In view of the Appeal Brief filed on 1/14/26, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. A new rejection is set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789
Claim(s) 1, 14, 18, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gunji et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0308524.
Gunji discloses an elastic nonwoven fabric having a central elastic fiber layer bonded to two outer nonwoven layers. See paragraph 0006. Each of the layers necessarily have a first face and a second face and the composite nonwoven would also have a first face and an opposite second face and extend along an x-y plane. See figures. The layers can be entangled together either by through air bonding which entangles the fibers or by hydroentangling or needle punching. See paragraphs 0024-0025. The fibers are entangled such that some of the fibers of the outer layers can penetrate through the elastic fibrous layer into the other outer layer and that some of the fibers of the elastic layer extend into the outer layers. See paragraph 0021 The structure is embossed wherein the embossments can substantially melt the fibers to form a film at the embossed points wherein the embossments extend in the z-direction. Otherwise, the fibers retain their fiber form. See paragraphs 0020 and 0042. Since either or both faces can be embossed, the fibers of the first web of fibers would necessarily extend from the embossed points. The embossed points would necessarily have a first depth since they are embossments which extend from the surface into the fabric.
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 11-14, 18, 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunji, et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0308524.
Gunji discloses an elastic nonwoven fabric having a central elastic fiber layer bonded to two outer nonwoven layers. See paragraph 0006. Each of the layers necessarily have a first face and a second face and the composite nonwoven would also have a first face and an opposite second face and extend along an x-y plane. See figures. The layers can be entangled together either by through air bonding which entangles the fibers or by hydroentangling or needle punching. See paragraphs 0024-0025. The fibers are entangled such that some of the fibers of the outer layers can penetrate through the elastic fibrous layer into the other outer layer and that some of the fibers of the elastic layer extend into the outer layers. See paragraph 0021 The structure is embossed wherein the embossments can substantially melt the fibers to form a film at the embossed points wherein the embossments extend in the z-direction. Otherwise, the fibers retain their fiber form. See paragraphs 0020 and 0042. Since either or both faces can be embossed, the fibers of the first web of fibers would necessarily extend from the embossed points. The embossed points would necessarily have a first depth since they are embossments which extend from the surface into the fabric.
Gunji differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose the particularly claimed pattern of the thermal bonds and while it discloses an absorbent article generally, it does not clearly teach using the nonwoven to form apparel per se.
However, it would have been obvious to have selected the particular pattern of the rolls and thus the resulting thermal bonds which produced a fabric having the desired degree of strength and integrity without being too stiff. With regard to apparel, since Gunji teaches a durable fabric with a cloth like hand and appearance, it would have been obvious to have formed the composite fabric Gunji into apparel, since fabrics are conventionally used to make apparel.
Claim(s) 15, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunji, et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0308524 as applied to claims 1, 4-9, 11-13, 14, 18, 21-24 above, and further in view of Cheng et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0057924.
Gunji differs from the claimed invention because it does not disclose employing ultrasonic bonding to bond the layers as claimed, although it does mention ultrasonic bonding as an alternative method of bonding at col. 8, lines 51-53. Note that ultrasonic bonding is a method of melting thermoplastics without heat or pressure using high frequency sound.
Cheng discloses employing ultrasonic bonding to create a plurality of thermal bond points in composite nonwoven fabrics comprising an elastomeric central layer and outer nonwoven layers. See paragraph 0026, 0035, 0036.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to have employed ultrasonic bonding to bond the layers in the composite fabric of Gunji because it was an alternative known method of bonding to the patterned calendar rolls.
It further would have been obvious to have selected how to position the composite fabric within the ultrasonic bonding apparatus in order to optimize bonding and fabric hand.
Applicant’s arguments set forth in the Appeal Brief filed 1/14/26 are persuasive. A new rejection is set forth above.
/ELIZABETH M IMANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789