DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on February 10th, 2026. Claim 18 has been canceled as such claims 1-17, 19-22, and 24-27 are pending consideration in this Office Action.
Response to Amendment
The objection to the disclosure is not withdrawn in light of the amendments.
The objections to the claims are withdrawn in light of the amendments.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Air Treatment System using an Electrostatic Cyclone Filter and Particulate Removal System
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 16, 19, 24, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (JP 2003117323) and its translation (EspaceNet Translation Tanaka) in view of Yoshida (US 20050087080).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka discloses
An air treatment system (figs. 1-6; air purifier A; [0018], Lines 1-2), comprising:
a cyclone filter figs. 1-6; air purifier A is a centrifugal separator that uses a cyclone therefore a cyclone filter; [0004], Lines 1-3; [0018], Lines 1-11) including:
a cyclone chamber (figs. 1-6; cyclone portion/part/unit S; [0005], Lines 1-6; [0018], Lines 8-9);
an inlet (figs. 1-6; air inlet/air introduction port 2; Paragraph 0006, Lines 1-3; [0018], Lines 7-9) configured to receive air including particulates (dust; [0005], Lines 1-6; [0018], Lines 7-9) into the cyclone chamber (figs. 1-6; cyclone portion/part/unit S; [0005], Lines 1-6; [0018], Lines 8-9);
an outlet (figs. 1-6; outlet/blowout port 3; [0018], Lines 1-3 and Lines 9-11) configured to output treated air ([0018], Lines 9-11) from the cyclone chamber (figs. 1-6; cyclone portion/part/unit S; [0018], Lines 7-11);
wherein the cyclone filter (figs. 1-6; air purifier A is a centrifugal separator that uses a cyclone therefore a cyclone filter; [0004], Lines 1-3; [0018], Lines 1-11) is configured to facilitate a rotational airflow (fig. 2; the flow of sucked air and dust spirals as shown by the arrows in Fig. 2 (moves rotationally); [0020]) within the cyclone chamber (figs. 1-6; cyclone portion/part/unit S; [0018], Lines 7-11) to remove at least a portion of the particulates (dust; [0018], Lines 9-11) from the received air ([0018],Lines 7-11); and
a particulate removal system downstream of the cyclone chamber (figs. 1-6; dust box 5 is downstream of the cyclone portion/part/unit S; [0005] and [0006]; [0018], lines 9-11) configured to receive particulates (dust; [0005] and [0006]; [0018], lines 9-11) removed from the received air ([0018], Lines 7-9) by the cyclone filter (figs. 1-6; air purifier A is a centrifugal separator that uses a cyclone therefore a cyclone filter; [0004], Lines 1-3; [0018], Lines 1-11); and
an electrostatic filtration system comprising electrostatic filtration system electronics (figs. 1-6; electrodes 12 can charge dust with positive and negative charge alternatively or can charge dust with a positive charge; [0005] and [0006]; [0021]-[0024]; [0026], Lines 1-9 and [0027], Lines 1-3) configured to:
apply a first electric charge (figs. 1-6; electrodes 12 can charge dust with positive and negative charge alternatively or can charge dust with a positive charge; [0005] and [0006]; [0021]-[0024]; [0026], Lines 1-9 and [0027], Lines 1-3) having a first polarity (positive charge/polarity; [0005] and [0006]; [0021]-[0024]; [0026], Lines 1-9 and [0027], Lines 1-3) to at least one interior surface of the cyclone chamber (figs. 1-6; electrode 12 is on an interior surface of the suction port 11 of the cyclone part S; [0021]) to charge the particulates (dust; [0005] and [0006]; [0021]-[0024]; [0026], Lines 1-9 and [0027], Lines 1-3) in the cyclone chamber (figs. 1-6; cyclone portion/part/unit S; [0005] and [0006]; [0021]-[0024]; [0026], Lines 1-9 and [0027], Lines 1-3).
Tanaka does not explicitly disclose apply a second electric charge having a second polarity opposite the first polarity to at least one interior surface of the particulate removal system downstream of the cyclone chamber; such that the particulates in the cyclone chamber become charged with the first polarity and accelerated by electrostatic attraction forces from the cyclone chamber to to the particulate removal system downstream of the cyclone chamber.
Yoshida discloses an analogous cyclone separator with an electrostatic system configured to
apply a second electric charge having a second polarity opposite the first polarity to at least one interior surface of the particulate removal system (see figs. 3-6; voltage impression device 12 charges electrode 11 of the particle trap box 3 (metal ring electrode 11) with an electric charge opposed to that of the fine particles 90; [0033]-[0034] and [0040], lines 1-5) downstream of the cyclone chamber (see figs. 3-6, box 3 is below cyclone portion 2; particles 90 that precipitate in the cyclone portion 2 fall down into the particle trap box 3; [0043], lines 1-3);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust box of Tanaka with the electrode of the particle trap box and the voltage impression device of Yoshida to provide the particle trap box with an electric charge opposed to that of the fine particles; therefore, allowing the fine particles to adhere to the inner wall of the particle trap box 3, prevent the particles from scattering, and enable the particles to be efficiently trapped in the particle/dust box (Yoshida: [0043]). Additionally, Tanaka discloses a similar concept/function, where electrode 12 is charged with a positive charge and a metal plating 13 is charged with a negative charge to allow for adhering the particles to the plate such that even fine particle size dust can be collected [0026]. Therefore, the idea of using opposite charges to electrically attract the particles to a particle removal system would have been obvious to one in the art.
It directly follows that the resultant air purifier with providing an electrode with a positive charge of Tanaka combined with the electrode (of an opposite charge) of the particle trap box in Yoshida would meet the claimed structural limitations since:
Tanaka and Yoshida combined discloses
such that the particulates in the cyclone chamber become charged with the first polarity (Tanaka: figs. 1-6; electrodes 12 can charge dust with a positive charge (or with positive and negative charge alternatively); [0005] and [0006]; [0021]-[0024]; [0026], Lines 1-9 and [0027], Lines 1-3) and accelerated by electrostatic attraction forces from the cyclone chamber to (Tanaka: dust is charged positively to attract to negative portion; [0026]; Yoshida: particle box 3 is charged with an opposed charge to that of the fine particles which migrate due to an electric field to adhere to the electrode 11 of the particle box 3; [0033]) to the particulate removal system downstream of the cyclone chamber (figs. 1-6; dust box 5 is downstream of the cyclone portion/part/unit S; [0005] and [0006]; [0018], lines 9-11).
Regarding claim 2, Tanaka further discloses
The air treatment system (Tanaka: air purifier; Yoshida: voltage impression device and electrode of particulate trap box) of Claim 1,
wherein the electrostatic filtration system electronics (Tanaka: figs. 1-6; electrodes 12 can charge dust with a positive charge; [0005] and [0006]; [0021]-[0024]; [0026], Lines 1-9 and [0027], Lines 1-3; Yoshida: see figs. 3-6; voltage impression device 12 charges electrode 11 of the particle trap box 3 (metal ring electrode 11) with an electric charge opposed to that of the fine particles 90; [0033]-[0034] and [0040], lines 1-5) are configured to:
apply the first electric charge (figs. 1-6; electrodes 12 can charge dust with positive and negative charge alternatively or can charge dust with a positive charge; [0005] and [0006]; [0021]-[0024]; [0026], Lines 1-9 and [0027], Lines 1-3) having the first polarity (positive charge/polarity; [0005] and [0006]; [0021]-[0024]; [0026], Lines 1-9 and [0027], Lines 1-3) to at least one conductive surface of the cyclone chamber (figs. 1-6; electrode 12 is on an interior surface of the suction port 11 of the cyclone part S; [0021]) to thereby apply the first electric charge the particulates (figs. 1-6; electrodes 12 can charge dust; [0005] and [0006]; [0021]-[0024]; [0026], Lines 1-9 and [0027], Lines 1-3) in the cyclone chamber (figs. 1-6; cyclone portion/part/unit S; [0005] and [0006]; [0021]-[0024]; [0026], Lines 1-9 and [0027], Lines 1-3); and
apply a second electric charge having a second polarity opposite the first polarity to at least one conductive surface of the particulate removal system (Yoshida: see figs. 3-6; voltage impression device 12 charges electrode 11 of the particle trap box 3 (metal ring electrode 11) with an electric charge opposed to that of the fine particles 90; [0033]-[0034] and [0040], lines 1-5) downstream of the cyclone chamber (Yoshida: see figs. 3-6, box 3 is below cyclone portion 2; particles 90 that precipitate in the cyclone portion 2 fall down into the particle trap box 3; [0043], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 16, Tanaka further discloses
The air treatment system (Tanaka: air purifier; Yoshida: voltage impression device and electrode of particulate trap box) of Claim 1,
wherein the particulate removal system (Tanaka: figs. 1-6; dust box 5; [0018], Lines 9-11) comprises a particulate repository (Tanaka: figs. 1-6; dust box 5; [0018], Lines 7-11 and [0019], Lines 1-3) configured to receive and store particulates (Tanaka: dust; [0018], Lines 7-11 and [0019], Lines 1-3) removed from the cyclone chamber (Tanaka: figs. 1-6; cyclone portion/part/unit S; [0005], Lines 1-8; [0018], Lines 7-11; [0019], Lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 19, Tanaka further discloses
the air treatment system (Fig. 10; air purifier A; Paragraph 0018, Lines 1-2) of Claim 1, further comprising
a blower (figs. 1-6; intake fan 8; [0005], Lines 3-6 and Paragraph 0018, Lines 5-6) configured to generate a positive pressure airflow ([0005], Lines 3-6 and [0018], Lines 5-6) through the cyclone filter (figs. 1-6; air purifier A is a centrifugal separator that uses a cyclone therefore a cyclone filter; [0018], Lines 1-11).
Regarding claim 24, Tanaka further discloses
The air treatment system (Tanaka: air purifier A) of Claim 1,
wherein the cyclone filter (figs. 1-6; air purifier A is a centrifugal separator that uses a cyclone therefore a cyclone filter; [0004], Lines 1-3; [0018], Lines 1-11) is configured to produce a rotational airflow (Fig. 2; Paragraph 0027, Lines 1-3; air is moved rotationally as can be seen in Fig. 2) in the cyclone chamber (figs. 1-6; cyclone portion/part/unit S; [0018], Lines 7-11) to propel at least a portion of the particulates (dust; [0018], Lines 9-11 and Paragraph 0020, Lines 1-6) in the cyclone chamber (figs. 1-6; cyclone portion/part/unit S; [0018], Lines 7-11) radially outwardly ([0018], Lines 9-11 and Paragraph 0020, Lines 1-6), resulting in particulate clusters (large dust; Paragraph 0020, Lines 1-6) that fall downwardly toward the particulate removal system (figs. 1-6; dust box 5; Paragraph 0020, Lines 1-6; Paragraph 0026 Lines 1-9 and Paragraph 0028, Lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 27, Tanaka further discloses
the air treatment system (Tanaka: air purifier A) of Claim 1,
wherein the cyclone chamber has a conical shape (see figs. 1-6; cyclone portion/part/unit S has conical part 15; [0009], lines 1-2 and [0018]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (JP 2003117323) and its translation (EspaceNet Translation Tanaka) in view of Yoshida (US 20050087080) and further in view of Kim (KR 100228922) and its translation (PE2E Translation Kim).
Regarding claim 3, Tanaka discloses
the air treatment system (Tanaka: air purifier; Yoshida: voltage impression device and electrode of particulate trap box) of Claim 2,
Tanaka does not disclose wherein the at least one conductive surface of the cyclone chamber comprises silver or copper.
Kim discloses a cyclone electrostatic separator
wherein the at least one conductive surface (Fig. 3b; tribocharging charge plate 21; Page 3, Paragraph 4, Lines 6-10) of the cyclone chamber (see modified Fig. 3b below) comprises silver or copper (Page 3, Paragraph 4, Lines 6-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode in Tanaka with the tribocharging charge plate of Kim to be made of copper as it has high electrical conductivity and natural antimicrobial properties.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (JP 2003117323) and its translation (EspaceNet Translation Tanaka) in view of Yoshida (US 20050087080) and further in view of Park (KR 20180037503) and its translation (PE2E Translation Park) and Sutcliffe (WO 2017055207)
Regarding claim 4, Tanaka discloses
The air treatment system (Tanaka: air purifier; Yoshida: voltage impression device and electrode of particulate trap box) of Claim 1, further comprising:
Tanaka does not disclose a pressure sensor configured to monitor an air pressure; and pressure-based control electronics configured to dynamically control the electrostatic filtration system as a function of the monitored air pressure.
Park discloses an air suction unit with a cyclone where
a pressure sensor (Fig. 3; sensor P; Page 2, Paragraph 4, Lines 1-6) configured to monitor an air pressure (Page 2, Paragraph 4, Lines 1-6; senses the pressure in the housing as the air with dust moves into the housing); and pressure-based control electronics (controller 60; Page 2, Paragraph 4, Lines 1-6)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air purifier of Tanaka with the pressure sensor and controller of Park to be able to sense the pressure formed in the inner space of the housing and transmit a signal to the controller as air moves into the inner space of the housing (Park: Page 2, Paragraph 4, Lines 1-6).
Park does not disclose pressure-based control electronics configured to dynamically control the electrostatic filtration system as a function of the monitored air pressure
Sutcliffe discloses an electrostatic device with a cyclone (Page 4, Paragraph 1, Lines 7) where
pressure-based control electronics (Fig. 3; controller; Page 4, Paragraph 3, Lines 1-7; controller based on pressure drop) configured to dynamically control the electrostatic filtration system (Fig. 3; electrostatic device 164; Page 4, Paragraph 3, Lines 4-7; Page 7, Paragraph 5, Line 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air purifier of the modified device of Tanaka with the controller of Sutcliffe to be able to control the voltage applied between surfaces of the electrostatic precipitator and discharge based on the detected pressure (Sutcliffe: Page 4, Paragraph 3, Lines 4-7)
It directly follows that the resultant air purifier of Tanaka combined with the sensor of Park and controller of Sutcliffe would meet the claimed structural limitations since:
Tanaka combined with Park and Sutcliffe discloses
pressure-based control electronics (Sutcliffe Fig. 3; controller; Page 4, Paragraph 3, Lines 1-7) configured to dynamically control (the electrostatic filtration system (Tanaka: figs. 1-6; electrodes 12; [0005] and [0006]; [0026] and [0027]; Yoshida: see figs. 3-6; voltage impression device 12 charges electrode 11; [0033]-[0034] and [0040], lines 1-5; Sutcliffe: Fig. 3; electrostatic device 164; Page 4, Paragraph 3, Lines 4-7; Page 7, Paragraph 5, Line 1) as a function of the monitored air pressure (Park: Fig. 3; sensor P; Page 2, Paragraph 4, Lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 5, the modified device of Tanaka further discloses
the air treatment system (Tanaka: air purifier; Yoshida: voltage impression device and electrode of particulate trap box; Park: pressure sensor; Sutcliffe: controller) of Claim 4,
wherein the pressure-based control electronics (Sutcliffe Fig. 3; controller; Page 4, Paragraph 3, Lines 1-7) are configured to dynamically control (Sutcliffe controller; Page 4, Paragraph 3, Lines 1-7 and Paragraph Page 7, Paragraph 2, Lines 1-5; controls the voltage applied to the ionization member and collection plates; Tanaka and Yoshida: controller of Sutcliffe would control charge going to electrode 12 of cyclone and electrode 11 of dust box), based on the monitored air pressure (Park: Fig. 3; sensor P; Page 2, Paragraph 4, Lines 1-6), at least one of
(a) a first voltage (Tanaka: Fig. 10; electrode 12 applies positive charge/voltage electrode 12; 0005] and [0006]; [0021]-[0024]; [0026], Lines 1-9 and [0027], Lines 1-3) having the first polarity (positive charge/polarity; [0005] and [0006]; [0021]-[0024]; [0026], Lines 1-9 and [0027], Lines 1-3) to at least one conductive surface of the cyclone chamber (figs. 1-6; electrode 12 is on an interior surface of the suction port 11 of the cyclone part S; [0021]) or
(b) a second voltage having the second polarity to at least one conductive surface of the particulate removal system (Yoshida: see figs. 3-6; voltage impression device 12 charges electrode 11 of the particle trap box 3 (metal ring electrode 11) with an electric charge opposed to that of the fine particles 90; [0033]-[0034] and [0040], lines 1-5; [0050]) downstream of the cyclone chamber (Yoshida: see figs. 3-6, box 3 is below cyclone portion 2; particles 90 that precipitate in the cyclone portion 2 fall down into the particle trap box 3; [0043], lines 1-3).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (JP 2003117323) and its translation (EspaceNet Translation Tanaka) in view of Yoshida (US 20050087080) and further in view of Park (KR 20180037503) and its translation (PE2E Translation Park), Sutcliffe (WO 2017055207), and Zhou (US 20160001108).
Regarding claim 6, the modified device of Tanaka discloses
The air treatment system (Tanaka: air purifier; Yoshida: voltage impression device and electrode of particulate trap box: Park: pressure sensor; Sutcliffe: controller) of Claim 4,
The modified device of Tanaka does not disclose wherein the pressure-based control electronics are configured to: automatically detect inhalation events based on the monitored air pressure, the automatically detected inhalation events including at least one of a start of inhalation, an end of inhalation, or an occurrence of an inhalation; and automatically control the electrostatic filtration system based on the detected inhalation events.
Zhou discloses a breathing apparatus
wherein the pressure-based control electronics (Zhou: Fig. 6; controller 74; Paragraph 0032, Lines 11-14 and Paragraph 0033, Lines 10-12) are configured to:
automatically detect inhalation events (Zhou: Fig. 7; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16) based on the monitored air pressure (Park: Page 2, Paragraph 4, Lines 1-6; Zhou: Paragraph 0032, Lines 7-11),
the automatically detected inhalation events (Zhou: Fig. 7; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16) including at least one of
a start of inhalation (Zhou: Fig. 7; start of inhale 80; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16),
an end of inhalation (Zhou: Fig. 7; end of inhale 80; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16), or
an occurrence of an inhalation (Zhou: Fig. 7; inhale 80; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pressure sensor and controller of the modified device of Tanaka with the pressure sensor and controller of Zhou to be able to reduce battery consumption by controlling the current applied when inhaling and exhaling (Zhou: Paragraph 11-16).
It directly follows that the resultant modified air purifier of Tanaka modified with the pressure sensor and controller of Zhou would meet the claimed structural limitations since:
The modified device of Tanaka and Zhou combined discloses
wherein the pressure-based control electronics (Sutcliffe Fig. 3; controller; Page 4, Paragraph 3, Lines 1-7) automatically control the electrostatic filtration system (Tanaka: figs. 1-6; electrodes 12; [0005] and [0006]; [0026] and [0027]; Yoshida: see figs. 3-6; voltage impression device 12 charges electrode 11; [0033]-[0034] and [0040], lines 1-5; Sutcliffe: Fig. 3; electrostatic device 164; Page 4, Paragraph 3, Lines 4-7; Page 7, Paragraph 5, Line 1) based on the detected inhalation events (Zhou: Fig. 7; inhale 80; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16).
Regarding claim 7, the modified device of Tanaka discloses
the air treatment system (Tanaka: air purifier; Yoshida: voltage impression device and electrode of particulate trap box; Park: pressure sensor; Sutcliffe: controller; Zhou: inhalation events) of Claim 6,
wherein the pressure-based control electronics (Sutcliffe Fig. 3; controller; Page 4, Paragraph 3, Lines 1-7) are configured to:
automatically detect an inhalation event (Zhou: Fig. 7; inhales 80; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16) based on the monitored air pressure (Park: Page 2, Paragraph 4, Lines 1-6; Zhou: Paragraph 0032, Lines 7-11);
automatically activate (Zhou: Fig.7; Paragraph 0033, Lines 10-12; sends current when inhaling therefore it would turn on the electrostatic filtration system in Tanaka) the electrostatic filtration system (Tanaka: figs. 1-6; electrodes 12; [0005] and [0006]; [0026] and [0027]; Yoshida: see figs. 3-6; voltage impression device 12 charges electrode 11; [0033]-[0034] and [0040], lines 1-5; Sutcliffe: Fig. 3; electrostatic device 164; Page 4, Paragraph 3, Lines 4-7; Page 7, Paragraph 5, Line 1) in response to the detected inhalation event (Zhou: Fig. 7; inhales 80; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16);
automatically detect a no-inhalation period (Zhou: Fig. 7; exhale 82; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-8) during which no inhalation event (Zhou: Fig. 7; exhale 82; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-8) is detected for a defined no-inhalation threshold duration (Zhou: Fig. 7; exhale 82; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-8); and
automatically deactivate (Zhou: Fig. 7; exhale 82; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-8; no current is sent from controller during this period therefore it would turn off the electrostatic filtration system in Tanaka) the electrostatic filtration system (Tanaka: figs. 1-6; electrodes 12; [0005] and [0006]; [0026] and [0027]; Yoshida: see figs. 3-6; voltage impression device 12 charges electrode 11; [0033]-[0034] and [0040], lines 1-5; Sutcliffe: Fig. 3; electrostatic device 164; Page 4, Paragraph 3, Lines 4-7; Page 7, Paragraph 5, Line 1) in response to the detected no-inhalation period (Zhou: Fig. 7; exhale 82; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 8, the modified device of Tanaka discloses
The air treatment system (Tanaka: air purifier; Yoshida: voltage impression device and electrode of particulate trap box; Park: pressure sensor; Sutcliffe: controller; Zhou: inhalation events) of Claim 4,
wherein the control electronics (Sutcliffe Fig. 3; controller; Page 4, Paragraph 3, Lines 1-7) are configured to:
activate (Sutcliffe: Fig. 3; electrostatic device 164, controls based on pressure; Page 4, Paragraph 3, Lines 4-7; Page 7, Paragraph 5, Line 1) the electrostatic filtration system (Tanaka: figs. 1-6; electrodes 12; [0005] and [0006]; [0026] and [0027]; Yoshida: see figs. 3-6; voltage impression device 12 charges electrode 11; [0033]-[0034] and [0040], lines 1-5); and
deactivate (Sutcliffe: Fig. 3; electrostatic device 164, controls based on pressure; Page 4, Paragraph 3, Lines 4-7; Page 7, Paragraph 5, Line 1) the electrostatic filtration system (Tanaka: figs. 1-6; electrodes 12; [0005] and [0006]; [0026] and [0027]; Yoshida: see figs. 3-6; voltage impression device 12 charges electrode 11; [0033]-[0034] and [0040], lines 1-5).
The modified device of Tanaka does not disclose detect a start of inhalation by a user based on the monitored air pressure; activate the electrostatic filtration system the electrostatic filtration system as a function of the detected start of inhalation; detect an end of inhalation by the user based on the monitored air pressure; and deactivate the electrostatic filtration system as a function of the detected end of inhalation.
Zhou discloses a breathing apparatus
detect a start of inhalation (Zhou: Fig. 7; start of inhale 80; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16) by a user based on the monitored air pressure (Zhou: Paragraph 0032, Lines 7-11);
detect an end of inhalation (Zhou: Fig. 7; end of inhale 80/start of exhale 82; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16) by the user based on the monitored air pressure (Zhou: Paragraph 0032, Lines 7-11) and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pressure sensor and controller of the modified device of Tanaka with the pressure sensor and controller of Zhou to be able to reduce battery consumption by controlling the current applied when inhaling and exhaling (Zhou: Paragraph 11-16).
It directly follows that the resultant modified air purifier of Tanaka modified with the pressure sensor and controller of Zhou would meet the claimed structural limitations since:
The modified device of Tanaka and Zhou combined discloses
activate (Zhou: Fig.7; Paragraph 0033, Lines 10-12; sends current when inhaling therefore it would turn on the electrostatic filtration system in Tanaka) the electrostatic filtration system (Tanaka: figs. 1-6; electrodes 12; [0005] and [0006]; [0026] and [0027]; Yoshida: see figs. 3-6; voltage impression device 12 charges electrode 11; [0033]-[0034] and [0040], lines 1-5; Sutcliffe: Fig. 3; electrostatic device 164; Page 4, Paragraph 3, Lines 4-7; Page 7, Paragraph 5, Line 1) as a function of the detected start of inhalation (Zhou: Fig. 7; inhales 80; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16);
deactivate (Zhou: Fig. 7; exhale 82; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-8; no current is sent from controller during this period therefore it would turn off the electrostatic filtration system in Tanaka) the electrostatic filtration system (Tanaka: figs. 1-6; electrodes 12; [0005] and [0006]; [0026] and [0027]; Yoshida: see figs. 3-6; voltage impression device 12 charges electrode 11; [0033]-[0034] and [0040], lines 1-5; Sutcliffe: Fig. 3; electrostatic device 164; Page 4, Paragraph 3, Lines 4-7; Page 7, Paragraph 5, Line 1) as a function of the detected end of inhalation (Zhou: Fig. 7; inhales 80; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (JP 2003117323) and its translation (EspaceNet Translation Tanaka) in view of Yoshida (US 20050087080) and further in view of Anderson (US 20130017135).
Regarding claim 9, the modified device of Tanaka discloses
The air treatment system (Fig. 10; air purifier A; Paragraph 0018, Lines 1-2) of Claim 1, further comprising
Tanaka does not disclose an ultraviolet purification system configured to deliver ultraviolet radiation to the cyclone chamber to affect at least some of the particulates in the received air.
Anderson discloses a gas purification apparatus with a cyclone that has
an ultraviolet purification system (Fig. 2; UV-LED and photocatalyst; Paragraph 0017, Lines 1-15; Paragraph 0020, Lines 1-11; Paragraph 0022, Lines 18-21) configured to deliver ultraviolet radiation (Paragraph 0017, Lines 1-15; Paragraph 0020, Lines 1-11; Paragraph 0022, Lines 18-21) to the cyclone chamber (Fig. 2; cyclone chamber 10; Paragraph 0022, Lines 18-21) to affect (affect is being interpreted as kill, destroy or otherwise modify in accordance with the specification) at least some of the particulates in the received air (this is intended use and therefore not given any patentable weight; regardless UV-LEDs are used to sterilize and therefore would sterilize/ affect some of the particulates in the received air).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air purifier of with the gas purification apparatus of Anderson to have a UV-LED and photocatalyst that would further sterilize the incoming contaminated air.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (JP 2003117323) and its translation (EspaceNet Translation Tanaka) in view of Yoshida (US 20050087080) and further in view of Anderson (US 20130017135) and Pujol (US 10130726).
Regarding claim 10, the modified device of Tanaka discloses
The air treatment system (Tanaka: air purifier A; Anderson: UV-LED) of Claim 9,
wherein the ultraviolet purification system (Anderson: Fig. 2; UV-LED and photocatalyst; Paragraph 0017, Lines 1-15; Paragraph 0020, Lines 1-11; Paragraph 0022, Lines 18-21) is configured to deliver ultraviolet radiation (Paragraph 0017, Lines 1-15; Paragraph 0020, Lines 1-11; Paragraph 0022, Lines 18-21) to the cyclone chamber (Fig. 2; cyclone chamber 10; Paragraph 0022, Lines 18-21) to affect organic particulates in the cyclone chamber (this is intended use and therefore not given any patentable weight; regardless UV-LEDs are used to sterilize and therefore would kill/destroy organic particulates in the cyclone filter).
Tanaka does not disclose wherein the ultraviolet purification system is configured to deliver ultraviolet C (UVC) radiation
Pujol discloses a gas delivery system and a method for sanitizing
wherein the ultraviolet purification system (Fig. 10; ultraviolet light system 70-10; Col. 7, Lines 41-58; Col. 8, Lines 1-10 and Lines 24-28) is configured to deliver ultraviolet C (UVC) radiation (Fig. 10; UVC light emitting diodes (LEDs) 220; Col. 7, Lines 41-58; Col. 8, Lines 1-10 and Lines 24-28)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the UV-LED and photocatalyst of the modified device of Tanaka with the UVC-LED of Pujol as a practitioner in the art would have reasonably recognized that UVC-LEDs are a known alternative in the art used to sterilize and kill organisms on the surfaces by altering the DNA of such organisms preventing them from reproducing and thereby resulting in a safer and healthier air path for a user (Pujol: Col. 7, Lines 47-56).
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (JP 2003117323) and its translation (EspaceNet Translation Tanaka) in view of Yoshida (US 20050087080) and further in view of Anderson (US 20130017135), Park (KR 20180037503) and its translation (PE2E Translation Park), and Zhou (US 20160001108)
Regarding claim 11, Tanaka discloses
the air treatment system (Tanaka: air purifier A; Anderson: UV LED and photocatalyst in cyclone) of Claim 9, further comprising:
Tanaka does not disclose a pressure sensor configured to monitor an air pressure; and pressure-based control electronics configured to control at least one of the electrostatic filtration system or the ultraviolet purification system as a function of the monitored air pressure.
Park discloses an air suction unit with a cyclone where
a pressure sensor (Fig. 3; sensor P; Page 2, Paragraph 4, Lines 1-6) configured to monitor an air pressure (Page 2, Paragraph 4, Lines 1-6; senses the pressure in the housing as the air with dust moves into the housing (cyclone chamber)); and pressure-based control electronics (controller 60; Page 2, Paragraph 4, Lines 1-6)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air purifier of Tanaka with the pressure sensor and controller of Park to be able to sense the pressure formed in the inner space of the housing and transmit a signal to the controller as air moves into the inner space of the housing (Park: Page 2, Paragraph 4, Lines 1-6)
Park does not disclose pressure-based control electronics configured to control at least one of the electrostatic filtration system or the ultraviolet purification system as a function of the monitored air pressure.
Zhou discloses a breathing apparatus with UV LEDs where
a pressure sensor (Fig. 6; sensor 72; Paragraph 0032, Lines 7-11); and pressure-based control electronics (Fig. 6; controller 74; Paragraph 0032, Lines 11-14 and Paragraph 0033, Lines 10-12) configured to control at least one of the
electrostatic filtration system or
the ultraviolet purification system (Fig. 6; UV LEDS 44; Paragraph 0032, Lines 11-14 and Paragraph 0033, Lines 10-12) as a function of the monitored air pressure (Paragraph 0032, Lines 7-11).
Cyclone filters are known to be able to be used in breathing apparatuses and applications as evidence in (Anderson: Paragraph 0013, Lines 1-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the sensor and controller in the modified device of Tanaka with the sensor and controller of Zhou to be able to increase or decrease the current/voltage sent to the UB LED to turn on and off the UV LED as needed to conserve battery consumption and increase lifted of the UV LED (Zhou: Paragraph 0031, Lines 13-17).
Regarding claim 12, the modified device of Tanaka discloses
the air treatment system (Tanaka: air purifier A; Anderson: UV LED and cyclone in wearable air purifier; Park: sensor and controller in cyclone; Zhou: sensor and controller with UV) of Claim 11,
wherein the pressure-based control electronics (Zhou: Fig. 6; controller 74; Paragraph 0032, Lines 11-14 and Paragraph 0033, Lines 10-12; ) are configured to dynamically control the delivery of ultraviolet radiation (Anderson: Fig. 2; UV LED; Paragraph 0017, Lines 1-15; Paragraph 0020, Lines 1-11; Paragraph 0022, Lines 18-21) to the cyclone chamber (Tanaka; Fig. 2; cyclone chamber 10; Paragraph 0022, Lines 18-21) based on the monitored air pressure (Park: Fig. 3; sensor P; Page 2, Paragraph 4, Lines 1-6; Zhou: sensor 72; Paragraph 0032, Lines 7-11).
Regarding claim 13, the modified device of Tanaka discloses
The air treatment system (Tanaka: air purifier A; Anderson: UV LED and cyclone in wearable air purifier; Park: sensor and controller in cyclone; Zhou: sensor and controller with UV) of Claim 9, further comprising:
a pressure sensor (Park: Fig. 3; sensor P; Page 2, Paragraph 4, Lines 1-6; Zhou: Fig. 6; sensor 72; Paragraph 0032, Lines 7-11) configured to monitor an air pressure (Park: Page 2, Paragraph 4, Lines 1-6; Zhou: Paragraph 0032, Lines 7-11); and
pressure-based control electronics (Zhou: Fig. 6; controller 74; Paragraph 0032, Lines 11-14 and Paragraph 0033, Lines 10-12) configured to:
automatically detect inhalation events (Zhou: Fig. 7; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16) based on the monitored air pressure (Park: Page 2, Paragraph 4, Lines 1-6; Zhou: Paragraph 0032, Lines 7-11),
the automatically detected inhalation events (Zhou: Fig. 7; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16) including at least one of
a start of inhalation (Zhou: Fig. 7; start of inhale 80; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16),
an end of inhalation (Zhou: Fig. 7; end of inhale 80; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16),
or an occurrence of an inhalation (Zhou: Fig. 7; inhale 80; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16); and
automatically control the ultraviolet purification system (Anderson: Fig. 2; UV LED; Paragraph 0017, Lines 1-15; Paragraph 0020, Lines 1-11; Paragraph 0022, Lines 18-21; Zhou: Fig. 6; UV LEDS 44; Paragraph 0032, Lines 11-14 and Paragraph 0033, Lines 10-12) based on the detected inhalation events (Zhou: Fig. 7; inhales 80; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16).
Regarding claim 14, the modified device of Tanaka discloses
The air treatment system (Tanaka: air purifier A; Anderson: UV LED and cyclone in wearable air purifier; Park: sensor and controller in cyclone; Zhou: sensor and controller with UV) of Claim 13,
wherein the pressure-based control electronics (Zhou: Fig. 6; controller 74; Paragraph 0032, Lines 11-14 and Paragraph 0033, Lines 10-12) are configured to:
automatically detect an inhalation event (Zhou: Fig. 7; inhales 80; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16) based on the monitored air pressure (Park: Page 2, Paragraph 4, Lines 1-6; Zhou: Paragraph 0032, Lines 7-11);
automatically activate (Zhou: Paragraph 0033, Lines 10-12) the ultraviolet purification system (Anderson: Fig. 2; UV LED; Paragraph 0017, Lines 1-15; Paragraph 0020, Lines 1-11; Paragraph 0022, Lines 18-21; Zhou: Fig. 6; UV LEDS 44; Paragraph 0032, Lines 11-14 and Paragraph 0033, Lines 10-12) in response to the detected inhalation event (Zhou: Fig. 7; inhales 80; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16);
automatically detect a no-inhalation period (Zhou: Fig. 7; exhale 82; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-8) during which no inhalation event is detected (Zhou: Fig. 7; exhale 82; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-8) for a defined no-inhalation threshold duration (Zhou: Fig. 7; exhale 82; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-8); and
automatically deactivate (Zhou: Fig. 7; exhale 82; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-8) the ultraviolet purification system (Anderson: Fig. 2; UV LED; Paragraph 0017, Lines 1-15; Paragraph 0020, Lines 1-11; Paragraph 0022, Lines 18-21; Zhou: Fig. 6; UV LEDS 44; Paragraph 0032, Lines 11-14 and Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-8) in response to the detected no- inhalation period (Zhou: Fig. 7; exhale 82; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 15, the modified device of Tanaka discloses
The air treatment system (Tanaka: air purifier A; Anderson: UV LED and cyclone in wearable air purifier; Park: sensor and controller in cyclone; Zhou: sensor and controller with UV) of Claim 9, further comprising:
a pressure sensor (Park: Fig. 3; sensor P; Page 2, Paragraph 4, Lines 1-6; Zhou: Fig. 6; sensor 72; Paragraph 0032, Lines 7-11) configured to monitor an air pressure (Park: Page 2, Paragraph 4, Lines 1-6; Zhou: Paragraph 0032, Lines 7-11); and
pressure-based control electronics (Zhou: Fig. 6; controller 74; Paragraph 0033, Lines 11-14 and Paragraph 0033, Lines 10-12) configured to:
detect a start of inhalation (Zhou: Fig. 7; start of inhale 80; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16) by a user based on the monitored air pressure (Zhou: Paragraph 0032, Lines 7-11);
activate the ultraviolet purification system (Anderson: Fig. 2; UV LED; Paragraph 0017, Lines 1-15; Paragraph 0020, Lines 1-11; Paragraph 0022, Lines 18-21; Zhou: Fig. 6; UV LEDS 44; Paragraph 0032, Lines 11-14 and Paragraph 0033, Lines 10-12) as a function of the detected start of inhalation (Zhou: Fig. 7; start of inhale 80; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16);
detect an end of inhalation (Zhou: Fig. 7; end of inhale 80/start of exhale 82; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16) by the user based on the monitored air pressure (Zhou: Paragraph 0032, Lines 7-11); and
deactivate the ultraviolet purification system (Anderson: Fig. 2; UV LED; Paragraph 0017, Lines 1-15; Paragraph 0020, Lines 1-11; Paragraph 0022, Lines 18-21; Zhou: Fig. 6; UV LEDS 44; Paragraph 0032, Lines 11-14 and Paragraph 0033, Lines 7-8) as a function of the detected end of inhalation (Zhou: Fig. 7; end of inhale 80/start of exhale 82; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-16).
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (JP 2003117323) and its translation (EspaceNet Translation Tanaka) in view Yoshida (US 20050087080) and further in view of Gwon (KR 101386187) and its translation (PE2E Translation Gwon).
Regarding claim 17, Tanaka discloses
The air treatment system (Fig. 10; air purifier A; [0018], Lines 1-2) of Claim 1, further comprising
Tanaka does not disclose a replaceable filter arranged downstream of the cyclone filter outlet.
Gwon discloses an air cleaner with a cyclone that has
a replaceable filter (Fig. 3; filter cartridge 50; Page 4, Paragraph 2, Lines 1-4 and Page 4, Paragraph 7, Lines 1-3; antibacterial filter 51 is replaceable) arranged downstream (filter cartridge 50 is above the discharging pipe 22 in other words downstream from the cyclone) of the cyclone filter outlet (Fig. 3; discharging pipe 22; Page 4, Paragraph 1, Lines 3-9).
It would have been obvious expediency in the art to provide a replaceable filter downstream of the cyclone filter to provide redundancy to ensure that all the particulates will be filtered even when particulates escape the cyclone filter outlet. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air purifier of Tanaka to have a replaceable filter like Gwon downstream from the discharging pipe to have an additional filter to filter any remaining particles or dust.
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (JP 2003117323) and its translation (EspaceNet Translation Tanaka) in view of Yoshida (US 20050087080) and further in view of Zagorski (US 4155359).
Regarding claim 20, Tanaka discloses
The air treatment system (Fig. 10; air purifier A; [0018], Lines 1-2) of Claim 1, further comprising
Tanaka does not disclose a respiratory interface configured to connect the cyclone filter with a user's respiratory system so that the rotational airflow in the cyclone chamber is generated by an inhalation of the user.
Zagorski discloses an air filtering mask with a cyclone filter where in
a respiratory interface (Fig. 1 and 6; mask body 55; Col. 3; Lines 43-50) configured to connect the cyclone filter (Fig. 1; cyclone separator filter 11; Col. 1, Lines 54-68 and Col. 2, Lines 1-3) with a user's respiratory system (Col. 5, Lines 44-52) so that the rotational airflow (Fig. 1; Col. 3, Lines 57-68 and Col. 4, Lines 1-7) in the cyclone chamber (Fig. 1; circular cylindrical section 13 and frusto-conical section 17; Col. 3, Lines 57-68 and Col. 4, Lines 1-7) is generated by an inhalation of the user (Col. 3, Lines 57-68 and Col. 4, Lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air purifier of Tanaka to be connected to a face mask body like Zagorski to directly provide filtered air to the user’s face.
Regarding claim 21, the modified device of Tanaka discloses
The air treatment system (Tanaka: air purifier A; Zagorski: mask body) of Claim 1,
wherein the respiratory interface (Fig. 1 and 6; mask body 55; Col. 3; Lines 43-50) comprises a facemask (Fig. 1 and 6; mask body 55; Col. 3; Lines 43-50; mask body is a facemask).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (JP 2003117323) its translation (EspaceNet Translation Tanaka) in view of Yoshida (US 20050087080) and further in view of Whale (US 20220016446).
Regarding claim 22, Tanaka discloses
The air treatment system (Tanaka: air purifier A) of Claim 1,
Tanaka does not disclose wherein the air treatment system is a self-contained wearable system.
Whale discloses a portable air delivery system 100
wherein the air treatment system (Figs. 1 and 2; airflow system 102; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-6 and Paragraph 0038, Lines 1-16; filter can have a combination of a cyclonic filter, electrostatic filter, ultrasonic filter) is a self-contained wearable system (Figs. 1 and 2; backpack 131; Paragraph 0033, Lines 1-6 and Paragraph 0038, Lines 1-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air purifier of Tanaka with the air deliver system of Whale to be small enough to fit in a backpack to make the system more portable.
Claims 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (JP 2003117323) and its translation (EspaceNet Translation Tanaka) in view of Anderson (US 20130017135).
Regarding claim 25, Tanaka discloses
An air treatment system (Fig. 10; air purifier A; [0018], Lines 1-2) for treating contaminated air ([0018], Lines 1-11; air purifier A treats air),
the air treatment system (Fig. 10; air purifier A; [0018], Lines 1-2) comprising:
a cyclone filter including a cyclone chamber (Fig. 10; air purifier A is a centrifugal separator that uses a cyclone therefore a cyclone filter; [0004], Lines 1-3; [0018], Lines 1-11), the cyclone filter configured to receive air (Fig. 10; air inlet/air introduction port 2; Paragraph 0006, Lines 1-3; [0018], Lines 7-9) including particulates (dust; [0005], Lines 1-6; [0018], Lines 7-9) and produce a rotational airflow in the cyclone chamber (Fig. 2; Paragraph 0027, Lines 1-3; air is moved rotationally as can be seen in Fig. 2)for removing at least some of the particulates (dust; [0018], Lines 9-11);
an electrostatic filtration system (Fig. 10; electrodes 12; Paragraph 0026, Lines 1-9 and Paragraph 0027, Lines 1-3) configured to electrically charge (Fig. 10; electrode 12 applies positive charge electrode 12; Paragraph 0026, Lines 1-3 and Lines 6-7) the particulates (dust; Paragraph 0026, Lines 1-3 and Lines 6-7) in the cyclone filter (Fig. 10; air purifier A is a centrifugal separator that uses a cyclone therefore a cyclone filter; [0004], Lines 1-3; [0018], Lines 1-11; electrode charges particulates in cyclone part/portion/unit S) to create electrostatic forces (Paragraph 0026, Lines 1-9 and Paragraph 0028, Lines 1-4) that accelerate the particulates away from the cyclone filter (see fig. 2 where air is drawn and spirals downwards; electrode 12 can provide alternating discharged to the sucked dust such that they collide in the cyclone chamber, combining/aggregating to increase in size which swings the dust downwards in a spiral motion to the dust box 5, [0005]-[0006] and Paragraph 0026, Lines 3-9 and Paragraph 0028, Lines 1-4) to into a particulate removal system downstream of the cyclone chamber (Fig. 10; dust box 5; [0005]-[0006], [0018]-[0020], [0024]; Paragraph 0026, Lines 3-9; Paragraph 0028, Lines 1-4; at least part of the particle removal system like the dust box is downstream of the cyclone portion/part/unit S).
Tanaka does not disclose an ultraviolet purification system configured to deliver ultraviolet radiation to the cyclone filter to kill or destroy organic particulates included in the particulates in the cyclone filter
Anderson discloses a gas purification apparatus with a cyclone that has
an ultraviolet purification system (Fig. 2; UV-LED and photocatalyst; Paragraph 0017, Lines 1-15; Paragraph 0020, Lines 1-11; Paragraph 0022, Lines 18-21) configured to deliver ultraviolet radiation (Paragraph 0017, Lines 1-15; Paragraph 0020, Lines 1-11; Paragraph 0022, Lines 18-21) to the cyclone filter (Fig. 2; cyclone chamber 10; Paragraph 0022, Lines 18-21) to kill or destroy organic particulates included in the particulates in the cyclone filter (this is intended use and therefore not given any patentable weight; regardless UV-LEDs are used to sterilize and therefore would kill/destroy organic particulates in the cyclone filter);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air purifier of Tanaka with the gas purification apparatus of Anderson to have a UV-LED and photocatalyst that would further sterilize the incoming contaminated air.
Regarding claim 26, the modified device of Tanaka discloses
the air treatment system (Tanaka: air purifier A; Anderson: UV-LED) of Claim 25,
wherein the electrostatic filtration system (Fig. 10; electrodes 12 and conductive material of metal plating portion 13; Paragraph 0026, Lines 1-9 and Paragraph 0027, Lines 1-3) comprises electronics (Fig. 10; electrodes 12 and conductive material of metal plating portion 13; Paragraph 0026, Lines 1-9 and Paragraph 0027, Lines 1-3) configured to:
apply a first electric charge (Fig. 10; electrode 12 applies positive charge electrode 12; Paragraph 0026, Lines 1-3 and Lines 6-7) having a first polarity (Paragraph 0026, Lines 1-3 and Lines 6-7; positive charge/polarity) to at least one interior surface of the cyclone chamber to charge (see figs. 10 and 11; electrode 12 is on an interior surface of the suction port 11 of the cyclone part S; [0026]) the particulates (dust; Paragraph 0026, Lines 1-3 and Lines 6-7) in the cyclone filter (Fig. 10; cyclone portion/part/unit S (part of the cyclone filter); Paragraph 0026, Lines 1-3) with the first electric charge (Fig. 10; electrode 12 applies positive charge electrode 12; Paragraph 0026, Lines 1-3 and Lines 6-7); and
apply a second electric charge (Fig. 10; metal plating portion 13 is made of conductive material connected ground/opposite charge; Paragraph 0026, Lines 3-7) having a second polarity (ground (earth); Paragraph 0026, Lines 3-9; ground is used as an opposite polarity to positive) opposite the first polarity (positive charge/polarity; Paragraph 0026, Lines 1-3 and Lines 6-7) to the particulate removal system (Fig. 10; metal plating portion 13 and aluminum foil 14; Paragraph 0026, Lines 3-9 and Paragraph 0028, Lines 1-4);
such that the particulates (dust; Paragraph 0026, Lines 1-9) in the cyclone chamber (Fig. 10; cyclone portion/part/unit S (part of the cyclone filter); Paragraph 0026, Lines 1-3) become charged with the first polarity (positive charge/polarity; Paragraph 0026, Lines 1-3 and Lines 6-7) and accelerated by electrostatic attraction forces from the cyclone chamber (see fig. 2 where air is drawn and spirals downwards; electrode 12 can provide alternating discharged to the sucked dust such that they collide in the cyclone chamber, combining/aggregating to increase in size which swings the dust downwards in a spiral motion to the dust box 5, [0005]-[0006] and Paragraph 0026, Lines 3-9 and Paragraph 0028, Lines 1-4) to the particulate removal system (Fig. 10; metal plating portion 13 and aluminum foil 14; Paragraph 0026, Lines 3-9 and Paragraph 0028, Lines 1-4).
Alternatively if applicant doesn’t agree with the above interpretation, claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (JP 2003117323) and its translation (EspaceNet Translation Tanaka) in view of Anderson (US 20130017135) and further in view of Yoshida (US 20050087080).
Regarding claim 26, the modified device of Tanaka discloses
the air treatment system (Tanaka: air purifier A; Anderson: UV-LED) of Claim 25,
wherein the electrostatic filtration system comprises electronics (Tanaka: figs. 1-6; electrodes 12; [0005] and [0006]; [0021]-[0024]; [0026], Lines 1-9 and [0027], Lines 1-3) configured to:
apply a first electric charge (Tanaka: figs. 1-6; electrodes 12 can charge dust with positive and negative charge alternatively or can charge dust with a positive charge; [0005] and [0006]; [0021]-[0024]; [0026], Lines 1-9 and [0027], Lines 1-3) having a first polarity (Tanaka: positive charge/polarity; [0005] and [0006]; [0021]-[0024]; [0026], Lines 1-9 and [0027], Lines 1-3) to at least one interior surface of the cyclone chamber to charge (figs. 1-6; electrode 12 is on an interior surface of the suction port 11 of the cyclone part S; [0021]) the particulates (dust; [0005] and [0006]; [0021]-[0024]; [0026], Lines 1-9 and [0027], Lines 1-3) in the cyclone filter (Tanaka: figs. 1-6; cyclone portion/part/unit S; [0005] and [0006]; [0021]-[0024]; [0026], Lines 1-9 and [0027], Lines 1-3) with the first electric charge (Tanaka: figs. 1-6; electrodes 12 can charge dust with positive and negative charge alternatively or can charge dust with a positive charge; [0005] and [0006]; [0021]-[0024]; [0026], Lines 1-9 and [0027], Lines 1-3);
While Tanaka does disclose applying a second electric charge having a second polarity opposite the first polarity to at least one interior surface of the particulate removal system; such that the particulates in the cyclone chamber become charged with the first polarity and accelerated by electrostatic attraction forces from the cyclone chamber to the particulate removal system (see first rejection of claims 25 and 26 above), it does not disclose applying said second charge downstream of the cyclone chamber as recited in claim 1.
apply a second electric charge having a second polarity opposite the first polarity to the particulate removal system (Yoshida: see figs. 3-6; voltage impression device 12 charges electrode 11 of the particle trap box 3 (metal ring electrode 11) with an electric charge opposed to that of the fine particles 90; [0033]-[0034] and [0040], lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust box of Tanaka with the electrode of the particle trap box and the voltage impression device of Yoshida to provide the particle trap box with an electric charge opposed to that of the fine particles; therefore, allowing the fine particles to adhere to the inner wall of the particle trap box 3, prevent the particles from scattering, and enable the particles to be efficiently trapped in the particle/dust box (Yoshida: [0043]).
Additionally, Tanaka discloses a similar concept/function, where electrode 12 is charged with a positive charge and a metal plating 13 is charged with a negative charge to allow for adhering the particles to the plate such that even fine particle size dust can be collected [0026]. Therefore, the idea of using opposite charges to electrically attract the particles to a particle removal system would have been obvious to one in the art.
It directly follows that the resultant air purifier with providing an electrode with a positive charge of Tanaka combined with the electrode (of an opposite charge) of the particle trap box in Yoshida would meet the claimed structural limitations since:
Tanaka and Yoshida combined discloses
such that the particulates in the cyclone chamber become charged with the first polarity (Tanaka: figs. 1-6; electrodes 12 can charge dust with a positive charge (or with positive and negative charge alternatively); [0005] and [0006]; [0021]-[0024]; [0026], Lines 1-9 and [0027], Lines 1-3) and accelerated by electrostatic attraction forces from the cyclone chamber to (Tanaka: dust is charged positively to attract to negative portion; [0026]; Yoshida: particle box 3 is charged with an opposed charge to that of the fine particles which migrate due to an electric field to adhere to the electrode 11 of the particle box 3; [0033]) to the particulate removal system (figs. 1-6; dust box 5 is downstream of the cyclone portion/part/unit S; [0005] and [0006]; [0018], lines 9-11).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks regarding applying a second opposite charge to a particulate removal system downstream of the cyclone chamber, filed 02/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yoshida (US 20050087080).
Applicant's arguments filed 02/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 11 of the remarks, Applicant argues allowance of amendmed independent claim 25 and dependent claim 26 for similar reasons as claim 1. However, claim 25 and 26 have not been amended to include the limitation that differs against the prior art (applying a second charge opposite charge to a particulate removal system downstream of the cyclone chamber). Therefore, this argument is deemed unpersuasive. Regardless, an alternative interpretation has also been provided (see rejection above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Couture (US 6355178) – A cyclone separator with electrical or magnetic separation with the particle removal system (underflow) located downstream of the cyclone
/S.R.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/VICTORIA MURPHY/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785