DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination
Claim Status
Claims 1, 4-7, 10-13, and 16-18 are pending. A Non-Compliance Amendment was submitted along with the RCE filed on 12/23/24 which did not contain an indication of the changes that were made to the claims. The reply submitted on 5/6/25 has remedied these issues. In the response filed 5/6/25, Claims 1, 7, and 13 have been amended and claims 2-3, 8-9, and 14-15 were previously cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Response to arguments under 35 USC 101
Applicant's arguments filed 5/6/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant’s representative traverses the rejection under 35 USC 101 because the claims are not directed to a judicial exception but to improvements in graphical user interface (GUIs) of gaming device/machines by providing a processor programmed to execute specific steps of a game execution program to display an animated sequence of computer-generated images on the display device GUI (see Remarks, pg. 9-13). Specifically, the Applicant’s representative asserts that the steps of the game execution program is not directed to a certain method of organizing human activity because the Examiner has failed to meet his burden of proof and present evidence that meets the preponderance of the evidence test to qualify as a grouping of abstract ideas under 2106.04(a). The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted in the Applicant’s Specification, the claimed game execution program is directed to a reel-based wagering game which as disclosed in the Specification is ”program code which controls the gaming machine 102 so it plays a particular game in accordance with applicable game rules and pay tables (see Specification, 0058-0060). It follows using the “game execution program to display an animated sequence of computer-generated images on the display device GUI” to present the wagering game recites a certain method of organizing human activity that is construed within the sub-grouping of a fundamental economic activity for managing a wagering game (see MPEP 2106.04(a)). For at least this reasons, the Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Moreover, the MPEP indicates that when the evaluating whether the additional limitations recites a claim into a practical application the Examiner should consider whether the claims recite only the idea of a solution or outcome (i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished). In this instance, the claims recites a display to “dynamically increase without changing a size of the game reels the number of award lines per stop on the game reels on a given spin of the game reels by the multiplier reels, wherein the controller includes a random number generated and the random number generator drives the multiplier reel to generate multipliers at each stop of the game reels displayed when the game reels are stopped to display the outcome of the game and multiply the number of award lines, wherein an award is triggered based on a number of the predetermined arrangement of the predetermined symbol positions of the symbol aligned along a distinct one of the award lines” which is found to recites an idea or solution to display the outcome of the wagering game not the particular solution in how a solution to the problem is accomplished mere instructions to apply (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Stated differently, recitation to display the steps of the wagering game to implement an outcome on a reel game does not amount to a technological solution to a technical problem that improves a GUI but merely arranging transactional information in a manner to present the outcome of the game to the user which the courts have indicated is not indicative of an improvement to computer functionality (see MPEP 2106.05(a)). For at least these reasons, the Applicant’s argument that the claims are not directed to a grouping of abstract ideas and the Examiner has not met the burden of proof beyond a preponderance of the evidence is not persuasive. It follows that rejection of claims 1, 4-7, 10-13, and 16-18 under 35 USC 101 has been maintained below.
Response to arguments under 35 USC 103
The Applicant’s representative asserts that the rejection of claims 1, 4-7, 10-13, and 16-18 under 35 USC 103 over Watkins and in view of Hornik and Marks should be withdrawn because it fails to disclose, teach, or event suggest every limitation set forth in the claims (see Remarks, pg. 20). Specifically, the Applicant’s representative maintains the arguments that were previously submitted in the Remarks, filed on 3/19/24. The Examiner maintains and asserts the response to those arguments in association with the Final Rejection, mailed 7/2/24, which are incorporated herein (see Final Rejection, pg. 3-5). In summary, the Examiner notes that Watkins discloses at least one instance of dynamically increasing a number of award lines in a reel-based game without changing the size of the reels (see Watkins, Fig. 4-10, 0052-0053, 0054-0056, 0060). Specifically, Watkins discloses a multiplier indicator associated with the award line/payline which dynamically increases the number of awarded payline for the reel-based game without visually changing the size of the reels. Additionally, Hornik teaches a reel-based game in which the wagering game comprises a multiplier wheel to indicate the multiplier value (see Hornik, multiplier reels 302 of Fig. 3, 0031-0034). Furthermore, Mark teaches a game that selects symbols and multipliers that are driven by a random number generator to utilize a technique that conforms with gaming regulations when managing a wagering game (see Marks, Fig. 3, 0036, 0058-0060). For at least this reason, the Applicant’s argument is not persuasive and the rejection has been maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 4-7, 10-13, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a grouping of abstract ideas without significantly more. The claims, as exemplified by independent Claim 1, recite limitations directed to a grouping of abstract idea such as “a reel-based game including the plurality of game reels and the multiplier wheel,” “dynamically increasing, without changing the size of the game reels the number of award lines per stop on the game reels on a given spin of the game reels by the multiplier reel” – certain method of organizing human activity including rules; “and “multiply the number of award lines on each stop of the game reels, wherein an award is triggered based on a number of the predetermined arrangement of the predetermined symbol positions of the symbols aligned along a distinct one of the award lines” – certain method of organizing human activity and/or mathematical relationship. The claims have been found to recite an abstract idea under a certain method of organizing human activity because managing the reels of a reel game to determine an award associated with the predetermined symbol positions of the symbols aligned along a distinct one of the award lines is analogous to managing a wagering game including the rules and/or instruction for managing the wagering game. Therefore, the claims are found to recite a grouping of abstract ideas under Step 2A-prong 1.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the remaining limitations such as “providing a gaming device having a display configured to display game screens including a graphical user interface (GUI) display screen to display computer-generated images thereon, a memory device storing a game execution program including computer instructions for generating computer-generated graphics of a plurality of game reels, wherein each of the game reels comprises a plurality of stops per game reel, and a multiplier reel, wherein the multiplier wheel comprise a plurality of multipliers, and”, “a game controller coupled to the game display for executing a reel-based game including the plurality of game reels and the multiplier wheel, the controller including a processor programmed to execute the game execution program to display an animated sequence of computer-generated images on the GUI: display a game screen on the GUI including a grid having a plurality of cells arranged in a plurality of rows and columns;” “display the plurality of game reels in the grid, each game reel being displayed in a corresponding column, each of the plurality of game reels including a plurality of symbols”; “display the multiplier reel on one side of the game reels in the grid including a multiplier at each stop of the game reels to visually represent a number of award lines;” “animate the plurality of reels to spin and stop each of the plurality of game reels to display an outcome of the game” amount to mere instructions to invoke a general purpose computer to implement the abstract idea, extra solution activity, and/or a technological environment to perform the abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)-(h)). The additional limitation such as “dynamically increasing, by the controller,” and “wherein the controller includes a random number generator and the processor programmed to execute the game execution program and the random number generator drives the multiplier reel to generate the multiplier drives the multiplier reel to generate the multipliers at each stop of the game reels displayed when the game reels are stopped to display the outcome of the game” recites steps to invoke a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or provide a technological environment to perform the abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f) and (h)). For at least these reasons, the claims are not found to integrate the claim into a practical application under Step 2A-prong 2.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements such as a game device having a game display”, “a controller for the gaming machine”, “by the controller”, and “a random number generator” recite highly-generalized computer components that are well-known, routine, and convention to one of ordinary skill in the gaming arts. For instance, Vancura (US 2010/0029381 A1) discloses a conventional gaming machine includes a display, a controller (e.g., processor), and a random number generator are well-known, routine, and conventional details of a casino game machine to one of ordinary skill in the gaming arts (see Vancura, 0008, 0037-0040). For at least these reasons, the claims are not found to recite significantly more than the abstract idea under Step 2B.
Regarding independent claims 7 and 13, the independent claims recite substantially similar subject matter as discussed above in relation to independent Claim 1. The claims are found to recite an abstract idea without significantly more for the same reasons discussed above.
Regarding dependent claims 4-6, 10-12, and 16-18, the additional limitations have been reviewed and analyzed and were found to merely recite additional steps of the abstract idea (see MPEP 2104.04(a)), mere instructions to invoke a computer to implement the abstract idea, extra solution activity, and/or a technological environment to perform the abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)-(h)). For at least these reasons, Claims 1, 4-7, 10-13, and 16-18 are found to recite an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7, 10-13, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watkins et al. (US 2014/0038689 A1) in view of Hornik et al. (US 2006/0121978 A1) and Marks et al. (US 2003/0054875 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Watkins discloses a control method, said method comprising the steps of (see Watkins, Fig. 4-10, 0052, wherein reel based game comprising a control method that comprises the steeps of):
providing a gaming device having a game display configured to display game screens including a graphical user interface (GUI) display screen to display computer-generated images thereon, a memory device storing a game execution program including computer instructions for generating computer-generated graphics of a plurality of game reels, wherein each of the game reels comprise a plurality of stops per game reel (see Watkins, Figs. 5-9, 0054, wherein reels 501-505 each contain a 4 stops per game reel), and a plurality of multiplier identifiers of the reel-based wagering game (see Watkins, Figs. 4-10, 0036, 0052-0053), and a game controller coupled to the game display for executing a reel-based game including the plurality of game reels and the multipliers, the controller including a processor programmed to execute the game execution program to display an animated sequence of computer-generated images on the GUI (see Watkins, Figs. 1-2, 4-10, 0029, 0036-0052-0053):
display a game screen on the GUI including a grid having a plurality of cells arranged in a plurality of rows and columns (see Watkins, Figs. 4-10, 0052-0053, 0054-0056, 0060);
displaying the plurality of game reels in the grid, each game reel being displayed in a corresponding column, each of the plurality of game reels including a plurality of symbols;
display the multiplier on one side of the game reels in the grid including a multiplier at each stop of the game reels to visually represent a number of award lines, wherein each of the award lines corresponds to a predetermined arrangement of predetermined symbol positions of the symbols within the grid (see Watkins, Figs. 4-10, 0052-0053, 0054-0057, 0060, wherein the reel-based game display the multiplier to visually represent a number of award lines associated with a beginning stop of a payline to be awarded a multiplier of the payout in a paytable which is analogous dynamically increase, by the controller, without changing a size of the game reels; wherein it is understood in the art that a payline is analogous to an award line);
animate the plurality of reels to spin and stop each of the plurality of game reels to display an outcome of the game (see Watkins, Figs. 4-10, 0048, 0052-0053, 0054-0056, 0060); and
dynamically increase, by the controller, without changing a size of the game reels the number of award lines per stop on the game reels on a given spin of the game reels by the multiplier indicator (see Watkins, Fig. 4-10, 0052-0053,0055-0056, 0060, wherein the multiplier of the payline award (e.g., 500) multiplied by the value enhancer to provide 5000 credits is analogous to increasing the payline payout per stop on the game reels for the winning line by the multiplier indicator), wherein the controller includes a random selection by the processor that is programmed to execute the game execution program to indicate the multiplier to multiply the number of award lines at each stop of the game reels ((see Watkins, Fig. 4-10, 0049, 0052, 0054-0055, 0060, wherein Watkins teaches the dynamically increasing without changing a size of the game reels the number of paylines per stop by the multiplier indicator which analogous to the number of award lines per stop on the game reels on a given spin of the game reels by the multiplier reel; and each payline corresponds an identical predetermined arrangement of predetermined symbol positions of the symbols within the grid). For instance, the Specification states the present invention allows the number of ways to increase without changing the size of the reels (see Specification, 0052). It follows that by multiplying the award line it effectively evaluates the identical symbol award line of the given multiplier the number of times of the multiplier value which increases the number of award lines. One would have ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the application would to modify the multiplier of Watkins because multiplying the award line by a multiplier value and adding the results of each award line by the number times by the multiplier would have been obvious by using known reflexive mathematical properties to yield the predictable result to increase the number of award lines on a set of game reels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the application to dynamically increase, by the controller, without changing a size of the game reels the number of award lines per stop on the game reels on a given spin of the game reels by the multiplier reel, wherein the controller includes a random selection by the processor that is programmed to execute the game program drives the multiplier reel, wherein the controller includes a random selection by the processor and the processor is programmed to execute the game execution program and the random selection process drives the multiplier indicators to generate the multipliers at each stop of the game reels displayed when the game reels are stopped to display the outcome of the game and multiply the number of award lines on each stop of the game reels, wherein an award is triggered based on a number of the predetermined arrangement of the predetermined symbol positions of the symbols aligned along a distinct one of the award lines (see Watkins, Fig. 4-10, 0049, 0052, 0054-0055, 0060). However, Watkins is silent with respect to a multiplier wheel comprising a plurality of multipliers and wherein the controller includes a random number generator.
Hornik teaches a reel-based wagering game wherein the multipliers are randomly selected and indicated utilizing a multiplier wheel comprising a plurality of multipliers (see Hornik, multiplier reel 302 of Fig 3, 0031-0034, wherein the multiplier reel is analogous to a multiplier wheel). Moreover, Hornik teaches a game controller to display the multiplier wheel on one side of the game reels in the grid including a multiplier at each stop of the game reels to visually represent a number of award lines, wherein the controller includes a random selection and the processor is programmed to execute the game execution program to drive the multiplier wheel to multiply the number of award lines on each stop of the game reels (see Hornik, Figs. 2-3, 0008, wherein the multiplier is randomly selected; 0024, wherein the game functions, the CPU 30 executes a game program that allows for the randomly selected outcome, 0028-0029, 0050, wherein the multiplier reel is set in motion by the gaming terminal 10). One would have been motivated to simply substitute the multiplier indicators of Watkins with the multiplier wheel of Hornik to yield the predictable result to enhance payouts and increase the overall excitement of the game (see Hornik, 0032). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the application to incorporate a multiplier wheel in the reel-based game, wherein the multiplier wheel comprises a plurality of multipliers, to display the multiplier reel on one side of the game reels in the grid including a multiplier at each stop of the game reels to visually represent the number of award lines, and wherein the controller includes a random selection and the processor is programmed to execute the game execution program to drive the multiplier wheel to multiply the number of award lines on each stop of the game reels. Although, Watkins and Hornik each teach random selecting an outcome they are silent as to a random number generator.
Marks teaches a system which selects symbols and multipliers with a random number generator (see Marks, 0034). Specifically, Marks teaches symbols and multipliers stored in data, in cooperation with the RNG, allows for each symbol to have a predetermined statistical probability for being selected (see Marks, Fig. 3, 0036, 0058-0060). One would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Marks’ random number generator to use known techniques to yield the predictable result to select symbols and multipliers at a predetermined statistical probability (see Marks, 0036). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the application wherein the controller includes a random number generated and the random number generator drives the multiplier reel to multiply the number of award lines on each stop of the game reels.
Regarding claim 7, Watkins discloses a system, comprising (see Watkins, Fig. 4-10, 0052, wherein the multiplier for a payline of a payout in a paytable is analogous to multiplying a payline by a number of times the multiplier value and awarding each payline the amount in the paytable):
a gaming machine having a game display configured to display game screens including a graphical user interface (GUI) display screen to display computer-generated images thereon, a memory device storing a game execution program including computer instructions for generating computer-generated graphics of a plurality of game reels (see Watkins, , wherein each of the game reels comprise a plurality of stops per game reel (see Watkins, Figs. 5-9, 0054, wherein reels 501-505 each contain a 4 stops per game reel), and a plurality of multiplier indicators (see Watkins, Figs. 4-10, 0036, 0052-0053), and a game controller coupled to the game display for executing a reel-based game including the plurality of game reels and the plurality of multiplier indicator (see Watkins, cpu 205 of Fig. 2, 4-10, 0029, 0046, 0052-0053, 0054-0056, 0060); the controller including a processor programmed to execute the game execution program to display an animated sequence of computer-generated images on the GUI:
display a game screen on the GUI including a grid having a plurality of cells arranged in a plurality of rows and columns (see Watkins, Figs. 4-10, 0052-0053, 0054-0056, 0060);
display the plurality of game reels in the grid, each game reel being displayed in a corresponding column, each of the plurality of game reels including a plurality of symbols (see Watkins, Figs. 4-10, 0057-0058);
display the multiplier on one side of the game reels in the grid including a multiplier at each stop of the game reels to visually represent a number of award lines, wherein each of the award lines corresponds to a predetermined arrangement of predetermined symbol positions of the symbols within the grid (see Watkins, Figs. 4-10, 0052-0053, 0054-0056, 0060, wherein the reel-based game display the multiplier to visually represent a number of award lines associated with a beginning stop of a payline to be awarded a multiplier of the payout in a paytable which is analogous dynamically increase, by the controller, without changing a size of the game reels; wherein it is understood in the art that a payline is analogous to an award line);
animate the plurality of reels to spin and stop each of the plurality of game reels to display an outcome of the game (see Watkins, Figs. 4-10, 0052-0053, 0054-0057, 0060); and
dynamically increase without changing a size of the game reels the number of award lines per stop on the game reels on a given spin of the game reels by the multiplier indicator (see Watkins, Fig. 4-10, 0052-0053,0055-0056, 0060, wherein the multiplier of the payline award (e.g., 500) multiplied by the value enhancer to provide 5000 credits is analogous to increasing the payline payout per stop on the game reels for the winning line by the multiplier indicator), wherein the controller includes a random selection by the processor and the processor drives the multiplier indicator to generate the multipliers at each stop of the game reels displayed when the game reels are stopped to display the outcome of the game and multiply the number of award lines one each stop of the game reels, wherein an award is triggered based on a number of the predetermined arrangement of the predetermined symbol positions of the symbols aligned along a distinct one of the award lines (see Watkins, Fig. 4-10, 0049, 0052, 0054-0055, 0060, wherein Watkins teaches the dynamically increasing without changing a size of the game reels the number of paylines per stop by the multiplier indicator which analogous to the number of award lines per stop on the game reels on a given spin of the game reels by the multiplier reel; and each payline corresponds an identical predetermined arrangement of predetermined symbol positions of the symbols within the grid). For instance, the Specification states the present invention allows the number of ways to increase without changing the size of the reels (see Specification, 0052). It follows that by multiplying the award line it effectively evaluates the identical symbol award line of the given multiplier the number of times of the multiplier value which increases the number of award lines. One would have ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the application would to modify the multiplier of Watkins because multiplying the award line by a multiplier value and adding the results of each award line by the number times by the multiplier would have been obvious by using known reflexive mathematical properties to yield the predictable result to increase the number of award lines on a set of game reels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the application to dynamically increase, without changing a size of the game reels the number of award lines per stop on the game reels on a given spin of the game reels by the multiplier reel, wherein the controller includes a random selection by the processor and the random selection drives the multiplier indicator to generate the multipliers at each stop of the game reels displayed when the game reels are stopped to display the outcome of the game and multiply the number of award lines on each stop of the game reels, wherein an award is triggered based on a number of predetermined arrangement of the predetermined symbol positions of the symbols aligned along a distinct one of the award lines (see Watkins, Fig. 4-10, 0049, 0052, 0054-0055, 0060). However, Watkins is silent with respect to a multiplier wheel comprising a plurality of multipliers and wherein the controller includes a random number generator.
Hornik teaches a reel-based wagering game wherein the multipliers are randomly selected and indicated utilizing a multiplier wheel comprising a plurality of multipliers (see Hornik, multiplier reel 302 of Fig 3, 0031-0034, wherein the multiplier reel is analogous to a multiplier wheel). Moreover, Hornik teaches a game controller to display the multiplier wheel on one side of the game reels in the grid including a multiplier at each stop of the game reels to visually represent a number of award lines, wherein the controller includes a random selection and the processor is programmed to execute the game execution program to drive the multiplier wheel to multiply the number of award lines on each stop of the game reels (see Hornik, Figs. 2-3, 0008, wherein the multiplier is randomly selected; 0024, wherein the game functions, the CPU 30 executes a game program that allows for the randomly selected outcome, 0028-0029, 0050, wherein the multiplier reel is set in motion by the gaming terminal 10). One would have been motivated to simply substitute the multiplier indicators of Watkins with the multiplier wheel of Hornik to yield the predictable result to enhance payouts and increase the overall excitement of the game (see Hornik, 0032). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the application to incorporate a multiplier wheel in the reel-based game, wherein the multiplier wheel comprises a plurality of multipliers, to display the multiplier reel on one side of the game reels in the grid including a multiplier at each stop of the game reels to visually represent the number of award lines, and wherein the controller includes a random selection and the processor is programmed to execute the game execution program to drive the multiplier wheel to multiply the number of award lines on each stop of the game reels. Although, Watkins and Hornik each teach random selecting an outcome they are silent as to a random number generator.
Marks teaches a system which selects symbols and multipliers with a random number generator (see Marks, 0034). Specifically, Marks teaches symbols and multipliers stored in data, in cooperation with the RNG, allows for each symbol to have a predetermined statistical probability for being selected (see Marks, Fig. 3, 0036, 0058-0060). One would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Marks’ random number generator to use known techniques to yield the predictable result to select symbols and multipliers at a predetermined statistical probability (see Marks, 0036). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the application wherein the controller includes a random number generated and the random number generator drives the multiplier reel to multiply the number of award lines on each stop of the game reels.
Regarding claim 13, Watkins discloses a gaming machine, comprising (see Watkins, Fig. 1-2):
a game display configured to display game screens including a graphical user interface (GUI) display screen to display computer-generated images thereon, a memory device storing a game execution program including computer instructions for generating computer-generated graphics of a plurality of game reels (see Watkins, cpu 205 of Fig. 2, 4-10, 0029, 0046, 0052-0053, 0054-0056, 0060), wherein each of the game reels comprise a plurality of stops per game reel (see Watkins, Figs. 5-9, 0054, wherein reels 501-505 each contain a 4 stops per game reel), and a plurality of multiplier indicators (see Watkins, Figs. 4-10, 0036, 0052-0053), and a game controller coupled to the game display for executing a reel-based wagering game including the plurality of game reels and the plurality of multiplier indicators (see Watkins, Figs. 4-10, 0052-0053, 0054-0056, 0060)); and
the controller including a processor programmed to execute the game execution program to display an animated sequence of computer-generated images on the GUI: programmed to display, on the game display, a plurality of game reels (see Watkins, Figs. 4-10, 0046-0053, 0054-0056, 0060));
display a game screen on the GUI including a grid having a plurality of cells arranged in a plurality of rows and columns (see Watkins, Figs. 4-10, 0052-0053, 0054-0056, 0060);
display the plurality of game reels in the grid, each game reel being displayed in a corresponding column, each of the plurality of game reels including a plurality of symbols (see Watkins, Figs. 4-10, 0057-0058);
display the multiplier on one side of the game reels in the grid including a multiplier at each stop of the game reels to visually represent a number of award lines, wherein each of the award lines corresponds to a predetermined arrangement of predetermined symbol positions of the symbols within the grid (see Watkins, Figs. 4-10, 0052-0053, 0054-0056, 0060, wherein the reel-based game display the multiplier to visually represent a number of award lines associated with a beginning stop of a payline to be awarded a multiplier of the payout in a paytable which is analogous dynamically increase, by the controller, without changing a size of the game reels; wherein it is understood in the art that a payline is analogous to an award line);
animate the plurality of reels to spin and stop each of the plurality of game reels to display an outcome of the game (see Watkins, Figs. 4-10, 0052-0053, 0054-0056, 0060); and
dynamically increase without changing a size of the game reels the number of award lines per stop on the game reels on a given spin of the game reels by the multiplier indicator (see Watkins, Fig. 4-10, 0052-0053,0055-0056, 0060, wherein the multiplier of the payline award (e.g., 500) multiplied by the value enhancer to provide 5000 credits is analogous to increasing the payline payout per stop on the game reels for the winning line by the multiplier indicator), wherein the controller includes a random selection by the processor and the processor drives the multiplier indicator to generate the multipliers at each stop of the game reels displayed when the game reels are stopped to display the outcome of the game and multiply the number of award lines one each stop of the game reels, wherein an award is triggered based on a number of the predetermined arrangement of the predetermined symbol positions of the symbols aligned along a distinct one of the award lines (see Watkins, Fig. 4-10, 0049, 0052, 0054-0055, 0060, wherein Watkins teaches the dynamically increasing without changing a size of the game reels the number of paylines per stop by the multiplier indicator which analogous to the number of award lines per stop on the game reels on a given spin of the game reels by the multiplier reel; and each payline corresponds an identical predetermined arrangement of predetermined symbol positions of the symbols within the grid). For instance, the Specification states the present invention allows the number of ways to increase without changing the size of the reels (see Specification, 0052). It follows that by multiplying the award line it effectively evaluates the identical symbol award line of the given multiplier the number of times of the multiplier value which increases the number of award lines. One would have ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the application would to modify the multiplier of Watkins because multiplying the award line by a multiplier value and adding the results of each award line by the number times by the multiplier would have been obvious by using known reflexive mathematical properties to yield the predictable result to increase the number of award lines on a set of game reels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the application to dynamically increase, without changing a size of the game reels the number of award lines per stop on the game reels on a given spin of the game reels by the multiplier reel, wherein the controller includes a random selection by the processor and the random selection drives the multiplier indicator to generate the multipliers at each stop of the game reels displayed when the game reels are stopped to display the outcome of the game and multiply the number of award lines on each stop of the game reels, wherein an award is triggered based on a number of predetermined arrangement of the predetermined symbol positions of the symbols aligned along a distinct one of the award lines (see Watkins, Fig. 4-10, 0049, 0052, 0054-0055, 0060). However, Watkins is silent with respect to a multiplier wheel comprising a plurality of multipliers and wherein the controller includes a random number generator.
Hornik teaches a reel-based wagering game wherein the multipliers are randomly selected and indicated utilizing a multiplier wheel comprising a plurality of multipliers (see Hornik, multiplier reel 302 of Fig 3, 0031-0034, wherein the multiplier reel is analogous to a multiplier wheel). Moreover, Hornik teaches a game controller to display the multiplier wheel on one side of the game reels in the grid including a multiplier at each stop of the game reels to visually represent a number of award lines, wherein the controller includes a random selection and the processor is programmed to execute the game execution program to drive the multiplier wheel to multiply the number of award lines on each stop of the game reels (see Hornik, Figs. 2-3, 0008, wherein the multiplier is randomly selected; 0024, wherein the game functions, the CPU 30 executes a game program that allows for the randomly selected outcome, 0028-0029, 0050, wherein the multiplier reel is set in motion by the gaming terminal 10). One would have been motivated to simply substitute the multiplier indicators of Watkins with the multiplier wheel of Hornik to yield the predictable result to enhance payouts and increase the overall excitement of the game (see Hornik, 0032). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the application to incorporate a multiplier wheel in the reel-based game, wherein the multiplier wheel comprises a plurality of multipliers, to display the multiplier reel on one side of the game reels in the grid including a multiplier at each stop of the game reels to visually represent the number of award lines, and wherein the controller includes a random selection and the processor is programmed to execute the game execution program to drive the multiplier wheel to multiply the number of award lines on each stop of the game reels. Although, Watkins and Hornik each teach random selecting an outcome they are silent as to a random number generator.
Marks teaches a system which selects symbols and multipliers with a random number generator (see Marks, 0034). Specifically, Marks teaches symbols and multipliers stored in data, in cooperation with the RNG, allows for each symbol to have a predetermined statistical probability for being selected (see Marks, Fig. 3, 0036, 0058-0060). One would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Marks’ random number generator to use known techniques to yield the predictable result to select symbols and multipliers at a predetermined statistical probability (see Marks, 0036). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the application wherein the controller includes a random number generated and the random number generator drives the multiplier reel to multiply the number of award lines on each stop of the game reels.
Regarding claims 4, 10, and 16, the combination of Watkins, Hornik, and Marks teach the control method as set forth in claim 1, the system set forth in claim 7, and the gaming machine set forth in claim 13. The combination further teaches wherein the game reels comprise a first game reel, a second game reel, a third game reel, a fourth game reel, and a fifth game reel (see Watkins, Fig. 5-9, wherein primary reel display contains 5 reels).
Regarding claim 5, 11, and 17, the combination of Watkins, Hornik, and Marks teach the control method as set forth in claim 4, the system set forth in claim 10, and the gaming machine set forth in claim 16. The combination further teaches wherein the multiplier reel has three multipliers and the first game reel has three stops, the second game reel has three stops, the third game reel has three stops, the fourth game reel has three stops, and the fifth game reel has three stops (see Watkins, Fig. 5-9, 0048, wherein the primary reel array has 5 reels and the reels define four stops (e.g., symbol locations)) Hornik, Fig.3, 0028, wherein multiplier reel has 3 multipliers and reels have 3 stops, although the exemplary screen shows only three reels in other embodiments they may use fewer or more reels such as five reels. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the fourth and fifth reels to have three stops)).
Regarding claim 6, 12, and 18, the combination of Watkins, Hornik, and Marks teach the control method as set forth in claim 5, the system set forth in claim 11, and the gaming machine set forth in claim 17. The combination further teaches wherein the three multipliers comprise different values to multiply the award lines on each of the three stops of the first game reel, the second game reels, the third game reel, the fourth game reel, and the fifth game reel (see Watkins, Fig. 4-10, 0049, 0052, 0054-0055, Hornik, Fig. 3, wherein the multiplier reel has three different values to multiply the paylines).
Conclusion
/RYAN HSU/EXAMINER, Art Unit 3715