DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in responsive to amendment for Application 17/508086 filed on 2/26/2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims:
Claims 1-8, 21-24 and 26-33 are presented for examination
Response to Arguments
3. Examiner statements in the mailed Final with respect to obvious limitations including common knowledge or well-known in the art are taken to be admitted prior art because applicant failed to traverse the Examiner’s assertion, see MPEP 2144.03 C.
4. Applicant’s arguments in the amendment filed on 8/14/2025 regarding claim rejection under 35 USC § 103 have been considered and found non-persuasive because Schober expressly teaches the limitation.
Applicants state that the cited art does not teach the new amendments “…an indication to enable postponing of the HARQ feedback” Examiner disagrees because Schober expressly teaches the limitation.
Schober teaches in ¶0023; An NN-K1 value may be referred to as an “inapplicable” timing indication, while a regular numerical K1 value may be referred to as an “applicable” timing indication. These values may enable postponed HARQ feedback transmissions for at least one DL data transmission, e.g., a PDSCH scheduled in the end of a channel occupancy time (COT), where the processing time by a user equipment (UE) would be insufficient to report HARQ feedback (e.g., ACK or NACK) in PUCCH within the same COT as the corresponding PDSCH.
Thus, Examiner maintains his rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 26 and 30 include the amendment “…the HARQ feedback…” the limitation lacks antecedent basis. Thus, the claims are rejected. Claims 27-29 and 31-33 are also rejected for depending on rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 21, 24, 26, 28, 30 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schober et al. (hereinafter Schober) US 2022/0030558 A1 in view of Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim) US 2022/0038218 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Schober teaches one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media (NTCRM) that, when executed by one or more processors, cause a next generation Node B (gNB) to (Fig. 3):
identify that a user equipment (UE) is to enable postponing transmission of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback (¶0031 & Fig. 3; UE 330 may be configured to operate in an unlicensed spectrum and/or may be configured to receive an indication (e.g., a parameter Inapplicable-DL-SPS-timing) configured to enable/activate HARQ feedback transmission for DL SPS data transmission based on an applicable HARQ feedback timing provided by a later second DL control signal in some embodiments. Also see ¶0022-¶0027);
and encode a downlink (DL) semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration information element (IE), SPS-config, for transmission to a UE (Fig. 3 & ¶0032-¶0039; UE 330 may receive a second set of DL data transmissions with at least one inapplicable HARQ feedback timing (e.g., a non-numerical K1) from NE 320. The second set of downlink data transmissions may include one or more of at least one dynamically scheduled DL data transmission and at least one SPS DL data transmission. [0033] At 303, NE 320 may transmit to UE 330 a first downlink control signal (e.g., a first DCI) activating semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) of a first set of downlink data transmissions (e.g., DL SPS PDSCH transmission). In some embodiments, the downlink control signal may indicate an applicable hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback timing for the first set of downlink data transmissions. In some embodiments, the first DL control signal received may include an applicable K1. Note that in some embodiments, additionally or alternatively, the first DL control signal may be received before 301. Also see ¶0022-¶0027; the base station could configure, for example, the periodicity of downlink assignments, the number of HARQ processes, and PUCCH resources for HARQ feedback, to the UE, for example, in a SPS configuration information element (IE) SPS-Config, such as provided as follows:
TABLE-US-00001 - SPS-Config The IE SPS-Config is used to configure downlink semi-persistent transmission. Downlink SPS may be configured on the SpCell as well as on SCells. The network ensures SPS-Config is configured for at most one cell in a cell group. SPS-Config information element -- ASN1START -- TAG-SPS-CONFIG-START SPS-Config ::= SEQUENCE [ periodicity ENUMERATED [ms10, ms20, ms32, ms40, ms64, ms80, ms128, ms160, ms320, ms640, spare6, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1}, nrofHARQ-Processes INTEGER (1..8), n1PUCCH-AN PUCCH-ResourceId OPTIONAL, -- Need M mcs-Table ENUMERATED {qam64LowSE} OPTIONAL, -- Need S ... } -- TAG-SPS-CONFIG-STOP -- ASN1STOP), wherein the SPS-config IE includes an indication to enable postponing of the HARQ feedback (¶0023; An NN-K1 value may be referred to as an “inapplicable” timing indication, while a regular numerical K1 value may be referred to as an “applicable” timing indication. These values may enable postponed HARQ feedback transmissions for at least one DL data transmission, e.g., a PDSCH scheduled in the end of a channel occupancy time (COT), where the processing time by a user equipment (UE) would be insufficient to report HARQ feedback (e.g., ACK or NACK) in PUCCH within the same COT as the corresponding PDSCH. Also see Fig. 3 & ¶0031-¶0039; indication (e.g., a parameter Inapplicable-DL-SPS-timing) configured to enable/activate HARQ feedback transmission for DL SPS data transmission or time offset indication. Also see ¶0022-¶0027; see NN-K1 indication. Also see Table 00001 provides examples to many different types of indicators including resrouceid, time offset, new data indicator etc.)
Schober does not expressly teach “…by modifying a K1 value signaled in the SPS-Config until a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource can be mapped without dropping, and postpone the transmission until subsequent downlink control information (DCI) indicates an applicable HARQ feedback timing”
Kim teaches “…by modifying a K1 value signaled in the SPS-Config until a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource can be mapped without dropping” (¶0405-¶0412; according to an SPS-Config configured to the terminal, a PUCCH resource may be indicated, and a set of (sub)slot offsets of the PUCCH (e.g., dl-DataToUL-ACK, RRC parameter(s) based on dl-DataToUL-ACK, K1 set) may be considered. One value may be indicated to the terminal by an activating DCI, and a (sub)slot in which the SPS PUCCH is transmitted may be determined. Therefore, in consideration of a subset consisting only of values greater than the value indicated by the activating DCI, the terminal may select the smallest value for which the SPS PUCCH can be transmitted from the corresponding subset…When the terminal cannot find the above-mentioned value (e.g., when the corresponding subset is empty or when all elements of the subset indicate only invalid SPS PUCCH), the terminal may drop the SPS PUCCH. Alternatively, the terminal may multiplex the SPS HARQ-ACK in a PUSCH or PUCCH appearing later than the greatest value among the elements of the subset…For example, the K1 set may have 16 values. In the activating DCI, an arbitrary value (e.g., the fourth value) belonging to the K1 set may be used. The terminal may not be able to transmit the SPS PUCCH based on the fourth value. In this case, the terminal may select the smallest value for which the SPS PUCCH can be transmitted from among values greater than the fourth value in the K1 set. The corresponding value may be obtained from the K1 set. Alternatively, if the SPS PUCCH cannot be transmitted with respect to all values belonging to the K1 set, the terminal may select the first PUCCH or PUSCH so as to transmit the SPS PUCCH at a value greater than the corresponding value, and may multiplex the SPS HARQ-ACK belonging to the SPS PUCCH in the PUCCH or PUSCH).
and postpone the transmission until subsequent downlink control information (DCI) indicates an applicable HARQ feedback timing (the citation above. Also see ¶0433-¶0436; timing of the SPS PUCCH may be changed from the (sub)slot m to the (sub)slot n. In this case, the terminal may generate an SPS HARQ codebook (e.g., SPS HARQ codebook whose feedback timing is changed) associated with the (sub)slot m, generate an SPS HARQ codebook (e.g., SPS HARQ codebook whose feedback timing is not changed) associated with the (sub)slot n, and transmit a HARQ codebook by concatenating the above-described SPS HARQ codebooks.
The terminal may wait a long time until the terminal transmits the first UL channel. In this case, the terminal may not transmit the SPS HARQ-ACK according to traffic delay conditions. In order to solve this problem, the base station may schedule a UL channel to the terminal by using an additional DCI… Method 5.7-11: A time window may be indicated to a terminal, and the terminal may transmit an SPS HARQ-ACK on the next UL channel within the time window. In this case, transmission of the SPS HARQ-ACK may be deferred. The terminal may not multiplex the SPS HARQ-ACK outside the time window. Alternatively, the terminal may consider the SPS HARQ-ACK as NACK outside the time window, and may multiplex the NACK).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the system of Schober in order to efficiently determine HARQ timing for transmission. Utilizing such teachings enable the base station to schedule a UL channel to the terminal by using an additional DCI (¶0434).
Regarding Claims 2 & 28, Schober teaches one or more NTCRM of claim 1, wherein SPS-Config IE includes a pair of {a substitute physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource, time offset} for the HARQ feedback, and the UE is to switch to the substitute PUCCH resource in a time unit indicated by the time offset when an original PUCCH resource collides with DL symbols (see Table 00001 & ¶0024; resroucedid and periodicity enumerated “time offset”).
Regarding Claim 7, Schober teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 1, wherein the SPS-Config IE includes an indication of an alternate physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for transmission of the HARQ feedback based on a dynamic trigger (¶0073; At 1207, UE 1220 may receive at least one further DCI scheduling PUCCH transmission for the at least one DL SPS configuration, and report HARQ-ACK for the latest c DL SPS PDSCH occasions of at least one DL SPS configuration. In some embodiments, the value of c may be indicated in the further DCI. At 1209, NE 1210 may receive at least one HARQ-ACK codebook from UE 1220. Also see Fig. 3 for dynamic trigger. Also see ¶0027-¶0039; The PUCCH resource in a slot or sub-slot used for SPS HARQ feedback may be provided by a RRC parameter, such as n1PUCCH-AN in 3GPP Rel-15. In 3GPP Rel-16, where a UE can have more than one active SPS PDSCH configuration, a parameter (e.g., SPS-PUCCH-AN-List) can provide the UE with a set of PUCCH resources, which would then determine the PUCCH resource to be used based on the payload size of uplink control information (UCI). Alternatively, if HARQ feedback for SPS PDSCH is multiplexed with HARQ feedback for dynamic PDSCH, such as where both feedbacks are transmitted in the same slot, the PUCCH resource would be determined based on the DCI scheduling dynamic PDSCH).
Regarding Claim 8, Schober teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 7, wherein the SPS-Config IE includes an indication of enablement or disablement of a downlink control information (DCI) field that schedules the alternate physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource (¶0022-¶0039; enable a base station to avoid OOO HARQs and/or enable postponed HARQs for a DL SPS configuration, e.g., based on a setting of a timing indication (e.g., K1 value in the activation DL SPS DCI). Alternatively or in addition, certain embodiments may enable the collection of HARQ feedback from multiple DL SPS configurations using the same HARQ feedback process ID in the past, thereby improving efficiency. As an example, a UE may clear a soft buffer of old transport blocks for a HARQ process; when the HARQ process is run again, the UE may instead store an associated HARQ feedback until reported. Thus, certain embodiments discussed below are directed to improvements in communication related technology).
Regarding Claims 21 & 32, Schober teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 1, Schober further teaches wherein when the postponing is enabled, the UE is instructed to modify a corresponding value K1 signaled as part of the SPS-Config IE by applying a rule (Fig. 2 illustrate modifying k1 from NN to 2 based on configuration [rule]. Also, see ¶0022-¶0053; k1 value is modified).
Regarding Claim 24, Schober teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 21, Schober further teaches wherein a PDSCH-to- HARQfeedback field in a downlink control information (DCI) indicates an index to a table of possible values of K1 (¶0022-¶0053; because k1 value is modified and indexed where these values may enable postponed HARQ feedback transmissions for at least one DL data transmission, e.g., a PDSCH scheduled in the end of a channel occupancy time (COT), where the processing time by a user equipment (UE) would be insufficient to report HARQ feedback (e.g., ACK or NACK) in PUCCH within the same COT as the corresponding PDSCH. See Fig. 2 and the different tables that show K1 values modified to k1=2 etc.).
Regarding Claim 26, Schober teaches an apparatus for use in a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3), wherein the apparatus comprises:
memory to store a received downlink (DL) semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration information element (IE), SPS-Config (see NE 320 in Fig. 3 & ¶0031-¶0039);
and one or more processors (Fig. 3; inherent from NE) configured to:
identify (¶0031 & Fig. 3; UE 330 may be configured to operate in an unlicensed spectrum and/or may be configured to receive an indication (e.g., a parameter Inapplicable-DL-SPS-timing) configured to enable/activate HARQ feedback transmission for DL SPS data transmission based on an applicable HARQ feedback timing provided by a later second DL control signal in some embodiments. Also see ¶0022-¶0027), based on an indication to enable postponing of the HARQ feedback (¶0023; An NN-K1 value may be referred to as an “inapplicable” timing indication, while a regular numerical K1 value may be referred to as an “applicable” timing indication. These values may enable postponed HARQ feedback transmissions for at least one DL data transmission, e.g., a PDSCH scheduled in the end of a channel occupancy time (COT), where the processing time by a user equipment (UE) would be insufficient to report HARQ feedback (e.g., ACK or NACK) in PUCCH within the same COT as the corresponding PDSCH) in the SPS-Config IE, that the UE is to enable postponing transmission of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback (Fig. 3 & ¶0031-¶0039. indication (e.g., a parameter Inapplicable-DL-SPS-timing) configured to enable/activate HARQ feedback transmission for DL SPS data transmission or time offset indication. Also see ¶0022-¶0027; see NN-K1 indication. Also see Table 00001 provides examples to many different types of indicators including resrouceid, time offset, new data indicator etc.); and postpone, based on the SPS-Config, the transmission of the HARQ feedback (Fig. 3 & ¶0031-¶0039. Also see ¶0022-¶0027; the base station could configure, for example, the periodicity of downlink assignments, the number of HARQ processes, and PUCCH resources for HARQ feedback, to the UE, for example, in a SPS configuration information element (IE) SPS-Config, such as provided as follows:
TABLE-US-00001 - SPS-Config The IE SPS-Config is used to configure downlink semi-persistent transmission. Downlink SPS may be configured on the SpCell as well as on SCells. The network ensures SPS-Config is configured for at most one cell in a cell group. SPS-Config information element -- ASN1START -- TAG-SPS-CONFIG-START SPS-Config ::= SEQUENCE [ periodicity ENUMERATED [ms10, ms20, ms32, ms40, ms64, ms80, ms128, ms160, ms320, ms640, spare6, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1}, nrofHARQ-Processes INTEGER (1..8), n1PUCCH-AN PUCCH-ResourceId OPTIONAL, -- Need M mcs-Table ENUMERATED {qam64LowSE} OPTIONAL, -- Need S ... } -- TAG-SPS-CONFIG-STOP -- ASN1STOP).
Schober does not expressly teach “…by modifying a K1 value signaled in the SPS-Config until a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource can be mapped without dropping, and postpone the transmission until subsequent downlink control information (DCI) indicates an applicable HARQ feedback timing”
Kim teaches “…modify a K1 value signaled in the SPS-Config until a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource can be mapped without dropping” (¶0405-¶0412; according to an SPS-Config configured to the terminal, a PUCCH resource may be indicated, and a set of (sub)slot offsets of the PUCCH (e.g., dl-DataToUL-ACK, RRC parameter(s) based on dl-DataToUL-ACK, K1 set) may be considered. One value may be indicated to the terminal by an activating DCI, and a (sub)slot in which the SPS PUCCH is transmitted may be determined. Therefore, in consideration of a subset consisting only of values greater than the value indicated by the activating DCI, the terminal may select the smallest value for which the SPS PUCCH can be transmitted from the corresponding subset…When the terminal cannot find the above-mentioned value (e.g., when the corresponding subset is empty or when all elements of the subset indicate only invalid SPS PUCCH), the terminal may drop the SPS PUCCH. Alternatively, the terminal may multiplex the SPS HARQ-ACK in a PUSCH or PUCCH appearing later than the greatest value among the elements of the subset…For example, the K1 set may have 16 values. In the activating DCI, an arbitrary value (e.g., the fourth value) belonging to the K1 set may be used. The terminal may not be able to transmit the SPS PUCCH based on the fourth value. In this case, the terminal may select the smallest value for which the SPS PUCCH can be transmitted from among values greater than the fourth value in the K1 set. The corresponding value may be obtained from the K1 set. Alternatively, if the SPS PUCCH cannot be transmitted with respect to all values belonging to the K1 set, the terminal may select the first PUCCH or PUSCH so as to transmit the SPS PUCCH at a value greater than the corresponding value, and may multiplex the SPS HARQ-ACK belonging to the SPS PUCCH in the PUCCH or PUSCH).
and postpone based on the SPS config, the transmission until subsequent downlink control information (DCI) indicates an applicable HARQ feedback timing (the citation above. Also see ¶0433-¶0436; timing of the SPS PUCCH may be changed from the (sub)slot m to the (sub)slot n. In this case, the terminal may generate an SPS HARQ codebook (e.g., SPS HARQ codebook whose feedback timing is changed) associated with the (sub)slot m, generate an SPS HARQ codebook (e.g., SPS HARQ codebook whose feedback timing is not changed) associated with the (sub)slot n, and transmit a HARQ codebook by concatenating the above-described SPS HARQ codebooks.
The terminal may wait a long time until the terminal transmits the first UL channel. In this case, the terminal may not transmit the SPS HARQ-ACK according to traffic delay conditions. In order to solve this problem, the base station may schedule a UL channel to the terminal by using an additional DCI… Method 5.7-11: A time window may be indicated to a terminal, and the terminal may transmit an SPS HARQ-ACK on the next UL channel within the time window. In this case, transmission of the SPS HARQ-ACK may be deferred. The terminal may not multiplex the SPS HARQ-ACK outside the time window. Alternatively, the terminal may consider the SPS HARQ-ACK as NACK outside the time window, and may multiplex the NACK).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the system of Schober in order to efficiently determine HARQ timing for transmission. Utilizing such teachings enable the base station to schedule a UL channel to the terminal by using an additional DCI (¶0434).
Regarding Claim 30, Schober teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (NTCRM) comprising instructions that, upon execution of the instructions by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), are to cause the UE to:
identify a received downlink (DL) semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration information element (IE) (¶0031 & Fig. 3; UE 330 may be configured to operate in an unlicensed spectrum and/or may be configured to receive an indication (e.g., a parameter Inapplicable-DL-SPS-timing) configured to enable/activate HARQ feedback transmission for DL SPS data transmission based on an applicable HARQ feedback timing provided by a later second DL control signal in some embodiments. Also see ¶0022-¶0027);
identify, based on an indication to enable postponing of the HARQ feedback (¶0023; An NN-K1 value may be referred to as an “inapplicable” timing indication, while a regular numerical K1 value may be referred to as an “applicable” timing indication. These values may enable postponed HARQ feedback transmissions for at least one DL data transmission, e.g., a PDSCH scheduled in the end of a channel occupancy time (COT), where the processing time by a user equipment (UE) would be insufficient to report HARQ feedback (e.g., ACK or NACK) in PUCCH within the same COT as the corresponding PDSCH) in the SPS-Config IE, that the UE is to enable postponing transmission of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback (Fig. 3 & ¶0031-¶0039; indication (e.g., a parameter Inapplicable-DL-SPS-timing) configured to enable/activate HARQ feedback transmission for DL SPS data transmission or time offset indication. Also see ¶0022-¶0027; see NN-K1 indication. Also see Table 00001 provides examples to many different types of indicators including resrouceid, time offset, new data indicator etc.);
and postpone, based on the SPS-Config, the transmission of the HARQ feedback (Fig. 3 & ¶0031-¶0039. Also see ¶0022-¶0027; the base station could configure, for example, the periodicity of downlink assignments, the number of HARQ processes, and PUCCH resources for HARQ feedback, to the UE, for example, in a SPS configuration information element (IE) SPS-Config, such as provided as follows:
TABLE-US-00001 - SPS-Config The IE SPS-Config is used to configure downlink semi-persistent transmission. Downlink SPS may be configured on the SpCell as well as on SCells. The network ensures SPS-Config is configured for at most one cell in a cell group. SPS-Config information element -- ASN1START -- TAG-SPS-CONFIG-START SPS-Config ::= SEQUENCE [ periodicity ENUMERATED [ms10, ms20, ms32, ms40, ms64, ms80, ms128, ms160, ms320, ms640, spare6, spare5, spare4, spare3, spare2, spare1}, nrofHARQ-Processes INTEGER (1..8), n1PUCCH-AN PUCCH-ResourceId OPTIONAL, -- Need M mcs-Table ENUMERATED {qam64LowSE} OPTIONAL, -- Need S ... } -- TAG-SPS-CONFIG-STOP -- ASN1STOP).
Schober does not expressly teach “…by modifying a K1 value signaled in the SPS-Config until a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource can be mapped without dropping, and postpone the transmission until subsequent downlink control information (DCI) indicates an applicable HARQ feedback timing”
Kim teaches “…modify a K1 value signaled in the SPS-Config until a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource can be mapped without dropping” (¶0405-¶0412; according to an SPS-Config configured to the terminal, a PUCCH resource may be indicated, and a set of (sub)slot offsets of the PUCCH (e.g., dl-DataToUL-ACK, RRC parameter(s) based on dl-DataToUL-ACK, K1 set) may be considered. One value may be indicated to the terminal by an activating DCI, and a (sub)slot in which the SPS PUCCH is transmitted may be determined. Therefore, in consideration of a subset consisting only of values greater than the value indicated by the activating DCI, the terminal may select the smallest value for which the SPS PUCCH can be transmitted from the corresponding subset…When the terminal cannot find the above-mentioned value (e.g., when the corresponding subset is empty or when all elements of the subset indicate only invalid SPS PUCCH), the terminal may drop the SPS PUCCH. Alternatively, the terminal may multiplex the SPS HARQ-ACK in a PUSCH or PUCCH appearing later than the greatest value among the elements of the subset…For example, the K1 set may have 16 values. In the activating DCI, an arbitrary value (e.g., the fourth value) belonging to the K1 set may be used. The terminal may not be able to transmit the SPS PUCCH based on the fourth value. In this case, the terminal may select the smallest value for which the SPS PUCCH can be transmitted from among values greater than the fourth value in the K1 set. The corresponding value may be obtained from the K1 set. Alternatively, if the SPS PUCCH cannot be transmitted with respect to all values belonging to the K1 set, the terminal may select the first PUCCH or PUSCH so as to transmit the SPS PUCCH at a value greater than the corresponding value, and may multiplex the SPS HARQ-ACK belonging to the SPS PUCCH in the PUCCH or PUSCH).
and postpone based on the SPS config, the transmission until subsequent downlink control information (DCI) indicates an applicable HARQ feedback timing (the citation above. Also see ¶0433-¶0436; timing of the SPS PUCCH may be changed from the (sub)slot m to the (sub)slot n. In this case, the terminal may generate an SPS HARQ codebook (e.g., SPS HARQ codebook whose feedback timing is changed) associated with the (sub)slot m, generate an SPS HARQ codebook (e.g., SPS HARQ codebook whose feedback timing is not changed) associated with the (sub)slot n, and transmit a HARQ codebook by concatenating the above-described SPS HARQ codebooks.
The terminal may wait a long time until the terminal transmits the first UL channel. In this case, the terminal may not transmit the SPS HARQ-ACK according to traffic delay conditions. In order to solve this problem, the base station may schedule a UL channel to the terminal by using an additional DCI… Method 5.7-11: A time window may be indicated to a terminal, and the terminal may transmit an SPS HARQ-ACK on the next UL channel within the time window. In this case, transmission of the SPS HARQ-ACK may be deferred. The terminal may not multiplex the SPS HARQ-ACK outside the time window. Alternatively, the terminal may consider the SPS HARQ-ACK as NACK outside the time window, and may multiplex the NACK).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the system of Schober in order to efficiently determine HARQ timing for transmission. Utilizing such teachings enable the base station to schedule a UL channel to the terminal by using an additional DCI (¶0434).
Claims 3 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schober-Kim in view of Tsai et al. (hereinafter TSAI) US 2023/0371039 A1.
Regarding Claims 3 & 29, Schober teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 1, Schober teaches wherein the SPS-Config IE includes a set of pairs of {substitute physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource, time offset} for the HARQ feedback from which the UE is to select the substitute PUCCH resources (see Tables 00001, 2 & ¶0024-¶0029; set of PUCCH resrouces. Also see resroucedid and periodicity enumerated “time offset.” Also, note that PUCCH resource in a slot or sub-slot used for SPS HARQ feedback may be provided by a RRC parameter, such as n1PUCCH-AN in 3GPP Rel-15. In 3GPP Rel-16, where a UE can have more than one active SPS PDSCH configuration, a parameter (e.g., SPS-PUCCH-AN-List) can provide the UE with a set of PUCCH resources, which would then determine the PUCCH resource to be used based on the payload size of uplink control information (UCI). Alternatively, if HARQ feedback for SPS PDSCH is multiplexed with HARQ feedback for dynamic PDSCH, such as where both feedbacks are transmitted in the same slot, the PUCCH resource would be determined based on the DCI scheduling dynamic PDSCH),
Schober does not expressly teach one-by-one, starting from a first pair of the set of pairs until finding one of the substitute resources which does not collide with a DL symbol. However, this limitation is suggested from the cited paragraphs above because a payload size of UCI is used to determined which PUCCH resource out of the set of PUCCH resources to be used. Despite that Examiner cites to additional art.
Tsai teaches one-by-one, starting from a first pair of the set of pairs until finding one of the substitute resources which does not collide with a DL symbol (¶0096; maximum number of scheduled PDSCHs can be configured by the higher layer (e.g., RRC) parameter. Therefore, UE 102 knows the maximum number of the scheduled PDSCHs and (e.g., consecutive) slots by a single DCI when monitoring PDCCH. UE 102 may perform DCI in a search space associated with a CORESET for the first scheduled PDSCH. UE 102 may determine if there is more than one PDSCH will be scheduled via the last packet indicator in DCI format 1_0/1_1. If the value of the “last packet indicator” is set to one, then UE 102 may determine this is the last PDSCH. Otherwise, UE 102 decodes the PDCCH for the next scheduled PDSCH in time-frequency allocated resource of the scheduled PDSCH. The allocated resource for the PDCCH in the scheduled PDSCH time-frequency allocated resource may be based on a pre-defined rule specified in the standard specification. The PDCCH in the scheduled PDSCH's time-frequency allocated resource may use the same coding scheme (e.g., polar coding) and with its own modulation scheme (e.g., QPSK). The TCI state for the PDCCH in the time-frequency allocated resource of the scheduled PDSCH may be the same with the PDSCH, as shown in FIG. 3. The K.sub.0 value in TDRA field for the PDCCH in time-frequency allocated resource of the scheduled PDSCH can be omitted. This is because the allocated slot/slots for the next scheduled PDSCH may be based on the higher layer (e.g., RRC) configuration. For example, the next scheduled PDSCH may be transmitted at the next consecutive slot. In addition, the maximum number of scheduled PDSCHs is configured by higher layer, therefore, UE 102 may determine the maximum number slots which will be allocated if there are multiple PDSCHs to be scheduled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Tsai into the system of Schober-Kim in order to reduce the number of bits for PDSCH-to-HARQ-timing-indicator in DCI format 1_x field (¶0058). Utilizing such teachings enable the system to determine if the value of the “last packet indicator” is set to one, then UE 102 may determine this is the last PDSCH. Otherwise, UE 102 decodes the PDCCH for the next scheduled PDSCH in time-frequency allocated resource of the scheduled PDSCH. The allocated resource for the PDCCH in the scheduled PDSCH time-frequency allocated resource may be based on a pre-defined rule specified in the standard specification (¶0096).
Claims 4-5, 22-23, 27, 31 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schober-Kim and further in view of Ofinno WO 2021/146702 A1.
Claims 4-5, 27 and 31 are well-known in the art and were disclosed in 3GPP Rel. 17. To support Examiner’s decision of well-known in the art. Examiner cites to Ofinno that disclosed that dropping due to collection of PUCCH is existing technologies that is widely used.
Regarding Claims 4, 27 and 31, Schober teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 1, Tsai further teaches wherein the indication that the UE is to enable postponing transmission of HARQ feedback is to cause the UE to postpone the transmission of the HARQ feedback for transmission on a next physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource
Schober do not expressly teach “…that does not result in dropping” However, it is well-known in the art from 3GPP Rel. 17 enhanced over Rel. 15 so that resource does not result in dropping. See instant specification in ¶0025-¶0026 & ¶0042. Despite that Examiner cites to Ofinno.
Ofinno discloses that “…that does not result in dropping” is existing technologies in ¶0408. For example, based on existing technologies, the wireless device may drop/not transmit a PUCCH comprising DL SPS HARQ-ACK if the PUCCH transmission collides with one or more symbols that may not be used for uplink transmission. The one or more symbols may be DL symbols. The one or more symbols may be flexible symbols. For example, semi- static TDD configuration (e.g., TDD-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon, or TDD-UL-DL-ConfigDedicated) may indicate that the one or more symbols are DL symbol(s) and/or flexible symbol(s). For example, a DCI comprising slot format indication (SFI) may indicate that the one or more symbols are DL symbol(s) and/or flexible symbol(s). For a dynamically scheduled PDSCH and corresponding PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK, the network may dynamically determine the time slot and symbols of the PUCCH such that a collision with DL/flexible symbols is avoided, however, for SPS PDSCH with periodic and semi-statically configured PUCCH resources, the collision may be inevitable. In unpaired spectrum, DL heavy configurations and/or multiple SPS configurations may result in frequent dropping of the SPS HARQ-ACK, which may waste the resources, delay the data communication, and degrade the system performance. A system performance may be enhanced by avoiding SPS HARQ-ACK dropping for TDD due to collision of PUCCH with DL/flexible symbols.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Ofinno into the system of Schober-Kim in order to drop/not transmit a PUCCH comprising DL SPS HARQ-ACK if the PUCCH transmission collides with one or more symbols that may not be used for uplink transmission (¶0408).
Regarding Claim 5, Schober teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 1, wherein the SPS-Config IE includes an indication of one or more uplink (UL) (¶0023-¶0039; UE 330 may be configured to operate in an unlicensed spectrum and/or may be configured to receive an indication (e.g., a parameter Inapplicable-DL-SPS-timing) configured to enable/activate HARQ feedback transmission for DL SPS data transmission based on an applicable HARQ feedback timing provided by a later second DL control signal in some embodiments) configured grant configurations with which to multiplex a substitute physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (¶0023-0039; if HARQ feedback for SPS PDSCH is multiplexed with HARQ feedback for dynamic PDSCH, such as where both feedbacks are transmitted in the same slot, the PUCCH resource would be determined based on the DCI scheduling dynamic PDSCH.),
Schober does not expressly teach “…and the one or more UL configured grant configurations are created by dropping of an original PUCCH carrying DL SPS HARQ-ACK” However, it is well-known in the art from 3GPP Rel. 17 enhanced over Rel. 15 so that resource does not result in dropping. See instant specification in ¶0025-¶0026 & ¶0042. Despite that Examiner cites to Ofinno.
Ofinno discloses that “….and the one or more UL configured grant configurations are created by dropping of an original PUCCH carrying DL SPS HARQ-ACK” is existing technologies in ¶0408. For example, based on existing technologies, the wireless device may drop/not transmit a PUCCH comprising DL SPS HARQ-ACK if the PUCCH transmission collides with one or more symbols that may not be used for uplink transmission. The one or more symbols may be DL symbols. The one or more symbols may be flexible symbols. For example, semi- static TDD configuration (e.g., TDD-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon, or TDD-UL-DL-ConfigDedicated) may indicate that the one or more symbols are DL symbol(s) and/or flexible symbol(s). For example, a DCI comprising slot format indication (SFI) may indicate that the one or more symbols are DL symbol(s) and/or flexible symbol(s). For a dynamically scheduled PDSCH and corresponding PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK, the network may dynamically determine the time slot and symbols of the PUCCH such that a collision with DL/flexible symbols is avoided, however, for SPS PDSCH with periodic and semi-statically configured PUCCH resources, the collision may be inevitable. In unpaired spectrum, DL heavy configurations and/or multiple SPS configurations may result in frequent dropping of the SPS HARQ-ACK, which may waste the resources, delay the data communication, and degrade the system performance. A system performance may be enhanced by avoiding SPS HARQ-ACK dropping for TDD due to collision of PUCCH with DL/flexible symbols.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Ofinno into the system of Schober-Kim in order to drop/not transmit a PUCCH comprising DL SPS HARQ-ACK if the PUCCH transmission collides with one or more symbols that may not be used for uplink transmission (¶0408).
Regarding Claim 22, Schober teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 21, Schober further teaches wherein the applying the rule comprises increasing K1 by one or more time units until a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource indicated as part of the SPS-Config IE can be mapped without dropping (¶0022-¶0053; because k1 value is modified and mapped without dropping e.g. PUCCH resources for DL SPS PDSCH may be preconfigured, and the K1 value can be indicated in DL SPS activation DCI. When the UE fails to decode SPS PDSCH correctly, the UE may report a negative-acknowledgement (NACK) to the base station. In response, the base station may dynamically schedule retransmission for the SPS PDSCH. Thus, the UE may also receive dynamically scheduled PDSCHs when the UE has SPS PDSCH configuration activated. In 3GPP NR, out-of-order (000) HARQ is not supported; thus, the UE is not expected to receive a first PDSCH in slot i, with the corresponding HARQ feedback assigned to be transmitted in slot j, and a second PDSCH starting later than the first PDSCH with its corresponding HARQ feedback assigned to be transmitted in a slot before slot j).
Schober does not expressly teach “…without dropping” however, this limitation is suggested because UE 330 may be configured to operate in an unlicensed spectrum and/or may be configured to receive an indication (e.g., a parameter Inapplicable-DL-SPS-timing) configured to enable/activate HARQ feedback transmission for DL SPS data transmission based on an applicable HARQ feedback timing provided by a later second DL control signal.
Moreover, However, it is well-known in the art from 3GPP Rel. 17 enhanced over Rel. 15 so that resource does not result in dropping. See instant specification in ¶0025-¶0026 & ¶0042. Despite that Examiner cites to Ofinno.
Ofinno discloses that “…without dropping” is existing technologies in ¶0408. For example, based on existing technologies, the wireless device may drop/not transmit a PUCCH comprising DL SPS HARQ-ACK if the PUCCH transmission collides with one or more symbols that may not be used for uplink transmission. The one or more symbols may be DL symbols. The one or more symbols may be flexible symbols. For example, semi- static TDD configuration (e.g., TDD-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon, or TDD-UL-DL-ConfigDedicated) may indicate that the one or more symbols are DL symbol(s) and/or flexible symbol(s). For example, a DCI comprising slot format indication (SFI) may indicate that the one or more symbols are DL symbol(s) and/or flexible symbol(s). For a dynamically scheduled PDSCH and corresponding PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK, the network may dynamically determine the time slot and symbols of the PUCCH such that a collision with DL/flexible symbols is avoided, however, for SPS PDSCH with periodic and semi-statically configured PUCCH resources, the collision may be inevitable. In unpaired spectrum, DL heavy configurations and/or multiple SPS configurations may result in frequent dropping of the SPS HARQ-ACK, which may waste the resources, delay the data communication, and degrade the system performance. A system performance may be enhanced by avoiding SPS HARQ-ACK dropping for TDD due to collision of PUCCH with DL/flexible symbols.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Ofinno into the system of Schober-Kim in order to drop/not transmit a PUCCH comprising DL SPS HARQ-ACK if the PUCCH transmission collides with one or more symbols that may not be used for uplink transmission (¶0408).
Regarding Claims 23 & 33, Schober teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 21, Schober further teaches wherein K1 is an offset referred by an index PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback field in a downlink control information (DCI) (obvious from ¶0022-¶0053; because k1 value is modified and indexed. See table 0001 e.g., periodicity enumerated).
Schober does not expressly teach “offset.” However, Ofinno teaches “offset” (¶0246-¶0249; semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) may be supported. For a SPS configuration, a base station may provide a periodicity and/or an offset of the SPS occasions via RRC signaling and/or MAC CE signaling. The base station may transmit a SPS activation DCI via a PDCCH to activate the SPS. In an example, a first SPS activation DCI may comprise activations of one or more SPS configurations. ¶0252; wireless device may provide/send HARQ-ACK information in response to receiving one or more DCIs indicating DL SPS activation and/or release. The wireless device may send the HARQ-ACK information in response to a SPS PDSCH release, e.g., after a time offset from a last symbol of a PDCCH providing the SPS release. The time offset may be one or more (e.g. N) symbols. The time offset may be determined based on a UE processing capability and/or subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH reception).
See above reasons for combining the cited art.
Claim 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schober-Kim and further in view of Alfarhan et al. (hereinafter Alfarhan) US 2023/0074723 A1.
Regarding Claim 6, Schober teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 1, wherein the SPS-Config IE includes an indication of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) occasion associated with an index for HARQ feedback (¶0026-¶0039 & Figs. 3, 10; FIG. 10 discussed below, according to certain embodiments. UE 330 may be configured to operate in an unlicensed spectrum and/or may be configured to receive an indication (e.g., a parameter Inapplicable-DL-SPS-timing) configured to enable/activate HARQ feedback transmission for DL SPS data transmission based on an applicable HARQ feedback timing provided by a later second DL control signal in some embodiments) compression.
Schober does not expressly teach feedback “…compression…”
Alfarhan teaches includes an indication of a PDSCH occasion associated with an index for HARQ feedback compression (¶0118 & Fig. 4b; compression 450 for HARQ feedback). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Alfarhan into the system of Schober-Kim in order to reduce the feedback overhead (¶0118). Utilizing such teachings enable the system to not to report the index of every HARQ-ACK feedback it reports. Id.
Claims 1, 6-8, 21, 24, 26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fakoorian et al. (hereinafter Fakoorian) US 2021/0051634 A1 in view of Tsai et al. (hereinafter TSAI) US 2023/0371039 A1 and further in view of Kim.
Regarding Claim 1, Fakoorian teaches one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media (NTCRM) that, when executed by one or more processors, cause a next generation Node B (gNB) to (Figs. 5-6):
identify that a user equipment (UE) is to enable postponing transmission of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback (¶0060, ¶0063, ¶0069-¶0071, ¶0089 & Figs. 5-6; modifying k1 value suggests postponing transmission of HARQ feedback. For example, the UE may apply the K1 value to all SPS configurations activated by a DCI message, for example, such that the instance in time at which the UE is to transmit HARQ feedback information for each SPS configuration is based on the time at which the UE received the last symbol of DL data associated with the corresponding SPS configuration. For such implementations, the UE may transmit HARQ feedback information for each activated SPS configuration at different times using different PUCCH resources, for example, as discussed with respect to FIG. 5.);
and encode a downlink (DL) semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration information element (IE), SPS-config, for transmission to a UE (¶0044; the base station 102/180 may be configured to jointly activate (and/or to jointly release) multiple semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) configurations and/or multiple uplink configured grant configurations in a single DCI message, and the UE 104 may be configured to decode the DCI message to identify the activated SPS configurations and/or the activated uplink configured grant configurations (198). The UE 104 may also be configured to determine timing information for each of the activated SPS configurations based at least in part on information carried by the single DCI message (198)), wherein the SPS-config IE includes an indication that the UE is to enable postponing transmission of HARQ feedback (¶0063, ¶0069-¶0071, ¶0089 & Figs. 5-6; the UE may apply the K1 value to a selected SPS configuration of the activated SPS configurations to determine the instance in time at which the UE is to transmit HARQ feedback information for the selected SPS configuration, and may transmit HARQ feedback information for the other (non-selected) SPS configurations at the same determined instance in time [indication]. For such implementations, the UE may transmit HARQ feedback information for each activated SPS configuration at the same time using the same PUCCH resources, for example, as discussed with respect to FIG. 6. Figs. 5-6 & ¶0079-¶0094; provide examples e.g., the RRC configuration may define a Type 1 SPS configuration that does not use PDCCH signaling for activation, and may define a Type 2 SPS configuration that is activated using PDCCH signaling).
Fakoorian does not expressly teach “postponing” in the limitations above. However, this limitation is suggested from Figs. 5-6 & ¶0079-¶0094; provide examples of K values at different times which suggests postponing HARQ feedback e.g., the RRC configuration may define a Type 1 SPS configuration that does not use PDCCH signaling for activation, and may define a Type 2 SPS configuration that is activated using PDCCH signaling.
Despite that Examiner cites to Tsai. Tsai teaches that RRC modifies k.sub.1 values in a table. See ¶0058. For example, the number of bits for PDSCH-to-HARQ-timing-indicator in DCI format 1_x field can be reduced. The K.sub.1 value can be referred from a look-up table which it can be configured by the higher layer (e.g., RRC). The look-up table may have more entries than or equal to the 2.sup.b, where b stand for the number of bits for PDSCH-to-HARQ-timing-indicator. The entry in the look-up table for K.sub.1 value can be modified by the higher layer (e.g., RRC). Table 1 discloses possible supported numerologies, symbol, or slot duration for NR from 52.6 GHz and above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Tsai into the system of Fakoorian in order to reduce the number of bits for PDSCH-to-HARQ-timing-indicator in DCI format 1_x field (¶0058). Utilizing such teachings enable the system to determine if the value of the “last packet indicator” is set to one, then UE 102 may determine this is the last PDSCH. Otherwise, UE 102 decodes the PDCCH for the next scheduled PDSCH in time-frequency allocated resource of the scheduled PDSCH. The allocated resource for the PDCCH in the scheduled PDSCH time-frequency allocated resource may be based on a pre-defined rule specified in the standard specification (¶0096).
Fakoorian in view of Tsai does not does not expressly teach “…by modifying a K1 value signaled in the SPS-Config until a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource can be mapped without dropping, and postpone the transmission until subsequent downlink control information (DCI) indicates an applicable HARQ feedback timing”
Kim teaches “…by modifying a K1 value signaled in the SPS-Config until a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource can be mapped without dropping” (¶0405-¶0412; according to an SPS-Config configured to the terminal, a PUCCH resource may be indicated, and a set of (sub)slot offsets of the PUCCH (e.g., dl-DataToUL-ACK, RRC parameter(s) based on dl-DataToUL-ACK, K1 set) may be considered. One value may be indicated to the terminal by an activating DCI, and a (sub)slot in which the SPS PUCCH is transmitted may be determined. Therefore, in consideration of a subset consisting only of values greater than the value indicated by the activating DCI, the terminal may select the smallest value for which the SPS PUCCH can be transmitted from the corresponding subset…When the terminal cannot find the above-mentioned value (e.g., when the corresponding subset is empty or when all elements of the subset indicate only invalid SPS PUCCH), the terminal may drop the SPS PUCCH. Alternatively, the terminal may multiplex the SPS HARQ-ACK in a PUSCH or PUCCH appearing later than the greatest value among the elements of the subset…For example, the K1 set may have 16 values. In the activating DCI, an arbitrary value (e.g., the fourth value) belonging to the K1 set may be used. The terminal may not be able to transmit the SPS PUCCH based on the fourth value. In this case, the terminal may select the smallest value for which the SPS PUCCH can be transmitted from among values greater than the fourth value in the K1 set. The corresponding value may be obtained from the K1 set. Alternatively, if the SPS PUCCH cannot be transmitted with respect to all values belonging to the K1 set, the terminal may select the first PUCCH or PUSCH so as to transmit the SPS PUCCH at a value greater than the corresponding value, and may multiplex the SPS HARQ-ACK belonging to the SPS PUCCH in the PUCCH or PUSCH).
and postpone the transmission until subsequent downlink control information (DCI) indicates an applicable HARQ feedback timing (the citation above. Also see ¶0433-¶0436; timing of the SPS PUCCH may be changed from the (sub)slot m to the (sub)slot n. In this case, the terminal may generate an SPS HARQ codebook (e.g., SPS HARQ codebook whose feedback timing is changed) associated with the (sub)slot m, generate an SPS HARQ codebook (e.g., SPS HARQ codebook whose feedback timing is not changed) associated with the (sub)slot n, and transmit a HARQ codebook by concatenating the above-described SPS HARQ codebooks.
The terminal may wait a long time until the terminal transmits the first UL channel. In this case, the terminal may not transmit the SPS HARQ-ACK according to traffic delay conditions. In order to solve this problem, the base station may schedule a UL channel to the terminal by using an additional DCI… Method 5.7-11: A time window may be indicated to a terminal, and the terminal may transmit an SPS HARQ-ACK on the next UL channel within the time window. In this case, transmission of the SPS HARQ-ACK may be deferred. The terminal may not multiplex the SPS HARQ-ACK outside the time window. Alternatively, the terminal may consider the SPS HARQ-ACK as NACK outside the time window, and may multiplex the NACK).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the system of Fakoorian in view of Tsai in order to efficiently determine HARQ timing for transmission. Utilizing such teachings enable the base station to schedule a UL channel to the terminal by using an additional DCI (¶0434).
Regarding Claim 6, Fakoorian in view of Tsai teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 1, wherein the SPS-Config IE includes an indication of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) occasion associated with an index for HARQ feedback compression (¶0052, ¶0055-¶0056 & ¶0065; the bit sequence may include a codepoint that indicates an index associated with a particular SPS configuration and/or CG configuration to be activated or released, and all SPS configurations and/or CG configurations that are members of the set that includes the particular SPS configuration and/or CG configuration may be jointly activated and/or released by the single DCI message. Additionally, or alternatively, the bit sequence may include a bitmap in which each individual bit corresponds to a particular set, which can be used to indicate multiple sets that are to be jointly activated and/or released. Different configurations may be associated with different sets, and an individual configuration may be activated and/or released based at least in part on whether the bitmap indicates that all sets including the individual configuration are to be activated or released. See ¶0034 & ¶0052 & Fig. 3 for compression).
Regarding Claim 7, Fakoorian in view of Tsai teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 1, Fakoorian teaches wherein the SPS-Config IE includes an indication of an alternate physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource for transmission of the HARQ feedback based on a dynamic trigger (obvious from ¶0044-¶0045, ¶0062-¶0084; UEs are configured with the slot format (dynamically through DL control information (DCI), or semi-statically/statically through radio resource control (RRC) signaling) through a received slot format indicator (SFI). Note that the description infra applies also to a 5G/NR frame structure that is TDD. Also see DCI and different K values for PUCCH. Different parameters and triggers in UCI, see ¶0051 & Fig. 2d).
Regarding Claim 8, Fakoorian in view of Tsai teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 7, Fakoorian teaches wherein the SPS-Config IE includes an indication of enablement or disablement of a downlink control information (DCI) field that schedules the alternate physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource (¶0044, ¶0062-¶0084; see DCI and different K values for PUCCH. Also see ¶0060; Semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) enables radio resources to be semi-statically configured and allocated to a UE for a longer time period than one subframe, which may avoid the need for specific downlink assignment messages and/or uplink grant messages over a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for each subframe. To configure SPS resources, radio resource control (RRC) signaling may indicate an interval at with which the radio resources are periodically assigned, and PDCCH signaling may indicate specific transmission resource allocations in the time/frequency domain and various transmission attributes of the SPS resources (such as periodicity, modulation and control scheme (MCS), time offset, transmit power, and/or the like). Hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes may be used to acknowledge reception of UL data and DL data transmitted on SPS resources. More specifically, a non-adaptive synchronous HARQ process may be used for UL data transmissions, thereby allowing a UE to retransmit data using the same resources and the same MCS that was used for the original or previous UL data transmission. For DL transmissions, an adaptive asynchronous HARQ process may be used, with the MCS indicated on the PDCCH).
Regarding Claim 21, Fakoorian in view of Tsai teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 1, Fakoorian teaches wherein when the postponing is enabled, the UE is instructed to modify a corresponding value K1 signaled as part of the SPS-Config IE by applying a rule (Figs. 5-6, ¶0076; the UE 404 may use values carried in the DCI message (such as K0 and K1 values) to determine timing information for receiving DL data on the PDSCH and for transmitting HARQ feedback information (e.g., ACKs and NACKs) on the PUCCH for each of the activated SPS configurations. ¶0080; the RRC configuration may indicate a different K0 and/or K1 value for each of the different SPS configurations, in which case the DCI message 501 may not include any K0 value. TSAI teaches pre-defined rules in ¶0091).
Regarding Claim 24, Fakoorian in view of Tsai teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 21, Tsai further teaches wherein a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH}-to-HARQ feedback field in a downlink control information (DCI) indicates an index to a table of possible values of K1 (¶0058; see look up table).
Claims 26 and 30 are substantially similar to the above claims, thus the same rationale applies.
Claims 4-5, 22-23, 27 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fakoorian in view of Tsai-Kim and further in view of Ofinno WO 2021/146702 A1.
Claims 4-5 are well-known in the art and were disclosed in 3GPP Rel. 17. To support Examiner’s decision of well-known in the art. Examiner cites to Ofinno that disclosed that dropping due to collection of PUCCH is existing technologies that is widely used.
Regarding Claim 4, Fakoorian in view of Tsai teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 1, Tsai further teaches wherein the indication that the UE is to enable postponing transmission of HARQ feedback is to cause the UE to postpone the transmission of the HARQ feedback for transmission on a next physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource
Fakoorian in view of Tsai do not expressly teach “…that does not result in dropping” However, it is well-known in the art from 3GPP Rel. 17 enhanced over Rel. 15 so that resource does not result in dropping. See instant specification in ¶0025-¶0026 & ¶0042. Despite that Examiner cites to Ofinno.
Ofinno discloses that “…that does not result in dropping” is existing technologies in ¶0408. For example, based on existing technologies, the wireless device may drop/not transmit a PUCCH comprising DL SPS HARQ-ACK if the PUCCH transmission collides with one or more symbols that may not be used for uplink transmission. The one or more symbols may be DL symbols. The one or more symbols may be flexible symbols. For example, semi- static TDD configuration (e.g., TDD-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon, or TDD-UL-DL-ConfigDedicated) may indicate that the one or more symbols are DL symbol(s) and/or flexible symbol(s). For example, a DCI comprising slot format indication (SFI) may indicate that the one or more symbols are DL symbol(s) and/or flexible symbol(s). For a dynamically scheduled PDSCH and corresponding PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK, the network may dynamically determine the time slot and symbols of the PUCCH such that a collision with DL/flexible symbols is avoided, however, for SPS PDSCH with periodic and semi-statically configured PUCCH resources, the collision may be inevitable. In unpaired spectrum, DL heavy configurations and/or multiple SPS configurations may result in frequent dropping of the SPS HARQ-ACK, which may waste the resources, delay the data communication, and degrade the system performance. A system performance may be enhanced by avoiding SPS HARQ-ACK dropping for TDD due to collision of PUCCH with DL/flexible symbols.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Ofinno into the system of Fakoorian in view of Tsai-Kim in order to drop/not transmit a PUCCH comprising DL SPS HARQ-ACK if the PUCCH transmission collides with one or more symbols that may not be used for uplink transmission (¶0408).
Regarding Claim 5, Fakoorian teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 1, wherein the SPS-Config IE includes an indication of one or more uplink (UL) configured grant configurations with which to multiplex a substitute physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (¶0008, ¶0044, ¶0093, ¶0096),
Fakoorian in view of Tsai do not expressly teach “…and the one or more UL configured grant configurations are created by dropping of an original PUCCH carrying DL SPS HARQ-ACK” However, it is well-known in the art from 3GPP Rel. 17 enhanced over Rel. 15 so that resource does not result in dropping. See instant specification in ¶0025-¶0026 & ¶0042. Despite that Examiner cites to Ofinno.
Ofinno discloses that “….and the one or more UL configured grant configurations are created by dropping of an original PUCCH carrying DL SPS HARQ-ACK” is existing technologies in ¶0408. For example, based on existing technologies, the wireless device may drop/not transmit a PUCCH comprising DL SPS HARQ-ACK if the PUCCH transmission collides with one or more symbols that may not be used for uplink transmission. The one or more symbols may be DL symbols. The one or more symbols may be flexible symbols. For example, semi- static TDD configuration (e.g., TDD-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon, or TDD-UL-DL-ConfigDedicated) may indicate that the one or more symbols are DL symbol(s) and/or flexible symbol(s). For example, a DCI comprising slot format indication (SFI) may indicate that the one or more symbols are DL symbol(s) and/or flexible symbol(s). For a dynamically scheduled PDSCH and corresponding PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK, the network may dynamically determine the time slot and symbols of the PUCCH such that a collision with DL/flexible symbols is avoided, however, for SPS PDSCH with periodic and semi-statically configured PUCCH resources, the collision may be inevitable. In unpaired spectrum, DL heavy configurations and/or multiple SPS configurations may result in frequent dropping of the SPS HARQ-ACK, which may waste the resources, delay the data communication, and degrade the system performance. A system performance may be enhanced by avoiding SPS HARQ-ACK dropping for TDD due to collision of PUCCH with DL/flexible symbols.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed limitation to incorporate the teachings of Ofinno into the system of Fakoorian in view of Tsai-Kim in order to drop/not transmit a PUCCH comprising DL SPS HARQ-ACK if the PUCCH transmission collides with one or more symbols that may not be used for uplink transmission (¶0408).
Regarding Claim 22, Fakoorian in view of Tsai teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 21, but do not expressly teach wherein the applying the rule comprises increasing K1 by one or more time units until a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource indicated as part of the SPS- Config IE can be mapped without dropping.
Ofinno teaches wherein the applying the rule comprises increasing K1 by one or more time units until a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource indicated as part of the SPS- Config IE can be mapped without dropping (¶0453; wireless device may append one or more HARQ feedback bits corresponding to one or more postponed SPS PDSCH occasions at the end of a HARQ codebook. For example, the appending may be in an increasing order of DL SPS configuration indexes. For example, the appending may be in an increasing order of time, e.g. from oldest postponed SPS PDSCH occasion to newest postponed SPS PDSCH occasion. [0454] A base station may configure at least two values for HARQ feedback timing of a DL SPS. For example, the base station may configure a first numerical timing value and a second non-numerical timing value. The RRC signaling may configure a non-numerical value for the DL SPS. The base station may configure one or more parameters, e.g. via RRC signaling, indicating that the wireless device may or may not use a non-numerical feedback timing value for HARQ feedback transmission of one or more DL SPSs, e.g. based on a first condition. The activation DCI may indicate the first numerical timing value or the second non-numerical timing value. When configured with at least the non-numerical value, the wireless device may determine to select the first numerical timing value in response to determining a first condition is met. When configured with at least the non-numerical value, the wireless device may determine to select the second non-numerical timing value in response to determining a first condition is not met. The first condition may be that a second DCI indicating a non-numerical HARQ feedback timing value is received, e.g. within a first time window. The first condition may be that a first PUCCH resource indicated by the first numerical timing value is not within a same channel occupancy as the corresponding SPS PDSCH. The first condition may be that a first PUCCH resource indicated by the first numerical timing value is only scheduled for the HARQ feedback transmission of the corresponding SPS PDSCH, e.g. and no other UL data/control information (e.g. SR/CSI report/other HARQ feedback information). In response to selecting the first numerical feedback timing value, the wireless device may transmit the HARQ feedback of the SPS PDSCH via the first PUCCH resource. In response to selecting the second non-numerical feedback timing value, the wireless device may not transmit the HARQ feedback of the SPS PDSCH via the first PUCCH resource. In response to selecting the second non-numerical feedback timing value, the wireless device may wait for a third DCI comprising a third numerical feedback timing value, wherein the third numerical feedback timing value indicates a second PUCCH resource. The wireless device may transmit the HARQ feedback of the SPS PDSCH via the second PUCCH resource).
See above reasons for combining the cited art.
Regarding Claim 23, Fakoorian in view of Tsai teaches the one or more NTCRM of claim 21, but do not expressly teach one or more NTCRM of claim 21, wherein K1 is an offset referred by an index physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH}-to-HARQ feedback field in a downlink control information (DCI).
Ofinno teaches one or more NTCRM of claim 21, wherein K1 is an offset referred by an index physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH}-to-HARQ feedback field in a downlink control information (DCI) (¶0246-¶0247; downlink, semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) may be supported. For a SPS configuration, a base station may provide a periodicity and/or an offset of the SPS occasions via RRC signaling and/or MAC CE signaling. The base station may transmit a SPS activation DCI via a PDCCH to activate the SPS. In an example, a first SPS activation DCI may comprise activations of one or more SPS configurations. The wireless device may use a first RNTI, e.g. CS-RNTI and/or C-RNTI for the SPS activation DCI. The SPS activation DCI may carry resource allocation information, e.g., time domain allocation, frequency domain allocation, BWP indicator, PRB bundling size indicator, CSI-RS trigger, MCS, NDI, DAI, and one or more first parameters for HARQ-ACK feedback, e.g., PDSCH-to-HARQ- feedback timing, CBGTI, and CBGFI, and one or more second parameters to support transmissions e.g., antenna ports, TCI, SRS request, power control, etc).
See above reasons for combining the cited art.
Claims 27 and 31 are substantially similar to the above claims, thus the same rationale applies.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MAHRAN ABU ROUMI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2455
/MAHRAN Y ABU ROUMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455