DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues on page 8 that Harvey does not disclose, “ the battery assembly 100 (which the Office equates to the claimed "portable device") is not "supplying power to the external load device (which the Office equates to power equipment 280) and providing network connectivity to the external device (which the Office equates to the dashboard 240) in order to connect the external device to the internet, and wherein the external load device and the external device are separate devices,"
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Harvey discloses the portable device (battery assembly 100, fig. 1, 10-11) which is capable of supplying power to the external load (paragraph [0031]) and is also capable of communicating with the mobile device (external device) through the cellular (internet) network (paragraph [0047]). Harvey discloses in fig. 12, the portable device (100) is providing power to the equipment (302) and also provides the connectivity to external devices (312) through the internet network 308 (the network 308 includes the Internet, paragraph [0057]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 13-18,21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harvey et al. (US 2022/0314819), herein after Harvey and Bonilla (US 2018/0375349).
Regarding claim 1, Harvey discloses a portable charging system with network capabilities (fig. 12), the system comprising:
a portable device (100, figs. 12 & 17) including a rechargeable battery (105 is the part of battery assembly 100, fig. 1, 18 204 is the battery cells in the battery pack 105, paragraph [0036]) configured to supply a type of power to at least one external load device via a power output , wherein the type of power is configured to charge the external load device (the battery pack 105 includes a connector 219 to electrically couple the battery pack 105 (and battery assembly 100) to external devices, paragraph [0036]), and
a portable device transceiver (214, fig. 17) configured to provide network connectivity to an external device to form a mesh network with at least one other portable device and without connecting to a central access point (the transceiver 214 is capable of connecting with the battery assembly 100 (transceiver without connecting to the central access point, fig. 17; The battery assembly 100 can then communicate wirelessly with multiple other devices, including power equipment, chargers, one or more battery assemblies 100, and/or cellular devices in a mesh network, paragraph [0053])), wherein the power output is isolated from the portable device transceiver (the electrical connector 219 and transceiver 214 is isolated, fig. 18) in order to prevent unapproved access to the network (The NFC tag reader (form of transceiver on the battery assembly 100) 199 can communicate with the battery management circuit 200, which will prevent (e.g., block) or restrict electricity transmission between the battery assembly 100 and the piece of unauthorized or damaged equipment, regardless of whether an adequate electrical connection is formed between the connector 219 and the equipment interface 192, paragraph [0045]), and
a single housing (100, fig. 1) containing the rechargeable battery (battery pack 105, fig. 1), the power output (the electrical connector 219, fig. 18), and the portable device transceiver (214, fig. 17Note: fig. 1, 12, 17-18 is the part of single embodiment; where 1, 17-18 is the main embodiment and fig. 12 is an example).
Harvey further discloses the portable device is configured to operate in:
a mode wherein the portable device is providing network connectivity to the external device in order to connect the external device to the internet and is not supplying power to the external device (the portable device 100’ is only provide network connectivity to the external devices 312 through , fig. 12),
another mode wherein the portable device is supplying power to the external load device and providing network connectivity to the external device in order to connect the external device to the internet, and wherein the external load device and the external device are the same device (the battery assembly 100 includes a communication gateway 202. In some arrangements, the communication gateway 202 includes the hardware and logic necessary to communicate over multiple channels of data communication. For example, the communication gateway 202 may include a Wi-Fi interface, a cellular modem, a Bluetooth transceiver, a Bluetooth beacon, an RFID transceiver, an NFC transceiver, or a combination thereof. The communication gateway 202 facilitates data communication to and from the battery assembly 100 (and therefore the equipment 302 on which the battery assembly 100 is used) paragraph [0053]; shows that the battery 100 not only provide power to external device but also have the gateway to connect them through internet), and
other mode wherein the portable device is supplying power to the external load device and providing network connectivity to the external device in order to connect the external device to the internet, and wherein the external load device and the external device are separate devices (the battery 100 is providing power to the load device 302 and they are connected to the external device 312 through the internet network 308, fig. 13, paragraph [0057]).
However, Harvey is silent about the an operating mode wherein the portable device is supplying power to the external load device and is not providing network connectivity.
Bonilla discloses an operating mode wherein the portable device is supplying power to the external load device and is not providing network connectivity (in fig. 4B the portable device 100 provide the power to 115 by connecting the devices together and does not provide any communication connectivity, paragraph [0043], [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Harvey in view of Bonilla to provide the power to load without any commination network, in order to increase the simplicity, reliability, and reduced cost due to fewer components and less complexity.
Regarding claim 2, Harvey further discloses the system further comprising a second portable device including a second rechargeable battery configured to supply a type of power to at least a second load device, and a second portable device transceiver configured to provide network connectivity to a second external device (the device 100 is capable of connecting with the other similar portable device 100 having the same components as described above, 105 battery pack, load devices 302, 312, transceiver 214, fig.12, 17).
Regarding claim 3, Harvey further discloses wherein at least one selected from a group consisting of the portable device and the second portable device acts as a network coordinator (fig. 12, paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 4, Harvey further discloses wherein the portable device transceiver and the second portable device transceiver uses a communication protocol (The battery assembly 100″ can communicate over three different communication protocols (e.g., NFC, Bluetooth, and Wi-Fi) simultaneously using one or more transceivers 214, paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 5, Harvey further discloses wherein the communication protocol is at least one selected from a group consisting of WiFi, BLE, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Mesh, Bluetooth 5, Thread, Z-Wave, USB, Serial, LoRaWAN, and Zigbee (paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 6, Harvey further discloses the system further comprising a central transceiver (the battery assembly 100 is capable of coupling to and communicating with other battery assemblies 100, various types of charging systems or stations 304, or other types of gateways/IoT gateways (e.g., gateway 306, vehicle gateway 330), etc. (e.g., via Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or other data communication systems) over a mesh network, paragraph [0055] where 304 is the central station and have transceiver to communicate with other devices, fig. 12).
Regarding claim 7, Harvey further discloses wherein the central transceiver, the portable device transceiver, and the second portable device transceiver form the network (every portable device 100 is connected with each other and with the central charging station 304, fig. 12, paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 9, Harvey further discloses wherein the portable device further includes a power source configured to charge the rechargeable battery (The fast charger 250 is configured to couple to the battery assembly 100 and charge the battery assembly 100, paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 13, Harvey further discloses the system further comprising a central station including a central transceiver configured to provide communication, via the portable device, to the external device (each of the battery assemblies 100 are configured to communicate with other battery assemblies 100 in addition to equipment (e.g., charging stations 304, power equipment 302) and/or gateways 306 and network 308 connected devices, paragraph [0056]), and an output port configured to supply power to the portable device when the portable device is coupled to the central station (the battery pack 105 includes a connector 219 to electrically couple the battery pack 105 (and battery assembly 100) to external devices (e.g., different power equipment 302, chargers 304, etc.), paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 14, Harvey discloses the system of claim 13. However, Harvey is silent about wherein the central station further includes an electronic processor configured to define a virtual boundary in which the portable device is expected to stay in; determine a location of the portable device; determine, based the location of the portable device, whether the portable device is within the virtual boundary; and transmit a command to the portable device causing the portable device to perform at least one selected from a group consisting of: (1) stop supplying power to the load device and (2) stop providing communication to the external device, when the battery is not within the virtual boundary.
Bonilla discloses wherein the central station further includes an electronic processor (electronic processor 202, fig. 2A) configured to define a virtual boundary (virtual boundary 400, fig 4A) in which the portable device is expected to stay in; determine a location of the portable device; determine, based the location of the portable device, whether the portable device is within the virtual boundary; and transmit a command to the portable device causing the portable device to perform at least one selected from a group consisting of: (1) stop supplying power to the load device (claim 1) and (2) stop providing communication to the external device, when the battery is not within the virtual boundary (When the user takes the battery module 110 outside the single room, leaving the predetermined charging range, the battery module 110 no longer receives a wireless charge from the central charging station 105; paragraph [0044)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Harvey’s system to include the virtual boundary in the system as taught by Bonilla, in order to enhanced security, convenience, and efficiency of the wireless charging system.
Regarding claim 15, Harvey discloses a method of operating a portable device (fig. 12), the method comprising: supplying a type of power (paragraph [0002]), via a rechargeable battery (The battery assembly 100 includes a battery pack 105, paragraph [0031]) and a power output (electrical connector 219, fig. 18); to at least one external load device, wherein the type of power is configured to charge the external load device (the battery pack 105 includes a connector 219 to electrically couple the battery pack 105 (and battery assembly 100) to external devices (e.g., different power equipment 302, chargers 304, etc.), paragraph [0036]); providing network connectivity, via a portable device transceiver, to an external device to form a mesh network with at least one other portable device and without connecting to a central access point (the transceiver 214 is capable of connecting with the battery assembly 100 (transceiver without connecting to the central access point, fig. 17; The battery assembly 100 can then communicate wirelessly with multiple other devices, including power equipment, chargers, one or more battery assemblies 100, and/or cellular devices in a mesh network, paragraph [0053]), wherein the power output is isolated from the portable device transceiver in order to prevent unapproved access to the network (The NFC tag reader (form of transceiver on the battery assembly 100) 199 can communicate with the battery management circuit 200, which will prevent (e.g., block) or restrict electricity transmission between the battery assembly 100 and the piece of unauthorized or damaged equipment, regardless of whether an adequate electrical connection is formed between the connector 219 and the equipment interface 192, paragraph [0045]); and providing a single housing (100, fig. 1) containing the rechargeable battery, the power output(the electrical connector 219, fig. 18), and the portable device transceiver(214, fig. 17Note: fig. 1, 12, 17-18 is the part of single embodiment; where 1, 17-18 is the main embodiment and fig. 12 is an example).
Harvey further discloses the portable device is configured to operate in:
a mode wherein the portable device is providing network connectivity to the external device in order to connect the external device to the internet and is not supplying power to the external device (the portable device 100’ is only provide network connectivity to the external devices 312 through , fig. 12),
another mode wherein the portable device is supplying power to the external load device and providing network connectivity to the external device in order to connect the external device to the internet, and wherein the external load device and the external device are the same device (the battery assembly 100 includes a communication gateway 202. In some arrangements, the communication gateway 202 includes the hardware and logic necessary to communicate over multiple channels of data communication. For example, the communication gateway 202 may include a Wi-Fi interface, a cellular modem, a Bluetooth transceiver, a Bluetooth beacon, an RFID transceiver, an NFC transceiver, or a combination thereof. The communication gateway 202 facilitates data communication to and from the battery assembly 100 (and therefore the equipment 302 on which the battery assembly 100 is used) paragraph [0053]; shows that the battery 100 not only provide power to external device but also have the gateway to connect them through internet), and
other mode wherein the portable device is supplying power to the external load device and providing network connectivity to the external device in order to connect the external device to the internet, and wherein the external load device and the external device are separate devices (the battery 100 is providing power to the load device 302 and they are connected to the external device 312 through the internet network 308, fig. 13, paragraph [0057]).
However, Harvey is silent about the an operating mode wherein the portable device is supplying power to the external load device and is not providing network connectivity.
Bonilla discloses an operating mode wherein the portable device is supplying power to the external load device and is not providing network connectivity (in fig. 4B the portable device 100 provide the power to 115 by connecting the devices together and does not provide any communication connectivity, paragraph [0043], [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Harvey in view of Bonilla to provide the power to load without any commination network, in order to increase the simplicity, reliability, and reduced cost due to fewer components and less complexity.
Regarding claim 16, Harvey further discloses the method further comprising supplying a type of power, via a second rechargeable battery of a second portable device, to at least a second load device; and providing network connectivity, via a second portable device transceiver of the second portable device, to a second external device(the device 100 is capable of connecting with the other similar portable device 100 having the same components as described above, 105 battery pack, load devices 302, 312, transceiver 214, fig.12, 17).
Regarding claim 17, Harvey further discloses wherein at least one selected from a group consisting of the portable device and the second portable device acts as a network coordinator (fig. 12, paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 18, Harvey further discloses wherein the portable device transceiver and the second portable device transceiver uses a communication protocol, wherein the communication protocol is at least one selected from a group consisting of WiFi, BLE, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Mesh, Bluetooth 5, Thread, Z-Wave, USB, Serial, LoRaWAN, and Zigbee (paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 21, Harvey further discloses wherein the mesh network uses at least one selected from a group consisting of point-to-point topology, point-to-multipoint topology, and multipoint-to-multipoint topology (the communication gateway 202 may include a Wi-Fi interface, a cellular modem, a Bluetooth transceiver, a Bluetooth beacon, an RFID transceiver, an NFC transceiver, or a combination thereof. The communication gateway 202 facilitates data communication to and from the battery assembly 100 (and therefore the equipment 302 on which the battery assembly 100 is used), paragraph [0053]Note: Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) typically operates on a point-to-point (star) topology).
Regarding claim 22, Harvey further discloses wherein the mesh network uses at least one selected from a group consisting of point-to-point topology, point-to-multipoint topology, and multipoint-to-multipoint topology (the communication gateway 202 may include a Wi-Fi interface, a cellular modem, a Bluetooth transceiver, a Bluetooth beacon, an RFID transceiver, an NFC transceiver, or a combination thereof. The communication gateway 202 facilitates data communication to and from the battery assembly 100 (and therefore the equipment 302 on which the battery assembly 100 is used), paragraph [0053]Note: Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) typically operates on a point-to-point (star) topology).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harvey (US 2022/0314819) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Fieldbinder et al. (US 2022/0102995)(take the priority of the provisional application: 63084906), herein after Fieldbinder.
Regarding claim 10, Harvey in view of Bonilla discloses the system of claim 9, but does not explicitly disclose that the power source includes at least one selected from a group consisting of a solar array and a generator.
Fieldbinder discloses the power source includes at least one selected from a group consisting of a solar array and a generator (The power source 26 may also be another type of power source, such as a solar panel, a wind turbine, a battery pack, an AC grid line, or the like; paragraph [0105]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of claimed invention to use the teaching of Fieldbinder’s solar panel and the other natural source to produce the energy for rechargeable battery and the battery could be charge without the convention plug in charger. The battery could be charged anywhere without the need of the conventional wall plug outlet.
Conclusion
SADIA . KOUSAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859