Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on 3/26/2025 has been entered. No claims are amended. Claims 26-30 are added. Claims 1-3, 5-11, and 13-30 remain pending. Claims 1, 9, 17 and 21 are independent.
Response to Amendment
Office action in response to amendment entered 11/11/2025. Claims 1, 11, 21, 26, 29 are amended. Claims 31-33 are added. Claims 1-3, 5-11, and 13-33 remain pending. Claims 1, 9, 17 and 21 are independent.
Claim objections of claims 1, 9, 17, 26 and 30 are withdrawn as corrected by applicant amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 11/11/2025 with respect to claims 1-3, 5-11, and 13-28 and 30-33 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/11/2025 with regards to claims 22 and 29 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
For claim 29, Applicant submits none of the cited references teach or disclose a system that operates on multiple geofences. See Remarks pg. 3. Examiner maintains the rejection. In response, Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. Alternatively, the remarks are pointed to limitations added in the amendment and thus addressed in the rejection below for the first time.
For claim 22, Applicant submits Olsen does not teach an automatic registration process as claimed. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner notes specification ¶62 describes the feature claimed in claim 11 in additional detail “the management system 106 is able to automatically register each new vehicle (e.g., based on the associated mobile device 102) without any manual data entry by airport/facility administrative users (e.g., eliminating potential face-to-face or interpersonal interaction with each TNC driver).” Olsen’s teaching of the new vehicle registration step as cited for claim 22 does not require any manual data entry by an airport or facility administrative user or any face-to-face contact with a driver and thus sufficient to teach the broadly claimed “automatic” process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 is amended to recite “based on an associated mobile device” however it leaves the scope of the claim unclear as it suggests a second mobile device being the “associated mobile device.” Thus examiner suggests removing this amended limitation or clarifying the claim using the terminology from the specification ¶62. Examiner notes for prior art rejection purposes based on the specification as filed ¶62, there is no second associated device and it is a single new / previously undetected device that is added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-11, 13, and 15-21, 23-24, 26, 28-29, and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120226390 A1 Adams; Nathan et al. in view of US 20200143298 A1 Law; Ian et al. and further in view of US 20120253892 A1 Davidson; Mark J.
Consider Claim 1, 9, 17 and 21
Adams teaches A system (Fig. 1 System 110 [0006]) for activity monitoring of transportation network company vehicles within a geofence associated with an airport, the system comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 1 System 110, Modules 115 130 140 150 120 112, [0006]);
and at least one memory [One or more non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 17] having a plurality of instructions stored thereon that ([0006] Non-transitory physical computer storage can be provided that includes instructions stored thereon,), in response to execution by the at least one processor, causes the system to (See method claim rejection).
Adams teaches A method (Fig. 2 Method 200) for activity monitoring of transportation network company vehicles within a geofence (Figs. 3-8; [0041] Upon addition of the vehicles 451 to the history display 450, the map 401 has zoomed into an area that depicts routes 468 taken by the vehicle) associated with an airport, the method comprising:
receiving a user selection of a past time interval representing a timeline from a first point in time to a later second point in time, and an event type within the geofence to be monitored (Fig. 2, Figs. 3-8 [0033] “..A history timeline display is not shown in FIG. 3 but can be generated from the vehicle management user interface 300 shown in FIG. 3 (see FIG. 4). Toolbars 305, 330 are included as examples of user interface controls that can be used to manage history timeline displays 116. ... A date for which history can be displayed is also selectable via control 338 in the toolbar 330.. A select box 334 allows current data, key events, and/or all vehicle status data to be displayed on a history timeline. ..” [0035] “At block 235, vehicle status data over a given time period is obtained for each vehicle selected. The time period over which vehicle status data is obtained can be a day, a week, an hour, or the like. The time period can be the current 24-hour period, for instance. History timelines can also be generated for previous days or other past time periods.” [0039] Some examples of such data can include information regarding vehicle stop, moving, and idle times, information regarding congregations, warnings regarding policy violations (such as speeding, operating a power takeoff device while moving, or entering or approaching a geofenced (e.g., prohibited) area), and the like..);
querying a database ([0049] Further, vehicle status data, telemetry data, and history timeline data can be stored in any data repository having physical computer storage, such as a database, file system, other data store, or a combination of the same) for event data that matches the user selection of the past time interval and the event type (Fig. 2, Figs. 3-8 [0035] At block 235, vehicle status data over a given time period is obtained for each vehicle selected. The time period over which vehicle status data is obtained can be a day, a week, an hour, or the like. The time period can be the current 24-hour period, for instance. History timelines can also be generated for previous days or other past time periods. [0036] The vehicle status data acquired by the telematics module 120 can be obtained by the fleet management module 112.);
generating a JSON object ([0049] It should be noted that the fleet management module 112 can use any of a variety of technologies to generate the vehicle management user interface 400 or any of the other user interfaces described herein. For instance, the user interfaces described herein can be implemented using HTML, JavaScript, CSS, JSON, and/or XML programming...The fleet management module 112 can generate this content in response to a request from a management device 135 described above. Other examples of technology for dynamically generating and/or manipulating the history displays or other user interfaces described herein include Adobe Flash, Java, Java Applets, Silverlight, Synchronized Multimedia Integration Language (SMIL), ASP.NET, iframes, jQuery, PHP, J2EE, combinations of the same, and the like..) that includes spatial data for each event identified as a result of querying the database ([0038] A vehicle history timeline is constructed for each selected vehicle at block 245, and the vehicle history timelines are output together on the same time scale at block 255. Constructing a vehicle history timeline can include accessing or generating graphic elements corresponding to the vehicle status data and arranging the graphic elements together, optionally with text, in a timeline format.);
and animating a visual representation of the spatial data for each event in a map view by stepping through from the first point in time to the second point in time over the timeline associated with the past time interval (Fig. 2, Figs. 3-8, [0041] “..The map 401 depicts routes taken by the vehicles 451 that are the subject of the history display 450. Upon addition of the vehicles 451 to the history display 450, the map 401 has zoomed into an area that depicts routes 468 taken by the vehicles; [0030]; and [0048] “….the bar 474 along the history display can cause symbols for the vehicles 451 on the map 401 to trace their routes 468 in time. Thus, for example, if the timeline selection bar 474 is dragged to the right, the vehicle under the cursor 476 while the bar 474 is dragged can have its route 468 traced forward in time on the map 401. Conversely, if the bar 474 is dragged to the left, the vehicle under the cursor 476 can have its route 468 traced backward in time. In another embodiment, each of the vehicles routes 468 are traced as the timeline selection bar 474 is dragged along the history display 450...…”).
Adams does not teach a geofence associated with an airport. And for claim 21 Adams does not teach detecting a mobile device of a vehicle the activity of which are associated with one or more event types.
Law teaches activity monitoring of transportation network company vehicles within a geofence (Law [0007] The present invention is related to a management system for a Permitting Authority or its appointed designee to monitor and track ABCT provider activity through the ABCT-Driver's mobile device, the ABCT provider's application (“app”), the ABCT provider's computer systems, and the PA's electronically-enabled geographic coordinates (“geo-fence”), all without the need for specialized hardware such as transponders or other tracking equipment. Each mobile communication device associated with an ABCT-Vehicle continually transmits information to an ABCT provider Information and Communications Technology (“ICT”) System when an application on the mobile communication device is active)
For claim 21, Law teaches detecting a mobile device of a vehicle the activity of which are associated with one or more event types (Law Fig. 1, [0039] each mobile communication device comprises an app, wherein the app associates an ABCT-Driver to an ABCT-Vehicle and an ABCT provider. The application communicates with the ABCT ICT System via a communication channel 110.; [0091] The method begins at step 702, where an ABCT provider ICT System associated with an ABCT provider receives periodic location information from a mobile device associated with an ABCT-Driver) .
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Adams to include the noted teachings of Law in order to for airports or other geographically-defined authorities, or “Permitting Authorities” (PA), to manage transportation activity (Law [0002]).
The combination does not teach animating a visual representation of the spatial data for each event in a map view by automatically moving from the first point in time to the second point in time over the timeline associated with the past time interval
Davidson teaches animating a visual representation of the spatial data for each event in a map view by automatically moving from the first point in time to the second point in time over the timeline associated with the past time interval (Fig. 19, [0233] “Gantt view 800C of the user interface 800. . . to animate the vehicle position indicator 1465 in response to a user's selection of the playback button. In such embodiments, the employee Gantt module 1400 "plays" the loaded operational and segmented data such that the current time indicator 1455 moves across the Gantt chart 1452 at a predefined speed in relation to the time markers 1454 (e.g., a real-time setting, slow motion setting, fast motion setting). As the current time indicator 1455 moves across the Gantt chart 1452, the employee Gantt module 1400 moves the vehicle position indicator 1465 along the vehicle path shown in the map display 810 such that the vehicle position indicator's location always represents the location the vehicle 100 at the time indicated by the current time indicator 1455...”)
Davidson also teaches a geofence associated with an airport (¶68 “configured for evaluating efficiencies of mobile employees or staff (e.g., employees at an airport or large store”) and detecting a mobile device of a vehicle the activity of which are associated with one or more event types (¶91 ‘telematics device 102 may be configured to capture and store telematics data from the vehicle sensors 410 at predefined time intervals and in response to detecting the occurrence of one or more of a plurality of predefined vehicle events. Generally, a vehicle event may be defined as a condition relating to any parameter or combination of parameters measurable by the one or more vehicle sensors 410 (e.g., the engine idling, vehicle speed exceeding a certain threshold, etc.)’)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the combination to include the noted teachings of Davidson in order evaluating various operational efficiencies based on operational data (Davidson ¶3)
Consider Claim 2, 10 and 18.
The combination teaches The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the user selection of the past time interval and the event type within the geofence to be monitored comprises receiving the user selection of a past time interval and a plurality of event types within the geofence to be monitored (Adams Fig. 2, Figs. 3-8 [0033] “..A date for which history can be displayed is also selectable via control 338 in the toolbar 330.. A select box 334 allows current data, key events, and/or all vehicle status data to be displayed on a history timeline. ..” [0039] For instance, a user can select different types of history timelines or history timelines that show different types of status data..Some examples of such data can include information regarding vehicle stop, moving, and idle times, information regarding congregations, warnings regarding policy violations (such as speeding, operating a power takeoff device while moving, or entering or approaching a geofenced (e.g., prohibited) area), and the like.);
and wherein querying the database for event data that matches the user selection of the past time interval and the event type comprises querying the database for event data that matches the user selection of the past time interval and at least one of the plurality of event types (Adams Fig. 2, Figs. 3-8 [0035] At block 235, vehicle status data over a given time period is obtained for each vehicle selected. The time period over which vehicle status data is obtained can be a day, a week, an hour, or the like. The time period can be the current 24-hour period, for instance. History timelines can also be generated for previous days or other past time periods. [0036] The vehicle status data acquired by the telematics module 120 can be obtained by the fleet management module 112.; See Also Law [0056] The compliance module 207 may generate a report comprising the transaction history of all ABCT-Provide r202 activities within a geo-fenced perimeter. The report may be generated in real-time and may also comprise transaction history of ABCT provider 202 activity within a specified time period. For example, the report may include transaction histories of ABCT provider 202 activities within the last hour or within the last day. In one embodiment, the report may include the date and time range each ABCT provider 202 vehicle has been within the geo-fenced perimeter, the ABCT ID, the license plate number of the ABCT-Vehicle, and the activity the ABCT-Vehicle is engaged in.).
Consider Claim 3, 11 and 19.
THE COMBINATION teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the event data indicates that a vehicle is currently on premises within the geofence (Adams [0032] The example vehicle status information shown in the popup box 310 includes vehicle identifiers 312, addresses of current locations, icons representing the current status of the vehicles (such as green boxes to represent moving, stop signs for stopped vehicles, idle signs etc.). [0039] Some examples of such data can include information regarding vehicle stop, moving, and idle times, information regarding congregations, warnings regarding policy violations (such as speeding, operating a power takeoff device while moving, or entering or approaching a geofenced (e.g., prohibited) area), and the like; See also Law [0055] The real-time map module 206 may automatically receive data relating to the location of an ABCT-Driver each time a message is received by the PA ICT System 200. In one embodiment, each time a message is received from an ABCT provider 202 and stored in the data storage means 204, the license plate, longitude and latitude information contained in the message is transmitted to the real-time map module 206. In a preferred embodiment, the real-time map module 206 has a map of the geo-fence perimeter and is overlaid with icons representing the real-time location of the ABCT-Drivers. The real-time map module 206 updates a map with the received information.).
Consider Claim 5 and 13
THE COMBINATION teaches representation comprises a video that displays the spatial data for each event in the map view over the timeline (See Davidson ¶233 as cited for claim 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the combination to include the noted teachings of Davidson in order evaluating various operational efficiencies based on operational data (Davidson ¶3)
Consider Claim 6 and 14
THE COMBINATION teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: monitoring for events associated with a transportation network company vehicle; and generating an alert message in response to identifying one or more events associated with the transportation network company vehicle being on premises within the geofence (Adams [0053]-[0055] In the depicted embodiment, user selection of the select box 336 has selected the criteria "warnings" to color history timelines 760 in the history display 750. Warnings can be alarms or alerts that are user-configured using a user interface similar to the user interface 600 of FIG. 6. Red areas 770 on the history timelines 760 include colored warnings, which in the depicted embodiment, represent speeding violations. Alarms or alerts can be registered visually as a color change, size change, or symbol appearance on the history display 750. Other warnings can also be provided and customized by a user.).
Consider Claim 8, 15 and 20
THE COMBINATION teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the event type comprises one of an entry event, an exit event, a pickup event, or a drop-off event (Adams [0039] Some examples of such data can include information regarding vehicle stop, moving, and idle times, information regarding congregations, warnings regarding policy violations (such as speeding, operating a power takeoff device while moving, or entering or approaching a geofenced (e.g., prohibited) area), and the like. [0032] The example vehicle status information shown in the popup box 310 includes vehicle identifiers 312, addresses of current locations, icons representing the current status of the vehicles (such as green boxes to represent moving, stop signs for stopped vehicles, idle signs etc.; See also Law [0043] The activity log database 108 stores a log of the location of the ABCT-Vehicle. In one embodiment, each activity performed by a driver may also be stored in the activity log database. Such activities may include: presence within a geo-fence, entry into the geo-fenced perimeter, exit out of the geo-fenced perimeter, a pick-up activity and a drop-off activity.).
Consider Claim 23
The combination teaches The method of claim 21 further comprising the step of screening the vehicle against a hot/watch list (Law [0079] “..The PA ICT System, associated with the license plate recognition system, in one embodiment, may automatically generate violation citations for ABCT-Vehicles that have been circling the roadways of the PA for too long, or for cars that are no longer permitted by the ABCT provider to conduct transactions within the perimeter of a geo-fence..” and also Adams [0039] “..s, warnings regarding policy violations (such as speeding, operating a power takeoff device while moving, or entering or approaching a geofenced (e.g., prohibited) area)..” teaching screening)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Adams to include the noted teachings of Law in order to for airports or other geographically-defined authorities, or “Permitting Authorities” (PA), to manage transportation activity (Law [0002]).
Consider Claim 24
The combination teaches The method of claim 23 further comprising the step of notifying the user if the vehicle is on the hot/watch list indicating a warning condition (Law [0079] “..The PA ICT System, associated with the license plate recognition system, in one embodiment, may automatically generate violation citations for ABCT-Vehicles that have been circling the roadways of the PA for too long, or for cars that are no longer permitted by the ABCT provider to conduct transactions within the perimeter of a geo-fence..”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Adams to include the noted teachings of Law in order to for airports or other geographically-defined authorities, or “Permitting Authorities” (PA), to manage transportation activity (Law [0002]).
Consider Claim 25
The combination teaches The method of claim 24 where the warning indicated that the vehicle is not allowed to operate in the airport (Law [0079] “..The PA ICT System, associated with the license plate recognition system, in one embodiment, may automatically generate violation citations for ABCT-Vehicles that have been circling the roadways of the PA for too long, or for cars that are no longer permitted by the ABCT provider to conduct transactions within the perimeter of a geo-fence..”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Adams to include the noted teachings of Law in order to for airports or other geographically-defined authorities, or “Permitting Authorities” (PA), to manage transportation activity (Law [0002]).
Consider Claim 26
The combination teaches The method of claim 1 further comprising multiple transportation network companies, and data is generated for each such company (Adams [0049] “vehicle status data, telemetry data, and history timeline data can be stored in any data repository” where taught data structure meets intended function of data from multiple companies and Law [0007] teaching authority monitoring different companies).
Consider Claim 28
The combination teaches The method of claim 26 where the user is communicating with multiple transportation network companies (Adams [0049] “vehicle status data, telemetry data, and history timeline data can be stored in any data repository” where taught data structure meets intended function of “communication” with multiple companies).
Consider Claims 29 and 31
The combination teaches The method of claim 1 further comprising multiple geofences associated with an airport (Law Abstract and [0103] “..a plurality of PAs that would allow the ABCT drivers to operate within geo-fenced areas associated with the plurality of PAs..”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the invention of Adams to include the noted teachings of Law in order to for airports or other geographically-defined authorities, or “Permitting Authorities” (PA), to manage transportation activity (Law [0002]).
Consider Claims 32 and 33
The combination teaches the step of filtering the animated visual representation of the spatial data to a subset of event data (claim 32) and where the filtering comprises filtering based on one or more of account, type of message, exception messages, event type, provider, or vehicle identification (claim 33)
(See Davidson ¶149 “Further, the user may request evaluation only of operational data captured for that driver (or drivers) on a particular date or range of dates by also selecting a desired date or date range using the date menu 804. As additional examples, the user also has the option of requesting evaluation of operational data for all drivers based at a particular location (e.g., by selecting only one or more shipping hub locations from the location menu 802), or for all drivers at all locations on a particular date (e.g., by selecting only a date or date range from the date menu 804).”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the combination to include the noted teachings of Davidson in order evaluating various operational efficiencies based on operational data (Davidson ¶3)
Claim(s) 7, 14 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120226390 A1 Adams; Nathan et al. and
US 20120253892 A1 Davidson; Mark J. in view of Rodriguez; Hector Aquiles et al. US 20190007511 A1
Examiner first notes that the rejection for independent claims i.e. claim 1 supra does not need to rely on Law as Davidson teaches all of the limitations as cited for Law in the rejection above.
Consider Claim 7 and 14
THE COMBINATION teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: monitoring a geographical location of a transportation network company vehicle within the geofence; and generating an alert message in response to determine that the transportation network company vehicle has remained in the same geographical location (Adams [0031] The symbols 302 include green arrows to indicate movement of a vehicle, blue idle signs to indicate a vehicle that is idling, and red stop signs that indicate vehicles that have stopped. [0043] Advantageously, in the depicted embodiment, the history timelines 460 depict an easy-to-read view of idle times, allowing an administrator to take action to reduce the idle times (e.g., by talking with a driver, providing incentives for idle reduction, or the like). Engine idle times can be detected in one embodiment from the vehicle status data provided by the telematics module 120. [0044] In many instances, when a vehicle is stopped or idling, the history timeline 460 for that vehicle includes the text of the address that the vehicle is or was located at.)
The combination does not teach generating an alert message determine that the transportation network company vehicle has remained in the same geographical location for at least a threshold period of time.
Rodriguez teaches generating an alert message determine that the transportation network company vehicle has remained in the same geographical location for at least a threshold period of time ([0086] As illustrated by FIG. 8A, a new alert may be added by selecting an alert type from a list of available alerts or notifications. For example, Stop time alert: when the vehicle has stopped for more than a certain duration of time outside of known place or exceptions; Dwell Time alert: when the vehicle is waiting for more than a certain duration of time inside a known place).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the combination to include the noted teachings of Rodriguez in order to issuing alerts regarding geofencing, device behavior and/or operator behavior for devices connected to a wireless communication network (Rodriguez [0002]).
Consider Claim 27
The combination teaches The method of claim 26 where an alert messages are generated (Adams [0053]-[0055] “..Warnings can be alarms or alerts that are user-configured using a user interface similar to the user interface 600 of FIG. 6. .. Other warnings can also be provided and customized by a user..”).
The combination does not teach an alert messages are generated if one or more of the transportation companies has not responded to messages within a period of time that indicates that a system of one or more of the companies is not functioning properly.
Rodriguez teaches an alert messages are generated if one or more of the transportation companies has not responded to messages within a period of time that indicates that a system of one or more of the companies is not functioning properly (Rodriguez Fig. 6, [0068]-[0071] “..method for or issuing alerts regarding unplugged monitoring device or low voltage (battery level) alert…the no power event may also be detected when any one or more of the following conditions occur: (1) No voltage data is received (2) No GPS data is received in a predetermined time interval, (3) Device has not reported any status data for more than a predetermined time interval, (4) If device is set to sleep for a predetermined duration of time, e.g., 5 days, 10 days etc., a minimum of 24 hour beats are received from device… a notification or an alert is created via step 612 and is sent to the user interface 626… allows the user and/or fleet operator to receive alerts when the monitoring device installed in the vehicle is unplugged, tampered or disconnected from the vehicle, for example, when the monitoring device has been disconnected from the vehicle, an unplugged …).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the combination to include the noted teachings of Rodriguez in order to allows the user and/or fleet operator to receive alerts when the monitoring device installed in the vehicle is unplugged, tampered or disconnected from the vehicle (Rodriguez [0071]).
Claim(s) 22 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120226390 A1 Adams; Nathan et al. and US 20120253892 A1 Davidson; Mark J. further in view of US 20190228654 A1 OLSEN; Jan et al.
Consider Claim 22
The combination teaches The method of claim 21 (see above) but does not teach where if the mobile device has not been previously detected it is automatically added to a management system based on an associated mobile device.
Olsen teaches where if the mobile device has not been previously detected it is automatically added to a management system based on an associated mobile device (Olsen [0389] Fig. 2, “the tracking flow chart describes a device 222 comprising a new vehicle 224 (a), Register vehicle 226(a)..”
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the combination to include the noted teachings of Olson in order to provides for a low-cost communication device to connect the vehicle to the driver and other nearby vehicles (Olson [0015]).
Consider Claim 30
The combination teaches The method of claim 1 further comprising the step of drawing a map representing a portion of the geofence (Adams (Figs. 3-8; [0041] Upon addition of the vehicles 451 to the history display 450, the map 401 has zoomed into an area that depicts routes 468 taken by the vehicle) and identifying an event (Adams [0053]-[0055] “warnings”)
The combination does not teach identifying an event that occurs outside the geofence.
Olsen teaches identifying an event that occurs outside the geofence (Olsen [0080]: “the system generates alerts if vehicle have driven outside of vehicle's associated geo-fence.”
[0173]: “The duration for which the vehicle was outside the impound geofence to be recorded.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the combination to include the noted teachings of Olson in order to provides for a low-cost communication device to connect the vehicle to the driver and other nearby vehicles (Olson [0015]).
Related Prior Art
Examiner notes related art not used for this rejection:
US 20120253892 A1 Davidson; Mark J.
Location Performance Module
[0278] According to various embodiments, the location performance module 1800 is generally configured for providing delivery performance statistics for a user-selected group of drivers (e.g., drivers associated with a user-selected hub location) during a user-selected period (e.g., a particular day). In one embodiment, the location performance module 1800 is associated with a location performance tab 861 (shown in FIG. 28). As such, the central server 120 is configured to run the location performance module 1800 in response to a user's selection of the location performance tab 861.
[0279] FIG. 27 illustrates steps executed by the location performance module 1800 to generate delivery performance statistics for a group of drivers according to one embodiment. Beginning at step 1801, the location performance module 1800 displays a location performance view of the central server user interface 800. For example, FIG. 28 shows a location performance view 800G of the central server user interface 800 according to one embodiment. In the illustrated embodiment, the location performance view 800G displays a delivery performance statistics table 1852, which indicates some or all of the following performance statistics for each driver in the user-selected driver group on the user-selected date: the number of delivery stops performed, the number of pickup stops performed, the total number of stops performed, the total number of bills of lading (herein "bills") associated with items (e.g., packages or freight) picked up or delivered, the total weight of items picked up or delivered, the number of stops performed per hour, the average time of performed stops, the number of bills per hour, the total number of miles traveled, and the number of miles traveled per stop. In addition, the location performance view 800G includes the various menus and options 802-809 and map display 810 of the start-up view shown in FIG. 8. Furthermore, the location performance view 800G includes a create report button 1854 configured to generate--in response to a user's selection--a printable location performance report (e.g., a .pdf or .xls file) showing the delivery performance statistics table 1852.
Location Hours Module
[0291] According to various embodiments, the location hours module 1900 is generally configured for providing various time statistics for a user-selected group of drivers (e.g., drivers associated with a user-selected hub location) during a user-selected period (e.g., a particular day). In one embodiment, the location hours module 1900 is associated with a location hours tab 862 (shown in FIG. 30). As such, the central server 120 is configured to run the location hours module 1900 in response to a user's selection of the location hours tab 862.
Location Dispatch Profile Module
[0344] According to various embodiments, the location dispatch profile module 2300 is generally configured for providing dispatch profile statistics for a user-selected driver. In one embodiment, the location dispatch profile module 2300 is associated with a location dispatch profile tab 866 (shown in FIG. 39). As such, the central server 120 is configured to run the location dispatch profile module 2300 in response to a user's selection of the location dispatch profile tab 866.
CN 105005839 A TAN, WEN et al.
TAN teaches the visual representation comprises a video that displays the spatial data for each event in the map view over the timeline (TAN Pg. 6 “..GIS database that stores geographic data information. device GPS database server, GPS data information reported by the storage equipment. GIS platform, for issuing the system needs two dimensional map and spatial geometry (GeometryServer) service. The basic topographic map, used as vehicle location, track playback function of the background, also called map;…” “..the basic information of the vehicle managed by monitoring the function of maintaining the basic information of the vehicle. … real-time location of the vehicle by the system check the map distribution and single vehicle operation condition of vehicle in real time. replaying vehicle track, viewing a single vehicle history movement track and playing animation effect…” step 2: track playback)
CN 105721482 A ZONG, Qun et al.
FIG. 9 shows a data communication, the invention uses JSON as the data exchange format, which is a subset of JavaScript syntax, does not need special analysis method, it is convenient to package and transmit data, which is suitable for transmitting the geographical position coordinate data. when the server platform sends out request, background position encapsulation into JSON format of vehicle longitude and latitude data, longitude and latitude of analyzing vehicle conveniently by JavaScript and through asynchronous http communication frame sent to a handheld device, so as to display the map page. by data transmission of the map visible The invention is bidirectional, comprising an electric control unit, a vehicle terminal, server and handheld device four parts, finishing the data transmission of the invention. all data information of the present invention is obtained by installing data collecting on the vehicle-mounted terminal with network module and sending module, we can obtain geographical position, vehicle speed, engine speed of the vehicle through the module such as real-time data, so as to realize the specific functions of the present invention, The electronic fence, intelligent searching and so on. a data collection and transmission method needs of each vehicle of the invention to be mounted with a vehicle terminal network module, the vehicle terminal can obtain related information of the vehicle by the CAN bus and can send information to realize a simple vehicle control to the electric control unit through a Can bus. in the procedure firstly to initialize the controller and a CAN node (including setting of interruption, the timer and set the set baud rate of CAN working mode). then according to the fixed period and prescribing of CAN bus communication protocol CAN information frame is read, and the frame identifier (ID) to judge the data type, if it is the vehicle running state data, the information normalization process, extracting effective data, and performs information processing, amplitude fluctuation suppressing operation. at last, the whole vehicle driving state information to the upper computer server
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/UMAIR AHSAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647