DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 05/19/2025.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 16, 18-19 are pending and are examined in this office action.
claim 1, 3-4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13-14, 16, 18-19 has been amended.
No new claim has been added and claims 2, 5, 7, 10, 12, 15,17 20 have been canceled previously.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 05/19/2025, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. The Examiner found features modified to claims, i.e claim 1 as “1. (Currently Amended) A method performed by a first terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a second terminal via a sidelink, a system information request message; identifying whether the system information request message includes a list of requested system information block (SIB);
identifying whether at least one requested SIB indicated in the list of requested SIB is stored;
in case that the first terminal has stored at least one requested SIB indicated in the list of requested SIB, transmitting, to the second terminal via the sidelink, a message including the at least one requested SIB; and
releasing the at least one requested SIB in case that the list of requested SIB is set to release,
wherein the second terminal is in an idle mode or an inactive mode.”
that have changed the scope of the invention, Therefore, Applicant’s remarks regarding rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 for the claims are moot. Applicant's remarks are considered as forward looking statement for the newly reconstructed claims.
In view of the applicant’s amendment to the claims, the examiner has clarified and remapped the rejection to the argued claim limitations in details, using the prior art of record in the current prosecution of the claims as well a new prior art. See CHENG et al. (US 20230224859 A1; hereinafter as “CHENG ”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHENG et al. (US 20180092027 A1; hereinafter as “SHENG”; provided in IDS) in view of CHENG et al. (US 20230224802 A1; hereinafter as “CHENG ”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to SHENG unless otherwise mentioned.
Regarding claim 1, SHENG teaches, a method (Fig. 5-2, Fig. 6-2) performed by a first terminal (see fig. 5-2: Relay Node 20 ) in a wireless communication system (see fig. 5-2: Wireless system with Base Station Node 39 is in wireless communication with Relay Node : [0271-][-0272]), the method comprising:
receiving, from a second terminal (see fig. 5-2 UE 26) (see fig. 5-2, where Relay Node 20 is connected with Remote UE 26:: [0176]-[0180]), via a sidelink, a system information request message (aforesaid Relay Node “receiving, from a remote UE (==a second terminal in claim) …., a request message (e.g., request message 5-2-1) configured to obtain system information. The request message 5-2-1 includes request message content related to system information suitable for the remote UE ”: [0274]; see fig. 5-2: Relay and Remote UE are in Sidelink communication; “….”sidelink” is a UE to UE interface for sidelink communication and sidelink discovery. The sidelink corresponds to the PC5 interface as defined in TS 23.303, incorporated herein by reference”: [0166];: P5C4 interface between Relay UE and Remote UE: [0021]; “the request message includes request message content related to system information suitable for the remote UE.”: [0272]; see fig. 6-2: element 6-2-1: “FIG. 5-2. Act 6-2-1 comprises receiving, from a remote UE over a non-Uu radio interface, a request message (e.g., request message 5-2-1) configured to obtain system information. The request message 5-2-1 includes request message content related to system information suitable for the remote U”: [0274]); and
identifying whether the system information request message includes a list of requested system information block (SIB) (Aforesaid request message includes system information : [0272]; Aforesaid system information include, intra alia, “a number of SystemInformationBlocks (SIBs). “: [0193]; “If the request message content is category of the remote/evolved remote UE 26, the SI processor 48-5-2 may obtain appropriate system information for the particular category through a lookup procedure or the like (e.g., fetching the types of system information [e.g., system information blocks (SIBs)]) based on a predetermined relation of category and system information blocks needed for a UE of such category, and include such system information block(s) (SIB) in the response message. If the request message content is a list of one or more system information blocks suitable for the UE, the SI processor 48-5-2 may obtain the listed/identified system information block(s) (SIB) and include such system information block(s) (SIB) in the response message.”: [0272]; “ ….request message content may be either category information of the UE, or an identification of type(s) of system information suitable for the UE (e.g., a list of one or more system information blocks suitable for the UE)”: [0271]; “Act 6-2-2 comprises using processor circuitry 40 to configure a response message (e.g., response message 5-2-2) including the system information suitable for the remote UE in dependence on the message content. ”:[0274]; “The message 5-3-2 thus may include request message content related to system information suitable for the UE (e.g., a category type for the remote/evolved remote UE 26 or a listing of requested SIBs, for example).”: [0278]).
SHENG does not expressively teach:
identifying whether at least one requested SIB indicated in the list of requested SIB is stored;
in case that the first terminal has stored at least one requested SIB indicated in the list of requested SIB, transmitting, to the second terminal via the sidelink, a message including the at least one requested SIB; and
releasing the at least one requested SIB in case that the list of requested SIB is set to release,
wherein the second terminal is in an idle mode or an inactive mode.
CHENG, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
identifying whether at least one requested SIB indicated in the list of requested SIB is stored ( see fig. 19 where Relay UE receives rqeustSIBX from Remote UE : “ remote UE may also send an indication of a request (requestSlBx) in a sidelink message (RRCReconfiguraSidelink) for on-demand SIB”: [0092]; “ the remote UE request may trigger the relay UE to perform an on-demand SIB acquisition procedure to acquire SIB information from the gNB.”: [0093]; NOTE: Relay check on demand SIB with SIB from eNB first);
in case that the first terminal (==Relay in Fig. 19) has stored at least one requested SIB indicated in the list of requested SIB, transmitting, to the second termina (==Remote UE ) via the sidelink, a message including the at least one requested SIB (see fig. 19: dedicated SIB from Relay to Remote UE: “ relay node may then send the acquired SIB to the remote UE in a sidelink message, such as a dedicated PC5 RRC message (RRCReconfigurationSidelink).”: [0093] );
releasing the at least one requested SIB in case that the list of requested SIB is set to release ( “scheduling entity (==Relay in Fig 19) may be responsible for scheduling, assigning, reconfiguring, and releasing resources for one or more subordinate entities ”: : [0045]; SIB updates : [0082]; “ the relay UE can send the updated SIB to the remote UE with a dedicated PC5 RRC message (RRCReconfigurationSidelink).”: [0092]; NOTE: release old SIB and update with new SIB);
wherein the second terminal (==Remote UE ) is in an idle mode or an inactive mode ( “ The techniques may allow a remote UE to receive …SIB information while in IDLE mode, even before the remote UE is connected to a relay.”: [0081]-[0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of SHENG to include the above recited limitations as taught by CHENG. The suggestion/motivation would be improving in NR and LTE technology includes improvement to sidelink communications : (CHENG: [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, SHENG in view of CHENG teaches claim 1 as above. Furthermore, CHENG teaches, The method of claim 1,further comprising: transmitting, to the second terminal (==Remote UE in fig. 19) via the sidelink, a message including updated system information in case that the at least one requested SIB updated from a base station (see fig. 19 Relay to Remote UE dedicated SIB : : [0092]-[0093]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of SHENG to include the above recited limitations as taught by CHENG. The suggestion/motivation would be improving in NR and LTE technology includes improvement to sidelink communications : (CHENG: [0005]).
Regarding claim 4, SHENG in view of CHENG teaches claim 1 as above. Furthermore, SHENG teaches, The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting, to a base station, the list of requested SIB in case that the first terminal has not stored the at least one requested SIB indicated in the list of requested SIB; and receiving, from the base station, the at least one requested SIB ( “A UE may access a cell using enhanced coverage functionality only if the MIB of the cell indicates that scheduling information for SIB1 specific for Bandwidth reduced Low Complexity (BL) UEs is scheduled. System information procedures for UEs in enhanced coverage are identical to the system information procedures for bandwidth reduced low complexity UEs. A UE capable of enhanced coverage acquires, if needed, and uses legacy system information when in normal coverage if it is not a Bandwidth reduced Low Complexity (BL) UE. A UE capable of enhanced coverage acquires, if needed, and uses system information specific for UEs in enhanced coverage. A UE in enhanced coverage is not required to detect SIB change when in RRC_CONNECTED.
[0253] A set of PRACH resources (e.g. time, frequency, preamble); each associated with a coverage enhancement level, is provided in SIB. Number of PRACH repetitions and number of maximum preamble transmission attempts per coverage enhancement level are provided in SIB. UEs in same enhanced coverage level use random access resources associated with the same enhanced coverage level. Time/frequency resources and repetition factor for random access response messages for UEs in enhanced coverage are derived from the used PRACH resources. A PDSCH-Config information element is illustrated in Table 5.”: [0252]-[0253]).
Regarding claim 6, SHENG teaches, a method (Fig. 5-2, Fig. 6-2) performed by a second terminal (see fig. 5-2 UE 26) (see fig. 5-2, where Relay Node 20 is connected with Remote UE 26:: [0176]-[0180]), in a wireless communication system (see fig. 5-2: Wireless system with Base Station Node 39 is in wireless communication with Relay Node : [0271-][-0272]), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a first terminal (see fig. 5-2: Relay Node 20 ) via a sidelink, a system information request message including a list of requested system information block (SIB) (aforesaid Relay Node “receiving, from a remote UE (==a second terminal in claim) …., a request message (e.g., request message 5-2-1) configured to obtain system information. The request message 5-2-1 includes request message content related to system information suitable for the remote UE ”: [0274]; see fig. 5-2: Relay and Remote UE are in Sidelink communication; “….”sidelink” is a UE to UE interface for sidelink communication and sidelink discovery. The sidelink corresponds to the PC5 interface as defined in TS 23.303, incorporated herein by reference”: [0166];: P5C4 interface between Relay UE and Remote UE: [0021]; “the request message includes request message content related to system information suitable for the remote UE.”: [0272]; see fig. 6-2: element 6-2-1: “FIG. 5-2. Act 6-2-1 comprises receiving, from a remote UE over a non-Uu radio interface, a request message (e.g., request message 5-2-1) configured to obtain system information. The request message 5-2-1 includes request message content related to system information suitable for the remote U”: [0274]); and
receiving, from the first terminal (see fig. 5-2: Relay Node 20 ) via the sidelink, a message including at least one the request SIB (see fig. 5-2:Fig. 6-2: RESPONSE MESSAGE 5-2-2 from Relay to Remote UE: : [0274]; see fig. 5-2: Relay and Remote UE are in Sidelink commucnation; “….”sidelink” is a UE to UE interface for sidelink communication and sidelink discovery. The sidelink corresponds to the PC5 interface as defined in TS 23.303, incorporated herein by reference”: [0166];: PC5 interface between Relay UE and Remote UE: [0021]); “ the request message includes request message content related to system information suitable for the remote UE. The relay processor 40 and SI processor 48-5-2 in particular is arranged to configure a response message including the system information suitable for the remote UE in dependence on the message content”: [0272]; aforesaid UE Relay “…is arranged to configure a response message including the system information suitable for the remote UE in dependence on the message content ”: [0024], [0287], UE Relay’s “relay processor 40 is arranged to prepare a sidelink master system block for transmission to a remote UE by including at least some of the other system block information obtained over the Uu interface in a vacant portion of the master system information block, the included other system block information being pertinent to sidelink communications. In an example implementation, the vacant portion of the master system information block comprises reserved bits of the master system information block The relay transmitter 44 is configured to transmit the sidelink master system information block to the remote UE over a non-Uu radio interface 29. ”: [0296]; “The message 5-3-2 thus may include request message content related to system information suitable for the UE (e.g., a category type for the remote/evolved remote UE 26 or a listing of requested SIBs, for example) ”: [0278]).
wherein whether the system information request message includes the list of requested SIB is identified (Aforesaid request message includes system information : [0272]; Aforesaid system information include, intra alia, “a number of SystemInformationBlocks (SIBs). “: [0193]; “If the request message content is category of the remote/evolved remote UE 26, the SI processor 48-5-2 may obtain appropriate system information for the particular category through a lookup procedure or the like (e.g., fetching the types of system information [e.g., system information blocks (SIBs)]) based on a predetermined relation of category and system information blocks needed for a UE of such category, and include such system information block(s) (SIB) in the response message. If the request message content is a list of one or more system information blocks suitable for the UE, the SI processor 48-5-2 may obtain the listed/identified system information block(s) (SIB) and include such system information block(s) (SIB) in the response message.”: [0272]).
While SHENG teaches “receiving, from the first terminal via the sidelink, a message including at least one the request SIB”,
SHENG does not expressively teach:
in case that the first terminal has stored the at least one requested SIB indicated in the list of requested SIB; and;
setting the list of requested SIB to release,
wherein whether the at least one requested SIB indicated in the list of requested SIB is stored by the first terminal is identified,
wherein the second terminal is in an idle mode or an inactive mode, and
wherein the at least one requested SIB is released in case that the list of requested SIB is set to release.
CHENG, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
in case that the first terminal has stored the at least one requested SIB indicated in the list of requested SIB (( see fig. 19 where Relay UE receives rqeustSIBX from Remote UE : “ remote UE may also send an indication of a request (requestSlBx) in a sidelink message (RRCReconfiguraSidelink) for on-demand SIB”: [0092]; “ the remote UE request may trigger the relay UE to perform an on-demand SIB acquisition procedure to acquire SIB information from the gNB.”: [0093]; NOTE: Relay check on demand SIB with SIB from eNB first); and;
setting the list of requested SIB to release ( “scheduling entity (==Relay in Fig 19) may be responsible for scheduling, assigning, reconfiguring, and releasing resources for one or more subordinate entities ”: : [0045]; SIB updates : [0082]; “ the relay UE can send the updated SIB to the remote UE with a dedicated PC5 RRC message (RRCReconfigurationSidelink).”: [0092]; NOTE: release old SIB and update with new SIB);
wherein whether the at least one requested SIB indicated in the list of requested SIB is stored by the first terminal is identified ((see fig. 19: dedicated SIB from Relay to Remote UE: “ relay node may then send the acquired SIB to the remote UE in a sidelink message, such as a dedicated PC5 RRC message (RRCReconfigurationSidelink).”: [0093] );
wherein the second terminal is in an idle mode or an inactive mode ( “ The techniques may allow a remote UE to receive …SIB information while in IDLE mode, even before the remote UE is connected to a relay.”: [0081]-[0082]). , and
wherein the at least one requested SIB is released in case that the list of requested SIB is set to release ( “scheduling entity (==Relay in Fig 19) may be responsible for scheduling, assigning, reconfiguring, and releasing resources for one or more subordinate entities ”: : [0045]; SIB updates : [0082]; “ the relay UE can send the updated SIB to the remote UE with a dedicated PC5 RRC message (RRCReconfigurationSidelink).”: [0092]; NOTE: release old SIB and update with new SIB);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of SHENG to include the above recited limitations as taught by CHENG. The suggestion/motivation would be improving in NR and LTE technology includes improvement to sidelink communications : (CHENG: [0005]).
Regarding claim 11, SHENG teaches, a first terminal (see fig. 5-2: Relay Node 20 ) in a wireless communication system (see fig. 5-2: Wireless system with Base Station Node 39 is in wireless communication with Relay Node : [0271-][-0272]),
the first terminal (see fig. 5-2: Relay Node 20 ) comprising:
a transceiver capable of transmitting and receiving at least one signal (see fig. 5-2: Relay with TX 44 and RX 46: ; Element 42: [0271]-[0272]; “relay transceiver 42 in turn typically comprises relay transmitter circuitry 44 and relay receiver circuitry 46 ”: [0180); and
at least one processor (see fig. 5-2: Processor 40) coupled to the transceiver (processor and transceiver are interconnected: [0180]), wherein the at least one processor ((see fig. 5-2: Processor 40) is configured to:
receive, from a second terminal via a sidelink (see fig. 5-2 where Relay Node 49 is connected with Remote UE 26:: [0176]-[0180]), a system information request message (aforesaid Relay Node “receiving, from a remote UE (==a second terminal in claim) …., a request message (e.g., request message 5-2-1) configured to obtain system information. The request message 5-2-1 includes request message content related to system information suitable for the remote UE ”: [0274]; see fig. 5-2: Relay and Remote UE are in Sidelink commucnation; “….”sidelink” is a UE to UE interface for sidelink communication and sidelink discovery. The sidelink corresponds to the PC5 interface as defined in TS 23.303, incorporated herein by reference”: [0166];: P5C4 interface between Relay UE and Remote UE: [0021]; “the request message includes request message content related to system information suitable for the remote UE.”: [0272]); and identify whether the system information request message includes a list of requested system information block (SIB),identify whether at least one requested SIB indicated in the list of requested SIB is stored, in case that the first terminal has stored at least one requested SIB indicated in the list of requested SIB, transmit, to the second terminal via the sidelink, a message including the at least one requested SIB, and release the at least one requested SIB in case that the list of requested SIB is set to release, wherein the second terminal is in an idle mode or an inactive mode. (Rest of claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1).
Regarding claim 16, SHENG teaches, a second terminal (see fig. 5-2 where Relay Node 49 is connected with Remote UE 26:: [0176]-[0180]), in a wireless communication system (see fig. 5-2: Wireless system with Base Station Node 39 is in wireless communication with Relay Node : [0271-][-0272]), the second terminal (see fig. 5-2 where Relay Node 49 is connected with Remote UE 26:: [0176]-[0180]),comprising: a transceiver capable of transmitting and receiving at least one signal (see fig. 5-2:Transceiver 52: : [0181]); and at least one processor (see fig. 5-2: Processor 50 of Remote UE: [0181]) coupled to the transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to (see fig. 5-2: where processers and transceiver are interconnected to function: [0181]-[0182]):
transmit, to a first terminal (see fig. 5-2: Relay Node 20 ) via a sidelink, a system information request message including a list of requested system information block (SIB) ( aforesaid Relay Node “receiving, from a remote UE (==a second terminal in claim) …., a request message (e.g., request message 5-2-1) configured to obtain system information. The request message 5-2-1 includes request message content related to system information suitable for the remote UE ”: [0274]; see fig. 5-2: Relay and Remote UE are in Sidelink commucnation; “….”sidelink” is a UE to UE interface for sidelink communication and sidelink discovery. The sidelink corresponds to the PC5 interface as defined in TS 23.303, incorporated herein by reference”: [0166];: P5C4 interface between Relay UE and Remote UE: [0021]; “the request message includes request message content related to system information suitable for the remote UE.”: [0272]; “The message 5-3-2 thus may include request message content related to system information suitable for the UE (e.g., a category type for the remote/evolved remote UE 26 or a listing of requested SIBs, for example) ”: [0278]));
receive, from the first terminal (see fig. 5-2: Relay Node 20 ) via the sidelink, a message including at least one the request SIB (see fig. 5-2:Fig. 6-2: RESPONSE MESSAGE 5-2-2 from Relay to Remote UE: : [0274]; see fig. 5-2: Relay and Remote UE are in Sidelink commucnation; “….”sidelink” is a UE to UE interface for sidelink communication and sidelink discovery. The sidelink corresponds to the PC5 interface as defined in TS 23.303, incorporated herein by reference”: [0166];: PC5 interface between Relay UE and Remote UE: [0021]); “ the request message includes request message content related to system information suitable for the remote UE. The relay processor 40 and SI processor 48-5-2 in particular is arranged to configure a response message including the system information suitable for the remote UE in dependence on the message content”: [0272]; aforesaid UE Relay “…is arranged to configure a response message including the system information suitable for the remote UE in dependence on the message content ”: [0024], [0287], UE Relay’s “relay processor 40 is arranged to prepare a sidelink master system block for transmission to a remote UE by including at least some of the other system block information obtained over the Uu interface in a vacant portion of the master system information block, the included other system block information being pertinent to sidelink communications. In an example implementation, the vacant portion of the master system information block comprises reserved bits of the master system information block The relay transmitter 44 is configured to transmit the sidelink master system information block to the remote UE over a non-Uu radio interface 29. ”: [0296]; “The message 5-3-2 thus may include request message content related to system information suitable for the UE (e.g., a category type for the remote/evolved remote UE 26 or a listing of requested SIBs, for example) ”: [0278]),
in case that the first terminal has stored the at least one requested SIB indicated in the list of requested SIB, and set the list of requested SIB to release,
wherein whether the system information request message includes the list of requested SIB is identified,
wherein whether the at least one requested SIB indicated in the list of requested SIB is stored by the first terminal is identified, wherein the second terminal is in an idle mode or an inactive mode, and
wherein the at least one requested SIB is released in case that the list of requested SIB is set to release (Rest of claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 11).
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claims 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 3.
Regarding claims 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 4.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411