DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isobe et al. [US 2020/0090850 A1] in view of Inoue et al. [US 6,768409 B2] and Lin et al. [US 2017/0200682 A1, for motivation purpose].
Regarding claim 1, Isobe et al. discloses a magnetic device [figures 1-3], comprising:
- a body [10], having a top surface; and
- a first conductive layer [30], wherein the first conductive layer is formed on the body, wherein the first conductive layer covers the top surface of the body for shielding the magnetic device, wherein at least one portion of the top surface of the body is exposed from the first conductive layer would provide an exhaust channel for moisture inside the body to leak to the outside of the body, with at least one portion being fully enclosed by the conductive layer on the top surface of the body.
Isobe et al. further discloses different shielding arrangements on the body [figures 5, 7, 9-11 and 13-21]. Isobe et al. further discloses the first conductive layer formed of two or more layers [para 0073] which formed of copper, wherein the first and/or second layers stacked on top of one another and fully surrounded by one another.
The specific material [Ag] use for the conductive layer would have been an obvious design consideration [Isobe et al. uses copper] for the purpose of providing and/or improving conductive shielding [note, Lin et al. uses Ag for the conductive layer 14a of a multilayered shielding structure 14].
Isobe et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the body being exposed and fully surrounded by the shielding layer on top of the surface thereof.
Inoue et al. discloses a magnetic device [figures 5A-9B] having a body and a metallic shielding layer [4] covers a top surface of the body, wherein the body is exposed from the metallic shielding layer and fully surrounded by the shielding layer.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the teaching Inoue et al. in Isobe et al. for the purpose of improving and/or reducing eddy current loss.
Regarding claims 6-7, Isobe et al. further discloses the first conductive layer covers the top surface of the body and extends to a bottom surface of the body via a lateral surface of the body, wherein the first conductive layer covers the top surface of the body and extends to four lateral surfaces of the body [32, figure 2].
Regarding claims 8-9, Isobe et al. further discloses the first conductive layer is made of metal that is sputtered or plated on the body for shielding the magnetic device [para 0073].
Regarding claims 2-5, 13 and 15, Isobe et al. discloses the first conductive layer covers different percentage of total areas of a top surface and a lateral surface of the magnetic body [figures 1, 3, 5, 9-11, 16-21].
Isobe et al. further discloses at least one portion of the top surface of the body is exposed from the first conductive layer would provide an exhaust channel for moisture inside the body to leak to the outside of the body, with the at least one portion of the lateral surface of the body being fully enclosed by the conductive layer on the top surface of the body.
Isobe et al. discloses the instant claimed invention except for the specific number percentage of the total area covered by the first conductive layer.
The specific number [90% or 93%] of the first conductive layer covering the magnetic body would have been an obvious design consideration based on the specific and/or intended applications and/or environments uses.
Regarding claim 10, Isobe et al. further discloses the “first conductive layer” may be formed of metal material [36] mixed with magnetic powder [14] and an adhesive resin material [16].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use metal material with adhesive material to coat the surface of the magnetic body for the purpose of facilitating manufacturing.
Claim(s) 12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isobe et al. in view of Inoue et al., as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Blow et al. [US 2017/0309394 A1].
Regarding claims 12 and 17, Isobe et al. in view of Inoue et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for an insulating layer.
Blow et al. discloses a magnetic device [figures 2A-2D], comprising:
- a body [115], having a top surface; and
- a first conductive layer [30], wherein the first conductive layer is formed on the body, wherein the first conductive layer covers the top surface of the body for shielding the magnetic device, wherein at least one portion of the top surface of the body is exposed from the first conductive layer would provide an exhaust channel for moisture inside the body to leak to the outside of the body.
Blow et al. further discloses an insulative material provided between the magnetic body and the metal conductive shield layer [abstract].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include an insulative material provide between the magnetic body and the conductive layer of Isobe et al. in view of Inoue et al., as suggested by Blow et al., for the purpose of providing insulation between the magnetic body and the conductive layer.
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isobe et al. in view of Inoue et al. as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Lin et al. [US 2017/0200682 A1].
Regarding claims 21-22, Isobe et al. discloses the first and/or second conductive layer formed of copper.
Isobe et al. in view of Inoue et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific material for the second conductive layer compare to material of the first conductive layer.
Lin et al. discloses a multilayer shielding structure [14] for an electronic device [figure 1], wherein the shielding structure including a first layer [14a] formed of Ag and a second layer [14b] formed of FeNi/NiFe.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use different materials for the conducting layers of Isobe et al., as modified, as suggested by Lin et al., for the purpose of improving conductive/magnetic shielding.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10, 12-13, 15, 17 and 21-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837