DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/16/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 3/13/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4, 13 and 16 have been amended. No Claims have been canceled. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s arguments, on page 10-19 of the remark filed on 3/13/2026, on the limitations of independent claim 1: “personal identification information excluding biometric data of the user is transmitted from the identity authentication device to the identity authentication request device or the server, and the first user-biometric data of the user is not derived from the identity authentication request device, which generates the second body-part data by sensing the body part of the user, is not transmitted to the identity authentication request device, and is not derived at the server thereby enhancing a security level for the first user-biometric data.”, arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on Page 15-16 that the cited references fail to teach personal identification information excluding biometric data of the user is transmitted from the identity authentication device to the identity authentication request device or the server, and the first user-biometric data of the user is not derived from the identity authentication request device, and is not derived at the server thereby enhancing a security level for the first user-biometric data. Applicant’s interpretation of the reference has been noted; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Park teaches on Par. (0095-0097) biometric data such as facial ID and facial recognition being excluded while on Par. (0107 and 0167) transmitting personal information such as age etc. and other identification information besides the facial information. Park further teaches on Par. (0095) ““the processor 140 may transmit information excluding facial recognition information (e.g., Face ID) 14 from among the characteristics information 11 and information 13 related to service performed to a server 300.”.). Park further teaches on Par. (0096) “the processor 140 according to an embodiment may transmit only the remaining information 14 excluding the facial recognition information, the iris recognition information, or the like corresponding to personal information from among the characteristics information 11 to the server 300. For convenience of description, personal information unique to the user 10 and biometric information will be collectively referred to as facial recognition information”. Park further teaches on Par. (0087) “the processor 140 according to an embodiment may transmit only the remaining information 14 excluding the facial recognition information, the iris recognition information, or the like corresponding to personal information from among the characteristics information 11 to the server 300. For convenience of description, personal information unique to the user 10 and biometric information will be collectively referred to as facial recognition information.”. Park discloses that security-sensitive biometric information of a user is not stored in the server, while characteristics information including biometric information is shared only among electronic devices, thereby enabling identity verification and transmission of service performance information as described on Par. (0145) “maintain some biometric information without deleting. For example, the electronic apparatus 100 may obtain voice verification information (e.g., sound band) based on the utterance voice of the user 10, and maintain the voice recognition information of the characteristics information 11 without deleting.”.
With Regard to Applicants arguments regarding on the limitation ““personal identification information excluding biometric data of the user is transmitted from the identity authentication device to the identity authentication request device or the server” Examiner states the usage of the “or” places the above limitation in alternative form. Park then discloses on Par. (0095) “the processor 140 may transmit information excluding facial recognition information (e.g., Face ID) 14 from among the characteristics information 11 and information 13 related to service performed to a server 300.”. on Par. (0096) “the processor 140 according to an embodiment may transmit only the remaining information 14 excluding the facial recognition information, the iris recognition information, or the like corresponding to personal information from among the characteristics information 11 to the server 300. For convenience of description, personal information unique to the user 10 and biometric information will be collectively referred to as facial recognition information.”. Aswell on Par. (0087) of Park “the processor 140 according to an embodiment may transmit only the remaining information 14 excluding the facial recognition information, the iris recognition information, or the like corresponding to personal information from among the characteristics information 11 to the server 300. For convenience of description, personal information unique to the user 10 and biometric information will be collectively referred to as facial recognition information”.
With regards to the Applicants argument of the limitation “that the first user-biometric data of the user is not transmitted to the identity authentication request device”:”. Examiner states Park teaches on Par. (0093) “the processor 140 may control the communication interface 120 to transmit the information excluding the facial recognition information of the characteristics information of the user”
With regards to Applicants argument of the limitation “and is not derived at the server thereby enhancing a security level for the first user-biometric data”. Examiner states Park teaches on Par. (0151) “The electronic apparatus 100 according to an embodiment may transmit information 14 excluding facial recognition information of the characteristics information 11 obtained through the camera 110 to the server” and on Par. (0097) ““electronic apparatus 100 may maintain only the age group information, the body type information, the sex information, or the like, excluding sensitive personal information, of the characteristics information of the user 10 and transmit such personal information to the server”.
Examiner states that independent claim 13 recites similar features to independent claim 1 and the above remarks are applicable.
Applicant further argues that the server performs and intermediary role whereas the server in the present invention carries out the role of identity authentication. Applicant’s interpretation of the reference has been noted; however, examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner states this is a subjective remark and that Park teaches on Par. (0095-0097) the data is transmitted to the server and on Par. (0107) stating the server identifies the information transmitted with identifiable information of the user. Furthermore the claims submitted on 03/13/2026 have deleted and struck out the limitation “and select personal identification information of the user corresponding to the second body-part data among pieces of pre-stored personal information of a plurality of users through machine learning of the second body-part data” and the features of “performs a direct role in carrying out identity authentication… the server performs functions such as specifying biometric information sensed by the identity authentication request device based on machine learning”, are not explicitly recited in the current claim construction of applicant’s independent claim 1.
Applicant argues on Page 17 to 19 that the cited references do not teach the limitations of dependent claims 2 and 14. Examiner states Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references.
Applicant argues on Page 17 to 19 that the cited references do not teach the limitations of dependent claims 5 and 17. Examiner states Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references.
Applicant argues on Page 17 to 19 that the cited references do not teach the limitations of dependent claims 6, 12 and 18. Examiner states Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references.
Applicant argues on Page 17 to 19 that the cited references do not teach the limitations of dependent claims 7 and 19. Examiner states Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references.
Applicant argues on Page 17 to 19 that the cited references do not teach the limitations of dependent claims 8 and 20. Examiner states Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references.
Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Objections
Claim1 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to Claims 1 and 13, the applicant recites the limitation “is not derived. It is unclear what is not derived. Examiner suggest further expanding on what is not derived. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 9-11, 13 and 15-16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190095681, hereinafter referred to as “Lee”) and Karantzis et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220050890, hereinafter referred to as “Karantzis”) further in view of Park et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20210112037, hereinafter referred to as “Park”)
In regards to Claim 1, Lee teaches an identity authentication system comprising: (Par. (0007); biometric authentication of a user)
an identity authentication device, comprising at least one processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute a computer program or instructions in a memory, in which first user-biometric data including biometric information of a user is stored; (Par. (0094); processor and memory) (Par. (0011-0012); storing plurality of body part image data)
configured to generate second body-part data by sensing a body part of the user; and (Par. (0011);creating plurality of body part image data), (Par. (0117-0199); second body part corresponding to veins of user)
the specified identity authentication device determines whether the first user-biometric data corresponds to the second body-part data and transmits authentication data to the identity authentication request device as a result of determination. (Par. (0117-0121) comparing body part vein with second depth data and when authentication is successful sending notification on display screen)
Lee does not explicitly teach an identity authentication request device separate from the identity authentication device, and a server in communication with the identity authentication device and the identity authentication request device, and configured to receive the second body-part data from the identity authentication request device and wherein the identity authentication device to which the identity authentication request device transmits the second body-part data is specified based on the selected personal identification information of the user, the identity authentication request device transmits the second body-part data to the identity authentication device which is specified on basis of the personal identification information of the user received from the server, and personal identification information excluding biometric data of the user is transmitted from the identity authentication device to the identity authentication request device or the server, and the first user-biometric data of the user is not derived from the identity authentication request device, which generates the second body-part data by sensing the body part of the user, is not transmitted to the identity authentication request device, and is not derived at the server thereby enhancing a security level for the first user-biometric data.
Wherein Karantzis teaches an identity authentication request device separate from the identity authentication device, and (Par. (0058); identity authentication request device (one or more capture devices associated with requesting), (Par. (0013); separate from the identity authentication device (first processing device that verifies identity based on biometric that differs from capture devices))
a server in communication with the identity authentication device and the identity authentication request device, and configured to receive the second body-part data from the identity authentication request device and (Par. (0019); first processing device verifies identity based on first and second biometric data), (Par. (0074); receiving live stream of user with second biometric data), (Par. (0122); second body part data (biometric corresponding to multiple fingers, hands iris etc.)
wherein the identity authentication device to which the identity authentication request device transmits the second body-part data is specified based on the selected personal identification information of the user, (Par. (0074-0088); processing device that verifies identity of user corresponding to specific based selected personal information (identifying data with name, birth place, date of birth etc.))
the identity authentication request device transmits the second body-part data to the identity authentication device which is specified on basis of the personal identification information of the user received from the server, and (Par. (0131-0134); biometric data and corresponding identifying means/data are transmitted based on provided identity information such as birth date, place of birth, nationality and biometric is compared to stored records)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teaching of Karantzis to utilize the above features of requesting second body part data, selecting personal information of pieces of pre-stored data using machine learning and transmitting the data based on the selected information because of the analogous concept of biometric authentication with multi-factors and plurality of body parts being sensed and verified to determine identity of user, with the motivation of creating an enhance identity verification system with multiple factors. By implementing an association with a plurality of body parts and personal information of the user, the identity verification system can be even more effective and identify authentic users from forged or impersonate entities. This creates secure protection when accessing application for financial records, medical history or business related inquires. By having a second body part and receiving a correlation between pre-stored personal information the system has a means of comparison and can easily detect possible compromise or harm and in return maintains the integrity of the system as a whole. (Karantzis Par. (0004-0010))
Lee and Karantzis do not explicitly teach personal identification information excluding biometric data of the user is transmitted from the identity authentication device to the identity authentication request device or the server, and the first user-biometric data of the user is not derived from the identity authentication request device, which generates the second body-part data by sensing the body part of the user, is not transmitted to the identity authentication request device, and is not derived at the server thereby enhancing a security level for the first user-biometric data.
Wherein Kim teaches personal identification information excluding biometric data of the user is transmitted from the identity authentication device to the identity authentication request device or the server, and (Par. (0095-0097); transmitting personal information to server excluding biometric data (facial ID/facial recognition)), (Par. (0107); person information includes age etc. ), (Par. (0167); transmitting identification information of the user excluding facial information))
the first user-biometric data of the user is not derived from the identity authentication request device, which generates the second body-part data by sensing the body part of the user, is not transmitted to the identity authentication request device, and (Par. ((0095-0097); processor 140 derives facial recognition information and includes second body part data (fingerprints, iris, voice recognition) that is excluded and only remaining personal information is transmitted))
is not derived at the server thereby enhancing a security level for the first user-biometric data. (Par. (0095); biometric information derived and obtained from image of user not server and maintaining security of such personal information),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee and Karantzis to incorporate the teaching of Park to utilize the above features of because of the analogous concept of transmitting personal information associated with biometrics purposes, with the motivation of not transmitting and not deriving the body information from the requesting device to enhance security and prevent data leakage. This helps create accurate measurement values of user body part information with risk or concern of tampering. (Park Par. (0003-0006))
In regards to Claim 3, the combination of Lee, Karantzis and Park teach the system of claim 1, Lee further teaches the identity authentication system of claim 1, wherein the identity authentication request device performs a preset function when the authentication data includes the result of the determination representing that the first user-biometric data corresponds to the second body-part data and (Par. (0117-0121) comparing body part vein with second depth data and when authentication is successful sending notification on display screen), (Examiner Note: In the instant application the specification does not provide detail on what a preset function represents, it is only stated briefly on Par. (0012) of the specification. Therefore it will be broadly and reasonably interpreted that a function of notifying the user of a result of the comparing of the biometric data or body parts represents a present function. Examiner suggest amending the claims by describing what a preset function represents to further enhance the scope of the claim.)
outputs an authentication failure message when the authentication data includes the result of the determination representing that the first data does not correspond to the second data. (Par. (0118-0120): body part is performed for authentication associated with second depth data and a failure notification is provided corresponding to body part authentication when comparison is not matched)
In regards to Claim 4, the combination of Lee, Karantzis and Park teaches the system of claim 1, Karantzis further teaches wherein the server is configured to select the personal identification information of the user corresponding to the second body-part data among pieces of pre-stored personal information of a plurality of users through machine learning of the second body-part data. (Par. (0083); receiving identifying data and based on identifying data compared to second biometric data, verifying the identity) (Par. (0031-0035); corresponding to the second body-part data among pieces of pre-stored personal information (identifying data associated with identification document or identification card of user or personal data of user, address street name , date of birth etc.), (Par. (0039-0042); pre-stored personal information (identifying data with personal information is previously stored), (Par. (0187); machine learning associated with biometric fingerprints and A.I), (Par. (0187); “In one embodiment, the agent may be a robot agent, which may include artificial intelligence and/or machine learning and/or artificial neural networks in order to assist with the identification of layout, facial, fingerprint and signature features on documents, and comparing these with templates and stored images.”), (Par. (0033); “The first biometric data and the second biometric data may represent one or more of the following: facial characteristics; fingerprint characteristics; speech characteristics; iris characteristics; retina characteristics; palm print characteristics; heart beat characteristics; gait characteristics and movement characteristics.”) (Par. (0034) ““The identity of the user may be verified when the correspondence between the first biometric data and the second biometric data ”.)
In regards to Claim 9, the combination of Lee, Karantzis and Park teaches the system of claim 1, Lee further teaches the identity authentication system of claim 1, wherein the identity authentication device comprises: a wireless communication circuit configured to (Par. (0037-0038); wireless network with devices)
determine whether the first user-biometric data corresponds to the second body-part data, and transmit the result of the determination to the identity authentication request device; (Par. (0117-0121) comparing body part vein with second depth data and when authentication is successful sending notification on display screen)
at least one processor electrically connected to the wireless communication circuit; and (Par. (0037-0038); wireless network with devices), (Par. (0096); processor for biometric authentication)
the identity authentication device further comprises a memory electrically connected to the at least one processor and configured to store the first user-biometric data. (Par. (0086-0087); memory for storage of data with processing)
Lee does not explicitly teach receive the second body-part data from the identity authentication request device,
Wherein Karantzis teaches receive the second body-part data from the identity authentication request device, (Par. (0019); first processing device verifies identity based on first and second biometric data), (Par. (0074); receiving live stream of user with second biometric data), (Par. (0122); second body part data (biometric corresponding to multiple fingers, hands iris etc.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee and Park to incorporate the teaching of Karantzis to utilize the above features of requesting second body part data, selecting personal information of pieces of pre-stored data using machine learning and transmitting the data based on the selected information because of the analogous concept of biometric authentication with multi-factors and plurality of body parts being sensed and verified to determine identity of user, with the motivation of creating an enhance identity verification system with multiple factors. By implementing an association with a plurality of body parts and personal information of the user, the identity verification system can be even more effective and identify authentic users from forged or impersonate entities. This creates secure protection when accessing application for financial records, medical history or business related inquires. By having a second body part and receiving a correlation between pre-stored personal information the system has a means of comparison and can easily detect possible compromise or harm and in return maintains the integrity of the system as a whole. (Karantzis Par. (0004-0010))
In regards to Claim 10, the combination of Lee, Karantzis and Park teaches the system of claim 1, Lee further teaches the identity authentication system of claim 9, wherein the identity authentication device further comprises a camera module or a sensor module, (Par. (0011); camera unit)
the at least one processor acquires the first user-biometric data on basis of data obtained by sensing the user's body through the camera module or the sensor module, and (Par. (0011); capturing plurality of body parts corresponding to camera unit)
the memory stores the first user-biometric data in a secure region. (Par. (0011); storing plurality of body part image data in memory unit)
In regards to Claim 11, the combination of Lee, Karantzis and Park teaches the system of claim 1, Lee further teaches the identity authentication system of claim 1, wherein the identity authentication request device comprises: a sensor module; (Par. (0011); sensing unit)
a camera module; ((Par. (0011); camera unit)
a wireless communication circuit; and ((Par. (0037-0038); wireless network with devices)
at least one processor electrically connected to the sensor module, the camera module, and the wireless communication circuit, ((Par. (0037-0038); wireless network with devices), (Par. (0096); processor for biometric authentication)
wherein the at least one processor acquires the second body-part data obtained by sensing the user's body through the sensor module or the camera module, (Par. (0011); capturing plurality of body parts corresponding to camera unit)
Lee does not explicitly teach the wireless communication circuit transmits the second body-part data to the identity authentication device, and the at least one processor performs a predetermined function on basis of the authentication data received from the identity authentication device through the wireless communication circuit.
Wherein Karantzis teaches the wireless communication circuit transmits the second body-part data to the identity authentication device, and ((Par. (0131-0134); biometric data and corresponding identifying means/data are transmitted based on provided identity information such as birth date, place of birth, nationality and biometric is compared to stored records), (Par. (0228); wireless)
the at least one processor performs a predetermined function on basis of the authentication data received from the identity authentication device through the wireless communication circuit. (Par. (0131-0134); biometric data and corresponding identifying means/data are transmitted based on provided identity information such as birth date, place of birth, nationality and biometric is compared to stored records)(Examiner Note: In the instant application on Par. (0098) of the specification it states that a predetermined function on the basis of the authentication data corresponds to a transmission of an ID together with the data confirming the identity. Therefore it will be broadly and reasonably interpreted as such)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee and Park to incorporate the teaching of Karantzis to utilize the above features of requesting second body part data, selecting personal information of pieces of pre-stored data using machine learning and transmitting the data based on the selected information because of the analogous concept of biometric authentication with multi-factors and plurality of body parts being sensed and verified to determine identity of user, with the motivation of creating an enhance identity verification system with multiple factors. By implementing an association with a plurality of body parts and personal information of the user, the identity verification system can be even more effective and identify authentic users from forged or impersonate entities. This creates secure protection when accessing application for financial records, medical history or business related inquires. By having a second body part and receiving a correlation between pre-stored personal information the system has a means of comparison and can easily detect possible compromise or harm and in return maintains the integrity of the system as a whole. (Karantzis Par. (004-0010))
In regards to Claim 13, Lee teaches an identity authentication system comprising: a plurality of identity authentication devices, comprising at least one processor, wherein the processor is configured to execute a computer program or instructions in a memory, in which first user-biometric data including biometric information of a user is stored in a distributed manner; (Par. (0007); biometric authentication of a user) (Par. (0096); processor for biometric authentication) (Par. (0011); storing plurality of body part image data in memory unit)
the specified identity authentication device determines whether the first user-biometric data corresponds to the second body-part data through mutual information exchange and transmits authentication data to the identity authentication request device as a result of determination. (Par. (0117-0121) comparing body part vein with second depth data and when authentication is successful sending notification on display screen)
Lee does not explicitly teach an identity authentication request device separate from the identity authentication device, and configured to generate second body-part data by sensing biometric information of the user; and a server in communication with the identity authentication device and the identity authentication request device, and configured to receive the second body-part data wherein an identity authentication device to which the identity authentication request device transmits the second body-part data is specified based on the selected personal information of the user, the identity authentication request device transmits the second body-part data to identity authentication device which is specified on basis of the selected personal information of the user received from the server, and personal identification information excluding biometric data of the user is transmitted from the identity authentication device to the identity authentication request or the server, and the first user-biometric data of the user is not derived from the identity authentication request device, which generates the second body-part data by sensing the body part of the user, is not transmitted to the identity authentication request device, and is not derived at the server thereby enhancing a security level for the first user-biometric data.
Wherein Karantzis teaches an identity authentication request device separate from the identity authentication device, and configured to generate second body-part data by sensing biometric information of the user; and (Par. (0107); capturing device capture video of user), (Par. (0131); biometric data corresponding to capture device), (Par. (0058); identity authentication request device (one or more capture devices associated with requesting), (Par. (0013); separate from the identity authentication device (first processing device that verifies identity based on biometric that differs from capture devices))
a server in communication with the identity authentication device and the identity authentication request device, and configured to receive the second body-part data (Par. (0019); first processing device verifies identity based on first and second biometric data), (Par. (0074); receiving live stream of user with second biometric data), (Par. (0122); second body part data (biometric corresponding to multiple fingers, hands iris etc.)
wherein an identity authentication device to which the identity authentication request device transmits the second body-part data is specified based on the selected personal information of the user, (Par. (0074-0088); processing device that verifies identity of user corresponding to specific based selected personal information (identifying data with name, birth place, date of birth etc.))
the identity authentication request device transmits the second body-part data to identity authentication device which is specified on basis of the selected personal information of the user received from the server, and (Par. (0131-0134); biometric data and corresponding identifying means/data are transmitted based on provided identity information such as birth date, place of birth, nationality and biometric is compared to stored records)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teaching of Karantzis to utilize the above features of requesting second body part data, selecting personal information of pieces of pre-stored data using machine learning and transmitting the data based on the selected information because of the analogous concept of biometric authentication with multi-factors and plurality of body parts being sensed and verified to determine identity of user, with the motivation of creating an enhance identity verification system with multiple factors. By implementing an association with a plurality of body parts and personal information of the user, the identity verification system can be even more effective and identify authentic users from forged or impersonate entities. This creates secure protection when accessing application for financial records, medical history or business related inquires. By having a second body part and receiving a correlation between pre-stored personal information the system has a means of comparison and can easily detect possible compromise or harm and in return maintains the integrity of the system as a whole. (Karantzis Par. (0004-0010))
Lee and Karantzis do not explicitly teach personal identification information excluding biometric data of the user is transmitted from the identity authentication device to the identity authentication request or the server, and the first user-biometric data of the user is not derived from the identity authentication request device, which generates the second body-part data by sensing the body part of the user, is not transmitted to the identity authentication request device, and is not derived at the server thereby enhancing a security level for the first user-biometric data.
Wherein Park teaches personal identification information excluding biometric data of the user is transmitted from the identity authentication device to the identity authentication request or the server, and (Par. (0095-0097); transmitting personal information to server excluding biometric data (facial ID/facial recognition)), (Par. (0107); person information includes age etc. ), (Par. (0167); transmitting identification information of the user excluding facial information))
the first user-biometric data of the user is not derived from the identity authentication request device, which generates the second body-part data by sensing the body part of the user, is not transmitted to the identity authentication request device, and (Par. ((0095-0097); processor 140 derives facial recognition information and includes second body part data (fingerprints, iris, voice recognition) that is excluded and only remaining personal information is transmitted))
is not derived at the server thereby enhancing a security level for the first user-biometric data. (Par. (0095); biometric information derived and obtained from image of user not server and maintaining security of such personal information),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee and Karantzis to incorporate the teaching of Park to utilize the above features of because of the analogous concept of transmitting personal information associated with biometrics purposes, with the motivation of not transmitting and not deriving the body information from the requesting device to enhance security and prevent data leakage. This helps create accurate measurement values of user body part information with risk or concern of tampering. (Park Par. (0003-0006))
In regards to Claim 15, the combination of Lee, Karantzis and Park teach the system of claim 13, Lee further teaches the identity authentication system of claim 13, wherein the identity authentication request device performs a preset function when the authentication data includes the result of the determination representing that the first user-biometric data corresponds to the second body-part data and (Par. (0117-0121) comparing body part vein with second depth data and when authentication is successful sending notification on display screen), (Examiner Note: In the instant application the specification does not provide detail on what a preset function represents, it is only stated briefly on Par. (0012) of the specification. Therefore it will be broadly and reasonably interpreted that a function of notifying the user of a result of the comparing of the biometric data or body parts represents a present function. Examiner suggest amending the claims by describing what a preset function represents to further enhance the scope of the claim.)
outputs an authentication failure message when the authentication data includes the result of the determination representing that the first user-biometric data does not correspond to the second body-part data. (Par. (0118-0120): body part is performed for authentication associated with second depth data and a failure notification is provided corresponding to body part authentication when comparison is not matched)
In regards to Claim 16, the combination of Lee, Karantzis and Park teaches the system of claim 13, Karantzis further teaches wherein the server is configured to select the personal identification information of the user corresponding to the second body-part data among pieces of pre-stored personal information of a plurality of users through machine learning of the second body-part data. (Par. (0083); receiving identifying data and based on identifying data compared to second biometric data, verifying the identity) (Par. (0031-0035); corresponding to the second body-part data among pieces of pre-stored personal information (identifying data associated with identification document or identification card of user or personal data of user, address street name , date of birth etc.), (Par. (0039-0042); pre-stored personal information (identifying data with personal information is previously stored), (Par. (0187); machine learning associated with biometric fingerprints and A.I), (Par. (0187); “In one embodiment, the agent may be a robot agent, which may include artificial intelligence and/or machine learning and/or artificial neural networks in order to assist with the identification of layout, facial, fingerprint and signature features on documents, and comparing these with templates and stored images.”), (Par. (0033); “The first biometric data and the second biometric data may represent one or more of the following: facial characteristics; fingerprint characteristics; speech characteristics; iris characteristics; retina characteristics; palm print characteristics; heart beat characteristics; gait characteristics and movement characteristics.”) (Par. (0034) ““The identity of the user may be verified when the correspondence between the first biometric data and the second biometric data ”.)
Claims 2 and 14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190095681, hereinafter referred to as “Lee”), Karantzis et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220050890, hereinafter referred to as “Karantzis”) and Park et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20210112037, hereinafter referred to as “Park”) further in view of DeRosa-Grund et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20210089640, hereinafter referred to as “DeRosa-Grund”)
In regards to Claim 2, the combination of Lee, Karantzis and Park teach the system of claim 1, Lee further teaches the identity authentication system of claim 1, the identity authentication request device outputs an identification failure message and transmits a retraining command to the server. (Par. (0120): failure notification is provided corresponding to body part authentication)
Lee, Karantzis and Park do not explicitly teach wherein, when the authentication data is not received from the identified identity authentication device within a preset period,
Wherein DeRosa-Grund teaches wherein, when the authentication data is not received from the identified identity authentication device within a preset period, (Par. (0045) “; when the authentication data is not received from the identified identity authentication device within a preset period (not received before set timer followed by failure message)),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee, Karantzis and Park to incorporate the teaching of DeRosa-Grund to utilize the above features of identity authentication using a preset time period because of the analogous concept of biometric data to determine the identity of a user as well as a failure or success message displayed at the conclusion of the authentication. DeRosa-Grund’s utilization of time-based verification of the biometric data coupled with challenge question enhances the system by adding an extra layer of security with multi-factors of biometrics, response prompts and the like thereof, with the motivation of controlling access of information that cannot be easily fooled by illegitimate users and provide high levels of accuracy with more than one biometric metrics such as audio, facial images,, personal traits, characteristics, etc. to help maintain the integrity of the system as a whole. (DeRosa-Grund Par. (0003)).
In regards to Claim 14, the combination of Lee, Karantzis and Park teach the system of claim 13, Lee further teaches the identity authentication system of claim 13, the identity authentication request device outputs an identification failure message and transmits a retraining command to the server. (Par. (0120): failure notification is provided corresponding to body part authentication)
Lee, Karantzis and Park do not explicitly teach wherein, when the authentication data is not received from the plurality of identified identity authentication devices within a preset period,
Wherein DeRosa-Grund teaches wherein, when the authentication data is not received from the plurality of identified identity authentication devices within a preset period, (Par. (0045) “; when the authentication data is not received from the identified identity authentication device within a preset period (not received before set timer followed by failure message)),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee, Karantzis and Park to incorporate the teaching of DeRosa-Grund to utilize the above features of identity authentication using a preset time period because of the analogous concept of biometric data to determine the identity of a user as well as a failure or success message displayed at the conclusion of the authentication. DeRosa-Grund’s utilization of time-based verification of the biometric data coupled with challenge question enhances the system by adding an extra layer of security with multi-factors of biometrics, response prompts and the like thereof, with the motivation of controlling access of information that cannot be easily fooled by illegitimate users and provide high levels of accuracy with more than one biometric metrics such as audio, facial images,, personal traits, characteristics, etc. to help maintain the integrity of the system as a whole (DeRosa-Grund Par. (0003)).
Claims 5 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190095681, hereinafter referred to as “Lee”), Karantzis et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220050890, hereinafter referred to as “Karantzis”) and Park et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20210112037, hereinafter referred to as “Park”) further in view of Figueredo de Santana et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20200272717, hereinafter referred to as “Figueredo de Santana”)
In regards to Claim 5, the combination of Lee, Karantzis and Park do not explicitly teach wherein the machine learning of the second body-part data uses at least one of a Haar-like algorithm and a convolutional neural network (CNN) algorithm.
Wherein Figueredo de Santana teaches wherein the machine learning of the second-body part data uses at least one of a Haar-like algorithm and a convolutional neural network (CNN) algorithm. (Par. (0052) “”; Haar and CNN corresponding to machine learning )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee, Karantzis and Park to incorporate the teaching of Figueredo de Santana to utilize the above features of machine learning using Haar or CNN techniques and incorporating digital images of facial or biometric features to help identify users as well as a matching of biometric features to authorize user access . Figueredo de Santana utilization of machine learning coupled with specific biometric data inputted helps regulate access to only permissioned users based on the specific details of facial recognition, body characteristics etc., with the motivation of controlling access to authorized users or parties to prevent false representation and authenticate without vulnerabilities towards users financial transaction and loan using a machine learning technique that doubly protects the integrity of their data (Figueredo de Santana Par. (0002)).
In regards to Claim 17, the combination of Lee, Karantzis and Park do not explicitly teach wherein the machine learning of the second body-part data uses at least one of a Haar-like algorithm and a convolutional neural network (CNN) algorithm.
Wherein Figueredo de Santana teaches wherein the machine learning of the second body-part data uses at least one of a Haar-like algorithm and a convolutional neural network (CNN) algorithm. (Par. (0052) “”; Haar and CNN corresponding to machine learning )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee, Karantzis and Park to incorporate the teaching of Figueredo de Santana to utilize the above features of machine learning using Haar or CNN techniques and incorporating digital images of facial or biometric features to help identify users as well as a matching of biometric features to authorize user access . Figueredo de Santana utilization of machine learning coupled with specific biometric data inputted helps regulate access to only permissioned users based on the specific details of facial recognition, body characteristics etc., with the motivation of controlling access to authorized users or parties to prevent false representation and authenticate without vulnerabilities towards users financial transaction and loan using a machine learning technique that doubly protects the integrity of their data (Figueredo de Santana Par. (0002)).
Claims 6, 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190095681, hereinafter referred to as “Lee”), Karantzis et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220050890, hereinafter referred to as “Karantzis”) Park et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20210112037, hereinafter referred to as “Park”) and Figueredo de Santana et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20200272717, hereinafter referred to as “Figueredo de Santana”) further in view of Mars et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20200036708, hereinafter referred to as “Mars”)
In regards to Claim 6, the combination of Lee, Karantzis and Park teach the system of claim 1, Karantzis further teaches wherein the server transmits the personal information to the identity authentication request device and(Par. (0131-0134); biometric data and corresponding identifying means/data are transmitted based on provided identity information such as birth date, place of birth, nationality and biometric is compared to stored records)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee and Park to incorporate the teaching of Karantzis to utilize the above features of requesting second body part data, selecting personal information of pieces of pre-stored data using machine learning and transmitting the data based on the selected information because of the analogous concept of biometric authentication with multi-factors and plurality of body parts being sensed and verified to determine identity of user, with the motivation of creating an enhance identity verification system with multiple factors. By implementing an association with a plurality of body parts and personal information of the user, the identity verification system can be even more effective and identify authentic users from forged or impersonate entities. This creates secure protection when accessing application for financial records, medical history or business related inquires. By having a second body part and receiving a correlation between pre-stored personal information the system has a means of comparison and can easily detect possible compromise or harm and in return maintains the integrity of the system as a whole. (Karantzis Par. (0004-0010))
Lee, Karantzis, Park and Figueredo de Santana do not explicitly teach then permanently deletes the second body-part data used for the machine learning.
Wherein Mars teaches then permanently deletes the second body-part data used for the machine learning. (Par. (0158) “deletion of the biometric data from the reader, the new biometric data be sent 1448 to the smart device, [..], a machine learning/artificial intelligence system may be used”; deletes data corresponding to biometrics and machine learning)), (Par. (0141); second body-part data (biometric data corresponds to face, palm etc.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee, Karantzis, Park and Figueredo de Santana to incorporate the teaching of Mars to utilize the above features of machine learning to permanently delete the second data because Lee, Karantzis, Figueredo de Santana, and Mars incorporate biometric data to authenticate a user based on specific features, Karantzis and Figueredo de Santana incorporate machine-learning or Artificial intelligence to securely protect the exchange of data. Mars utilization of machine learning coupled with specific biometric data is for the benefit of universal identification of individuals that is detectable by manufacturers, social media or network providers without the burden of anomalous behavior or management problems, by deleting and filtering the identifiable data the system is protects from large amounts of data delaying the process or possible risk of compromise of outdated data (Mars Par. (0002-0005)).
In regards to Claim 12, the combination of Lee, Karantzis, and Park teach the system of claim 1, Karantzis further teaches wherein the at least one processor transmits the second body-part data to the identity authentication device and (Par. (0131-0134); biometric data and corresponding identifying means/data are transmitted based on provided identity information such as birth date, place of birth, nationality and biometric is compared to stored records)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee and Park to incorporate the teaching of Karantzis to utilize the above features of requesting second body part data, selecting personal information of pieces of pre-stored data using machine learning and transmitting the data based on the selected information because of the analogous concept of biometric authentication with multi-factors and plurality of body parts being sensed and verified to determine identity of user, with the motivation of creating an enhance identity verification system with multiple factors. By implementing an association with a plurality of body parts and personal information of the user, the identity verification system can be even more effective and identify authentic users from forged or impersonate entities. This creates secure protection when accessing application for financial records, medical history or business related inquires. By having a second body part and receiving a correlation between pre-stored personal information the system has a means of comparison and can easily detect possible compromise or harm and in return maintains the integrity of the system as a whole. (Karantzis Par.(0004-0010))
Lee, Karantzis, Park and Figueredo de Santana do not explicitly teach then permanently deletes the second body-part data.
Wherein Mars teaches then permanently deletes the second body-part data. (Par. (0158) “deletion of the biometric data from the reader, the new biometric data be sent 1448 to the smart device, [..], a machine learning/artificial intelligence system may be used”; deletes data corresponding to biometrics and machine learning)), (Par. (0141); second body-part data (biometric data corresponds to face, palm etc.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee, Karantzis, Park and Figueredo de Santana to incorporate the teaching of Mars to utilize the above features of machine learning to permanently delete the second data because Lee, Karantzis, Figueredo de Santana, and Mars incorporate biometric data to authenticate a user based on specific features, Karantzis and Figueredo de Santana incorporate machine-learning or Artificial intelligence to securely protect the exchange of data. Mars utilization of machine learning coupled with specific biometric data is for the benefit of universal identification of individuals that is detectable by manufacturers, social media or network providers without the burden of anomalous behavior or management problems, by deleting and filtering the identifiable data the system is protects from large amounts of data delaying the process or possible risk of compromise of outdated data (Mars Par. (0002-0005)).
In regards to Claim 18, the combination of Lee, Karantzis, and Park teach the system of claim 13, Karantzis further teaches wherein the server transmits the authentication data to the identity authentication request device and (Par. (0131-0134); biometric data and corresponding identifying means/data are transmitted based on provided identity information such as birth date, place of birth, nationality and biometric is compared to stored records)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee and Park to incorporate the teaching of Karantzis to utilize the above features of requesting second body part data, selecting personal information of pieces of pre-stored data using machine learning and transmitting the data based on the selected information because of the analogous concept of biometric authentication with multi-factors and plurality of body parts being sensed and verified to determine identity of user, with the motivation of creating an enhance identity verification system with multiple factors. By implementing an association with a plurality of body parts and personal information of the user, the identity verification system can be even more effective and identify authentic users from forged or impersonate entities. This creates secure protection when accessing application for financial records, medical history or business related inquires. By having a second body part and receiving a correlation between pre-stored personal information the system has a means of comparison and can easily detect possible compromise or harm and in return maintains the integrity of the system as a whole. (Karantzis Par. (0004-0010))
Lee, Karantzis, Park and Figueredo de Santana do not explicitly teach then permanently deletes the second body-part data used for the machine learning.
Wherein Mars teaches then permanently deletes the second body-part data used for the machine learning. (Par. (0158) “deletion of the biometric data from the reader, the new biometric data be sent 1448 to the smart device, [..], a machine learning/artificial intelligence system may be used”; deletes data corresponding to biometrics and machine learning)), (Par. (0141); second body-part data (biometric data corresponds to face, palm etc.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee, Karantzis, Park and Figueredo de Santana to incorporate the teaching of Mars to utilize the above features of machine learning to permanently delete the second data and incorporate biometric data to authenticate a user based on specific features, Karantzis and Figueredo de Santana incorporate machine-learning or Artificial intelligence to securely protect the exchange of data. Mars utilization of machine learning coupled with specific biometric data is for the benefit of universal identification of individuals that is detectable by manufacturers, social media or network providers without the burden of anomalous behavior or management problems, by deleting and filtering the identifiable data the system is protects from large amounts of data delaying the process or possible risk of compromise of outdated data (Mars Par. (0002-0005)).
Claims 7 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190095681, hereinafter referred to as “Lee”), Karantzis et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220050890, hereinafter referred to as “Karantzis”), Park et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20210112037, hereinafter referred to as “Park”) and Figueredo de Santana et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20200272717, hereinafter referred to as “Figueredo de Santana”) further in view of Ura et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20170372229, hereinafter referred to as “Ura”)
In regards to Claim 7, the combination of Lee, Karantzis, Park and Figueredo de Santana do not explicitly teach wherein the server cumulatively stores results of the machine learning as cumulative data.
Wherein Ura teaches wherein the server cumulatively stores results of the machine learning as cumulative data. (Par. (0123) “”; cumulative data))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee, Karantzis, Park and Figueredo de Santana to incorporate the teaching of Ura to utilize the above features of machine learning and cumulative storage because Lee, Karantzis, and Figueredo de Santana, the matching or comparison of first and second data to determine abnormalities , Karantzis and Figueredo de Santana incorporate machine-learning or Artificial intelligence to securely protect the exchange of data. Ura utilization of machine learning coupled with provides benefit of patterns of progression of data unaltered and unmodified, by using machine learning the user is more securely equipped to predict trends and behaviors for products or services and provides high accuracy for the data exchanged. (Ura Par. (0003-0004)).
In regards to Claim 19, the combination of Lee, Karantzis, Park and Figueredo de Santana do not explicitly teach wherein the server cumulatively stores results of the machine learning as cumulative data.
Wherein Ura teaches wherein the server cumulatively stores results of the machine learning as cumulative data. (Par. (0123) “”; cumulative data))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee, Karantzis, Park and Figueredo de Santana to incorporate the teaching of Ura to utilize the above features of machine learning and cumulative storage because Lee, Karantzis, and Figueredo de Santana address the matching or comparison of first and second data to determine abnormalities and Karantzis and Figueredo de Santana incorporate machine-learning or Artificial intelligence to securely protect the exchange of data. Ura utilization of machine learning coupled with provides benefit of patterns of progression of data unaltered and unmodified, by using machine learning the user is more securely equipped to predict trends and behaviors for products or services and provides high accuracy for the data exchanged. (Ura Par. (0003-0004)).
Claims 8 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190095681, hereinafter referred to as “Lee”), Karantzis et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20220050890, hereinafter referred to as “Karantzis”) and Park et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20210112037, hereinafter referred to as “Park”) further in view of Baskaran et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20190311145, hereinafter referred to as “Baskaran”)
In regards to Claim 8, the combination of Lee, Karantzis, Park do not explicitly teach wherein the personal information includes a mobile phone number for identifying the identity authentication device.
Wherein Baskaran teaches wherein the personal information includes a mobile phone number for identifying the identity authentication device. (Par. (0046) ”; personal information includes phone number))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee, Karantzis, and Park to incorporate the teaching of Baskaran to utilize the above features of personal information including a mobile phone number because of the analogous concept of identity authentication using personal information coupled with encryption techniques. Baskaran utilization of personal information for the authentication provides a benefit of overcoming security issues on public networks and the misuse or vulnerabilities of unauthorized attempts, oversharing becomes mitigated and by associating only personal information such as a phone number with the identity authentication the system creates consistency and a more effective means of protected data transmitted.. (Baskaran Par. (0005-0006).
In regards to Claim 20, the combination of Lee, Karantzis, and Park do not explicitly teach wherein the personal identification information of the user includes mobile phone numbers for identifying each of the plurality of identity authentication devices.
Wherein teaches wherein the personal identification information of the user includes mobile phone numbers for identifying each of the plurality of identity authentication devices. (Par. (0046) ”; personal information includes phone number))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee, Karantzis, and Park to incorporate the teaching of Baskaran to utilize the above features of personal information including a mobile phone number because of the analogous concept of identity authentication using personal information coupled with encryption techniques. Baskaran utilization of personal information for the authentication provides a benefit of overcoming security issues on public networks and the misuse or vulnerabilities of unauthorized attempts, oversharing becomes mitigated and by associating only personal information such as a phone number with the identity authentication the system creates consistency and a more effective means of protected data transmitted.. (Baskaran Par. (0005-0006).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee; Seon Gwan (U.S Pub. No. 20190295095) “FINANCIAL PAYMENT METHOD AND PAYMENT SYSTEM USING MOBILE DEVICE”. Considered this reference because it had a similar inventor with the same concept of biometric data to authenticate an identity.
Kim; Hakjoo. (U.S No. 10810449) “Electronic Device And Method Of Operating Same”. Considered this application because it relates to a plurality of authentication devices that capture biometric data and used it to identify users identity.
Choi; Unho (U.S. No. 9589260) “System And Method For Authenticating Electronic Money Using A Smart Card And A Communication Terminal”. Considered this application because it addressed a wireless network that matches pre-stored biometric data and sends update messages to the user for successful.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2497
/ELENI A SHIFERAW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2497