This action is in response to the amendment filed 31 December 2025. Claims 1, 8, 15 have been amended. Claims 4, 7, 11, 14 and 18 have been canceled. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-10, 12-13, 15-17, 19-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-10, 12, 15-17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (US 11,514,309 B2) in view of Hollister (US 12,050,577 B1) and further in view of Manamohan et al (US 2020/0031583 A1) and Liu et al. (US 2018/0332138 A1).
Claim 1. Liao discloses a method for training a deep learning framework, comprising:
acquiring at least one task node in a current task node cluster, a method and apparatus for accelerating distributed training of a deep neural network (C 1 L 59-61) for performing at least one task (C 2 L 10-15) the scheduling of tasks are mapped into a directed graph model (C 3 L 16-17) comprising task nodes (C 3 L 25-26),
synchronously training the deep learning framework of the target task, training progresses of parallel subnetworks are synchronized to accelerate the distributed training of the deep neural network (C 2 L 11-13), by the at least one task node according to sample data, training of parallel subnetworks, with subsets samples, are synchronized to accelerate the distributed training of the deep neural network and data is localized to perform a task at a preset node to minimize data transmission time (C 4 L 35-46); and
acquiring a synchronously trained target deep learning framework when the target task meets a training completion condition, transforming the directed graph model into a residual graph (C 3 L 18) to complete the training of the deep neural network (C 13 L 27-30) determining whether the potential of the node object is positive (C 13 L 38-40 Fig 4 Step 402) updating the parameters of the residual graph if there are no more unscheduled tasks (C 15 L 3-4 Fig 4) The neural network, represented by a directed graph model and transformed into a residual graph, is asynchronously trained, a completion condition is determined, and upon completion, the residual graph is updated;
wherein when the target task meets the training start condition, a method for distributed training of a deep neural network (C 1 L 59-64) wherein a task is performed at a preset cloud resource node to minimize data transmission time (C 2 L 13-15) in a distributed cluster architecture that comprises multiple cloud resource nodes executing multiple applications, each application comprising multiple tasks, each task configured for training a subnetwork (C 2 L 16-22) a task may be initiated on a cloud resource computing node that is idle (C 10 L 48-49) tasks train the neural network (C 10 L 53-54) The training start condition is that a resource node to be trained is idle,
the method comprises: monitoring a priority level of a task to be executed in the current task node cluster, a positive potential indicates that the node object has assignable tasks, the number of the assignable tasks being equal to the positive potential; a negative potential indicates that the number of tasks that have been assigned to the node object exceeds the number of maximum assignable tasks of the node object, and the number of excessive tasks is the absolute value of the negative potential (C 3 L 37-44) determining that there unscheduled tasks (C 3 L 61-63) and determining that a task has not been initiated and a task that has already been initiated (C 11 L 1-7) The examiner is interpreting the tasks that have yet to be scheduled as having a priority level different from tasks that had been previously scheduled and initiated; and
determining that the target task meets the training start condition when the priority level is less than a preset level, determining whether there are currently unscheduled tasks (C 3 L 61-62) assigning an unscheduled task to a node (C 4 L 13-24) determining that a task as already been initiated (C 11 L 1-7) The examiner is interpreting the unscheduled tasks as having a lower priority than the prior scheduled tasks and initiated tasks, which are determined through the disclosed process of Liao how to be assigned to nodes.
Liao does not disclose … that meets a preset opening condition when a target task meets a training start condition, as disclosed in the claims. However, Liao discloses if a node is idle, a task may be immediately initiated (C 10 L 48-51). Liao discloses conditions for initiating execution of a task, but does not disclose initiating training. In the same field of invention, Hollister discloses machine learning training is based on dynamic event tree and updates (C 7 L 63 – C 8 L 5) the start event tree node listens for the one or more conditions to start the training process (C 8 L 15-21). Therefore, considering the teachings of Liao and Hollister, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine … that meets a preset opening condition when a target task meets a training start condition with the teachings of Liao with the motivation to ensure that training is initiated at the most appropriate time so that training for the desired conditions will begin when all the desired conditions are met.
Liao does not disclose judging whether a number of nodes of the at least one task node is greater than a preset number; synchronously training the deep learning framework of the target task … when the number of nodes is greater than the preset number, as disclosed in the claims. However, Liao discloses calculating a minimum number of tasks to perform to continue with the training (C 3 L 65 – C 4 L 24 Fig 4). Liao discloses determining a minimum number of tasks for continuation of training, but not the minimum number of nodes. In the same field of invention, Manamohan discloses fault tolerance may require a specified number of nodes to be registered for an iteration of training, which translates to a minimum number of nodes that may be required to be actively present in the population of participant nodes after which each node may obtain a local training dataset that is accessible locally but not accessible at other computing nodes and train a first local model based on the local training dataset during the first iteration and obtain at least a first shared training parameter based on the first local model (P 0033). Therefore, considering the teachings of Liao, Hollister and Manomohan, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine judging whether a number of nodes of the at least one task node is greater than a preset number; synchronously training the deep learning framework of the target task … when the number of nodes is greater than the preset number with the teachings of Liao and Hollister with the motivation to ensure that the minimum number of nodes necessary to complete a task so that the appropriate number of nodes may be trained for the task.
Liao does not disclose wherein four states of the target task comprise: activated, waiting, running, and finished, an initial state of the target task is an activated state, when training is performed in the cluster resource, a state of the target task is the running state, in response to the target task being interrupted or preempted, the state of the target task is switched to a waiting state, when the cluster resource meets the training start condition again, the state of the target task turns to a running state, when a training of a whole task completes, the state of the target task turns to a finished state, as disclosed in the claim. In the same field of invention, Liu discloses tasks can be associated with provisioning resources (P 0007) and processed using machine-learning (P 0009) the machine-learning generates one or more models based on an analysis of historical data associated with the particular task (P 0119) states associated with a task include ‘ready’ state to indicate the creation of a task (analogous to an activated state), a ‘started’ state to indicate that a task has begun executing (analogous to a running state), a ‘wait-continue’ state to indicate that a task has not yet completed and is waiting in the queue (similar to a waiting state), a ‘completed’ state to indicate that a task has completed (analogous to a finished state), a ‘success’ state to indicate that the task has completed (analogous to a finished state) (P 0142). Therefore, considering the teachings of Liao, Hollister and Liu, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein four states of the target task comprise: activated, waiting, running, and finished, an initial state of the target task is an activated state, when training is performed in the cluster resource, a state of the target task is the running state, in response to the target task being interrupted or preempted, the state of the target task is switched to a waiting state, when the cluster resource meets the training start condition again, the state of the target task turns to a running state, when a training of a whole task completes, the state of the target task turns to a finished state with the teachings of Liao and Hollister with the motivation to ensure that clusters are scaled and provisioned efficiently (Liu: P 0004).
Claim 2. Liao, Hollister, Manomohan and Liu disclose the method according to claim 1, and the combination of Liao in view of Hollister discloses wherein the acquiring the at least one task node in the current task node cluster, that meets the preset opening condition, comprises: determining a node state of each node in the current task node cluster; and determining a node, the node state of which is an idle state condition, as the at least one task node that meets the preset opening condition, Liao: if a node is idle, a task may be immediately initiated (C 10 L 48-51), Hollister machine learning training is based on dynamic event tree and updates (C 7 L 63 – C 8 L 5) the start event tree node listens for the one or more conditions to start the training process (C 8 L 15-21) as in the rejection of Claim 1.
Claim 3. Liao, Hollister, Manomohan and Liu disclose the method according to claim 1, and the combination of Liao in view of Hollister discloses wherein the acquiring the at least one task node in the current task node cluster, that meets the preset opening condition, comprises: determining an amount of idle resources of each node in the current task node cluster; and determining a node, the amount of idle resources of which is greater than a preset threshold condition, as the at least one task node that meets the preset opening condition, Liao: a set of resource nodes is determined and the corresponding remaining run-time of an application, a number of tasks, the elapsed run-time of the application, the running time progress, the estimated minimum data transmission time of the task the waiting time till the resource of the node becomes idle, amount of data stored by the task (C 2 L 59 - C 3 L 6) determining the node object includes determining a present minimum capacity (C 4 L 16-24) in order to minimize the training time of the deep neural network, it is necessary to find the minimum sum of the remaining run-time and data transmission time of all applications (C 9 L 60- 67) if a node is idle, a task may be immediately initiated (C 10 L 48-51), Hollister machine learning training is based on dynamic event tree and updates (C 7 L 63 – C 8 L 5) the start event tree node listens for the one or more conditions to start the training process (C 8 L 15-21) as in the rejection of Claim 1.
Claim 4. Canceled.
Claim 5. Liao, Hollister, Manomohan and Liu disclose the method according to claim 1, and Liao discloses wherein the synchronously training the deep learning framework of the target task by the at least one task node according to the sample data comprises: monitoring whether the current task node cluster contains other task nodes that meet the preset opening condition, a set of resource nodes is determined and the corresponding remaining run-time of an application, a number of tasks, the elapsed run-time of the application, the running time progress, the estimated minimum data transmission time of the task the waiting time till the resource of the node becomes idle, amount of data stored by the task (C 2 L 59 - C 3 L 6) if a potential of a node is positive (C 3 L 67 – C 4 L 2) the node object is added into a predefined set, a total number of currently unscheduled tasks is calculated in the predefined set as a first number, and a number of tasks is calculated that can be assigned at a minimum cost as a second number (C 4 L 3-8) determining the node object includes determining a present minimum capacity (C 4 L 16-24) if a node is idle, a task may be immediately initiated (C 10 L 48-51); and synchronously training the deep learning framework of the target task by the other task nodes and the at least one task node according to the sample data when the other task nodes exist, training of parallel subnetworks, with subsets samples, are synchronized to accelerate the distributed training of the deep neural network and data is localized to perform a task at a preset node to minimize data transmission time (C 4 L 35-46).
Claim 7. Canceled.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 10, 12 is/are directed to electronic device claim(s) similar to the method claim(s) of Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5 and is/are rejected with the same rationale.
Claim 11. Canceled.
Claim 14. Canceled.
Claim(s) 15, 16, 17, 19 is/are directed to electronic device claim(s) similar to the method claim(s) of Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5 and is/are rejected with the same rationale.
Claim 18. Canceled.
Claim(s) 6, 13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (US 11,514,309 B2) in view of Hollister (US 12,050,577 B1) and Manamohan et al (US 2020/0031583 A1) and Liu et al. (US 2018/0332138 A1) and further in view of Bruckhaus et al. (US 8,417,715 B1).
Claim 6. Liao, Hollister, Manomohan and Liu disclose the method according to claim 5, but Liao does not disclose wherein the synchronously training the deep learning framework of the target task by the other task nodes and the at least one task node according to the sample data comprises: acquiring current framework parameters of the deep learning framework in each task node of the at least one task node; determining a second average value, wherein the second average value is an average value of all the current framework parameters; and updating the framework parameters of the deep learning framework by the other task nodes and the at least one task node according to the second average value, as disclosed in the claims. However, Liao discloses a set of resource nodes is determined and the corresponding remaining run-time of an application, a number of tasks, the elapsed run-time of the application, the running time progress, the estimated minimum data transmission time of the task the waiting time till the resource of the node becomes idle, amount of data stored by the task (C 2 L 59 - C 3 L 6) determining the node object includes determining a present minimum capacity (C 4 L 16-24) acquiring a set of training samples (C 4 L 32-33). In the same field of invention, Bruckhaus discloses if a potential of a node is positive (C 3 L 67 – C 4 L 2) the node object is added into a predefined set, a total number of currently unscheduled tasks is calculated in the predefined set as a first number, and a number of tasks is calculated that can be assigned at a minimum cost as a second number (C 4 L 3-8) the objective function may also consider the amount of CPU cycles, memory, disk I/O, and other resources the algorithm has consumed to build the model, as well as the resources required to score data, such as the training data and scoring data, and the average resources required per training record and scoring record (C 47 L 8-13) a model manager reads models and their performance data from the data mining repository, selects the model with the best performance characteristics, including objective function and cost (C 57 L 42-46). Therefore, considering the teachings of Liao, Hollister, Manomohan, Liu and Bruckhaus, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine wherein the synchronously training the deep learning framework of the target task by the other task nodes and the at least one task node according to the sample data comprises: acquiring current framework parameters of the deep learning framework in each task node of the at least one task node; determining a second average value, wherein the second average value is an average value of all the current framework parameters; and updating the framework parameters of the deep learning framework by the other task nodes and the at least one task node according to the second average value with the teachings of Liao, Hollister, Manomohan and Liu with the motivation to provide a better method for automated data analytic solutions for standard and/or custom platforms improved analytic models over time (Bruckhaus: C 3 L 45-54).
Claim(s) 13 is/are directed to electronic device claim(s) similar to the method claim(s) of Claim(s) 6 and is/are rejected with the same rationale.
Claim(s) 20 is/are directed to electronic device claim(s) similar to the method claim(s) of Claim(s) 6 and is/are rejected with the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
New prior art reference Liu has been used to reject the amended claims. Liu discloses , Liu discloses tasks can be associated with provisioning resources (P 0007) and processed using machine-learning (P 0009) the machine-learning generates one or more models based on an analysis of historical data associated with the particular task (P 0119) states associated with a task include ‘ready’ state to indicate the creation of a task (analogous to an activated state), a ‘started’ state to indicate that a task has begun executing (analogous to a running state), a ‘wait-continue’ state to indicate that a task has not yet completed and is waiting in the queue (similar to a waiting state), a ‘completed’ state to indicate that a task has completed (analogous to a finished state), a ‘success’ state to indicate that the task has completed (analogous to a finished state) (P 0142).
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues: Liao does not disclose monitoring of priority levels. Liao discloses a positive potential indicates that the node object has assignable tasks, the number of the assignable tasks being equal to the positive potential; a negative potential indicates that the number of tasks that have been assigned to the node object exceeds the number of maximum assignable tasks of the node object, and the number of excessive tasks is the absolute value of the negative potential (C 3 L 37-44) determining that there unscheduled tasks (C 3 L 61-63) and determining that a task has not been initiated and a task that has already been initiated (C 11 L 1-7). As explained in the rejection, the examiner is interpreting the tasks that have yet to be scheduled as having a priority level different from tasks that had been previously scheduled and initiated. However, the start condition is now further clarified in the amendments, therefore, the specific states disclosed in Liu allow Liao to monitor conditions other than the unscheduled state of tasks.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2145
5/6/2026
/CESAR B PAULA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2145