DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 3-17 are pending in this Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendment on 12/02/2025, have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The reasons set forth below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The formal drawings received on 06/04/2024 have been entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karp (US 20160134932) in view of Pandian (US 20180017959).
Claim 5. Karp teaches:
An electrical substation, comprising: – in paragraphs [0038]-[0485] (The system 180 may be useful to enable one or more clients 182 … to: provide data 184 for use in the device services 84 (e.g., to a data store (e.g., data warehouse 185), to storage of one or more of the smart devices, and/or to a data model of the device service 84) ….)
one or more electrical devices; and – in paragraphs [0038]-[0485] (The system 180 may be useful to enable one or more clients 182 … to: provide data 184 for use in the device services 84 (e.g., to a data store (e.g., data warehouse 185), to storage of one or more of the smart devices, and/or to a data model of the device service 84) ….)
an industrial control system comprising an electronic controller and a supervisory device, – in paragraphs [0038]-[0485] (The cloud-based service 308 of the example system 300 is accessible via a network 312 by client devices, such as a client device 314 (e.g., illustrated as a mobile phone or tablet device). A user to authorize a client to access user data in the data model via the device service 84, in accordance with an embodiment. To interact with the user's smart devices (e.g., thermostats 10A, detectors 10B, devices 10C, and/or camera devices 10E) by manipulating data or viewing data in the data model, the user must first agree to let the client access user device data. The authorization process may begin with a link 1201 to connect to the device service 84 on a client site/app 1202 that the user may select. In response, a resource access permission page 1204 and a login page 1206 may be displayed that asks the user to grant access to the client and/or sign in if not already signed into an authorization server.)
wherein the electronic controller is connected to at least some of the one or more electrical devices, – in paragraphs [0038]-[0485] (The client may be set up to monitor two values: current temperature and target temperature. Using the API 90, clients 182 may access smart device services 84 to control and/or provide data to one or more smart devices. The cloud-based service 308 of the example system 300 is accessible via a network 312 by client devices, such as a client device 314 (e.g., illustrated as a mobile phone or tablet device).)
interfaced with an additional control and/or monitoring system, and – in paragraphs [0038]-[0485] (The client may be set up to monitor two values: current temperature and target temperature. Using the API 90, clients 182 may access smart device services 84 to control and/or provide data to one or more smart devices. The cloud-based service 308 of the example system 300 is accessible via a network 312 by client devices, such as a client device 314 (e.g., illustrated as a mobile phone or tablet device).)
implement an application programming interface comprising a public method authorizing the additional control and/or monitoring system to read the data from the database and preventing the additional control and/or monitoring system from writing into the database based on security credentials of the additional control and/or monitoring system. – in paragraphs [0038]-[0485] (An authorization process may be used to enable the user to grant permissions to clients requesting to view and/or modify data associated with the user's smart devices (e.g., thermostats 10A, detectors 10B, devices 10C, and/or camera devices 10E) in the data model using the authorization server 191.The API 90 may validate that the access token is signed by a client secret issued by the authorization server 191. After validation, the API 90 may allow access to the resources in the data model according to the granted scopes associated with the access token using the device service 84. Rules may be set up that allow access to the resources if certain conditions are met. As displayed in the table, the user with ID 55156 granted scopes to two clients, client ID “1234” and client ID “5678”. The scope granted to client ID “1234” includes only the thermostat read scope and the client ID “5678” includes both the “thermostat read/write” scope and the “smoke+CO read” scope. A code snippet example of the profile defining protobuf definitions: … fields generated by public API ….)
Karp does not explicitly teach:
an industrial control system; configured store data exchanged by the electronic controller with the one or more electrical devices in a database, wherein the data exchanged includes set point values and command signals that control behavior of at least one of the one or more electrical devices.
However, Pandian teaches:
an industrial control system – in paragraphs [0002]-[0103] (Automated control systems are used extensively in industry and can for example be implemented using programmable logic controllers (PLC(s)), or in the case of more complex systems using distributed control systems (DCS) or supervisory control and data acquisition systems (SCADA).)
configured store data exchanged by the electronic controller with the one or more electrical devices in a database, – in paragraphs [0031]-[0103] (Responsive to determining that an operator is an expert, step 204 comprises recording operator inputs received or operator actions implemented at the HMI, which recorded operator inputs or actions may be stored in a best practices database and thereafter treated as operator best practices. The Human-Machine-Interface may in an embodiment comprise an operator terminal or a computer terminal configured to receive operator inputs for generating control instructions to the control system and may also be configured to display information regarding status of or outputs from the control system.)
wherein the data exchanged includes set point values and command signals that control behavior of at least one of the one or more electrical devices; and – in paragraphs [0031]-[0103] (Responsive to determining that an operator is an expert, step 204 comprises recording operator inputs received or operator actions implemented at the HMI, which recorded operator inputs or actions may be stored in a best practices database and thereafter treated as operator best practices. The Human-Machine-Interface may in an embodiment comprise an operator terminal or a computer terminal configured to receive operator inputs for generating control instructions to the control system and may also be configured to display information regarding status of or outputs from the control system. The recorded operator inputs or actions may include recorded snapshots of control system alarms or control system events, snapshots of navigation by the operator through windows, faceplates or other interface elements of the HMI, and/or setpoint values implemented by the operator through the HMI.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Karp with Pandian to include an industrial control system; configured store data exchanged by the electronic controller with the one or more electrical devices in a database, wherein the data exchanged includes set point values and command signals that control behavior of at least one of the one or more electrical devices, as taught by Pandian, in paragraphs [0001]-[0039], to provide mechanisms and algorithms for maintaining output of a specific system or process within a desired range.
Claim 7. Karp teaches:
A method performed by an electronic controller connected to one or more electrical devices of an electrical substation, the method comprising: – in paragraphs [0038]-[0485] (While features and concepts of the described systems and methods for a camera system API for third-party integrations can be implemented in any number of different environments, systems, devices, and/or various configurations …. The system 180 may be useful to enable one or more clients 182 (e.g., third-party client and/or a principle client of the device service 84) to: provide data 184 for use in the device services 84 (e.g., to a data store (e.g., data warehouse 185), to storage of one or more of the smart devices, …. The cloud-based service 308 of the example system 300 is accessible via a network 312 by client devices, such as a client device 314 (e.g., illustrated as a mobile phone or tablet device). A user to authorize a client to access user data in the data model via the device service 84, in accordance with an embodiment. To interact with the user's smart devices (e.g., thermostats 10A, detectors 10B, devices 10C, and/or camera devices 10E) by manipulating data or viewing data in the data model, the user must first agree to let the client access user device data. The authorization process may begin with a link 1201 to connect to the device service 84 on a client site/app 1202 that the user may select. In response, a resource access permission page 1204 and a login page 1206 may be displayed that asks the user to grant access to the client and/or sign in if not already signed into an authorization server.)
receiving a read request from an additional control and/or monitoring system, – in paragraphs [0038]-[0485] (The client may request to see the current temperature and/or the target temperature using an API call and the access token which provides thermostat read permissions. A data request is received by the device service 84 (block 252). The data request may include a request to retrieve particular smart device information and/or a request to set particular smart device information. The request may be provided via the API 90, based upon communications from a client 182. The client may be set up to monitor two values: current temperature and target temperature. Using the API 90, clients 182 may access smart device services 84 to control and/or provide data to one or more smart devices.)
said read request comprising a call to an application programming interface comprising a public method that authorizes the additional control and/or monitoring system to read data from a database and prevents the additional control and/or monitoring system from writing into the database based on security credentials of the additional control and/or monitoring system; – in paragraphs [0038]-[0485] (The client may then make API calls to the device service 84 including the access token to retrieve and/or input data into the data model. The client may request to see the current temperature and/or the target temperature using an API call and the access token which provides thermostat read permissions. The device service 84 maintains a data model of all relevant structures 10D as well as the relevant smart devices (e.g., thermostats 10A, detectors 10B, and/or devices 10C) associated with each of the structures 10D. The API 90 may validate that the access token is signed by a client secret issued by the authorization server 191. After validation, the API 90 may allow access to the resources in the data model according to the granted scopes associated with the access token using the device service 84. Rules may be set up that allow access to the resources if certain conditions are met. As displayed in the table, the user with ID 55156 granted scopes to two clients, client ID “1234” and client ID “5678”. The scope granted to client ID “1234” includes only the thermostat read scope and the client ID “5678” includes both the “thermostat read/write” scope and the “smoke+CO read” scope. A code snippet example of the profile defining protobuf definitions: … fields generated by public API ….)
accepting the read request; – in paragraphs [0038]-[0485] (Upon receiving the request, the device service may process the request (block 254). The plurality of access tokens are used to verify access rights of the API client or the API client device to read data for a plurality of users associated with the one or more data models of the one or more smart devices. One or more clients 182 (e.g., third-party client and/or a principle client of the device service 84) to: receive data 188 from one or more of the smart devices via the device service 84 (e.g., via providing a subscription and/or particular data query request 190) upon authorization from an authorization server (e.g., an additional service provided by services 191).)
retrieving requested data from the database; and – in paragraphs [0038]-[0485] (After validation, the API 90 may allow access to the resources in the data model according to the granted scopes associated with the access token using the device service 84.)
sending the requested data to the additional control and/or monitoring system. – in paragraphs [0038]-[0485] (As a result, the current temperature and/or the target temperature may be returned by the device service 84 and displayed on the client site/app 1208. One or more clients 182 (e.g., third-party client and/or a principle client of the device service 84) to: receive data 188 from one or more of the smart devices via the device service 84 (e.g., via providing a subscription and/or particular data query request 190) upon authorization from an authorization server (e.g., an additional service provided by services 191). The device service 84 then updates the data model and provides the updates to the client 182 (block 288). The client 182 is then able to display the updated data and/or trigger other actions based upon the updated data.)
Karp does not explicitly teach:
a database.
However, Pandian teaches:
a database – in paragraphs [0031]-[0103] (Responsive to determining that an operator is an expert, step 204 comprises recording operator inputs received or operator actions implemented at the HMI, which recorded operator inputs or actions may be stored in a best practices database and thereafter treated as operator best practices. The Human-Machine-Interface may in an embodiment comprise an operator terminal or a computer terminal configured to receive operator inputs for generating control instructions to the control system and may also be configured to display information regarding status of or outputs from the control system.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Karp with Pandian to include a database, as taught by Pandian, in paragraphs [0001]-[0039], to provide mechanisms and algorithms for maintaining output of a specific system or process within a desired range.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karp (US 20160134932) in view of Pandian (US 20180017959), and further in view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art (Background of US 20220137600, hereinafter, “AAPA”).
6. The electrical substation of claim 5 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Karp and Pandian does not explicitly teach:
wherein one or more wireless sensors are placed in the electrical substation and are configured to send data to the additional control and/or monitoring system.
However, AAPA teaches:
wherein one or more wireless sensors are placed in the electrical substation and are configured to send data to the additional control and/or monitoring system. – in paragraph [0007] (Wireless sensor networks could be deployed in substations to gather data that cannot be accessed through existing industrial control systems. The gathered data is then sent to a remote server connected for further processing.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Karp and Pandian with AAPA to include wherein one or more wireless sensors are placed in the electrical substation and are configured to send data to the additional control and/or monitoring system, as taught by AAPA, in paragraph [0002], to deliver electric power to their customers in a safe and reliable way.
Claim(s) 16, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karp (US 20160134932) in view of Pandian (US 20180017959), and further in view of Micka (US 20110082591).
16. Karp teaches:
A method performed by an electronic controller for an industrial control system of an electrical substation, the method comprising: – in paragraphs [0038]-[0485] (While features and concepts of the described systems and methods for a camera system API for third-party integrations can be implemented in any number of different environments, systems, devices, and/or various configurations …. The system 180 may be useful to enable one or more clients 182 (e.g., third-party client and/or a principle client of the device service 84) to: provide data 184 for use in the device services 84 (e.g., to a data store (e.g., data warehouse 185), to storage of one or more of the smart devices, …. The cloud-based service 308 of the example system 300 is accessible via a network 312 by client devices, such as a client device 314 (e.g., illustrated as a mobile phone or tablet device). A user to authorize a client to access user data in the data model via the device service 84, in accordance with an embodiment. To interact with the user's smart devices (e.g., thermostats 10A, detectors 10B, devices 10C, and/or camera devices 10E) by manipulating data or viewing data in the data model, the user must first agree to let the client access user device data. The authorization process may begin with a link 1201 to connect to the device service 84 on a client site/app 1202 that the user may select. In response, a resource access permission page 1204 and a login page 1206 may be displayed that asks the user to grant access to the client and/or sign in if not already signed into an authorization server.)
implementing an application programming interface comprising a public method that authorizes an additional control and/or monitoring system to read data from the database and prevents the additional control and/or monitoring system from writing into the database based on security credentials of the additional control and/or monitoring system. – in paragraphs [0038]-[0485] (An authorization process may be used to enable the user to grant permissions to clients requesting to view and/or modify data associated with the user's smart devices (e.g., thermostats 10A, detectors 10B, devices 10C, and/or camera devices 10E) in the data model using the authorization server 191.The API 90 may validate that the access token is signed by a client secret issued by the authorization server 191. After validation, the API 90 may allow access to the resources in the data model according to the granted scopes associated with the access token using the device service 84. Rules may be set up that allow access to the resources if certain conditions are met. As displayed in the table, the user with ID 55156 granted scopes to two clients, client ID “1234” and client ID “5678”. The scope granted to client ID “1234” includes only the thermostat read scope and the client ID “5678” includes both the “thermostat read/write” scope and the “smoke+CO read” scope. A code snippet example of the profile defining protobuf definitions: … fields generated by public API ….)
Karp does not explicitly teach:
an industrial control system; storing data exchanged by the electronic controller with one or more electrical devices of the electrical substation in a database, wherein the data exchanged includes set point values and command signals that control behavior of at least one of the one or more electrical devices.
However, Pandian teaches:
an industrial control system – in paragraphs [0002]-[0103] (Automated control systems are used extensively in industry and can for example be implemented using programmable logic controllers (PLC(s)), or in the case of more complex systems using distributed control systems (DCS) or supervisory control and data acquisition systems (SCADA).)
storing data exchanged by the electronic controller with one or more electrical devices of the electrical substation in a database, – in paragraphs [0031]-[0103] (Responsive to determining that an operator is an expert, step 204 comprises recording operator inputs received or operator actions implemented at the HMI, which recorded operator inputs or actions may be stored in a best practices database and thereafter treated as operator best practices. The Human-Machine-Interface may in an embodiment comprise an operator terminal or a computer terminal configured to receive operator inputs for generating control instructions to the control system and may also be configured to display information regarding status of or outputs from the control system.)
wherein the data exchanged includes set point values and command signals that control behavior of at least one of the one or more electrical devices; and – in paragraphs [0031]-[0103] (Responsive to determining that an operator is an expert, step 204 comprises recording operator inputs received or operator actions implemented at the HMI, which recorded operator inputs or actions may be stored in a best practices database and thereafter treated as operator best practices. The Human-Machine-Interface may in an embodiment comprise an operator terminal or a computer terminal configured to receive operator inputs for generating control instructions to the control system and may also be configured to display information regarding status of or outputs from the control system. The recorded operator inputs or actions may include recorded snapshots of control system alarms or control system events, snapshots of navigation by the operator through windows, faceplates or other interface elements of the HMI, and/or setpoint values implemented by the operator through the HMI.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Karp with Pandian to include an industrial control system; storing data exchanged by the electronic controller with one or more electrical devices of the electrical substation in a database, wherein the data exchanged includes set point values and command signals that control behavior of at least one of the one or more electrical devices, as taught by Pandian, in paragraphs [0001]-[0039], to provide mechanisms and algorithms for maintaining output of a specific system or process within a desired range.
Combination of Karp and Pandian does not explicitly teach:
wherein the database is configured to centralize, in real time, data exchanged between the one or more electrical devices and the electronic controller.
However, Micka teaches:
wherein the database is configured to centralize, in real time, data exchanged between the one or more electrical devices and the electronic controller, and – in paragraphs [0003]-[0026] (The OPC server 220 can use an OPC client engine 221 to constantly or periodically retrieve nearly real-time data from the local database 260 for storage in the central database 230. The PLC can be operably connected to several sensors located throughout the storage facility, which can provide information to the PLC regarding virtually any measurable parameter in the storage facility environment.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Karp and Pandian with Micka to include wherein the database is configured to centralize, in real time, data exchanged between the one or more electrical devices and the electronic controller, as taught by Micka, in paragraphs [0002]-[0005], [0013], [0014], to provide a centrally-operated remote management system configured to communicate with equipment at a plurality of remotely located storage facilities.
18. Claim 18 is substantially similar to claim 7.
19. Claim 19 is substantially similar to claim 4.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karp (US 20160134932) in view of Pandian (US 20180017959), and further in view of Micka (US 20110082591) and Matsunaga (US 20110055319).
20. Claim 20 is substantially similar to claim 8.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karp (US 20160134932) in view of Pandian (US 20180017959), and further in view of Micka (US 20110082591) and Park (US 20190094827).
21. Claim 21 is substantially similar to claim 9.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karp (US 20160134932) in view of Pandian (US 20180017959), and further in view of Micka (US 20110082591) and Yacoub (US 20160205106).
1. Claim 1 is substantially similar to claims 5, 7, and 16, except for the following limitations:
Combination of Karp, Pandian, and Micka does not explicitly teach:
a memory configured to store a plurality of programable instructions; a processor in communication with the memory; a first communication interface configured to be connected to electrical devices of the electrical substation; a second communication interface configured to be connected to an additional control and/or monitoring system; and a database configured to store data.
However, Yacoub teaches:
a memory configured to store a plurality of programable instructions; – in paragraphs [0044]-[0057], [0086]-[0093] (The computer device 1100 can also include one or more storage device 1110 of varying physical dimensions and storage capacities, such as flash drives, hard drives, random access memory, etc., for storing data, such as images, files, and program instructions for execution by the one or more processors 110.)
a processor in communication with the memory; – in paragraphs [0044]-[0057], [0086]-[0093] (The computer device 1100 can also include one or more storage device 1110 of varying physical dimensions and storage capacities, such as flash drives, hard drives, random access memory, etc., for storing data, such as images, files, and program instructions for execution by the one or more processors 110.)
a first communication interface configured to be connected to electrical devices of the electrical substation; – in paragraphs [0044]-[0057], [0086]-[0093] (The sensor 205, such as a temperature sensor, can detect the temperature of a particular area of Company A and send temperature readings, either continuously or periodically, to the to the gateway device 215 through a data feed. The gateway device 215 can communicate with the IoT services container 220, through a device API 235 over a communications protocol, i.e., TCP/IP, to provide the data feed to subscribers/consumers thereof. Resources described as singular or integrated can in one embodiment be plural or distributed, and resources described as multiple or distributed can in embodiments be combined.)
a second communication interface configured to be connected to an additional control and/or monitoring system; and – in paragraphs [0044]-[0057], [0086]-[0093] (The control computer 230, through an administrator API 245 of the Iot services container 220 over a communication protocol, i.e., TCP/IP, may be operable to monitor the temperature from the sensor 205 and determine that a particular action is warranted based on readings from the sensor. Resources described as singular or integrated can in one embodiment be plural or distributed, and resources described as multiple or distributed can in embodiments be combined.)
a database configured to store data – in paragraphs [0044]-[0057], [0086]-[0093] (The back office computer 225, through a consume API 240 of the IoT services container 220 over a communications protocol, i.e., TCP/IP, may be operable to perform various functions, including, but are not limited, administrative, record keeping, etc. Resources described as singular or integrated can in one embodiment be plural or distributed, and resources described as multiple or distributed can in embodiments be combined.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Karp, Pandian, and Micka with Yacoub to include a memory configured to store a plurality of programable instructions; a processor in communication with the memory; a first communication interface configured to be connected to electrical devices of the electrical substation; a second communication interface configured to be connected to an additional control and/or monitoring system; and a database configured to store data, as taught by Yacoub, in paragraphs [0001]-[0033], to fulfill a need for communication and data infrastructure that simplifies the discovery of devices and use of data that is communicated in interactions with devices and to provide these capabilities securely in a way that protects the privacy of the data being exchanged in the interactions
3. Claim 3 is substantially similar to claim 7.
4. The electronic controller of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Micka teaches:
wherein the electronic controller is a programmable logic controller. – in paragraphs [0013]-[0026] (A central server is configured to communicate with equipment at a remote storage site such as a panel and/or a programmable logic controller (PLC).)
12. The electronic controller of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yacoub teaches:
wherein the first communication interface uses wired communication links, and – in paragraphs [0056]-[0062] (The computer device 500 can also include one or more network interfaces 508 for communicating via one or more networks, such as Ethernet adapters, wireless transceivers, or serial network components, for communicating over wired or wireless media using protocols.)
wherein the electronic controller is configured to connect directly to the electrical devices of the electrical substation or is configured to connect directly to a control device that is connected directly to the electrical devices of the electrical substation. – in paragraphs [0019]-[0039], Fig. 1 (The IOT devices 105 can be any type of electronic device that is capable of communicating with other electronic devices. For example, the IOT devices 105 can include a wide variety of devices such as conventional computing device, smart phones, appliances (e.g. washer/dryers that utilize network communications, smart thermostat systems, etc.), sensors (e.g. remote monitoring heart monitoring implants, biochip transponders, automobiles sensors, etc.), and the like. The IOT service 115 can also include an API 135 to allow the consumers 140 to locate and communicate with the IOT devices 105.)
14. The electronic controller of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yacoub teaches:
wherein the electronic controller enables control of the electrical devices. – in paragraphs [0019]-[0039] (The control computer 230, through an administrator API 245 of the Iot services container 220 over a communication protocol, i.e., TCP/IP, may be operable to monitor the temperature from the sensor 205 and determine that a particular action is warranted based its readings. In this example, if the control computer 230 determines that the temperature monitored by the sensor 205 is too high, the control computer 230 can send a signal through the IoT services container 220 to the actuator 210 to lower the temperature by turning on a fan for a given time period.)
Claim(s) 8, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karp (US 20160134932) in view of Pandian (US 20180017959), and further in view of Micka (US 20110082591), Yacoub (US 20160205106), and Matsunaga (US 20110055319).
8. The electronic controller of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Karp, Pandian, and Micka does not explicitly teach:
wherein the data stored in one or more entries of the database includes a source address or a destination address for addressing a corresponding connected electrical device on a corresponding communication link of the first communication interface.
However, Matsunaga teaches:
wherein the data stored in one or more entries of the database includes a source address or a destination address for addressing a corresponding connected electrical device on a corresponding communication link of the first communication interface. – in paragraph [0040], Fig. 4 (FIG. 4 illustrates an example setting of the service conversion table 54 shown in FIG. 3. For example, as illustrated, the service conversion table 54 contains entries such as a sensor address, a sensing setting value, a server address, and an enable flag, the contents of each entry being set for each sensor node.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Karp, Pandian, and Micka with Matsunaga to include wherein the data stored in one or more entries of the database includes a source address or a destination address for addressing a corresponding connected electrical device on a corresponding communication link of the first communication interface, as taught by Matsunaga, in paragraph [0002], to provide mainly data communication service to a user and providing presence service to the user in order to provide the data communication service with improved effectiveness in a communication system having a plurality of communication nodes such as a communication terminal used by the user.
11. The electronic controller of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Karp, Pandian, and Micka does not explicitly teach:
wherein the database stores entries of the connected electrical devices, each entry corresponding to an abstraction of an entity of a corresponding connected electrical device, the entities including at least one entity capable of generating data and at least one entity capable of consuming data, wherein information stored in an entry that is capable of consuming the data that includes the set point values and the command signal.
However, Matsunaga teaches:
wherein the database stores entries of the connected electrical devices, – in paragraph [0040], Fig. 4 (FIG. 4 illustrates an example setting of the service conversion table 54 shown in FIG. 3. For example, as illustrated, the service conversion table 54 contains entries such as a sensor address, a sensing setting value, a server address, and an enable flag, the contents of each entry being set for each sensor node.)
each entry corresponding to an abstraction of an entity of a corresponding connected electrical device, – in paragraph [0041], Fig. 4 (The sensor address has a description of the network address of the sensor node 11, so that the sensor node 11 is uniquely identified in the sensor network 10. The sensing setting value, for example, has a description of information for defining a measurement mode such as an acquisition cycle at which the sensor node 11 acquires sensor data. For instance, an acquisition cycle of 10 seconds means that the sensor node 11 transmits sensor data, to be received by the service conversion server 50, at a rate of once in 10 seconds.)
the entities including at least one entity capable of generating data and at least one entity capable of consuming data, – in paragraph [0041], Fig. 4 (The sensing setting value, for example, has a description of information for defining a measurement mode such as an acquisition cycle at which the sensor node 11 acquires sensor data.)
wherein information stored in an entry that is capable of consuming the data that includes the set point values and the command signal. – in paragraph [0041], Fig. 4 (For instance, an acquisition cycle of 10 seconds means that the sensor node 11 transmits sensor data, to be received by the service conversion server 50, at a rate of once in 10 seconds.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Karp, Pandian, and Micka with Matsunaga to include wherein the database stores entries of the connected electrical devices, each entry corresponding to an abstraction of an entity of a corresponding connected electrical device, the entities including at least one entity capable of generating data and at least one entity capable of consuming data, wherein information stored in an entry that is capable of consuming the data that includes the set point values and the command signal, as taught by Matsunaga, in paragraph [0002], to provide mainly data communication service to a user and providing presence service to the user in order to provide the data communication service with improved effectiveness in a communication system having a plurality of communication nodes such as a communication terminal used by the user.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karp (US 20160134932) in view of Pandian (US 20180017959), and further in view of Micka (US 20110082591), Yacoub (US 20160205106), and Park (US 20190094827).
9. The electronic controller of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Karp, Pandian, and Micka does not explicitly teach:
wherein an interface for exchanging the data comprises one or more interface modules each adapted to handle communication with at least one of the connected electrical devices according to a predefined communication protocol.
However, Park teaches:
wherein an interface for exchanging the data comprises one or more interface modules each adapted to handle communication with at least one of the connected electrical devices according to a predefined communication protocol. – in paragraph [0137] (Referring now to FIG. 4, software defined gateway 212 is shown to include northbound protocol adaptors 336, southbound protocol adaptors 342, core services 338, and API services 340. Southbound protocol adaptors 342 may be responsible for the discovery of connected sub-systems including sensors and actuators and for collecting data. Southbound protocol adaptors 342 can be configured to communicate and translate data using building automation systems protocols (e.g., BACnet, Modbus, LonWork, C-Bus, KNZ, DALI, ADX, etc.), industrial control protocols (e.g., MTConnect, OPC, OPC-UA, etc.), process automation protocols (e.g., HART, Profibus, etc.), home automation protocols, or any of a variety of other protocols.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Karp, Pandian, and Micka with Park to include wherein an interface for exchanging the data comprises one or more interface modules each adapted to handle communication with at least one of the connected electrical devices according to a predefined communication protocol, as taught by Park, in paragraphs [0002], [0003], to provide a solution in which maintenance and integration cost is not high when multiple gateways must work together to collect and provide data to a building management system.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karp (US 20160134932) in view of Pandian (US 20180017959), and further in view of Micka (US 20110082591), Yacoub (US 20160205106), and Ohno (US 20150032229).
10. The electronic controller of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Karp, Pandian, and Micka does not explicitly teach:
wherein the industrial control system implements a virtual machine configured to process read requests received from the additional control and/or monitoring system.
However, Ohno teaches:
wherein the industrial control system implements a virtual machine configured to process read requests received from the additional control and/or monitoring system. – in paragraphs [0102]-[0110] (The application 24a makes a system call and outputs a data read request to the operating system 23a. Based on this data read request, measurement data is acquired from the sensor apparatus 11, via the virtual device VD12 and the device RD2. In the above-noted transmission execution (step S35), the application 24a makes a system call and outputs a data write request to the operating system 23a. Based on this data write request, monitoring and display information is output via the virtual device VD11 and the device RD3.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Karp, Pandian, and Micka with Ohno to include wherein the industrial control system implements a virtual machine configured to process read requests received from the additional control and/or monitoring system, as taught by Ohno, in paragraphs [0002]-[0036], to provide a process control apparatus and system, and a method for determining the normality thereof, capable of maintaining tight security over a long period of time, without adopting corrective patches to correct vulnerabilities in the operating system and the application.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karp (US 20160134932) in view of Pandian (US 20180017959), and further in view of Micka (US 20110082591), Yacoub (US 20160205106), and Mollenkopf (US 20090265042).
13. The electronic controller of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Karp, Pandian, and Micka does not explicitly teach:
wherein the electrical devices are configured to perform one or more functions that affect distribution of electrical power and the electrical devices are interfaced with one or more power lines.
However, Mollenkopf teaches:
wherein the electrical devices are configured to perform one or more functions that affect distribution of electrical power and the electrical devices are interfaced with one or more power lines. – in paragraph [0024] (The voltage information from all of the measuring (i.e., monitoring) devices is periodically received in substantially real time by a remote computer for processing. That remote computer includes the software application configured to calculate control commands to be sent to equipment at the substation(s) and/or elsewhere (e.g., capacitor banks, volt regulators, switches, reclosers, voltage regulator) in the power distribution system to adjust the voltage throughout a feeder (i.e., an MV power line) or set of feeders so that power consumption can be minimized while ensuring the voltage delivered to customers maintains required voltage levels. The software application continuously monitors the voltage being supplied to the power customers to ensure that the voltage supplied to each customer is just slightly above the minimum required voltage. If data is received that indicates a voltage is too low (below the minimum voltage required) or too high (some quantity (e.g., percentage or value) above the maximum voltage), the application will cause control commands to be sent to one or more pieces of equipment causing them to take action to thereby adjust the voltage as necessary.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Karp, Pandian, and Micka with Mollenkopf to include wherein the electrical devices are configured to perform one or more functions that affect distribution of electrical power and the electrical devices are interfaced with one or more power lines, as taught by Mollenkopf, in paragraphs [0002]-[0007], to provide technique for operating a power distribution system to regulate the voltage supplied to a plurality of customer premises by the power distribution system.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karp (US 20160134932) in view of Pandian (US 20180017959), and further in view of Micka (US 20110082591), Yacoub (US 20160205106), and Viswanathan (US 20190188980).
15. The electronic controller of claim 14 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Karp, Pandian, and Micka does not explicitly teach:
wherein the control is provided via one or more of remotely, control devices directly interfaced with the electronic controller and the electrical devices, or direct connections between the electronic controller and the electrical devices.
However, Viswanathan teaches:
wherein the control is provided via one or more of remotely, control devices directly interfaced with the electronic controller and the electrical devices, or direct connections between the electronic controller and the electrical devices. – in paragraphs [0035]-[0060] (An occupant may use their registered device 366 to remotely control the smart devices of the home, such as when the occupant is at work or on vacation.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Karp, Pandian, and Micka with Viswanathan to include wherein the control is provided via one or more of remotely, control devices directly interfaced with the electronic controller and the electrical devices, or direct connections between the electronic controller and the electrical devices, as taught by Viswanathan, in paragraph [0014], to provide the ability to integrate video streaming services hosted by a first service provider with security services provided by a second service provider may help provide particularly effective security monitoring.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karp (US 20160134932) in view of Pandian (US 20180017959), and further in view of Micka (US 20110082591), Yacoub (US 20160205106), and Krishnamurthy (US 20210224145).
17. The electronic controller of claim 1 – refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Combination of Karp, Pandian, and Micka does not explicitly teach:
wherein the database includes modules that are configured to read device configuration files, wherein the device configuration files are configured to be used to establish and operate the first communication interface between the electronic controller and the electrical devices of the electrical substation.
However, Krishnamurthy teaches:
wherein the database includes modules that are configured to read device configuration files, wherein the device configuration files are configured to be used to establish and operate the first communication interface between the electronic controller and the electrical devices of the electrical substation. – in paragraphs [0019]-[0020] (The API enablement system 100 helps the device 103 to use the SDN functionality by designing a API module 104 that matches configuration of the device 103. The process of designing the API module 104 for the device 103 involves two phases namely analysis and design phase and a review phase. In the analysis and design phase, the IDE server 102 initially identifies capabilities of the device 103 by fetching, analyzing and processing specific data from the device 103. Further, based on the identified device capabilities, the IDE server 103 designs an API module 104 with compliance for certain pre-defined rules and policies so as to enable the device 103 use the desired SDN functionality.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Karp, Pandian, and Micka with Krishnamurthy to include wherein the database includes modules that are configured to read device configuration files, wherein the device configuration files are configured to be used to establish and operate the first communication interface between the electronic controller and the electrical devices of the electrical substation, as taught by Krishnamurthy, in paragraphs [0002]-[0015], to provide programmability support for legacy products which already exist in the market.
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD RAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449