DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and 35 U.S.C. 112(a) has been withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Upon further consideration, claims 9-14 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazzarella et al. (US 20170099455 A1), hereinafter referred to as Mazzarella, in view of Fleming et al. (US 2006/0279628 A1), hereinafter referred to as Fleming and further, in view of Marchese (US 20050200714 A1), hereinafter referred to as Marchese.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mazzarella, in view of Fleming, and further in view of Marchese.
Regarding claim 9, Mazzarella discloses method for sharing a video stream from a private network with a mobile display device associated with an emergency service agency (See ¶¶ [0039], [0045], [0049] - [0050]).
storing, in a first memory associated with a surveillance server, a set of camera parameters for the camera, wherein the set of camera parameters includes an indication that the camera is a shareable camera (See ¶¶ [0034] and [0049]- [0042])
receiving, from a server associated with an agency, a request for access to the shareable camera (See ¶¶ [0010] and [0055]-[0059]).
Mazzarella does not explicitly disclose communicating a window layout to the server, wherein the window layout comprises a pane corresponding to the shareable camera, wherein if the surveillance server does not receive an indication of an event, the mobile display device displays the window layout but the pane corresponding to the shareable camera does not display the video stream; and
if the surveillance server receives an indication of an event, the mobile display device displays the window layout and the pane corresponding to the shareable camera displays the video stream.
However, Fleming from the same or similar endeavor of video system discloses communicating a window layout to the server, wherein the window layout comprises a pane corresponding to the shareable camera (See ¶¶ [0167]-[0168] and [0813]-[0822]).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Mazzarella to add the teachings of Fleming as above, in order to preserve user awareness of missing video while maintaining synchronized playback behavior (Fleming, ¶¶[009] and [0010]).
Further, Marchese from the same or similar endeavor of video system discloses if the surveillance server does not receive an indication of an event, the mobile display device displays the window layout but the pane corresponding to the shareable camera does not display the video stream; and if the surveillance server receives an indication of an event, the mobile display device displays the window layout and the pane corresponding to the shareable camera displays the video stream (See ¶¶ [0010] and [0051]-[0052]])..
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings disclosed by Mazzarella and Fleming to add the teachings of Marchese as above, in order to improved user interface and approach to the network transmission of images from commercially available network cameras. (Marchese, [0011]).
Regarding claim 10, Mazzarella, Fleming and Marchese disclose all the limitations of claim 9, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Mazzarella does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 9, further comprising storing an indication of how many of the camera parameters are visible to the mobile display device..
However, Marchese from the same or similar endeavor of video system discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising storing an indication of how many of the camera parameters are visible to the mobile display device. (See ¶¶ [0040], [0073] and [0078]-[0080] ).
The motivation for combining Mazzarella, Fleming and Marchese has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 11, Mazzarella, Fleming and Marchese disclose all the limitations of claim 10, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Mazzarella does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the camera parameters include one or more of: a physical location of the camera, a camera resolution, whether the camera captures color video streams or monochromatic video streams, a visible range of the camera and whether the camera does live streaming.
However, Marchese from the same or similar endeavor of video system discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the camera parameters include one or more of :a physical location of the camera, a camera resolution, whether the camera captures color video streams or monochromatic video streams, a visible range of the camera and whether the camera does live streaming (See ¶[0050] ).
The motivation for combining Mazzarella, Fleming and Marchese has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 12, Mazzarella, Fleming and Marchese disclose all the limitations of claim 10, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Mazzarella does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the window layout is based on the serve.
However, Fleming from the same or similar endeavor of video system discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the window layout is based on the serve (See ¶¶ [0794], [0798]-[0804] and [0813]-[0822] ).
The motivation for combining Mazzarella, Fleming and Marchese has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 13, Mazzarella, Fleming and Marchese disclose all the limitations of claim 10, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Mazzarella and Fleming discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the window layout is based on a type of emergency (See Mazzarella ¶¶ [0012], [0097] and [0101]; and Fleming ¶¶ [0814]-[0822]).
The motivation for combining Mazzarella, Fleming and Marchese has been discussed in connection with claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 14, Mazzarella, Fleming and Marchese disclose all the limitations of claim XXX, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Mazzarella discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the window layout is based on a location (See ¶¶ [0016], [0075] and Fig. 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 and 8 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The instant invention is related to enabling emergency agencies to access private systems.
Applicant has uniquely claimed distinct features in the independent claim 1, which in combination with the other features are neither anticipated nor rendered obvious over the prior art of record. The distinct features include “communicating, to sever of the plurality of servers, a window layout comprising one or more panes, wherein the window layout identifies one or more cameras of the set of shareable cameras that can be shared with a mobile display device communicatively coupled to the server; and in response to receiving a notification of an event, communicating, to each server, a notification that a permission has been set to access a video stream associated with the event, wherein the video stream corresponds to a shareable camera of the set of shareable cameras.”
Mazzarella, the closest prior art of record, discloses a video management environment in which an operator can view multiple video streams and in which permissions are evaluated for access by field teams. However, Mazzarella, either, individually or in combination with other prior art of record (See PTO-892), fails to anticipate or render obvious the above-cited limitations.
The independent claim 5 recites features similar to those discussed above and therefore allowable for analogous reasons.
The dependent claims 2-4, 6 and 8 are allowed for the same reasons as those supporting the allowability of the corresponding independent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for additional references.
/FABIO S LIMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486