Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Kubota et al., US Patent Application (20220059619), hereinafter “Kubota”
Regarding claim 1 Kubota teaches a sensor-embedded display panel, The display element and the light-receiving element are arranged between the first substrate and the light guide plate. [Kubota para 0055] FIG. 5A illustrates a schematic cross-sectional view of a display device 10A. [Kubota para 0134] comprising: a substrate the substrate 152 [Kubota para 0148 and see Figs. 5A & 10A]; first, second, and third light emitting elements on the substrate, The display device 10A includes a light-receiving element 110 and a light-emitting element 190. [Kubota para 0135] The light-emitting element 190 has a function of emitting visible light. Specifically, the light-emitting element 190 is an electroluminescent element that emits light 21 to the substrate 152 side [Kubota para 0152] the first, second, and third light emitting elements including separate, respective light emitting layers the light-receiving element 110, the layers other than the active layer 113 can have structures in common with the layers in the light-emitting element 190 (EL element). [Kubota para 0142]; and
a light absorption sensor on the substrate, the light-receiving element 110 can be formed over one substrate. [Kubota para 0142 and see Figs. 5A & 10A] [ The light-receiving element 110 has a function of sensing light. Specifically, the light-receiving element 110 is a photoelectric conversion element [Kubota para 0147 and see Figs. 5A & 10A] the light absorption sensor including a light absorbing layer The light-receiving element 110 and the light-emitting element 190 may include separately formed layers [Kubota para 0132] extending in parallel with the separate, The display device 10A illustrates an example in which the light-receiving element 110 and the light-emitting element 190 have a common structure except that the active layer 113 of the light-receiving element 110 and the light-emitting layer 193 of the light-emitting element 190 are separately formed. [Kubota para 0143 and see Figs. 5A & 10A] respective light emitting layers along a surface direction of the substrate, The light-emitting element 190 has a function of emitting visible light. Specifically, the light-emitting element 190 is an electroluminescent element that emits light 21 to the substrate 152 side [Kubota para 0152 and see Figs. 5A & 10A] wherein the first, second, and third light emitting elements and the light absorption sensor include a first common auxiliary layer extending continuously on the separate, The common layer 114 is a layer shared by the light-receiving element 110 and the light-emitting element 190. [Kubota para 0152] respective light emitting layers and the light absorbing layer, and a common electrode on the first common auxiliary layer, the common electrode being configured to apply a common voltage to the first, second, and third light emitting elements and the light absorption sensor, The common electrode 115 includes a portion overlapping with the pixel electrode 111 with the common layer 112, the active layer 113, and the common layer 114 therebetween. The common electrode 115 further includes a portion overlapping with the pixel electrode 191 with the common layer 112, the light-emitting layer 193, and the common layer 114 therebetween [Kubota para 0143 and see Figs. 5A & 10A] and wherein the light absorption sensor includes an n-type semiconductor layer The active layer 113 of the light-receiving element 110 includes a semiconductor [Kubota para 0230] between the light absorbing layer and the first common auxiliary layer, The light-receiving element 110 includes a pixel electrode 111, a common layer 112, an active layer 113, a common layer 114, [Kubota para 0135 and see Figs. 5A & 10A] the n-type semiconductor layer including a first n-type semiconductor. n-type semiconductor material included in the active layer 113 [Kubota para 0230]
Regarding claim 2 Kubota teaches claim 1 in addition Kubota teaches wherein the light absorption sensor is configured to absorb light emitted from at least one of the first, second, or third light emitting elements and then reflected by a recognition target, the reflected light 23d can be inhibited from entering the light-receiving element 110. [Kubota para 0174] and convert the absorbed light into an electrical signal. The light-receiving element 110 has a function of sensing light. Specifically, the light-receiving element 110 is a photoelectric conversion element that receives light 22 entering through the light guide plate 121 and converts the light 22 into an electric signal [Kubota para 0147]
Regarding claim 3 Kubota teaches claim 1 in addition Kubota teaches wherein the light absorbing layer is configured to absorb light in a red wavelength spectrum, a green wavelength spectrum, a blue wavelength spectrum, or any combination thereof. The bank 217 preferably absorbs at least light having a wavelength that is sensed by the light-receiving element 110. For example, in the case where the light-receiving element 110 senses red light emitted by the light-emitting element 190, the bank 217 preferably absorbs at least red light. For example, when the bank 217 includes a blue color filter, the bank 217 can absorb the red light 23c and thus the reflected light 23d can be inhibited from entering the light-receiving element 110. [Kubota para 0174]
Regarding claim 4 Kubota teaches claim 1 in addition Kubota teaches wherein the light absorbing layer The active layer 113 of the light-receiving element 110 includes a semiconductor [Kubota para 0229] includes a first p-type semiconductor. a p-type semiconductor material included in the active layer [Kubota para 0230]
Regarding claim 5 Kubota teaches claim 4 in addition Kubota teaches wherein the light absorbing layer further includes a second n-type semiconductor, and the second n-type semiconductor of the light absorbing layer is a same n-type semiconductor as the first n-type semiconductor of the n-type semiconductor layer, or a different n-type semiconductor from the first n-type semiconductor of the n-type semiconductor layer. The active layer 113 of the light-receiving element 110 includes a semiconductor [Kubota para 0229] the semiconductors are the same
Regarding claim 6 Kubota teaches claim 5 in addition Kubota teaches wherein the light absorption sensor further includes a p-type semiconductor layer under the light absorbing layer, the p-type semiconductor layer including a second p-type semiconductor, and the second p-type semiconductor of the p-type semiconductor layer is a same p-type semiconductor as the first p-type semiconductor of the light absorbing layer, or a different p-type semiconductor from the first p-type semiconductor of the light absorbing layer. a p-type semiconductor material included in the active layer 113, [Kubota para 0230] The active layer 113 of the light-receiving element 110 includes a semiconductor [Kubota para 0229] the semiconductor are the same
Regarding claim 10 Kubota teaches claim 1 in addition Kubota teaches wherein the first, second, and third light emitting elements and the light absorption sensor further include a second common auxiliary layer extending continuously under the separate, respective light emitting layers and the light absorbing layer. In the light-receiving element, at least one of the layers other than the active layer can have a structure in common with a layer in the light-emitting element (EL element). Also in the light-receiving element, all of the layers other than the active layer can have structures in common with the layers in the light-emitting element (EL element) [Kubota para 0260]
Regarding claim 11 Kubota teaches claim 1 in addition Kubota teaches wherein each light emitting element of the first, second, and third light emitting elements is independently configured to emit one light of a red wavelength spectrum, a green wavelength spectrum, a blue wavelength spectrum, or any combination thereof, The pixel 31R, the pixel 31G, and the pixel 31B include one or more light-emitting elements 57R, one or more light-emitting elements 57G, and one or more light-emitting elements 57B, respectively. The pixel 32 includes one or more light-receiving elements 53. [Kubota para 0092] and the light absorbing layer is configured to absorb light of a same wavelength spectrum as the light emitted from at least one light emitting element of the first, second, and third light emitting elements. For the light-blocking layer BM, a material that blocks light emitted from the light-emitting element can be used. The light-blocking layer BM preferably absorbs visible light and infrared light. [Kubota para 0149]
Regarding claim 12 Kubota teaches claim 1 in addition Kubota teaches wherein the sensor-embedded display panel comprises a display area configured to display a color, and a non-display area excluding the display area, and the light absorption sensor is in the non-display area. A display device 50c illustrated in FIG. 3C is an example in which the light-emitting element 57R and the like are provided on a surface different from a surface on which the light-receiving element 53 is provided … a non-display region [Kubota para 0126 and see Fig. 1A]
Regarding claim 13 Kubota teaches claim 12 in addition Kubota teaches wherein the display area The display device [Kubota para 0143] includes a first subpixel configured to emit light in a red wavelength spectrum, the first subpixel including the first light emitting element, One subpixel includes one light-emitting element. For example, the pixel can have a structure including three subpixels (e.g., three colors of R, G, and B [Kubota para 0075] a second subpixel configured to emit light in a green wavelength spectrum, the second subpixel including the second light emitting element, and a third subpixel configured to emit light in a blue wavelength spectrum, the third subpixel including the third light emitting element, The light-emitting element 57R, the light-emitting element 57G, and the light-emitting element 57B emit red (R) light, green (G) light, and blue (B) light, respectively. [Kubota para 0187] and the light absorption sensor is between at least two of the first subpixel, the second subpixel, or the third subpixel. The display device 10A illustrates an example in which the light-receiving element 110 and the light-emitting element 190 have a common structure except that the active layer 113 of the light-receiving element 110 and the light-emitting layer 193 of the light-emitting element 190 are separately formed. [Kubota para 0143]
Regarding claim 14 Kubota teaches claim 1 in addition Kubota teaches wherein each light emitting element of the first, second, and third light emitting elements is configured to emit light belonging to a visible wavelength spectrum, The pixel 30 illustrated in FIG. 1F and FIG. 1G includes a red (R) pixel 31R, a green (G) pixel 31G, and a blue (B) pixel 31B, each of which functions as a subpixel for display, and a pixel 32 functioning as a light-receiving pixel. [Kubota para 0092] and the sensor-embedded display panel further comprises a fourth light emitting element configured to emit light in an infrared wavelength spectrum. the light-emitting element 54, a light-emitting element that can emit infrared light [Kubota para 0079]
Regarding claim 15 Kubota teaches claim 14 in addition Kubota teaches wherein the light absorption sensor is configured to absorb light of the infrared wavelength spectrum. part of scattered light IR(r) of the infrared light IR enters the light-receiving element 53, [Kubota para 0080]
Regarding claim 16 Kubota teaches claim 1 in addition Kubota teaches wherein the light absorbing layer comprises an organic material. an organic compound is used for the active layer 113 of the light-receiving element 110 [Kubota para 0065] [Kubota para 0142]
Regarding claim 17 Kubota teaches claim 1 in addition Kubota teaches wherein the separate, respective light emitting layers each include an organic light emitter, a quantum dot, perovskite, or any combination thereof. The light-emitting layer 193 may contain an inorganic compound such as quantum dots as a light-emitting material. [Kubota para 0228]
Regarding claim 18 Kubota teaches a teaches sensor-embedded display panel, The display element and the light-receiving element are arranged between the first substrate and the light guide plate. [Kubota para 0055] comprising:
a display area The display device [Kubota para 0143] configured to display a color The light-emitting element 57R, the light-emitting element 57G, and the light-emitting element 57B emit red (R) light, green (G) light, and blue (B) light, respectively. [Kubota para 0187]; and
a non-display area excluding the display area, wherein the display area includes a first subpixel configured to display a first color, the first subpixel including a first light emitting element, One subpixel includes one light-emitting element. For example, the pixel can have a structure including three subpixels (e.g., three colors of R, G, and B [Kubota para 0075] a second subpixel configured to display a second color, the second subpixel including a second light emitting element, and a third subpixel configured to display a third color, the third subpixel including a third light emitting element, A display device 50c illustrated in FIG. 3C is an example in which the light-emitting element 57R and the like are provided on a surface different from a surface on which the light-receiving element 53 is provided … a non-display region [Kubota para 0126 and see Fig. 1A] wherein the non-display area includes a light absorption sensor between at least two of the first subpixel, the second subpixel, or the third subpixel, [see Fig. 1A] wherein the first light emitting element, the second light emitting element, the third light emitting element, and the light absorption sensor share a common electrode configured to apply a common voltage to the first light emitting element, the second light emitting element, the third light emitting element, and the light absorption sensor, The common layer 114 is a layer shared by the light-receiving element 110 and the light-emitting element 190. [Kubota para 0152] and wherein the light absorption sensor comprises a light absorbing layer including a first p-type semiconductor The active layer 113 of the light-receiving element 110 includes a semiconductor [Kubota para 0229] a p-type semiconductor material included in the active layer [Kubota para 0230] and a first n-type semiconductor forming a pn junction n-type semiconductor material included in the active layer 113 [Kubota para 0230]
and configured to absorb light reflected by a recognition target the reflected light 23d can be inhibited from entering the light-receiving element 110. [Kubota para 0174]
and to convert the absorbed light into an electrical signal, and an n-type semiconductor layer between the light absorbing layer and the common electrode The light-receiving element 110 has a function of sensing light. Specifically, the light-receiving element 110 is a photoelectric conversion element that receives light 22 entering through the light guide plate 121 and converts the light 22 into an electric signal [Kubota para 0147] and including a second n-type semiconductor, the second n-type semiconductor being a same n-type semiconductor as the first n-type semiconductor, or a different n-type semiconductor from the first n-type semiconductor. n-type semiconductor material included in the active layer 113 [Kubota para 0230]
Regarding claim 22 Kubota teaches claim 18 in addition Kubota teaches further comprising: a fourth subpixel adjacent to at least one of the first subpixel, the second subpixel, or the third subpixel, One subpixel includes one light-emitting element. For example, the pixel can have a structure including three subpixels (e.g., three colors of R, G, and B [Kubota para 0075] wherein the fourth subpixel includes a fourth light emitting element configured to emit light in an infrared wavelength spectrum. the light-emitting element 54, a light-emitting element that can emit infrared light [Kubota para 0079]
Regarding claim 23 Kubota teaches claim 1 in addition Kubota teaches a display device comprising the sensor-embedded display The display device 10A includes a light-receiving element 110 and a light-emitting element 190. [Kubota para 0135]
Regarding claim 24 Kubota teaches claim 18 in addition Kubota teaches a display device comprising the sensor-embedded. The display device 10A includes a light-receiving element 110 and a light-emitting element 190. [Kubota para 0135]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota and Further in view of Kamada et al., US Patent Application (20210005669), hereinafter “Kamada”
Regarding claim 7 Kubota teaches claim 1 in addition Kubota does not teach but Kamada teaches wherein the n-type semiconductor layer has a LUMO energy level of about 3.3 eV to about 5.5 eV. the potential energy of the reference electrode used in this reference example with respect to the vacuum level is known to be −4.94 [eV]; the HOMO level and the LUMO level can be calculated by the following formulae: HOMO level [eV]=−4.94−Ea and LUMO level [eV]=−4.94−Ec. [Kamada para 0541]
Kubota teaches a display device having a photosensing function is provided. A display device having a biometric authentication function typified by fingerprint authentication is provided. A display device having a touch panel function and a biometric authentication function is provided. The display device includes a first substrate, a light guide plate, a first light-emitting element, a second light-emitting element, and a light-receiving element. The first substrate and the light guide plate are provided to face each other. The first light-emitting element and the light-receiving element are provided between the first substrate and the light guide plate. The first light-emitting element has a function of emitting first light through the light guide plate. The second light-emitting element has a function of emitting second light to a side surface of the light guide plate. The light-receiving element has functions of receiving the first light and converting the first light into an electric signal and functions of receiving the second light and converting the second light into an electric signal. The first light includes visible light, and the second light includes infrared light.
Kamada teaches a reliable display unit having a function of sensing light. The display unit includes a light-receiving device and a light-emitting device. The light-receiving device includes an active layer between a pair of electrodes. The light-emitting device includes a hole-injection layer, a light-emitting layer, and an electron-transport layer between a pair of electrodes. The light-receiving device and the light-emitting device share one of the electrodes, and may further share another common layer between the pair of electrodes. The hole-injection layer is in contact with an anode and contains a first compound and a second compound. The electron-transport property of the electron-transport layer is low; hence, the light-emitting layer is less likely to have excess electrons. Here, the first compound is the material having a property of accepting electrons from the second compound.
Prior to the effective date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kubota and Kamada in the art of controlling multiple vehicle displays. Kamada uses materials and techniques known to promote the transfer of electrons within the semiconductor materials’ systems, methods and/or apparatus by rotating virtual icons face towards the driver to allow the driver to better see the icons.
Regarding claim 8 Kubota teaches claim 1 in addition Kubota does not teach but Kamada teaches wherein a LUMO energy level of the first common auxiliary layer is between a LUMO energy level of each light- emitting layer of the separate, respective light emitting layers and a work function of the common electrode. The electron-injection layer 125 increases the injection efficiency of electrons from the cathode 102. The difference between the work function of the material of the cathode 102 and the LUMO level of the material used for the electron-injection layer 125 is preferably small (within 0.5 eV). [Kamada para 0438]
Regarding claim 9 Kubota teaches claim 1 in addition Kubota does not teach but Kamada teaches wherein a LUMO energy level of the first common auxiliary layer is shallower than a LUMO energy level of the light absorbing layer the common layer 112, one or both of a hole-injection layer and a hole-transport layer can be formed, for example. A function of the common layer 112 in the light-emitting device 190 may be different from its function in the light-receiving device 110. For example, when the common layer 112 includes a hole-injection layer, the hole-injection layer functions as a hole-injection layer in the light-emitting device 190 and functions as a hole-transport layer in the light-receiving device 110. [Kamada para 0150] and a work function of the common electrode, respectively. The electron-injection layer 125 increases the injection efficiency of electrons from the cathode 102. The difference between the work function of the material of the cathode 102 and the LUMO level of the material used for the electron-injection layer 125 is preferably small (within 0.5 eV). [Kamada para 0438]
Prior to the effective date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kubota and Kamada in the art of controlling multiple vehicle displays. Kamada uses materials and techniques known to promote the transfer of electrons within the semiconductor materials’ systems, methods and/or apparatus by rotating virtual icons face towards the driver to allow the driver to better see the icons.
Regarding claim 19 Kubota teaches claim 1 in addition Kubota teaches wherein the first light emitting element, the second light emitting element, the third light emitting element, The light-emitting element 57R, the light-emitting element 57G, and the light-emitting element 57B emit red (R) light, green (G) light, and blue (B) light, respectively. [Kubota para 0187] and the light absorption sensor share a first common auxiliary layer under the common electrode, in the light-receiving element, at least one of the layers other than the active layer can have a structure in common with a layer in the light-emitting element (EL element). Also in the light-receiving element, all of the layers other than the active layer can have structures in common with the layers in the light-emitting element (EL element) [Kubota para 0260]; and
`Kamada teaches a LUMO energy level of the first common auxiliary layer is shallower than a LUMO energy level of the light absorbing layer the common layer 112, one or both of a hole-injection layer and a hole-transport layer can be formed, for example. A function of the common layer 112 in the light-emitting device 190 may be different from its function in the light-receiving device 110. For example, when the common layer 112 includes a hole-injection layer, the hole-injection layer functions as a hole-injection layer in the light-emitting device 190 and functions as a hole-transport layer in the light-receiving device 110. [Kamada para 0150] and a work function of the common electrode, respectively. The electron-injection layer 125 increases the injection efficiency of electrons from the cathode 102. The difference between the work function of the material of the cathode 102 and the LUMO level of the material used for the electron-injection layer 125 is preferably small (within 0.5 eV). [Kamada para 0438]
Prior to the effective date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kubota and Kamada in the art of controlling multiple vehicle displays. Kamada uses materials and techniques known to promote the transfer of electrons within the semiconductor materials’ systems, methods and/or apparatus by rotating virtual icons face towards the driver to allow the driver to better see the icons.
Regarding claim 20 Kubota and Kamada teaches claim 19 in addition Kubota teaches wherein the first light emitting element, the second light emitting element, the third light emitting element, and the light absorption sensor share a second common auxiliary layer facing the first common auxiliary layer. in the light-receiving element, at least one of the layers other than the active layer can have a structure in common with a layer in the light-emitting element (EL element). Also in the light-receiving element, all of the layers other than the active layer can have structures in common with the layers in the light-emitting element (EL element) [Kubota para 0260];
Regarding claim 21 Kubota and Kamada teaches claim 20 in addition Kubota teaches wherein the light absorption sensor comprises a p-type semiconductor layer between the light absorbing layer and the second common auxiliary layer and including a second p-type semiconductor, the second p-type semiconductor being a same p-type semiconductor as the first p-type semiconductor, or a different p-type semiconductor from the first p-type semiconductor. a p-type semiconductor material included in the active layer 113, [Kubota para 0230] The active layer 113 of the light-receiving element 110 includes a semiconductor [Kubota para 0229] the semiconductor are the same
Conclusion
/ROBERT J MICHAUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2622