Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim [1,4-7,9,12-15, 17-18 and 29] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 20190069335A1) in view of Zhou (US 20200029316 A1) further in view of Teyeb (US 20200296637 A1).
Regarding claim 1 and 9, Wu teaches receiving, by a master node, a first message from a secondary node, wherein the first message is used to release the secondary node, and wherein the first message comprises a current configuration of a terminal at the secondary node; [0058] In one example, if the first BS is a secondary node (SN) (e.g., Secondary gNB (SgNB) or Secondary eNB (SeNB)), the first BS may transmit at least one of the indication of the support of the local cache routing configuration, the local cache routing request and the local cache routing configuration in a first SN message (e.g., a SN Addition Request Acknowledge message, a SN Modification Request Acknowledge message, a SN Modification Required message, a SN Change Required message or a SN Release Required message) for the UE to a fourth BS (e.g., Master Node, e.g., a Master eNB (MeNB) or a Master gNB (MgNB)), in response to receiving the first message from the secondary node, generating, by the master node, a delta configuration for the terminal based on the current configuration comprised in the first message; [0058] The fourth BS may transmit a second SN message (e.g., a SN Addition Request message) to a fifth BS (e.g., a new SN). The second SN message may include the at least one of the indication of the support of the local cache routing configuration, the local cache routing request and the local cache routing configuration. The fifth BS may transmit a third SN message (e.g., a SN Addition Request Acknowledge message) including a SCG configuration or a SN RRC Reconfiguration message) to the fourth BS, in response to the second SN message. The fifth BS determines whether to keep the local cache routing configuration or not. The fifth BS may indicate the UE whether to keep the local cache routing configuration or not in the SCG configuration or in the SN RRC Reconfiguration message according to the determination. Then, the fourth BS transmits the SN RRC Reconfiguration message to the UE, to command the UE to connect to the fifth BS. The UE transmits a SN RRC Reconfiguration Complete message to the fourth BS, in response to the SN RRC Reconfiguration message. and sending, by the master node, [0056] In one example, the first BS transmits at least one of the indication of the support of the local cache routing configuration, the local cache routing request and the local cache routing configuration to a third BS in a Handover Request message for a handover preparation for the UE. The third BS transmits a Handover Request Acknowledge message in response to the Handover Request message. The Handover Request Acknowledge message includes a handover command (e.g., a RRC Reconfiguration message), the delta configuration to the terminal. [0053] In one example, the first BS configures the local cache routing configuration, in response to the RRC message. For example, the RRC message is the RRC Connection Request message, the RRC Connection Setup Complete message, the RRC Reconfiguration Complete message, a Security Mode Complete message, a UE Assistance Information message, a UE Capability Information or a new RRC message.
Wu does not teach wherein the current configuration comprises a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration of a secondary node terminated bearer and a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration of the secondary node terminated bearer
However, Zhou does teach wherein the current configuration comprises a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration of a secondary node terminated bearer [0297] and/or packets of an SCG bearer via an SDAP layer (e.g., SDAP 1110), a PDCP layer (e.g., NR PDCP 1113), an RLC layer (e.g., SN RLC 1117), and a MAC layer (e.g., MN MAC 1119) and a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration of the secondary node terminated bearer [0297] packets of an MCG bearer via an SDAP layer (e.g., SDAP 1110), a PDCP layer (e.g., NR PDCP 1111), an RLC layer (e.g., MN RLC 1114), and a MAC layer (e.g., MN MAC 1118); packets of a split bearer via an SDAP layer (e.g., SDAP 1110), a PDCP layer (e.g., NR PDCP 1112).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Wu and Zhou before him or her, to modify the method of Wu to include the protocol configuration as taught by Zhou.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved wireless network performance. (0329 by Zhou).
Wu and Zhou do not teach determining, by the master node, to modify all or a portion of the current configuration to generate a delta configuration.
However, Teyeb does teach determining, by the master node, to modify all or a portion of the current configuration to generate a delta configuration [0043] It should be noted that, in message 1 (SgNB addition request), the MN includes the current SCG configuration of the UE so that the target SN (T-SN) is able to do delta configuration instead of full configuration (i.e. it can change only the configuration that needs to be change, instead of reconfiguring the whole SCG). Currently, the exact details on how the MN acquires the latest SCG configuration is not settled in 3GPP.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Wu, Zhou an Teyeb before him or her, to modify the method of Wu and Zhou to include the delta configuration as taught by Teyeb.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved wireless network latency. (0201 by Teyeb).
In regards to claim 4 and 12, Wu , Zhou and Teyeb teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Wu also teaches wherein the first message is a secondary node release request acknowledge message. [0058] (e.g., a SN Addition Request Acknowledge message, a SN Modification Request Acknowledge message, a SN Modification Required message, a SN Change Required message or a SN Release Required message).
In regards to claim 5, Wu , Zhou and Teyeb teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Wu also teaches sending, by the master node, a secondary node release request message to the secondary node, wherein the secondary node release request message indicates the secondary node to send the current configuration to the master node.[0058] the first BS is a secondary node (SN) (e.g., Secondary gNB (SgNB) or Secondary eNB (SeNB)), the first BS may transmit at least one of the indication of the support of the local cache routing configuration, the local cache routing request and the local cache routing configuration in a first SN message (e.g., a SN Addition Request Acknowledge message, a SN Modification Request Acknowledge message, a SN Modification Required message, a SN Change Required message or a SN Release Required message).
In regards to claim 6, Wu , Zhou and Teyeb teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Wu also teaches wherein the secondary node release request message comprises indication information, and wherein the indication information indicates the secondary node to send the current configuration to the master node. [0058] the local cache routing configuration in a first SN message (e.g., a SN Addition Request Acknowledge message, a SN Modification Request Acknowledge message, a SN Modification Required message, a SN Change Required message or a SN Release Required message) for the UE to a fourth BS (e.g., Master Node, e.g., a Master eNB (MeNB) or a Master gNB (MgNB)). The fourth BS may transmit a second SN message (e.g., a SN Addition Request message) to a fifth BS (e.g., a new SN). The second SN message may include the at least one of the indication of the support of the local cache routing configuration, the local cache routing request and the local cache routing configuration.
In regards to claim 13, Wu , Zhou and Teyeb teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Wu also teaches send a secondary node release request message to the secondary node, wherein the secondary node release request message indicates the secondary node to send the current configuration to the apparatus.[0058] the first BS is a secondary node (SN) (e.g., Secondary gNB (SgNB) or Secondary eNB (SeNB)), the first BS may transmit at least one of the indication of the support of the local cache routing configuration, the local cache routing request and the local cache routing configuration in a first SN message (e.g., a SN Addition Request Acknowledge message, a SN Modification Request Acknowledge message, a SN Modification Required message, a SN Change Required message or a SN Release Required message).
In regards to claim 14, Wu , Zhou and Teyeb teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Wu also teaches wherein the secondary node release request message comprises indication information, and wherein the indication information indicates the secondary node to send the current configuration to the apparatus. [0058] the local cache routing configuration in a first SN message (e.g., a SN Addition Request Acknowledge message, a SN Modification Request Acknowledge message, a SN Modification Required message, a SN Change Required message or a SN Release Required message) for the UE to a fourth BS (e.g., Master Node, e.g., a Master eNB (MeNB) or a Master gNB (MgNB)). The fourth BS may transmit a second SN message (e.g., a SN Addition Request message) to a fifth BS (e.g., a new SN). The second SN message may include the at least one of the indication of the support of the local cache routing configuration, the local cache routing request and the local cache routing configuration.
In regard to claim 17 Wu , Zhou and Teyeb teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Wu also teaches at least one processor; and one or more memories coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to: [0068] The abovementioned description, steps and/or processes including suggested steps can be realized by means that could be hardware, software, firmware (known as a combination of a hardware device and computer instructions and data that reside as read-only software on the hardware device), an electronic system, or combination thereof. An example of the means may be the communication device 20. Any of the processes above may be compiled into the program codes 214. receive a delta configuration from a master node, wherein the delta configuration is determined by the master node based on a current configuration of the apparatus at a secondary node, and the current configuration is comprised in a message from the secondary node to the master node; and perform he delta configuration. [0058] In one example, if the first BS is a secondary node (SN) (e.g., Secondary gNB (SgNB) or Secondary eNB (SeNB)), the first BS may transmit at least one of the indication of the support of the local cache routing configuration, the local cache routing request and the local cache routing configuration in a first SN message (e.g., a SN Addition Request Acknowledge message, a SN Modification Request Acknowledge message, a SN Modification Required message, a SN Change Required message or a SN Release Required message) for the UE to a fourth BS (e.g., Master Node, e.g., a Master eNB (MeNB) or a Master gNB (MgNB)).
Regarding claim 7 and 15, Wu , Zhou and Teyeb teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Wu also teaches wherein the first message is a secondary node release required message. [0058] In one example, if the first BS is a secondary node (SN) (e.g., Secondary gNB (SgNB) or Secondary eNB (SeNB)), the first BS may transmit at least one of the indication of the support of the local cache routing configuration, the local cache routing request and the local cache routing configuration in a first SN message (e.g., a SN Addition Request Acknowledge message, a SN Modification Request Acknowledge message, a SN Modification Required message, a SN Change Required message or a SN Release Required message) for the UE to a fourth BS (e.g., Master Node, e.g., a Master eNB (MeNB) or a Master gNB (MgNB)).
Regarding claim 29, Wu , Zhou and Teyeb teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Wu and Teyeb do not teach wherein the secondary node terminated bearer is a bearer established at the secondary node and between the terminal and the secondary node.
However, Zhou does teach wherein the secondary node terminated bearer is a bearer [0297] A wireless device (e.g., wireless device 110) may send (e.g., transmit) and/or receive: packets of an MCG bearer via an SDAP layer (e.g., SDAP 1110), a PDCP layer (e.g., NR PDCP 1111), an RLC layer (e.g., MN RLC 1114), and a MAC layer (e.g., MN MAC 1118) established at the secondary node and between the terminal and the secondary node.[0295] In multi connectivity, a wireless device may be connected to one master base station and one or more secondary base stations. A master base station (e.g., the MN 1130) may provide a master cell group (MCG) comprising a primary cell and/or one or more secondary cells for a wireless device (e.g., the wireless device 110).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Wu and Zhou before him or her, to modify the method of Wu to include the protocol configuration as taught by Zhou.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved wireless network performance. (0329 by Zhou).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21-28 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base
claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments filed on 12/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant essentially argues with respect to claim 1 on page 4 of the remark’s files on 12/31/2025 that “Wu [0058] fails to teach “receiving by a master node, a first message from a secondary node,””.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant’s argument, it is noted that the feature “receiving by a master node, a first message from a secondary node,” is included in [0058] “the local cache routing request and the local cache routing configuration in a first SN message (e.g., a SN Addition Request Acknowledge message, a SN Modification Request Acknowledge message, a SN Modification Required message, a SN Change Required message or a SN Release Required message) for the UE to a fourth BS (e.g., Master Node, e.g., a Master eNB (MeNB) or a Master gNB (MgNB)). The fourth BS may transmit a second SN message (e.g., a SN Addition Request message) to a fifth BS (e.g., a new SN).”. In reference Wu, the fourth base station (master node) is receiving a first SN message from the first base station (secondary node).
The applicant also argues with respect to claim 1 on page 4 of the remark’s files on 12/31/2025 that “Zhou [0297] fails to teach “and wherein the current configuration comprises a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration of a secondary node terminated bearer and a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration of the secondary node terminated bearer””.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant’s argument, it is noted that the feature “and wherein the current configuration comprises a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) configuration of a secondary node terminated bearer and a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) configuration of the secondary node terminated bearer” is included in [0297 and 0298] “packets of an SCG bearer via a master or secondary node SDAP layer (e.g., SDAP 1120, SDAP 1140), a master or secondary node PDCP layer (e.g., NR PDCP 1122, NR PDCP 1143), a secondary node RLC layer (e.g., SN RLC 1146, SN RLC 1147), and a secondary node MAC layer (e.g., SN MAC 1148)”. Zhou also includes what an SDAP configuration comprises in paragraph 0218 “Services and functions of the PDCP layer for the user plane may comprise, for example, sequence numbering, header compression and decompression, transfer of user data, reordering and duplicate detection, PDCP PDU routing (e.g., such as for split bearers), retransmission of PDCP SDUs, ciphering, deciphering and integrity protection, PDCP SDU discard, PDCP re-establishment and data recovery for RLC AM, and/or duplication of PDCP PDUs. Services and/or functions of SDAP may comprise, for example, mapping between a QoS flow and a data radio bearer. Services and/or functions of SDAP may comprise mapping a Quality of Service Indicator (QFI) in DL and UL packets.”. Wu and Zhou when combined teach a secondary node sending a first sn message to a master node which contains configuration information within the PDCP/SDAP configuration of a DRB managed by that node, and PDCP and SDAP configurations exchange between the master node and secondary node.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHEHAB A ALAWDI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/JAY P PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466