Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are currently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Particularly, the applicant argues that the cited prior art of record does not teach receiving, an advertising packet from a device (satellite device), does not determine location of the cited sensor device (i.e., satellite device) and does not teach assignment of address to the respective device based on the determined location of the device as recited in exemplary claim 1 (see remarks p.9-10).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As disclosed in the obviousness rejection, the cited art reads on the claimed invention substantially as currently recited. Particularly, Golsch discloses receiving, an advertising packet from a device (satellite device), [see Golsch [Col. 1, Ln. 1-3], “The system also includes a localization module configured to receive the signal information from each of the plurality of sensors …”; Note: it is understood that the signal information (advertising packets/PDUs) are sent from each sensor (BLE satellite/peripheral) as part of the initial paring process - see also Col. 24 line 58 through Col. 25 line 19 where discovery packet/signal is disclosed as part of the pairing process) from a second device (see Golsch [Fig. 1 and 2], 31A)], determining location of the device (i.e., satellite device) and assignment of address to the respective device based on the determined location of the device (see the detailed rejection below and also see Col. 24 line 58 through Col. 25 line 19 where the initial pairing process using BLE involves listening to discovery packets/signals from the devices, determination of respective device position and location of the devices and pairing the devices accordingly which implicitly disclose allocating respective addresses when forming the network – see also Golsch Col. 9, lines 27-37, in reference to the BLE specifications, Golsch discloses receiving advertising packets as part of the discovery process and also later for purposes of determining the location of respective device(s)).
Applicant also argues that Gautama does not teach assignment of address to the respective device(s) based on the determined location of the device and alleges that Golsch explicitly teaches away from the use of advertising packets (remark p. 10). Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Moreover, ["the prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed…." In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See also UCB, Inc. v. Actavis Labs, UT, Inc., 65 F.4th 679, 692, 2023 USPQ2d 448 (Fed. Cir. 2023) ("a reference does not teach away if it merely expresses a general preference for an alternative invention but does not criticize, discredit or otherwise discourage investigation into the invention claimed.") (internal quotations omitted) (quoting DePuy Spine, Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 567 F.3d 1314, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2009)); and Schwendimann v. Neenah, Inc., 82 F.4th 1371, 1381, 2023 USPQ2d 1173 (Fed. Cir. 2023)].
It should be noted that the secondary reference (Gautama) was cited primarily to show explicit teachings of sending advertising packets/messages (¶¶ [0106][0111] & [0112])and assigning of Bluetooth address to the devices/sensors (Gautama ¶¶[0041][0050-51] & ¶[0130]) as a support to the primary reference which didn’t explicitly disclose assigning network addresses. However, as stated above, Golsch explicitly teaches the transmission of discovery signal/packet, determination of the respective sensor devices location during and after the paring process in which assignment of respective BLE addresses are implied when pairing (i.e., during the formation of the ad hoc wireless network), see Golsch Col. 9, lines 27-37 and Col. 24 line 58 through Col. 25 line 19.
Upon further consideration, additional new statutory ground of rejection for claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) is disclosed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-10, 14-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golsch (US 10,328,899 B2) in view of Gautama et al. (US 2014/0188348 A1), hereinafter “Gautama”.
Regarding claim 1, Golsch discloses a method, comprising:
Receiving, by a first device (see Golsch [Fig. 1 and 2], vehicle modules 20 (i.e., gateway module 29, localization module 32, etc.)) over a wireless communication link (see Golsch [Col. 15, Ln. 24-27], “… a pre-requisite for the PHY controller 600 to collect data and measure the RSSI from the portable device 10 is a secure communication link 680, such as a secure BLE communication link, …”), an advertising packet (see Golsch [Col. 1, Ln. 1-3], “The system also includes a localization module configured to receive the signal information from each of the plurality of sensors …”; Note: it is understood that the signal information (advertising packets/PDUs) are sent from each sensor (BLE satellite/peripheral)) from a second device (see Golsch [Fig. 1 and 2], 31A; Col. 9, lines 27-37 and Col. 24 line 58 through Col. 25 line 19);
Determining, by the first device, a location of the second device responsive to a first wireless localization value of the advertising packet (see Golsch [Col. 15, Ln. 16-23], “The data from the sensor processing and localization module 32 is passed along to the PEPS module 27, whereby the PEPS module 27 is configured to read vehicle state information from a plurality of sensors … to compare the location of the portable device 10 to the set of locations that authorize certain vehicle features, such as …”; Note: it is understood that Golsch has determined the set locations within the vehicle when the localization module 32 received the sensor signals (advertising packets) which would contain their localization value (RSSI) and locations (first to N locations); also see Golsch [Col. 20, Ln. 40-49], “… the PEPS module 27 detects an intent to access a vehicle feature by way of a sensor. The PEPS module 27 then maps the request to a zone id and send a request 1700 to the processing and localization module 32 to determine whether any portable device 10 is within a zone id of the vehicle 30. …”; also see Golsch [Figures 16 and 17], Zones 162A/B, 164A/B, and 166A/B; also see Golsch [Col. 30, Ln. 46-64], “With reference to FIGS. 16 and 17, a vehicle 30 with a PEPS system utilizing BLE sensors using BLE communication … As discussed above, the location of the portable device 10 can be measured based on, for example, the RSSI of the signals received from the portable device 10.” Moreover, Golsch discloses determining location based on signal measurements (col. 5:64-6:4: “A localization module is configured to receive the signal information from each of the plurality of sensors and to determine a location of the portable device based on the signal information” based on “the signal information includes a received signal strength” col. 6:17-20).
Golsch does not explicitly disclose assigning, by the first device, a network address to the second device responsive to the location.
Gautama discloses assigning, by the first device, a network address to the second device responsive to the location (see Gautama [Pg. 4, ¶0041], “In one embodiment, the central module 144 dynamically and randomly generates a new Bluetooth address for the end device 170 and the sensors 120 at the end of each driving cycle. The new Bluetooth address for the end device 170 can be provided to the sensors 120 so that it can be used by the sensors 120 and/or the central module 144 to identify and authenticate the end device 170. The same applies to the new Bluetooth addresses for each sensor 120.”; also see Gautama [Pg. 10, ¶0130], “For any advertisement messages received from the sensors 120, at block 454, the end device 170 will determine received signal strength information and a device address for the sensor 120 that communicated that particular advertisement message.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the assignment of the network address as detailed by Gautama, onto the system of Golsch, in order to authorize system functions in accordance to the PEPS system given measured values (see Gautama [Pg. 4-5, ¶0050-51], “Proximity Detection and Control of the PEPS System. … the PEPS system control module 148 can communicate control signals to the remote actuation control module 152 and/or the body control module 154, which can then perform various functions …, etc. RSSI is just one exemplary metric that the central module 144 can use to determine distance from the vehicle 110. Alternatively, any other link quality indicators, such as a Bluetooth proximity profile, can be used to determine the distance between two BLE enabled devices.”).
Regarding claim 2, Golsch combined with Gautama discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the advertising packet is a first advertising packet and the location is a first location, the method further comprising receiving, by the first device over the wireless communication link, a second advertising packet from a third device, wherein determining the first location is responsive to the first wireless localization value relative to a second wireless localization value of the second advertising packet (see Golsch [Col. 2, Ln. 1-5], “The system also includes a localization module configured to receive the signal information (advertising packets – RSSI understood as localization value) from each of the plurality of sensors (satellites) and to determine a location of the portable device based on the signal from the plurality of sensors (location is given in consideration to all data from sensors).”).
Regarding claim 6, Golsch combined with Gautama discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first wireless localization value comprises a received signal strength indicator value or an angle of arrival value (see Golsch [Col. 6, Ln. 1-5], “… a central module that collects received signal strengths received from the wireless device from a plurality of sensors placed in and about the vehicle.”; also see Golsch [Col. 8, Ln. 5-9], “… the sensors 31 can communicate with each other and/or communicate with the communication gateway 29 via the vehicle interface to determine time difference of arrival, time of arrival, or angle of arrival data for signals received by multiple sensors.”).
Regarding claim 7, Golsch combined with Gautama discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the wireless communication link is a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) communication link (see Golsch [Col. 25, Ln. 24-28], “… each sensor 31 can communicate with the communication gateway 29. The portable device 10 can communicate with the communication gateway 29, for example, on advertising channels or on a connected channel, as part of a BLE communication link.”), the first device is a BLE central (see Golsch [Col. 22, Ln. 50], “The communication gateway 29 includes a BLE chipset 21 …”), and
The second device is a BLE satellite (see Golsch [Col. 22, Ln. 60], “Each Sensor 31 includes a BLE chipset 41 …”).
Regarding claim 8, Golsch discloses a system, comprising:
A first device (see Golsch [Fig. 1 and 2], Main module 20); and
A second device and a third device (see Golsch [Fig. 1 and 2], sensor(s) 31A and 31B) coupled to the first device (see Golsch [Fig. 1 and 2], Main module 20) over wired network bus (see Golsch [Fig. 2], Network bus 45 – CAN bus or local interconnect network (LIN));
Wherein the first device is configured to:
Receive, over a wireless communication link, a first advertising packet from the second device (see Golsch [Col. 9, Ln. 9], “The PEPS module receives the advertising signals on each of the sensors …” ; Note: it is understood that each sensor (satellite device) will send a signal (advertising packet) to the central device (Main module 20));
Receive, over the wireless communication link, a second advertising packet from the third device (see Golsch [Col. 9, Ln. 9], “The PEPS module receives the advertising signals on each of the sensors …”);
Determine a location of the second device responsive to a wireless localization value of the first advertising packet (see Golsch [Col. 15, Ln. 16-23], “The data from the sensor processing and localization module 32 is passed along to the PEPS module 27, whereby the PEPS module 27 is configured to read vehicle state information from a plurality of sensors … to compare the location of the portable device 10 to the set of locations that authorize certain vehicle features, such as …”; Note: it is understood that Golsch has determined the set locations within the vehicle when the localization module 32 received the sensor signals (advertising packets) which would contain their localization value (RSSI) and locations (first to N locations); also see Golsch [Col. 20, Ln. 40-49], “… the PEPS module 27 detects an intent to access a vehicle feature by way of a sensor. The PEPS module 27 then maps the request to a zone id and send a request 1700 to the processing and localization module 32 to determine whether any portable device 10 is within a zone id of the vehicle 30. …”; also see Golsch [Figures 16 and 17], Zones 162A/B, 164A/B, and 166A/B; also see Golsch [Col. 30, Ln. 46-64], “With reference to FIGS. 16 and 17, a vehicle 30 with a PEPS system utilizing BLE sensors using BLE communication … As discussed above, the location of the portable device 10 can be measured based on, for example, the RSSI of the signals received from the portable device 10.” Moreover, Golsch discloses determining location based on signal measurements (col. 5:64-6:4: “A localization module is configured to receive the signal information from each of the plurality of sensors and to determine a location of the portable device based on the signal information” based on “the signal information includes a received signal strength” col. 6:17-20).
Golsch does not explicitly disclose to transmit a network address, over the wired network bus, to the second device responsive to the location.
Gautama discloses assigning, by the first device, a network address to the second device responsive to the location (see Gautama [Pg. 4, ¶0041], “In one embodiment, the central module 144 dynamically and randomly generates a new Bluetooth address for the end device 170 and the sensors 120 at the end of each driving cycle. The new Bluetooth address for the end device 170 can be provided to the sensors 120 so that it can be used by the sensors 120 and/or the central module 144 to identify and authenticate the end device 170. The same applies to the new Bluetooth addresses for each sensor 120.”; also see Gautama [Pg. 10, ¶0130], “For any advertisement messages received from the sensors 120, at block 454, the end device 170 will determine received signal strength information and a device address for the sensor 120 that communicated that particular advertisement message.”; also see Gautama [Pg. 4, ¶0042], “The in-vehicle modules 140 are illustrated as being grouped in a single box that delineates the in-vehicle modules 140; however, it is noted that the in-vehicle modules 140 an be distributed within the vehicle 110 and can communicate with each other over one or more buses.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the assignment of the network address as detailed by Gautama, onto the system of Golsch, in order to authorize system functions in accordance to the PEPS system given measured values (see Gautama [Pg. 4-5, ¶0050-51], “Proximity Detection and Control of the PEPS System. … the PEPS system control module 148 can communicate control signals to the remote actuation control module 152 and/or the body control module 154, which can then perform various functions …, etc. RSSI is just one exemplary metric that the central module 144 can use to determine distance from the vehicle 110. Alternatively, any other link quality indicators, such as a Bluetooth proximity profile, can be used to determine the distance between two BLE enabled devices.”).
Golsch combined with Gautama discloses to transmit a network address, over the wired network bus (see Golsch [Col. 15, Ln. 32-42], “The connection information distribution module 24 is configured to disseminate information about the secure communication link 680 to follow with the plurality of physical layer controllers 600. The physical layer controllers 600 are a component of the BLE chipset 41 found in sensor(s) 31. The connection information distribution module 24 can be, for example, any wired in vehicle communication network, such as a local interconnect network (LINK) or a controller area network (CAN). However, other communication connections or busses can be used.”), to the second device responsive to the location (see Gautama [Pg. 4, ¶0041], “In one embodiment, the central module 144 dynamically and randomly generates a new Bluetooth address for the end device 170 and the sensors 120 at the end of each driving cycle. The new Bluetooth address for the end device 170 can be provided to the sensors 120 so that it can be used by the sensors 120 and/or the central module 144 to identify and authenticate the end device 170. The same applies to the new Bluetooth addresses for each sensor 120.”; also see Gautama [Pg. 10, ¶0130], “For any advertisement messages received from the sensors 120, at block 454, the end device 170 will determine received signal strength information and a device address for the sensor 120 that communicated that particular advertisement message.”; also see Gautama [Pg. 4, ¶0042], “The in-vehicle modules 140 are illustrated as being grouped in a single box that delineates the in-vehicle modules 140; however, it is noted that the in-vehicle modules 140 an be distributed within the vehicle 110 and can communicate with each other over one or more buses.”).
Regarding claim 9, Golsch combined with Gautama discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the wired network bus is a controller area network (CAN) bus deployed in a vehicle (see Golsch [Fig. 1 and 2], Image of system inside a vehicle and specifications of CAN bus and/or LIN).
Regarding claim 10, Golsch combined with Gautama discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the wireless localization value is a first wireless localization value and the location is determined responsive to the first wireless localization value relative to a second wireless localization value of the second advertising packet (see Golsch [Col. 2, Ln. 1-5], “The system also includes a localization module configured to receive the signal information (advertising packets – RSSI understood as localization value) from each of the plurality of sensors (satellites) and to determine a location of the portable device based on the signal from the plurality of sensors (location is given in consideration to all data from sensors).”).
Regarding claim 14, Golsch combined with Gautama discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the wireless localization value comprises a received signal strength indicator value or an angle of arrival value (see Golsch [Col. 6, Ln. 1-5], “… a central module that collects received signal strengths received from the wireless device from a plurality of sensors placed in and about the vehicle.”; also see Golsch [Col. 8, Ln. 5-9], “… the sensors 31 can communicate with each other and/or communicate with the communication gateway 29 via the vehicle interface to determine time difference of arrival, time of arrival, or angle of arrival data for signals received by multiple sensors.”).
Regarding claim 15, Golsch combined with Gautama discloses the system of 8, wherein the wireless communication link is a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) communication link (see Golsch [Col. 25, Ln. 24-28], “… each sensor 31 can communicate with the communication gateway 29. The portable device 10 can communicate with the communication gateway 29, for example, on advertising channels or on a connected channel, as part of a BLE communication link.”), the first device is a BLE central (see Golsch [Col. 22, Ln. 50], “The communication gateway 29 includes a BLE chipset 21 …”), and the second and third devices are BLE satellites (see Golsch [Col. 22, Ln. 60], “Each Sensor 31 includes a BLE chipset 41 …”).
Regarding claim 16, Golsch discloses a device, comprising:
A processor (see Golsch [Col. 39, Ln. 3-8], “… may include processor hardware …”); and
A memory (see Golsch [Col. 39, Ln. 3-8], “… and memory hardware …”) containing instructions (see Golsch [Col. 39, Ln. 3-8], “… that stores code executed by the processor hardware …”) that, when executed by the processor, cause the device to:
Receive, over a wireless communication link, an advertising packet from a satellite device (see Golsch [Col. 9, Ln. 9], “The PEPS module receives the advertising signals on each of the sensors …” ; Note: it is understood that each sensor (satellite device) will send a signal (advertising packet) to the central device (Main module 20));
Determine a location of the satellite device responsive to a wireless localization value of the advertising packet (see Golsch [Col. 15, Ln. 16-23], “The data from the sensor processing and localization module 32 is passed along to the PEPS module 27, whereby the PEPS module 27 is configured to read vehicle state information from a plurality of sensors … to compare the location of the portable device 10 to the set of locations that authorize certain vehicle features, such as …”; Note: it is understood that Golsch has determined the set locations within the vehicle when the localization module 32 received the sensor signals (advertising packets) which would contain their localization value (RSSI) and locations (first to N locations); also see Golsch [Col. 20, Ln. 40-49], “… the PEPS module 27 detects an intent to access a vehicle feature by way of a sensor. The PEPS module 27 then maps the request to a zone id and send a request 1700 to the processing and localization module 32 to determine whether any portable device 10 is within a zone id of the vehicle 30. …”; also see Golsch [Figures 16 and 17], Zones 162A/B, 164A/B, and 166A/B; also see Golsch [Col. 30, Ln. 46-64], “With reference to FIGS. 16 and 17, a vehicle 30 with a PEPS system utilizing BLE sensors using BLE communication … As discussed above, the location of the portable device 10 can be measured based on, for example, the RSSI of the signals received from the portable device 10.” Moreover, Golsch discloses determining location based on signal measurements (col. 5:64-6:4: “A localization module is configured to receive the signal information from each of the plurality of sensors and to determine a location of the portable device based on the signal information” based on “the signal information includes a received signal strength” col. 6:17-20).
Golsch does not explicitly disclose to assign, by the first device, a network address to the second device responsive to the location.
Gautama discloses to assign, by the first device, a network address to the second device responsive to the location (see Gautama [Pg. 4, ¶0041], “In one embodiment, the central module 144 dynamically and randomly generates a new Bluetooth address for the end device 170 and the sensors 120 at the end of each driving cycle. The new Bluetooth address for the end device 170 can be provided to the sensors 120 so that it can be used by the sensors 120 and/or the central module 144 to identify and authenticate the end device 170. The same applies to the new Bluetooth addresses for each sensor 120.”; also see Gautama [Pg. 10, ¶0130], “For any advertisement messages received from the sensors 120, at block 454, the end device 170 will determine received signal strength information and a device address for the sensor 120 that communicated that particular advertisement message.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the assignment of the network address as detailed by Gautama, onto the system of Golsch, in order to authorize system functions in accordance to the PEPS system given measured values (see Gautama [Pg. 4-5, ¶0050-51], “Proximity Detection and Control of the PEPS System. … the PEPS system control module 148 can communicate control signals to the remote actuation control module 152 and/or the body control module 154, which can then perform various functions …, etc. RSSI is just one exemplary metric that the central module 144 can use to determine distance from the vehicle 110. Alternatively, any other link quality indicators, such as a Bluetooth proximity profile, can be used to determine the distance between two BLE enabled devices.”).
Regarding claim 20, Golsch combined with Gautama discloses the device of claim 16, wherein the wireless localization value comprises a received signal strength indicator value or an angle of arrival value (see Golsch [Col. 6, Ln. 1-5], “… a central module that collects received signal strengths received from the wireless device from a plurality of sensors placed in and about the vehicle.”; also see Golsch [Col. 8, Ln. 5-9], “… the sensors 31 can communicate with each other and/or communicate with the communication gateway 29 via the vehicle interface to determine time difference of arrival, time of arrival, or angle of arrival data for signals received by multiple sensors.”).
Claim(s) 4, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golsch (US 10,328,899 B2) in view of Gautama et al. (US 2014/0188348 A1), hereinafter “Gautama” in further view of Cook et al. (Controller Area Network (CAN) EECS 461), hereinafter “Cook”.
Regarding claim 4, Golsch combined with Gautama discloses the method of claim 1,
Golsch combined with Gautama does not entirely disclose wherein the first advertising packet includes a first identifier of the second device, wherein the network address is a controller area network (CAN) address, and wherein assigning the network address comprises sending, by the first device over a CAN bus.
Cook discloses the details of a Controller Area Network including CAN message format (see Cook [Table 2: CAN 2.0B Message Frame], 11 bit Identifier and 29 bit Identifier”; Note: it is understood that these two identifier parameters can be interpreted as the first identifier and CAN address (new identifier)). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, incorporate the details of a Controller Area Network including CAN message format detailed in Cook, onto the combined system of Golsch and Gautama, in order to specify the inclusion of multiple identifiable parameters for improved system utility. This would allow the system to individually communicate with each component instead of a system wide command.
Golsch in combination with Gautama and Cook discloses wherein the first advertising packet includes a first identifier of the first satellite device (see Golsch [Col. 9, Ln. 32-34], “For example, advertising data contains the address of the device broadcasting …”), wherein the network address is a controller area network (CAN) address (Note: understood as a unique identifier for each satellite), and wherein assigning the network address comprises sending, by the first device over a CAN bus (see Golsch [Col. 6, Ln. 42-46], “… may include a controller network (CAN) bus for communication between main modules and/or lower data rate communication such as local interconnect network (LIN) for communication between the plurality of sensors 31A-31F.”), a CAN message containing the CAN address and the first identifier (see Golsch [Col. 26, Ln. 22-34], “… a message is sent from the communication gateway 29 to each of the sensors 31 … At some point prior to the request by the communication gate 29, information about the link has been communicated or transferred to the sensor 31.” In combination with Cook [Table 2: CAN 2.0B Message Frame], 11 bit Identifier and 29 bit Identifier”; Note: it is understood that these two identifier parameters can be interpreted as the first identifier and CAN address (new identifier)).
Regarding claim 12, Golsch combined with Gautama discloses the system of claim 8.
Golsch combined with Gautama does not entirely disclose wherein the first advertising packet includes a first identifier of the second device, wherein the network address is a CAN address, and wherein the first device is configured to assign the network address by sending, over a CAN bus, a CAN message containing the CAN address and the first identifier.
Cook discloses the details of a Controller Area Network including CAN message format (see Cook [Table 2: CAN 2.0B Message Frame], 11 bit Identifier and 29 bit Identifier”; Note: it is understood that these two identifier parameters can be interpreted as the first identifier and CAN address (new identifier)). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, incorporate the details of a Controller Area Network including CAN message format detailed in Cook, onto the combined system of Golsch and Gautama, in order to specify the inclusion of multiple identifiable parameters for improved system utility. This would allow the system to individually communicate with each component instead of a system wide command.
Golsch in combination with Gautama and Cook discloses wherein the first advertising packet includes a first identifier of the first satellite device (see Golsch [Col. 9, Ln. 32-34], “For example, advertising data contains the address of the device broadcasting …”), wherein the network address is a controller area network (CAN) address (Note: understood as a unique identifier for each satellite), and wherein the central device is configured to assign the network address by sending, over a CAN bus (see Golsch [Col. 6, Ln. 42-46], “… may include a controller network (CAN) bus for communication between main modules and/or lower data rate communication such as local interconnect network (LIN) for communication between the plurality of sensors 31A-31F.”), a CAN message containing the CAN address and the first identifier (see Golsch [Col. 26, Ln. 22-34], “… a message is sent from the communication gateway 29 to each of the sensors 31 … At some point prior to the request by the communication gate 29, information about the link has been communicated or transferred to the sensor 31.” In combination with Cook [Table 2: CAN 2.0B Message Frame], 11 bit Identifier and 29 bit Identifier”; Note: it is understood that these two identifier parameters can be interpreted as the first identifier and CAN address (new identifier)).
Regarding claim 18, Golsch combined with Gautama discloses the device of claim 16.
Golsch combined with Gautama does not entirely disclose wherein the advertising packet includes an identifier of the satellite device, wherein the wired network address is a controller area network (CAN) address, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the device to assign the wired network address by sending, over a CAN bus, a CAN message containing the CAN address and the identifier.
Cook discloses the details of a Controller Area Network including CAN message format (see Cook [Table 2: CAN 2.0B Message Frame], 11 bit Identifier and 29 bit Identifier”; Note: it is understood that these two identifier parameters can be interpreted as the first identifier and CAN address (new identifier)). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, incorporate the details of a Controller Area Network including CAN message format detailed in Cook, onto the combined system of Golsch and Gautama, in order to specify the inclusion of multiple identifiable parameters for improved system utility. This would allow the system to individually communicate with each component instead of a system wide command.
Golsch in combination with Gautama and Cook discloses wherein the advertising packet includes an identifier of the satellite device (see Golsch [Col. 9, Ln. 32-34], “For example, advertising data contains the address of the device broadcasting …”), wherein the wired network address is a controller area network (CAN) address (Note: understood as a unique identifier for each satellite), and wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the device to assign the wired network address by sending, over a CAN bus (see Golsch [Col. 6, Ln. 42-46], “… may include a controller network (CAN) bus for communication between main modules and/or lower data rate communication such as local interconnect network (LIN) for communication between the plurality of sensors 31A-31F.”), a CAN message containing the CAN address and the identifier (see Golsch [Col. 26, Ln. 22-34], “… a message is sent from the communication gateway 29 to each of the sensors 31 … At some point prior to the request by the communication gate 29, information about the link has been communicated or transferred to the sensor 31.” In combination with Cook [Table 2: CAN 2.0B Message Frame], 11 bit Identifier and 29 bit Identifier”; Note: it is understood that these two identifier parameters can be interpreted as the first identifier and CAN address (new identifier)).
Claim(s) 3, 5, 11, 13, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golsch (US 10,328,899 B2) in view of Gautama et al. (US 2014/0188348 A1), hereinafter “Gautama”.
Regarding claim 3, Golsch combined with Gautama discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the network address is a first network address, the method further comprising:
receiving, by the first device over the wireless communication link, a third advertising packet from a fourth device (see Golsch [Col. 9, Ln. 9], “The PEPS module receives the advertising signals on each of the sensors …”; also see Golsch [Fig. 1 and 2], 31C; Note: it is understood that there can be N number of sensors (satellites)).
Golsch combined with Gautama does not explicitly disclose responsive to determining a third wireless localization value of the third advertising packet is approximately (Note: It is understood, and limited by specification [¶0053], to be +/- 10 percent) equal to the second localization value:
receiving, by the second device over the wireless communication link, a fourth advertising packet from the third device; and
receiving, by the second device over the wireless communication link, a fifth advertising packet from the fourth device;
determining, by the first device, a second location of the third device responsive to a fourth wireless localization value of the fourth advertising packet relative to a fifth wireless localization value of the fifth advertising packet; and
assigning, by the first device, a second network address to the third device responsive to the second location.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to recognize the limitations set forth above is repeating the known technique in claim 1 in order to arrive at assigning another location or network address to a satellite. By utilizing the technique as set forth in claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art should be able to apply it to known devices (i.e., sensor, beacons, satellites, etc.) in order to arrive at the predictable result of assigning location/positional parameter to the device. It is also understood (see Specification submitted 10/18/2021 [¶0048]) that this method can be repeated for more or fewer devices similarly taught by Golsch (see Golsch [Col. 7, Ln. 50-54], “While FIGS. 1 and 2 illustrate a PEPS system 1 with six sensors 31A-31F, any number of sensors can be used.”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the known technique as disclosed by Golsch with regards to claim 1 onto claim 2 in order to continue assigning location/positional data to fewer or more amount of devices (i.e., sensors, beacons, satellites, etc.) to accompany the relative vehicle topology.
Regarding claim 5, Golsch combined with Gautama discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second device is in a predetermined proximal location relative to the first device (see Golsch [Fig. 1], Sensor 31B; Note: it is understood that first to N sensors/satellites are relative and the number or locations of sensors/satellites may change as per set topology of vehicles as detailed in the submitted Specification [¶0016-17 – “… locations are determined based on differences in those RSSIs and the known topology of the system/vehicle … more or fewer satellites], it is understood that there are at least two satellites for the purpose of examination and that one is close and another is further),
wherein the third device is in a predetermined distal location relative to the first device (see Golsch [Fig. 1], Sensor 31C).
Golsch combined with Gautama does not explicitly disclose wherein the first wireless localization value indicates a distance between the second device and the first device is less than a distance between the third device and the first device.
However, Golsch discloses the action of comparing the wireless localization values (i.e., RSSI, AoA, etc. provided by Specification ¶0015) (see Golsch [Col. 37, Ln. 43-47], “The security filtering module can compare the reported signal strengths reported from the plurality of sensors …”) and also relative locations of each sensor (satellite) to the communication gateway (first device) (see Golsch [Fig. 1], Sensor 31B/31E proximal to Communication Gateway, 31C/31F distal to Communication Gateway). It should be appreciated that one of ordinary skill in the art would know the inverse relationship between received signal strength indicator and distance. When the figure 1 is viewed together with the reported signal strengths from the plurality of sensors, it should be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude the distance from sensor 31B/31E to the communication gateway is less than the distance between sensor 31C/31F to the communication gateway.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to conclude wherein the first wireless localization value (i.e., RSSI) indicates a distance between the second device (Sensor 31B) and the first device (Communication Gateway 29) is less than a distance between the third device (Sensor 31C) and the first device.
Regarding claim 11, Golsch combined with Gautama discloses the system of claim 8, wherein:
the first device is configured to receive, over the wireless communication link, a third advertising packet from a fourth device (see Golsch [Col. 9, Ln. 9], “The PEPS module receives the advertising signals on each of the sensors …”; also see Golsch [Fig. 1 and 2], 31C; Note: it is understood that there can be N number of sensors (satellites)).
Golsch combined with Gautama does not explicitly disclose responsive to the first device determining a third localization value of the third advertising packet is approximately (Note: It is understood, and limited by specification [¶0053], to be +/- 10 percent) equal to the second localization value, the second device is configured to:
receive, over the wireless communication link, a fourth advertising packet from the third device; and
receive, over the wireless communication link, a fifth advertising packet from the fourth device; and
the first device is configured to determine a second location of the third device responsive to a fourth wireless localization value of the fourth advertising packet relative to a fifth wireless localization value of the fifth advertising packet, and assign a second network address to the third device responsive to the second location.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to recognize the limitations set forth above is repeating the known technique in claim 1 in order to arrive at assigning another location or network address to a satellite. By utilizing the technique as set forth in claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art should be able to apply it to known devices (i.e., sensor, beacons, satellites, etc.) in order to arrive at the predictable result of assigning location/positional parameter to the device. It is also understood (see Specification submitted 10/18/2021 [¶0048]) that this method can be repeated for more or fewer devices similarly taught by Golsch (see Golsch [Col. 7, Ln. 50-54], “While FIGS. 1 and 2 illustrate a PEPS system 1 with six sensors 31A-31F, any number of sensors can be used.”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the known technique as disclosed by Golsch with regards to claim 1 onto claim 2 in order to continue assigning location/positional data to fewer or more amount of devices (i.e., sensors, beacons, satellites, etc.) to accompany the relative vehicle topology.
Regarding claim 13, Golsch combined with Gautama discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the second device is in a predetermined proximal location relative to the first device (see Golsch [Fig. 1], Sensor 31B; Note: it is understood that first to N sensors/satellites are relative and the number or locations of sensors/satellites may change as per set topology of vehicles as detailed in the submitted Specification [¶0016-17 – “… locations are determined based on differences in those RSSIs and the known topology of the system/vehicle … more or fewer satellites], it is understood that there are at least two satellites for the purpose of examination and that one is close and another is further),
wherein the third device is in a predetermined distal location relative to the first device (see Golsch [Fig. 1], Sensor 31C).
Golsch combined with Gautama does not explicitly disclose wherein the first wireless localization value indicates a distance between the second device and the first device is less than a distance between the third device and the first device.
However, Golsch discloses the action of comparing the wireless localization values (i.e., RSSI, AoA, etc. provided by Specification ¶0015) (see Golsch [Col. 37, Ln. 43-47], “The security filtering module can compare the reported signal strengths reported from the plurality of sensors …”) and also relative locations of each sensor (satellite) to the communication gateway (first device) (see Golsch [Fig. 1], Sensor 31B/31E proximal to Communication Gateway, 31C/31F distal to Communication Gateway). It should be appreciated that one of ordinary skill in the art would know the inverse relationship between received signal strength indicator and distance. When the figure 1 is viewed together with the reported signal strengths from the plurality of sensors, it should be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude the distance from sensor 31B/31E to the communication gateway is less than the distance between sensor 31C/31F to the communication gateway.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to conclude wherein the first wireless localization value (i.e., RSSI) indicates a distance between the second device (Sensor 31B) and the first device (Communication Gateway 29) is less than a distance between the third device (Sensor 31C) and the first device.
Regarding claim 17, Golsch combined with Gautama discloses the device of claim 16, wherein the satellite device is a first satellite device, the advertising packet is a first advertising packet, the wireless localization value is a first wireless localization value, and the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the device to be configured to:
Receive, over the wireless communication link, a second advertising packet from a second satellite device (see Golsch [Col. 9, Ln. 9], “The PEPS module receives the advertising signals on each of the sensors …”; also see Golsch [Fig. 1 and 2], 31C; Note: it is understood that there can be N number of sensors (satellites));
receive, over the wireless communication link, a third advertising packet from a third satellite device (see Golsch [Col. 9, Ln. 9], “The PEPS module receives the advertising signals on each of the sensors …”; also see Golsch [Fig. 1 and 2], 31C; Note: it is understood that there can be N number of sensors (satellites)).
Golsch combined with Gautama does not explicitly disclose responsive to determining a third wireless localization value of the third advertising packet is approximately (Note: It is understood, and limited by specification [¶0053], to be +/- 10 percent) equal to the second wireless localization value of the second advertising packet:
instruct the first satellite device to receive, over the wireless communication link, a fourth advertising packet from the second satellite device; and
instruct the first satellite device to receive, over the wireless communication link, a fifth advertising packet from the third satellite device;
determine a second location of the third device responsive to a fourth wireless localization value of the fourth advertising packet relative to a fifth wireless localization value of the fifth advertising packet; and
assign a second network address to the second satellite device responsive to the second location.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to recognize the limitations set forth above is repeating the known technique in claim 1 in order to arrive at assigning another location or network address to a satellite. By utilizing the technique as set forth in claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art should be able to apply it to known devices (i.e., sensor, beacons, satellites, etc.) in order to arrive at the predictable result of assigning location/positional parameter to the device. It is also understood (see Specification submitted 10/18/2021 [¶0048]) that this method can be repeated for more or fewer devices similarly taught by Golsch (see Golsch [Col. 7, Ln. 50-54], “While FIGS. 1 and 2 illustrate a PEPS system 1 with six sensors 31A-31F, any number of sensors can be used.”).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the known technique as disclosed by Golsch with regards to claim 1 onto claim 2 in order to continue assigning location/positional data to fewer or more amount of devices (i.e., sensors, beacons, satellites, etc.) to accompany the relative vehicle topology.
Regarding claim 19, Golsch combined with Gautama discloses the device of claim 16, wherein the satellite device is a first satellite device, the advertising packet is first advertising packet, the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the device to receive, over the wireless communication link, a second advertising packet from a second satellite device, the first satellite device is in a predetermined proximal location relative to the device (see Golsch [Fig. 1], Sensor 31B; Note: it is understood that first to N sensors/satellites are relative and the number or locations of sensors/satellites may change as per set topology of vehicles as detailed in the submitted Specification [¶0016-17 – “… locations are determined based on differences in those RSSIs and the known topology of the system/vehicle … more or fewer satellites], it is understood that there are at least two satellites for the purpose of examination and that one is close and another is further),
wherein the second satellite device is in a predetermined distal location relative to the device (see Golsch [Fig. 1], Sensor 31C).
Golsch combined with Gautama does not explicitly disclose wherein the wireless localization value indicates a distance between the first satellite device and the device is less than a distance between the second satellite device and the device.
However, Golsch discloses the action of comparing the wireless localization values (i.e., RSSI, AoA, etc. provided by Specification ¶0015) (see Golsch [Col. 37, Ln. 43-47], “The security filtering module can compare the reported signal strengths reported from the plurality of sensors …”) and also relative locations of each sensor (satellite) to the communication gateway (device) (see Golsch [Fig. 1], Sensor 31B/31E proximal to Communication Gateway, 31C/31F distal to Communication Gateway). It should be appreciated that one of ordinary skill in the art would know the inverse relationship between received signal strength indicator and distance. When the figure 1 is viewed together with the reported signal strengths from the plurality of sensors, it should be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude the distance from sensor 31B/31E to the communication gateway is less than the distance between sensor 31C/31F to the communication gateway.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to conclude wherein the first wireless localization value (i.e., RSSI) indicates a distance between the first satellite device (Sensor 31B) and the device (Communication Gateway 29) is less than a distance between the second satellite device (Sensor 31C) and the device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lara et al., “Cable replacement using wireless technologies in automotive,” Texas Instruments Tech Days presentation (9/28/2020) (“Lara”).
Regarding claim 1, Lara discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a first device over a wireless communication link, an advertising packet from a second device (Lara discloses a central module (scanner/first device) receiving advertising packets from satellite modules (advertisers/second devices) over Bluetooth Low Energy wireless communication, see § “Auto-addressing implementation” and § “Introduction” slide stating central module communicates with satellite modules);
determining, by the first device, a location of the second device responsive to a first wireless localization value of the advertising packet (Lara discloses the central module determining satellite locations based on RSSI values from advertising packets, see § “Wireless auto-addressing” slide on page 11, “Auto-addressing implementation” slide; § “Auto-addressing using Bluetooth® Low Energy” slide); and
assigning, by the first device, a network address to the second device responsive to the location (Lara discloses assigning CAN addresses based on determined locations ordered from closest to farthest, see § “Wireless auto-addressing” slide; § “Auto-addressing implementation” slide).
Regarding claim 2, Lara discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the advertising packet is a first advertising packet and the location is a first location, the method further comprising receiving, by the first device over the wireless communication link, a second advertising packet from a third device (Lara discloses the central module receiving advertising packets from multiple satellite modules, see “Auto-addressing implementation” slide and § “Auto-addressing using Bluetooth® Low Energy” slide); wherein determining the first location is responsive to the first wireless localization value relative to a second wireless localization value of the second advertising packet (Lara discloses determining locations by comparing RSSI values from multiple satellites, see § “Auto-addressing implementation” slide and § “Auto-addressing using Bluetooth® Low Energy” slide).
Regarding claim 3, Lara discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the network address is a first network address, the method further comprising: receiving, by the first device over the wireless communication link, a third advertising packet from a fourth device (Lara discloses the central module receiving advertising packets from multiple satellites, see § “Auto-addressing using Bluetooth® Low Energy” slide);
responsive to determining a third wireless localization value of the third advertising packet is approximately equal to the second wireless localization value ( Lara explicitly discloses this scenario triggering alternative localization, see § “Auto-addressing, using role change” slide):
receiving, by the second device over the wireless communication link, a fourth advertising packet from the third device; and receiving, by the second device over the wireless communication link, a fifth advertising packet from the fourth device (Lara discloses a previously addressed satellite receiving advertising packets from unaddressed satellites to perform distance measurements. , see § “Auto-addressing, using role change” slide);
determining, by the first device, a second location of the third device responsive to a fourth wireless localization value of the fourth advertising packet relative to a fifth wireless localization value of the fifth advertising packet (Lara discloses a previously addressed satellite receiving advertising packets from unaddressed satellites to perform distance measurements, see § “Auto-addressing, using role change” slide); and assigning, by the first device, a second network address to the third device responsive to the second location (Lara discloses assigning CAN addresses after determining locations through cooperative localization, see § “Wireless auto-addressing” slide; § “Auto-addressing, using role change” section).
Regarding claim 4, Lara discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the advertising packet includes a first identifier of the second device ( Lara discloses advertising packets containing unique identifiers, see § “Auto-addressing implementation” slide), wherein the network address is a controller area network (CAN) address (Lara explicitly discloses CAN addresses as the network addresses, see § “Bluetooth® Low Energy auto-addressing in Car Access” slide; § “Using Bluetooth localization techniques, Bluetooth® and § “Wireless auto-addressing” slide), and wherein assigning the network address comprises sending, by the first device over a CAN bus, a CAN message containing the CAN address and the first identifier (Lara discloses sending CAN messages over a CAN bus to assign addresses to identified satellites, see § “Auto-addressing implementation” slide; and § “Introduction” slide).
Regarding claim 5, Lara discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the second device is in a predetermined proximal location relative to the first device ( Lara discloses satellites in predetermined proximal locations, with the closest satellite addressed first, see § “Wireless auto-addressing” slide, § “Bluetooth® Low Energy auto-addressing in Car Access” slide , § “Auto-addressing using Bluetooth® Low Energy” slide), wherein the third device is in a predetermined distal location relative to the first device (Lara discloses satellites in predetermined distal locations, with the farthest satellite addressed last, see § “Wireless auto-addressing” slide; § “Auto-addressing using Bluetooth® Low Energy” slide), and wherein the first wireless localization value indicates a distance between the second device and the first device is less than a distance between the third device and the first device (Lara explicitly discloses RSSI values indicating relative distances with closest less than farthest, see § “Auto-addressing using Bluetooth® Low Energy” slide and § “Auto-addressing implementation” slide).
Regarding claim 6, Lara discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first wireless localization value comprises a received signal strength indicator value or an angle of arrival value (Lara explicitly and repeatedly discloses RSSI as the wireless localization value, see § “Wireless auto-addressing” slide; § “Auto-addressing implementation” slide, § “Auto-addressing implementation” § “Bluetooth® Low Energy auto-addressing parameters” and § “Auto-addressing comparison” slide).
Regarding claim 7, Lara discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the wireless communication link is a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) communication link (Lara’s entire disclosure is directed to Bluetooth Low Energy systems, see Lara Title slide: “Cable replacement using wireless technologies in automotive” with subtitle “Bluetooth® Low Energy auto-addressing”, see § “Introduction” slide; “Bluetooth® Low Energy auto-addressing in Car Access” section heading; “Auto-addressing comparison” slide showing “BLE auto-addressing” column; entire presentation focused on Bluetooth Low Energy technology), the first device is a BLE central, and the second device is a BLE satellite (Lara explicitly describes satellite modules as BLE peripheral/advertising devices, see “Bluetooth® satellite modules” repeatedly throughout the presentation; § “Auto-addressing implementation” slide).
Regarding claim 8, Lara discloses a system, comprising: a first device; and a second device and a third device coupled to the first device over a wired network bus (see § “Introduction” showing multiple modules connected via “CAN” to central module and § “Single wire auto-addressing”);
wherein the first device is configured to: receive, over a wireless communication link, a first advertising packet from the second device (Lara discloses the scanner (central module) receiving advertising packets wirelessly, see § “Auto-addressing implementation” slide; “Advertiser” section);
determine a location of the second device responsive to a wireless localization value of the first advertising packet; and transmit a network address, over the wired network bus, to the second device responsive to the location (Lara discloses determining satellite locations based on RSSI values from advertising packets, see § “Auto-addressing implementation” slide; § “Auto-addressing using Bluetooth® Low Energy” slide).
receive, over the wireless communication link, a second advertising packet from the third device (Lara discloses receiving advertising packets from multiple satellites, see § “Auto-addressing implementation” slide; § “Auto-addressing using Bluetooth® Low Energy” slide).
Regarding claim 9, Lara discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the wired network bus is a controller area network (CAN) bus deployed in a vehicle ( Lara explicitly discloses CAN bus as the wired network deployed in automotive vehicles, see § “Introduction” slide; § “Single wire auto-addressing” § “Auto-addressing using Bluetooth® Low Energy” slide).
Regarding claim 10, Lara discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the wireless localization value is a first wireless localization value (Lara discloses RSSI values from multiple satellites, see § “Wireless auto-addressing” slide; and § “Auto-addressing implementation” slide) and the location is determined responsive to the first wireless localization value relative to a second wireless localization value of the second advertising packet (Lara discloses determining locations by comparing RSSI values from multiple satellites, see § “Auto-addressing using Bluetooth® Low Energy” slide and § “Wireless auto-addressing” slide).
Regarding claim 11: Lara discloses the system of claim 10, wherein: the first device is configured to receive, over the wireless communication link, a third advertising packet from a fourth device (Lara discloses receiving advertising packets from multiple satellites, see § “Auto-addressing using Bluetooth® Low Energy” slide);
responsive to the first device determining a third wireless localization value of the third advertising packet is approximately equal to the second wireless localization value (Lara explicitly discloses this triggering condition, see § “Auto-addressing, using role change” slide), the second device is configured to: receive, over the wireless communication link, a fourth advertising packet from the third device; and receive, over the wireless communication link, a fifth advertising packet from the fourth device (Lara discloses a previously addressed satellite receiving advertising packets from unaddressed satellites, see § “Auto-addressing, using role change” slide); and
the first device is configured to determine a second location of the third device responsive to a fourth wireless localization value of the fourth advertising packet relative to a fifth wireless localization value of the fifth advertising packet (Lara discloses the central module using measurements from the previously addressed satellite to determine locations, see § “Auto-addressing, using role change” slide), and assign a second network address to the third device responsive to the second location (Lara discloses assigning addresses after cooperative localization, see § “Wireless auto-addressing” slide).
Regarding claim 12, Lara discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the first advertising packet includes a first identifier of the second device (Lara discloses advertising packets containing identifiers, see § “Auto-addressing implementation” slide), wherein the network address is a CAN address, and wherein the first device is configured to assign the network address by sending, over a CAN bus, a CAN message containing the CAN address and the first identifier (Lara explicitly discloses CAN addresses and sending CAN messages over CAN bus to assign addresses to identified satellites, see § “Bluetooth® Low Energy auto-addressing in Car Access” slide and § “Auto-addressing implementation” slide).
Regarding claim 13, Lara discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the second device is in a predetermined proximal location relative to the first device (Lara discloses satellites in predetermined proximal locations, see § “Bluetooth® Low Energy auto-addressing in Car Access” slide; and § “Auto-addressing using Bluetooth® Low Energy” slide), wherein the third device is in a predetermined distal location relative to the first device (Lara discloses satellites in predetermined distal locations, see § “Auto-addressing using Bluetooth® Low Energy” slide), and wherein the wireless localization value indicates a distance between the second device and the first device is less than a distance between the third device and the first device (Lara explicitly discloses RSSI values indicating relative distances, see § “Auto-addressing using Bluetooth® Low Energy” slide and § “Auto-addressing implementation” slide).
Regarding claim 14, Lara discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the wireless localization value comprises a received signal strength indicator value or an angle of arrival value (Lara explicitly discloses RSSI as the wireless localization value, see § “Wireless auto-addressing” slide, § “Auto-addressing implementation” slide; § “Auto-addressing comparison” slide under “Bluetooth® Low Energy auto-addressing parameters”).
Regarding claim 15, Lara discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the wireless communication link is a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) communication link (Lara discloses a Bluetooth Low Energy system throughout, see § “Bluetooth® Low Energy auto-addressing”; § “ “Introduction” slide; section heading; “Auto-addressing comparison” and slide showing “BLE auto-addressing”), the first device is a BLE central (Lara discloses the central module as a BLE scanner/central, see § “Auto-addressing implementation” and § “Auto-addressing implementation” slide), and the second and third devices are BLE satellites (Lara discloses satellite modules as BLE advertisers/peripherals, see § “Auto-addressing implementation” slide).
Regarding claim 16, Lara discloses a device, comprising: a processor; and a memory containing instructions that, when executed by the processor (Lara discloses a central module device with processing capabilities, see § “Introduction” slide), cause the device to:
receive, over a wireless communication link, an advertising packet from a satellite device (Lara discloses receiving advertising packets wirelessly from satellites, see § “Auto-addressing implementation” slide);
determine a location of the satellite device responsive to a wireless localization value of the advertising packet (Lara discloses determining satellite locations based on RSSI values, see §. “Auto-addressing implementation” slide and § “Wireless auto-addressing” slide); and assign a wired network address to the satellite device responsive to the location (Lara discloses assigning CAN addresses over wired CAN bus based on locations, see § “Auto-addressing implementation” slide showing CAN message exchange over wired bus).
Regarding claim 17, Lara discloses the device of claim 16, wherein the satellite device is a first satellite device, the advertising packet is a first advertising packet, the wireless localization value is a first wireless localization value, and the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the device to: receive, over the wireless communication link, a second advertising packet from a second satellite device, receive, over the wireless communication link, a third advertising packet from a third satellite device (Lara discloses receiving advertising packets from multiple satellites, see § “Auto-addressing implementation” slide; flow diagram showing “ADV_IND Node #1,” § “Auto-addressing using Bluetooth® Low Energy” slide showing six satellites (Satellites 1-6));
responsive to determining a third wireless localization value of the third advertising packet is approximately equal to a second wireless localization value of the second advertising packet (Lara explicitly discloses this triggering condition, see § “Auto-addressing, using role change” slide):
instruct the first satellite device to receive, over the wireless communication link, a fourth advertising packet from the second satellite device; and instruct the first satellite device to receive, over the wireless communication link, a fifth advertising packet from the third satellite device (Lara discloses using a previously addressed satellite to receive advertising packets from unaddressed satellites, see also § “Auto-addressing, using role change” slide with diagram showing satellite 2 as “Addressed node” measuring distances to satellites 3, 4, 5 as “Unaddressed node”);
determine a second location of the second satellite device responsive to a fourth wireless localization value of the fourth advertising packet relative to a fifth wireless localization value of the fifth advertising packet (Lara discloses determining locations using measurements from the previously addressed satellite, see § “Auto-addressing, using role change” slide); and
assign a second network address to the second satellite device responsive to the second location (Lara discloses assigning addresses after cooperative localization, see § “Wireless auto-addressing” slide]).
Regarding claim 18, Lara discloses the device of claim 16, wherein the advertising packet includes an identifier of the satellite device (Lara discloses advertising packets containing identifiers, see §“Auto-addressing implementation” slide), wherein the wired network address is a controller area network (CAN) address (Lara explicitly discloses CAN addresses as the wired network addresses, see § “Bluetooth® Low Energy auto-addressing in Car Access” slide), and wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the device to assign the wired network address by sending, over a CAN bus, a CAN message containing the CAN address and the identifier (Lara discloses sending CAN messages over CAN bus to assign addresses to identified satellites, see § “Auto-addressing implementation” slide).
Regarding claim 19, Lara discloses the device of claim 16, wherein the satellite device is a first satellite device, the advertising packet is a first advertising packet, the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the device to receive, over the wireless communication link, a second advertising packet from a second satellite device (Lara discloses receiving advertising packets from multiple satellites, see “Auto-addressing implementation” slide; § “Auto-addressing using Bluetooth® Low Energy” slide), the first satellite device is in a predetermined proximal location relative to the device (Lara discloses satellites in predetermined proximal locations, see §. “Bluetooth® Low Energy auto-addressing in Car Access” slide and §“Auto-addressing using Bluetooth® Low Energy” slide), wherein the second satellite device is in a predetermined distal location relative to the device (Lara discloses satellites in predetermined distal locations, see § “Auto-addressing using Bluetooth® Low Energy” slide), and wherein the wireless localization value indicates a distance between the first satellite device and the device is less than a distance between the second satellite device and the device (Lara explicitly discloses RSSI values indicating relative distances, see § “Auto-addressing using Bluetooth® Low Energy” slide).
Regarding claim 20, Lara discloses the device of claim 16, wherein the wireless localization value comprises a received signal strength indicator value or an angle of arrival value (Lara explicitly discloses RSSI as the wireless localization value, see § “Wireless auto-addressing” slide; § “Auto-addressing implementation” slide; § “Bluetooth® Low Energy auto-addressing parameters” section of “Auto-addressing comparison” slide).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure which appears to clearly anticipate the claimed invention as recited.
Lara et al., "Implement auto-addressing capabilities for Bluetooth car access systems", EDN ASIA, 10/07/2020.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462