DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/01/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 9-10 that prior art of record Böhringer, et al., US 20200046454 A1, fails to teach determining positional data of a second tracker trackable by the tracking system and determining positional data of the second tracker for different tilting positions of the instrument while the spherically shaped surface portion is in abutment with the calibration structure.
However, [0080] discloses that the marker element 3 comprises a plurality of marker elements 3-1, 3-2 which are arranged in a two-dimensional pattern, thereby defining a marker member plane 3c. and [0081] discloses that In FIG. 2, which shows a schematic cross-sectional view of the registration and identification tool shown in FIG. 1, it is recognizable that the registration and identification tool 1 comprises two marker elements 3a and 3b. The two marker elements 3a and 3b are provided on two opposite sides of the marker element 3 which are parallel to each other.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the claims stand rejected.
Withdrawn Objections
The objections made to claims 15 and 27 have been withdrawn pursuant of Applicant’s amendments filed 12/01/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-18 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Böhringer, et al., US 20200046454 A1 (disclosed in IDS filed 01/04/2022).
Regarding claim 15, Böhringer teaches method for determining a radius of a spherically shaped surface portion of a tip of an instrument, wherein the spherically shaped surface portion has a center point ([0017] states that “it is possible to determine or calculate the diameter of the cylindrical, spherical or conical object on the basis how deep the centre of the spherical or cylindrical object can be inserted into the recess (will be explained in detail below)”),
wherein a calibration device (registration and identification tool 1 of fig. 1 and [0078]) is provided that comprises a calibration structure defining an opening angle ([0078] states that “The registration and identification tool 1 for a dental and/or cranio-maxillofacial surgical instrument and/or general surgical instrument 100, comprises a body 2, a marker member 3 which is optically detectable, the marker member 3 being detachably provided on the body 2, and a plurality of recesses 4a-e in the body 2, each of which extends from an outer surface of the body 2 into the inside of the body 2”. Also see fig. 6a and [0083] for the conical shape of the recess 4D, which forms an open angle) and that is configured to cooperate with the spherically shaped surface portion so as to guide a tilting movement of the instrument tip around the center point (see fig. 6a and [0092], [0094] for the insertion and pivoting of the spherical tip of the dental drill 102 in the recess 4d),
wherein the calibration device comprises a first tracker (marker member 3 of fig. 1 and [0078]) trackable by a tracking system ([0090] states that “The surgical instrument 100 comprises the imaging unit 101 which forms part of the registration and identification system. Moreover, the surgical instrument 100 and the imaging unit 101 form part of the navigation system of the invention”) and arranged in a predetermined relationship relative to the calibration structure ([0082] states “the marker element 3 is placed substantially in the centre of the body 2, thereby dividing the body 2 in a front and a rear part” and [0085] states that “the extension direction of the recesses 4d and 4e is parallel to the marker element plane 3c”), and
wherein the instrument comprises a second tracker (imaging unit 101 of []0100]) trackable by the tracking system ([0107] states that “In step 2, a detection process is performed. The detecting process can be performed during the surgical instrument 100 is not moved. In this way it is possible to calibrate the relative orientation and position between the imaging unit 101 and the marker member 3. Additionally, it is possible to determine (calculate) the relative orientation and position between imaging unit 101 and the tool holder of the surgical instrument 100”), the method comprising the following steps performed by a computer system:
determining a first pose of the first tracker ([0059] states that “The method comprises the steps of placing a surgical tool of the surgical instrument into the recess of the registration and identification tool, pivoting the surgical instrument relative to the marker member, while the surgical tool is placed inside the recess, performing a detecting process of the relative movement of the surgical instrument, and identifying geometrical characteristics of the surgical tool and/or registering the relative position of the surgical tool to the remainder of the surgical instrument using the results of the detecting process”);
determining positional data of the second tracker for different tilting positions of the instrument while the spherically shaped surface portion is in abutment with the calibration structure ([0108] states that “it is also possible to perform the detecting process during the surgical instrument 100 is pivoted. Here and also in the following pivoting is performed preferably in a circular manner, that is, the surgical instrument is substantially circulated around a vertical axis, which is in case of the calibration process an axis that is coaxial with a longitudinal axis of the reference pin 5. In this way it is possible to teach the imaging unit 101/processing unit the influence of a relative movement (pivoting and/or circulating) of the surgical instrument 101 on the detecting results of the marker member 3”);
determining a position of the center point relative to the second tracker based on the positional data; and determining the radius of the spherically shaped surface portion based on the position of the center point, the first pose, the predetermined relationship, and the opening angle ([0093] states that “As the conical shape of the recess 4d is known, in particular the diameter of the recess 4d in relation to the distance from the outer surface of the body 2, it is possible to determine or calculate the diameter of the spherical tip of the dental drill 102 when it is known how deep the centre of the spherical tip was inserted into the conical recess 4d”. The position of the center of the spherical tip is known based how deep the center of the spherical tip was inserted. Furthermore, the determination of the diameter is hereby being ).
Regarding claim 16, Böhringer further teaches determining the radius based on a center distance between the pivot position of the center point, a real or imaginary point relative to which the opening angle is defined and a trigonometric function of the opening angle([0093] states that “As the conical shape of the recess 4d is known, in particular the diameter of the recess 4d in relation to the distance from the outer surface of the body 2, it is possible to determine or calculate the diameter of the spherical tip of the dental drill 102 when it is known how deep the centre of the spherical tip was inserted into the conical recess 4d”. The position of the center of the spherical tip is known based how deep the center of the spherical tip was inserted).
Regarding claim 17, Böhringer further teaches wherein the positional data comprise at least one of - at least two different tilt poses of the second tracker for the different tilting positions, and - at least four different positions of the second tracker for the different tilting positions (figs. 6a and 6b show pivoting the dental drill 102, which includes the imaging unit 101, in two spatial directions and rotated in one spatial direction which is perpendicular to the other two spatial directs according to [0094]-[0095]).
Regarding claim 18, Böhringer further teaches wherein the calibration structure has a shape of a cone or a pyramid, or portion thereof, defining the opening angle (see figs. 2 and 6a for the conical shape of the recess 4d. Also see [0092]-[0093] which states that the recess 4d is conical shaped).
Regarding claim 27, Böhringer teaches a computer program product, comprising instructions that, when executed on at least one processor ([0055] discloses that “The processing unit, such as a CPU or the like, may be configured to process imaging data of the imaging unit, i.e., imaging data obtained by the imaging unit”, meaning that the processing unit inherently includes computer program product for performing the steps below), cause the at least one processor to:
determine a first pose of a first tracker ([0059] states that “The method comprises the steps of placing a surgical tool of the surgical instrument into the recess of the registration and identification tool, pivoting the surgical instrument relative to the marker member, while the surgical tool is placed inside the recess, performing a detecting process of the relative movement of the surgical instrument, and identifying geometrical characteristics of the surgical tool and/or registering the relative position of the surgical tool to the remainder of the surgical instrument using the results of the detecting process”) trackable by a tracking system ([0090] states that “The surgical instrument 100 comprises the imaging unit 101 which forms part of the registration and identification system. Moreover, the surgical instrument 100 and the imaging unit 101 form part of the navigation system of the invention”) and arranged in a predetermined relationship relative to a calibration structure of a calibration device([0082] states “the marker element 3 is placed substantially in the centre of the body 2, thereby dividing the body 2 in a front and a rear part” and [0085] states that “the extension direction of the recesses 4d and 4e is parallel to the marker element plane 3c”. The body 2 being a part of the registration and identification tool 1 of fig. 1 and [0078]);
determine positional data of a second tracker trackable by the tracking system for different tilting positions of an instrument while a spherically shaped surface portion of a tip of an instrument is in abutment with the calibration structure ([0108] states that “it is also possible to perform the detecting process during the surgical instrument 100 is pivoted. Here and also in the following pivoting is performed preferably in a circular manner, that is, the surgical instrument is substantially circulated around a vertical axis, which is in case of the calibration process an axis that is coaxial with a longitudinal axis of the reference pin 5. In this way it is possible to teach the imaging unit 101/processing unit the influence of a relative movement (pivoting and/or circulating) of the surgical instrument 101 on the detecting results of the marker member 3”),
wherein the calibration structure is configured to cooperate with the spherically shaped surface portion so as to guide a tilting movement of the instrument tip around a center point(see fig. 6a and [0092], [0094] for the insertion and pivoting of the spherical tip of the dental drill 102 in the recess 4d);
determine a position of the center point of the spherically shaped surface portion relative to a second tracker based on the positional data; and determine a radius of the spherically shaped surface portion based on the position of the center point, a first pose, the predetermined relationship, and an opening angle defined by the calibration structure ([0093] states that “As the conical shape of the recess 4d is known, in particular the diameter of the recess 4d in relation to the distance from the outer surface of the body 2, it is possible to determine or calculate the diameter of the spherical tip of the dental drill 102 when it is known how deep the centre of the spherical tip was inserted into the conical recess 4d”. The position of the center of the spherical tip is known based how deep the center of the spherical tip was inserted).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Böhringer in view of Tausch, et al., US 20180021092 A2.
Regarding claim 19, Böhringer teaches all the limitations of claim 15.
Böhringer fails to teach comprising determining from a pre-determined list of radii a subset of radii that meet a similarity criterion with respect to the determined radius.
However, Tausch teaches a calibration tool 1, comprising: two angled supporting surfaces 2 which form a V-shaped notch; and an array 3 which comprises three tracking markers and is rigidly attached to the calibration tool 1 (see reproduced fig. 1 below and [0033]), the calibration tool configured for determining from a pre-determined list of radii a subset of radii that meet a similarity criterion with respect to the determined radius ([0040] states that “a calibration tool 1 which is provided can comprise a plurality of supporting surfaces 2 which are configured to abut against the tip of a hollow distal section 7 of a medical instrument 5. Since the calibration tool 1 and the proximal section of the instrument 5 are tracked, geometrical data regarding the diameter of the instrument tip can be obtained by measuring the distance between the tracking marker array 3 on the calibration tool 1 and the tracking marker array 6 on the proximal section of the instrument 5. If the inner diameter of the hollow tip exceeds a predetermined value, the tip will fit over the upper cylindrical section of the calibration tool 1 and abut against the circular supporting surface 2. If the inner diameter of the hollow tip of the instrument 5 does not exceed said predetermined value, the tip will abut against the tapered supporting surface 2 provided within the upper cylindrical section of the calibration tool 1. The lower the value of the outer diameter of the instrument tip, the further down the instrument tip can be inserted onto the tapered supporting surface 2, such that geometrical data regarding the outer diameter of the instrument tip can be obtained by measuring the distance between the tracking reference array 3 and the tracking reference array 6”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Böhringer for determining from a pre-determined list of radii a subset of radii that meet a similarity criterion with respect to the determined radius, as taught by Tausch, to provide an efficient and reliable method for identifying a medical instrument to be used during computer-assisted surgery ([0004]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 20, Böhringer teaches all the limitations of claim 19.
Böhringer fails to teach comprising generating an output for a user selection or confirmation, wherein the output comprises at least one of information about the subset of radii and information about instrument tips associated with the subset of radii.
However, Tausch further teaches generating an output for a user selection or confirmation, wherein the output comprises at least one of information about the subset of radii and information about instrument tips associated with the subset of radii ([0027] states that “The navigation system also preferably comprises a user interface for receiving the calculation results from the computer (for example, the position of the main plane, the position of the auxiliary plane and/or the position of the standard plane). The user interface provides the received data to the user as information. Examples of a user interface include a display device such as a monitor, or a loudspeaker. The user interface can use any kind of indication signal (for example a visual signal, an audio signal and/or a vibration signal). One example of a display device is an augmented reality device (also referred to as augmented reality glasses) which can be used as so-called “goggles” for navigating. A specific example of such augmented reality glasses is Google Glass (a trademark of Google, Inc.). An augmented reality device can be used both to input information into the computer of the navigation system by user interaction and to display information outputted by the computer”. See [0040] for the information regarding the radii of the instrument tip).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Böhringer for generating an output for a user selection or confirmation, wherein the output comprises at least one of information about the subset of radii and information about instrument tips associated with the subset of radii, as taught by Tausch, to provide an efficient and reliable method for identifying a medical instrument to be used during computer-assisted surgery ([0004]-[0005]).
Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Böhringer in view of Andersson, M., US 20180289433 A1.
Regarding claim 21, Böhringer teaches all the limitations of claim 15.
Böhringer fails to teach tracking a third tracker of an object and trackable by the tracking system to track an object pose of image data of the object in a virtual space; tracking the second tracker to track a position of the center point in the virtual space based on the position of the center point relative to the second tracker; and generating first display instructions for displaying in the virtual space, based on the object pose of the image data of the object in the virtual space, the position of the center point in the virtual space and the radius, a visual representation indicative of the radius relative to the image data of the object.
However, Andersson teaches tracking a current position and orientation of a surgical object using a surgical navigation system; and providing feedback of a current position and orientation of the surgical object relative to a planned position and orientation of a virtual object based on the tracked current position and orientation of the surgical object ([0015]), the tracking including determining the position of a navigation unit of the calibration unit, the navigation unit having a fixed positional relationship relative the surface with a predetermined position. Optionally or additionally calibrating the position of the navigation unit of the surgical object may comprise registering multiple positions of the navigation unit of the surgical object while it is moved in at least one plane and the position of the end-effector is substantially fixed at the surface with the predetermined position, and determining the position of the end-effector based on the registered multiple positions of the navigation unit of the surgical object ([0018]), tracking a third tracker of an object and trackable by the tracking system to track an object pose of image data of the object in a virtual space; tracking the second tracker to track a position of the center point in the virtual space based on the position of the center point relative to the second tracker (see figs. 11d and 11e and [0121]-[0122] for the registration of relative positions of the end effector of the surgical object 93 comprising a navigation unit 112a to calibration unit via the navigation unit 194); and
generating first display instructions for displaying in the virtual space, based on the object pose of the image data of the object in the virtual space, the position of the center point in the virtual space and the radius, a visual representation indicative of the radius relative to the image data of the object ([0125] states that “The surgical navigation system also comprises a feedback unit, such as a display 300. The patient structure may be aligned with the virtual structure, such as described above. Utilizing the components of the surgical navigation system, the position of the surgical object relative to the pre-operative plan and the patient structure may be tracked in real-time, such as illustrated in FIG. 11c, wherein the position of the virtual object is displayed in relation to the virtual structure in the same relationship as the surgical object 93 to the patient structure.” [0121] state that “The registered positions of the navigation unit 112a forms a shape, such as a dome shape, having an origin located at the position of the end-effector 195 and with a radius determined by the distance between the origin and the registered positions. Hence, the registered positions of the navigation unit 112a may be used to determine the position of the end-effector 195 and the longitudinal axis of the instrument or tool. In FIG. 11e, the surgical object 93 is shown in multiple positions for illustrative purposes”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Böhringer to track a third tracker of an object and trackable by the tracking system to track an object pose of image data of the object in a virtual space; tracking the second tracker to track a position of the center point in the virtual space based on the position of the center point relative to the second tracker; and generating first display instructions for displaying in the virtual space, based on the object pose of the image data of the object in the virtual space, the position of the center point in the virtual space and the radius, a visual representation indicative of the radius relative to the image data of the object, as taught by Andersson, so that by calibrating the navigation unit 112a of the surgical object, and thus the position of the end-effector, the accuracy, robustness, and reliability, and flexibility of the system is enhanced compared to an uncalibrated system or a system wherein the calibration is based on scanning the surgical object and registering against CAD objects according to [0125].
Regarding claim 22, Böhringer teaches all the limitations of claim 15.
Böhringer fails to teach generating region display instructions for displaying a non-target region in the image data for which contact with the instrument is to be avoided.
However, Anderson further teaches generating region display instructions for displaying a non-target region in the image data for which contact with the instrument is to be avoided (see fig. 9 and [0112] which disclose a feedback system that indicates as a trace 81, tracked positions and orientations of the surgical object in a second coordinate system such that the surgeon is guided from the deviation trace 81 back to the planned trajectory 41 before an entry position 42. This deviation correction is tantamount to the claimed displayed non-target region in the image data for which contact with the instrument is to be avoided).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Böhringer for generating region display instructions for displaying a non-target region in the image data for which contact with the instrument is to be avoided, as taught by Andersson, so that by calibrating the navigation unit 112a of the surgical object, and thus the position of the end-effector, the accuracy, robustness, and reliability, and flexibility of the system is enhanced compared to an uncalibrated system or a system wherein the calibration is based on scanning the surgical object and registering against CAD objects according to [0125].
Regarding claim 23, Böhringer teaches all the limitations of claim 15.
Böhringer fails to teach comprising generating progress display instructions for displaying a progress of object manipulation based on a path of the instrument tip.
However, Anderson further teaches generating progress display instructions for displaying a progress of object manipulation based on a path of the instrument tip (see fig. 9 and [0112]-[0113] which disclose a feedback system that indicates as a trace 81, tracked positions and orientations of the surgical object in a second coordinate system such that the surgeon is guided from the deviation trace 81 back to the planned trajectory 41 before an entry position 42. The feedback system displays the trace 81 and is able to verify a correct position and orientation of the tracked object).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Böhringer for generating progress display instructions for displaying a progress of object manipulation based on a path of the instrument tip, as taught by Andersson, so that by calibrating the navigation unit 112a of the surgical object, and thus the position of the end-effector, the accuracy, robustness, and reliability, and flexibility of the system is enhanced compared to an uncalibrated system or a system wherein the calibration is based on scanning the surgical object and registering against CAD objects according to [0125].
Regarding claim 24, Böhringer teaches all the limitations of claim 15.
Böhringer fails to teach comprising displaying, on a display, a visual representation of at least a portion of the instrument relative to the image data of the object.
However, Anderson further teaches displaying, on a display, a visual representation of at least a portion of the instrument relative to the image data of the object (see fig. 8 and [0111] which disclose a virtual object in the form of a virtual surgical instrument 80 is shown in the display).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Böhringer for displaying, on a display, a visual representation of at least a portion of the instrument relative to the image data of the object, as taught by Andersson, so that by calibrating the navigation unit 112a of the surgical object, and thus the position of the end-effector, the accuracy, robustness, and reliability, and flexibility of the system is enhanced compared to an uncalibrated system or a system wherein the calibration is based on scanning the surgical object and registering against CAD objects according to [0125].
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Böhringer in view of Krueger, et al., US 20140314297 A1.
Regarding claim 25, Böhringer teaches all the limitations of claim 15.
Böhringer fails to teach wherein the visual representation comprises an icon representative of at least a part of a circle or a sphere with the radius of the spherically shaped surface portion.
However, Krueger teaches a method for assigning position values, detected by means of a position detection system, to a topographic image of an object or body part, which comprises the following steps: providing a topographic model of an object or body part, scanning a surface of the object or body, detecting position values during the scanning and assigning detected position values to corresponding positions in the topographic model, the detected position values being assigned to points of a virtual surface of the topographic model, which has a distance from a model surface which corresponds to a radius of a partly spherical scanning tip of a scanning instrument, by means of which the surface of the object or body part is scanned in each case (see abstract), wherein the visual representation comprises an icon representative of at least a part of a circle or a sphere with the radius of the spherically shaped surface portion ([0006]-[0009] disclose “assigning detected position values to corresponding positions in the topographic model, the detected position values being assigned to points of a virtual surface of the topographic model, which has a distance from a model surface which corresponds to a radius of a partly spherical scanning tip of a scanning instrument, by means of which the surface of the object or body part is scanned in each case”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Böhringer wherein the visual representation comprises an icon representative of at least a part of a circle or a sphere with the radius of the spherically shaped surface portion, as taught by Krueger, as such modification would improve detection of the positions and orientations of the tip of the instruments with respect to the tissue ([0012]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAROUK A BRUCE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797