DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 9/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Haque does not teach “an interconnect region on the substrate, the interconnect region including a plurality of dielectric layers and a plurality of metal interconnect lines”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Haque teaches an interconnect region (Fig.5, center of the substrate 540) on the substrate (Fig.5, 540), the interconnect region including a plurality of dielectric layers and a plurality of metal interconnect lines (Paragraphs 121-122, “The first electrode (1982) may be electrically connected to the conductor (1984-1) using a metal, a via and interlayer dielectrics”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-9, 15, 21, 23-24, 27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haque et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20210124044).
Regarding claim 1, Haque teaches an apparatus, comprising: a substrate (Fig.5, 540) including a semiconductor material; an interconnect region (Fig.5, center of the substrate 540) on the substrate, the interconnect region including a plurality of dielectric layers and a plurality of metal interconnect lines (Paragraphs 121-122, “The first electrode (1982) may be electrically connected to the conductor (1984-1) using a metal, a via and interlayer dielectrics”); resonators (Fig.5, first row of piezoelectric elements 104, furthermore paragraph 106 states “the piezoelectric elements 104 have a suspended membrane associated with them that vibrates at a center frequency and several other frequencies when exposed to stimulus at that frequency and as such behave like resonators”) within the interconnect region (Fig.5, center of the substrate 540); a transmitter circuit (Figs.1 and 5, 106 and paragraph 33) in the substrate and coupled to at least a first subset of the resonators (Fig.5, first row of piezoelectric elements 104, furthermore paragraph 106 states “the piezoelectric elements 104 have a suspended membrane associated with them that vibrates at a center frequency and several other frequencies when exposed to stimulus at that frequency and as such behave like resonators”), the transmitter circuit configurable to transmit a first signal using the first subset of the resonators (Paragraphs 52-53); and a detector circuit (Figs.1 and 5, 108 and paragraph 33) in the substrate and coupled to at least a second subset of the resonators (Fig.5, second row of piezoelectric elements 104), the detector circuit configurable to detect a second signal using the second subset of the resonators (Paragraphs 52-53).
Regarding claim 2, Haque teaches wherein the first signal is transmitter circuit is a first ultrasonic signal, and the second signal is a second ultrasonic signal (Paragraphs 52-53).
Regarding claim 3, Haque teaches a first multiplexer circuit and a second multiplexer circuit in the substrate, wherein the first multiplexer circuit is coupled between the transmitter circuit and the resonators, and the second multiplexer circuit is coupled between the detector circuit and the resonator (Paragraph 72).
Regarding claim 4, Haque teaches wherein the transmitter circuit is a first transmitter circuit and the detector circuit is a first detector circuit and the apparatus further comprises: a second transmitter circuit in the substrate and coupled to at least a third subset of the resonators; and a second detector circuit in the substrate and coupled to at least a fourth subset of the resonators (Paragraphs 53-54, “the imaging device may have up to 128 transmit channels and up to 128 receive channels”).
Regarding claim 8, Haque teaches wherein the resonators are configurable to transmit the first signal and receive the second signal via the interconnect region (Paragraphs 52-53).
Regarding claim 9, Haque teaches wherein the resonators are configurable to transmit the first signal and receive the second signal via the substrate (Paragraphs 52-53).
Regarding claim 15, Haque teaches a system, comprising: a device (Paragraphs 46-47), including: a substrate (Paragraph 33); an interconnect region (Fig.5, center of the substrate 540) on the substrate, the interconnect region including a plurality of dielectric layers and a plurality of metal interconnect lines (Paragraphs 121-122, “The first electrode (1982) may be electrically connected to the conductor (1984-1) using a metal, a via and interlayer dielectrics”); resonators (Fig.5, first row of piezoelectric elements 104, furthermore paragraph 106 states “the piezoelectric elements 104 have a suspended membrane associated with them that vibrates at a center frequency and several other frequencies when exposed to stimulus at that frequency and as such behave like resonators”) in the interconnect region (Fig.5, center of the substrate 540); a transmitter circuit (Figs.1 and 5, 106 and paragraph 33) in the substrate and coupled to at least a first subset of the resonators and configurable to transmit a first signal using the first subset of the resonators into a fluid flow channel (Fig.5, first row of piezoelectric elements 104, furthermore paragraph 106 states “the piezoelectric elements 104 have a suspended membrane associated with them that vibrates at a center frequency and several other frequencies when exposed to stimulus at that frequency and as such behave like resonators”); and a detector circuit (Figs.1 and 5, 108 and paragraph 33) in the substrate, and coupled to at least a second subset of the resonators (Fig.5, second row of piezoelectric elements 104) and configurable to detect a second signal using the second subset of the resonators, the second signal being a reflection of the first signal from the fluid flow channel (Paragraphs 46-47 and 52-53).
Regarding claim 21, Haque teaches wherein resonators are ferroelectric resonators (Paragraph 33).
Regarding claim 23, Haque teaches wherein the fluid flow channel is a blood vessel (Paragraph 47).
Regarding claim 24, Haque teaches wherein the resonators are ferroelectric resonators (Fig.5, first row of piezoelectric elements 104, furthermore paragraph 106 states “the piezoelectric elements 104 have a suspended membrane associated with them that vibrates at a center frequency and several other frequencies when exposed to stimulus at that frequency and as such behave like resonators”).
Regarding claim 27, Haque teaches wherein each of the resonators includes a first electrode, a second electrode, and a piezoelectric material between the first and second electrodes, and the interconnect region includes vias coupled between the second electrodes of the resonators and the substrate (Paragraph 109).
Regarding claim 29, Haque teaches a processing circuit in the substrate coupled to the transmitter circuit and the detector circuit, the processing circuit configurable to provide a third signal indicative of a flow velocity responsive to the first and second signals (Paragraph 47).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haque et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20210124044) in view of Haque et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20210278530, hereinafter Haque530’).
Regarding claim 10, Haque teaches an apparatus comprising: resonators (Fig.5, 104) in an interconnect region over a substrate (Fig.5, 540), the interconnect region including a plurality of dielectric layers and a plurality of metal interconnect lines (Paragraphs 121-122, “The first electrode (1982) may be electrically connected to the conductor (1984-1) using a metal, a via and interlayer dielectrics”); a transmitter circuit (Figs.1 and 5, 106 and paragraph 33) coupled to at least a first subset of the resonators and configurable to transmit a first signal at an angle relative to the substrate via the first subset of the resonators (Fig.5, first row of piezoelectric elements 104, furthermore paragraph 106 states “the piezoelectric elements 104 have a suspended membrane associated with them that vibrates at a center frequency and several other frequencies when exposed to stimulus at that frequency and as such behave like resonators”, also Fig.6 shows the angle); a detector circuit (Figs.1 and 5, 108 and paragraph 33) coupled to at least a second subset of the resonators and configurable to detect a second signal via the second subset of the resonators (Fig.5, second row of piezoelectric elements 104); and a processing circuit coupled to the transmitter circuit and the detector circuit and configurable to provide a third signal indicative of a flow velocity (Paragraph 47).
Haque is silent about the flow velocity is based on the angle and at least one of: a frequency difference between the first and second signals, or a delay between transmission of the first signal and reception of the second signal.
Haque530’ teaches the flow velocity is based on the angle and at least one of: a frequency difference between the first and second signals, or a delay between transmission of the first signal and reception of the second signal (Paragraphs 45 and 55-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to determine a frequency shift of the ultrasonic signal in Haque because it would be used to determine flow velocity and direction as taught by Haque530’.
Regarding claim 30, Haque teaches wherein the transmitter circuit is configurable to transmit the first signal at an angle relatively to a surface of the substrate (Fig.6 shows the angle).
Haque is silent about the processing circuit is configurable to provide the third signal based on the angle and on at least one of: a frequency difference between the first and second signals, or a delay between a transmission of the first signal and a reception of the second signal.
Haque530’ teaches the processing circuit is configurable to provide the third signal based on the angle and on at least one of: a frequency difference between the first and second signals, or a delay between a transmission of the first signal and a reception of the second signal (Paragraphs 45 and 55-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to determine a frequency shift of the ultrasonic signal in Haque because it would be used to determine flow velocity and direction as taught by Haque530’.
Claims 16, 22 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haque et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20210124044).
Regarding claim 16, Haque teaches all the features of claim 15 as outlined above, Haque is silent about wherein the device is permanently attached to the fluid flow channel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to attach Haque’s device permanently to the fluid flow channel, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893).
Regarding claim 22, Haque teaches all the features of claim 15 as outlined above, Haque is silent about wherein the resonators, the transmitter circuit, and the detector circuit are part of a wearable device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make Haque’s resonators, transmitter circuit, and detector circuit into a part of a wearable device, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 28, Haque teaches all the features of claim 1 as outlined above, Haque further teaches a package material encapsulating the substrate and the interconnect region (As shown in Fig.3, the transducer 102 is encapsulated by a housing).
Haque is silent about wherein the package material includes at least one of: an epoxy, or filler particles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use epoxy or filler particles as the package material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haque et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20210124044) in view of Barkin et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20160025537).
Regarding claim 17, Haque teaches all the features of claim 15 as outlined above, Haque is silent about the fluid flow channel has one fluid inlet and one fluid outlet; the device is located between the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet; and the transmitter circuit is configurable to transmit the first signal via the first subset of the resonators into the fluid flow channel in a direction toward the fluid inlet and to transmit a third signal via the first subset of the resonators into the fluid flow channel in a direction toward the fluid outlet.
Barkin teaches the fluid flow channel (Fig.5, 50) has one fluid inlet and one fluid outlet (As shown in Fig.6); the device (Fig.5, 140) is located between the fluid inlet and the fluid outlet; and the transmitter circuit is configurable to transmit the first signal via the first subset of the resonators into the fluid flow channel in a direction toward the fluid inlet and to transmit a third signal via the first subset of the resonators into the fluid flow channel in a direction toward the fluid outlet (As shown in Fig.6, transducer 140 transmit ultrasonic signals in both directions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to transmit Haque’s ultrasonic signals in both directions because it would more accurately determine flow rate.
Regarding claim 18, Haque teaches all the features of claim 15 as outlined above, Haque is silent about the fluid flow channel has one fluid inlet, a first fluid outlet, and a second fluid outlet; the device is located between the fluid inlet and the first fluid outlet; and the transmitter circuit is configurable to transmit the first signal via the first subset of the resonators into the fluid flow channel in a direction toward the fluid inlet and to transmit a third signal via the first subset of the resonators into the fluid flow channel in a direction toward the second fluid outlet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make Haque’s fluid flow channel to have one fluid inlet, a first fluid outlet, and a second fluid outlet and place the device between the fluid inlet and the first fluid outlet; and the transmitter circuit is configurable to transmit the first signal via the first subset of the resonators into the fluid flow channel in a direction toward the fluid inlet and to transmit a third signal via the first subset of the resonators into the fluid flow channel in a direction toward the second fluid outlet, since it has been held that choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haque et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20210124044) in view of Lal et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20210003534).
Regarding claim 25, Haque teaches all the features of claim 15 as outlined above, Haque is silent about one or more reflectors.
Lal teaches one or more reflectors (Paragraph 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lal’s reflector into Haque’s resonators because it would increase accuracy of Haque’s system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 13-14 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The primary reasons for allowance of dependent claim 5 is the inclusion of the specific limitations of “a first grating between the first and third subsets of the resonators in the interconnect region, and a second grating between the second and fourth subsets of the resonators in the interconnect region”, in combination of with all other recited associated elements in a transducer
The primary reasons for allowance of dependent claim 13 is the inclusion of the specific limitations of “a first grating between the first and third subsets of the resonators; and a second grating between the second and fourth subsets of the resonators”, in combination of with all other recited associated elements in an ultrasonic fluid flow measurement system.
The primary reasons for allowance of dependent claim 26 is the inclusion of the specific limitations of “a third subset of the resonators form the one or more reflectors.”, in combination of with all other recited associated elements in an ultrasonic fluid flow measurement system.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/XIN Y ZHONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855