DETAILED ACTION
In view of the amendment, previous 103 rejections over Kern et al (US 2018/0092894 A1) in view of Ohara et al (“Lansoprazole Decreases Peripheral Blood Monocytes and Intercellular Adhesion Molecule-1-Positive Mononuclear Cells”, Digestive Disease and Sciences, Vol.44(8) (1999), pg. 1710-1715) are hereby withdrawn: Kern in view of Ohara does not teach or suggest administering instant acidic pH modifiers or instant alkaline pH modifiers as required in claim 1. Thus, applicant’s argument with respect to the 103 rejections over Kern in view of Ohara are now moot.
In view of the amendment, previous 103 rejection on claim 4 over Ervin in view of Erdman is hereby withdrawn. Thus, applicant’s argument with respect to the rejection is now moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4, as currently written, is very confusing (in its meaning and the structure of the claim), and thus it is very difficult to determine the metes and bounds of the claim. Claim 4 first recites that the selected disease is one or more of neoplastic diseases and infectious diseases where the subject is lacking protective inflammatory responses and/or immune responses against the neoplastic cells or infectious agents. Then, the two wherein clauses follow: First of all, in the first wherein clause, after stating that the administration step of claim 1 promotes the proactive inflammatory responses, immune responses or both, the claim recites the phrase “and clearance of neoplastic cells or infections:” The Examiner does not understand the structure of this wherein clause. The clause seems to be saying that what is being promoted (by the administration) is the protective inflammatory responses and/or immune responses. But what is the claim saying about “clearance of neoplastic cells or infections;”? What is the relationship between the promotion of the proactive inflammatory responses, immune responses or both and clearance of neoplastic cells or infections? Is applicant saying that the administration step promotes both (i) the protective inflammatory responses, immune responses, or both; and (ii) clearance of neoplastic cells or infections – i.e., by depleting (i) functional subsets of inflammatory cells with anti-inflammatory, immune suppressive activities or both; and (ii) non-inflammatory tumor-promoting cells? But what about depleting infection-promoting cells (the beginning of claim 4 states that the disease is not limited only to neoplastic diseases but also to infectious diseases)?. Secondly, in the second wherein clause of claim 4, applicant recite that the administration step directly depletes pathological cells, which comprise neoplastic cells, hyperplastic, hyperactive structural functional cells of diseased tissues or organs, host target cells or combinations thereof. However, [0160] of present specification list only allergic asthma and Graves’s disease as examples of diseases that exhibit hyperactive structural functional cells of diseased tissues or organs, and neither of these diseases are caused by infection. Nor are they neoplastic diseases. Thus, the presence of “hyperplastic, hyperactive structural functional cells of diseased tissues or organs” is confusing and thus rendering the scope of claim 4 indefinite.
In order to overcome instant 112(b) rejection on claim 4, applicant need to clearly specify exactly what elements and/or what steps are being required in the claim (the Examiner also would like to suggest applicant to list the items numerically to minimize the confusion). Since claim 4 was too unclear and indefinite in its meaning, the claim was not examined on the merit in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ko et al (“4-Hydroxycinnamic acid suppresses airway inflammation and mucus hypersecretion in allergic asthma induced by ovalbumin challenge”, Phytotherapy Research, vol.34(3) (March 2020), vol.34(3), pg.624-633).
Ko teaches (see abstract) that 4-hydroxycinnamic acid (HA) effectively suppressed asthmatic airway inflammation and mucus production caused by ovalbumin (OVA) exposure and therefore has the potential to be used as a therapeutic agent for asthma. Ko teaches (see pg.625, right hand column, section 2.2) that allergic asthma was induced in mice by OVA exposure (by intraperitoneal injection) on Day 0 and Day 14, and by aerosolized OVA on Days 21-23. 4-hydroxycinnamic acid (HA) was administered to the mice by oral gavage once per day at a dosage of 10 mg/kg or 20 mg/kg on Days 18 to 23 (thus, Ko teaches instant step of choosing the one or more pH modifiers, and routes and means of administration as recited in claim 2). The mice treated with HA showed a reduction in airway hyperresponsiveness (see abstract) and in the number of inflammatory cells in bronchoalveolar lavage fluid (BALF) when compared to mice that were sensitized by OVA but did not undergo any treatment. Thus, Ko’s HA (instant one or more acidic pH modifiers that decrease pH, resist the rise of pH or both) is being used as an active component (i.e., a therapeutic agent for asthma). Thus, Ko teaches instant step of administering a composition comprising one or more acidic pH modifiers that decrease pH, resist the rise of pH, or both as active components to the subject, as recited in claim 1. According to present specification (see [0139], [0184] and [0196]), the asthma that is being treated with Ko’s HA teaches instant allergic disease, instant disease with pulmonary inflammation and instant disease sharing the characteristic of an overzealous inflammatory response and/or immune response as recited in instant claim 3. Furthermore, since Ko teaches that the mice treated with HA showed a reduction in airway hyperresponsiveness and in the number of inflammatory cells in BALF, Ko teaches instant limitation of claim 3 “wherein the step of administrating dampens the overzealous inflammatory response, immune response, or both; and wherein the pathological cells comprise effector inflammatory cells; hyperplastic, hyperactive structural functional cells of diseased tissues or organs, host target cells or combinations thereof” (see also [0160] and [0196] of present specification). Thus, Ko teaches instant method for selectively depleting or suppressing the population or proliferation in a subject in need of treatment of or prevention from a disease with a pathogenesis that is attributable to inflammation and/or immune response as instantly recited in claim 1.
Thus, Ko teaches instant claims 1-3.
With respect to instant claim 5, Ko teaches (see section 3.4 on pg.627) that the mice treated with HA (Instant acidic pH modifier that lower pH) had lower levels of mucus production in the airway compared to mice sensitized by OVA but did not have any treatments (the latter showing significant overproduction of mucus). Thus, Ko teaches instant limitation “wherein the step of administering suppresses mucus hypersecretion in asthma . . . where mucus hypersecretion obstructs airflow, . . . and wherein the composition comprises the one or more acidic pH modifiers that lower pH”. Therefore, Ko teaches instant claim 5.
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ervin et al (US 2020/0390743 A1).
Ervin teaches ([0018] and claim 16) the following:
Ervin’s method of promoting apoptosis in cancer teaches population and proliferation of pathological cells (which pathogenesis is attributable to inflammation, immune response or cell proliferation) being selectively depleted and suppressed (as recited in claim 1). Ervin teaches ([0023] and claim 30) that acetic acid, hydrochloric acid, ascorbic acid or a combination thereof can be used as its pharmaceutical grade acid. Based on such teaching, one skilled in the art would immediately envisage using acetic acid or hydrochloric acid as Ervin’s pharmaceutical grade acid. Thus, Ervin teaches instant one or more acidic pH modifier of claim 1 that decrease pH, resist the rise of pH, or both which is being administered as active components. Ervin further teaches (see [0030] and claim 18) that its composition can be administered intravenously, intramuscularly, parenterally, orally, topically, transmucosally, transdermally or by inhalation. Thus, Ervin teaches choosing the one or more pH modifiers, and routes and means of administration (as recited in claim 2).
Thus, Ervin teaches instant claims 1 and 2.
With respect to instant claim 6, first of all, since Ervin teaches administering a composition containing instant pH modifier (acetic acid or hydrochloric acid) as an active component, it is the Examiner’s position that Ervin’s acetic acid or hydrochloric acid would inherently directly deplete or suppress population or proliferation, and dissemination of infectious agents in or on the body of the subject as recited in claim 6. Furthermore, Ervin clearly teaches (see claim 16 shown above and [0207]-[0208]) that administering an effective amount of its composition elicits a temporarily elevated acidic pH in the bloodstream to further decrease intracellular pH (Ervin teaches that the physiological bloodstream pH of a subject is reduced by 0.01 to 1.1 and the buffer solution sustains the reduction of the physiological bloodstream pH of the subject for between 1 minute and 1 week), and this results in acidic stress and apoptosis in cancer cells. According to applicant’s own statement in present specification (see [0215]), which is reproduced below
[0215] Another fundamental challenge of treating infectious diseases is to directly reduce or stop the proliferation and/or spread of the infectious agents in a subject, particularly the infectious agents that are resistant to other drugs (e.g., antibiotics). The presently disclosed subject matter offers a unique way of meeting this challenge. While not wishing to be bound to any particular theory, the data disclosed in the Examples showed that low pH induce cell death whereas high pH promotes proliferation. This explains the Warburg effect of tumor and normal proliferating cells, i.e., such cells switch from oxidative respiration to glycolysis for energy production. (73, 74). This is because oxidative respiration generates protons, thereby lowers pH. Therefore, the Warburg effect is necessary for the proliferating cells to create or maintain a relatively high pH for survival and proliferation. Importantly, the Warburg effect is not limited to mammalian cells, but is evolutionarily conserved. For examples, bacteria and yeasts switch to glycolysis when their proliferation and glucose supply reach critical levels. (75, 76). Likewise, parasites that cause parasitic diseases such as malaria, schistosomiasis, trypanosomiasis and leishmaniasis switch to glycolysis during the stages of their life cycles in mammalian hosts. (77-79). Therefore, like the effects on lymphocytes and tumor cells, pH modifiers, especially but not exclusively those that decrease pH or resist the rise of pH, can deplete and suppress infectious agents and their proliferation.
, such acidic stress, which resulted from the administration of Ervin’s composition containing acetic acid or hydrochloric acid and caused apoptosis in cancer cells, would also directly deplete or suppress population or proliferation and dissemination of infections agents in or on the body of the subject, as explained by applicant themselves. Thus, Ervin teaches instant claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ervin et al (US 2020/0390743 A1).
With respect to instant claim 7, Ervin teaches ([0225]-[0226]) that its method (as discussed above) further comprises administering to the subject a second agent, such as vaccine (e.g., recombinant HPV bivalent, quadrivalent and nonavalent vaccines, which are vaccines against infectious diseases) and teaches that its inventive composition can be administered before or after administering the second agent, or concurrently with the second agent. Based on Ervin’s teaching, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to administer to the subject Ervin’s inventive composition (containing acetic acid or hydrochloric acid) and the vaccines listed above (as the second agent) with a reasonable expectation of success. Since Ervin teaches administering acetic acid or hydrochloric acid (instant acidic pH modifiers that lower or resist the rise of pH), the step of administering such acid to a subject, who is also a recipient of the vaccines listed above, would inherently selectively deplete and suppress a population or proliferation of functional subset(s) of inflammatory cells (which are subsets of immune cells with anti-inflammatory, immune suppressive activities) that undermine efficacy or protective effects of the vaccination against the infectious diseases. Thus, Ervin teaches instant claim 7.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) rejection over Ervin, applicant once again argue that Ervin discloses a materially different composition, a fundamentally different therapeutic rationale and a different mode of action than applicant’s claimed invention. However, the Examiner already showed above in detail how Ervin teaches each and every limitation cited in instant claim 1. The claim language of instant claim 1 does not exclude the presence of a pH buffering agent ([0179] of present specification even states that the pH modifiers further include pH buffering agents). Instant 102 rejection over Ervin can be overcome by simply adding a limitation which excludes the presence of a pH buffering agent from instant composition comprising one or more acidic or alkaline pH modifiers.
Applicant then point to Table 1 and Fig.1 (which are shown at the end of their REMARKS) to argue the differences between Ervin’s and applicant’s exemplary compositions and to confirm the superiority of applicant’s compositions for in-vitro tumor cell depletion over that of Ervin’s exemplary compositions. Applicant point out that Ervin’s compositions include substantial concentrations of sodium bicarbonate consistent with a buffered systematic formulation. Applicant emphasize the key role the buffer plays in Ervin’s compositions, while applicant’s exemplary compositions do not contain any buffer and comprise only the defined acidic pH modifiers administered as active components. Applicant further argue the superiority of their pH-driven depletion of pathological cells over Ervin’s buffered rebound systems. Applicant argue that the comparative analysis is to the closest prior art and commensurate in scope with the broadest claim as all of the instant exemplary compositions comprise the same hydrochloric acid which is used in all of Ervin’s exemplary compositions (and all of Ervins’s exemplary compositions were compared). The Examiner disagrees. First of all, as already stated above, instant claim 1 does not recite that applicant’s composition do not contain any buffer and comprise only the defined acidic pH modifiers as active components. Secondly, as to applicant’s argument that the comparison of their inventive formulations to Ervin’s formulations (as shown in Fig.1 of REMARKS) shows superiority of their compositions, as previously stated by the Examiner, applicant need to submit a declaration, which shows unexpected superior result of present invention by making a comparison to the closest prior art and that is also commensurate in scope with the broadest claim. See MPEP 716.02(d) and 716.02(e). Thirdly, applicant’s exemplary compositions (last two compositions shown in Table 1) used in the comparison is sill not commensurate in scope with the broadest claim because the claim language of claim 1 does not actually require the presence of hydrochloric acid (see Paragraph 5 above) at concentration of 175mM and 87.5mM. What is required is any acidic pH modifiers in any concentration. Lastly, as evidenced by Weijian et al (“Destructive effect of percutaneous hydrochloric acid injection therapy for liver cancer – a preliminary experimental and clinical study”, Gan To Kagaku Ryoho, vol.33(12), November 2006: pg.1852-6, obtained from the website: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/17212126/), it is already known in the art that concentrated hydrochloric acid is used to destroy cancer cells both in-vivo and in-vitro (see abstract). Thus, the results applicant have shown, although superior to Ervin’s compositions, are nothing unexpected.
With respect to instant claim 6, applicant argue that the Examiner cites Ervin as teaching the treatment of equine Lyme disease and that Ervin attributes the observed benefit due to a different mechanism than the direct pathogen suppression through acidic or alkali pH modifiers in newly amended claim 6. However, first of all, the Examiner does not understand applicant’s argument because the Examiner never mentioned Ervin as teaching the treatment of equine Lyme disease. Secondly, as already explained above, since Ervin teaches administering a composition containing instant pH modifier (acetic acid or hydrochloric acid) as an active component, it is the Examiner’s position that Ervin’s acetic acid or hydrochloric acid would inherently directly deplete or suppress population or proliferation, and dissemination of infectious agents in or on the body of the subject as recited in claim 6. Furthermore, Ervin clearly teaches that administering an effective amount of its composition elicits a temporarily elevated acidic pH in the bloodstream to further decrease intracellular pH (Ervin teaches that the physiological bloodstream pH of a subject is reduced by 0.01 to 1.1 and the buffer solution sustains the reduction of the physiological bloodstream pH of the subject for between 1 minute and 1 week), and this results in acidic stress and apoptosis in cancer cells. According to applicant’s own statement in present specification (see [0215]), which is reproduced below
[0215] Another fundamental challenge of treating infectious diseases is to directly reduce or stop the proliferation and/or spread of the infectious agents in a subject, particularly the infectious agents that are resistant to other drugs (e.g., antibiotics). The presently disclosed subject matter offers a unique way of meeting this challenge. While not wishing to be bound to any particular theory, the data disclosed in the Examples showed that low pH induce cell death whereas high pH promotes proliferation. This explains the Warburg effect of tumor and normal proliferating cells, i.e., such cells switch from oxidative respiration to glycolysis for energy production. (73, 74). This is because oxidative respiration generates protons, thereby lowers pH. Therefore, the Warburg effect is necessary for the proliferating cells to create or maintain a relatively high pH for survival and proliferation. Importantly, the Warburg effect is not limited to mammalian cells, but is evolutionarily conserved. For examples, bacteria and yeasts switch to glycolysis when their proliferation and glucose supply reach critical levels. (75, 76). Likewise, parasites that cause parasitic diseases such as malaria, schistosomiasis, trypanosomiasis and leishmaniasis switch to glycolysis during the stages of their life cycles in mammalian hosts. (77-79). Therefore, like the effects on lymphocytes and tumor cells, pH modifiers, especially but not exclusively those that decrease pH or resist the rise of pH, can deplete and suppress infectious agents and their proliferation.
, such acidic stress, which resulted from the administration of Ervin’s composition containing acetic acid or hydrochloric acid and caused apoptosis in cancer cells, would also directly deplete or suppress population or proliferation and dissemination of infections agents in or on the body of the subject, as explained by applicant themselves in the paragraph above. Thus, it is still the Examiner’s position that Ervin teaches instant claim 6.
With respect to instant claim 7, applicant argue that Ervin contains no disclosure that its buffered acid-base compositions selectively depletes functional subsets of inflammatory cells with anti-inflammatory, immune suppressive activities to enhance vaccine protection. Applicant argue that at most Ervin generally states that its therapy does not exclude concurrent use of additional therapeutic agent, and such boiler plate language does not constitute disclosure of selective immune subset depletion for the purpose of enhancing vaccine efficacy. However, as already stated above, since Ervin teaches administering acetic acid or hydrochloric acid (the same acidic pH modifiers applicant use), it is still the Examiner’s position that the step of administering such acid to a subject, who is also a recipient of the vaccines listed above, would inherently selectively deplete and suppress a population or proliferation of functional subset(s) of inflammatory cells (which are subsets of immune cells with anti-inflammatory, immune suppressive activities) that undermine efficacy or protective effects of the vaccination against the infectious diseases. Besides, even though applicant claim (in claim 7) that their method enhances vaccine protection, claim 7 is too general because applicant do not name any specific vaccine(s), and applicant themselves do not present any evidence that their method works to enhance vaccine efficacy for any vaccine in general.
For the reasons stated above, instant prior art rejections over Ervin and over Kern (in view of Ohara) still stand.
/SIN J LEE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613
September 30, 2026