Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of the information disclosure statements filed on August 14, 2025. U.S. patent applications, foreign patents, and non-patent literature documents have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 9, 11, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2020/0146069), herein referred to as “Chen”, in view of Wittberg and Bergtrom (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2013/0195030), herein referred to as “Wittberg”, and further in view of Teyeb et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0150741), herein referred to as “Teyeb”. The Chen reference claims priority from provisional application 62/754589. The Teyeb reference claims priority from provisional application 62/821184.
Regarding Claim 1,
Chen discloses: A wireless communication method, comprising: transmitting, by a network device, to a user device, a configuration information including
[0085] For an RRC resume procedure, or a related RA triggering event, a short I-RNTI (which is 24 bits) or a full I-RNTI (which is 40 bits) may be used in MsgA payload for contention resolution. In some of the present implementations, whether a short I-RNTI or a full I-RNTI is used for an RRC resume procedure may be based on the information signalled in the system information (e.g., SIB1).
[0108] FIG. 4 is a diagram 400 illustrating communications between a UE and a base station in a 2-step RA procedure, according to an example implementation of the present application. FIG. 4 includes a UE 410, and a base station (e.g., a gNB) 420. As shown in the figure the base station 420 may broadcast, in action 430, the configuration parameters for a 2-step RA procedure. The 2-step configuration may be received by the UE 410 through the system information (e.g., the SIB1 or other SI blocks) in some of the present implementations. Although the configuration parameters are shown to be broadcast in FIG. 4, in some aspects of the present implementations, the 2-step RA procedure configuration may be transmitted to the UE 410 through dedicated signaling instead of, or in conjunction with the SI broadcasting.
[0114] FIG. 5 is a diagram 500 illustrating a fallback mechanism to a 4-step RA procedure during a 2-step RA procedure, according to an example implementation of the present application. FIG. 5 includes a UE 510, and a base station (e.g., a gNB) 520. Similar to FIG. 4, the base station 520 may broadcast, in action 530, the configuration parameters for a 2-step RA procedure. In action 540, the UE 510 may be capable of performing the 2-step procedure. In FIG. 5, however, the base station 520 may also broadcast configuration parameters for a 4-step RA procedure (e.g., in the system information) as well.
transmitting, by the network device, to the user device, a random access response generated based on the long radio network temporary identifier
[0085] For an RRC resume procedure, or a related RA triggering event, a short I-RNTI (which is 24 bits) or a full I-RNTI (which is 40 bits) may be used in MsgA payload for contention resolution. Both short I-RNTI and full I-RNTI may be used to identify the suspended UE context of an Inactive UE. In some of the present implementations, whether a short I-RNTI or a full I-RNTI is used for an RRC resume procedure may be based on the information signalled in the system information (e.g., SIB1).
[0113] As shown in FIG. 4, if the UE 410 receives the MsgB in action 470, and the MsgB contains an associated Contention Resolution ID, then the contention resolution is considered to be successful. That is, the initiated 2-step RA procedure is completed. In some of the present implementations, when the UE considers that its 2-step RA procedure is successful, the UE may set the C-RNTI as the one indicated in the MsgB (or in the MAC RAR with the associated Contention Resolution ID).
[0116] Similar to what is described above, with reference to FIG. 4, upon an RA triggering event occurs in action 550, the UE 510 may transmit, in action 560, a MsgA to the base station 520. After transmitting the MsgA, the UE 510 may receive, in action 570, a MsgB from the base station 520.
the random access response transmitted in response to the receiving of the random access preamble
[0113] As shown in FIG. 4, if the UE 410 receives the MsgB in action 470, and the MsgB contains an associated Contention Resolution ID, then the contention resolution is considered to be successful. That is, the initiated 2-step RA procedure is completed. In some of the present implementations, when the UE considers that its 2-step RA procedure is successful, the UE may set the C-RNTI as the one indicated in the MsgB (or in the MAC RAR with the associated Contention Resolution ID).
[0116] Similar to what is described above, with reference to FIG. 4, upon an RA triggering event occurs in action 550, the UE 510 may transmit, in action 560, a MsgA to the base station 520. After transmitting the MsgA, the UE 510 may receive, in action 570, a MsgB from the base station 520.
Chen does not explicitly disclose the indication is a 1-bit indication; deriving, in response to the 1-bit indication, the long radio temporary identifier based on a first computing formula with an extended value range of parameters applied in the first computing formula or a second computing formula different from the first computing formula; receiving, by the network device, after the transmitting of the configuration information, a random access preamble from the user device, and wherein the configuration information further includes a length of the long radio network temporary identifier.
However, Wittberg discloses: the indication is a 1-bit indication.
[0114] According to an exemplary embodiment, these "new" RA-RNTI values can be an extension of currently RA-RNTI values. This can be done by extending the RA-RNTI size by a bit, with the extra bit having a flag which indicates if the RA was performed on a PCell or an SCell.
Note: The generating of the RNTI values, and the extension of those values, is being conducted in response to the “flag/bit” value performed on the PCell or SCell, which is the 1-bit indication.
Wittberg further discloses: deriving, in response to the 1-bit indication, the long radio temporary identifier based on a first computing formula with an extended value range of parameters applied in the first computing formula or a second computing formula different from the first computing formula.
[0110] According to an exemplary embodiment the calculation of the RA-RNTI value will be extended from the current method as shown below in equation (1):
RNTI=1+t.sub.--id+10*f.sub.--id (1)
to the following new method as shown below in equation (2):
RNTI=1+t.sub.--id+10*f.sub.--id+(60*is.sub.--SCell) (2)
where t_id is the index of the first subframe of the specified PRACH (0.ltoreq.t_id<10), f_id is the index of the specified PRACH within that subframe, in ascending order of frequency domain (0.ltoreq.f_id<6) and is_SCell is equal to 0 when performing RA on a PCell and equal to 1 when performing RA on an SCell.
[0112] Alternatively, the RA-RNTI value could be calculated as shown below in equation (3):
RNTI=1+t.sub.--id+10*f.sub.--id+(60*is.sub.--PCell) (3)
where t_id is the index of the first subframe of the specified PRACH (0.ltoreq.t_id<10), f_id is the index of the specified PRACH within that subframe, in ascending order of frequency domain (0.ltoreq.f_id<6) and is_PCell is equal to 1 when performing RA on a PCell and equal to 0 when performing RA on an SCell.
[0114] According to an exemplary embodiment, these "new" RA-RNTI values can be an extension of currently RA-RNTI values. This can be done by extending the RA-RNTI size by a bit, with the extra bit having a flag which indicates if the RA was performed on a PCell or an SCell.
Note: The generating of the RNTI values, and the extension of those values, is being conducted in response to the “flag/bit” value performed on the PCell or SCell. These values are sent by the LTE RAN 24 (reference Figures 11 and 12). The “range of parameters” are the variables listed with the equations.
Chen and Wittberg are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include the concepts of having an indication being one bit and deriving a long radio temporary identifier based on a formula as taught by Wittberg so as to promote better communications between user devices and the network.
Teyeb further discloses receiving, by the network device, after the transmitting of the configuration information, a random access preamble from the user device.
[0092] [S]ystems and methods were disclosed for sending early measurements either inside msg3 or multiplexed with msg3 (e.g., RRCResumeRequest) in the case of resuming a suspended connection, an example realization of which is illustrated in FIG. 8. Particularly, FIG. 8 illustrates early measurement reporting in msg3 during transition from suspended mode to connected mode according to some of the embodiments in U.S. Provisional Patent Application Ser. No. 62/804,612.
[0097] The indication from the network to the UE may be an explicit indication or an implicit indication. Some examples are as follows: [0098] Explicit indication, e.g. [0099] Broadcasting of an explicit indication (concerning method to use for the early measurement reporting) in system information; [0100] Including an explicit indication at transmission of msg2, e.g. explicitly in Random Access Response (RAR) or in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE); [0101] Including an explicit indication in, e.g., RRC Release like message, telling the UE which method to use to report early measurements. This indication could, e.g., be part of the early measurement configurations; or [0102] Including/Excluding an explicit indication during the UE's transition to CONNECTED state (e.g., in RRCResume, RRCSetup, or Paging like message); or [0103] Implicit indication, e.g. [0104] Having the selection of the method be based on the broadcasted indication whether short Inactive Radio Network Temporary Identifier (I-RNTI) or full I-RNTI is to be used at connection resume (based on the inclusion or not of the useFullResumeID in SIB1); or [0105] Depending on the size of the uplink grants for msg3/5.
Teyeb also discloses wherein the configuration information further includes a length of the long radio network temporary identifier.
[0125] In one embodiment, the UE is configured to perform idle/inactive measurements, and will report these early measurements in msg3 if: [0126] The UE has received an explicit indication such as one of the following. [0127] The target cell has indicated via a new field included in SIB (e.g., in SIB1, 2, 4, 5, etc.) that the msg3 is to be used for reporting early measurements; or [0128] The UE receives an explicit indication in, e.g., RRC Release like message, telling the UE to report early measurements in msg3. This indication could, e.g., be part of the early measurement configurations; or [0129] The UE has received an indication in msg2, e.g. explicitly in RAR or in a MAC CE. [0130] The UE has received an implicit indication such as one of the following. [0131] The target cell has indicated the usage of the full I-RNTI (40 bit UE identifier for resumption) by including the useFullResumeID in the SIB1 (or equivalent flag), which can be interpreted as a sign that the target is able to provide large grants (i.e., if userFullResumeID was not included, UEs have to use the short I-RNTI in the RRCResumeRequest, which is 2 bytes shorter than the full I-RNTI);
Chen and Teyeb are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include the concepts of receiving a random access preamble from the user device, and the configuration information includes a length of the long radio network temporary identifier as taught by Teyeb so as to promote better communications between user devices and the network.
Regarding Claim 2,
Chen discloses: The wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the configuration information is included in a MIB (Master Information Block), a SIB 1 (System Information Block), or a dedicated RRC (Radio Resource Control) signaling.
[0085] For an RRC resume procedure, or a related RA triggering event, a short I-RNTI (which is 24 bits) or a full I-RNTI (which is 40 bits) may be used in MsgA payload for contention resolution. Both short I-RNTI and full I-RNTI may be used to identify the suspended UE context of an Inactive UE. In some of the present implementations, whether a short I-RNTI or a full I-RNTI is used for an RRC resume procedure may be based on the information signalled in the system information (e.g., SIB1).
Regarding Claim 9,
Claim 9 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1, but from the perspective of the UE.
Chen discloses: A wireless communication method, comprising: receiving, by a user device, a configuration information including
[0085] For an RRC resume procedure, or a related RA triggering event, a short I-RNTI (which is 24 bits) or a full I-RNTI (which is 40 bits) may be used in MsgA payload for contention resolution. In some of the present implementations, whether a short I-RNTI or a full I-RNTI is used for an RRC resume procedure may be based on the information signalled in the system information (e.g., SIB1).
[0108] FIG. 4 is a diagram 400 illustrating communications between a UE and a base station in a 2-step RA procedure, according to an example implementation of the present application. FIG. 4 includes a UE 410, and a base station (e.g., a gNB) 420. As shown in the figure the base station 420 may broadcast, in action 430, the configuration parameters for a 2-step RA procedure. The 2-step configuration may be received by the UE 410 through the system information (e.g., the SIB1 or other SI blocks) in some of the present implementations. Although the configuration parameters are shown to be broadcast in FIG. 4, in some aspects of the present implementations, the 2-step RA procedure configuration may be transmitted to the UE 410 through dedicated signaling instead of, or in conjunction with the SI broadcasting.
[0114] FIG. 5 is a diagram 500 illustrating a fallback mechanism to a 4-step RA procedure during a 2-step RA procedure, according to an example implementation of the present application. FIG. 5 includes a UE 510, and a base station (e.g., a gNB) 520. Similar to FIG. 4, the base station 520 may broadcast, in action 530, the configuration parameters for a 2-step RA procedure. In action 540, the UE 510 may be capable of performing the 2-step procedure. In FIG. 5, however, the base station 520 may also broadcast configuration parameters for a 4-step RA procedure (e.g., in the system information) as well.
receiving, by the user device, from the user device, a random access response generated based on the long radio network temporary identifier
[0085] For an RRC resume procedure, or a related RA triggering event, a short I-RNTI (which is 24 bits) or a full I-RNTI (which is 40 bits) may be used in MsgA payload for contention resolution. Both short I-RNTI and full I-RNTI may be used to identify the suspended UE context of an Inactive UE. In some of the present implementations, whether a short I-RNTI or a full I-RNTI is used for an RRC resume procedure may be based on the information signalled in the system information (e.g., SIB1).
[0113] As shown in FIG. 4, if the UE 410 receives the MsgB in action 470, and the MsgB contains an associated Contention Resolution ID, then the contention resolution is considered to be successful. That is, the initiated 2-step RA procedure is completed. In some of the present implementations, when the UE considers that its 2-step RA procedure is successful, the UE may set the C-RNTI as the one indicated in the MsgB (or in the MAC RAR with the associated Contention Resolution ID).
[0116] Similar to what is described above, with reference to FIG. 4, upon an RA triggering event occurs in action 550, the UE 510 may transmit, in action 560, a MsgA to the base station 520. After transmitting the MsgA, the UE 510 may receive, in action 570, a MsgB from the base station 520.
Chen does not explicitly disclose the indication is a 1-bit indication; transmitting, after the receiving of the configuration information, a random access preamble to the network device; wherein the configuration information further includes a length of the long radio network temporary identifier; and wherein the long radio network temporary identifier is derived in response to the 1-bit indication based on a first computing formula with an extended value range of parameters applied in the first computing formula or a second computing formula different from the first computing formula.
However, Wittberg discloses: the indication is a 1-bit indication.
[0114] According to an exemplary embodiment, these "new" RA-RNTI values can be an extension of currently RA-RNTI values. This can be done by extending the RA-RNTI size by a bit, with the extra bit having a flag which indicates if the RA was performed on a PCell or an SCell.
Note: The generating of the RNTI values, and the extension of those values, is being conducted in response to the “flag/bit” value performed on the PCell or SCell, which is the 1-bit indication.
Wittberg further discloses: wherein the long radio network temporary identifier is derived in response to the 1-bit indication based on a first computing formula with an extended value range of parameters applied in the first computing formula or a second computing formula different from the first computing formula.
[0110] According to an exemplary embodiment the calculation of the RA-RNTI value will be extended from the current method as shown below in equation (1):
RNTI=1+t.sub.--id+10*f.sub.--id (1)
to the following new method as shown below in equation (2):
RNTI=1+t.sub.--id+10*f.sub.--id+(60*is.sub.--SCell) (2)
where t_id is the index of the first subframe of the specified PRACH (0.ltoreq.t_id<10), f_id is the index of the specified PRACH within that subframe, in ascending order of frequency domain (0.ltoreq.f_id<6) and is_SCell is equal to 0 when performing RA on a PCell and equal to 1 when performing RA on an SCell.
[0112] Alternatively, the RA-RNTI value could be calculated as shown below in equation (3):
RNTI=1+t.sub.--id+10*f.sub.--id+(60*is.sub.--PCell) (3)
where t_id is the index of the first subframe of the specified PRACH (0.ltoreq.t_id<10), f_id is the index of the specified PRACH within that subframe, in ascending order of frequency domain (0.ltoreq.f_id<6) and is_PCell is equal to 1 when performing RA on a PCell and equal to 0 when performing RA on an SCell.
[0114] According to an exemplary embodiment, these "new" RA-RNTI values can be an extension of currently RA-RNTI values. This can be done by extending the RA-RNTI size by a bit, with the extra bit having a flag which indicates if the RA was performed on a PCell or an SCell.
Note: The generating of the RNTI values, and the extension of those values, is being conducted in response to the “flag/bit” value performed on the PCell or SCell. These values are sent by the LTE RAN 24 (reference Figures 11 and 12). The “range of parameters” are the variables listed with the equations.
Chen and Wittberg are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include the concepts of having an indication being one bit and deriving a long radio temporary identifier based on a formula as taught by Wittberg so as to promote better communications between user devices and the network.
Teyeb further discloses transmitting, after the receiving of the configuration information, a random access preamble to the network device.
[0092] [S]ystems and methods were disclosed for sending early measurements either inside msg3 or multiplexed with msg3 (e.g., RRCResumeRequest) in the case of resuming a suspended connection, an example realization of which is illustrated in FIG. 8. Particularly, FIG. 8 illustrates early measurement reporting in msg3 during transition from suspended mode to connected mode according to some of the embodiments in U.S. Provisional Patent Application Ser. No. 62/804,612.
[0097] The indication from the network to the UE may be an explicit indication or an implicit indication. Some examples are as follows: [0098] Explicit indication, e.g. [0099] Broadcasting of an explicit indication (concerning method to use for the early measurement reporting) in system information; [0100] Including an explicit indication at transmission of msg2, e.g. explicitly in Random Access Response (RAR) or in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE); [0101] Including an explicit indication in, e.g., RRC Release like message, telling the UE which method to use to report early measurements. This indication could, e.g., be part of the early measurement configurations; or [0102] Including/Excluding an explicit indication during the UE's transition to CONNECTED state (e.g., in RRCResume, RRCSetup, or Paging like message); or [0103] Implicit indication, e.g. [0104] Having the selection of the method be based on the broadcasted indication whether short Inactive Radio Network Temporary Identifier (I-RNTI) or full I-RNTI is to be used at connection resume (based on the inclusion or not of the useFullResumeID in SIB1); or [0105] Depending on the size of the uplink grants for msg3/5.
Teyeb also discloses wherein the configuration information further includes a length of the long radio network temporary identifier.
[0125] In one embodiment, the UE is configured to perform idle/inactive measurements, and will report these early measurements in msg3 if: [0126] The UE has received an explicit indication such as one of the following. [0127] The target cell has indicated via a new field included in SIB (e.g., in SIB1, 2, 4, 5, etc.) that the msg3 is to be used for reporting early measurements; or [0128] The UE receives an explicit indication in, e.g., RRC Release like message, telling the UE to report early measurements in msg3. This indication could, e.g., be part of the early measurement configurations; or [0129] The UE has received an indication in msg2, e.g. explicitly in RAR or in a MAC CE. [0130] The UE has received an implicit indication such as one of the following. [0131] The target cell has indicated the usage of the full I-RNTI (40 bit UE identifier for resumption) by including the useFullResumeID in the SIB1 (or equivalent flag), which can be interpreted as a sign that the target is able to provide large grants (i.e., if userFullResumeID was not included, UEs have to use the short I-RNTI in the RRCResumeRequest, which is 2 bytes shorter than the full I-RNTI);
Chen and Teyeb are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include the concepts of transmitting a random access preamble to the network device, and the configuration information includes a length of the long radio network temporary identifier as taught by Teyeb so as to promote better communications between user devices and the network.
Regarding Claim 11,
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Regarding Claim 15,
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1, but from the perspective of the base station.
Chen discloses: A communication apparatus comprising a processor configured to implement a method comprising: transmitting, to a user device, a configuration information including
[0085] For an RRC resume procedure, or a related RA triggering event, a short I-RNTI (which is 24 bits) or a full I-RNTI (which is 40 bits) may be used in MsgA payload for contention resolution. In some of the present implementations, whether a short I-RNTI or a full I-RNTI is used for an RRC resume procedure may be based on the information signalled in the system information (e.g., SIB1).
[0108] FIG. 4 is a diagram 400 illustrating communications between a UE and a base station in a 2-step RA procedure, according to an example implementation of the present application. FIG. 4 includes a UE 410, and a base station (e.g., a gNB) 420. As shown in the figure the base station 420 may broadcast, in action 430, the configuration parameters for a 2-step RA procedure. The 2-step configuration may be received by the UE 410 through the system information (e.g., the SIB1 or other SI blocks) in some of the present implementations. Although the configuration parameters are shown to be broadcast in FIG. 4, in some aspects of the present implementations, the 2-step RA procedure configuration may be transmitted to the UE 410 through dedicated signaling instead of, or in conjunction with the SI broadcasting.
[0114] FIG. 5 is a diagram 500 illustrating a fallback mechanism to a 4-step RA procedure during a 2-step RA procedure, according to an example implementation of the present application. FIG. 5 includes a UE 510, and a base station (e.g., a gNB) 520. Similar to FIG. 4, the base station 520 may broadcast, in action 530, the configuration parameters for a 2-step RA procedure. In action 540, the UE 510 may be capable of performing the 2-step procedure. In FIG. 5, however, the base station 520 may also broadcast configuration parameters for a 4-step RA procedure (e.g., in the system information) as well.
transmitting, to the user device, a random access response generated based on the long radio network temporary identifier
[0085] For an RRC resume procedure, or a related RA triggering event, a short I-RNTI (which is 24 bits) or a full I-RNTI (which is 40 bits) may be used in MsgA payload for contention resolution. Both short I-RNTI and full I-RNTI may be used to identify the suspended UE context of an Inactive UE. In some of the present implementations, whether a short I-RNTI or a full I-RNTI is used for an RRC resume procedure may be based on the information signalled in the system information (e.g., SIB1).
[0113] As shown in FIG. 4, if the UE 410 receives the MsgB in action 470, and the MsgB contains an associated Contention Resolution ID, then the contention resolution is considered to be successful. That is, the initiated 2-step RA procedure is completed. In some of the present implementations, when the UE considers that its 2-step RA procedure is successful, the UE may set the C-RNTI as the one indicated in the MsgB (or in the MAC RAR with the associated Contention Resolution ID).
[0116] Similar to what is described above, with reference to FIG. 4, upon an RA triggering event occurs in action 550, the UE 510 may transmit, in action 560, a MsgA to the base station 520. After transmitting the MsgA, the UE 510 may receive, in action 570, a MsgB from the base station 520.
Chen does not explicitly disclose the indication is a 1-bit indication; deriving, in response to the 1-bit indication, the long radio temporary identifier based on a first computing formula with an extended value range of parameters applied in the first computing formula or a second computing formula different from the first computing formula; receiving, after the transmitting of the configuration information, a random access preamble from the user device, and wherein the configuration information further includes a length of the long radio network temporary identifier.
However, Wittberg discloses: the indication is a 1-bit indication.
[0114] According to an exemplary embodiment, these "new" RA-RNTI values can be an extension of currently RA-RNTI values. This can be done by extending the RA-RNTI size by a bit, with the extra bit having a flag which indicates if the RA was performed on a PCell or an SCell.
Note: The generating of the RNTI values, and the extension of those values, is being conducted in response to the “flag/bit” value performed on the PCell or SCell, which is the 1-bit indication.
Wittberg further discloses: deriving, in response to the 1-bit indication, the long radio temporary identifier based on a first computing formula with an extended value range of parameters applied in the first computing formula or a second computing formula different from the first computing formula.
[0110] According to an exemplary embodiment the calculation of the RA-RNTI value will be extended from the current method as shown below in equation (1):
RNTI=1+t.sub.--id+10*f.sub.--id (1)
to the following new method as shown below in equation (2):
RNTI=1+t.sub.--id+10*f.sub.--id+(60*is.sub.--SCell) (2)
where t_id is the index of the first subframe of the specified PRACH (0.ltoreq.t_id<10), f_id is the index of the specified PRACH within that subframe, in ascending order of frequency domain (0.ltoreq.f_id<6) and is_SCell is equal to 0 when performing RA on a PCell and equal to 1 when performing RA on an SCell.
[0112] Alternatively, the RA-RNTI value could be calculated as shown below in equation (3):
RNTI=1+t.sub.--id+10*f.sub.--id+(60*is.sub.--PCell) (3)
where t_id is the index of the first subframe of the specified PRACH (0.ltoreq.t_id<10), f_id is the index of the specified PRACH within that subframe, in ascending order of frequency domain (0.ltoreq.f_id<6) and is_PCell is equal to 1 when performing RA on a PCell and equal to 0 when performing RA on an SCell.
[0114] According to an exemplary embodiment, these "new" RA-RNTI values can be an extension of currently RA-RNTI values. This can be done by extending the RA-RNTI size by a bit, with the extra bit having a flag which indicates if the RA was performed on a PCell or an SCell.
Note: The generating of the RNTI values, and the extension of those values, is being conducted in response to the “flag/bit” value performed on the PCell or SCell. These values are sent by the LTE RAN 24 (reference Figures 11 and 12). The “range of parameters” are the variables listed with the equations.
Chen and Wittberg are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include the concepts of having an indication being one bit and deriving a long radio temporary identifier based on a formula as taught by Wittberg so as to promote better communications between user devices and the network.
Teyeb further discloses receiving, after the transmitting of the configuration information, a random access preamble from the user device.
[0092] [S]ystems and methods were disclosed for sending early measurements either inside msg3 or multiplexed with msg3 (e.g., RRCResumeRequest) in the case of resuming a suspended connection, an example realization of which is illustrated in FIG. 8. Particularly, FIG. 8 illustrates early measurement reporting in msg3 during transition from suspended mode to connected mode according to some of the embodiments in U.S. Provisional Patent Application Ser. No. 62/804,612.
[0097] The indication from the network to the UE may be an explicit indication or an implicit indication. Some examples are as follows: [0098] Explicit indication, e.g. [0099] Broadcasting of an explicit indication (concerning method to use for the early measurement reporting) in system information; [0100] Including an explicit indication at transmission of msg2, e.g. explicitly in Random Access Response (RAR) or in a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE); [0101] Including an explicit indication in, e.g., RRC Release like message, telling the UE which method to use to report early measurements. This indication could, e.g., be part of the early measurement configurations; or [0102] Including/Excluding an explicit indication during the UE's transition to CONNECTED state (e.g., in RRCResume, RRCSetup, or Paging like message); or [0103] Implicit indication, e.g. [0104] Having the selection of the method be based on the broadcasted indication whether short Inactive Radio Network Temporary Identifier (I-RNTI) or full I-RNTI is to be used at connection resume (based on the inclusion or not of the useFullResumeID in SIB1); or [0105] Depending on the size of the uplink grants for msg3/5.
Teyeb also discloses wherein the configuration information further includes a length of the long radio network temporary identifier.
[0125] In one embodiment, the UE is configured to perform idle/inactive measurements, and will report these early measurements in msg3 if: [0126] The UE has received an explicit indication such as one of the following. [0127] The target cell has indicated via a new field included in SIB (e.g., in SIB1, 2, 4, 5, etc.) that the msg3 is to be used for reporting early measurements; or [0128] The UE receives an explicit indication in, e.g., RRC Release like message, telling the UE to report early measurements in msg3. This indication could, e.g., be part of the early measurement configurations; or [0129] The UE has received an indication in msg2, e.g. explicitly in RAR or in a MAC CE. [0130] The UE has received an implicit indication such as one of the following. [0131] The target cell has indicated the usage of the full I-RNTI (40 bit UE identifier for resumption) by including the useFullResumeID in the SIB1 (or equivalent flag), which can be interpreted as a sign that the target is able to provide large grants (i.e., if userFullResumeID was not included, UEs have to use the short I-RNTI in the RRCResumeRequest, which is 2 bytes shorter than the full I-RNTI);
Chen and Teyeb are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen to include the concepts of receiving a random access preamble from the user device, and the configuration information includes a length of the long radio network temporary identifier as taught by Teyeb so as to promote better communications between user devices and the network.
Regarding Claim 17,
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Claims 3, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Wittberg and Teyeb, held further in view of Ozturk et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2020/0260497), herein referred to as “Ozturk”. The Ozturk reference claims priority from provisional application 62/802841.
Regarding Claim 3,
Chen in view of Wittberg and Teyeb does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 3.
However, Ozturk discloses: The wireless communication method of claim 1, further comprising, after transmitting the configuration information, (1) determining, based on the configuration information, scrambling information of at least one of PDSCH (Physical Downlink Shared Channel), PUSCH (Physical Uplink Shared Channel), or PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel), (2) determining, based on the configuration information, a format or type of C-RNTI MAC CE (Cell Access Radio Network Temporary Identifier Medium Access Control Element), or (3) determining, based on the configuration information, a formula used for at least one of key generation algorithm, short MAC-I calculation, or Resume MAC-I calculation, the formula being the first computing formula or the second computing formula.
[0103] In the implementation of two-step RACH, the RACH request also may include a payload with data contents that may be equivalent or similar to message 3 (msg3) in a four-step RACH procedure. The UE 115 may transmit this payload on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). In some implementations, the base station 105 may transmit a RAR (such as message B (msgB) in two-step RACH or message 2 (msg2) in four-step RACH) to the UE 115. In some implementations, the RAR may include control information on a downlink control channel (such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)) sent to the UE 115. Additionally, the RAR may contain timing advance information and resource allocation and may be scrambled using the RA-RNTI value associated with the UE 115. In two-step RACH, the base station 105 may combine the equivalent contents of a RACH msg2 and a RACH message 4 (msg4) from four-step RACH to create msgB.
Chen in view of Wittberg, Teyeb, and Ozturk are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Teyeb to include the concept of determining scrambling information of PDCCH as taught by Ozturk so as to promote better communications between user devices and network devices.
Regarding Claim 12,
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 16,
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Claims 5, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Wittberg and Teyeb, held further in view of He et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2019/0223164), herein referred to as “He”.
Regarding Claim 5,
Chen in view of Wittberg and Teyeb does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 5.
However, He discloses: The wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the indication is configured per cell, per BWP (Bandwidth Part), or per CORESET (Control Resource Set).
[0082] A UE 400, for example, can monitor a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more control resource sets (CORESETs) on an active DL BWP on each activated serving cell according to corresponding search spaces, where monitoring implies decoding (or attempting to decode) some or all PDCCH candidates in the PDCCH candidate set according to the monitored Downlink Control Information (DCI) formats or types. A set of PDCCH candidates for the UE 400 to monitor can be defined in terms of PDCCH search spaces. A search space can be a CSS or a USS. According to current NR implementations, a UE can monitor PDCCH candidates in non-discontinuous reception (DRX) slots in one or more of the following search spaces, for example: Type 0-PDCCH CSS for a DCI format with cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a system information (SI) radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) (SI-RNTI).
Chen in view of Wittberg, Teyeb, and He are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Wittberg and Teyeb to include the concepts of a configuration being per cell, per BWP, or per CORESET as taught by He so as to promote better communications between user devices and network devices.
Regarding Claim 13,
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Regarding Claim 18,
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Wittberg and Teyeb, held further in view of Qian et. al. (WO 2019031671 A1), herein referred to as “Qian”.
Regarding Claim 21,
Chen in view of Wittberg and Teyeb does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 21.
However, Qian discloses: The wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the length of the long radio network temporary identifier is linked to a frequency band or cell type.
[183] If the terminal successfully detects a random access response within the effective length of a RA-RNTI, a possible way is to transmit the preamble on the random access timing configured for the terminal, and the random access response is detected in the random access response detection window continuously. In this case, it is necessary to carry a measuring result or the sorting result of the measuring result of the corresponding preamble in the random access response so that the terminal selects the optimal transmitting beam. For example, the base station configures eight random access timings that can be used to transmit the preamble, and the terminal transmits the preamble on the eight random access timings and detects the random access response in the way described in the present embodiment. The terminal successfully detects the random access response within the effective length of the RA-RNTI calculated by the time-frequency resources of the second, fourth, and fifth random access timings, and the sorting result of the measuring result of the preamble carried in the random access response is 4, 2, 5.
Chen in view of Wittberg, Teyeb, and Qian are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Wittberg and Teyeb to include the concepts of having a length of an RNTI linked to a frequency band as taught by Qian so as to promote better communications between user devices and network devices.
Regarding Claim 22,
Claim 22 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 21.
Regarding Claim 23,
Claim 23 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 21.
Claims 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Wittberg, Teyeb and Yasukawa, held further in view of Maaref et. al (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2018/0206272), herein referred to as “Maaref”.
Regarding Claim 24,
Chen in view of Wittberg, Teyeb, and Ozturk does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 24.
However, Maaref discloses: The wireless communication method of claim 3, wherein the length of the long radio network temporary identifier allows the user device to select the formula to compute the long radio network temporary identifier and the random access response is received based on a computed long radio network temporary identifier after the computing of the long radio network temporary identifier.
[0028] In the previous embodiment, the downlink random access message might be at least one of a random access response message or a contention resolution message. In any of the previous embodiments, the dedicated UE ID might be a C-RNTI used to identify a RRC connection dedicated to the UE. In any of the previous embodiments, the random access ID might be generated based on at least one of a random access preamble or time and frequency resources used by the UE. In any of the previous embodiments, the random access ID might be a RA-RNTI derived by the network during the random access procedure, and the RA-RNTI might be derived in accordance with a RACH preamble detected by the network. In any of the previous embodiments, the random access ID might be generated based on a synchronization signal transmitted by the network. In any of the previous embodiments, the synchronization signal might be transmitted in a beamforming and beam sweeping manner. In any of the previous embodiments, timing of the beam sweeping might be a term used in a formula for generating the random access ID. In any of the previous embodiments, the random access ID might comprise a random access identifier generated based on an SS block index of an SS block within a set of SS blocks. In any of the previous embodiments, the random access ID might comprise a random access identifier generated based on an SS block time index associated with one or more SS blocks. In any of the previous embodiments, the random access ID might comprise an RA-RNTI generated as
RA-RNTI=1+t_id+N_subframe*f_id+SS_block+N_SS_Block*SS_block_time_index
wherein [0029] RA-RNTI is the random access ID, [0030] t_id is an index of a subframe of a plurality of subframes, N_subframe, of a physical random access channel (PRACH), [0031] f_id is an index in a frequency domain of the PRACH within the subframe, [0032] SS_block indicates an SS block index of an SS block within a set of concurrently transmitted SS blocks, [0033] SS_block_time_index is an index ranging from 0 to N_SS_Block−1, and [0034] N_SS_Block is a maximum number of SS blocks concurrently transmitted per SS block time index.
Chen in view of Wittberg, Teyeb, Ozturk, and Maaref are considered to be analogous because they pertain to communications over a wireless network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen in view of Wittberg, Teyeb and Ozturk to include the concepts of a user device to selecting the formula to compute the long radio network temporary identifier and receiving the random access response based on a computed long radio network temporary identifier after the computing of the long radio network temporary identifier as taught by Maaref so as to promote better communications between user devices and network devices.
Regarding Claim 25,
Claim 25 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 24.
Regarding Claim 26,
Claim 26 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 24.
Response to Arguments
The objection to the specification in the previous office action is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411