Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 5-7, 17, 19-22, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2020/0084793), herein referred to as “Bai”, in view of Bae et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2022/0264608), herein referred to as “Bae”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Bai discloses: A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a network device, a configuration that schedules a plurality of communications between the UE and the network device including at least a first communication and a second communication, the configuration further including an indication of two or more sets of values for a set of communication parameters for the plurality of scheduled communications
[0073] In some cases, the antennas of a base station 105 or UE 115 may be located within one or more antenna arrays, which may support MIMO operations, or transmit or receive beamforming. For example, one or more base station antennas or antenna arrays may be co-located at an antenna assembly, such as an antenna tower. In some cases, antennas or antenna arrays associated with a base station 105 may be located in diverse geographic locations. A base station 105 may have an antenna array with a number of rows and columns of antenna ports that the base station 105 may use to support beamforming of communications with a UE 115. Likewise, a UE 115 may have one or more antenna arrays that may support various MIMO or beamforming operations.
[0082] In cases where base stations 105 and UEs 115 use beamformed communications, control information may be transmitted to UEs 115 using such beamformed communications. In some cases, a base station 105 may transmit multiple repetitions of control information for a subsequent scheduled transmission, and a UE 115 may receive one of the multiple repetitions and identify parameters and resources for the scheduled transmission. The UE 115 may receive one of the repetitions of control information and determine the set of resources and beamforming parameters for the scheduled transmission. Various aspects of the present disclosure provide techniques for indicating a transmission beam that the UE 115 is to use for the scheduled transmission.
[0084] The UE 115-a may apply beamforming parameters or use beamforming processing to receive components such that signals along a receive beam 210 are amplified and processed. For example, UE 115-a may apply a first set of beamforming parameters to a receive chain to receive signals corresponding to first receive beam 210-a and may apply a second set of beamforming parameters to the receive chain to receive signals corresponding to second receive beam 210-b.
Note: The “communication parameters” are being interpreted as the first and second set of beamforming parameters as per paragraph [0084]. The “set of values” correlating to beamforming parameters are MIMO operations (paragraph [0073]). The “scheduled communications” are the scheduled transmissions used between the BS and UE (paragraph [0082]).
selecting, after receiving the configuration and based at least in part on a first set of channel conditions (RSRP/SINR/CQI) between the UE and the network device meeting a first threshold value a first set of values from the two or more sets of values for the set of communication parameters, wherein the first set of values for the set of communication parameters provides resources for a first quantity of repetitions for the plurality of scheduled communications
[0087] In some deployments, the base station 105-a and UE 115-a may experience beam blockage, which may result in relatively frequent beam changes. For example, an object (e.g., a user's hand or a piece of equipment) may obstruct a transmission path for a particular beam such that a different beam provides more reliable communications. In such cases the base station 105-a may signal allocated resources to the UE 115-a and the scheduled transmission beam to the UE 115-a in multiple repetitions of control information that may be transmitted on a same or different downlink transmission beam 205.
[0089] In some cases, the base station 105-a may identify a UE 115-a capability (e.g., based on a report signaling UE 115-a capability or a category of UE 115-a) and determine the scheduling threshold for the UE 115-a. The scheduling threshold may correspond to a minimum time from the UE 115-a receiving an indication of a beam of a transmission to the UE 115-a being able to apply to indicated beam, or a minimum time for the UE to change from a first beam to a second beam. The base station 105-a may transmit a number of repetitions of control information to the UE 115-a that each include a same set of resources and provide an indication of a beam pair for the scheduled transmission to the UE 115-a. The base station 105-a may also identify a predefined beam pair for the scheduled transmission. The base station 105-a may schedule at least one of the repetitions to be transmitted after the scheduling threshold, in which case the base station 105-a may set the indication of the beam pair for the second transmission to be the predetermined beam pair, thus avoiding ambiguity on the identification of the beam for the scheduled transmission. In some cases, the scheduled transmission may be a downlink transmission or an uplink transmission.
Note: The channel conditions are directly correlated to beam blockage which causes interference (paragraph [0087]). The first threshold value is the scheduling threshold for a minimum time frame to change beams(paragraph [0089]), which is correlated to the beamforming of paragraph [0084] cited above. The “selecting” is the identifying of the capability based on report signaling. The “after receiving” occurs when the base station schedules the repetitions to be transmitted upon meeting the threshold.
communicating at least the first communication of the plurality of scheduled communications with the network device according to the selected first set of values for the set of communication parameters and the first quantity of repetitions for at least a first communication of the plurality of scheduled communications
[0089] In some cases, the base station 105-a may identify a UE 115-a capability (e.g., based on a report signaling UE 115-a capability or a category of UE 115-a) and determine the scheduling threshold for the UE 115-a. The scheduling threshold may correspond to a minimum time from the UE 115-a receiving an indication of a beam of a transmission to the UE 115-a being able to apply to indicated beam, or a minimum time for the UE to change from a first beam to a second beam. The base station 105-a may transmit a number of repetitions of control information to the UE 115-a that each include a same set of resources and provide an indication of a beam pair for the scheduled transmission to the UE 115-a. The base station 105-a may also identify a predefined beam pair for the scheduled transmission. The base station 105-a may schedule at least one of the repetitions to be transmitted after the scheduling threshold, in which case the base station 105-a may set the indication of the beam pair for the second transmission to be the predetermined beam pair, thus avoiding ambiguity on the identification of the beam for the scheduled transmission. In some cases, the scheduled transmission may be a downlink transmission or an uplink transmission.
Note: As it was established that the set of values correspond MIMO operations per paragraph [0073] above that correspond to beamforming parameters, when the beams are changed due to the threshold, the base station “communicates” both the new/beamformed beam to the UE by scheduling the repetitions to be transmitted.
selecting, subsequent to the first communication and based at least in part on a second set of channel conditions between the UE and the network device meeting a second threshold value, a second set of values from the two or more sets of values for the set of values, the second set of values selected for at least the second communication of the plurality of scheduled communications, wherein the second communication is subsequent to the first communication, and wherein the second set of values for the set of communication parameters provides resources for a second quantity of repetitions for at least the second communication
[0105] FIG. 7 illustrates an example of a control information repetition scheme and a scheduled transmission beam 700 that supports beam determination techniques in beamformed wireless communications in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In some examples, a control information repetition scheme and a scheduled transmission beam 700 may implement aspects of wireless communications system 100 or 200.
[0106] In the example of FIG. 7, a first beam 705 may be used to transmit a first repetition of DCI 715-a in a first downlink transmission 710 and a second beam 725 may be used to transmit a second repetition of DCI 715-b in a second downlink transmission 720. In this example, to avoid ambiguity in a third beam 735 to be used for the scheduled transmission 730, the multiple PDCCHs may each be transmitted after the scheduling threshold (X) 740. Thus, in this example, a first scheduling offset (k.sub.0-1) 745 and a second scheduling offset (k.sub.0-2) 750 are each less than the scheduling threshold (X) 740. Accordingly, in such cases, the base station may be constrained to not schedule any DCI transmissions with scheduling information prior to the scheduling threshold 740, and thus the multiple repetitions of the control information, which may be in a same or different slot or on a same or different transmission beam, are all transmitted after the scheduling threshold and thus the predefined beam would be used regardless of which repetition is received at the UE.
Note: The threshold values for each beam are scheduling offsets per reach repetition set. Since the first and second beams are used for scheduled transmissions, the DCI values are based on the beamforming (paragraph [0073] and [0105]), are based on the first and second repetition values (paragraph [0106]).
and communicating at least the second communication of the plurality of scheduled communications with the network device according to the selected second set
of values for the set of communication parameters and the second quantity of repetitions.
[0089] In some cases, the base station 105-a may identify a UE 115-a capability (e.g., based on a report signaling UE 115-a capability or a category of UE 115-a) and determine the scheduling threshold for the UE 115-a. The scheduling threshold may correspond to a minimum time from the UE 115-a receiving an indication of a beam of a transmission to the UE 115-a being able to apply to indicated beam, or a minimum time for the UE to change from a first beam to a second beam. The base station 105-a may transmit a number of repetitions of control information to the UE 115-a that each include a same set of resources and provide an indication of a beam pair for the scheduled transmission to the UE 115-a. The base station 105-a may also identify a predefined beam pair for the scheduled transmission. The base station 105-a may schedule at least one of the repetitions to be transmitted after the scheduling threshold, in which case the base station 105-a may set the indication of the beam pair for the second transmission to be the predetermined beam pair, thus avoiding ambiguity on the identification of the beam for the scheduled transmission. In some cases, the scheduled transmission may be a downlink transmission or an uplink transmission.
Note: “A number of repetitions” in paragraph [0089], along with paragraph [0106] above, is indicative of a second repetition. This paragraph shows the communication, similar to the citation used for the first communication above.
Bai does not disclose: wherein the second quality of repetition is different than the first quantity of repetitions, and wherein the first threshold value is different than the second threshold value.
However, Bae discloses: wherein the second quality of repetition is different than the first quantity of repetitions, and wherein the first threshold value is different than the second threshold value.
[0288] When the DCI format assumed to interpret rrc-ConfiguredUplinkGrant included in the CG configuration is determined to be fixed, if the repetition scheme for transmission based on the DCI format is different from the repetition scheme based on the CG configuration, there may be a limit in performing scheduling by the BS. For example, in the state in which a DCI format related to the type 1 CG configuration is defined to be fixed to the DCI format 0_1, when the BS intends to set the repetition scheme in the type 1 CG configuration to the repetition type B and to set the repetition scheme in the RRC configuration for the DCI format 0_1 to the repetition type A, as resource allocation (e.g., time domain resource allocation) for the repetition type A and resource allocation for the repetition type B have different limits, the BS may need to perform resource allocation for the type 1 CG only in resource allocation (e.g., TDRA entries) to be applied to both the repetition type A and the repetition type B. Alternatively, there may be a limit in that the BS needs to configure the repetition scheme of the type 1 CG to be always the same as the repetition scheme for the DCI format fixed to be used to interpret the type 1 CG. In contrast, when the UE interprets parameter(s) of rrc-ConfiguredUplinkGrant in the type 1 CG configuration based on the RRC configuration for the DCI format that satisfies the specific condition, scheduling flexibility may be ensured compared with the case in which the DCI format related to the type 1 CG configuration is fixed to the specific DCI format.
Note: There are two different repetitions (Type A and Type B), and “different limits” for the resource allocations are the different thresholds, as limit is being interpreted as a threshold.
Bai and Bae are considered to be analogous because they pertain to a wireless communications network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bai to include the concepts of having different repetitions and different thresholds as taught by Bae so as to help enhance network efficiency and reliability.
Regarding Claim 5,
Bai discloses: The method of claim 1, further comprising: measuring the first set of channel conditions between the UE and the network device; and transmitting a measurement report to the network device that includes the first set of channel conditions, and wherein the first set of values for the set of communication parameters are selected based on the measurement report.
[0089] In some cases, the base station 105-a may identify a UE 115-a capability (e.g., based on a report signaling UE 115-a capability or a category of UE 115-a) and determine the scheduling threshold for the UE 115-a. The scheduling threshold may correspond to a minimum time from the UE 115-a receiving an indication of a beam of a transmission to the UE 115-a being able to apply to indicated beam, or a minimum time for the UE to change from a first beam to a second beam. The base station 105-a may transmit a number of repetitions of control information to the UE 115-a that each include a same set of resources and provide an indication of a beam pair for the scheduled transmission to the UE 115-a. The base station 105-a may also identify a predefined beam pair for the scheduled transmission. The base station 105-a may schedule at least one of the repetitions to be transmitted after the scheduling threshold, in which case the base station 105-a may set the indication of the beam pair for the second transmission to be the predetermined beam pair, thus avoiding ambiguity on the identification of the beam for the scheduled transmission. In some cases, the scheduled transmission may be a downlink transmission or an uplink transmission.
Note: The measurement report is the report signaling a capability. The “measuring” is determining the scheduling threshold, which leads to the selection of beams based on channel conditions.
Regarding Claim 3,
Bai discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the first threshold value for selecting the first set of values for the set of communication parameters is higher than the second threshold value for selecting the second set of values for the set of communication parameters.
[0106] In the example of FIG. 7, a first beam 705 may be used to transmit a first repetition of DCI 715-a in a first downlink transmission 710 and a second beam 725 may be used to transmit a second repetition of DCI 715-b in a second downlink transmission 720. In this example, to avoid ambiguity in a third beam 735 to be used for the scheduled transmission 730, the multiple PDCCHs may each be transmitted after the scheduling threshold (X) 740. Thus, in this example, a first scheduling offset (k.sub.0-1) 745 and a second scheduling offset (k.sub.0-2) 750 are each less than the scheduling threshold (X) 740. Accordingly, in such cases, the base station may be constrained to not schedule any DCI transmissions with scheduling information prior to the scheduling threshold 740, and thus the multiple repetitions of the control information, which may be in a same or different slot or on a same or different transmission beam, are all transmitted after the scheduling threshold and thus the predefined beam would be used regardless of which repetition is received at the UE.
Note: Since the threshold values for each beam are scheduling offsets per reach repetition set, from Figure 7 the first offset value does have a larger value than the second offset.
Regarding Claim 4,
Bai does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 6.
However, Bae discloses: The method of claim 3, wherein the first set of channel conditions and the second set of channel conditions each include one or more of a reference signal received power (RSRP) measurement, a signal to interference and noise ratio (SINR), or a channel quality indicator (CQI) measurement.
[0108] The CSI may be classified into CSI part 1 and CSI part 2 according to UCI type included in the CSI. For example, the CRI, RI, and/or the CQI for the first codeword may be included in CSI part 1, and LI, PMI, and/or the CQI for the second codeword may be included in CSI part 2.
Bai and Bae are considered to be analogous because they pertain to a wireless communications network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bai to include the concept of having CQI measurements as taught by Bae so as to help enhance network efficiency and reliability.
Regarding Claim 6,
Bai does not explicitly disclose all the limitations of Claim 6.
However, Bae discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the second set values for the set of communication parameters: provides an increased number of repetitions of communications relative to the first set of values for the set of communication parameters, provides frequency hopping among multiple repetitions of the second communication, provides a different uplink control channel format or resource set than provided by the first set of values, indicates a different modulation and coding scheme (MCS) than a MCS of the first set of values, indicates different time or frequency resources for communications than the first set of values, or any combinations thereof.
[0222] (1) The UE may receive RRC parameter(s) for each of a plurality of DCI formats from the BS (S1001). For example, the UE may receive higher layer parameters indicating a frequency resource allocation type to be applied to a DCI format, a resource block group (RGB) size for a physical shared channel scheduled by the DCI format, whether to apply transform precoding for the physical shared channel scheduled by the DCI format, a TDRA table for the DCI format, a frequency hopping method of the physical shared channel scheduled by the DCI format, a repetition scheme for the physical shared channel scheduled by the DCI format, a number of repetitions of the physical shared channel scheduled by the DCI format, a DM-RS configuration for the physical shared channel scheduled by the DCI format, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table for the physical shared channel scheduled by the DCI format, a bit length of a redundancy version (RV) field in the DCI format, a bit length of a HARQ process number field in the DCI format, and/or beta-offset for the physical shared channel scheduled by the DCI format, through RRC signaling.
Bai and Bae are considered to be analogous because they pertain to a wireless communications network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bai to include the concept of having frequency hopping as taught by Bae so as to help enhance network efficiency and reliability.
Regarding Claim 7,
Bai does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 7.
However, Bae discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the two or more sets of communication parameters include two or more sets of values for the set of configured grant parameter values for uplink transmissions to the network device, include two or more sets of semi-persistent scheduling parameter values for downlink transmissions from the network device, or any combinations thereof.
[0235] A. For example, when the rrc-ConfiguredUplinkGrant parameter is included in the CG configuration (Yes in S1003), in other words, when the CG of the CG configuration is a CG type 1 (i.e., a type 1 CG), the UE may interpret the rrc-ConfiguredUplinkGrant according to one implementation of the present disclosure (S1004a).
[0236] B. For example, when the rrc-ConfiguredUplinkGrant parameter is not included in the CG configuration, in other words, when the CG of the CG configuration is a CG type 2 (i.e., a type 2 CG), the UE may interpret DCI included in a PDCCH according to an implementation of the present disclosure after receiving the PDCCH for activating the CG (S1004b).
Bai and Bae are considered to be analogous because they pertain to a wireless communications network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bai to include the concept of having two sets of configured grant values as taught by Bae so as to help enhance network efficiency and reliability.
Regarding Claim 17,
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Bai discloses: An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; memory couples with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a network device a configuration that schedules a plurality of communications between the UE and the network device including at least a first communication and a second communication, the configuration further including an indication of two or more sets of values for a set of communication parameters for the plurality of scheduled communications
[0073] In some cases, the antennas of a base station 105 or UE 115 may be located within one or more antenna arrays, which may support MIMO operations, or transmit or receive beamforming. For example, one or more base station antennas or antenna arrays may be co-located at an antenna assembly, such as an antenna tower. In some cases, antennas or antenna arrays associated with a base station 105 may be located in diverse geographic locations. A base station 105 may have an antenna array with a number of rows and columns of antenna ports that the base station 105 may use to support beamforming of communications with a UE 115. Likewise, a UE 115 may have one or more antenna arrays that may support various MIMO or beamforming operations.
[0082] In cases where base stations 105 and UEs 115 use beamformed communications, control information may be transmitted to UEs 115 using such beamformed communications. In some cases, a base station 105 may transmit multiple repetitions of control information for a subsequent scheduled transmission, and a UE 115 may receive one of the multiple repetitions and identify parameters and resources for the scheduled transmission. The UE 115 may receive one of the repetitions of control information and determine the set of resources and beamforming parameters for the scheduled transmission. Various aspects of the present disclosure provide techniques for indicating a transmission beam that the UE 115 is to use for the scheduled transmission.
[0084] The UE 115-a may apply beamforming parameters or use beamforming processing to receive components such that signals along a receive beam 210 are amplified and processed. For example, UE 115-a may apply a first set of beamforming parameters to a receive chain to receive signals corresponding to first receive beam 210-a and may apply a second set of beamforming parameters to the receive chain to receive signals corresponding to second receive beam 210-b.
Note: The “communication parameters” are being interpreted as the first and second set of beamforming parameters as per paragraph [0084]. The “set of values” correlating to beamforming parameters are MIMO operations (paragraph [0073]). The “scheduled communications” are the scheduled transmissions used between the BS and UE (paragraph [0082]).
select, after receiving the configuration and based at least in part on a first set of channel conditions (RSRP/SINR/CQI) between the UE and the network device meeting a first threshold value a first set of values from the two or more sets of values for the set of communication parameters, wherein the first set of values for the set of communication parameters provides resources for a first quantity of repetitions for the plurality of scheduled communications
[0087] In some deployments, the base station 105-a and UE 115-a may experience beam blockage, which may result in relatively frequent beam changes. For example, an object (e.g., a user's hand or a piece of equipment) may obstruct a transmission path for a particular beam such that a different beam provides more reliable communications. In such cases the base station 105-a may signal allocated resources to the UE 115-a and the scheduled transmission beam to the UE 115-a in multiple repetitions of control information that may be transmitted on a same or different downlink transmission beam 205.
[0089] In some cases, the base station 105-a may identify a UE 115-a capability (e.g., based on a report signaling UE 115-a capability or a category of UE 115-a) and determine the scheduling threshold for the UE 115-a. The scheduling threshold may correspond to a minimum time from the UE 115-a receiving an indication of a beam of a transmission to the UE 115-a being able to apply to indicated beam, or a minimum time for the UE to change from a first beam to a second beam. The base station 105-a may transmit a number of repetitions of control information to the UE 115-a that each include a same set of resources and provide an indication of a beam pair for the scheduled transmission to the UE 115-a. The base station 105-a may also identify a predefined beam pair for the scheduled transmission. The base station 105-a may schedule at least one of the repetitions to be transmitted after the scheduling threshold, in which case the base station 105-a may set the indication of the beam pair for the second transmission to be the predetermined beam pair, thus avoiding ambiguity on the identification of the beam for the scheduled transmission. In some cases, the scheduled transmission may be a downlink transmission or an uplink transmission.
Note: The channel conditions are directly correlated to beam blockage which causes interference (paragraph [0087]). The first threshold value is the scheduling threshold for a minimum time frame to change beams(paragraph [0089]), which is correlated to the beamforming of paragraph [0084] cited above. The “selecting” is the identifying of the capability based on report signaling. The “after receiving” occurs when the base station schedules the repetitions to be transmitted upon meeting the threshold.
communicate at least the first communication of the plurality of scheduled communications with the network device according to the selected first set of values for the set of communication parameters and the first quantity of repetitions for at least a first communication of the plurality of scheduled communications
[0089] In some cases, the base station 105-a may identify a UE 115-a capability (e.g., based on a report signaling UE 115-a capability or a category of UE 115-a) and determine the scheduling threshold for the UE 115-a. The scheduling threshold may correspond to a minimum time from the UE 115-a receiving an indication of a beam of a transmission to the UE 115-a being able to apply to indicated beam, or a minimum time for the UE to change from a first beam to a second beam. The base station 105-a may transmit a number of repetitions of control information to the UE 115-a that each include a same set of resources and provide an indication of a beam pair for the scheduled transmission to the UE 115-a. The base station 105-a may also identify a predefined beam pair for the scheduled transmission. The base station 105-a may schedule at least one of the repetitions to be transmitted after the scheduling threshold, in which case the base station 105-a may set the indication of the beam pair for the second transmission to be the predetermined beam pair, thus avoiding ambiguity on the identification of the beam for the scheduled transmission. In some cases, the scheduled transmission may be a downlink transmission or an uplink transmission.
Note: As it was established that the set of values correspond MIMO operations per paragraph [0073] above that correspond to beamforming parameters, when the beams are changed due to the threshold, the base station “communicates” both the new/beamformed beam to the UE by scheduling the repetitions to be transmitted.
select, subsequent to the first communication and based at least in part on a second set of channel conditions between the UE and the network device meeting a second threshold value, a second set of values from the two or more sets of values for the set of values, the second set of values selected for at least the second communication of the plurality of scheduled communications, wherein the second communication is subsequent to the first communication, and wherein the second set of values for the set of communication parameters provides resources for a second quantity of repetitions for at least the second communication
[0105] FIG. 7 illustrates an example of a control information repetition scheme and a scheduled transmission beam 700 that supports beam determination techniques in beamformed wireless communications in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In some examples, a control information repetition scheme and a scheduled transmission beam 700 may implement aspects of wireless communications system 100 or 200.
[0106] In the example of FIG. 7, a first beam 705 may be used to transmit a first repetition of DCI 715-a in a first downlink transmission 710 and a second beam 725 may be used to transmit a second repetition of DCI 715-b in a second downlink transmission 720. In this example, to avoid ambiguity in a third beam 735 to be used for the scheduled transmission 730, the multiple PDCCHs may each be transmitted after the scheduling threshold (X) 740. Thus, in this example, a first scheduling offset (k.sub.0-1) 745 and a second scheduling offset (k.sub.0-2) 750 are each less than the scheduling threshold (X) 740. Accordingly, in such cases, the base station may be constrained to not schedule any DCI transmissions with scheduling information prior to the scheduling threshold 740, and thus the multiple repetitions of the control information, which may be in a same or different slot or on a same or different transmission beam, are all transmitted after the scheduling threshold and thus the predefined beam would be used regardless of which repetition is received at the UE.
Note: The threshold values for each beam are scheduling offsets per reach repetition set. Since the first and second beams are used for scheduled transmissions, the DCI values are based on the beamforming (paragraph[0073 and [0105]), are based on the first and second repetition values (paragraph [0106]).
and communicate at least the second communication of the plurality of scheduled communications with the network device according to the selected second set
of values for the set of communication parameters and the second quantity of repetitions.
[0089] In some cases, the base station 105-a may identify a UE 115-a capability (e.g., based on a report signaling UE 115-a capability or a category of UE 115-a) and determine the scheduling threshold for the UE 115-a. The scheduling threshold may correspond to a minimum time from the UE 115-a receiving an indication of a beam of a transmission to the UE 115-a being able to apply to indicated beam, or a minimum time for the UE to change from a first beam to a second beam. The base station 105-a may transmit a number of repetitions of control information to the UE 115-a that each include a same set of resources and provide an indication of a beam pair for the scheduled transmission to the UE 115-a. The base station 105-a may also identify a predefined beam pair for the scheduled transmission. The base station 105-a may schedule at least one of the repetitions to be transmitted after the scheduling threshold, in which case the base station 105-a may set the indication of the beam pair for the second transmission to be the predetermined beam pair, thus avoiding ambiguity on the identification of the beam for the scheduled transmission. In some cases, the scheduled transmission may be a downlink transmission or an uplink transmission.
Note: “A number of repetitions” in paragraph [0089], along with paragraph [0106] above, is indicative of a second repetition. This paragraph shows the communication, similar to the citation used for the first communication above.
Bai does not disclose: wherein the second quality of repetition is different than the first quantity of repetitions, and wherein the first threshold value is different than the second threshold value.
However, Bae discloses: wherein the second quality of repetition is different than the first quantity of repetitions, and wherein the first threshold value is different than the second threshold value.
[0288] When the DCI format assumed to interpret rrc-ConfiguredUplinkGrant included in the CG configuration is determined to be fixed, if the repetition scheme for transmission based on the DCI format is different from the repetition scheme based on the CG configuration, there may be a limit in performing scheduling by the BS. For example, in the state in which a DCI format related to the type 1 CG configuration is defined to be fixed to the DCI format 0_1, when the BS intends to set the repetition scheme in the type 1 CG configuration to the repetition type B and to set the repetition scheme in the RRC configuration for the DCI format 0_1 to the repetition type A, as resource allocation (e.g., time domain resource allocation) for the repetition type A and resource allocation for the repetition type B have different limits, the BS may need to perform resource allocation for the type 1 CG only in resource allocation (e.g., TDRA entries) to be applied to both the repetition type A and the repetition type B. Alternatively, there may be a limit in that the BS needs to configure the repetition scheme of the type 1 CG to be always the same as the repetition scheme for the DCI format fixed to be used to interpret the type 1 CG. In contrast, when the UE interprets parameter(s) of rrc-ConfiguredUplinkGrant in the type 1 CG configuration based on the RRC configuration for the DCI format that satisfies the specific condition, scheduling flexibility may be ensured compared with the case in which the DCI format related to the type 1 CG configuration is fixed to the specific DCI format.
Note: There are two different repetitions (Type A and Type B), and “different limits” for the resource allocations are the different thresholds, as limit is being interpreted as a threshold.
Bai and Bae are considered to be analogous because they pertain to a wireless communications network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bai to include the concepts of having different repetitions and different thresholds as taught by Bae so as to help enhance network efficiency and reliability.
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 20,
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Regarding Claim 21,
Claim 21 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Regarding Claim 22,
Claim 22 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7.
Regarding Claim 31,
Claim 31 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 6.
Claims 2 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Bai in view of Bae, held further in view of Zhang et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2016/0338070), herein referred to as “Zhang”.
Regarding Claim 2,
Bai in view of Bae does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 2.
However, Zhang discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the second quantity of repetitions of at least the second communication is according to a coverage enhancement configuration and is greater than the first quantity of repetitions.
[0145] It can be seen that because the following technical solution is used: when a coverage enhancement requirement is at a first level, signal repetition times corresponding to the coverage enhancement requirement is a first value; when a coverage enhancement requirement is at a second level higher than the first level, signal repetition times corresponding to the second coverage enhancement requirement is a second value greater than the first value.
Bai in view of Bae and Zhang are considered to be analogous because they pertain to a wireless communications network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bai in view of Bae to include the concepts of having different repetitions in terms of coverage enhancement as taught by Zhang so as to help enhance network efficiency and reliability.
Regarding Claim 18,
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Response to Arguments
• Applicant’s response filed on December 5, 2025 is acknowledged.
• The following claims were amended: 1, 2, 17, and 18.
• There are no new claims and no further canceled claims.
• Claims 1-7, 17-22, and 31 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411