DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
A typo was found in the Office Action mailed on 10/18/2024: the elected species for Category II should be Species I as stated in the Applicant’s reply filed on 7/3/2024, and not Species II as stated in the Office Action. Thus, the typo is corrected here.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (WO 2019192041 A1, please see the machine translation attached in the office action mailed on 10/18/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang et al. teach a display transferring apparatus (LED display screen, the variation of the embodiment of Fig. 2 modified to have 3 columns of protrusions of 40 instead of two columns of protrusions of 40 in the gap between the horizontally placed semiconductor chip 20 in Fig. 2 as disclosed in [0038], please see the modified Fig. 2 below) comprising: a transferring substrate (10/30; Fig. 1, [0033]) comprising a mold (30; Fig. 1, [0033]) including a plurality of recesses (recesses of 30 to accommodate the chip 20; Fig. 1, [0034]), and a plurality of protrusions (40; Fig. 1, [0037]) provided on an outer surface (the top surface) of the mold (30), the outer surface (the top surface of 30) being connected to the plurality of recesses (recesses of 30 to accommodate the chip 20); and a plurality of semiconductor chips (20) respectively provided in the plurality of recesses (recesses of 30 to accommodate the chip 20), wherein the plurality of recesses comprise a first recess (the left recesses of 30 to accommodate the chip 20 in the modified Fig. 2 below) and a second recess (the right recesses of 30 to accommodate the chip 20 in the modified Fig. 2 below) nearest to the first recess (the left recesses of 30 to accommodate the chip 20 in the modified Fig. 2 below) in a first direction (horizontal direction in the modified Fig. 2 below), wherein the plurality of protrusions (40) comprise a first protrusion (the bottommost left one of the nine 40s between the two recesses of 30; see modified Fig. 2 below), a second protrusion (the bottommost middle one of the nine 40s between the two recesses of 30; see modified Fig. 2 below), and a third protrusion (the bottommost right one of the nine 40s between the two recesses of 30; see modified Fig. 2 below) arranged in a row (see modified Fig. 2 below) between the first recess (the left recesses of 30 to accommodate the chip 20 in the modified Fig. 2 below) and the second recess (the right recesses of 30 to accommodate the chip 20 in the modified Fig. 2 below) in the following order: the first recess (the left recesses of 30 to accommodate the chip 20 in the modified Fig. 2 below), the first protrusion (the bottommost left one of the nine 40s between the two recesses of 30; see modified Fig. 2 below), the second protrusion (the bottommost middle one of the nine 40s between the two recesses of 30; see modified Fig. 2 below), the third protrusion (the bottommost right one of the nine 40s between the two recesses of 30; see modified Fig. 2 below) and the second recess (the right recesses of 30 to accommodate the chip 20 in the modified Fig. 2 below), wherein s, which defines a space between the first protrusion (the bottommost left one of the nine 40s between the two recesses of 30; see modified Fig. 2 below) and the second protrusion (the bottommost middle one of the nine 40s between the two recesses of 30; see modified Fig. 2 below), and a space between the second protrusion (the bottommost middle one of the nine 40s between the two recesses of 30; see modified Fig. 2 below) and the third protrusion (the bottommost right one of the nine 40s between the two recesses of 30; see modified Fig. 2 below), satisfies a condition: s ≤ (w1-w2)/2, wherein, w1 is a width of each of the plurality of semiconductor chips (the horizontal width of 20s in Fig. 2) and w2 is a width of each of the plurality of protrusions (the diameter of 40s; s ≤ (w1-w2)/2 is the same as 2 * s + w2 ≤ w1, i.e. the length of two times the space between the adjacent protrusions plus a dimeter of one protrusion is less than a width of the chip 20, and the modified Fig. 2 below clearly shows the length of the two times the space between the adjacent protrusions plus the diameter of a protrusion is less than the horizonal width w1 of 20).
Zhang et al. do not teach semiconductor chips are micro semiconductor chips.
Parameters such as the size of the semiconductor chips in the art of semiconductor manufacturing process are subject to routine experimentation and optimization to achieve the actual need ([0033]) such as the desired performance and size in leisure squares, commercial streets, hospitals, railway stations, concerts, and other places ([0002]) during device fabrication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the size of the semiconductor chips within the micro range as claimed in order to achieve the desired performance and size ([0033, 0002]).
[AltContent: textbox (First protrusion)][AltContent: textbox (Second protrusion)][AltContent: textbox (Third protrusion)][AltContent: textbox (40)][AltContent: textbox (20)][AltContent: textbox (30)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (w1)][AltContent: textbox (2 * s + w2)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Modified Fig. 2 of Zhang showing the variation of the embodiment of Fig. 2 modified to have 3 columns of protrusions of 40 instead of two columns of protrusions of 40 in the gap between the horizontally placed semiconductor chip 20 in Fig. 2 as disclosed in [0038].
Regarding claim 2, Zhang et al. teach the display transferring apparatus of claim 1, wherein the width of each of the plurality of protrusions (the diameter of 40s) is less than the width of each of the plurality of micro semiconductor chips (the horizontal width width of 20s in Fig. 2; see the modified Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang et al. teach the display transferring apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of protrusions (40) comprise a different material (a material for 3D printing or silk-screen printing; [0047]) from a material of the mold (30 of a hot melt adhesive for low temperature and low pressure injection; [0046]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Vockenberger (US 2019/0393117 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang et al. teach wherein the plurality of protrusions (40).
Zhang et al. do not teach the plurality of protrusions comprise a metal material.
In the same field of endeavor of 3D printing, Vockenberger teaches the plurality of protrusions (111; Fig. 1, [0063]) comprise a metal material (copper; [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Zhang et al. and Vockenberger, and to use the metal for the protrusion as taught by Vockenberger, because Zhang et al. teach using a material for 3D printing to create the protrusions ([0037]), but is silent about the actual material, and Vockenberger teaches that metal can be used to form protrusions made by 3D printing ([0066] of Vockenberger).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fu et al. (CN 110265424 A) teach a display panel having grooves to contain the micro light emitting diodes.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HSIN YI HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 1/29/2026