DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11, and 13-15 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant amended claim 1, added new limitation “whole”, and incorporated limitations of now canceled claim 10.
The rejection of claims 1-2, 4-9, 11, and 13-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of O'Driscoll and Nakamura is withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 05/12/2026 is acknowledged and has been considered.
New Rejections Necessitated by the Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 introduces new matter as the claims recite the limitation: "whole”. There is no support in the specification for this limitation. The limitation of "whole" was not described in the specification as filed, and person skilled in the art would not recognize in the applicant' s disclosure a description of the invention as presently claimed. The specification discloses Geobacillus midousuji but does not describe the instantly claimed limitation. MPEP 2163.06 states that “Applicant should therefore specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure.” Applicant has not directed the Examiner to the support in the specification for the amendments. While a live microorganism is understood to be whole in order to be produced and perform metabolic functions, the term “whole” could mean the same as “live” or could refer to an additional structure. Applicant has not defined the term “whole” nor the context of the term. These two limitations could be duplicative but could also be requiring additional structure. Therefore, it is the Examiner' s position that the disclosure does not reasonably convey that the inventor had possession of the subject matter of the amendment at the time of filing of the instant application. A description which renders the claim invention obvious does not satisfy the written description requirement (p 1172, Ariad v. Eli Lilly, 598 F3d 1336, 94 USPQ2d 1161, citing Lockwood v. Am. Airlines). See MPEP 2163.
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “live whole Geobacillus midousuji“ renders the claim indefinite. Applicant does not define the limitation “whole”. It is not clear how “whole” is modified by “live” and vice versa, and it is not clear how these two terms modify the bacterium. These two limitations seem duplicative and unnecessary, and they add confusion as to what structure is required to be present.
Claims 2, 4-9, 11, and 13-15 which depend from claim 1 do not cure the indefiniteness and are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, 11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Driscoll (US-20130295650, of record in IDS filed on 12/09/2021) in view of Nakamura (Nakamura et al. "Degradation of diclorinated dibenzo-P-dioxin by a cell free extract from Geobacillus midousuji SH2B-J2." (2009), of record in Office Correspondence mailed on 12/16/2025), Takahashi (Organohalogen Compounds Vol 68 (2006), 2361-2364, of record in IDS), and Liggett (Bacteriological reviews 12.4 (1948): 297-311, of record in Office Correspondence mailed on 12/16/2025).
Regarding claim 1, O'Driscoll teaches a method for bioremediation of soil, sediment or wastewater containing PCDD and PAHs including benzo[a]pyrene comprising bringing into contact or incubating the soil with live cells of thermophilic Geobacillus midousuji SH2B or SH2A (Abstract, [0013], [0014], [0015], [0018], claims 1, 6-7 and 11). O'Driscoll teaches using live cells of Geobacillus midousuji to treat contaminated river mud matrix at 70° C for 24-72 hours (Table 2 Experiment 2, [0083]). O'Driscoll teaches the bioremediation of contaminated soil using live G. midousuji cell paste and incubation at 62° C in moist conditions ([0120]). O'Driscoll teaches that the method comprises subjecting the soil and/or bacterium to steam (i.e., 100% humidity) to enhance the biodegradation ([0072]). O'Driscoll does not teach wherein the Geobacillus midousuji is activated into log phase growth before administration.
However, Nakamura teaches growing Geobacillus midousuji to log phase, harvesting the cells and using cell free extract with enzymes for bioremediation of environmental contaminants dioxins and PCDD (page 2 para. 1-2). It is understood from Nakamura that Geobacillus midousuji expresses enzymes that degrade PCDDs during log phase growth.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method taught by O'Driscoll by growing Geobacillus midousuji into log phase growth prior to mixing the cells with the soil, as suggested by Nakamura. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to express the enzymes responsible for degrading BaP in the cells and thus increase the degradation of BaP. Since O'Driscoll teaches a desire to bioremediate sand containing BaP using Geobacillus midousuji and its BaP degrading enzymes, and since Nakamura teaches Geobacillus midousuji produces enzymes during log phase growth, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success of growing Geobacillus midousuji into log phase and administering the cells to the contaminated soil.
O'Driscoll and Nakamura do not teach incubating Geobacillus midousuji in medium comprising B-complex vitamin and amino-N.
However, Takahashi teaches growing Geobacillus midousuji SH2B-J2 in corn steep liquor (page 2361 last para.).
Liggett teaches corn steep liquor comprises amino nitrogen (page 301 para. 4) and B-complex vitamin (page 302 para. 3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method taught by O'Driscoll by growing Geobacillus midousuji in a medium comprising B-complex vitamin and amino nitrogen as suggested by Takahashi and Liggett. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to successfully grow G. midousuji.
Regarding claims 4-5, the limitations of wherein the BaP concentration in the soil, sediment or wastewater after incubation is less than about 100 PPM, and wherein the BaP concentration in the soil, sediment or wastewater after incubation is less than about 50 PPM are merely stating the result of the active method step. Whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited. See MPEP 2111.04.
Regarding claims 6-9, O'Driscoll teaches mixing the soil with G. midousuji and teaches an inoculum of 0.1-1.0% w/w ([0113]).
Regarding claim 11, O'Driscoll teaches the soil and G. midousuji SH2B-J2 were incubated with rotation for 24-72 hours ([0083]), and teaches in another example the cells and soil were continually rotated ([0120]).
Regarding claims 13-14, O'Driscoll teaches that the method can be carried out under anaerobic or aerobic conditions ([0048]).
Regarding claim 15, O'Driscoll teaches purifying enzymes from G. midousuji ([0123]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by O'Driscoll by purifying the enzymes from G. midousuji used in the soil after the incubating step. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to purify the protein expressed by the strain in the presence of the pollutant. Since O'Driscoll teaches a desire to purify enzymes from G. midousuji involved in the degradation of the pollutant, there is an expectation of success.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Driscoll, Nakamura, Takahashi, and Liggett as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Weinstein (US 6,420,165, published 07/16/2002, of record in Office Correspondence mailed on 01/06/2025).
Regarding claim 2, O'Driscoll teaches Geobacillus midousuji SH2B, SH2B-J2, and SH2A([0018], [0081]). O'Driscoll teaches that SH2B-J2 strain is related to Geobacillus sp. (midousuji) isolated in prior art USPN 6,420,165 ([0011]). O'Driscoll, Nakamura, Takahashi, and Liggett do not teach SH2B (American Type Culture Collection (ATCC) No. 55926) or strain SH2A (ATCC No. 202050).
However, Weinstein teaches Bacillus midousuji SH2A with accession number ATCC 55926 and Bacillus midousuji SH2B with accession number ATCC 202050 (column 1 line 67 through column 2 line 3). Weinstein teaches that the microorganisms are capable of degrading organic contaminants such as PCB isomers and other organic material contained in a sludge (FIG. 7, claim 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method taught by O'Driscoll by substituting Bacillus midousuji SH2A with accession number ATCC 55926 or Bacillus midousuji SH2B with accession number ATCC 202050 as suggested by Weinstein for the strains taught by O'Driscoll. MPEP 2144.06 II states it is obvious to substitute equivalents know for the same purpose.
Maintained Rejection
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-11, and 13-15 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 6-11 and 13-15 of copending Application No. 18/640659 in view of O'Driscoll.
Regarding instant claim 1, pending claim 1 recites a method for bioremediation of soil, sediment, wastewater, or sorbent materials containing 1,4-dioxane and/or one or more PFAS compounds selected from perfluorohexane sulfonic acid (PFHxS), perfluorooctanoic acid (PFOA), perfluorooctane sulfonic acid (PFOS), perfluoropentanoic acid (PFPeA), perfluoroheptane sulfonic acid (PFHpS), perfluoropentane sulfonic acid (PFPeS), 4:2 fluorotelomer sulfonic acid (4:2 FTS), 6:2 fluorotelomer sulfonic acid (6:2 FTS), 8:2 fluorotelomer sulfonic acid (8:2 FTS), perfluorooctane sulfonamide (FOSA), N-ethyl perfluorooctane sulfonamidoacetic acid (NEtFOSAA), N-methyl perfluorooctane sulfonamidoacetic acid (NMeFOSAA), perfluorobutanoic acid (PFBA), perfluorobutane sulfonic acid (PFBS), perfluorodecanoic acid (PFDA), perfluorododecanoic acid (PFDoA), perfluorodecane sulfonic acid (PFDS), perfluoroheptanoic acid (PFHpA), perfluorohexanoic acid (PFHxA), perfluorononanoic acid (PFNA), perfluorononane sulfonic acid (PFNS), perfluorotetradecanoic acid (PFTA), perfluorotridecanoic acid (PFTrDA), and perfluoroundecanoic acid (PFUnA), the method comprising the steps of: administering Geobacillus midousuji, or a mutant derived therefrom, to the soil, sediment, wastewater, or sorbent material to be bioremediated; and incubating the Geobacillus midousuji in the soil, sediment, wastewater, or sorbent material at a temperature ranging from about 40 to about 70°C and a humidity ranging from about 80% to about 100% for a period of time ranging from about 1 hour to about 20 days. Pending claim 10 recites wherein the Geobacillus midousuji is activated into log phase growth before incubation with the soil, sediment, wastewater, or sorbent material by incubation of the Geobacillus midousuji under an aerobic condition at a temperature ranging from about 600 to about 650 C in a medium comprising B-complex vitamin and amino-N with trace metals. Pending claims 1 and 10 do not recite benzo[a]pyrene (BaP).
However, O'Driscoll teaches Geobacillus midousuji is used for bioremediation of benzo[a]pyrene (BaP) (Table 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method recited in pending claims 1 and 10 by using the method to degrade benzo[a]pyrene (BaP), as suggested by O'Driscoll. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to degrade BaP from the soil.
Regarding instant claim 2, pending claim 2 recites wherein the Geobacillus midousuji is strain SH2B (American Type Culture Collection (ATCC) No. 55926), strain SH2A (ATCC No. 202050), or mixtures thereof.
Regarding instant claims 4 and 5, the limitations of wherein the BaP concentration in the soil, sediment or wastewater after incubation is less than about 50 PPM, and wherein the BaP concentration in the soil, sediment or wastewater after incubation is less than about 20 PPM are merely stating the result of the active method step. Whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited. See MPEP 2111.04.
Regarding instant claim 6, pending claim 6 recites wherein the Geobacillus midousuji to the soil, sediment, wastewater, or sorbent material ratio ranges from about 0.01% to about 1% w/w.
Regarding instant claim 7, pending claim 7 recites wherein the ratio ranges from about 0.01% to about 0.1% w/w.
Regarding instant claim 8, pending claim 8 recites wherein the ratio ranges from about 0.08% w/w to about 0.15% w/w.
Regarding instant claim 9, pending claim 9 recites wherein the ratio is about 0.1% w/w.
Regarding instant claim 11, pending claim 11 recites the method further comprising the step of rotating the soil, sediment, wastewater, or sorbent material at least about 1 to about 5 times per day during incubation with the Geobacillus midousuji.
Regarding instant claim 13, pending claim 13 recites wherein the incubation of the Geobacillus midousuji in the soil, sediment, wastewater, or sorbent material is done under aerobic conditions.
Regarding instant claim 14, pending claim 14 recites wherein the incubation of the Geobacillus midousuji in the soil, sediment, wastewater, or sorbent material is done under anaerobic conditions.
Regarding instant claim 15, pending claim 15 recites the method further comprising purifying or harvesting at least one protein product.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that O'Driscoll only teaches using cell extracts to degrade BaP, not live bacteria as claimed, and argues that O'Driscoll's cell-free system with immobilized enzymes greatly enhances the degradation of persistent organic pollutants (POPs) including BaP. Applicant argues that a combination of O'Driscoll and Nakamura would have led to using log phase Geobacillus midousuji cell-free extracts, not live bacteria as claimed. Applicant argues that the Examiner's conclusion of obviousness
is based on impermissible hindsight.
In response to the argument, O'Driscoll teaches bioremediation of soil contaminated with aromatics such as PAHs including benzo[a]pyrene ([0013]) using live cells of Geobacillus midousuji (claim 11, [0094]) or enzymes extracted from the bacterium (claims 7, 9-11, [0015])). MPEP2123 states that “the use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain” and states “nonpreferred and alternative embodiments constitute prior art”. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments.
Furthermore, the instant claims do not exclude the presence of extracted enzymes.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant argues that the statement "Geobacillus midousuji expresses enzymes that degrades PCDDs during log phase growth" is not supported by Nakamura's teaching.
In response to the argument, O'Driscoll teaches enzymes extracted from Geobacillus midousuji are used for bioremediation of soil and degradation of the chemicals such as Bap ([0015], Table 2). Nakamura teaches growing Geobacillus midousuji to log phase, harvesting the cells and using cell free extract with enzymes for bioremediation of environmental contaminants dioxins and PCDD (page 2 para. 1-2). Thus, Nakamura teaches that the enzymes needed for the bioremediation are present when the cells are in log phase. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to grow Geobacillus midousuji to log phase as suggested by Nakamura to ensure the presence of the enzymes needed for the degradation of the chemicals as taught by Nakamura.
Applicant argues that O'Driscoll teaches 10-40% moisture level, which is much lower than the claimed "from about 80% to about 100%" humidity. Applicant argues that O'Driscoll teaches steam as a heat source.
In response to the argument, using the broadest reasonable interpretation, moisture is understood as the amount of water within the soil. Humidity is understood as the amount of water vapor suspended in the air. O'Driscoll teaches that the method comprises using steam to enhance the biodegradation ([0071]). Since steam is water in its gaseous state, meaning the air is completely saturated with moisture, this limitation is understood as 100% humidity.
Applicant argues the present claims are directed to methods for bioremediation of soil, sediment or wastewater containing benzo[a]pyrene (BaP) whereas the claims of U.S. Application No. 18/640659 are directed to treating different compounds.
In response to the argument, O'Driscoll teaches using Geobacillus midousuji for bioremediation of soil containing benzo[a]pyrene (BaP). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method recited in copending claims 1 and 10 by using the method to degrade benzo[a]pyrene (BaP), as suggested by O'Driscoll. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to degrade BaP from the soil.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARY A CRUM/Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/THANE UNDERDAHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699