Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 05/04/2026 have been fully considered and are made of record.
Claims 1, 15, 26 and 39 have been amended.
Claims 6-14 and 18 have been cancelled.
Claims 40-41 have been newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 05/04/2026 have been fully considered and but are moot because new ground(s) of rejection has been applied to amended limitations..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 15, 17 and 19-41 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Burroughs et al. (US 2013/0130843 A1; hereinafter Burroughs).
Regarding claim 1, Burroughs teaches a method for mapping a magnetic field of an athletic field area (See [0067]-[0073]), the method comprising:
measuring, using a first sensor module (first sensor module 132 in Fig. 1 and Fig below; See [0074]-[0080]), first magnetic field data (132 measured first magnetic field data of 130 in fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0074]-[0080]),
wherein the first sensor module is configured to measure first magnetic field data (See [0130], [0194], [0209]) at a plurality of locations within the athletic field area during a mapping session (132 measures at plurality of location within athletic field area in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0074]-[0080]);
measuring, using a second sensor module (second sensor module 06, 108 in fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0074]-[0080]) associated with a first user (106, 108 associated with first user 102 in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0074]-[0080]),
second magnetic field data related to the first user (106, 108 measures second magnetic field related to first user 102 n Fig. 1; See [0130], [0194], [0209]);
comparing the first and the second measured magnetic field data (See [0409], [0413]-[0414]);
providing, based on the comparison of the first and the second measured magnetic field data, a recommendation to the first user (See [0409]),
wherein the recommendation is related to a position of the first user (possession of ball is recommendation; See [0409]); and
generating a map of the magnetic field of the athletic field area based on the first and the second measured magnetic field data (receiver 120 generates map from first and second magnetic field data in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0050]-[0090]);
displaying, on a display of a remote device (120 ha display in Fig. 1; See [0416]), the map, wherein the remote device is remote to the sensor module (See [0416], [0491]).
Regarding claim 3, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 1, at least one of the plurality of locations within the area (See [0515]]) comprises a boundary of the field of play (See [0149]).
Regarding claim 4, Burroughs teaches the method in claim 1, at least one of the plurality of locations within the area comprises a goal (See [0297]-[0298]).
Regarding claim 5, Burroughs teaches the method in claim 1, recording the mapping session using a video camera to generate video data for the athletic field area (See [0581]-[0584]); and correlating the magnetic field data and the video data (See [0584]).
Regarding claim 21, Burroughs teaches the method in claim 1, wherein the athletic field area comprises at least a portion of an athletic field (See [0515]-[0516]]), an athletic court, a golf course, a ski slope, a swimming pool, or a road.
Regarding Claim 22, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: measuring magnetic field data of an object (See [0074]-[0080], [0130], [0194], [0209]);
comparing the map of the magnetic field of the athletic field area to the measured magnetic field data of the object (See [0409], [0413]-[0414]).
Regarding Claim 23, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 22, further comprising: determining, based on the comparing, position data of object (See [0409], [0413]-[0414]).
Regarding claim 24, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 1, a system similar to that of the cited prior arts and further discloses display heat map (See [515]-[0517]).
Regarding Claim 37, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the remote device is a portable electronic device (See [0416], [0491]).
Regarding claim 30, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 4, further teaches further comprising: locating an object within the map of the magnetic field (GPS s locating object 130 with map of field in Fig. 1; See [0516]), wherein the object comprises athletic equipment (object 130 is athletic equipment in Fig. 1; See [0112]).
Regarding Claim 31, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 30, further comprising: determining a position of the object within the athletic field area (See [0516]); and determining an amount of time the object spent at the position (See [0093]), wherein the determining the position is done in real-time (See [0138], [0505]).
Regarding Claim 32, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 24, wherein the comparing is done continuously (See [0409], [0413]-[0414]); and wherein the determining the position data is done in real-time (See [0138], [0505]).
Regarding Claim 33, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 32, further comprising: locating an object within the map of the magnetic field (See [0058]), wherein the object comprises athletic equipment (object 130 is athletic equipment in Fig. 1; See [0112]).
Regarding Claim 40, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 1, measuring, using a third sensor module associated with a second user (if team of player third player has third sensor; See [0158]-[0159]), third magnetic field data related to the first user (See [0158]-[0159]); comparing, the first and third measured magnetic field data (See [0280], [0285], [0312], [0314]); providing, based on the comparison of the first and third measured magnetic field, a second recommendation to the second user, wherein the second recommendation is related to a position of the second user (See [0165]-[0166]).
Regarding claims 15, Burroughs teaches a method for locating an object within a mapped magnetic field of an athletic field area (See [0067]-[0073]), the method comprising:
measuring, using a sensor module (sensor module 132 in Fig. 1 and Fig below; See [0074]-[0080]) comprising a magnetic field sensor (See [0130], [0194], [0209]), wherein the sensor module is configured to couple to the object (object 130 is athletic equipment in Fig. 1; See [0112]), and
wherein the sensor module is configured to measure the magnetic field data at a plurality of locations within the athletic field area during a mapping session (132 measures at plurality of location within athletic field area in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0074]-[0080]);
generating a map of the magnetic field of the athletic field area based on the measured magnetic field data (receiver 120 generates map from first and second magnetic field data in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0050]-[0090]); and
comparing the map of the magnetic field of the athletic field area to a magnetic field data of the object to locate the position of the object within the athletic field area (See [0409], [0413]-[0414]);
providing a recommendation to a user based on the magnetic field data, wherein the recommendation is related to a position of the user (possession of ball is recommendation; See [0409]); and
displaying, on a display of a remote device (120 ha display in Fig. 1; See [0416]), the map, wherein the remote device is remote to the sensor module, and wherein the object comprises athletic equipment (See [0416], [0491]).
Regarding claim 17, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 15, atleast one of the plurality of locations within the area comprises a boundary of a playing field (See [0149]).
Regarding claim 19, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 15, recording the mapping session using a video camera to generate video data for the athletic field area (See [0581]-[0584]); and correlating the magnetic field data and the video data (See [0584]).
Regarding claim 20, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 15, recording the measured magnetic field data (recording in memory; See [0077]); and updating the magnetic field map based on the measured magnetic field data (See [0557]).
Regarding Claim 34, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising displaying, on the display of the remote device (See [0416], [0491]), an indication of the position of the object on the map (See [0516]).
Regarding Claim 25, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the comparing is done continuously (See [0409], [0413]-[0414]).
Regarding Claim 26, Burroughs teaches a method for locating an object within a mapped magnetic field of an athletic field area (See [0067]-[0073]), the method comprising:
measuring, using a sensor module coupled to the object (sensor module 132 in Fig. 1 and Fig below; See [0074]-[0080]), magnetic field data (132 measured first magnetic field data of 130 in fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0074]-[0080]) at a plurality of locations within the athletic field area during a mapping session (132 measures at plurality of location within athletic field area in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0074]-[0080]);
generating a map of the magnetic field of the athletic field area based on the measured magnetic field data (receiver 120 generates map from first and second magnetic field data in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0050]-[0090]);
comparing the map of the magnetic field of the athletic field area to a magnetic field data of the object (See [0409], [0413]-[0414]);
determining, based on the comparing, position data of the object within the athletic field area (See [0409]); and
displaying, on a display of a remote device (See [0057], [0063], [0071], [0416]), the position data of the object, providing, on the display of the remote device (See [0416], [0491]),
an alert based on the determined position of the object (See [0057], [0062]);
wherein the remote device is remote to the sensor module (See [0062], [0071]), and wherein the object comprises athletic equipment (130 is athletic equipment ball in Fig. 1; See [0068]) or an article of clothing.
Regarding claim 27, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 26, further comprising, determining an amount of time the object spent at the position (See [0093]).
Regarding Claim 28, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 26, wherein the comparing is done continuously (See [0409], [0413]-[0414]).
Regarding Claim 29, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 26, wherein the determining is done in real-time (See [0138], [0505]).
Regarding Claim 35, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 26, further comprising, transmitting, using a transceiver of the sensor module (sensor module 106 transmits sensor data to remote device 120 in Fig. 1; See [0060]-[0082]), the magnetic field data and the position data to the remote device (See [0040]-[0062]).
Regarding Claim 36, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 35, displaying, on the display of the remote device See [0057], [0062], [0071]), an indication of the position of the object based on the position data (See [0010]).
Regarding Claim 38, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the sensor module comprises an acceleration sensor for determining an orientation of the object (See [0072]-[0074]).
Regarding Claim 39, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the remote device is configured to be worn or carried by the user (See [00057], [0062, [0071]), and wherein the method further comprises determining the position of the object relative to the user (See [0040]-[0060]).
Regarding Claim 41, Burroughs teaches the method of claims 26, further comprising determining a position of a first user and a position of a second user (team has first and second user; See [0091]), wherein the remote device is configured to be worn or carried by a the first user (See [00057], [0062, [0071]), and wherein the alert is provided based on the position of the second user and the determined position of the object (See [00057], [0062, [0071]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Burroughs in view of Suzuki et al. (6,336,043 B1; hereinafter Suzuki).
Regarding claim 2, Burroughs teaches the method in claim 1. Burroughs is silent about the plurality of locations are equally spaced apart from one another.
Suzuki discloses method for processing biomagnetic field data (See abstract) and further discloses plurality of locations are equally spaced apart from one another (See plurality of locations 20-27 are equally spaced apart from one another; See Col. 7, Lines 10-42).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Burroughs by using the plurality of locations are equally spaced apart from one another, as taught by Suzuki in order to achieve high precision of detection (Suzuki; Col. 7, Lines 40-45).
Regarding claim 16, Burroughs teaches the method of claim 15. Burroughs is silent about wherein the plurality of locations are equally spaced apart from one another.
Suzuki wherein the plurality of locations are equally spaced apart from one another (See plurality of locations 20-27 are equally spaced apart from one another; See Col. 7, Lines 10-42).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Burroughs by using the plurality of locations are equally spaced apart from one another, as taught by Suzuki in order to achieve high precision of detection (Suzuki; Col. 7, Lines 40-45).
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858