Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 10/31/2025 have been fully considered and are made of record.
Claims 1, 15, 26 and 35 have been amended.
Claims 6-14 and 18 have been cancelled.
Claims 37-39 have been newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/21/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore the rejection sent on Office Action mailed on 11/14/2025 is withdrawn and new ground(s) of rejection has been.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims Claim(s) 1, 3, 21, 24 and 37 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Boyd et al. (US 2008/0258917 A1; hereinafter Boyd) in view of Burroughs et al. (US 2013/0130843 A1; hereinafter Burroughs).
Regarding claim 1, Boyd teaches a method for mapping a magnetic field of an athletic field area (method of magnetic field generated F of an athletic field area 14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0022]]), the method comprising:
measuring using a sensor module (RFID TAG 38 is sensor module that measures magnetic field generated by 18 in Fig. 1-Fig. 2; See [0022]), magnetic field data, wherein the sensor module is configured to measure magnetic field data at a plurality of locations within the athletic field area during a mapping session (sensor module 38 measures magnetic field data F from plurality of location where mat 14’s are disposed during mapping session of processor 40 of athletic field area from start point to end point in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0017]-[0018], [0022]-[0025]);
generating a map of the magnetic field of the athletic field area based on the measured magnetic field data (processor 40 maps magnetic field data of RFID TAG 38 in Fig. 2; See [0022]);
displaying, on a display of a remote device (display 42 is remote to mat 14 by wireless transmission in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0023]), the map (42 displays the map in fig. 2; See [0023]).
Boyd is silent about wherein the remote device is remote to the sensor module.
Burroughs teaches regarding athlete (See abstract) wherein the remote device is remote to the sensor module (computer 120 with display is remote device to sensor module 106 in Fig. 1; See [0069]-[0071], [0082]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Boyd by using the remote device is remote to the sensor module, as taught by Burroughs in order to monitor player performance during athletic activities (Burroughs; [0002]).
Regarding claim 3, Boyd in view of Burroughs teaches the method of claim 1. Boyd further teaches at least one of the plurality of locations within the area (area 14 in Fig. 1; See [017]) comprises a boundary of the field of play (boundary is start pint and end point in Fig. 3; See [0017]-[0018]).
Regarding claim 21, Boyd in view of Burroughs teaches the method in claim 1. Boyd further teaches wherein the athletic field area comprises at least a portion of an athletic field (athletic field 14 in Fig. 1; See [0024]-[0025]), an athletic court, a golf course, a ski slope, a swimming pool, or a road.
Regarding Claim 37, Boyd in view of Burroughs teaches the method of claim 1. Burroughs further teaches wherein the remote device is a portable electronic device (remote device 120 is potable electronic device in Fig. 1; See [0082]).
Regarding claim 24, Boyd in view of Burroughs teaches the method of claim 1.
Burroughs further discloses a system similar to that of the cited prior arts and further discloses display heat map (See [010], [331], [515-517], fig. 34, fig. 94).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having skill in the art to incorporate the device of Boyd in view of Burroughs to incorporate the step of display the heat map, as taught by Burroughs in order to monitor player performance during athletic activities (Burroughs; [0002]).
Claims 2 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Boyd in view of Burroughs further in view of Suzuki et al. (6,336,043 B1; hereinafter Suzuki).
Regarding claim 2, Boyd in view of Burroughs teaches the method in claim 1. Boyd in view of Burroughs is silent about the plurality of locations are equally spaced apart from one another.
Suzuki discloses method for processing biomagnetic field data (See abstract) and further discloses plurality of locations are equally spaced apart from one another (See plurality of locations 20-27 are equally spaced apart from one another; See Col. 7, Lines 10-42).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Boyd in view of Burroughs by using the plurality of locations are equally spaced apart from one another, as taught by Suzuki in order to achieve high precision of detection (Suzuki; Col. 7, Lines 40-45).
9. Claims 4 and 30 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Boyd in view of Burroughs further in view of French et al. (Pub No. US 2013/0171596 A1; hereinafter French).
Regarding claim 4, Boyd in view of Burroughs teaches the method in claim 1. Boyd further teaches at least one of the plurality of locations within the area (within area 14 in Fig. 1).
Boyd in view of Burroughs is silent about comprises a goal.
French discloses augmented reality neurological and further discloses a goal (See [072]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Boyd in view of Burroughs by using a goal, as taught by French in order to achieve safety and success in both real world game play (French; [0072]).
Regarding claim 30, Boyd in view of Burroughs in view of French teaches the method of claim 4. Boyd further teaches further comprising: locating an object within the map of the magnetic field (GPS s locating object 10 with map 14 in Fig. 1; See [0016]-[0020], [0031]), wherein the object comprises athletic equipment (object 10 is athletic equipment in Fig. 1; See [0016]).
10. Claims 15, 17, 20, 22-23, 26-27, 34-36 and 38-39 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Boyd in view of Burroughs in view of Glossop et al. (Pub NO. US 2006/0122497 A1; hereinafter Glossop).
Regarding claims 15, Boyd teaches a method for locating an object within a mapped magnetic field of an athletic field area (method of magnetic field F generated of an athletic field area 14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0016]-[0025]), the method comprising:
measuring, using a sensor module comprising a magnetic field sensor (RFID TAG 38 is sensor module and magnetic field sensor that measures magnetic field generated by 18 in Fig. 1-Fig. 2; See [0022]),
wherein the sensor module is configured to couple to the object (sensor module 38 is couped to the object 10 in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0022]-[0025]), and
wherein the sensor module is configured to measure the magnetic field data at a plurality of locations within the athletic field area (sensor module 38 measures magnetic field data F from plurality of location where mat 14’s are disposed during mapping session of processor 40 of athletic field area from start point to end point in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0017]-[0018], [0022]-[0025]) during a mapping session (38 measures magnetic field data F from plurality of location during mapping session of processor 40 of athletic field area 14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0022]- [0025]);
generating a map of the magnetic field of the athletic field area based on the measured magnetic field data (processor 40 generates map of magnetic field data in Fig. 2; See [0022]-[0025]).
displaying, on a display of a remote device (display 42 is remote to 14 by wireless transmission in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0023]), the map (42 displays the map of processor 40 in Fig. 2; See [0023]);
wherein object comprises athletic equipment (object 10 with human body is athletic equipment in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0016], [0031]).
Boyd teaches object within the athletic field area (object 10 within athletic area 14 in Fig. 1),
However Boyd is silent about comparing the map of the magnetic field of the athletic field area to a magnetic field data of the object to locate the position of the object.
Glossop teaches regarding magnetic position tracking device (See [0008]) comparing the map of the magnetic field area to a magnetic field data of the object to locate the position of the object (See [0015], [0016], [0019], [0049]-[0051]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having skill in the art to incorporate the device of Boyd to incorporate the step of comparing the map of the magnetic field of the athletic field area to a magnetic field data of the object to locate the position of the object, as taught by Glossop in order to achieve the accuracy of a tracking device in a volume (Glossop; [0002]).
Boyd is silent about wherein the remote device is remote to the sensor module.
Burroughs teaches regarding athlete (See abstract) wherein the remote device is remote to the sensor module (computer 120 with display is remote device to sensor module 106 in Fig. 1; See [0069]-[0071], [0082]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Boyd and Glossop by using the remote device is remote to the sensor module, as taught by Burroughs in order to monitor player performance during athletic activities (Burroughs; [0002]).
Regarding claim 17, Boyd in view of Glossop in view of Burroughs teaches the method of claim 15. Boyd further teaches atleast one of the plurality of locations within the area comprises a boundary of a playing field (boundary of 14 Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Boyd in view of Glossop in view of Burroughs teaches the method of claim 15. Boyd further teaches recording the measured magnetic field data (processor 16 records data in memory; See [0017]); and updating the magnetic field map based on the measured magnetic field data (processor 16 updates data; See [0017]-[0020]).
Regarding Claim 34, Boyd in view of Glossop in view of Burroughs teaches the method of claim 15. Boyd further teaches further comprising displaying, on the display of the remote device (display 42 is remote to 14 in Fig. 1; See [0023]), an indication of the position of the object on the map (42 display position of object 10 on map 14 from GPS in Fig. 1; See [0023], [0031]).
Regarding Claim 22, Boyd in view of Burroughs teaches the method of claim 1. Boyd further comprising:
measuring magnetic field data of an object of the athletic field area (sensor 20 measures magnetic field data of object 10 with human body of athletic field area 14 in Fig. 1; See [0006], [0016], [0017]);
Boyd in view of Burroughs is silent about comparing the map of the magnetic field to the measured magnetic field data of the object.
Glossop teaches regarding magnetic position tracking device (See [0008]) comparing the map of the magnetic field to the measured magnetic field data of the object (See [0015], [0016], [0019], [0049]-[0051]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having skill in the art to incorporate the device of Boyd in view of Burroughs to incorporate the step of comparing the map of the magnetic field to the measured magnetic field data of the object, as taught by Glossop in order to achieve the accuracy of a tracking device in a volume (Glossop; [0002]).
Regarding Claim 23, Boyd in view of Burroughs in view of Suzuki teaches the method of claim 22. Glossop further
teaches further comprising: determining, based on the comparing, position data of object (See [0015], [0016], [0019], [0049]-[0051]).
Regarding Claim 26, Boyd teaches a method for locating an object (locating object by GPS; See [0031]) within a mapping a magnetic field of an athletic field (method of magnetic field F generated of an athletic field area 14 in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0016]-[0025]), the method comprising:
measuring, using a sensor module coupled to the object (RFID TAG 38 is sensor module that measures magnetic field generated by 18 in Fig. 1-Fig. 2; See [0022]), magnetic field data at a plurality of locations within the athletic field area (sensor module 38 measures magnetic field data F from plurality of location where mat 14’s are disposed during mapping session of processor 40 of athletic field area from start point to end point in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0017]-[0018], [0022]-[0025]);
generating a map based on the measured magnetic field data (processor 40 maps magnetic field data of RFID TAG 38 in Fig. 2; See [0022]);
displaying, on a display of a remote device (display 42 is remote to 14 by wireless transmission in Fig. 1 and Fig. below; See [0023]), the position data of the object (42 displays the position/location of object 10 with human body in Fig. 1; See [0023], [0031]),
wherein the object comprises athletic equipment (object 10 is athletic equipment in Fig. 1 and Fig. below) or an article of clothing.
Boyd teaches object within the athletic field area (object 10 within athletic area 14 in Fig. 1),
However, Boyd is silent about comparing the map of the magnetic field of the athletic field area to a magnetic field data of the object; determining, based on the comparing, position data of the object.
Glossop teaches regarding magnetic position tracking device (See [0008]) comparing the map of the magnetic field (See Fig. 22) of the athletic field area to a magnetic field data of the object; determining, based on the comparing, position data of the object (See [0015], [0016], [0019], [0049]-[0051]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having skill in the art to incorporate the device of Boyd to incorporate the step of comparing the map of the magnetic field of the athletic field area to a magnetic field data of the object; determining, based on the comparing, position data of the object, as taught by Glossop in order to achieve the accuracy of a tracking device in a volume (Glossop; [0002]).
Boyd is silent about wherein the remote device is remote to the sensor module.
Burroughs teaches regarding athlete (See abstract) wherein the remote device is remote to the sensor module (computer 120 with display is remote device to sensor module 106 in Fig. 1; See [0069]-[0071], [0082]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Boyd and Glossop by using the remote device is remote to the sensor module, as taught by Burroughs in order to monitor player performance during athletic activities (Burroughs; [0002]).
Regarding claim 27, Boyd in view of Glossop in view of Burroughs teaches the method of claim 26. Boyd further in view of Glossop in view of Burroughs is silent about determining an amount of time the object at the position.
Burroughs teaches a system similar to that of the cited prior arts and further discloses the step of determining an amount of time the object at the position (See [0010]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having skill in the art to incorporate the device of Boyd and Glossop in view of Burroughs by using the step of determining an amount of time the object at the position, as taught by Burroughs in order to monitor player performance during athletic activities (Burroughs; [0002]).
Regarding Claim 35, Boyd in view of Glossop in view of Burroughs teaches the method of claim 26. Burroughs further teaches further comprising, transmitting, using a transceiver of the sensor module (sensor module 106 transmits sensor data to remote device 120 in Fig. 1; See [0060]-[0082]), the magnetic field data and the position data to the remote device (See [0040]-[0060]).
Regarding Claim 36, Boyd in view of Glossop in view of Burroughs teaches the method of claim 35. Boyd further teaches displaying, on the display of the remote device (display 42 is remote to 14 in Fig. 1; See [0023]), an indication of the position of the object based on the position data (42 display position of object 10 on map 14 from GPS in Fig. 1; See [0023], [0031]).
Regarding Claim 38, Boyd in view of Glossop in view of Burroughs teaches the method of claim 15. Burroughs further teaches wherein the sensor module comprises an acceleration sensor for determining an orientation of the object (See [0088]).
Regarding Claim 39, Boyd in view of Glossop in view of Burroughs teaches the method of claim 15. Burroughs further teaches wherein the remote device is configured to be worn or carried by a user (remote device 120 can be worn by user in Fig. 1; See [00082]), and wherein the method further comprises determining the position of the object relative to the user (See [0040]-[0060]).
11. Claims 25, 28 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Boyd in view of Burroughs in view of Glossop further in view of Funk et al. (US 2008/0077326 A1; hereinafter Funk).
Regarding claim 25, Boyd in view of Glossop in view of Burroughs teaches the method of claim 15.
Boyd in view of Glossop in view of Burroughs is silent about the comparing is done continuously.
Funk discloses method for locating responders and further discloses the compare is done continuously (See [362]-[0371]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having skill in the art to incorporate the device of Boyd and Glossop in view of Burroughs by comparing is done continuously, as taught by Funk in order to achieve high precision of detection.
Regarding claim 28, Boyd in view of Glossop in view of Burroughs teaches the method of claim 26.
Boyd in view of Glossop in view of Burroughs is silent about the comparing is done continuously.
Funk discloses method for locating responders and further discloses the compare is done continuously (See [362]-[0371]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having skill in the art to incorporate the device of Boyd and Glossop in view of Burroughs by comparing is done continuously, as taught by Funk in order to achieve high precision of detection.
12. Claim 29 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Boyd in view of Glossop in view of Burroughs further in view of Reilio et al. (US 2014/0312884 A1; hereinafter Reilio),
Regarding claim 29, Boyd in view of Glossop in view of Burroughs teaches the method of claim 26.
Boyd in view of Glossop in view of Burroughs is silent about the determining is done in real time.
Reilio teaches a method for determining location and speed of moving object and further discloses the determining is done real time (See [0086)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having skill in the art to incorporate the device of Ophir in view of Boyd in view of Burroughs and Glossop to incorporate the step of determining is done in real time, as taught by Reilio because it would be desirable to determine the location and/or the speed of the moving object for reference while the sport taking place.
15. Claim 31 is rejected under pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Boyd in view of Burroughs further in view of French further in view of Reilio.
Regarding claim 31, Boyd in view of Burroughs further in view of French teaches the method of claim 30.
Burroughs discloses a system similar to that of the cited prior arts and further discloses the step of determining an amount of time the object at the position (See [010], [0058]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having skill in the art to incorporate the device of Boyd and French by determining an amount of time the object spent at the position, as taught by Burroughs in order to monitor player performance during athletic activities (Burroughs; [0002]).
Boyd in view of French further in view of Burroughs is silent about the determining the position is done in real-time.
Reilio discloses a method for determining location and speed of moving object and further discloses the determining is done real time (See [0086]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having skill in the art to incorporate the device of Boyd, French and Burroughs to incorporate the step of determining is done in real time, as taught by Reilio it would be desirable to determine the location and/or the speed of the moving object for reference while the sport taking place.
16. Claims 32-33 are rejected under pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Boyd in view of Burroughs in view of Burroughs in view of Funk in view of Reilio.
Regarding Claim 32, Boyd in view of Burroughs teaches the method of claim 24.
Boyd in view of Burroughs is silent about the method of wherein the comparing is done continuously; and wherein the determining the position data is done in real-time.
Funk discloses method for locating responders and further discloses the compare is done continuously (See [362]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having skill in the art to incorporate the device of Boyd and Burroughs by comparing is done continuously, as taught by Funk in order to achieve high precision of detection.
Boyd in view of Burroughs further in view of Funk is silent about wherein the determining the position data is done in real-time.
Reilio teaches a method for determining location and speed of moving object and further discloses the determining is done real time (See [0086)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having skill in the art to incorporate the device of Boyd, Burroughs, Funk to incorporate the step of determining is done in real time, as taught by Reilio because it would be desirable to determine the location and/or the speed of the moving object for reference while the sport taking place.
Regarding Claim 33, Boyd in view of Burroughs further in view of Funk further in view of Reilio teaches the method of claim 32. Boyd teaches further comprising: locating an object within the map of the magnetic field (locating object 10 with map 14 in Fig. 1; See [0016]-[0020]), wherein the object comprises athletic equipment (object 10 is athletic equipment in Fig. 1; See [0016]).
Claim 5 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Boyd in view of Burroughs in view of Ophir et al. (US 2011/0238399 A1; hereinafter Ophir).
Regarding claim 5, Boyd in view of Burroughs teaches the method in claim 1. Boyd in view of Burroughs is silent about recording the mapping session using a video camera to generate video data for the athletic field area; and correlating the magnetic field data and the video data.
Ophir further teaches recording the mapping session using a video camera (See [0048]) to generate video data for the athletic field area; and correlating the magnetic field data and the video data (Magnetic coordinate system and the pose of the camera relative to the reference coordinate system; See [0048]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Boyd in view of Burroughs by recording the mapping session using a video camera to generate video data for the athletic field area; and correlating the magnetic field data and the video data, as taught by Ophir in order for mapping magnetic fields (Ophir; [0001]).
Claim 19 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Boyd in view of Burroughs in view of Glossop further in view of Ophir et al. (US 2011/0238399 A1; hereinafter Ophir).
Regarding claim 19, Boyd in view of Burroughs in view of Glossop teaches the method of claim 15. Boyd in view of Glossop about recording the mapping session using a video camera to generate video data for the athletic field area; and correlating the magnetic field data and the video data.
Ophir further teaches recording the mapping session using a video camera (See [048]) to generate video data for the athletic field area; and correlating the magnetic field data and the video data (Magnetic coordinate system and the pose of the camera relative to the reference coordinate system).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Boyd, Burroughs and Glossop by recording the mapping session using a video camera to generate video data for the athletic field area; and correlating the magnetic field data and the video data, as taught by Ophir in order for mapping magnetic fields (Ophir; [0001]).
Claim 16 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Boyd in view of Burroughs in view of Glossop further in view of Suzuki.
Regarding claim 16, Boyd in view of Burroughs in view of Glossop teaches the method of claim 15. Boyd in view of Glossop is silent about wherein the plurality of locations are equally spaced apart from one another.
Suzuki wherein the plurality of locations are equally spaced apart from one another (See plurality of locations 20-27 are equally spaced apart from one another; See Col. 7, Lines 10-42).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of Boyd, Burroughs and Glossop by using the plurality of locations are equally spaced apart from one another, as taught by Suzuki in order to achieve high precision of detection (Suzuki; Col. 7, Lines 40-45).
Conclusion
/ZANNATUL FERDOUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858