DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filled 10/13/2025 has been entered. Claims 7 and 24 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 19, 21 and 25 have been amended. Applicant added new claims 32-33. Claims 17-18 remain withdraw, therefore, claims 1-6, 8-16, 19-23 and 25-33 remain pending in the application. Previous 35 USC § 112 rejections have been withdrawn in light of the applicant’s amendments to the claims. However, new 35 USC § 112 rejections have been introduced also as a result of the amendment.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “proximity sensor concealed in the socket” and “limit switch concealed in the socket” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 recites “the proximity sensor is concealed in a receptacle on a frame of the platform”; note that “a receptacle” is only referred to in the specification with numeral 36 only present in non-elected species A (figs. 1-3). Claim will be examined as best interpreted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19, 32 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 19 recites “wherein the caution device comprises a proximity sensor concealed in the socket”. And claim 32 recites “the caution device comprises a limit switch concealed in the socket”; these recitations constitute new matter because the specification only discloses “the proximity switch 38 to be concealed in a protected location within the receptacle 36” in paragraph [0027]; hence there is not support for any device being concealed in a socket.
Claim 33 recites “the limit switch does not comprise any moving switch contacts”; this recitation also constitutes new matter because the specification only discloses “The operator protection system 24 provides simplicity over the prior art by providing a device that utilizes no moving switch contacts” also in paragraph [0027]; hence there is not support for that the limit switch not having moving contacts (where the term “device” does not inherently include all the devices in the invention).
Claims 6, 16, 19 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In efforts to overcome previously presented drawings objections, and specification lack of antecedent basis for “controller”; applicant amended the specification to state: “a controller 18, such as a control panel assembly 18”. This amendment now either have claims 6 and 16 indefinite, due to positively reciting both: “a control panel” and “a controller”; or introduces new matter due to now disclosing that the previously claimed controller is itself the control panel. Clarification/correction is required.
Claim 19 recites “wherein the caution device comprises a proximity sensor concealed in the socket”. And claim 32 recites “the caution device comprises a limit switch concealed in the socket”; even if one were to follow applicant’s clarification in the remarks that “The embodiment of unelected Species A discloses that a limit switch may include a proximity sensor”; it is provided that the disclosure clearly states that the limit switch (or proximity sensor) being 82 as shown in fig. 4 (elected) and the socket is 68 also shown in fig. 4; where they are illustrated at two opposite ends of cable 74; hence it is not clear what is being claimed in the recitations: “a proximity sensor concealed in the socket” and “limit switch concealed in the socket”. Claims will be examined as best understood.
NOTE: in light of the new matter and indefiniteness issues above, and in best efforts to expedite prosecution; independent claim 19 will be examined as best understood, while claims 32 and 33 are currently only rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, pending response / clarification / amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-23 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cummings, US (2013/0313040).
In regards to claim 21 Cummings discloses:
A mobile work platform assembly (fig. 2) comprising:
a platform (20 including floor 21; fig. 2) adapted to be mounted to a vehicle (11; fig. 1), sized to receive an operator thereupon (abstract);
a control panel (23) supported on the platform (as shown in fig. 2);
a caution device (26) associated with the platform (as shown in fig. 2); and
a barrier member (trip cord 27) associated with the caution device to extend across the control panel (as shown in fig. 2), and the barrier member being spaced apart from the control panel (as shown in fig. 2) so that a predetermined force upon the barrier member actuates the caution device (force due to weight of the operator “falls or collapses within the basket”; paragraph [0035] see highlighted excerpt below), a frame (22) extending from the platform (as shown in fig. 2) and defining a platform perimeter (perimeter of bucket 20; as shown in fig. 2); and a pair of supports (28 and bracket carrying 26) extending from the frame into the platform perimeter (NOTE: that weather the platform perimeter is considered to enclose the outer or inner surfaces of frame 22; both 28 and bracket carrying 26 include thickness of their width that indeed extend into or from the platform perimeter), wherein the barrier member is connected to the pair of supports (as shown in fig. 2).
In regards to claim 22 Cummings discloses the platform provides an operator workspace; and wherein a manual force upon the barrier member expands the operator workspace (up to and including enough force to trigger the switch depending on tension adjustment of tensioner 29; paragraph [0035]; as in the current invention; see indefiniteness above).
In regards to claim 23 Cummings discloses the barrier member has a pair of ends that are each oriented within the operator workspace (27 attached at both ends with operator workspace; fig. 2).
In regards to claim 25 Cummings discloses the platform provides an operator workspace which is reduced due to the pair of supports and the barrier member (operator space smaller at least due at the presence of 27; fig. 2).
In regards to claim 26 Cummings discloses wherein a manual force upon the barrier member expands the operator workspace (up to and including enough force to trigger the switch depending on tension adjustment of tensioner 29; paragraph [0035]; as in the current invention; see indefiniteness above).
Claims 27- 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cummings, US (2013/0313040).
In regards to claim 27 Cummings discloses:
A land vehicle assembly (fig. 1) comprising:
a land vehicle (11); and
a mobile work platform assembly (fig. 2) according to claim 21 (as detailed in rejection of claim 21 above);
wherein the land vehicle supports the platform (as shown in fig. 1) and is in electrical communication with the control panel (controls 23 for maneuvering basket 20; abstract), wherein the control panel is programmed to:
control at least one mobile operation of the land vehicle (controls 23 for maneuvering basket 20; abstract), and
discontinue the at least one mobile operation of the land vehicle in response to receipt of a caution event signal (“switch 26 is connected via electrical connector 31 and circuitry within the control 23 to the emergency stop 30 and is operable to cut-off the power supply from the emergency stop 30 which has the same effect as the emergency stop being activated”; as described in paragraph [0034] see highlighted excerpt below).
In regards to claim 28 Cummings discloses an alarm (33) supported upon the platform in communication with the caution device to initiate the alarm in response to receipt of a caution event signal (“switch 26 is connected via electrical connector 31 and circuitry within the control 23 to the emergency stop 30 and is operable to cut-off the power supply from the emergency stop 30 which has the same effect as the emergency stop being activated”; as described in paragraph [0034] & [0036]).
In regards to claim 29 Cummings discloses the barrier member is movable relative to the control panel (where the cord being flexible or by adjusting the mount locations of 28 and 26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-15 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cummings, US (2013/0313040) in view of Bagnaro, US (20130199854).
In regards to claim 1 Cummings discloses:
A mobile work platform assembly (fig. 2) comprising:
a platform (20 including floor 21; fig. 2) adapted to be mounted to a vehicle (11; fig. 1), sized to receive an operator thereupon (abstract);
a control panel (23) associated with the platform (as shown in fig. 2);
a caution device (26) associated with the platform (as shown in fig. 2);
a barrier member (trip cord 27) associated with the caution device (as shown in fig. 2) and configured to extend across the control panel (as shown in fig. 2) so that the barrier member is spaced apart from the control panel (as shown in fig. 2) so that a predetermined force upon the barrier member actuates the caution device (force due to weight of the operator “falls or collapses within the basket”; paragraph [0035] see highlighted excerpt below).
In regards to claim 1 Cummings does not disclose a socket connected to a first end of the barrier member and a plug connected to the first end of the barrier member or the platform, sized to be received in the socket bore.
Bagnaro teaches a socket (14; fig. 1) connected to a first end of the barrier member (19 equivalent to 27 of Cummings) or the platform, with a bore (24) formed into the socket (as shown in fig. 1); and
a plug (12) connected to the first end of the barrier member (19 equivalent to 27 of Cummings) or the platform, sized to be received in the socket bore (fig. 1 and “receptacle 14 also has a second, female portion 24 that mates with a reduced diameter, male portion 64 of plunger 12”; as described in paragraph [0026]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the quick-disconnect mechanism of Bagnaro between the cord 27 and switch 26 of Cummings for the predictable result with reasonable expectation of success i.e., to prevent the tear of the cord if excessive force is applied e.g., if an overweight operator falls, and/or to establish a distinct disconnect in the line that would require an intentional conscious decision to reconnect after hazardous/unsafe conditions have been eradicated. Note that the disconnect lanyard or strap of Bagnaro also triggers an alarm system as described in paragraphs [0028] & [0029]; one of ordinary skill in the art would glean over to references of other alarm setting flexible cords especially for workers at elevated heights such as oil rig workers of reference Bagnaro. Subsequently Cummings as modified by Bagnaro teaches wherein the barrier member is removably connected to the caution device (disconnect between 14 and 12; per the modification above) and the platform so that the predetermined force upon the barrier member dislodges the barrier member from the platform and actuates the caution device (“quick-disconnect switch 10 can be used to indicate an alarm condition by the separation of plunger 12 from receptacle 14” as described in paragraph [0029]; Bagnaro).
In regards to claim 2 Cummings discloses the caution device comprises a sensor or switch (26) to detect contact of the barrier member.
In regards to claim 3 Cummings discloses the barrier member is flexible
(27 described as a cord).
In regards to claim 4 Cummings discloses the barrier member is sized to minimize visual obstruction of the control panel (as shown in fig. 2).
In regards to claim 5 Cummings discloses the barrier member is preloaded to permit limited flexibility of the barrier member upon receipt of a force that is less than the predetermined force (via adjustable tensioner 29).
In regards to claim 6 Cummings discloses a controller (fig. 3; as best understood) in communication with the caution device; and an alarm (33) in electrical communication with the controller, wherein the controller is programmed to initiate the alarm in response to actuation of the caution device (“switch 26 is connected via electrical connector 31 and circuitry within the control 23 to the emergency stop 30 and is operable to cut-off the power supply from the emergency stop 30 which has the same effect as the emergency stop being activated”; as described in paragraph [0034]).
In regards to claim 8 Cummings discloses a frame (22) extending from the platform (as shown in fig. 2) and defining a platform perimeter (perimeter of bucket 20; as shown in fig. 2); and a pair of supports (28 and bracket carrying 26) extending from the frame into the platform perimeter, wherein the caution device and the barrier member are connected to the pair of supports (as shown in fig. 2).
In regards to claim 10 Cummings discloses the platform provides an operator workspace; and wherein a manual force upon the barrier member expands the operator workspace (up to and including enough force to trigger the switch depending on tension adjustment of tensioner 29; paragraph [0035]; as in the current invention; see indefiniteness above).
In regards to claim 11 Cummings discloses the caution device comprises a switch (26).
In regards to claim 12 Cummings discloses the caution device comprises a sensor (such as one of the sensors described in paragraph [0046]).
In regards to claim 13 Cummings discloses the caution device comprises a limit switch (26 limits the stretching of cord 27)
In regards to claim 14 Cummings discloses the caution device comprises a proximity sensor (such as one of the non-contact sensors described in paragraph [0046]).
In regards to claim 15 Cummings discloses the proximity sensor is concealed in a receptacle on a frame of the platform (fig. 6 as best understood).
In regards to claim 30 Cummings as modified by Bagnaro teaches upon the plug being removed from the socket, the barrier member actuates the caution device, and upon the plug being reinserted into the socket, the mobile work platform assembly returns to normal operation (as described in paragraph [0029] see highlighted excerpt below; Bagnaro).
In regards to claim 31 Cummings as modified by Bagnaro teaches upon reconnection of the barrier member to the caution device, the mobile work platform assembly returns to normal operation (via the reset feature as described in paragraph [0016]; Cummings).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cummings, US (2013/0313040) in view of Bagnaro, US (20130199854).
In regards to claim 16 Cummings discloses:
A land vehicle assembly (fig. 1) comprising:
a land vehicle (11);
a mobile work platform assembly (fig. 2) according to claim 1 (as detailed in rejection of claim 1 above); and
a controller (fig. 3); and
wherein the land vehicle supports the platform (as shown in fig. 1) and is in electrical communication with the controller (controls 23 for maneuvering basket 20; abstract), wherein the controller is programmed to:
control at least one mobile operation of the land vehicle (controls 23 for maneuvering basket 20; abstract), and
discontinue the at least one mobile operation of the land vehicle, or initiate an alarm, in response to actuation of the caution device (“switch 26 is connected via electrical connector 31 and circuitry within the control 23 to the emergency stop 30 and is operable to cut-off the power supply from the emergency stop 30 which has the same effect as the emergency stop being activated”; as described in paragraph [0034] see highlighted excerpt below).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cummings, US (2013/0313040) in view of Bagnaro, US (20130199854) in further view of McCown, US (6269606).
In regards to claim 19 Cummings discloses:
A mobile work platform assembly (fig. 2) comprising:
a platform (20 including floor 21; fig. 2) adapted to be mounted to a vehicle (11; fig. 1), wherein the platform provides an operator workspace sized to receive an operator thereupon (abstract);
a control panel (23) supported on the platform (as shown in fig. 2);
a frame (22) with guard rails (22; as shown in fig. 2) extending around a perimeter of the platform (as shown in fig. 2);
a pair of supports (28 and bracket carrying 26) extending from the frame into the platform perimeter (as shown in fig. 2);
a caution device (26) in electrical communication with the control panel (23; as shown in fig. 2), wherein the caution device comprises a proximity sensor (such as one of the non-contact sensors described in paragraph [0046]) concealed in the socket (as best understood; see indefiniteness above);
a flexible barrier member (trip cord 27) sized to minimize visual obstruction of the control panel (as shown in fig. 2), the flexible barrier member being connected to one of the pair of supports (as shown in fig. 2), and the flexible barrier member extending across the control panel (as shown in fig. 2), spaced apart from the control panel (as shown in fig. 2) and preloaded to permit limited flexibility (via adjustable tensioner 29);
an alarm (33) in electrical communication with the control panel (as described in paragraph [0036]), wherein the control panel is programmed to initiate the alarm in response to actuation of the caution device (as described in paragraph [0036] & [0037]).
In regards to claim 19 Cummings does not disclose a socket connected to one of the pair of supports, a proximity sensor concealed in a receptacle and a plug connected to an end of the flexible barrier member.
Bagnaro teaches a socket (14; fig. 1), with a bore (24) formed into the socket (as shown in fig. 1);
a plug (12) connected to an end of the flexible barrier member (19 equivalent to 27 of Cummings), sized to be removably received in the socket bore for detection by the proximity sensor so that removal of the plug actuates the caution device (as described in paragraph [0029] see highlighted excerpt below).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the quick-disconnect mechanism of Bagnaro between the cord 27 and switch 26 of Cummings for the predictable result with reasonable expectation of success i.e., to prevent the tear of the cord if excessive force is applied e.g., if an overweight operator falls, and/or to establish a distinct disconnect in the line that would require an intentional conscious decision to reconnect after hazardous/unsafe conditions have been eradicated. Note that the disconnect lanyard or strap of Bagnaro also triggers an alarm system as described in paragraphs [0028] & [0029]; one of ordinary skill in the art would glean over to references of other alarm setting flexible cords especially for workers at elevated heights such as oil rig workers of reference Bagnaro. The modification above subsequently teaches that the socket be connected to one of the pair of supports (28 of Cummings).
In regards to claim 19 Cummings and Bagnaro do not teach a threaded stud connected to the flexible barrier member for adjustment of the flexible barrier member.
McCown teaches a threaded stud (32; fig. 4) connected to the flexible barrier member (10 equivalent to 27 of Cummings) for adjustment of the flexible barrier member (as it is tightened by threaded nut 36).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize threaded stub arrangement taught by McCown onto the end of flexible member of Cummings for the predictable result with reasonable expectation of success i.e., to provide for initial tension adjustment of cord 27, which then controls the sensitivity where the triggering of the cord occurs.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cummings, US (2013/0313040) in view of Bagnaro, US (20130199854).
In regards to claim 20 Cummings discloses:
A mobile work platform assembly (fig. 2) comprising:
a platform (20 including floor 21; fig. 2) adapted to be mounted to a vehicle (11; fig. 1), sized to receive an operator thereupon (abstract);
a control panel (23) supported on the platform (as shown in fig. 2);
a barrier member (trip cord 27) configured to extend across the control panel (as shown in fig. 2) so that the barrier member is spaced apart from the control panel (as shown in fig. 2), wherein the barrier member is further configured so that a predetermined force on the barrier member actuates a caution device (force due to weight of the operator “falls or collapses within the basket”; paragraph [0035] see highlighted excerpt below).
In regards to claim 20 Cummings does not disclose a socket connected to a first end of the barrier member and a plug connected to the first end of the barrier member or the platform, sized to be received in the socket bore.
Bagnaro teaches a socket (14; fig. 1) connected to a first end of the barrier member (19 equivalent to 27 of Cummings) or the platform, with a bore (24) formed into the socket (as shown in fig. 1); and
a plug (12) connected to the first end of the barrier member (19 equivalent to 27 of Cummings) or the platform, sized to be received in the socket bore (fig. 1 and “receptacle 14 also has a second, female portion 24 that mates with a reduced diameter, male portion 64 of plunger 12”; as described in paragraph [0026]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the quick-disconnect mechanism of Bagnaro between the cord 27 and switch 26 of Cummings for the predictable result with reasonable expectation of success i.e., to prevent the tear of the cord if excessive force is applied e.g., if an overweight operator falls, and/or to establish a distinct disconnect in the line that would require an intentional conscious decision to reconnect after hazardous/unsafe conditions have been eradicated. Note that the disconnect lanyard or strap of Bagnaro also triggers an alarm system as described in paragraphs [0028] & [0029]; one of ordinary skill in the art would glean over to references of other alarm setting flexible cords especially for workers at elevated heights such as oil rig workers of reference Bagnaro.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cummings and Bagnaro as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McCown, US (6269606).
In regards to claim 9 Cummings and Bagnaro do not teach a threaded stud connected to the flexible barrier member for adjustment of the flexible barrier member.
McCown teaches a threaded stud (32; fig. 4) connected to the flexible barrier member (10 equivalent to 27 of Cummings) for adjustment of the flexible barrier member (as it is tightened by threaded nut 36).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize threaded stub arrangement taught by McCown onto the end of flexible member of Cummings for the predictable result with reasonable expectation of success i.e., to provide for initial tension adjustment of cord 27, which then controls the sensitivity where the triggering of the cord occurs.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because:
Applicant argues “claim 21 recites "a pair of supports extending from the frame into the platform perimeter, wherein the barrier member is connected to the pair of supports." Regarding claim 24, the rejection relies on support 28 and switch 26 of Cummings et al. "The auxiliary safety switch 26 is mounted on the safety barrier 22" (Cummings et al., at paragraph [0034] and Figure 2); and therefore, does not extend into the platform perimeter, as claimed. Likewise, "support 28 [is] mounted on the safety barrier 22" (Cummings et al., at paragraph [0034] and Figure 2); and therefore, does not extend into the platform perimeter, as claimed. Amended claim 21 does not read on Cummings et al.; and therefore, claim 21 is novel over Cummings et al”; examiner respectfully disagrees and presents that Cummings indeed discloses a frame (22) extending from the platform (as shown in fig. 2) and defining a platform perimeter (perimeter of bucket 20; as shown in fig. 2); and a pair of supports (28 and bracket carrying 26) extending from the frame into the platform perimeter (NOTE: that weather the platform perimeter is considered to enclose the outer or inner surfaces of frame 22; both 28 and bracket carrying 26 include thickness of their width that indeed extend into or from the platform perimeter), wherein the barrier member is connected to the pair of supports (as shown in fig. 2).
Applicant argues “according to Cummings et al., the switch 26 is activated by a tension load to the cord 27. (Paragraph [0039]). A quick-disconnect between the cord 27 and the switch 26 as proposed, would result in a disconnection of the tension load, which would not activate the switch 26 of Cummings et al., nor maintain the activation of the switch 26 of Cummings et al. The proposed combination has no reasonable expectation of success because it renders Cummings et al., inoperable. Further, the proposed combination does not satisfy all of the claim limitations, because it would not actuate the caution switch as claimed. There is no reason for a person of ordinary skill in the art to render Cummings et al., inoperable by a combination with Bagnaro. Therefore, claim 1 is nonobvious over Cummings et al., in view of Bagnaro”; examiner respectfully disagrees and presents that firstly, it is routine skill for a person of ordinary skill in the art per the modification to have the switch 26 of Cummings adapt the operational manner of the quick connect taught by Bagnaro, where the disconnect would trigger the same signal otherwise triggered by the further increased tension. Also, note that the disconnect lanyard or strap of Bagnaro also triggers an alarm system as described in paragraphs [0028] & [0029]; one of ordinary skill in the art would glean over to references of other alarm setting flexible cords especially for workers at elevated heights such as oil rig workers of reference Bagnaro. Second, applicant did not specify what specifically is not being satisfied in his comment: “Further, the proposed combination does not satisfy all of the claim limitations, because it would not actuate the caution switch as claimed”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.M.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634