DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed November 21, 2025, which amends claims 1, 9, 10, 14, and 20, cancels claim 16, and adds claims 21. Claims 1-15 and 17-21 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of the claims, filed November 21, 2025, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (US 2015/0236274) in view of Tanimoto et al. (US 2016/0197282) and Hatakeyama et al. (WO 2020/040298) as set forth in the Office action mailed August 26, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 and 17-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 and 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (US 2015/0236274) (hereafter “Hatakeyama”) in view of Tanimoto et al. (US 2016/0197282) (hereafter “Tanimoto”), Forrest et al. (US 2015/00349286) (hereafter “Forrest”), and Hatakeyama et al. (WO 2020/040298) (hereafter “Hatakeyama 2020”), where a machine translation is used as the English equivalent.
Regarding claims 1-15 and 17-21, Hatakeyama teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraphs [0582]-[0585]). Hatakeyama teaches that the light emitting layer comprises a host material and a dopant (paragraph [0583]). Hatakeyama teaches that the dopant can have the following structure,
(paragraphs [0034] and [0583]).
is a compound that applicant’s teaches that corresponds to applicant’s claimed second compound and therefore, meets the applicant’s claimed energy limitations. Hatakeyama teaches that the light emitting layer can be used in a consumer product, such as a flat panel display (paragraphs [0265] and [0266]).
Hatakeyama does not where the light emitting layer comprises a second host material and does not teach the energy requirements of the host materials.
Tanimoto teaches that one can achieve high light emission efficiency by incorporating a TADF compound as an assisting dopant in the layer emitting layer (the material is acting as a third component) (paragraph [0010]). Tanimoto teaches that the T1 and S1 values of the host material or materials need to be higher than the T1 and S1 values of both the dopant and the assisting dopant (Fig. 1B). Fig. 1A also shows that the energy difference between the T1 and S1 of the TADF or assisting dopant needs to be smaller than the emitting dopant. Tanimoto teaches that the host material is a carbazole compound and that the light emitting layer can comprise more than one host material (paragraphs [0283]-[0290]).
Forrest teaches that one can increase the lifetime of an electroluminescent device by adding a TADF sensitizer to a light emitting layer composed of a blue fluorescent dopant (paragraph [0048]).
Hatakeyama 2020 teaches TADF compounds that can be used in electroluminescent devices (pages ). Hatakeyama 2020 teaches that the TADF compounds can have the following structure,
,
,
, or
are a few examples, which are the same as applicant’s claimed first compound (pages 80-95 and 157-162). Hatakeyama 2020 teaches that these compounds have a very small energy difference between the T1 and S1 (page 162 the Table).
It would have been obvious one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify to device of Hatakeyama so the device comprises a TADF material, such as the compound taught by Hatakeyama 2020, as a sensitizer, as taught by Forrest, and one or two host materials, as taught by Tanimoto, where the T1 and S1 of each host material is higher than the T1 and S1 of the dopant and TADF material, as taught by Tanimoto. The motivation, as taught by Tanimoto, would have been to improve emission efficiency of the device. The motivation, as taught by Forrest, to add the TADF sensitizer would have been to improve the lifetime of the device.
The combination would lead to a device that comprises a dopant and TADF material that meets the applicant’s claimed second and first compounds and would meet the applicant’s claimed energy limitations.
Conclusion
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759