DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the rejection of claims 1-14 and claims 19-26, the applicant amended claims 1 and 13. The cancellation of claims 11-14 has been acknowledged. Claim 19 (originally claim 13) was not addressed in the previous office action, however the allowability of the subject matter of claim 19 was reconsidered in view of newly discovered prior art. The addition of new claims 19-28 has been acknowledged. The traversal relies on the amendment to claim 1 to include the limitations of claim 14 and the addition of new claims 19-28. The applicant further argues that Marda fails to disclose use of use of two separate channels for two separate fuel streams and atomizing moderators. However, as explained in the updated rejection below, Zadmajid teaches introducing bio-oil into the reactor via a separate second feed (Zadmajid, Fig. 4).
The rejection is MAINTAINED.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on January 9, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-18 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 9, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-10, 19, and 24-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zadmajid (“Optimizing a Swirl Burner for Pyrolysis Liquid Biofuel (Bio-oil) Combustion without Blending,” 2017).
With respect to claim 1, the claim requires “a process for producing a hydrogen- and carbon oxides-comprising raw synthesis gas by simultaneous noncatalytic partial oxidation,” Zadmajid teaches a process for producing pyrolysis liquid biofuel which contains hydrogen and carbon oxides. The reaction produces carbon dioxide (Zadmajid, abstract).
Claim 1 further requires “a fluid or fluidizable carbon-containing input stream of fossil origin as a first input stream,” Zadmajid teaches methane as an input stream (Zadmajid, Fig. 5) (Zadmajid 6067, 2.1.5. Ignition System).
Claim 1 further requires “a second input stream comprising a pyrolysis oil obtained from biomass,” Zadmajid teaches an input stream comprising bio-oil (fuel) (Zadmajid, Fig. 4).
Claim 1 further requires “an oxygen-containing oxidant in a common noncatalytic partial oxidation reactor,” Zadmajid teaches oxygen gas being mixed with methane before being introduced into the reactor for noncatalytic partial oxidation (Zadmajid, Fig. 5).
Claim 1 further requires “the steps of: (a) providing the first input stream in fluid or fluidized form and providing the second input stream in liquid, conveyable form,” Zadmajid teaches Liquid Biofuel and ethanol (Zadmajid, abstract).
Claim 1 further requires “providing an oxidant stream,” Zadmajid teaches oxygen as an oxidant (Zadmajid 6067, 2.1.5. Ignition System).
Claim 1 further requires “(b) providing a partial oxidation reactor comprising a reaction chamber having at least one inlet and an outlet, at least one burner arranged at the at least one inlet of the reaction chamber“ Zadmajid teaches reaction chamber with multiple inlets and an outlet with a burner arranged at the inlets (Zadmajid, Fig. 4).
Claim 1 further requires “a cooling zone arranged downstream of the outlet of the reaction chamber and in fluid connection therewith,” Zadmajid teaches a heat exchanger downstream after the burner where cold tap water is used to cool the exhaust gases in the burner (Zadmajid 6069, 2.7. Heat Exchanger Analysis, water cooled exchanger).
Claim 1 further requires “(c) introducing the first input stream, and the oxidant stream into the reaction chamber via the at least one burner,” Zadmajid teaches mixing methane and oxygen gas before being introduced in the chamber (Zadmajid, Fig. 5).
Claim 1 further requires “introducing the second input stream into the reaction chamber via the at least one burner or via a feed conduit separate from the at least one burner,” Zadmajid teaches introducing bio-oil via a separate feed (Zadmajid, Fig. 4).
Claim 1 further requires “(d) at least partially reacting the first input stream and the second input stream with the oxidant stream under partial oxidation conditions in the burner and/or in the reaction chamber arranged downstream of the burner to afford a hot raw synthesis gas stream,” Zadmajid teaches (Zadmajid, Fig 4).
Claim 1 further requires “(e) discharging the hot raw synthesis gas stream from the reaction chamber and introducing same into the cooling zone, (f) discharging the cold raw synthesis gas stream from the cooling zone and from the partial oxidation reactor for further processing or further treatment.” Zadmajid teaches a heat exchanger after the burner where cold tap water is used to cool the exhaust gases exit from the reactor where partial oxidation takes place. (Zadmajid 6069, 2.7. Heat Exchanger Analysis, water cooled exchanger; Fig. 5).
Claim 1 further requires wherein the second input stream is atomized with an atomizing medium before or during introduction thereof into the reaction chamber, and wherein the atomizing medium is: the moderator stream and/or at least a portion of the first input stream if said stream is gaseous,” Zadmajid teaches atomizing air stream that is mixed with second input stream of bio-oil during the introduction of bio-oil into reaction chamber (Zadmajid, Fig. 4).
Claim 1 further requires “wherein the second input stream is introduced into the reaction chamber via the at least one burner, wherein the second input stream is introduced into the at least one burner via a separate conduit channel and atomized using the atomizing medium and introduced into the reaction chamber in the atomized state.” Zadmajid teaches injection of bio-oil into combustor by the atomizing nozzle (Zadmajid 6067, 2.3. Overall Experimental Setup).
Regarding claim 2, Zadmajid teaches a heat exchanger configured to cool the exhaust gas (Zadmajid, Fig. 5).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Zadmajid teaches bio-oil and ethanol as input streams (Zadmajid, abstract).
Regarding claim 8, Zadmajid teaches a pyrolysis bio-oil with 0.09-0.12% ash content (Zadmajid, table 2).
Regarding claim 9, Zadmajid teaches pyrolysis bio oil with an oxygen content of 44.6% oxygen (Zadmajid, table 2).
Regarding claim 10, Zadmajid teaches atomization of the second input stream during the introduction of the second stream into the reactor (Zadmajid, Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 19, the claim requires “A process for producing a hydrogen- and carbon oxides-comprising raw synthesis gas by simultaneous noncatalytic partial oxidation” Zadmajid teaches a process for producing pyrolysis liquid biofuel which contains hydrogen and carbon oxides. The reaction produces carbon dioxide (Zadmajid, abstract).
claim 19 further requires “a fluid or fluidizable carbon-containing input stream of fossil origin as first input stream.” Zadmajid teaches methane as an input stream (Zadmajid, Fig. 5) (Zadmajid 6067, 2.1.5. Ignition System).
claim 19 further requires “a second input stream comprising a pyrolysis oil obtained from biomass,” Zadmajid teaches an input stream comprising bio-oil (fuel) (Zadmajid, Fig. 4).
claim 19 further requires “an oxygen-containing oxidant in a common noncatalytic partial oxidation reactor,” oxygen gas being mixed with methane before being introduced into the reactor for noncatalytic partial oxidation (Zadmajid, Fig. 5).
claim 19 further requires “(a) providing the first input stream in fluid or fluidized form, providing the second input stream in liquid, conveyable form, providing an oxidant stream,” Zadmajid teaches liquid pyrosis bio-oil, ethanol (Zadmajid, abstract). Zadmajid further teaches an oxidant stream being introduced in the chamber along with methane (Zadmajid, Fig. 5).
claim 19 further requires “(b) providing a partial oxidation reactor comprising a reaction chamber having at least one inlet and an outlet, at least one burner arranged at the at least one inlet of the reaction chamber and a cooling zone arranged downstream of the outlet of the reaction chamber and in fluid connection therewith,” Zadmajid teaches a reaction chamber with multiple inlets and an outlet with a burner arranged at the inlets (Zadmajid, Fig. 4). Zadmajid further teaches a heat exchanger downstream that cools the exhaust gas exiting the reactor (Zadmajid, 2.7. Heat Exchanger Analysis) (Zadmajid, Fig. 4)
claim 19 further requires “(c) introducing the first input stream, and the oxidant stream into the reaction chamber via the at least one burner and introducing the second input stream into the reaction chamber via the at least one burner or via a feed conduit separate from the at least one burner,” Zadmajid teaches a reaction chamber with a second separate feed for the bio-fuel multiple inlets and an outlet with a burner arranged at the inlets (Zadmajid, Fig. 4 and 5).
claim 19 further requires “(d) at least partially reacting the first input stream and the second input stream with the oxidant stream under partial oxidation conditions in the burner and/or in the reaction chamber arranged downstream of the burner to afford a hot raw synthesis gas stream,” Zadmajid teaches reacting the first and second input stream in a reactor producing carbon monoxide emissions which can be considered partial oxidation (Zadmajid, Fig. 4 and 7).
claim 19 further requires “(e) discharging the hot raw synthesis gas stream from the reaction chamber and introducing same into the cooling zone and (f) discharging the cold raw synthesis gas stream from the cooling zone and from the partial oxidation reactor for further processing or further treatment,” Zadmajid teaches a heat exchanger downstream after the burner where cold tap water is used to cool the exhaust gases in the burner (Zadmajid 6069, 2.7. Heat Exchanger Analysis, water cooled exchanger).
claim 19 further requires “wherein the second input stream is introduced into the reaction chamber separately from the at least one burner via at least one separate feed lance, wherein the second input stream is atomized using the atomizing medium and introduced into the reaction chamber in the atomized state.” Zadmajid teaches injection of bio-oil by a separate feed lance into the reactor by the atomizing nozzle (Zadmajid 6067, 2.3. Overall Experimental Setup) (Zadmajid, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 20, Zadmajid teaches use of a heat exchanger downstream of the reactor to cool the exhaust gas exiting the reactor (Zadmajid, Fig 5)
Regarding claims 24 and 25, Zadmajid teaches methane as a first input stream (Zadmajid 6067, 2.1.5. Ignition System)
Regarding claims 26, Zadmajid teaches pyrolysis bio-oil with an ash content of 0.09-0.13 wt% (Zadmajid, table 2).
Regarding claims 27, Zadmajid teaches a pyrosis bio-oil with an oxygen content of 46.82-49.57 wt% (Zadmajid, table 2).
Regarding claim 28, Zadmajid teaches atomization of the second input stream during introduction thereof into the reaction chamber (Zadmajid, Fig 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zadmajid (“Optimizing a Swirl Burner for Pyrolysis Liquid Biofuel (Bio-oil) Combustion without Blending,” 2017) as applied to claims 1-2, 6-10, 19-20, 24-28 above further in view of Hilton (US 5415673 A)
Regarding claim 3, Zadmajid anticipates the method of claim 1 as discussed above, but does not explicitly teach a quenching zone with the following steps:
• Cooling hot raw synthesis gas stream in a cooling zone using a water-containing quench medium stream to obtain a cold raw synthesis gas stream and a stream of hot quench medium .
• Discharging the hot, liquid quench medium stream from the cooling zone and introducing at least a portion of the hot quench medium stream into a first heat exchanger for cooling the hot quench medium stream by indirect heat exchange against a first coolant to obtain the cold quench medium stream.
• Discharging the cold quench medium stream from the first heat exchanger and recycling at least a portion of the cold quench medium stream to the cooling zone to form a quench medium stream circuit.
However, Hilton teaches a quench configured to cool hot raw synthesis gas using a water quench to obtain a cold raw synthesis gas and stream of hot water quench (Hilton 2, line 11-16); discharging the hot water quench into heat exchanger for cooling hot quench and obtaining cold quench (Hilton 2, line 24-61); and discharging the cold quench again for reuse (Hilton 2, line 24-61) .
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have configured a quenching zone with the step discussed above, in the method of Zadmajid, as Hilton teaches reuse of the quenching medium (Hilton 2, line 44) which reduces costs.
Regarding claim 20, Zadmajid anticipates the method of claim 19 as discussed above, but does not explicitly teach a quenching zone with the following steps:
• Cooling hot raw synthesis gas stream in a cooling zone using a water-containing quench medium stream to obtain a cold raw synthesis gas stream and a stream of hot quench medium .
• Discharging the hot, liquid quench medium stream from the cooling zone and introducing at least a portion of the hot quench medium stream into a first heat exchanger for cooling the hot quench medium stream by indirect heat exchange against a first coolant to obtain the cold quench medium stream.
• Discharging the cold quench medium stream from the first heat exchanger and recycling at least a portion of the cold quench medium stream to the cooling zone to form a quench medium stream circuit.
However, Hilton teaches a quench configured to cool hot raw synthesis gas using a water quench to obtain a cold raw synthesis gas and stream of hot water quench (Hilton 2, line 11-16); discharging the hot water quench into heat exchanger for cooling hot quench and obtaining cold quench (Hilton 2, line 24-61); and discharging the cold quench again for reuse (Hilton 2, line 24-61) .
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have configured a quenching zone with the step discussed above, in the method of Zadmajid, as Hilton teaches reuse of the quenching medium (Hilton 2, line 44) which reduces costs.
Claims 4 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zadmajid (“Optimizing a Swirl Burner for Pyrolysis Liquid Biofuel (Bio-oil) Combustion without Blending,” 2017) as applied to claims 1-3, 6-10, 19-21, 24-28 above, and further in view of Peschel (DE 102014016703 A1) (See translated document attached).
With respect to claim 4, Zadmajid renders the method of claim 1 as discussed above, but does not explicitly teach wherein the mass flow proportion of the second input stream based on the sum of the mass flows of the first and second input stream is at least 5% by weight. However, Peschel teaches wherein the first feed stream and the second feed stream are provided in a mass flow ratio of 4: 1 to 1: 1 to each other (Peschel 7, [0047]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the mass flow proportion of the second input stream to first input stream be at 5%, by the method of Zadmajid, as Peschel teaches this setting allows for a desired stoichiometry number that can be flexibly adjusted (Peschel 7, [0047]).
With respect to claim 22, modified Zadmajid renders the method of claim 1 as discussed above, but does not explicitly teach wherein the mass flow proportion of the second input stream based on the sum of the mass flows of the first and second input stream is at least 5% by weight. However, Peschel teaches wherein the first feed stream and the second feed stream are provided in a mass flow ratio of 4: 1 to 1: 1 to each other (Peschel 7, [0047]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the mass flow proportion of the second input stream to first input stream be at 5%, by the method of Zadmajid, as Peschel teaches this setting allows for a desired stoichiometry number that can be flexibly adjusted (Peschel 7, [0047]). Claims 5 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zadmajid (“Optimizing a Swirl Burner for Pyrolysis Liquid Biofuel (Bio-oil) Combustion without Blending,” 2017). as applied to claims 1-4, 6-10, 19-22, 24-28 above, and further in view of Bohlig (CN 102076832 A) (See translated document attached).
With respect to claim 5, modified Zadmajid rendered claim 1 obvious, as discussed above, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first input stream has an ash content of at most 5% by weight. However, Bohlig teaches a fuel feedstock comprising less than about 5% of ash (Bohlig 28, [0241]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had an ash content of at most 5% in first input stream, by the method of Zadmajid, as Bohlig teaches excess ash content in feedstock will cause greater inefficacies (Bohlig 28, [0241]).
With respect to claim 23, modified Zadmajid rendered claim 19 obvious, as discussed above, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first input stream has an ash content of at most 5% by weight. However, Bohlig teaches a fuel feedstock comprising less than about 5% of ash (Bohlig 28, [0241]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have had an ash content of at most 5% in first input stream, by the method of Zadmajid, as Bohlig teaches excess ash content in feedstock will cause greater inefficacies (Bohlig 28, [0241]).
Conclusion
/STARFARI TESHAWN MCCLAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736