DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
No amendments to the claims, when compared to previously filed claims, have been submitted with applicant’s response dated 02 June 2026.
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant traverses (Remarks, pgs. 5-6) the rejection of claims 1-5 under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) and (a)(2), and asserts that the cited prior art (Finkelstein -US 20190250257 A1) does not disclose the claimed limitation of “emitting of projection light, in particular laser light from a laser, in a targeted manner towards an object for indicating a targeting state to a user.”. Specifically, applicant notes that while the system of Finkelstein illuminates the target, such as by emitting optical energy for ranging and imaging purposes, that this would not teach either emitting in a “targeted manner” or the light emission being indicative of a “targeting state” to a user of the system.
Examiner notes that a system such as the presently claimed invention or the system of Finkelstein targets areas of an environment (or the field of view, FOV) for illumination, and therefore would be operated in a targeted nature. Similarly, the presently claimed invention seems to rely on a single emitter/emitter array to illuminate the object with projection light, where that light is both for tracking/range finding as well as to indicate a target of the system to a user, presumably as the object is illuminated by the emitted projection light in the visible spectrum. The specification only indicates that the targeting state “may be a reference point”, and that “The emitted projection light may be a part of emitted measurement light used for measuring the object.” ([0017]), and the system as described only includes a singular light emitting unit which is preferably a laser. The system of Finkelstein operates with an emitter array which emits in the visible light spectrum and is directed to illuminate a target or section of an FOV. This would then anticipate the requirement for an emitter which, when directed to an object in a section of an FOV, emits light which is used both in ranging/detection but would also indicate to a user the targeting direction of the system, in this case by illuminating the target with visible light. This illumination would give a clear indication of the target to the operator or user. The rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) has been updated to clarify this point.
Applicant further notes (pg. 7 of Remarks) that references made to paragraph [0170] of prior art is not related to the indication of a targeting state. While the examiner agrees that this paragraph does not anticipate or teach that portion of the limitation (and the rejection has been updated accordingly in this office action), the teachings of Finkelstein as discussed above still anticipate the limitations as claimed.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5, line 3 includes the phrase “…of the image sensor, in particular adapted in such a way that oversaturation…”. While the phrase is not indefinite, it could be confusing. A suggested edit would be to replace the phrase with “…of the image sensor such that oversaturation is presented”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 1 and 10 recite both a broad recitation, and the claims also recite a narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Specifically, claims 1 and 10 include “in particular a total station, laser tracker, electronic distance meter, stake-out instrument or laser scanner” in their preambles. The phrase “in particular” is unclear if the electronic surveying instrument, which is a broad recitation, must be one of the listed options which are narrower in scope, or if the listed options are exemplary and therefore indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claims 1 and 10 also include reference to “emitting of projection light, in particular laser light from a laser…”. As noted above, the phrase “in particular” introduces an uncertainty over whether the broadly claimed emitted projection light must come from a laser (which is a narrower scope), or if it is a preference.
Claims 2-14 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Finkelstein (US 2019/0250257 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Finkelstein anticipates a method for an electronic surveying instrument, in particular a total station, laser tracker, electronic distance meter, stake-out instrument or laser scanner, comprising:
emitting of projection light, in particular laser light from a laser ([0015], [0101]; Fig. 1, VCSEL emitter array (115)), in a targeted manner towards an object for indicating a targeting state to a user ([0107], [0178] - [0179]; where the system may emit in the visible spectrum, may be operable in either day or night and the wavelength, output power and emission can be chosen such to not cause eye damage when illuminating a target object with the VCSEL emitter array, where such illumination is indicative of emission direction of the system),
receiving ([0101]; Fig. 1, detector array (110)) at least part of the projection light reflected by the object ([0098]),
acquiring a sequence of images of the object using an image sensor with a frame rate, in particular 20fps or higher ([0107]) , and an induced succession of image acquisition phases and image acquisition pauses ([0138] - [0139]; Figs. 7 and 8A, where strobe, or collection, windows occur between laser pulses and are not overlapping with laser pulse), the image sensor being sensitive for the projection light ([0178]), and
synchronizing the emitting of projection light and the acquiring of the sequence of images ([0101] - [0102], [0130]; Fig. 1, where emission and detection are controlled by a timing circuit (106)) in such a way that for a first subsequence of the sequence of images a received power of the received projection light is lower during image acquisition phases than during remaining times which are not image acquisition phases ([0142], [0209] – [0216], where dark current or background photon counts can be selectively recorded without signal photos, e.g. by suspending firing for a specific frame or subframe or utilization of only passive acquisition SPADS for a first frame within a sub-sequence of frames, where a passive acquisition SPAD may further be isolated from any signal photons, and passive or partially-passive frames are used for background correction).
Regarding claim 2, Finkelstein anticipates the method according to claim 1, wherein
the projection light has a wavelength in the visible spectrum ([0117], [0179]; Fig. 4A, where the transmission spectrum is for a filter which allows LIDAR reflection light to reach detectors which is centered on 520 nm and Fig. 18B, which shows an integrated visible TOF-IR device as one embodiment).
Regarding claim 3, Finkelstein anticipates the method according to claim 1, wherein
the synchronizing is done in such a way that for at least the first subsequence the received power is zero during image acquisition phases ([0209] - [0216]).
Regarding claim 4, Finkelstein anticipates the method according to claim 1, wherein
a union of a nonempty second subsequence of the sequence of images and the first subsequence forms the sequence of images
and difference images using images of the first and second subsequence are provided ( [0214], and
n
s
i
g
=
n
b
g
+
s
i
g
-
n
b
g
is the calculated difference between the counter output during each active sub-frame (
n
b
g
+
s
i
g
)
, and the value of the last passive sub-frame counter for the same pixel (
n
b
g
).).
Regarding claim 5, Finkelstein anticipates the method according to claim 1, wherein
the synchronizing is done in such a way that the received power in the first subsequence is adapted to a saturation level of the image sensor, in particular adapted in such a way that oversaturation is prevented ([0154], [0198] - [0199]; Fig. 14, saturation control circuits (1455) can adjust collections based on the signal and background photon count levels measured (i) in a previous cycle, (ii) in another pixel, or (ii) in both a previous cycle and another pixel.)
Regarding claim 10, Finkelstein anticipates an electronic surveying instrument, in particular a total station, laser tracker, electronic distance meter, stake-out instrument or laser scanner, comprising:
a projection light emitting unit, in particular a laser, ([0015], [0101]; Fig. 1, VCSEL emitter array (115))
an optical emitting light path from the projection light emitting unit to an object ([0108]; Fig. 2 light is emitted by VCSEL array (215) and may pass through beam shaping emitter optics (214) before illuminating target),
an optical receiving light path from the object to an image sensor ([0115]; Fig. 3) with a frame rate, in particular 20fps or higher ([0107]), wherein the image sensor is configured in such a way that after each image acquisition phase an image acquisition pause follows ([0138] - [0139]; Figs. 7 and 8A, where strobe, or collection, windows occur between laser pulses and are not overlapping with laser pulse), the image sensor being sensitive for the projection light ([0178]),
wherein the projection light emitting unit and the image sensor are synchronized in such a way as to provide the method according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Finkelstein anticipates the electronic surveying instrument according to claim 10, further comprising
a controller unit configured to provide the synchronization between the projection light emitting unit and the image sensor ([0101] - [0102]; Fig. 1, controlled by a timing circuit (106)).
Regarding claim 12, Finkelstein anticipates the electronic surveying instrument according to claim 10, wherein
the optical receiving light path is free of dedicated optical filters for the projection light ([0022], where some embodiments may have a tunable optical filter arranged to transmit (not block) a band based on emission wavelength of light source).
Regarding claim 13, Finkelstein anticipates the electronic surveying instrument according to claim 11, wherein
the projection light emitting unit comprises a chopper wheel or a liquid crystal shutter, wherein the chopper wheel or the liquid crystal shutter are controlled by the controller unit, and/or the controller unit is configured to turn the projection light emitting unit on and off ([0007], where the light source is periodically pulsed for illumination).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finkelstein ( US 2019/0250257 A1), as applied to Claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Hicks (US 2020/0018854 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Finkelstein does not explicitly teach, but Hicks does teach in-situ identifying and discarding images of the second subsequence from the sequence of images, wherein the identifying is done using at least the images ([0013] - [0014]) and information about the image sensor ([0059] - [0061]; Fig. 4 receiver (140) has a specific field of view which may affect image collected).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Finkelstein to incorporate the teachings of Hicks to also identify and subsequently discard secondary images based on information within the images with a reasonable expectation of success. Finkelstein teaches controlling timing circuitry to be adjusted in the event of object identification in adjacent sub-frames, as well as determining false-positives within data collected in frames ([0225] – [0226]). In-situ identification of images in the system of Finkelstein would have a predictable result of allowing for deletion of false positive images, thereby reducing memory requirements of the system.
Regarding claim 7, Finkelstein does not explicitly teach - but Hicks does teach identifying images which is based on the synchronization ([0086], [0101], [0115]-[0118], where the Lidar collects data in time-gated intervals and images can be discarded based on the image and relevant time intervals).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Finkelstein to incorporate the teachings of Hicks to identify secondary images based on information within the images, as well as based on synchronization information within a timing scheme, with a reasonable expectation of success. As discussed above, Finkelstein teaches controlling timing circuitry to be adjusted in the event of object identification in adjacent sub-frames, as well as determining false-positives within data collected in frames ([0225] – [0226]) and therefore identification of images based on synchronization information would have a predictable result of attaching additional information to frames for later processing, such as location indications, as noted by Hicks ([0118]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finkelstein (US 2019/0250257 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Dumoulin (Dumoulin, US 11,789,127 B2).
Finkelstein teaches wherein a rolling shutter readout scheme ([0165]) is used to readout pixel values, but fails to teach reading out specific pixels or portions of the sensor based on where incident light falls.
Dumoulin teaches the sequence of images is acquired in a rolling shutter manner, and the synchronizing is at least done for rolling shutter scan lines intersecting parts of the image sensor on which the received projection light falls (Col. 9, line 62 - Col. 10, line 20).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Finkelstein to incorporate the teachings of Dumoulin to only readout specific pixels within a range with a reasonable expectation of success. Finkelstein discusses use of a quasi-linear SPAD array, where specific pixels are readout if they detect photons within a specific timeframe ([0121]). Implementing the readout of pixels based on if the SPADs within that section of the detector array detect a photon would have predictable results of reducing SPAD recovery time, allowing for faster pulse emission or laser modulation rates.
Claim(s) 9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Finkelstein (US 2019/0250257 A1), as applied to Claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Grässer (US 10,168,153 B2).
Regarding claims 9 and 14, Finkelstein does not explicitly teach – but Grässer teaches a display (Col. 37, lines 13-27; Fig. 13, screen display (1300)), configured to … wherein the display is in particular linked via a wireless or wired connection (Col. 52 lines 7-16) to the image sensor and/or to the controller unit (Fig. 3A, 3B, image capture device (305))….displaying the first sequence to a user of the electronic surveying instrument (Col. 25, lines 42-58; Fig. 8 step (825) display captured image).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Finkelstein to incorporate the teachings of Grässer to display specific frames/images with a reasonable expectation of success. Finkelstein discusses embodiments which have processing units which may store and/or display results of a 3D point cloud ([0170]), and integration of the display of captured images of Grässer would predictably allow for a first sequence of images to be visible to a user for observation and/or analysis, with a predictable result where information is displayed on a physical display which is connected (either directly or wirelessly) to the detection unit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yuasa et al. (US 20190078883 A1) teaches a surveying instrument which comprises a light projecting optical system, and an additional tracking light system for aligning the system with a target, where the main system emits either IR or visible light and may operate on pulsed emissions.
Steinberg et al. (US 20180113200 A1) teaches a LIDAR system which is related to surveying technology, which includes primary and secondary light sources and where the secondary light is visible to the human eye, where the secondary light source may be used for calibration and operational confidence.
Carlén et al. (US 20190331486 A1) teaches geodetic surveying with time synchronization, where targets are identified by obtaining a difference image between a first image and a second image, and determine a direction to the target.
Mahara (US 20240019579 A1) teaches a time-of-flight sensor system, where synchronization between signals, emission and receiving/exposure times is used in processing and target detection by pulsed emission.
Kaler et al. (US 20240207475 A1) teaches an application of light emission (UV) and sensors to detect objects and events in a space (for purposes of disinfection), where methods of controlling a light beam may include, for example, direction, speed, and timing of illumination and differential image frame-by-frame analysis.
/K.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645