Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to the claims filed on February 12, 2026, has been entered. Claims 10 – 12 and 15 – 20 are withdrawn. Claims 9, and 13 – 14 are cancelled. Claims 21 – 23 are new. Claims 1 – 8, 21 – 23 are pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the one or more cavity inserts" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Previous to the recitation in line 9, there is a recitation of “one or more release inserts configured to be selectively inserted into the one or more mold cavities of the mold liner”. It seems like the recitation in claim 9 is referring back to the “one or more release inserts”. For examination purposes, the limitations are being interpreted as - - each insert assembly comprising: one or more cavities inserts configured to be selectively inserted into the one or more mold cavities of the mold liner; and an insert mounting structure attached to the one or more cavity inserts - -, since there is no disclosure, in the claims neither in the specification, of any “one or more release inserts.”
Claim 23 is rejected as being a dependent claim for rejected claim 22.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“one or more insert assemblies” in claim 22.
“an engagement feature in claim” 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by C. D. Willson (US Pat. No. 3,114,936; Willson).
Willson teaches a forming system (Col. 1 lines 8 – 20) comprising:
a form assembly (e.g., “multi-molder or press 1” Col. 2 lines 59 – 71 cont. Col. 3 lines 1 – 3) configured to cast a concrete block (Col. 3 lines 40 – 60 “If the charge is a mixture of fluid and solid ingredients, as in concrete”, Col. 10 lines 59 – 66 “a new kind of building block, like the molecule in Nature, to achieve an infinite variety of new structures and structural materials.” See also Col. 11 lines 49 – 54),
wherein the form assembly (1) comprises:
a rigid support member (support walls 7) having a plurality of sides and defining one or more support cavities (e.g., 28) (see FIGs. 1 – 5, Col. 2 lines 59 – 71 cont. Col. 3 lines 1 – 9);
a mold liner (8)/(33) selectively inserted within the one or more support cavities (“gangmold consisting of six back-to-back pairs of molds 8 shown open faced in FIG. 1” see FIGs. 1 – 5, Col. 2 lines 59 – 71 cont. Col. 3 lines 1 – 9; Col. 4, lines 8-53),
wherein the mold liner (8)/(33) defines one or more mold cavities (see FIGs. 3-4); and
one or more cavity inserts (“core member 21” see FIGs. 1 – 5) configured to be selectively inserted into the one or more mold cavities of the mold liner (Col. 3 lines 45 – 65); and
a reaction frame (“an outer framework comprising pairs of opposite columns 2 and 3 supporting between base 4 and top-member 5 a fixed press bed 6” (see FIGs. 1 – 5, Col. 2 lines 59 – 71 cont. Col. 3 lines 1 – 9);
wherein the reaction frame comprises one or more extending arms (e.g., “top travel beam 24”) configured to selectively engage with the one or more inserts (21) (see FIGs. 1 – 5, Col. 3 lines 20 – 31 “Passing through both top closure 13 and intermediate beam 16 are ramming conduits or core members 21 having lower ends comprising taper tips 22 and having upper ends 23 fixed into top travel beam 24 actuated by cylinder 25”).
Therefore, Wilson’s anticipates the claimed forming system, as currently claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 8, and 21 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manthei et al. (US 2008/0277559 A1; of record), in view of C. D. Willson (US Pat. No. 3,114,936; Willson). Note: this is an alternative rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 1, Manthei et al. teaches a forming system comprising:
a form assembly (20) (FIG. 3) configured to cast a concrete block [0019], wherein the form assembly comprises:
a rigid support member (22) having a plurality of sides (FIGs. 3 & 4) and defining one or more support cavities (notice on FIGs. 3 & 4, for example, that the resilient insert 23 is inserted inside the cavity form by all the sides of the rigid support 22) [0019] – [0020], [0025] – [0026];
a mold liner (resilient insert 23) selectively inserted within the one or more support cavities (FIGs. 3 & 4),
wherein the mold liner (23) defines one or more mold cavities (cavity 24, having cavity openings 26) [0019], [0025] – [0029].
Manthei et al. does not explicitly disclose, the mold liner (23) defining more than one mold cavities, one or more cavity inserts configured to be selectively inserted into the one or more mold cavities of the mold liner; and a reaction frame, wherein the reaction frame comprises one or more extending arms configured to selectively engage with the one or more inserts.
Although Manthei et al. is silent to the duplication of the mold liner cavities, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the support cavity and/or the mold cavity in either of the rigid support member and/or mold liner in the forming system of Manthei et al., since it has been held that a mere duplication of working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to duplicate the support cavity and/or the mold cavity for the purpose of casting a concrete block having a different shape and/or for providing a form assembly for casting more than one block at a time. See MPEP § 2144.04 (VI) (B):
The court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Like Manthei et al., Willson teaches a forming system (Col. 1 lines 8 – 20) comprising a form assembly (e.g., “multi-molder or press 1” Col. 2 lines 59 – 71 cont. Col. 3 lines 1 – 3) configured to cast a concrete block (Col. 3 lines 40 – 60 “If the charge is a mixture of fluid and solid ingredients, as in concrete”, Col. 10 lines 59 – 66 “a new kind of building block, like the molecule in Nature, to achieve an infinite variety of new structures and structural materials.”), wherein the form assembly (1) comprises: a rigid support member (support walls 7) having a plurality of sides and defining one or more support cavities (e.g., 28) (see FIGs. 1 – 5, Col. 2 lines 59 – 71 cont. Col. 3 lines 1 – 9); a mold liner (8) selectively inserted within the one or more support cavities (“gangmold consisting of six back-to-back pairs of molds 8 shown open faced in FIG. 1” see FIGs. 1 – 5, Col. 2 lines 59 – 71 cont. Col. 3 lines 1 – 9),
wherein the mold liner (8)/(33) defines one or more mold cavities (see FIGs. 3-4); and
one or more cavity inserts (“core member 21” see FIGs. 1 – 5) configured to be selectively inserted into the one or more mold cavities of the mold liner (Col. 3 lines 45 – 65); and
a reaction frame (“an outer framework comprising pairs of opposite columns 2 and 3 supporting between base 4 and top-member 5 a fixed press bed 6” (see FIGs. 1 – 5, Col. 2 lines 59 – 71 cont. Col. 3 lines 1 – 9);
wherein the reaction frame comprises one or more extending arms (e.g., “top travel beam 24”) configured to selectively engage with the one or more inserts (21) (see FIGs. 1 – 5, Col. 3 lines 20 – 31 “Passing through both top closure 13 and intermediate beam 16 are ramming conduits or core members 21 having lower ends comprising taper tips 22 and having upper ends 23 fixed into top travel beam 24 actuated by cylinder 25”).
Willson further discloses that “Another object of the invention is a process of forming structural components and members that combine substantial strength with minimal weight.” (Col. 1 lines 33 – 34).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the forming system of Manthei et al. with one or more cavity inserts configured to be selectively inserted into the one or more mold cavities of the mold liner, as suggested and taught by Willson, and with a reaction frame, wherein the reaction frame comprises one or more extending arms configured to selectively engage with the one or more inserts, as suggested and taught by Willson (see FIGs. 1 – 5, Col. 3 lines 20 – 31), for the purpose of producing hollow articles by forming structural components and members that combine substantial strength with minimal weight, as taught by Willson Col. 1 lines 33 – 34. See MPEP 2143 (I)(G).
Regarding claim 2, Manthei/Wilson teaches the forming system of claim 1, wherein the mold liner is tapered in a direction protruding into the corresponding mold cavity (see Wilson’s FIG. 1 mold 8 tapering into receiving socket 29; see Willson Col. 3 lines 27 – 31 “Ramming conduits 21 are exteriorly rigid, of constant volume and above the taper of tips 22 have outer shells of constant cross section to have a snug sliding fit in sealing bushings 26 housed by top closures 13.”).
Regarding claim 3, Manthei/Wilson teaches the forming system of claim 1, wherein the form assembly includes one or more straps on the mold liner, wherein the one or more straps are configured to moveably connect the mold liner to the rigid support member (see Manthei et al. [0028 – 0033]).
Regarding claim 4. Manthei/Wilson teaches the forming system of claim 1, wherein the rigid support member (e.g., Manthei et al. 22) includes one or more slots (Manthei et al. parallel channels 30 and 31) configured to support the form assembly in a lifting or inverting operation (see Manthei et al. [0022] and FIGs. 3 – 4).+
Regarding claim 5, Manthei/Willson teaches the forming system of claim 1, wherein each of the one or more inserts (e.g., Wilson’s 21) forms a portion of an insert assembly (see Wilson FIG. 1), the insert assembly comprising: one or more first portions that are each selectively inserted within the mold cavities of the mold liner (e.g., core members 21); and a second portion (e.g., intermediate beam 16) attached to the first portion (see Willson FIG.1), wherein the second portion includes a hole adapted for receiving at least one of the extending arms (e.g., Willson’s travel beam 24) of the reaction frame (see Willson Col. 3 lines 10 – 31).
Regarding claim 6, Manthei/Willson teaches the forming system of claim 1, wherein the reaction frame further comprises a support structure that extends perpendicularly across the at least one extending arm and operably coupled to the extending arms supporting the extending arms operably connected to the corresponding insert. (See Willson’s FIG. 1 and Col. 3 lines 10 – 75 cont. Col. 4 lines 1 – 7).
Regarding claim 7, Manthei/Willson teaches the forming system of claim 1, wherein one or more cavity inserts comprise adjacent inserts operably connected to one of the extending arms (See Willson’s FIG. 1 and Col. 3 lines 10 – 75 cont. Col. 4 lines 1 – 7).
Regarding claim 8, Manthei/Willson teaches the forming system of claim 7, wherein the mold liner defines adjacent mold cavities and the adjacent inserts are selectively inserted into the adjacent mold cavities along an extension length of the corresponding extending arm of the reaction frame (See Willson’s FIGs. 1 – 5 and Col. 3 lines 10 – 75 cont. Col. 4 lines 1 – 7).
Regarding claim 21, Manthei/Willson teaches the forming system of claim 1, wherein the one or more inserts (Willson’s 21) are operably coupled to an insert mounting structure, the insert mounting structure (16) forming an opening that receives the one or more extending arms (e.g., guides 17, 18 see Willson’s FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 22, Manthei/Willson teaches a forming system comprising (Col. 1 lines 8 – 20):
a form assembly (e.g., Manthei 20; Willson’s “multi-molder or press 1” Col. 2 lines 59 – 71 cont. Col. 3 lines 1 – 3) configured to cast a concrete block (e.g., Manthei [0019]; Willson Col. 3 lines 40 – 60 “If the charge is a mixture of fluid and solid ingredients, as in concrete”, Col. 10 lines 59 – 66 “a new kind of building block, like the molecule in Nature, to achieve an infinite variety of new structures and structural materials.”),
wherein the form assembly (e.g., Manthei 20, Willson’s 1) comprises:
a rigid support member (Manthei 22, Willson’s support walls 7) having a plurality of sides and defining one or more support cavities (e.g., Willson’s 28, see FIGs. 1 – 5, Col. 2 lines 59 – 71 cont. Col. 3 lines 1 – 9);
a mold liner (Manthei 23, Willson 8) selectively inserted within the one or more support cavities (Willson “gangmold consisting of six back-to-back pairs of molds 8 shown open faced in FIG. 1” see FIGs. 1 – 5, Col. 2 lines 59 – 71 cont. Col. 3 lines 1 – 9),
wherein the mold liner (Willson 8) defines one or more mold cavities (see FIGs. 3-4); and
one or more insert assemblies (see Willson’s FIGs. 1 – 5), each insert assembly comprising:
one or more cavity inserts (e.g., Willson’s 21) configured to be selectively inserted into the one or more mold cavities of the mold liner (see Willson’s FIGs. 1 – 5); and
an insert mounting structure attached to the one or more cavity inserts, wherein the insert mounting structure includes an engagement feature (See Willson’s FIG. 1 and Col. 3 lines 10 – 75 cont. Col. 4 lines 1 – 7); and
a reaction frame comprising one or more extending arms (“an outer framework comprising pairs of opposite columns 2 and 3 supporting between base 4 and top-member 5 a fixed press bed 6” (see FIGs. 1 – 5, Col. 2 lines 59 – 71 cont. Col. 3 lines 1 – 9),
wherein the one or more extending arms are configured to selectively engage with the engagement feature of the insert mounting structure to selectively couple with the one or more insert assemblies (see FIGs. 1 – 5, Col. 3 lines 20 – 31 “Passing through both top closure 13 and intermediate beam 16 are ramming conduits or core members 21 having lower ends comprising taper tips 22 and having upper ends 23 fixed into top travel beam 24 actuated by cylinder 25”).
Regarding claim 23, Manthei/Willson teaches the forming system according to claim 22, wherein the one or more cavity inserts are selectively withdrawn from the one or more mold cavities by drawing the cavity inserts out of the mold cavities (e.g., see Willson’s FIG. 1, Col. 3 lines 32 – 75 cont. Col. 4 lines 1 – 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 02/12/2026, with respect to Claims 1 - 8 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Manthei et al. (US 2008/0277559 A1; of record), in view of C. D. Willson (US Pat. No. 3,114,936; Willson).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (e.g. disclosure of analogous structures/reaction frames/core bar assemblies for engaging with analogous inserts).
US 2012/0192522 Figure 5 (45 )138) (140); paragraph [0045];
US 2010/0007051 Figure 16; paragraph [0059];
US 2008/0174049 Figures 15-18;
US 5,108,282 Figure 11;
US 7,309,226 (Figures 1-6);
US 3,768,769 (Figures 1, 2, 4 (42) (40) (28));
US 3,218,774 (Figures 1-3).
/EDGAREDMANUEL TROCHE/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/JEFFREY M WOLLSCHLAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742