively reduces the effects of [[low]] frequency coil 312 by adding capacitance 702 to ground and capacitance 706 to ground across shunt capacitor 316 so that, during high frequency operation, the influence of low frequency circuit 304 on the operation of high frequency circuit 302 is reduced. … transistors 704 and 708 are turned on, coupling capacitor 702 between a first side of capacitor 316 and ground and coupling capacitor 706 between a second side of capacitor 316 and ground. Switching circuit 340 effectively removes capacitor 316 from receiver 300).
In regards to the claim language “without introducing additional capacitance to input terminals of the high-frequency rectifier circuit”, Nalbant shows (Fig. 7) the placement of the load modulation circuit (switching circuit 340), which short-circuits the low-frequency coils as claimed, is connected to the “output” and in parallel to the low frequency coil resonant circuit.
As such the teachings of Nalbant applied to Park to place a load modulation circuit to the “output” and in parallel to Park’s low frequency coil resonant circuit (i.e. placed in between antenna between terminals N2 and N3 and its matching circuit 220, Fig. 3C) in order to short-circuit the low-frequency coil does not introduce additional capacitance to input terminals of Parks high-frequency rectifier circuit (a high-frequency rectifier circuit 312_1 and SW 311).
In regards to applicants remaining remarks:
Applicant remarks have been considered but are moot base on new grounds of rejection.
Examiner notes on claim interpretation
In regards to low frequency or high frequency coils are “short-circuit”, using BRI in light of the specification. Examiner interprets “short-circuited” as short-circuited to ground.
Drawing Objections
Applicant filed drawing amendment in response to the drawing objection in the office action mailed 11/6/2025. Examiner acknowledges and approves the drawing amendments..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,5, 8, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 20140327390) in view of Kwon (US 20200343765) in view Hwang (US 20180048185) in view of Nalbant (US 20180083487).
As to claim 1, Park discloses a charging module (Fig. 3C), applicable to a receiver of a dual-mode wireless charging system(Fig. 3C), the charging module comprising:
a DC/DC converter circuit (Fig. 3C,323), wherein an output terminal of the DC/DC converter circuit is configured to supply power to a battery (Fig. 3C and [0046] The DC-DC converter 323 adjusts a level of DC power that is generated by the LF RFA unit 322 to correspond to a capacity of the battery 500, and generates charging power);
a low-frequency charging unit ([0037] antenna between receiving terminals N2 and N3 of the antenna 100, impedance matching unit 220, and charging power generators 320), comprising:
low-frequency coil ([0037] antenna between receiving terminals N2 and N3 of the antenna 100);
a low-frequency compensation circuit (impedance matching unit 220), wherein an input terminal of the low- frequency compensation circuit is connected to the low-frequency coil (Fig.3CThe second impedance matching unit 220 is connected to the receiving terminals N2 and N3 of the antenna 100); and
a low-frequency rectifier circuit (Fig.3C 322_1 and SW 321), wherein an input terminal of the low-frequency rectifier circuit is connected to an output terminal of the low-frequency compensation circuit (Fig.3C),
and an output terminal of the low-frequency rectifier circuit is connected to an input terminal of the DC/DC converter circuit (Fig.3C);
a high-frequency charging unit, comprising:
high-frequency coil ([0036] antenna between receiving terminals N1 and N2) being non-coaxial with the low-frequency coil and partially overlapped with the low-frequency coil (Fig. 1B);
a high-frequency tuning circuit (first impedance matching unit 210), wherein an input terminal of the high-frequency tuning circuit is connected to the high-frequency coil (Fig.3C); and
a high-frequency rectifier circuit (Fig.3C,312_1 and SW 311), wherein an input terminal of the high-frequency rectifier circuit is connected to an output terminal of the high-frequency tuning circuit (Fig.3C); and a controller (controller 400).
Although Park discloses a low frequency coil and a high-frequency coil, Park does not disclose/teach more than one low-frequency coil (i.e. low frequency coils) or more than one high-frequency coil (i.e. high frequency coils).
Kwon teaches a plurality of receiving coils ([0184] the receiving coil 410 may include a plurality of receiving coil (not shown)—i.e., the first to nth receiving coils).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging module to include a plurality of low frequency coils and a plurality of high frequency coils in order to increase reception efficiency.
Park in view of Kwon does not disclose/teach an output terminal of the high-frequency rectifier circuit is connected to the input terminal of the DC/DC converter circuit.
Hwang teaches an output terminal of the high-frequency rectifier circuit is connected to the input terminal of the same DC/DC converter circuit that is connected to the output terminal of the low-frequency rectifier (Fig. 1, A4WP and Qi rectifiers connected to the input of the Buck converter)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging module to include the output terminal of the high-frequency rectifier circuit be connected to the input terminal of the same DC/DC converter circuit that is connected to the output terminal of the low-frequency rectifier in order to reduce costs by using the same circuits for multiple uses.
Park in view of Kwon in view Hwang does not disclose/teach wherein the low-frequency charging unit further comprises a load modulation circuit nor teaches the controller configured to control, in response to detecting that the high-frequency charging unit supplies power to the battery, a plurality of load modulation circuits witches of the low- frequency charging unit to be turned on, such that the low-frequency coils are short-circuited at a high operating frequency, without introducing additional capacitance to input terminals of the high-frequency rectifier circuit.
Nalbant teaches wherein the low-frequency charging unit (Fig.7 a low frequency circuit 304 and switching circuit 340) further comprises a load modulation circuit (switching circuit 340), and the controller configured to control, in response to detecting that the high-frequency charging unit supplies power to the battery, a plurality of load modulation circuits witches of the low- frequency charging unit (transistors 704 and 708) to be turned on, such that the low-frequency coils are short-circuited at a high operating frequency ([0041] FIG. 7 illustrates an example of switching circuit 340. Switching circuit 340 effectively reduces the effects of [[low]] frequency coil 312 by adding capacitance 702 to ground and capacitance 706 to ground across shunt capacitor 316 so that, during high frequency operation, the influence of low frequency circuit 304 on the operation of high frequency circuit 302 is reduced. … transistors 704 and 708 are turned on, coupling capacitor 702 between a first side of capacitor 316 and ground and coupling capacitor 706 between a second side of capacitor 316 and ground. Switching circuit 340 effectively removes capacitor 316 from receiver 300).
In regards to the claim language “without introducing additional capacitance to input terminals of the high-frequency rectifier circuit”, Nalbant shows (Fig. 7) the placement of the load modulation circuit (switching circuit 340), which short-circuits the low-frequency coils as claimed, is connected to the “output” and in parallel to the low frequency coil resonant circuit.
As such the teachings of Nalbant applied to Park to place a load modulation circuit to the “output” and in parallel to Park’s low frequency coil resonant circuit (i.e. placed in between antenna between terminals N2 and N3 and its matching circuit 220, Fig. 3C) in order to short-circuit the low-frequency coil does not introduce additional capacitance to input terminals of Parks high-frequency rectifier circuit (a high-frequency rectifier circuit 312_1 and SW 311).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging module of Park to include wherein the low-frequency charging unit further comprises a load modulation circuit wherein the controller configured to control, in response to detecting that the high-frequency charging unit supplies power to the battery, a plurality of load modulation circuits witches of the low- frequency charging unit to be turned on, such that the low-frequency coils are short-circuited at a high operating frequency, without introducing additional capacitance to input terminals of the high-frequency rectifier circuit in order to effectively reduce the effects of the low frequency coil during high frequency operation the influence of low frequency circuit on the operation of high frequency circuit is reduced.
As to claim 5, Park in view of in view of Kwon in view Hwang in view of Nalbant teaches the charging module according to claim 1.
Park in view of Kwon in view Hwang does not disclose/teach wherein the low-frequency charging unit further comprises a load modulation circuit, and wherein one terminal of the load modulation circuit is connected between the output terminal of the low-frequency compensation circuit and the input terminal of the low-frequency rectifier circuit, and the other terminal of the load modulation circuit is connected to ground, and wherein the load modulation circuit comprises: a first capacitor, wherein one terminal of the first capacitor is connected between a first output terminal of the low-frequency compensation circuit and a first input terminal of the low-frequency rectifier circuit; a fifth transistor, wherein a drain of the fifth transistor is connected to the other terminal of the first capacitor, and a source of the fifth transistor is connected to ground; a second capacitor, wherein one terminal of the second capacitor is connected between a second output terminal of the low-frequency compensation circuit and a second input terminal of the low-frequency rectifier circuit; and a sixth transistor, wherein a drain of the sixth transistor is connected to the other terminal of the second capacitor, and a source of the sixth transistor is connected to the source of the fifth transistor and connected to ground, and wherein a control terminal of the controller is connected to gates of the fifth transistor and the sixth transistor, and the controller is configured to control, in response to detecting that the high-frequency charging unit supplies power to the battery, the fifth transistor and the sixth transistor to be turned on, such that the low-frequency coils are short-circuited at the high operating frequency.
Nalbant teaches wherein one terminal of the load modulation circuit is connected between the output terminal of the low-frequency compensation circuit (capacitor 702 connected to coupling capacitor 314) and the input terminal of the low-frequency rectifier circuit (rectifier 318 connected to coupling capacitor 314), and the other terminal of the load modulation circuit is connected to ground (Fig. 7 switch 702 connected to ground), and wherein the load modulation circuit comprises: a first capacitor (capacitor 702), wherein one terminal of the first capacitor is connected between a first output terminal of the low-frequency compensation circuit and a first input terminal of the low-frequency rectifier circuit (Fig. 7); a fifth transistor, wherein a drain of the fifth transistor is connected to the other terminal of the first capacitor(Fig. 7), and a source of the fifth transistor is connected to ground (Fig. 7); a second capacitor (capacitor 70), wherein one terminal of the second capacitor is connected between a second output terminal of the low-frequency compensation circuit and a second input terminal of the low-frequency rectifier circuit (capacitor 706 connected to coupling capacitor 316); and a sixth transistor (Fig. 7 switch 70), wherein a drain of the sixth transistor is connected to the other terminal of the second capacitor (Fig. 7), and a source of the sixth transistor is connected to the source of the fifth transistor and connected to ground (Fig. 7), and wherein a control terminal of the controller is connected to gates of the fifth transistor and the sixth transistor(Fig. 7), and the controller is configured to control, in response to detecting that the high-frequency charging unit supplies power to the battery, the fifth transistor and the sixth transistor to be turned on, such that the low-frequency coils are short-circuited at the high operating frequency ([0036] When driver 510 outputs a high value, turning transistors 504 and 508 on, a first side of shunt capacitor 308 is coupled to ground through capacitor 502 and a second side of shunt capacitor 308 is coupled to ground through capacitor 504, effectively shifting the capacitance of shunt capacitor 308 in the resonant circuit, and consequently detuning the resonant circuit formed by coil 306 and capacitor 308. [0041] FIG. 7 illustrates an example of switching circuit 340. Switching circuit 340 effectively reduces the effects of [[low]] frequency coil 312 by adding capacitance 702 to ground and capacitance 706 to ground across shunt capacitor 316 so that, during high frequency operation, the influence of low frequency circuit 304 on the operation of high frequency circuit 302 is reduced. … transistors 704 and 708 are turned on, coupling capacitor 702 between a first side of capacitor 316 and ground and coupling capacitor 706 between a second side of capacitor 316 and ground. Switching circuit 340 effectively removes capacitor 316 from receiver 300).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging module of Park to include wherein one terminal of the load modulation circuit is connected between the output terminal of the low-frequency compensation circuit and the input terminal of the low-frequency rectifier circuit, and the other terminal of the load modulation circuit is connected to ground, and wherein the load modulation circuit comprises: a first capacitor, wherein one terminal of the first capacitor is connected between a first output terminal of the low-frequency compensation circuit and a first input terminal of the low-frequency rectifier circuit; a fifth transistor, wherein a drain of the fifth transistor is connected to the other terminal of the first capacitor, and a source of the fifth transistor is connected to ground; a second capacitor, wherein one terminal of the second capacitor is connected between a second output terminal of the low-frequency compensation circuit and a second input terminal of the low-frequency rectifier circuit; and a sixth transistor, wherein a drain of the sixth transistor is connected to the other terminal of the second capacitor, and a source of the sixth transistor is connected to the source of the fifth transistor and connected to ground, and wherein a control terminal of the controller is connected to gates of the fifth transistor and the sixth transistor, and the controller is configured to control, in response to detecting that the high-frequency charging unit supplies power to the battery, the fifth transistor and the sixth transistor to be turned on, such that the low-frequency coils are short-circuited at the high operating frequency in order to effectively reduce the effects of the low frequency coil during high frequency operation the influence of low frequency circuit on the operation of high frequency circuit is reduced.
As to claim 8, Park discloses a charging module (Fig. 3C), applicable to a receiver of a dual-mode wireless charging system(Fig. 3C), the charging module comprising:
a DC/DC converter circuit (Fig. 3C,323), wherein an output terminal of the DC/DC converter circuit is configured to supply power to a battery (Fig. 3C and [0046] The DC-DC converter 323 adjusts a level of DC power that is generated by the LF RFA unit 322 to correspond to a capacity of the battery 500, and generates charging power);
a low-frequency charging unit ([0037] antenna between receiving terminals N2 and N3 of the antenna 100, impedance matching unit 220, and charging power generators 320), comprising:
low-frequency coil ([0037] antenna between receiving terminals N2 and N3 of the antenna 100);
a low-frequency compensation circuit (impedance matching unit 220), wherein an input terminal of the low- frequency compensation circuit is connected to the low-frequency coil (Fig.3CThe second impedance matching unit 220 is connected to the receiving terminals N2 and N3 of the antenna 100); and
a low-frequency rectifier circuit (Fig.3C 322_1 and SW 321), wherein an input terminal of the low-frequency rectifier circuit is connected to an output terminal of the low-frequency compensation circuit (Fig.3C),
and an output terminal of the low-frequency rectifier circuit is connected to an input terminal of the DC/DC converter circuit (Fig.3C);
a high-frequency charging unit, comprising:
high-frequency coil ([0036] antenna between receiving terminals N1 and N2) being non-coaxial with the low-frequency coil and partially overlapped with the low-frequency coil (Fig. 1B);
a high-frequency tuning circuit (first impedance matching unit 210), wherein an input terminal of the high-frequency tuning circuit is connected to the high-frequency coil (Fig.3C); and
a high-frequency rectifier circuit (Fig.3C,312_1 and SW 311), wherein an input terminal of the high-frequency rectifier circuit is connected to an output terminal of the high-frequency tuning circuit (Fig.3C); and a controller (controller 400).
Although Park discloses a low frequency coil and a high-frequency coil, Park does not disclose/teach more than one low-frequency coil (i.e. low frequency coils) or more than one high-frequency coil (i.e. high frequency coils).
Kwon teaches a plurality of receiving coils ([0184] the receiving coil 410 may include a plurality of receiving coil (not shown)—i.e., the first to nth receiving coils).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging module to include a plurality of low frequency coils and a plurality of high frequency coils in order to increase reception efficiency.
Park in view of Kwon does not disclose/teach an output terminal of the high-frequency rectifier circuit is connected to the input terminal of the DC/DC converter circuit.
Hwang teaches an output terminal of the high-frequency rectifier circuit is connected to the input terminal of the same DC/DC converter circuit that is connected to the output terminal of the low-frequency rectifier (Fig. 1, A4WP and Qi rectifiers connected to the input of the Buck converter)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging module to include the output terminal of the high-frequency rectifier circuit be connected to the input terminal of the same DC/DC converter circuit that is connected to the output terminal of the low-frequency rectifier in order to reduce costs by using the same circuits for multiple uses.
Park in view of Kwon in view Hwang does not disclose/teach wherein the low-frequency charging unit further comprises a load modulation circuit nor teaches the controller configured to control, in response to detecting that the high-frequency charging unit supplies power to the battery, a plurality of load modulation circuits witches of the low- frequency charging unit to be turned on, such that the low-frequency coils are short-circuited at a high operating frequency, without introducing additional capacitance to input terminals of the high-frequency rectifier circuit.
Nalbant teaches wherein the low-frequency charging unit (Fig.7 a low frequency circuit 304 and switching circuit 340) further comprises a load modulation circuit (switching circuit 340), and the controller configured to control, in response to detecting that the high-frequency charging unit supplies power to the battery, a plurality of load modulation circuits witches of the low- frequency charging unit (transistors 704 and 708) to be turned on, such that the low-frequency coils are short-circuited at a high operating frequency ([0041] FIG. 7 illustrates an example of switching circuit 340. Switching circuit 340 effectively reduces the effects of [[low]] frequency coil 312 by adding capacitance 702 to ground and capacitance 706 to ground across shunt capacitor 316 so that, during high frequency operation, the influence of low frequency circuit 304 on the operation of high frequency circuit 302 is reduced. … transistors 704 and 708 are turned on, coupling capacitor 702 between a first side of capacitor 316 and ground and coupling capacitor 706 between a second side of capacitor 316 and ground. Switching circuit 340 effectively removes capacitor 316 from receiver 300).
In regards to the claim language “without introducing additional capacitance to input terminals of the high-frequency rectifier circuit”, Nalbant shows (Fig. 7) the placement of the load modulation circuit (switching circuit 340), which short-circuits the low-frequency coils as claimed, is connected to the “output” and in parallel to the low frequency coil resonant circuit.
As such the teachings of Nalbant applied to Park to place a load modulation circuit to the “output” and in parallel to Park’s low frequency coil resonant circuit (i.e. placed in between antenna between terminals N2 and N3 and its matching circuit 220, Fig. 3C) in order to short-circuit the low-frequency coil does not introduce additional capacitance to input terminals of Parks high-frequency rectifier circuit (a high-frequency rectifier circuit 312_1 and SW 311).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging module of Park to include wherein the low-frequency charging unit further comprises a load modulation circuit wherein the controller configured to control, in response to detecting that the high-frequency charging unit supplies power to the battery, a plurality of load modulation circuits witches of the low- frequency charging unit to be turned on, such that the low-frequency coils are short-circuited at a high operating frequency, without introducing additional capacitance to input terminals of the high-frequency rectifier circuit in order to effectively reduce the effects of the low frequency coil during high frequency operation the influence of low frequency circuit on the operation of high frequency circuit is reduced.
As to claim 17, Park discloses a dual-mode wireless charging system, comprising:
a receiver comprising a charging module disposed in an electronic device (Fig. 3, receiving wireless charging apparatus); and
a transmitter configured to supply power to the receiver in response to approaching a predetermined range of the receiver, and disposed in a power supply device ([0035] The antenna 100 receives wireless electrical waves from an outside apparatus. Here, the outside apparatus may be a transmitting wireless charging apparatus), wherein the charging module comprises:
a DC/DC converter circuit (Fig. 3C,323), wherein an output terminal of the DC/DC converter circuit is configured to supply power to a battery (Fig. 3C and [0046] The DC-DC converter 323 adjusts a level of DC power that is generated by the LF RFA unit 322 to correspond to a capacity of the battery 500, and generates charging power);
a low-frequency charging unit ([0037] antenna between receiving terminals N2 and N3 of the antenna 100, impedance matching unit 220, and charging power generators 320), comprising:
low-frequency coil ([0037] antenna between receiving terminals N2 and N3 of the antenna 100);
a low-frequency compensation circuit (impedance matching unit 220), wherein an input terminal of the low- frequency compensation circuit is connected to the low-frequency coil (Fig.3CThe second impedance matching unit 220 is connected to the receiving terminals N2 and N3 of the antenna 100); and
a low-frequency rectifier circuit (Fig.3C 322_1 and SW 321), wherein an input terminal of the low-frequency rectifier circuit is connected to an output terminal of the low-frequency compensation circuit (Fig.3C),
and an output terminal of the low-frequency rectifier circuit is connected to an input terminal of the DC/DC converter circuit (Fig.3C);
a high-frequency charging unit, comprising:
high-frequency coil ([0036] antenna between receiving terminals N1 and N2) being non-coaxial with the low-frequency coil and partially overlapped with the low-frequency coil (Fig. 1B);
a high-frequency tuning circuit (first impedance matching unit 210), wherein an input terminal of the high-frequency tuning circuit is connected to the high-frequency coil (Fig.3C); and
a high-frequency rectifier circuit (Fig.3C,312_1 and SW 311), wherein an input terminal of the high-frequency rectifier circuit is connected to an output terminal of the high-frequency tuning circuit (Fig.3C); and a controller (controller 400).
Although Park discloses a low frequency coil and a high-frequency coil, Park does not disclose/teach more than one low-frequency coil (i.e. low frequency coils) or more than one high-frequency coil (i.e. high frequency coils).
Kwon teaches a plurality of receiving coils ([0184] the receiving coil 410 may include a plurality of receiving coil (not shown)—i.e., the first to nth receiving coils).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging module to include a plurality of low frequency coils and a plurality of high frequency coils in order to increase reception efficiency.
Park in view of Kwon does not disclose/teach an output terminal of the high-frequency rectifier circuit is connected to the input terminal of the DC/DC converter circuit.
Hwang teaches an output terminal of the high-frequency rectifier circuit is connected to the input terminal of the same DC/DC converter circuit that is connected to the output terminal of the low-frequency rectifier (Fig. 1, A4WP and Qi rectifiers connected to the input of the Buck converter)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging module to include the output terminal of the high-frequency rectifier circuit be connected to the input terminal of the same DC/DC converter circuit that is connected to the output terminal of the low-frequency rectifier in order to reduce costs by using the same circuits for multiple uses.
Park in view of Kwon in view Hwang does not disclose/teach wherein the low-frequency charging unit further comprises a load modulation circuit nor teaches the controller configured to control, in response to detecting that the high-frequency charging unit supplies power to the battery, a plurality of load modulation circuits witches of the low- frequency charging unit to be turned on, such that the low-frequency coils are short-circuited at a high operating frequency, without introducing additional capacitance to input terminals of the high-frequency rectifier circuit.
Nalbant teaches wherein the low-frequency charging unit (Fig.7 a low frequency circuit 304 and switching circuit 340) further comprises a load modulation circuit (switching circuit 340), and the controller configured to control, in response to detecting that the high-frequency charging unit supplies power to the battery, a plurality of load modulation circuits witches of the low- frequency charging unit (transistors 704 and 708) to be turned on, such that the low-frequency coils are short-circuited at a high operating frequency ([0041] FIG. 7 illustrates an example of switching circuit 340. Switching circuit 340 effectively reduces the effects of [[low]] frequency coil 312 by adding capacitance 702 to ground and capacitance 706 to ground across shunt capacitor 316 so that, during high frequency operation, the influence of low frequency circuit 304 on the operation of high frequency circuit 302 is reduced. … transistors 704 and 708 are turned on, coupling capacitor 702 between a first side of capacitor 316 and ground and coupling capacitor 706 between a second side of capacitor 316 and ground. Switching circuit 340 effectively removes capacitor 316 from receiver 300).
In regards to the claim language “without introducing additional capacitance to input terminals of the high-frequency rectifier circuit”, Nalbant shows (Fig. 7) the placement of the load modulation circuit (switching circuit 340), which short-circuits the low-frequency coils as claimed, is connected to the “output” and in parallel to the low frequency coil resonant circuit.
As such the teachings of Nalbant applied to Park to place a load modulation circuit to the “output” and in parallel to Park’s low frequency coil resonant circuit (i.e. placed in between antenna between terminals N2 and N3 and its matching circuit 220, Fig. 3C) in order to short-circuit the low-frequency coil does not introduce additional capacitance to input terminals of Parks high-frequency rectifier circuit (a high-frequency rectifier circuit 312_1 and SW 311).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging module of Park to include wherein the low-frequency charging unit further comprises a load modulation circuit wherein the controller configured to control, in response to detecting that the high-frequency charging unit supplies power to the battery, a plurality of load modulation circuits witches of the low- frequency charging unit to be turned on, such that the low-frequency coils are short-circuited at a high operating frequency, without introducing additional capacitance to input terminals of the high-frequency rectifier circuit in order to effectively reduce the effects of the low frequency coil during high frequency operation the influence of low frequency circuit on the operation of high frequency circuit is reduced.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 and 19 are allowed.
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claim(s) 11 and 19, claims 11 and 19 remain allowed for the reasons set forth in the office action mailed 11/6/2025
Dependent claims 12-13 are allowable for the reasons set forth supra with respect to the independent claims from which they depend.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim(s) 4, although the prior art discloses a charging module, applicable to a receiver of a dual-mode wireless charging system, the charging module comprising: a DC/DC converter circuit, wherein an output terminal of the DC/DC converter circuit is configured to supply power to a battery; a low-frequency charging unit, comprising: low-frequency coils; a low-frequency compensation circuit, wherein an input terminal of the low-frequency compensation circuit is connected to the low-frequency coils; and a low-frequency rectifier circuit, wherein an input terminal of the low-frequency rectifier circuit is connected to an output terminal of the low-frequency compensation circuit, and an output terminal of the low-frequency rectifier circuit is connected to an input terminal of the DC/DC converter circuit; a high-frequency charging unit, comprising: high-frequency coils being non-coaxial with the low-frequency coils and partially overlapped with the low-frequency coils; a high-frequency tuning circuit, wherein an input terminal of the high-frequency tuning circuit is connected to the high-frequency coils; and a high-frequency rectifier circuit, wherein an input terminal of the high-frequency rectifier circuit is connected to an output terminal of the high-frequency tuning circuit, and an output terminal of the high-frequency rectifier circuit is connected to the input terminal of the DC/DC converter circuit; and a controller configured to control, in response to detecting that the high-frequency charging unit supplies power to the battery, a plurality of load modulation circuit switches of the load modulation circuit to be turned on, such that the low-frequency coils are short-circuited at a high operating frequency without introducing additional capacitance to input terminals of the high-frequency rectifier circuit, wherein the low-frequency rectifier circuit comprises: a first transistor, wherein a source of the first transistor is connected to a first output terminal of the low-frequency compensation circuit; a second transistor, wherein a source of the second transistor is connected to a second output terminal of the low-frequency compensation circuit, and a drain of the second transistor is connected to a drain of the first transistor; a third transistor, wherein a drain of the third transistor is connected to the source of the first transistor, and a source of the third transistor is connected to ground; and a fourth transistor, wherein a drain of the fourth transistor is connected to the source of the second transistor, and a source of the fourth transistor is connected to the source of the third transistor and connected to ground, and wherein: a control terminal of the controller is connected to gates of the first transistor, the second transistor, the third transistor, and the fourth transistor, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“the controller is configured to, in response to detecting that the high-frequency charging unit supplies power to the battery, control one of the first transistor and the third transistor to be turned on, and control one of the second transistor and the fourth transistor to be turned on, such that the low-frequency coils are short-circuited at the high operating frequency.”
Conclusion
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859