.DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action has been issued in response to the amendment filed on January 20, 2026.
Claims 1 and 6-21 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments have been carefully and respectfully considered. Rejections have been maintained where arguments were not persuasive. Also, new rejections based on the amended claims have been set forth. Accordingly, claims 1 and 6-21 are rejected, and this action is made FINAL, as necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, in regards to claims 1 and 21, that each of the added features is directed to the goal of reducing energy consumption, particularly when the battery module(s) are in the idle state. For example, as explained in the specification (see, e.g., [0018]), not only is the energy consumption of the bridge circuit reduced but also that of the control device of a battery module, resulting in an even greater reduction of the energy consumption. That the control device operates intermittently, in particular periodically, in a state with normal energy consumption during the idle mode does not cause the control function of the control device to be lost during the idle mode. This means that the control device of a battery module can also transfer the bridge circuit from the idle state into the operating mode during the idle mode. With respect to claims 2 and 5, the Office Action relies upon Crowley as to the features of claim 2 and Martin (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. No. 2013/0297954) as to the features of claim 5. However, these references do not teach or suggest the claimed features, or provide motivation to incorporate the claimed features together with the remaining features of the claims. For example, neither Crowley nor Martin teaches battery modules each having a control device which is at least intermittently placed in a state with minimum energy consumption when the bridge circuit is in the idle mode. Martin, for example, does not teach configuring the controller function based on the state of a bridge circuit.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Crowley et al. (US 2019/0363311) discloses each battery module (102) (Fig.1) comprises: a control device (108) (Fig.4) (Par.112).
Kristensen (US 2019/0103750) discloses a plurality of battery modules (17) (Par.94); each battery module (17) comprising a bridge circuit (11-15) being placed in a state with minimum energy consumption (Par.191) such that a battery unit (10) is not connected to either an input connection (IOA) or an output connection (IOB) and such that the input connection (IOA) is not connected to the output connection (IOB) (Par.94, 100 and 191; Therefore, there is no connection between the input and output of the module and no energy is being supplied to the elements of the battery module.).
Martin was not relied upon for teaching a bridge circuit.
The claim recites “in the idle mode the control device is intermittently placed in a state of minimum energy consumption.” Martin et al. (US 2013/0297954) discloses intermittently placing a control device in a state of minimum energy consumption while in an idle mode (Par.92; Maintain active for brief periods to maintain power consumption to a minimum while periodically power up to check the status of a signal.).
One or ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to in the idle mode intermittently place the control device in a state of minimum energy consumption in the combination of Crowley and Kristensen to have had periodically powered up to check a status of a control signal while maintaining power consumption to a minimum (Par.92) without sacrificing required performance (Par.89) as discloses in Martin.
The rejection of the argued limitations are based on the combination of Crowley in view of Kristensen and Martin as seen in the office action below.
Applicant argues, with respect to claims 3 and 4, the Office Action relies upon Kube (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. No. 2018/0097390). While Kube mentions a self-blocking transistor, Kube does not teach or suggest the advantage of using a self-blocking circuit to minimize energy consumption in an idle mode or otherwise suggests the claimed usage or function of a self-blocking circuit to reduce energy consumption.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Kristensen (US 2019/0103750) discloses in an idle mode a bridge circuit (11-15) is placed in a state such that a battery unit (10) is not connected to either an input connection (IOA) or an output connection (IOB) and such that the input connection (IOA) is not connected to the output connection (IOB) (Par.94, 100 and 191; All switching elements are open. Therefore, there is no connection between the input and output of the module and no energy is being supplied to the elements of the battery module.).
Newly relied upon prior art Kliem (US 2019/0207605) discloses self-blocking switching elements (T1-T2) are placed in a self-blocking state when in an open configuration (Par.48; Switched off/Open) to minimize energy consumption (Par.15; The switching elements are self-blocking (normally open), they require no voltage in order to turn off/open. Thereby, the energy consumption would be minimized in an open configuration.)
Furthermore, the examiner notes the limitation “to minimize energy consumption” recites the intended use of the self-blocking switching elements. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In this case, Kliem discloses a structure (self-blocking switching elements T1-T2) capable of performing the intended use as recited, and thus meets the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-10, 12-14, 17 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crowley et al. (US 2019/0363311) in view of Kristensen (US 2019/0103750), Kliem (US 2019/0207605) and Martin et al. (US 2013/0297954).
Claim 1: Crowley teaches a mobile energy supply system (100) (Fig.1) comprising:
a plurality of battery modules (102) that can be connected in series in a controllable manner to supply different voltages at an output of the energy supply system (100) (Par.135-141), and
a control unit (104) for activating the battery modules (102) (Par.111),
wherein each battery module (102) comprises:
an input connection and an output connection (Fig.1),
a battery unit (110) (Par.113), and
a bridge circuit (112) which is provided between the input connection and the output connection and is designed either to connect the battery unit (110) to the input and output connection (battery mode) or to connect the input connection to the output connection by bypassing the battery unit (110) (bypass mode) (Par.113);
a control device (108) (Fig.4) (Par.112),
wherein each battery module (102) is designed to be controlled in an operating mode, wherein in the operating mode the bridge circuit (112) can be switched into a battery mode and a bypass mode (Par.113),
wherein the control device (108) is connected to the battery unit (110) for energy supply and to the bridge circuit (112) in order to switch the bridge (112) circuit into the battery mode or the bypass mode (Par.123-125) (Fig.4),
the bridge circuit (112) comprises a plurality of switching elements (114) for setting the battery mode or the bypass mode (Par.113).
Crowley does not explicitly teach each battery module is designed to be controlled, via a control signal, between an operating mode and an idle mode, wherein in the idle mode the bridge circuit is placed in a state with minimum energy consumption such that the battery unit is not connected to either the input connection or the output connection and such that the input connection is not connected to the output connection, wherein in the idle mode the switching elements of the bridge circuit are placed in a state with minimum energy consumption.
Kristensen teaches a plurality of battery modules (17) (Par.94); each battery module (17) designed to be controlled, via a control signal, between an operating mode (Positive output, Negative output and Bypassed configurations) (Par.41 and 97-99) and an idle mode (Open configuration) (Par.100), wherein in the idle mode (Open configuration) a bridge circuit (11-15) is placed in a state with minimum energy consumption (Par.191) such that a battery unit (10) is not connected to either an input connection (IOA) or an output connection (IOB) and such that the input connection (IOA) is not connected to the output connection (IOB) (Par.94, 100 and 191; All switches 11-15 open. Therefore, there is no connection between the input and output of the module.),
switching elements of a bridge circuit are placed in a state with minimum energy consumption in the idle mode (Open configuration) (Par.94, 100 and 191; All switches 11-15 open/switched off. Therefore, there is no energy transfer between the input and output of the circuit.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had placed the bridge circuit/switching assembly in idle mode in the system of Crowley to have had a dynamically reconfigurable energy module (Par.145) comprising an idle/isolation mode to allow for faulty energy modules to be completely removed from the system while allowing the rest of the plurality of battery modules to continue functioning (Par.187 and 191) as taught in Kristensen thereby protecting the additional battery modules from damage.
The combination of Crowley in view of Kristensen does not explicitly teach wherein the bridge circuit comprises a plurality of self-blocking switching elements; wherein the switching elements, in the idle mode, are placed in a blocking state.
Kliem teaches a plurality of self-blocking switching elements (T1-T2) (Par.48); wherein the switching elements are placed in a self-blocking state when in an open configuration (Par.48; Switched off/Open) to minimize energy consumption (Par.15; The switching elements are self-blocking (normally open) thereby they require no voltage in order to turn off/open. Thereby, utilizing self-blocking elements as the switching elements in the combination of Crowley in view of Kristensen would minimize energy consumption in an idle mode; when the switching elements are all turned off/open.). Furthermore, the limitation “to minimize energy consumption” recites the intended use of the self-blocking switching elements. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In this case, Kliem discloses a structure (self-blocking switching elements T1-T2) capable of performing the intended use as recited, and thus meets the claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Kliem in the combination of Crowley in view of Kristensen to have had utilized transistors with that are normally open thereby requiring a low control voltage and increasing safety in the event of a defect in the control circuit (Par.15).
The combination of Crowley and Kristensen does not explicitly teach wherein in the idle mode the control device is at least intermittently placed in a state with minimum energy consumption.
Martin discloses in an idle mode a control device is at least intermittently placed in a state with minimum energy consumption (Par.92).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Martin in the combination of Crowley and Kristensen to have had periodically powered up to check a status of a control signal while maintaining power consumption to a minimum (Par.92) without sacrificing required performance (Par.89).
Claim 6: Crowley in view of Kristensen, Kliem and Martin each the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Crowley teaches wherein the control unit (104) is designed to direct a control signal to at least one of the battery modules (102) to activate the operating mode (Par.120-121).
Claim 7: Crowley in view of Kristensen, Kliem and Martin teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Crowley teaches wherein each battery module (102) comprises an isolation device (isolation) (Fig.1) which provides galvanic isolation between the battery module (102) and the control unit (104) (Par.63-65).
Claims 8-9: Crowley in view of Kristensen, Kliem and Martin teach the limitations of claim 7 as disclosed above. Crowley wherein the isolation device (132) is connected at least partially and/or at least intermittently to the battery unit (110) to supply energy (Par.124-125).
The combination of Crowley in view of Kristensen does not explicitly teach the isolation device is connected to the battery unit at predefined intervals in the idle mode.
Martin teaches an isolation device (320) connected to a battery unit (Par.83) at predefined intervals in an idle mode (Par.92).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Martin in the combination of Crowley and Kristensen to have had periodically powered up to check a status of a control signal while maintaining power consumption to a minimum (Par.92).
Claim 10: Crowley in view of Kristensen, Kliem and Martin teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Crowley does not explicitly teach wherein a battery module is placed in the idle mode when a specified criterion is reached.
Kristensen teaches a battery module (17) is placed in an idle mode (Open configuration) when a specified criterion is reached (Par.187 and 191; Overvoltage, overcurrent, overtemperature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had placed the bridge circuit/switching assembly in idle mode in the system of Crowley to have had isolated a faulty energy module and have had allowed the rest of the plurality of battery modules to continue functioning (Par.187 and 191) as taught in Kristensen thereby protecting the additional battery modules from damage.
Claim 12: Crowley in view of Kristensen, Kliem and Martin teach the limitations of claim 7 as disclosed above. Crowley teaches wherein the isolation device (132) comprises an optical sensor (Par.61, Opto-isolator.) (Par.123).
Claim 13: Crowley in view of Kristensen, Kliem and Martin teach the limitations of claim 6 as disclosed above. Crowley teaches wherein the control signal supplied by the control unit (104) contains at least two items of information, namely bypass mode or battery mode (Par.113 and 125), and operating mode (Par.117, Control signal includes a signal for a specific battery module to operate and act upon on.).
Claim 14: Crowley in view of Kristensen, Kliem and Martin teach the limitations of claim 13 as disclosed above. Crowley teaches wherein the control unit (104) is designed to generate a time-coded binary signal as the control signal (Par.119).
Claim 17: Crowley in view of Kristensen, Kliem and Martin teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Crowley teaches wherein the battery unit (110) comprises at least one battery cell (Par.113) (Fig.2).
Claim 20: Crowley in view of Kristensen, Kliem and Martin teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Crowley teaches wherein the energy supply system (100) is designed for use in a vehicle (Par.3).
Claim 21: Crowley teaches a battery module (102) for an energy supply system (100) (Fig.1), wherein the battery module (102) comprises:
an input connection and an output connection (Fig.1),
a battery unit (110) (Par.113), and
a bridge circuit (112) which is provided between the input connection and the output connection and is designed either to connect the battery unit (110) to the input and output connection (battery mode) or to connect the input connection to the output connection by bypassing the battery unit (110) (bypass mode) (Par.113);
a control device (108),
wherein each battery module (102) is designed to be controlled in an operating mode, wherein in the operating mode the bridge circuit (112) can be switched into a battery mode and a bypass mode (Par.113).
wherein the control device (108) is connected to the battery unit (110) for energy supply and to the bridge circuit (112) in order to switch the bridge (112) circuit into the battery mode or the bypass mode (Par.123-125) (Fig.4),
the bridge circuit (112) comprises a plurality of switching elements (114) for setting the battery mode or the bypass mode (Par.113).
Crowley does not explicitly teach each battery module is designed to be controlled, via a control signal, between an operating mode and an idle mode, wherein in the idle mode the bridge circuit is placed in a state with minimum energy consumption such that the battery unit is not connected to either the input connection or the output connection and such that the input connection is not connected to the output connection, wherein in the idle mode the switching elements of the bridge circuit are placed in a state with minimum energy consumption.
Kristensen teaches a plurality of battery modules (17) (Par.94); each battery module (17) designed to be controlled, via a control signal, between an operating mode (Positive output, Negative output and Bypassed configurations) (Par.41 and 97-99) and an idle mode (Open configuration) (Par.100), wherein in the idle mode (Open configuration) a bridge circuit (11-15) is placed in a state with minimum energy consumption (Par.191) such that a battery unit (10) is not connected to either an input connection (IOA) or an output connection (IOB) and such that the input connection (IOA) is not connected to the output connection (IOB) (Par.94, 100 and 191; All switches 11-15 open. Therefore, there is no connection between the input and output of the module.),
switching elements of a bridge circuit are placed in a state with minimum energy consumption in the idle mode (Open configuration) (Par.94, 100 and 191; All switches 11-15 open/switched off. Therefore, there is no energy transfer between the input and output of the circuit.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had placed the bridge circuit/switching assembly in idle mode in the system of Crowley to have had a dynamically reconfigurable energy module (Par.145) comprising an idle/isolation mode to allow for faulty energy modules to be completely removed from the system while allowing the rest of the plurality of battery modules to continue functioning (Par.187 and 191) as taught in Kristensen thereby protecting the additional battery modules from damage.
The combination of Crowley in view of Kristensen does not explicitly teach wherein the bridge circuit comprises a plurality of self-blocking switching elements; wherein the switching elements, in the idle mode, are placed in a blocking state.
Kliem teaches a plurality of self-blocking switching elements (T1-T2) (Par.48); wherein the switching elements are placed in a self-blocking state when in an open configuration (Par.48; Switched off/Open) to minimize energy consumption (Par.15; The switching elements are self-blocking (normally open) thereby they require no voltage in order to turn off/open. Thereby, utilizing self-blocking elements as the switching elements in the combination of Crowley in view of Kristensen would minimize energy consumption in an idle mode; when the switching elements are all turned off/open.). Furthermore, the limitation “to minimize energy consumption” recites the intended use of the self-blocking switching elements. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In this case, Kliem discloses a structure (self-blocking switching elements T1-T2) capable of performing the intended use as recited, and thus meets the claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Kliem in the combination of Crowley in view of Kristensen to have had utilized transistors with that are normally open thereby requiring a low control voltage and increasing safety in the event of a defect in the control circuit (Par.15).
The combination of Crowley and Kristensen does not explicitly teach wherein in the idle mode the control device is at least intermittently placed in a state with minimum energy consumption.
Martin discloses in an idle mode a control device is at least intermittently placed in a state with minimum energy consumption (Par.92).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Martin in the combination of Crowley and Kristensen to have had periodically powered up to check a status of a control signal while maintaining power consumption to a minimum (Par.92) without sacrificing required performance (Par.89).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crowley et al. (US 2019/0363311) in view of Kristensen (US 2019/0103750), Kliem (US 2019/0207605) and Martin et al. (US 2013/0297954) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Snyder et al. (US 2015/0180257)
Claim 11: Crowley in view of Kristensen, Kliem and Martin teach the limitations of claim 10 as disclosed above. The combination of Crowley in view of Kristensen does not explicitly teach wherein the criterion is selected from: absence of a control signal from the control unit in bypass mode, or mean current output below a specified value, or charge state/voltage of at least one battery module below a specifiable value.
Snyder teaches a battery module is placed in the idle mode when a specified criterion is reached (Par.77); wherein the criterion is selected from: charge state/voltage of at least one battery module below a specifiable value (Par.77).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Snyder in the combination of Crowley and Kristensen to have had placed a battery in an idle mode when the battery does not provide a substantial output (Par.77) thereby preventing over discharge.
Claims 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crowley et al. (US 2019/0363311) in view of Kristensen (US 2019/0103750), Kliem (US 2019/0207605) and Martin et al. (US 2013/0297954) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tzivanopoulos (US 2015/0256014).
Claim 15: Crowley in view of Kristensen, Kliem and Martin teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Crowley does not explicitly teach wherein each battery module has an isolating device which is designed to disconnect the bridge circuit and/or a DC link capacitor from the battery unit, the DC link capacitor being provided in parallel with the battery unit.
Tzivanopoulos discloses an isolating device (13) which is designed to disconnect a DC link capacitor (5) from a battery unit (4) (Par.37) (Fig.1), the DC link capacitor (5) being provided in parallel with the battery unit (4) (Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Tzivanopoulos in the system of Crowley to have had an element, DC link capacitor, that provides currents for short-term high current consumer requirements (Par.2); and have had isolated the charging battery from the charge receiving DC link capacitor thereby preventing any undesired current flow (Par.18).
Claim 16: Crowley in view of Kristensen, Kliem, Martin and Tzivanopoulos teach the limitations of claim 15 as disclosed above. Crowley does not explicitly teach wherein the isolating device comprises at least one switching element; in the idle mode this at least one switching element is placed in a high-resistance state with minimum energy consumption.
Kristensen teaches an isolating device (15) comprises at least one switching element (Par.94); wherein in an idle mode (Open configuration) the switching element (15) is placed in a high-resistance state (open) with minimum energy consumption (Par.191).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the isolation device of Crowley be a switching element for the expected result of electrically isolating the battery unit from the rest of the battery module (Par.94) as taught in Kristensen thereby protecting additional battery units from damage.
Claim 18: Crowley in view of Kristensen, Kliem, Martin and Tzivanopoulos teach the limitations of claim 16 as disclosed above. Crowley teaches wherein at least one of the switching elements (112) is implemented as a transistor (Par.113).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crowley et al. (US 2019/0363311) in view of Kristensen (US 2019/0103750), Kliem (US 2019/0207605) and Martin et al. (US 2013/0297954) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Timmons et al. (US 2011/0248680).
Claim 19: Crowley in view of Kristensen, Kliem and Martin teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Crowley teaches wherein the control device (108) comprises a circuit for measuring individual voltages of series-connected battery cells (Par.61) of the battery unit (110) (Par.124 and 182).
The combination of Crowley in view of Kristensen does not explicitly teach the circuit is placed in a state with minimum energy consumption in the idle mode.
Timmons discloses a circuit (60) (Fig.5) for measuring a state of battery cells (70) of a battery unit (Par.21) is placed in a state with minimum energy consumption in an idle mode (Par.29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Timmons in the combination of Crowley and Kristensen to have had disconnected battery management systems that drain power from their associated battery cells thereby prolonging the batteries shelf lives (Par.29).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Wang et al. (US 2016/0036100) discloses when a switch is open is in a high resistance state (Par.49).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHALI A TORRES RUIZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859