DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Applicant's arguments, filed on 05/29/2026, ("Remarks") were in response to the Non-Final Rejection mailed on 03/09/2026 ("Non-Final Rejection").
Claim(s) 13, 16 and 23 have been amended.
Claim(s) 13-23 is/are pending and is/are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments, filed 5/29/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Applicant has amended claim 1 to include limitations that were not previously presented, specifically “tipping paper surrounding the filter wrap, an axial length of the tipping paper being less than an axial length of the filter wrap”. The prior art of record does not appear to disclose the new limitations. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art US20180084828 (“CLARKE”) in combination with previously applied prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-17 and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over YAMADA WO 2018235956 ("YAMADA") (of record) (with reference being made to
the machine translation made of record on 11/18/2024) in view of ZHAO CN 109497618
("ZHAO") (of record) (with reference being made to the machine translation made of
record on 05/12/2025) and further in view of CLARKE US20180084828 (“CLARKE”).
As to claim 13, YAMADA discloses a heated tobacco product, comprising:
a tobacco rod (1; Page 8 last full paragraph);
a support part (26; Page 8 last full paragraph) disposed in abutting contact with a rear end of the tobacco rod (Fig. 3);
a cooling part (24; Page 8 last full paragraph); and
a mouthpiece part (22; Page 8 last full paragraph) disposed in abutting contact with a rear end of the cooling part (Fig. 1),
wherein the cooling part is a hollow tube (best illustrated Figure 1) having a through-hole extending in a longitudinal direction and allows a volatile substance released from the tobacco rod to flow downstream and to be cooled (the cooling part is a cavity space with a hollow interior, which constitutes a through-hole),
wherein the cooling part has an air vent allowing introduction of outside air (second full
paragraph on page 9),
wherein the air vent penetrates the cooling part (second full paragraph on page 9) and is located upstream in the cooling part (these vents are upstream of the mouthpiece).
However, YAMADA's cooling part is formed from a cigarette wrapper. This fails to
arrive at a cooling part disposed in abutting contact with a rear end of the support part.
ZHAO teaches a cooling part (Figs. 2-3, 2) disposed in abutting contact with a rear end
of a tobacco rod (1), wherein the cooling part is a hollow tube having a through-hole extending
in a longitudinal direction (Figs. 2-3) and allows a volatile substance released from the tobacco
rod to flow downstream and to be cooled (page 3's discussion of first beneficial effect), wherein
the cooling part has an air vent (Fig. 3, 9) allowing introduction of outside air, and wherein the
air vent penetrates the cooling part and is located upstream in the cooling part (page 3's
discussion of second beneficial effect).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of ZHAO's paper cooling part into the disclosure of YAMADA for the benefit of a cigarette paper tube unit with cooling part that is perforated to allow more
cooling air to prevent negative taste associated with the filter tip (as taught by ZHAO's first
benefit on page 3) that has a desired hardiness (as taught by ZHAO's fourth beneficial effect on
page 3).
That is, the inclusion of ZHAO's abutting paper structure will reinforce the hollow
cooling chamber of YAMADA.
With respect to the claimed "wherein the hollow tube forming the cooling part comprises a filter material," ZHAO's obviously incorporated hollow tube forming the cooling part is taught as being made from paper (see above). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that the broadest reasonable interpretation of "a filter material" encompasses paper, e.g., paper can filter. Accordingly, the obvious combination above arrives at wherein the hollow tube forming the cooling part comprises a filter material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of YAMADA into the modified disclosure above and roll the
subunits, including the hollow tube forming the cooling part from ZHAO, for the benefit of
obtaining a heated tobacco product (as taught by YAMADA's last full paragraph on page 11).
Modified YAMADA teaches a filter wrap around at least the cooling part (ZHAO, 5, wrap, around cooling part, 2) and tipping paper (ZHAO, 7, surrounding the filter wrap, 5).
Modified YAMADA does not expressly teach that the axial length of the tipping paper is less than an axial length of the filter wrap.
CLARKE teaches a tobacco product with a filter of the invention (or a filter which includes a filter element of the invention) joined to a wrapped tobacco rod with one end of the filter towards the tobacco ([0024]). CLARKE teaches that the filter may, for example, be joined to the wrapped tobacco rod by ring tipping (which engages around just the adjacent ends of a (wrapped) filter and rod to leave much of the filter wrap exposed) or by a full tipping overwrap (which engages around the full filter length and the adjacent end of the tobacco rod) ([0024]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tipping paper of Modified YAMADA so that the filter is jointed to the wrapped tobacco rod by ring tipping which engages around just the adjacent ends of a (wrapped) filter and rod to leave much of the filter wrap exposed, as suggested by CLARKE, with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results of connecting the filter wrap and the tobacco rod.
With respect to the claimed "wherein the air vent penetrates the cooling part and is
located upstream in the cooling part," one of ordinary skill in the art understands that the
broadest reasonable interpretation of "located upstream in the cooling part" defines "upstream" to be relevant to the cooling part itself. That is, when a cooling part is upstream of other components and has an air vent, then the air vent is located upstream in the cooling part relative to the downstream component. Accordingly, modified YAMADA, by making obvious the
claimed cooling part that is upstream of the mouthpiece, modified YAMADA arrives at wherein
the air vent penetrates the cooling part and is located upstream in the cooling part.
With respect to the claimed "wherein the air vent is provided at a position closer to a
front end of the cooling part than to the rear end of the cooling section," the claims to not define what is a "front end" or a "rear end." The obvious combination above arrives at the air vent being provided in the cooling part at a position which is offset from the middle of the cooling section (as taught by ZHAO's Fig. 3). Accordingly, the obvious combination above arrives at the broadest reasonable interpretation of wherein the air vent is provided at a position closer to a front end (the end of the cooling part nearest the offset air vent) than to the rear end of the cooling part (the other end of the cooling part farthest away from the air vent).
For the sake of compact prosecution, that is if Applicant were to amend claim 13,
YAMADA and ZHAO fail to explicitly disclose wherein the air vent is located in the cooling
part closer to the tobacco rod than the mouth piece.
ZHAO teaches that laser the drilled ventilation hole (top of page 5) to should be placed
in the cooling part to ensure the smoke is completely mixed with the outside air (third benefit in middle of page 3 between benefits three and four).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to further incorporate this teaching into modified YAMADA and arrive at the air vent is located in the cooling part closer to the tobacco rod than the mouth piece because this would improve the overall smoking experience by ensuring that the smoke is more completely mixed with the outside stream of air (as taught by ZHAO's third benefit in middle of page 3 between benefits three and four). Additionally or alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to arrive at wherein the air vent is located in the cooling part closer to the tobacco rod than the mouth piece as an obvious rearrangement of the vent hole because shifting the position of the vent hole would not have modified the operation of the device or is an obvious matter of design choice. MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C).
Accordingly, YAMADA and ZHAO make obvious the air vent is located in the cooling
part closer to the tobacco rod than the mouth piece for the reasons stated immediately above.
The second rationale above also arrives at the air vent is located in the cooling part closer to the tobacco rod than the mouthpiece. This obvious arrangement also arrives at "the air vent penetrates the cooling part and is located upstream in the cooling part and wherein the air vent is provided at a position closer to a front end (assuming the front end was amended to be the tobacco rod) than to the rear end (assuming the rear end was amended to be the mouthpiece) of the cooling section."
As to claim 14, YAMADA and ZHAO make obvious the heated tobacco product
according to claim 13.
YAMADA further discloses wherein the support part (26) is a hollow tube with a center
hole formed to penetrate the support part (Figure 3).
As to claim 15, YAMADA and ZHAO make obvious the heated tobacco product
according to claim 14.
YAMADA further discloses wherein the through-hole has a diameter greater than a
diameter of the center hole (see Figures 1 and 3).
As to claim 16, YAMADA and ZHAO make obvious the heated tobacco product
according to claim 14.
YAMADA further discloses wherein the hollow tube forming the support part comprises
cellulose acetate (see third full paragraph on page 9).
As to claim 17, YAMADA and ZHAO make obvious the heated tobacco product
according to claim 16.
YAMADA further discloses wherein the mouthpiece part (22) has a filter material
formed into a shape of a circular cylinder (Figure 3 and first full paragraph on page 9).
As to claim 20, YAMADA and ZHAO make obvious the heated tobacco product
according to claim 13.
YAMADA further discloses wherein the tobacco rod includes a tobacco filler (Figure
2A, 10), and wherein the tobacco filler has a cavity (14) extending in an axial direction of the
tobacco rod (Figure 2A; see middle of page 8).
As to claim 21, YAMADA and ZHAO make obvious the heated tobacco product
according to claim 20.
YAMADA further discloses wherein the tobacco filler laterally surrounds the cavity
(Figure 2A).
As to claim 22, YAMADA and ZHAO make obvious the heated tobacco product
according to claim 20.
YAMADA further discloses wherein the cavity axially penetrates the tobacco rod (Figure
2A).
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
YAMADA WO 2018235956 ("YAMADA") (of record) in view of ZHAO CN 109497618
("ZHAO") (of record) in view of CLARKE US20180084828 (“CLARKE”), as applied in the rejections of claims 14 and 16 above, and in further view of MAEDER WO 2009022232 ("MAEDER") (of record).
As to claim 18, YAMADA and ZHAO make obvious the heated tobacco product
according to claim 16.
YAMADA and ZHAO make obvious the hollow tube forming the cooling part
comprises a paper filter material. (see rejection above)
However, YAMADA and ZHAO fail to arrive at wherein the filter material is a cellulose
acetate fiber.
MAEDER teaches a hollow tube forming the cooling part comprises cellulose acetate
fibers and that the cellulose acetate fibers are functional equivalents of paper filter materials
which may be swapped out for one another (bottom of page 11 and extending onto the top of
page 12 "the expansion chamber may comprise a hollow cardboard tube, a hollow tube of
cellulose acetate tow or both").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of MAEDER into modified YAMADA for the benefit of allowing
the overall length of the smoking article to be adjusted to a desired value while simultaneously
further cooling the aerosol (as taught by MAEDER at bottom of page 11 and extending onto the
top of page 12).
As to claim 19, YAMADA and ZHAO make obvious the heated tobacco product
according to claim 14.
YAMADA further discloses wherein the hollow tube forming the support part (26)
comprises comprise cellulose acetate fibers (see third full paragraph on page 9), and wherein the mouthpiece part (22) is made of cellulose acetate fibers formed into a shape of a circular cylinder (Figure 3 and first full paragraph on page 9).
YAMADA fails to disclose the hollow tube forming the cooling part comprises cellulose
acetate fibers.
ZHAO fails to remedy the above deficiency.
MAEDER teaches a hollow tube forming the cooling part comprises cellulose acetate
fibers (bottom of page 11 and extending onto the top of page 12 "the expansion chamber may
comprise a hollow cardboard tube, a hollow tube of cellulose acetate tow or both").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of MAEDER into modified YAMADA for the benefit of allowing
the overall length of the smoking article to be adjusted to a desired value while simultaneously
further cooling the aerosol (as taught by MAEDER at bottom of page 11 and extending onto the
top of page 12).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMADA WO 2018235956 (“YAMADA”) and ZHAO CN 109497618 (“ZHAO”) and CLARKE US20180084828 (“CLARKE”), as applied in the rejection of claim 20 above, and in further view of SAYGILI US 20180228216 (of record).
As to claim 23, the rejections of claims 13 and 20 are repeated below for the reader's
convenience.
YAMADA discloses a heated tobacco product, comprising:
a tobacco rod (1; Page 8 last full paragraph);
a support part (26; Page 8 last full paragraph) disposed in abutting contact with a rear end of the tobacco rod (Fig. 3);
a cooling part (24; Page 8 last full paragraph); and
a mouthpiece part (22; Page 8 last full paragraph) disposed in abutting contact with a rear end of the cooling part (Fig. 1),
wherein the cooling part is a hollow tube (best illustrated Figure 1) having a through-hole extending in a longitudinal direction and allows a volatile substance released from the tobacco rod to flow downstream and to be cooled (the cooling part is a cavity space with a hollow interior, which constitutes a through-hole),
wherein the cooling part has an air vent allowing introduction of outside air (second full
paragraph on page 9),
wherein the air vent penetrates the cooling part (second full paragraph on page 9) and is located upstream in the cooling part (these vents are upstream of the mouthpiece).
However, YAMADA's cooling part is formed from a cigarette wrapper. This fails to
arrive at a cooling part disposed in abutting contact with a rear end of the support part.
ZHAO teaches a cooling part (Figs. 2-3, 2) disposed in abutting contact with a rear end
of a tobacco rod (1), wherein the cooling part is a hollow tube having a through-hole extending
in a longitudinal direction (Figs. 2-3) and allows a volatile substance released from the tobacco
rod to flow downstream and to be cooled (page 3's discussion of first beneficial effect), wherein
the cooling part has an air vent (Fig. 3, 9) allowing introduction of outside air, and wherein the
air vent penetrates the cooling part and is located upstream in the cooling part (page 3's
discussion of second beneficial effect).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of ZHAO's paper cooling part into the disclosure of YAMADA for the benefit of a cigarette paper tube unit with cooling part that is perforated to allow more
cooling air to prevent negative taste associated with the filter tip (as taught by ZHAO's first
benefit on page 3) that has a desired hardiness (as taught by ZHAO's fourth beneficial effect on
page 3).
That is, the inclusion of ZHAO's abutting paper structure will reinforce the hollow cooling chamber of YAMADA.
With respect to the claimed "wherein the hollow tube forming the cooling part comprises a filter material," ZHAO's obviously incorporated hollow tube forming the cooling part is taught as being made from paper (see above). One of ordinary skill in the art understands that the broadest reasonable interpretation of "a filter material" encompasses paper, e.g., paper can filter. Accordingly, the obvious combination above arrives at wherein the hollow tube forming the cooling part comprises a filter material.
With respect to the claimed "a filter wrap around at least the cooling part and the mouthpiece," YAMADA teaches wrapping each of the subunits of the heated tobacco product with a filter wrap (last full paragraph on page 11).
Modified YAMADA teaches a filter wrap around at least the cooling part (ZHAO, 5, wrap, around cooling part, 2) and tipping paper (ZHAO, 7, surrounding the filter wrap, 5).
Modified YAMADA does not expressly teach that the axial length of the tipping paper is less than an axial length of the filter wrap.
CLARKE teaches a tobacco product with a filter of the invention (or a filter which includes a filter element of the invention) joined to a wrapped tobacco rod with one end of the filter towards the tobacco ([0024]). CLARKE teaches that the filter may, for example, be joined to the wrapped tobacco rod by ring tipping (which engages around just the adjacent ends of a (wrapped) filter and rod to leave much of the filter wrap exposed) or by a full tipping overwrap (which engages around the full filter length and the adjacent end of the tobacco rod) ([0024]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tipping paper of Modified YAMADA so that the filter is jointed to the wrapped tobacco rod by ring tipping which engages around just the adjacent ends of a (wrapped) filter and rod to leave much of the filter wrap exposed, as suggested by CLARKE, with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results of connecting the filter wrap and the tobacco rod.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of YAMADA into the modified disclosure above and roll the subunits, including the hollow tube forming the cooling part from ZHAO, for the benefit of obtaining a heated tobacco product (as taught by YAMADA's last full paragraph on page 11).
With respect to the claimed "wherein the air vent penetrates the cooling part and is
located upstream in the cooling part," one of ordinary skill in the art understands that the broadest reasonable interpretation of "located upstream in the cooling part" defines upstream"
to be relevant to the cooling part itself. That is, when a cooling part is upstream of other components and has an air vent, then the air vent is located upstream in the cooling part relative to the downstream component. Accordingly, modified YAMADA, by making obvious the
claimed cooling part that is upstream of the mouthpiece, modified YAMADA arrives at wherein
the air vent penetrates the cooling part and is located upstream in the cooling part.
With respect to the claimed "wherein the air vent is provided at a position closer to a
front end of the cooling part than to the rear end of the cooling section," the claims to not define what is a "front end" or a "rear end." The obvious combination above arrives at the air vent being provided in the cooling part at a position which is offset from the middle of the cooling section (as taught by ZHAO's Fig. 3). Accordingly, the obvious combination above arrives at the broadest reasonable interpretation of wherein the air vent is provided at a position closer to a front end (the end of the cooling part nearest the offset air vent) than to the rear end of the cooling part (the other end of the cooling part farthest away from the air vent).
For the sake of compact prosecution, that is if Applicant were to amend claim 13, YAMADA and ZHAO fail to explicitly disclose wherein the air vent is located in the cooling part closer to the tobacco rod than the mouth piece.
ZHAO teaches that laser the drilled ventilation hole (top of page 5) to should be placed in the cooling part to ensure the smoke is completely mixed with the outside air (third benefit in middle of page 3 between benefits three and four).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to further incorporate this teaching into modified YAMADA and arrive at the air vent is located in the cooling part closer to the tobacco rod than the mouth piece because this would improve the overall smoking experience by ensuring that the smoke is more completely mixed with the outside stream of air (as taught by ZHAO's third benefit in middle of page 3 between benefits three and four). Additionally or alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to arrive at wherein the air vent is located in the cooling part closer to the tobacco rod than the mouth piece as an obvious rearrangement of the vent hole because shifting the position of the vent hole would not have modified the operation of the device or is an obvious matter of design choice. MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C).
Accordingly, YAMADA and ZHAO make obvious the air vent is located in the cooling part closer to the tobacco rod than the mouth piece for the reasons stated immediately above.
The second rationale above also arrives at the air vent is located in the cooling part closer to the tobacco rod than the mouthpiece. This obvious arrangement also arrives at "the air vent penetrates the cooling part and is located upstream in the cooling part and wherein the air vent is provided at a position closer to a front end (assuming the front end was amended to be the tobacco rod) than to the rear end (assuming the rear end was amended to be the mouthpiece) of the cooling section."
YAMADA further discloses wherein the tobacco rod includes a tobacco filler (Figure 2A, 10), and wherein the tobacco filler has a cavity (14) extending in an axial direction of the tobacco rod (Figure 2A; see middle of page 8).
Accordingly, modified YAMADA arrives a product including the heated tobacco product according to claim 20.
YAMADA further discloses a heating device (30) comprising a heater, wherein the heater is located within the cavity of the tobacco filler (Page 12).
YAMADA fails to explicitly disclose the heating device having an accommodating cavity for insertion of the heated tobacco product.
ZHAO fails to remedy this deficiency.
SAYGILI teaches a heating device (38; ¶¶ 186-188) having an accommodating cavity (40) for insertion of the heated tobacco product (4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate SAYGILI's heater with the disclosure of modified YAMADA for the benefit of securing the tobacco substrate to the heater to generate aerosol (as taught by SAYGILI at ¶¶ 187-188).
The obvious arrangement above is considered to arrive at the limitation of "wherein the heater is located within the cavity of the tobacco rod."
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
YANA B. KRINKER
Examiner
Art Unit 1755
/YANA B KRINKER/ Examiner, Art Unit 1755
/PHILIP Y LOUIE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755