DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 02 Feb 2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 20, and 31 have been amended, claims 7-9, 14-15, 19, 24-25, and 28-29 have been canceled, and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-6, 10-13, 16-18, 20-23, 26-27, and 30-32 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 02 Feb 2026, with respect to the objection to claim 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to claim 20 has been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
The claim interpretations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) are maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 02 Feb 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 31 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Rogers et al. (US 20200129077 A1), hereinafter Rogers, as explained in further detail below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“a plurality of modules for physiological monitoring, at least two of the plurality of modules including one or more optical sensors for physiological monitoring” in claims 1 (line 2) and 31 (line 2) – paragraph [0243]
“an infrastructure component coupled to the garment for using the module in a physiological monitoring system” in claims 1 (line 13) and 31 (line 14) – paragraph [0240]
“a synchronization component for synchronizing signals among two or more of the plurality of modules” in claims 1 (line 15) and 31 (line 16) – paragraph [0303]
“two or more modules …configured to monitor a different physiological parameter “ in claim 8 – paragraph [0243]
“a communication system” in claim 12 – paragraphs [0231]-[0233]
“a timing device for synchronizing signals from two or more modules” in claim 16 – paragraph [0249], “a beacon or clock for synchronizing signals among multiple modules”
“a corresponding attachment mechanism” in claim 31 – paragraph [0182], “the pocket 1002 may be removeable from the article of clothing 1004, and retained in a removable and replaceably manner on the article of clothing using an attachment mechanism such hook-and-loop fasteners, adhesive tapes, zippers, snaps, buckles, cuff links, and the like.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10-13, 16-18, 20-23, 26-27, and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connor (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0307314 A1, previously cited) in view of Rogers et al. (US 20200129077 A1), hereinafter Rogers.
Regarding claim 1, Connor discloses a system (Fig. 1, circumferential array of electromyographic sensors) comprising:
a plurality of modules for physiological monitoring (Fig. 1, paragraph [0060], electromyographic sensors 101-106), the plurality of modules including one or more optical sensors for physiological monitoring (paragraph [0121] lists examples of types of optical sensors);
a garment (paragraphs [0074], [0189], electromyographic clothing) having a plurality of mounting fixtures each shaped and sized to removably and replaceably receive one of the plurality of modules (paragraphs [0086], [0089], [0189]), wherein
each of the plurality of mounting fixtures is positioned to retain one of the plurality of modules at a location on a wearer of the garment (paragraph [0189]), and
each of the plurality of mounting fixtures is configured to retain the one of the plurality of modules with a predetermined contact force against a skin of the wearer (paragraphs [0176], [0199], [0223]);
an infrastructure component coupled to the garment for using the plurality of modules in a physiological monitoring system (paragraph [0064], energy source 203, data processor 204, data transmitter 205; paragraphs [0079], [0086], [0093]-[0094] electroconductive material; paragraph [0213], battery; paragraph [0124], wireless data receiver and wireless data transmitter; paragraph [0124], data processor; paragraphs [0119], [0125], [0213]); and
a processor coupled in a communicating relationship with the plurality of modules (Fig. 2, paragraph [0064], data processor 204) and configured to adapt a data acquisition algorithm applied to data from the one or more optical sensors based on the location (paragraphs [0021], [0054], [0061]; “pattern recognition” and "virtually correct[ing]" (paragraph [0061]) are analogous to “adapt[ing] processing”).
Connor does not specifically disclose that at least two of the plurality of modules includes one or more optical sensors. Connor also does not disclose that the infrastructure component includes a synchronization component for synchronizing signals among two or more of the plurality of modules that include optical sensors, and that are positioned at different body locations. Connor does not disclose that the processor is configured to obtain synchronous optical measurements from the two or more modules based on the synchronization component and to perform a differential analysis of a physiological parameter based on the synchronous optical measurements from the two or more of the plurality of modules.
However, Rogers teaches an apparatus and a method that reliably and accurately determine blood pressure in a living animal using patch-like sensors systems (paragraph [0008]) comprising:
one or more optical sensors (Fig. 2B, paragraph [0115], sensor member 163 including an optical PPG sensor);
a synchronization component (Fig. 2B, paragraph [0099], MCU 190) configured to:
synchronize a local clock for each of the plurality of modules to timing data from a timing reference (paragraph [0127], "The secondary radio protocol will allow one of the sensors to act as the central hub to broadcast the local clock based on its crystal oscillator to create a common clock within the network. Every sensor can have a local clock running and will adjust the local clock value based on the broadcasted clock value. The central hub can additionally communicate with the base station (including, for example, a remote reader or a receiver) to synchronize its local clock to the base station's clock."), and
add time stamps to measurements from each of the plurality of modules based on synchronization of corresponding local clocks for each of the plurality of modules to the timing reference (paragraph [0127], "The common clock can timestamp all of the signals captured through the sensors that the private star network uses allowing novel algorithms that depend on a common clock to be used in our sensor system"); and
a processor (Fig. 2B, paragraph [0099], MCU 190) configured to:
obtain optical measurements from the two or more of the plurality of modules (paragraph [0099], "each of the first sensor system 110 and the second sensor system 150 is in wireless communication with the MCU 190 via a wireless transmission protocol")
synchronize the optical measurements based on the time stamps provided by the synchronization component (paragraph [0099], "a first sensor system 110 and a second sensor system 150 that are time-synchronized to each other ... Specifically, the term “time-synchronized” (or “time-synced”) refers to measurement of a parameter by different sensors, at different locations, that are synchronized in time to allow for measurement of novel physiological parameters. Examples include master-slave linked sensor systems that allow for time-synced measurements. Any of a range of time-synched methods are compatible, so long at the ability to measure ?T, and the PAT, from two spatially-separated systems, is preserved. Examples include time-stamped data, mother-daughter and master-slave."), and
perform a differential analysis of a physiological parameter based on synchronous optical measurements from the two or more of the plurality of modules (paragraph [0100], "The MCU 190 is configured to receive output signals of the first sensor system 110 and the second sensor system 150, process the output signals to determine a pulse arrival time (PAT) as a time delay ?t between detection of the first signal (e.g., the heartbeat signal) and detection of the second signal (e.g., the pulse signal). Once the PAT is determined, the MCU 190 may then determine a PWV based on the PAT and a pulse arrival distance L between the first 410 and the second position 420.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Connor with the teachings of Rogers to include one or more optical sensors; a synchronization component configured to synchronize a local clock for each of the plurality of modules to timing data from a timing reference, and add time stamps to measurements from each of the plurality of modules based on synchronization of corresponding local clocks for each of the plurality of modules to the timing reference; and a processor configured to obtain optical measurements from the two or more of the plurality of modules, synchronize the optical measurements based on the time stamps provided by the synchronization component, and to perform a differential analysis of a physiological parameter based on synchronous optical measurements from the two or more of the plurality of modules, because doing so provides an improved analytical model for blood pressure in applications including consumer health and clinical medicine (Rogers, paragraphs [0182]-[0194]).
Regarding claim 2, the system of claim 1 is obvious over Connor and Rogers, as explained above. Connor further discloses that at least one of the plurality of modules includes a fixture for attaching to an adjustable wrist strap configured to secure the one of the plurality of modules as a wrist-worn physiological monitor (paragraphs [0020], [0027]-[0028], [0065], [0189]).
Regarding claim 3, the system of claim 1 is obvious over Connor and Rogers, as explained above. Connor further discloses that at least one of the plurality of modules with optical sensors detects the location and adapts a data acquisition algorithm applied to data from the one or more optical sensors based on the location (paragraphs [0021], [0054], [0061]; “a data acquisition algorithm” is analogous to “assigning different sensing roles to different electromyographic sensors around the circumference of the selected body member” (paragraph [0054]); “detecting the location” is analogous to “pattern recognition…in order to identify which sensors are at which polar coordinates around a person’s arm” (paragraph [0061])).
Regarding claim 4, the system of claim 1 is obvious over Connor and Rogers, as explained above. Connor further discloses that at least one of the mounting fixtures includes a window facilitating direct physical contact between a sensing region of one of the plurality of modules and the wearer (paragraphs [0188], “one or more holes or openings…allow an attachable electromyographic sensor to have direct contact with a person's skin when the sensor is attached over the hole”; paragraph [0192], “one or more openings, holes, or discontinuities in the interior surface of a fabric channel which enable a sensor within the channel to be in direct contact with the wearer's skin at one or more selected locations”).
Regarding claim 5, the system of claim 1 is obvious over Connor and Rogers, as explained above. Connor further discloses that at least one of the plurality of mounting fixtures is positioned within an elastic band of the garment (paragraph [0192]).
Regarding claim 6, the system of claim 1 is obvious over Connor and Rogers, as explained above. Connor further discloses that at least one of the plurality of mounting fixtures is positioned over an artery of the wearer (paragraphs [0020]-[0021], [0060], device can be worn around a person’s wrist), suitable for acquiring photoplethysmography data (paragraphs [0121], [0141]).
Regarding claim 10, the system of claim 1 is obvious over Connor and Rogers, as explained above. Connor further discloses that the garment further includes a location identifier for each of the plurality of mounting fixtures (paragraph [0082]).
Regarding claim 11, the system of claim 1 is obvious over Connor and Rogers, as explained above. Connor further discloses that the garment further includes a power supply for one or more of the plurality of modules (paragraph [0213], battery).
Regarding claim 12, the system of claim 1 is obvious over Connor and Rogers, as explained above. Connor further discloses that the garment further includes a communication system (paragraph [0124], wireless data receiver and wireless data transmitter).
Regarding claim 13, the system of claim 1 is obvious over Connor and Rogers, as explained above. Connor further discloses that the garment further includes a wired intra-garment network (paragraphs [0079], [0093]-[0094]).
Regarding claim 16, the system of claim 1 is obvious over Connor and Rogers, as explained above. Connor further discloses that the synchronization component includes a timing device for synchronizing signals from the two or more of the plurality of modules that include optical sensors (paragraphs [0119], [0125], [0213]).
Regarding claim 17, the system of claim 1 is obvious over Connor and Rogers, as explained above. Although Connor discloses recording measurements from multiple locations, which requires synchronizing signals (paragraph [0125]), Connor does not disclose that the synchronization component includes a beacon for synchronizing signals from the two or more of the plurality of modules that include optical sensors.
However, Rogers further teaches that the synchronization component includes a beacon for synchronizing signals among the two or more of the plurality of modules that include optical sensors (paragraph [0127], " the time synchronization between the first and second sensor systems 110 and 150 can be achieved utilizing a multiprotocol functionality that incorporates a secondary 2.4 Ghz radio protocol other than Bluetooth to create a private star network among the network of sensors. The secondary radio protocol will allow one of the sensors to act as the central hub to broadcast the local clock based on its crystal oscillator to create a common clock within the network. Every sensor can have a local clock running and will adjust the local clock value based on the broadcasted clock value.").
Regarding claim 18, the system of claim 1 is obvious over Connor and Rogers, as explained above. Connor further discloses that the physiological monitoring system monitors one or more of a heart rate (paragraph [0122], electrocardiogram sensor; paragraph [0123], cardiovascular sensor, pulse sensor, heart rate sensor), a body temperature (paragraph [0123], body and skin temperature sensors), a muscle activity (paragraphs [0009], [0020], [0027], [0060], [0078]), and a respiration rate (paragraph [0122], breathing rate monitor, respiration rate monitor, respiratory function monitor).
Regarding claim 20, the system of claim 1 is obvious over Connor and Rogers, as explained above. Connor further discloses a remote processing resource coupled in a communicating relationship with the plurality of modules in the garment (paragraph [0217], data transmitting unit transmits data to a remote data processing unit), the remote processing resource configured to receive data from the plurality of modules including the location of each of the plurality of modules and physiological data from one or more optical sensors for each of the two or more modules with optical sensors (paragraph [0217]), the remote processing resource further configured to adapt processing of the physiological data from the one or more optical sensors based on the location of each of the two or more modules with optical sensors (paragraphs [0021], [0054], [0061]; “pattern recognition” and "virtually correct[ing]" (paragraph [0061]) are analogous to “adapt[ing] processing”); paragraphs [0217], remote data processing unit analyze both motion data and electromagnetic energy data).
Regarding claim 21, the system of claim 1 is obvious over Connor and Rogers, as explained above. Connor further discloses a plurality of garments each providing data from at least one garment-coupled module to the processor (paragraphs [0216]-[0217], one or more articles of clothing or clothing accessories and a plurality of motion and electromyographic sensors attached to the articles of clothing and clothing accessories).
Regarding claim 22, the system of claim 1 is obvious over Connor and Rogers, as explained above. Connor further discloses the processor is configured to detect the location of the module (paragraphs [0021], [0054], [0061]) and adapt processing of data from one or more optical sensors of each of the two or more modules with optical sensors according to the location (paragraphs [0021], [0054], [0061]).
Regarding claim 23, the system of claim 1 is obvious over Connor and Rogers, as explained above. Connor further discloses that the processor is configured to detect the location of the module (paragraphs [0021], [0054], [0061]) and select a motion-based activity recognition model based on the location (paragraph [0211]).
Regarding claim 26, the system of claim 1 is obvious over Connor and Rogers, as explained above. Connor further discloses that the plurality of modules include modules configured to monitor two or more different physiological parameters (paragraph [0144]), each one of the plurality of modules including one or more of an optical sensor (paragraph [0121]), a light emitting diode (paragraph [0215]), an accelerometer (paragraph [0120]), a gyroscope (paragraph [0120]), a conductivity sensor (paragraph [0122], bioimpedance sensor, impedance sensor, skin conductance sensor, skin impedance sensor), a capacitive sensor (paragraph [0104], cEMG sensor), a skin temperature sensor (paragraph [0123]), and an environmental sensor (paragraph [0122], last sentence; paragraph [0158], environmental moisture and/or humidity level).
Regarding claim 27, the system of claim 1 is obvious over Connor and Rogers, as explained above. Connor further discloses that one of the plurality of modules includes the infrastructure component (Fig. 3, paragraph [0066], primary electronics housing 303).
Regarding claim 30, the system of claim 1 is obvious over Connor and Rogers, as explained above. Connor further discloses that the plurality of mounting fixtures includes at least one pocket configured to retain one of the plurality of modules in a position (paragraphs [0086], [0089], [0189]) for monitoring during physical activity of the wearer (paragraphs [0082]-[0083], [0192].
Regarding claim 31, Connor discloses a system (Fig. 1, circumferential array of electromyographic sensors) comprising:
a plurality of modules for physiological monitoring (Fig. 1, paragraph [0060], electromyographic sensors 101-106), the plurality of modules including one or more optical sensors for physiological monitoring (paragraph [0121] lists examples of types of optical sensors);
a garment (paragraphs [0074], [0189], electromyographic clothing) having a plurality of mounting fixtures each shaped and sized to removably and replaceably receive one of the plurality of modules (paragraphs [0086], [0089], [0189]), wherein
each of the plurality of mounting fixtures is positioned to retain one of the plurality of modules at a location on a wearer of the garment (paragraph [0189]), and
each of the plurality of mounting fixtures is configured to retain the one of the plurality of modules with a predetermined contact force against a skin of the wearer (paragraphs [0176], [0199], [0223]);
each of the one or more mounting fixtures is removable from and replaceable to one of the one or more garments with a corresponding attachment mechanism (paragraph [0170], "the location of the second portion can be moved with respect to the first portion ... the second portion can be reversibly-attached to the first portion ... the second portion can be attached to the first portion by one or more attachment mechanisms");
an infrastructure component coupled to the garment for using the plurality of modules in a physiological monitoring system (paragraph [0064], energy source 203, data processor 204, data transmitter 205; paragraphs [0079], [0086], [0093]-[0094] electroconductive material; paragraph [0213], battery; paragraph [0124], wireless data receiver and wireless data transmitter; paragraph [0124], data processor; paragraphs [0119], [0125], [0213]); and
a processor coupled in a communicating relationship with the plurality of modules (Fig. 2, paragraph [0064], data processor 204) and configured to adapt a data acquisition algorithm applied to data from the one or more optical sensors based on the location (paragraphs [0021], [0054], [0061]; “pattern recognition” and "virtually correct[ing]" (paragraph [0061]) are analogous to “adapt[ing] processing”).
Connor does not specifically disclose that at least two of the plurality of modules includes one or more optical sensors. Connor also does not disclose that the infrastructure component includes a synchronization component for synchronizing signals among two or more of the plurality of modules that include optical sensors, and that are positioned at different body locations. Connor does not disclose that the processor is configured to obtain synchronous optical measurements from the two or more modules based on the synchronization component and to perform a differential analysis of a physiological parameter based on the synchronous optical measurements from the two or more of the plurality of modules.
However, Rogers teaches an apparatus and a method that reliably and accurately determine blood pressure in a living animal using patch-like sensors systems (paragraph [0008]) comprising:
one or more optical sensors (Fig. 2B, paragraph [0115], sensor member 163 including an optical PPG sensor);
a synchronization component (Fig. 2B, paragraph [0099], MCU 190) configured to:
synchronize a local clock for each of the plurality of modules to timing data from a timing reference (paragraph [0127], "The secondary radio protocol will allow one of the sensors to act as the central hub to broadcast the local clock based on its crystal oscillator to create a common clock within the network. Every sensor can have a local clock running and will adjust the local clock value based on the broadcasted clock value. The central hub can additionally communicate with the base station (including, for example, a remote reader or a receiver) to synchronize its local clock to the base station's clock."), and
add time stamps to measurements from each of the plurality of modules based on synchronization of corresponding local clocks for each of the plurality of modules to the timing reference (paragraph [0127], "The common clock can timestamp all of the signals captured through the sensors that the private star network uses allowing novel algorithms that depend on a common clock to be used in our sensor system"); and
a processor (Fig. 2B, paragraph [0099], MCU 190) configured to:
obtain optical measurements from the two or more of the plurality of modules (paragraph [0099], "each of the first sensor system 110 and the second sensor system 150 is in wireless communication with the MCU 190 via a wireless transmission protocol")
synchronize the optical measurements based on the time stamps provided by the synchronization component (paragraph [0099], "a first sensor system 110 and a second sensor system 150 that are time-synchronized to each other ... Specifically, the term “time-synchronized” (or “time-synced”) refers to measurement of a parameter by different sensors, at different locations, that are synchronized in time to allow for measurement of novel physiological parameters. Examples include master-slave linked sensor systems that allow for time-synced measurements. Any of a range of time-synched methods are compatible, so long at the ability to measure ?T, and the PAT, from two spatially-separated systems, is preserved. Examples include time-stamped data, mother-daughter and master-slave."), and
perform a differential analysis of a physiological parameter based on synchronous optical measurements from the two or more of the plurality of modules (paragraph [0100], "The MCU 190 is configured to receive output signals of the first sensor system 110 and the second sensor system 150, process the output signals to determine a pulse arrival time (PAT) as a time delay ?t between detection of the first signal (e.g., the heartbeat signal) and detection of the second signal (e.g., the pulse signal). Once the PAT is determined, the MCU 190 may then determine a PWV based on the PAT and a pulse arrival distance L between the first 410 and the second position 420.").
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Connor with the teachings of Rogers to include one or more optical sensors; a synchronization component configured to synchronize a local clock for each of the plurality of modules to timing data from a timing reference, and add time stamps to measurements from each of the plurality of modules based on synchronization of corresponding local clocks for each of the plurality of modules to the timing reference; and a processor configured to obtain optical measurements from the two or more of the plurality of modules, synchronize the optical measurements based on the time stamps provided by the synchronization component, and to perform a differential analysis of a physiological parameter based on synchronous optical measurements from the two or more of the plurality of modules, because doing so provides an improved analytical model for blood pressure in applications including consumer health and clinical medicine (Rogers, paragraphs [0182]-[0194]).
Regarding claim 32, the system of claim 31 is obvious over Connor and Rogers, as explained above. Connor further discloses that the corresponding attachment mechanism includes a hook-and-loop fastener (paragraph [0170], "the second portion can be attached to the first portion by one or more attachment mechanisms selected from the group consisting of: hook-and-eye (e.g. Velcro™)").
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE SISON/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/Jennifer Pitrak McDonald/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796