DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4, 6-11 and 13 are pending and examined below.
Response to Arguments
The remarks of 01/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record doesn't explicitly teach or disclose all of the elements of claim 1 and 7, in particular the following claim elements:
A follower unit including: a connecting plate fitted into a groove formed in the support body, a connection pulley provided on the connecting plate
a follower tendon provided to be wound around the follower pulley and the connection pulley and having opposite ends connected to a device for actuation
These arguments are moot in light of the new 103 rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0165622 A1 (Ko) in view of KR 10-1934834 (Don) further in view of US 4,084,267 (Zadina) in view of US 2013/0145584 (Ingvast) in view of US 2009/0062046 (Lindemann)
Regarding claim 1, Ko discloses a slider-type wire driver for under-actuation (Fig. 1), comprising:
a support body (Fig. 1, 400);
a guide member (Fig. 1, 410) provided on the support body to extend in a longitudinal direction of the guide member (Fig. 1, wherein 410 is provided on 400 and extends in a longitudinal direction);
a slider (Fig. 1, 300) provided on the guide member to be able to move linearly along the guide member (Fig. 1, wherein 300 is provided on 410 and can move linearly along 410);
an actuation unit (Fig. 1, 200) provided on the support body (Fig. 1, wherein 200 is provided in 400) to move the slider relative to the guide member (¶0028, wherein 200 pulls wire to move 300);
and a follower unit (see annotated Fig. 1 below) including
at least one follower bearing provided on the slider (see annotated Fig. 1, wherein at least one follower bearing is provided on 300, see also ¶0036),
a follower pulley (313, Fig. 1, see also ¶0036) provided on the follower bearing, and
a follower tendon (Fig. 1, 110) provided to be wound around the follower pulley and having opposite ends connected to a device for actuation (see annotated Fig. 1, wherein 110 winds around follower pulley and connects to 200),
Ko discloses a follower plate (Fig. 1, 310) but doesn’t explicitly teach or disclose wherein the follower plate is disposed on the upper surface of the slider between the follower pulley and the guide member.
Don discloses a tendon device (Fig. 6) comprising a follower plate (Fig. 6, 113) provided on the upper surface of the slider (Fig. 6, wherein 113 is provided on upper surface of 112) and disposed between the follower pulley and the guide member (Fig. 6, wherein 113 is disposed between 113a and 170, corresponding to the follower pulley and the guide member respectively).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the follower plate of Ko to be between the follower pulley and the guide member, as taught by Don, in order to transfer to tension of the driving wire to the rest of the slider.
Ko discloses a follower bearing (see annotated Fig. 1 above) but doesn’t explicitly teach that is provided detachably to the slider through the follower plate. Don discloses a follower bearing that is provided to the slider through the follower plate but doesn’t explicitly teach or disclose that it is detachable.
Zadina discloses a bearing (see Fig. 4, wherein pulley 31 comprises a bearing) that is detachably connected (see Fig. 1, wherein fastening screws 38 corresponds to a detachable connection) to a plate (Fig. 1, 3)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the follower bearing of Ko in view of Don to be provided detachable to the slider through the follower plate, as taught by Zadina, in order to easily disassemble the device for any needed maintenance.
Ko discloses a follower plate (Fig. 1, 310) and a slider (Fig. 1, 300) but doesn't explicitly teach or disclose a follower plate fitted into a grove formed in an upper surface of the slider. Don doesn't explicitly teach or disclose a follower plate fitted into a grove formed in an upper surface of the slider. Zadina doesn't explicitly teach or disclose doesn't a follower plate fitted into a grove formed in an upper surface of the slider.
Ingvast discloses a follower plate (Fig. 5, 10) fitted into a groove (Fig. 5, 42) on the upper surface of the slider (Fig. 5, wherein groove 42 is on upper surface of 20)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the slider of Ko in view of Don in view of Zadina with a follower plate fitted into a groove, as taught by Ingvast, in order to easily undo the actuator from the terminal device, even when under load (¶0003 & ¶0010).
Ko discloses a follower tendon (Fig. 1, 110) provided to be wound around the follower pulley and the connection pulley (see Fig. 1, wherein 110 is wound around multiple pulleys) and having opposite ends connected to a device for actuation (see annotated Fig. 1, wherein 110 winds connects to 200). However, Ko doesn’t explicitly teach or disclose a connecting plate fitted into a grove formed in the support body and a connection pulley provided on the connecting plate. Don doesn't explicitly teach or disclose a connecting plate fitted into a grove formed in the support body and a connection pulley provided on the connecting plate. Zadina doesn't explicitly teach or disclose a connecting plate fitted into a grove formed in the support body and a connection pulley provided on the connecting plate. Ingvast doesn't explicitly teach or disclose a connecting plate fitted into a grove formed in the support body and a connection pulley provided on the connecting plate.
Lindemann discloses a connecting plate (Fig. 6, 124) fitted into a groove (Fig. 6, guideway 116) formed in the support body (¶0023, wherein 124 glides within guideway 116 corresponds to a plate fitting into a groove) and a connection pulley provided on the connecting plate (Fig. 6, see also ¶0024, 130 is situated at the end of slider plate 124) and a follower tendon provided to be wound around the follower pulley and the connection pulley and having opposite ends connected to a device for actuation
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the follower unit of Ko in view of Don in view of Zadina in view of Ingvast with a connecting plate fitted into a groove formed in the support body and a connection pulley provided on the connecting plate, as taught by Lindemann, in order to easily replace the connection pulley for maintenance.
Regarding claim 2, Ko further discloses an actuation unit (Fig. 1, 200) which comprises:
an actuation motor (210, Fig. 1),
an actuation pulley (230, Fig. 1) connected to the actuation motor to rotate (¶0030, wherein 230 is connected to 210), and
an actuation tendon (130, Fig. 1) having one end connected to the actuation pulley and the other end connected to the slider (see Fig. 1, wherein 130 is connected between 230 and 300).
Regarding claim 3, Ko discloses a support body (400, Fig. 1) but doesn’t explicitly teach or disclose an elastic member provided on the support body.
Don discloses a tendon device comprising: an elastic member (Fig. 5, first elastic member 111a) provided onto the support body (Fig, 5, first frame 111) to provide an elastic force with respect to the slider (Fig. 5, 112) in a direction opposite to the direction in which the slider is moved by the actuation tendon (see Fig. 5, wherein 111a elastically resists movement of 112 when pulled towards the spring)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the support body and actuator unit of Ko with an elastic member in between the two elements, as taught by Don, in order to resiliently support the slider while restricting motion.
Regarding claim 4, Ko discloses a slider and a support body (see rejection of Claim 1) but doesn’t explicitly teach or disclose a spring provided such between the two elements.
Don discloses wherein the elastic member is a spring (Fig. 5, wherein 111a is a spring) provided such that opposite ends thereof are connected to the slider (112, Fig. 5) and the support body (first frame 111, Fig. 5), respectively (see Fig. 5, wherein elastic member 111a is provided between 112 and 111).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the support body and actuator unit of Ko with an elastic member in between the two elements, as taught by Don, in order to resiliently support the slider while restricting motion.
Regarding claim 6, Ko discloses wherein the follower unit (see annotated Fig. 1) includes the follower bearing (see annotated Fig. 1 below) and the follower pulley (see annotated Fig. 1 below), each in a plural number (see annotated Fig. 1 below which shows 4 follower pulleys and bearings), wherein one follower tendon passes through the plurality of follower pulleys (see annotated Fig. 1 below, wherein 110 passes through 4 follower pulleys).
Claim(s) 7-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0165622 A1 (Ko) in view of KR 10-1934834 (Don) in view of US 4,084,267 (Zadina) in view of US 2018/0345481 (Cho) in view of US 2013/0145584 (Ingvast) in view of US 2009/0062046 (Lindemann)
Regarding claim 7, Ko discloses an apparatus for a wearable robot (Figs. 1 and 3), comprising:
a support body (Fig. 1, 400);
a guide member (Fig. 1, 410) provided on the support body (¶0038, wherein 410 is provide on 400) to extend in a longitudinal direction of the guide member (Fig. 1, wherein 410 is provided on 400 and extends in a longitudinal direction);
a slider (Fig. 1, 300) provided on the guide member to be able to move linearly along the guide member (Fig. 1, wherein 300 is provided on 410 and can move linearly along 410);
an actuation unit (Fig. 1, 200) provided on the support body (Fig. 1, wherein 200 is provided in 400) to move the slider relative to the guide member (¶0028, wherein 200 pulls wire to move 300);
and a follower unit (see annotated Fig. 1 below) including
at least one follower bearing provided on the slider (see annotated Fig. 1, wherein at least one follower bearing is provided on 300, see also ¶0036),
a follower pulley (313, Fig. 1, see also ¶0036) provided on the follower bearing, and
a follower tendon (Fig. 1, 110) provided to be wound around the follower pulley and having opposite ends connected to a device for actuation (see annotated Fig. 1, wherein 110 winds around follower pulley and connects to 200),
Ko discloses a follower plate (Fig. 1, 310) but doesn’t explicitly teach or disclose wherein the follower plate is disposed on the upper surface of the slider between the follower pulley and the guide member.
Don discloses a tendon device (Fig. 6) comprising a follower plate (Fig. 6, 113) provided on the upper surface of the slider (Fig. 6, wherein 113 is provided on upper surface of 112) and disposed between the follower pulley and the guide member (Fig. 6, wherein 113 is disposed between 113a and 170, corresponding to the follower pulley and the guide member respectively).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the follower plate of Ko to be between the follower pulley and the guide member, as taught by Don, in order to transfer to tension of the driving wire to the rest of the slider.
Ko discloses a follower bearing (see annotated Fig. 1 above) but doesn’t explicitly teach that is provided detachably to the slider through the follower plate. Don discloses a follower bearing that is provided to the slider through the follower plate but doesn’t explicitly teach or disclose that it is detachable.
Zadina discloses a bearing (see Fig. 4, wherein pulley 31 comprises a bearing) that is detachably connected (see Fig. 1, wherein fastening screws 38 corresponds to a detachable connection) to a plate (Fig. 1, 3)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the follower bearing of Ko in view of Don to be provided detachable to the slider through the follower plate, as taught by Zadina, in order to easily disassemble the device for any needed maintenance.
Ko doesn’t explicitly teach or disclose a glove member. Don doesn’t explicitly teach or disclose a glove member. Zadina doesn’t explicitly teach or disclose a glove member.
Cho discloses a glove member (Fig. 1, 1000) that is formed in the form of a wearable glove (Fig. 1, wherein hand robot 1000 is a wearable glove) and operates by being connected to connected to opposite ends of a follower tendon (see Figs. 1 and 4, wherein wearable hand robot 1000 is connected to opposite ends of second wire 20)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the slider of Ko in view of Don in view of Zadina with a glove member, as taught by Cho, in order to help users with neurological disorders, such as paralysis, to move their fingers (Cho, ¶0002-0003).
Ko discloses a follower plate (Fig. 1, 310) and a slider (Fig. 1, 300) but doesn't explicitly teach or disclose a follower plate fitted into a grove formed in an upper surface of the slider. Don doesn't explicitly teach or disclose a follower plate fitted into a grove formed in an upper surface of the slider. Zadina doesn't explicitly teach or disclose doesn't a follower plate fitted into a grove formed in an upper surface of the slider. Cho doesn't explicitly teach or disclose doesn't a follower plate fitted into a grove formed in an upper surface of the slider.
Ingvast discloses a follower plate (Fig. 5, 10) fitted into a groove (Fig. 5, 42) on the upper surface of the slider (Fig. 5, wherein groove 42 is on upper surface of 20)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the slider of Ko in view of Don in view of Zadina in view of Cho with a follower plate fitted into a groove, as taught by Ingvast, in order to easily undo the actuator from the terminal device, even when under load (¶0003 & ¶0010).
Ko discloses a follower tendon (Fig. 1, 110) provided to be wound around the follower pulley and the connection pulley (see Fig. 1, wherein 110 is wound around multiple pulleys) and having opposite ends connected to a device for actuation (see annotated Fig. 1, wherein 110 winds connects to 200). However, Ko doesn’t explicitly teach or disclose a connecting plate fitted into a grove formed in the support body and a connection pulley provided on the connecting plate. Don doesn't explicitly teach or disclose a connecting plate fitted into a grove formed in the support body and a connection pulley provided on the connecting plate. Zadina doesn't explicitly teach or disclose a connecting plate fitted into a grove formed in the support body and a connection pulley provided on the connecting plate. Cho doesn't explicitly teach or disclose a connecting plate fitted into a grove formed in the support body and a connection pulley provided on the connecting plate. Ingvast doesn't explicitly teach or disclose a connecting plate fitted into a grove formed in the support body and a connection pulley provided on the connecting plate.
Lindemann discloses a connecting plate (Fig. 6, 124) fitted into a groove (Fig. 6, guideway 116) formed in the support body (¶0023, wherein 124 glides within guideway 116 corresponds to a plate fitting into a groove) and a connection pulley provided on the connecting plate (Fig. 6, see also ¶0024, 130 is situated at the end of slider plate 124) and a follower tendon provided to be wound around the follower pulley and the connection pulley and having opposite ends connected to a device for actuation
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the follower unit of Ko in view of Don in view of Zadina in view of Cho in view of Ingvast with a connecting plate fitted into a groove formed in the support body and a connection pulley provided on the connecting plate, as taught by Lindemann, in order to easily replace the connection pulley for maintenance.
Regarding claim 8, Ko discloses a follower tendon (Fig. 1, 110) but doesn’t explicitly teach or disclose a glove member. Don doesn’t explicitly teach or disclose a glove member. Zadina doesn’t explicitly teach or disclose a glove member.
Cho discloses a glove member (1000, Fig. 1) which comprises: two cap members (finger caps 100, Fig. 1), formed to surround tips of different fingers (Fig. 1, wherein finger caps 100 surround the tips of the index and middle finger), a wrist member (300, Fig. 1, ¶0029) which is mounted on a user's wrist (Fig. 2, ¶0029, wherein 300 may be mounted on the user’s wrist) and through which the follower tendon passes (¶0026, wherein 300 has a passage for 20); and a tube member (212, Fig. 1) which is disposed between the two cap members and the wrist member (Fig. 3, wherein 212 is disposed between 100 and 300, see also ¶0022) and through which the follower tendon passes (¶0022, wherein 20 passes through 212).
Cho discloses two end cap members (100, Fig. 1) which are connected to opposite ends of a follower tendon (see Figs 2-4, wherein finger caps 100 are connected to second wire 20) however the follower tendon is not connected to a follower unit.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the follower tendon and follower unit of Ko in view of Don in view of Zadina to the tendons and glove member, as taught by Cho, in order to help users with neurological disorders, such as paralysis, to move their fingers (Cho, ¶0002-0003).
Regarding claim 9, Ko further discloses an actuation unit (200, Fig. 1) which comprises: an actuation motor (210, Fig. 1), an actuation pulley (230, Fig. 1) connected to the actuation motor to rotate (¶0030, wherein 230 is connected to 210), and an actuation tendon (130, Fig. 1) having one end connected to the actuation pulley and the other end connected to the slider (see Fig. 1, wherein 130 is between 300 and 230).
Regarding claim 10, Ko discloses a support body, a slider, an actuation unit, and actuation tendon (see rejection of Claim 7 above) but does not explicitly teach or disclose an elastic member.
Don discloses a tendon device comprising: an elastic member (111a, Fig. 5) provided onto the support body to provide an elastic force with respect to the slider (112, Fig. 5) in a direction opposite to the direction in which the slider is moved an actuation tendon (see Fig. 5, wherein 111a elastically resists movement of 112 when pulled towards the spring)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the support body of Ko in view of with an elastic member, as taught by Don, to resiliently support the slider while restricting motion.
Regarding claim 11, Ko discloses a slider and a support body (see rejection of Claim 7) but doesn’t explicitly teach or disclose a spring provided such between the two.
Don discloses a spring (111a, Fig. 5) provided such that opposite ends thereof are connected to the slider (112, Fig. 5) and the support body (111, Fig. 5), respectively (see Fig. 5, wherein 111a is provided between 112 and 111).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the slider and support body of Ko with an elastic member, as taught by Don, to resiliently support the slider while restricting motion.
Regarding claim 13, Ko discloses wherein the follower unit includes the follower bearing (see annotated Fig. 1 below) and the follower pulley (see annotated Fig. 1 below), each in a plural number, wherein one follower tendon passes through the plurality of follower pulleys (see annotated Fig. 1, wherein 110 passes through 4 follower pulleys).
Conclusion
/MAXIMILIAN TOBIAS SPENCER/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/YASHITA SHARMA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774