DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-5 are canceled. Claims 6-11 are newly added. Claims 6-11 are pending review in this action.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 reads: “A holder constituting the battery pack according to claim 6”.
Claim 6 defines “a holder”, which is an element of the battery pack.
It is unclear whether claim 11 intends to refer to a different “holder” or if claim 11 is restating the presence of the “holder” of claim 6 and attempting to add additional structural limitation to the “holder” of claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2016/0193694, hereinafter Dinkelman in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0072175, hereinafter DeKeuster, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2016/0093935, hereinafter Obasih, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0017495, hereinafter Okawa, and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2011/0300420, hereinafter Johnson.
Regarding claim 6, Dinkelman teaches a battery module (28). The battery module (28) includes a plurality of battery cells (84) stacked next to each other in two battery groups (paragraph [0051] and figure 4).
Each battery cell (84) includes a terminal surface. On the terminal surface, one side in a longitudinal direction includes a positive electrode terminal (86) and the other side in the longitudinal direction includes a negative electrode terminal (86). The battery cells (84) have a pair of stacked surfaces adjacent to the terminal surface(s). The terminal surfaces of the plurality of battery cells (84) (battery groups) are directed in the same direction and the stacked surfaces face each other (figure 4).
Dinkelman teaches that the battery cells (84) are connected in series via cell bus bars (88) (paragraph [0030] and figure 4). Each cell bus bar (88) couples two neighboring terminals (86) together (figure 4). Therefore, a positive terminal (86) of one battery cell (84) is positioned next to a negative terminal (86) of an adjacent battery cell (84), such that all positive and negative terminals are alternately arranged.
A holder accommodates various electric components electrically connected to the battery groups (Figure 1 below). The electric components include cabling (90), cell bus bars (88) and terminal bus bars (92) (paragraph [0051] and figure 4). The electric components face a surface in which the battery cell terminals (86) are provided (figure 4).
The battery module (28) includes terminals (82, “load-side terminals”) which couple the battery module (28) to a load (paragraph [0050]).
The battery module (28) includes a relay (98) and a printed circuit board (PCB) (100) including a control module configured to monitor and control operational parameters of the battery cells (84) (paragraph [0051]). Dinkelman teaches a series electrical connection including the first terminal (82, “load-side terminal”), the relay (98), the circuit board (100) and the second terminal (82, “load-side terminal”) (paragraph [0050]). Given the series electrical connection, the potential of each element will decrease along the path.
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1 - Dinkelman's assembly)]
Each battery cell (84) includes a pair of narrow-width surfaces at longitudinally opposite ends. The narrow-width surfaces are adjacent to the terminal surface, a terminal-opposite surface and the stacked surfaces (figure 4).
A center plate having ribs is positioned between the two battery groups and faces the narrow-width surfaces of battery cells (84) in each of the two battery groups (see figure 4 and annotated Figure 1 above).
Dinkelman teaches that the battery pack includes a housing (80) comprising the center plate (paragraph [0049]). The housing (80) further comprises an upper end plate and a lower end plate that hold the first battery group and the second battery group in the stacking direction (figure 4).
Dinkelman fails to teach: 1) that the holder accommodates the relay, the terminals (82, “load-side terminals”) and a voltage sensing board; 2) that the center plate directly contacts the narrow-width surfaces; 3) a partition member; 4) side plates, such the upper end plate, the lower end plate, the center plate and the side plates are fastened together by fastening bolts.
Regarding 1), accommodating electric components including a PCB, a shunt, a relay and external terminals on a holder together with cell interconnectors is known in the art – see, e.g. the commonly owned DeKeuster reference. The choice of where to position the electric components in the battery pack is a design consideration motivated by the intended use of the battery pack and necessary interconnections with external components powered by and otherwise interfacing with the battery pack.
DeKeuster teaches a lid assembly (56, “holder”), which accommodates a printed circuit board (58), a contactor (154, “relay”) and external terminals (24 and 26, “load-side terminals”) (paragraphs [0083, 0098, 0099]). DeKeuster teaches a series connection including terminal (26), battery cells (54), contactor (154, “relay”) and terminal (24) (paragraphs [0084, 0099, 0107, 0122, 0142] and figure 16). Given the series connection, the components are arranged along the electrical path with the potential of each element decreasing along the path. DeKeuster teaches that the printed circuit board (58) is configured to sense voltage (paragraph [0107]) – therefore it is a “voltage sensing board”.
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the holder to be able to accommodate the electric components (including the PCB (100), the relay (98) and the external terminals (82)) for a design purpose such as minimizing the space occupied by the electric components on the battery pack or accommodating the location of external components interfacing with the battery pack. It would further have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the printed circuit board as a voltage sensing board for the purpose of monitoring the voltage of the battery cells (84).
Regarding 2), the Obasih reference is commonly owned with Dinkelman and directed to a closely related battery module (20) having analogous features to Dinkelman’s assembly (paragraph [0040] and figure 3). Obasih provides further detail on the center plate (47) and ribs (48). Obasih teaches that the purpose of the ribs (48) is to form slots for the battery cells (30) and to separate them (paragraph [0041]). Thus, the sides of the center plate (47) would directly contact the narrow-width surfaces of the battery cells (30) at least at the ribs (48). Moreover, Obasih shows the transverse ends of the battery cells (30) in direct contact with the flat sections of the center plate (47) (figure 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ensure that the sides of the center plate are in direct contact with the narrow-width surfaces of the battery cells in the two battery groups for the purpose of properly spacing the battery cells and for the purpose of securing them within the housing (80).
Regarding 3), Obasih teaches placing a plate-shaped flow guide insert (150, “partition member”) between adjacent battery cells, above the top battery cell and below the bottom battery cell for the purpose of directing a sufficient volume of cooling air across the full surfaces of the battery cells (paragraphs [0061] and figures 9 and 12).
Polybutylene terephthalate (PBT) is a material commonly used for flow guide features in battery packs, because it is electrically insulating – see, e.g. Okawa (paragraphs [0035, 0044] and figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a plate-shaped flow guide insert (“partition member”) made of PBT between adjacent battery cells, above the top battery cell and below the bottom battery cell for the purpose of implementing a cooling scheme which allows for directing of a sufficient volume of cooling air across the full surfaces of the battery cells in Dinkelman’s assembly and also maintaining electrical insulation between the battery cells.
Regarding 4), Obasih teaches attaching cooling plates to lateral sides (35 and 36) of the housing (31) (paragraph [0048]). Attaching of cooling plates/heat sinks using screws is known in the art – see, e.g. Johnson (paragraph [0061]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach a cooling plate on the lateral sides of Dineklman’s housing (80) via fastening screws/bolts for the purpose of providing additional cooling to the battery pack.
In the combination of Dinkelman and Obasih, the cooling plates on the lateral sides would be “side plates”. And the upper plate, lower plate center plate and the “side plates” would be fastened together by the fastening bolts.
Regarding claim 7, Dinkelman teaches a PCB (100).
Dinkelman fails to teach a fuse.
DeKeuster teaches a fuse assembly (153) used to provide overcurrent protection to the printed circuit board (58) (paragraph [0122]).
Therefore it would have obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a fuse for the purpose of providing overcurrent protection to Dinkelman’s printed circuit board (100).
Regarding claim 11, Dinkelman teaches a housing (80, “holder”) constituting the battery module (28).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2016/0193694, hereinafter Dinkelman in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2016/0329542, hereinafter Tyler, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2016/0093935, hereinafter Obasih, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0017495, hereinafter Okawa and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2011/0300420, hereinafter Johnson.
Regarding claim 8, Dinkelman teaches a battery module (28). The battery module (28) includes a plurality of battery cells (84) stacked next to each other in two battery groups (paragraph [0051] and figure 4).
Each battery cell (84) includes a terminal surface. On the terminal surface, one side in a longitudinal direction includes a positive electrode terminal (86) and the other side in the longitudinal direction includes a negative electrode terminal (86). The battery cells (84) have a pair of stacked surfaces adjacent to the terminal surface(s). The terminal surfaces of the plurality of battery cells (84) (battery groups) are directed in the same direction and the stacked surfaces face each other (figure 4).
Dinkelman teaches that the battery cells (84) are connected in series via cell bus bars (88) (paragraph [0030] and figure 4). Each cell bus bar (88) couples two neighboring terminals (86) together (figure 4). Therefore, a positive terminal (86) of one battery cell (84) is positioned next to a negative terminal (86) of an adjacent battery cell (84), such that all positive and negative terminals are alternately arranged.
A holder accommodates various electric components electrically connected to the battery groups (Figure 2 below). The electric components include cabling (90), cell bus bars (88) and terminal bus bars (92) (paragraph [0051] and figure 4). The electric components face a surface in which the battery cell terminals (86) are provided (figure 4).
The two battery groups may be arbitrarily designated as “first battery group” and “second battery group”.
All battery cells are arranged such that positive and negative terminals are alternately arranged along the stack. Therefore, the arrangement of positive and negative terminals within the first group would be the same as the arrangement of positive and negative terminals of the second group.
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 2 - Dinkelman's assembly)]
An inter-group bus bar (88) electrically connects the first battery group to the second battery group by connecting adjacent terminals – each from an end in the stacking direction of the first group and the second group, respectively (see Figure 2 above). Given the series connection, one terminal is a positive electrode terminal and the other terminal is a negative electrode terminal.
A first inter-cell bus bar (88) electrically connects the battery cells (84) in the first battery group to each other by electrically connecting terminals of adjacent battery cells to each other (see Figure 2 above). Given the series connection, one terminal is a positive electrode terminal and the other terminal is a negative electrode terminal.
A second inter-cell bus bar (88) electrically connects the battery cells (84) in the second battery group to each other by electrically connecting terminals of adjacent battery cells to each other (see Figure 2 above). Given the series connection, one terminal is a positive electrode terminal and the other terminal is a negative electrode terminal.
One terminal bus bar (92, “connection bus bar”) is connected to an end electrode terminal in the first battery group and another terminal bus bar (92, “connection bus bar”) is connected to an end electrode terminal in the second battery group (Figure 2 above). Given the series electrical connection, one end electrode terminal (86) will have the highest potential in the stack and the other end electrode terminal (86) will have the lowest potential in the stack. Thus, one terminal bus bar (92, “connection bus bar”) would be a “positive electrode-connection bus bar” and the other terminal bus bar (92, “connection bus bar”) would be a “negative electrode-connection bus bar”. The positive terminal bus bar (92, “positive electrode-connection bus bar”) and the negative terminal bus bar (92, “negative electrode-connection bus bar”) are held by (“are connected to”) the holder (figure 4).
The battery pack includes terminals (82) which couple the battery module (28) to a load (paragraph [0050]). Each terminal (82) is ultimately connected to one of the terminal bus bars (92, “connection bus bar”). Thus, an end piece of one terminal bus bar (92, “connection bus bar”) may be considered “a load-side positive electrode terminal” and an end piece of the other terminal bus bar (92, “connection bus bar”) may be considered “a load-side negative electrode terminal”.
Each battery cell (84) includes a pair of narrow-width surfaces at longitudinally opposite ends. The narrow-width surfaces are adjacent to the terminal surface, a terminal-opposite surface and the stacked surfaces (figure 4).
A center plate having ribs is positioned between the two battery groups and faces the narrow-width surfaces of battery cells (84) in each of the two battery groups (see figure 4 and annotated Figure 3 below).
Dinkelman teaches that the battery pack includes a housing (80) comprising the center plate. The housing further comprises an upper end plate and a lower end plate that hold the first battery group and the second battery group in the stacking direction (figure 4).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 3 - Illustrating Dinkelman's center plate.)]
Dinkelman fails to teach: 1) an even number of cells constituting each battery group; 2) that the center plate directly contacts the narrow-width surfaces; 3) a partition member; 4) side plates, such the upper end plate, the lower end plate, the center plate and the side plates are fastened together by fastening bolts.
Regarding 1), the choice of number of cells within a battery pack is motivated by the desired performance of the battery pack. The Tyler reference includes Dinkelman as an inventor and is commonly owned with Dinkelman. The Tyler reference is directed to a closely related battery module (20) having two groups of battery cells (56) and analogous features to Dinkelman’s battery module – including an assembly of cell-to-cell bus bars (100) (analogous to Dinkelman’s cell bus bars (88)), stack-to-stack bus bar (102) (analogous to Dinkelman’s inter-group bus bar) and cell-to-load bus bars (104) (analogous to Dinkelman’s connection bus bars (92)) that establish a series electrical connection (paragraphs [0045, 0046] and figures 4 and 5). Tyler teaches that this bus bar assembly can be used with modules having various numbers of battery cells, including 8, 12 and 20 (paragraphs [0045, 0042]). A module with 8, 12 or 20 total battery cells would have two groups of an even number of battery cells each.
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an even number of cells in each battery group for the purpose of meeting performance requirements for the battery module.
Regarding 2), the Obasih reference is commonly owned with Dinkelman and directed to a closely related battery module (20) having analogous features to Dinkelman’s assembly (paragraph [0040] and figure 3). Obasih provides further detail on the center plate (47) and ribs (48). Obasih teaches that the purpose of the ribs (48) is to form slots for the battery cells (30) and to separate them (paragraph [0041]). Thus, the sides of the center plate (47) would directly contact the narrow-width surfaces of the battery cells (30) at least at the ribs (48). Moreover, Obasih shows the transverse ends of the battery cells (30) in direct contact with the flat sections of the center plate (47) (figure 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ensure that the sides of the center plate are in direct contact with the narrow-width surfaces of the battery cells in the two battery groups for the purpose of properly spacing the battery cells and for the purpose of securing them within the housing (80).
Regarding 3), Obasih teaches placing a plate-shaped flow guide insert (150, “partition member”) between adjacent battery cells, above the top battery cell and below the bottom battery cell for the purpose of directing a sufficient volume of cooling air across the full surfaces of the battery cells (paragraphs [0061] and figures 9 and 12).
Polybutylene terephthalate (PBT) is a material commonly used for flow guide features in battery packs, because it is electrically insulating – see, e.g. Okawa (paragraphs [0035, 0044] and figure 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a plate-shaped flow guide insert (“partition member”) made of PBT between adjacent battery cells, above the top battery cell and below the bottom battery cell for the purpose of implementing a cooling scheme which allows for directing of a sufficient volume of cooling air across the full surfaces of the battery cells in Dinkelman’s assembly and also maintaining electrical insulation between the battery cells.
Regarding 4), Obasih teaches attaching cooling plates to lateral sides (35 and 36) of the housing (31) (paragraph [0048]). Attaching of cooling plates/heat sinks using screws is known in the art – see, e.g. Johnson (paragraph [0061]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach a cooling plate on the lateral sides of Dineklman’s housing (80) via fastening screws/bolts for the purpose of providing additional cooling to the battery pack.
In the combination of Dinkelman and Obasih, the cooling plates on the lateral sides would be “side plates”. And the upper plate, lower plate center plate and the “side plates” would be fastened together by the fastening bolts.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2016/0193694, hereinafter Dinkelman in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2016/0329542, hereinafter Tyler, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2016/0093935, hereinafter Obasih, U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0017495, hereinafter Okawa and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2011/0300420, hereinafter Johnson, as applied to claim 8 above and further in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2015/0072175, hereinafter DeKeuster
Regarding claim 9, Dinkelman teaches that the battery pack includes a printed circuit board (100) including a control module configured to monitor and control operational parameters of the battery cells (84) (paragraph [0051] and figure 4). The printed circuit board (100) includes a shunt (102) (paragraph [0051]).
The battery pack further includes a first module terminal (82, “load-side terminal”).
A first terminal bus bar (92, “electrode-connection bus bar”) is connected to a shunt bridge (104, “first battery-side terminal”). A second terminal bus bar (92, “electrode-connection bus bar”) is connected to relay bus bar (94, “second battery-side terminal”) (paragraphs [0067] and figure 14).
Dinkelman fails to: 1) teach that the electric components are accommodated on the holder; 2) teach a voltage sensing board; and 3) designate the polarity of the first module terminal (82, “load-side electrode terminal”).
Regarding 1) and 2), accommodating electric components including a PCB, a shunt, a relay and external terminals on a holder together with cell interconnectors is known in the art – see, e.g. the commonly owned DeKeuster reference. The choice of where to position the electric components in the battery pack is a design consideration motivated by the intended use of the battery pack and necessary interconnections with external components powered by and otherwise interfacing with the battery pack.
DeKeuster teaches a lid assembly (56, “holder”), which accommodates a printed circuit board (58) and includes external terminals (24 and 26, “load-side terminals”) (paragraphs [0083, 0098, 0099]). DeKeuster’s lid assembly (56, “holder”) further includes a shunt (137) electrically connected between first external terminal (26) and busbar (138, “battery-side electrode terminal”), which is electrically connected to an end terminal of the battery cell stack (paragraph [0107]). The first external terminal (26), the shunt (137) and the busbar (138, “battery-side electrode terminal”) are disposed in an order from an end portion of the lid assembly (56, “holder”) toward a central portion of the lid assembly (56, “holder”) (figure 16). DeKeuster teaches that the printed circuit board (58) is configured to sense voltage via the shunt (137) (paragraph [0107]) – therefore it is a “voltage sensing board”. DeKeuster teaches that the shunt (137) may be connected to either the positive or negative external terminal (paragraph [0107]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the holder to be able to accommodate the electric components for a design purpose such as minimizing the space occupied by the electric components on the battery pack or accommodating the location of external components interfacing with the battery pack. It would further have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the printed circuit board as a voltage sensing board for the purpose of monitoring the voltage of the battery cells (84).
Regarding 3), the ordinarily skilled artist would understand that the battery cells may be arranged and connected such that either of the first terminal (82, “load-side terminal”) or the second terminal (82, “load-side terminal”) could be the negative terminal. It would further have been within the purview of the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select out of the two possible options and assign the first terminal (82, “load-side terminal”) a negative polarity without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 10, Dinkelman teaches that the two terminals (82, “load-side terminals”) are located on opposite sides of the battery pack in the longitudinal direction (figure 4).
The printed circuit board (100) is located on the same side of the battery pack in the longitudinal direction as the first terminal (82, “load-side terminal”). Dinkelman teaches that the printed circuit board (100) includes a control module configured to monitor and control operational parameters of the battery cells (84) and shows cabling (90) extending from cell bus bars (88) (paragraph [0051] and figure 4). The printed circuit board (100) further includes a shunt (102) (paragraph [0051]).
Dinkelman fails to teach: 1) a voltage sensing board, 2) that the electric components are arranged on the holder; 3) a fuse and 4) that the voltage sensing board is on the same side as the positive terminal (82, “load-side terminal”) and the fuse is on the same side as the negative terminal (82, “load-side terminal”).
Regarding 1), Tyler teaches that the cell-to-cell bus bars (100) (equivalent to Dinkelman’s cell bus bars (88)) are provided with sensing components (82) to monitor the voltage of the battery cells (paragraph [0047]). The sensing components (82) send signals and are coupled to a control module via cabling (84) (paragraph [0043]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide voltage sensing components on the cell bus bars (88) for the purpose of monitoring the temperature and voltage of the battery cells (84) and to couple the voltage sensing components via the cabling (90) to the printed circuit board (100). This arrangement would mean that the printed circuit board (100) is a “voltage sensing board”.
Regarding 2), 3) and 4), accommodating electric components including a PCB, a shunt, a relay and external terminals on a holder together with cell interconnectors is known in the art – see, e.g. the commonly owned DeKeuster reference. The choice of where to position the electric components in the battery pack is a design consideration motivated by the intended use of the battery pack and necessary interconnections with external components powered by and otherwise interfacing with the battery pack.
DeKeuster teaches a lid assembly (56, “holder”), which accommodates a printed circuit board (58) and includes external terminals (24 and 26, “load-side terminals”) (paragraphs [0083, 0098, 0099]). DeKeuster’s lid assembly (56, “holder”) further includes a shunt (137) electrically connected between first external terminal (26) and one end terminal of the battery cell stack and a fuse assembly (153) electrically connected between second external terminal (24) and an opposite end terminal of the battery cell stack (paragraphs [0107, 0122]). The purpose of the fuse assembly (153) is to provide overcurrent protection to the printed circuit board (58). DeKeuster teaches that the shunt (137) may be connected to either the positive or negative external terminal (paragraph [0107]).
Therefore it would have obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the holder to be able to accommodate the electric components for a design purpose such as minimizing the space occupied by the electric components on the battery pack or accommodating the location of external components interfacing with the battery pack. It would further have obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a fuse for the purpose of providing overcurrent protection to Dinkelman’s printed circuit board (100). It would further have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the shunt (120) to the first terminal (82, “load-side terminal”) and the fuse to the second terminal (82, “load-side terminal”) and to therefore position the fuse closer to the second terminal (82, “load-side terminal”) and thus on the same side of the holder as the second terminal (82, “load-side terminal”). The ordinarily skilled artist would understand that the battery cells may be arranged and connected such that either of the first terminal (82, “load-side terminal”) or the second terminal (82, “load-side terminal”) could be the positive terminal. It would further have been within the purview of the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select out of the two possible options and assign the first terminal (82, “load-side terminal”) a negative polarity and the second terminal (82, “load-side terminal”) a positive polarity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s newly added limitations have been considered. However, after further search and consideration, the combination of the Dinkelman, DeKeuster, Obasih, Okawa and Johnson references and the combination of the Dinkelman, Tyler, Obasih, Okawa and Johnson references have been provided, as recited above, to address the amended claims.
Conclusion
/LILIA V. NEDIALKOVA/
Examiner
Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724