PNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-46 and 48-88 are pending. Claims 1-45 are withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Sequence listing para. [0003] states the ASCII copy is created on May 1, 2020 and is 60,849 bytes in size. However, the correct date is 10/29/2021, the file name is 17514472_1_1.txt, and the size is 60858 bytes.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 49-74, 80-81, and 83-87 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for inhibiting cytokine release by E3 ubiquitin ligases lpaH7.8 and lpaH9 .8, does not reasonably provide enablement for treating a subject having an inflammatory disorder by administering a composition of linked two or more truncated T3SS bacterial effector polypeptides. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
In making a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement, the factors that may be considered include: (A) the breadth of the claims, (B) the nature of the invention, (C) the state of the prior art, (D) the level of one of ordinary skill, (E) the level of predictability in the art, (F) the amount of direction provided by the inventor, (G) the existence of working examples, and (H) the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. While it is not essential that every factor be examined in detail, those factors deemed most relevant should be considered.
Nature of the invention. The claims are drawn to a method of treatment of an inflammatory disorder in a subject, comprising administering a composition comprising linked two or more truncated T3SS bacterial effector polypeptides.
Breadth of the claims. The breadth of the claimed invention fails to receive adequate support in the specification. Claims 49-53 encompass treatment of inflammatory disorder in a subject by administering a construct comprising a truncated YopM polypeptide linked to a truncated T3SS cysteine methyltransferase polypeptide. Claims 54-58 encompass treatment of inflammatory disorder in a subject by administering a construct comprising a truncated YopM polypeptide linked to a truncated T3SS zinc metalloprotease polypeptide. Claims 59-62 encompass treatment of inflammatory disorder in a subject by administering a construct comprising a truncated YopM polypeptide linked to a truncated T3SS O-GlcNac transferase. Claims 63-68 encompass treatment of inflammatory disorder in a subject by administering a construct comprising a truncated first T3SS E3 ubiquitin ligase polypeptide linked to a truncated second T3SS E3 ubiquitin ligase. Claims 69-71 and 80-81 encompass treatment of inflammatory disorder in a subject by administering a construct comprising a RhoGTPase modulator linked to a cysteine methyltransferase. Claims 72-74 encompass treatment of inflammatory disorder in a subject by administering a construct comprising a truncated YopM polypeptide linked to a truncated acetyltransferase polypeptide. Claims 82-87 encompass treatment of inflammatory disorder in a subject by administering a fusion construct comprising two or more truncated T3SS bacterial effector polypeptides joined by a linker.
State of the prior art and Unpredictability: Prior art Lubos (US-2016/0206713, published 07/21/2016, of record in IDS filed on 10/29/2021) teaches a method of treatment of an inflammatory disorder in a subject comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition comprising an isolated effector protein of a type III secretion system (T3SS) comprising a variant, fragment, or immunomodulatory domain of the effector protein (claims 1-2, and 31). Lubos teaches the effector protein is selected from the group consisting of SspHl, SspH2, SlrP, IpaHl.4, IpaH2.5, IpaH3, IpaH4.5, IpaH7.8, and IpaH9.8 (claim 10). Ruter (USPN 8,840,901, published 09/23/2014) teaches YopM modulates inflammatory reaction and teaches YopM can be linked to other cargo molecules like proteins, markers, and other effector YopP (Title, column 25 lines 58-60). Ruter is silent on the activity of the fusion protein. Paz (Molecular Biology Reports 51.1 (2024): 410, of record in Office Correspondence mailed on 04/15/2025) reports the proximity of two domains in fusion proteins can result in unfavorable folding, resulting in the loss of activity of one or both catalytic domains. In these cases, adding linker sequences may allow for better conformation, stability, and autonomous actions of each functional domain in a fusion protein (page 410 para. 2). The art does not teach a correlation between structure and function, and one of skill in the art would not have recognized the functionality or the therapeutical anti-inflammatory activity of the recited structures. Therefore, the claimed method of treating inflammatory disorder using the claimed linked proteins is highly unpredictable.
Guidance in the specification and working examples. The guidance in the specification is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. Example 1 discloses inhibition of cytokine release by E3 ubiquitin ligases lpaH7.8 and lpaH9 .8. FIGs 1-5 show the fusion protein sequences and structure but do not disclose functionality of the chimeric proteins in treating inflammatory disorder. Table 1 discloses the activity of single T3SS effectors. The specification fails to provide guidance pertaining to treating inflammatory disorder using the claimed polypeptides and fails to show any data to demonstrate an immunomodulatory activity of: truncated YopM polypeptide linked to a truncated T3SS cysteine methyltransferase polypeptide, truncated YopM polypeptide linked to a truncated T3SS zinc metalloprotease polypeptide, YopM polypeptide linked to a truncated T3SS O-GlcNac transferase, T3SS E3 ubiquitin ligase polypeptide linked to a truncated second T3SS E3 ubiquitin ligase, RhoGTPase modulator linked to a cysteine methyltransferase, or truncated YopM polypeptide linked to a truncated acetyltransferase polypeptide.
Amount of experimentation necessary. The above mentioned details establish that one skilled in the art would not be able to make or use the full scope of claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation.
Taking these factors into account, undue experimentation would be required by one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the full scope of the claimed invention. Thus, the claims are not fully enabled by the disclosure.
Claims 46, 48-49, 54, 59, 63, 64, 69, 72, 77-78, and 82-88 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The instant claims require a therapeutically effective amount of pharmaceutical composition comprising an immunomodulatory construct comprising two or more different truncated T3SS bacterial effector polypeptides, wherein each truncated T3SS bacterial effector polypeptide comprises a portion of the corresponding full length T3SS bacterial effector polypeptide wherein the T3SS bacterial effector polypeptides are selected from the group consisting of an E3 ubiquitin ligase, a RhoGTPase modulator, a cysteine methyltransferase, a zinc metalloprotease, an acetyltransferase, an O-GlcNac transferase, and an LRR motif binding and sequestration polypeptide.
The claims encompass any truncation of T3SS bacterial effector polypeptide. The specification has not described any conserved amino acid residues to retain the immunomodulatory function. Prior art Ruter (cited in the 103 rejection) discloses species of truncated YopM from Yersinia with immunomodulatory function (column 46 lines 65-67) and disclosed some truncations abolish this function (column 55 lines 4-10).
The prior art disclosure of a single species has not established a strong correlation between structure and function, such minimal disclosure in prior art would not lead one skilled in the art to be able to predict with a reasonable degree of confidence the structure of the claimed invention from a recitation of its function. Without such a correlation, the capability to recognize or understand the structure from the mere recitation of function and minimal structure is highly unlikely. The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species.
The YopM variant described in Ruter reference is not representative of the entire genus when there is substantial variation within the T3SS bacterial effector genus. There may be unpredictability in the functional results obtained from species other than those specifically disclosed in Ruter reference. One of skill in the art would not have recognized that the inventor was in possession of the necessary common attributes or features possessed by the species of the genus in view of the species disclosed by Ruter. For inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus. Therefore, the inventor was not in possession of the full genus of immunomodulatory truncated T3SS bacterial effector genus.
Claims 77-79 and 80-81 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 77 recites “the method of Claim 46, further comprising a protein transduction domain”. It is not clear how this limitation relates to the method. It is not clear if the method requires further administration of protein transduction domain or if the protein transduction domain is part of the recited construct .
Claim 80, which depends from claim 71, recites “the protein transduction domain” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 78-79 and 81, which depend from claims 77 and 80 respectively, are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 46, 48, 77, 82, and 88 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lubos (US-2016/0206713, published 07/21/2016, of record in IDS filed on 10/29/2021, hereinafter “Lubos”).
Regarding claims 46 and 48, the limitation “a construct comprising two or more truncated T3SS bacterial effector polypeptides” is interpreted as a composition comprising 2 or more truncated T3SS bacterial effector polypeptides. The limitation does not require the two peptides to be linked or fused.
Lubos teaches a method of treatment of an inflammatory disorder in a subject comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition comprising an isolated effector protein of a type III secretion system (T3SS) comprising a variant, fragment, or immunomodulatory domain of the effector protein (claims 1-2, and 31). Lubos teaches the pharmaceutical composition may optionally comprise a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier ([0263]).
Lubos does not specifically teach the composition comprises two or more truncated T3SS bacterial effector polypeptides. However, Lubos teaches the effector protein is selected from the group consisting of SspHl, SspH2, SlrP, IpaHl.4, IpaH2.5, IpaH3, IpaH4.5, IpaH7.8, and IpaH9.8 (claim 10).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition taught by Lubos by adding a second effector protein as suggested by Lubos. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to target different inflammatory inducers. MPEP §2144.06(I) states that it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose, the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.
Regarding claim 77, Lubos teaches the effector proteins have a transduction domain ([0067]).
Regarding claim 82, Lubos teaches the effector proteins, variants, fragments, or immunomodulatory domains are linked to a cell-specific targeting agent and teaches the cell-specific targeting agent is antibody fusion proteins ([0168], [0174], [0176])
Regarding claim 88, Lubos teaches the pharmaceutical composition can be administered topically such as to the skin ([0278]) and teaches the pharmaceutical composition can treat inflammation such as psoriasis (i.e., skin disorder), gastroenteritis (i.e., gastrointestinal disorder), and arthritis (i.e., musculoskeletal disorder) ([0221]).
Claims 75-76 and 78-79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lubos as applied to claims 46 and 48 above and further in view of Ruter (USPN 8,840,901, published 09/23/2014), as evidenced by Appendix A (Sequence alignment of instant SEQ ID NO:19 and Ruter’s SEQ ID NO:2, of record in Office Correspondence mailed on 04/15/2025)
Regarding claims 75-76, Lubos does not teach YopM.
However, Ruter teaches a composition comprising a truncated YopM used to treat inflammation (claims 1 and 11). Ruter teaches YopM has SEQ ID NO: 4 or SEQ ID NO: 2, and teaches truncated YopM comprises amino acids 1 to 133 of SEQ ID NO: 4 (column 19 lines 46-50, column 20 lines 34-35). Alignment of SEQ ID NO: 2 with instant SEQ ID: 19 shows overlapping sequences are 100% identical (See Appendix A for alignment).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the composition taught by Lubos by adding truncated YopM from amino acids 1 to 133 of SEQ ID NO:2 as suggested by Ruter. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to treat inflammation. MPEP §2144.06(I) states that it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose, the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.
Regarding claims 78-79, Ruter’s YopM with SEQ ID NO: 2 comprises instant SEQ ID NO:17. Ruter teaches amino acids residues from position 1 to 86 (i.e., instant SEQ ID NO: 17) are required for the autopenetration of YopM into the cytosol of the cell (column 55 lines 4-10).
Double Patenting
Claims 46, 48-66, 69-73, 75-83 and 88 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6, 8, and 12 of US 12,404,307 in view of Lubos.
Regarding instant claims 46, 48-49, 75-77, and 82-83, patent claim 1 recites a composition comprising a set of paired peptides, wherein the set of paired peptides is linked to a protein transduction domain, and wherein the set of paired peptides comprises a first bacterial effector polypeptide linked to a second bacterial effector polypeptide, wherein the protein transduction domain is a YopM protein transduction domain, an SspH1 protein transduction domain, or an lpaH protein transduction domain wherein the protein transduction domain and the set of paired peptides comprise a fusion protein and the amino acid sequence of the fusion protein is at least 85% identical to the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO. 10, 13, 16, 19, 22, or 24. Recited SEQ ID NO. 10 comprises a fusion of truncated YopM and NleE, cysteine methyltransferase. patent claim 2 recites wherein the first bacterial effector polypeptide and the second bacterial effector polypeptide recognize are different. Patent claim 3 recites wherein a first bacterial effector polypeptide and the second bacterial effector polypeptide are immunomodulatory. Patent claim 4 recites wherein the first bacterial effector polypeptide and the second bacterial effector polypeptide recognize a different molecular target or modulate a different inflammatory pathway. Patent claim 6 recites wherein a linker is positioned between the first bacterial effector polypeptide and the second bacterial effector polypeptide.
Regarding instant claims 50-66, 69-73, and 80-81, patent claim 12 recites a composition comprising a protein transduction domain polypeptide linked to a first bacterial effector polypeptide and at least one additional bacterial effector polypeptides wherein the first bacterial effector polypeptide is a polypeptide having 90% sequence identity to an amino acid sequence set forth in the group consisting of SEQ ID NOs 3, 89, 42, 44, 46, 48, 50, 52, 54, 56, 58, 60, 62, 64, 66, 68, 70, 72, 74, 76, 78 and 79. Recited SEQ ID NO. 76 comprises instant SEQ ID NO: 3. Recited SEQ ID NO. 62 comprises instant SEQ ID NO: 5. Recited SEQ ID NO. 60 comprises instant SEQ ID NO: 9. Recited SEQ ID NO. 72 comprises instant SEQ ID NO: 11. Recited SEQ ID NO. 70 comprises instant SEQ ID NO: 1.
Regarding instant claims 78-79, patent claim 8 recites the protein transduction domain comprises SEQ ID NO. 5. SEQ ID NO. 5 is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 17.
Patent claims 1-4, 6, 8, and 12 do not recite administering the composition to treat an inflammatory disease.
However, Lubos teaches a method of treatment of an inflammatory disorder in a subject comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a pharmaceutical composition comprising an isolated effector protein of a type III secretion system (T3SS) comprising a variant, fragment, or immunomodulatory domain of the effector protein (claims 1-2, and 31).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition recited in patent claims 1-4, 6, 8, and 12 by administering the composition to treat an inflammatory disorder as suggested by Lubos. Since patent claim 4 recites the compositon modulates inflammatory pathways and Lubos teaches bacterial effectors can be administered to treat an inflammatory disease, there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding instant claim 67-68, patent claims 1-4, 6, 8, and 12 do not recite SEQ ID NO: 13. However, Lubos teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising effector and at least one Leucin-rich repeat such as IpaH4.5 to treat inflammatory disorder (claims 1 and 10) and teaches amino acids 63-270 of IpaH4.5 comprise the leucine rich repeat domain (Figure 20). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition recited in claim 1-4, 6, 8, and 12 by adding amino acids 63-270 of IpaH4.5 as suggested by Lubos. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to form a pharmaceutical composition to treat inflammation.
Regarding instant claim 88, Lubos teaches the pharmaceutical composition can treat inflammation such as psoriasis (i.e., skin disorder), gastroenteritis (i.e., gastrointestinal disorder), and arthritis (i.e., musculoskeletal disorder) ([0221]).
Claims 84-87 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6, 8, and 12 of US 12,404,307 in view Ruter.
Regarding instant claims 84-87, patent claims 1-4, 6, 8, and 12 do not specify the linker. However. Ruter teaches fusion protein with YopM and a cargo molecule and teaches the cargo can be linked via a cleavable linker (column 24 lines 4-5). Ruter teaches linker is hydrazone linkage (i.e., linker comprises hydrazine) (column 24 lines 6-10), and teaches the cargo can be covalently linked (column 13 lines 12-17). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition recited in patent claims 1-4, 6, 8, and 12 by adding a cleavable linker or a hydrazone linker as suggested by Ruter. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to link the peptides.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claim defined the constructs as having immunomodulatory activity and argues claims recite compositions that are identified and described by both structure (identity of specific polypeptides) and function (immunomodulatory activity), and points out to specification [0019] and Table 1.
In response to the argument, para. [0019] discloses that bacterial effector polypeptides inhibit or disable host immune response and Table 1 discloses the activity of single T3SS effectors. The specification fails to provide guidance pertaining to treating inflammatory disorder using the claimed polypeptides and fails to show any data to demonstrate an immunomodulatory activity of a truncated YopM polypeptide linked to a truncated T3SS cysteine methyltransferase polypeptide, truncated YopM polypeptide linked to a truncated T3SS zinc metalloprotease polypeptide, YopM polypeptide linked to a truncated T3SS O-GlcNac transferase, T3SS E3 ubiquitin ligase polypeptide linked to a truncated second T3SS E3 ubiquitin ligase, RhoGTPase modulator linked to a cysteine methyltransferase, or truncated YopM polypeptide linked to a truncated acetyltransferase polypeptide.
Applicant argues that the specification provides support and teaching of specific polypeptides, and one skilled in the art would have had the requisite skills and technical know how to identify the claimed structures, and argues the polypeptides are specifically named (structure) and the activity (function) of the polypeptides is identified as "immunomodulatory”.
The claim requires the truncated effector to have immunomodulatory. There is no disclosure as to which portion of any polypeptide is to be retained in order for the portion to have a useful effect, nor the effect of any specific combination of effector truncations. One skilled in the art would not be able to make or use the full scope of claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success and without undue experimentation.
Applicant argues that Lubos does not teach a composition comprising two or more truncated T3SS bacterial effector polypeptides and does not teach any
composition that comprises more than one type of effector protein. Applicant argues SspHl, SspH2, SlrP, IpaHl.4, IpaH2.5, IpaH3, IpaH4.5, IpaH7.8, and IpaH9.8 all belong to the class of E3 ubiquitin ligases.
In response to the argument, the claim requires the effectors to be different but does not exclude the different effectors to be from the same family of effectors. This is also supported by instant claim 63 which recites the construct comprises a truncated first T3SS E3 ubiquitin ligase polypeptide linked to a truncated second T3SS E3 ubiquitin
ligase.
Applicant argues that Ruter is limited to compositions that consist of YopM, YopM fragments or YopM variants and that there is no effective discussion of other T3SS bacterial effector polypeptides nor is there any discussion of compositions that contain, or could potentially contain, more than one type of truncated T3SS bacterial effector polypeptides.
In response to the argument, Ruter teaches YopM or YopM fragment or variant can be linked to effector YopP (column 25 lines 58-60). In addition, Lubos and Ruter teach T3SS bacterial effectors are used to treat inflammation. MPEP §2144.06(I) states that it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose, the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.
Applicant requests that the double patenting rejection over co-pending application 17/686110 (now US 12,404,307) be held in abeyance (Remarks p. 18). A request to hold a rejection in abeyance is not a proper response to a rejection. Rather, a request to hold a matter in abeyance may only be made in response to an OBJECTION or REQUIREMENTS AS TO FORM (see 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP §714.02). Thus, the double patenting rejections of record have been maintained as no response to these rejections has been filled by applicant at this time.
Conclusion
/MARY A CRUM/Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/THANE UNDERDAHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699