DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 415, 438 and claims bellow are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1 US 20150378023 A1.
Regarding claims 415 and 438 D1 teaches
415. (New) A LIDAR system for detecting objects in a field of view (FOV), the system comprising:
an array of sensors(Qd fig. 2) configured to receive light reflected from respective FOV portions within the FOV(Si), each sensor comprising a respective plurality of detectors;(fig. 2 Three rows of Qd each row includes 3 sensors)
one or more light sources(F) configured to emit multiple beams toward the FOV(S)(at least two different beams Be maybe at different time but claim does not specify otherwise also [0137] Explicitly teach that beam Be may be comprising of the plurality of beam portions by controlling the beam divergence), each beam forming a respective beam spot within a respective FOV portion of a respective one of the sensors such that the light reflected from the respective beam spot is imaged onto two or more of the respective plurality of detectors;(fig. 2) and
at least one processor(implicit) configured to process signals output by the detectors to generate multiple different range measurements of one or more of the objects within the respective FOV portion of a single one of the sensors.(fig. 3 bottom row includes two sensors which measure at least two different distances)
416. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 415, wherein the multiple different respective range measurements include at least two differing distances associated with the respective beam spot.(implicit fig. 3 two point at bottom row)
417. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 415, wherein the multiple different respective range measurements include at least two different times of flight associated with the respective beam spot. (implicit fig. 3 two point at bottom row)
418. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 415, wherein the multiple different respective range measurements include at least two directions with respect to the FOV that are associated with the respective beam spot. (implicit fig. 3 two point at bottom row)
436. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 415, wherein a first part of the light reflected from the respective beam spot formed by at least one of the beams impinges on at least one of the respective plurality of light detectors earlier in time than a second part of the light reflected from the respective beam spot.(implicit depending on the spot size the part of the reflected portion comes from closer distance and another part from larger distance see fig. 1)
437. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 415, wherein the multiple different range measurements include at least two differing intensities associated with the respective beam spot.(implicit depending on the range traveled the signal will be absorbed in different amount )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 419, 420 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D2 US 6057909 A .
Regarding claims 419, 420 D1 does not teach but D2 teaches
419. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 415, wherein each detector of each sensor comprises multiple detection elements, wherein the signals output by the detectors are produced by combining respective outputs of the multiple detection elements. (col 4 line 62- col 5 line 9)
420. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 419, wherein the detection elements of each detector are in a rectangular arrangement.(col 25 line 36-col 25 line 51)
It will be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify teachings taught by D1 with teachings by D2 in order to achieve an optimal trade-off of distance versus lateral resolution.
Claim(s) 421 and claims bellow are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D3 US 20170131388 A1.
Regarding claims 421 and bellow D1 teaches
deflect multiple beams toward the FOV (fig. 1)
421. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 415, further comprising a light deflector(Me) configured to:
deflect the multiple beams emitted by the one or more light sources toward the FOV;.(fig. 1)
422. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 421, wherein while the light deflector is configured to scan the multiple beams and the respective FOV portions across the FOV.(fig. 2-9)
425. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 421, wherein the light deflector is configured to deflect the multiple beams toward the FOV via a common area of the light deflector along different outbound paths.(fig. 1)
427. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 421, wherein the light deflector includes a reflector unit configured to pivot along two or more axes.(fig. 1)
428. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 427, wherein the reflector unit includes a MEMS mirror.[0011]
430. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 421, wherein the light deflector is a two-dimensional scanner.[0011 with fig. 2]
but does not teach but D3 teaches
and deflect the light reflected from the respective beam spot within the respective FOV portion of each of the sensors onto the respective plurality of detectors(fig. 1 deflector 118 deflects both transmitted and received light)
423. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 421, wherein the light deflector(118) is configured to deflect the reflected light toward the sensors via a common area of the light deflector along different return paths.(fig. 1)
424. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 423, wherein each beam spot is associated with a corresponding return path among the different return paths.(fig. 1)
426. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 421, wherein the light deflector is configured to deflect the reflected light toward the sensors and the beams toward the FOV via a common area of the light deflector.
It will be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify teachings taught by D1 with teachings by D3 in order to perform scanning and data gathering in many ways commonly practiced in the art.
Claim(s) 431 bellow are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D3 US 20170131388 A1 further in view of D4 US 20170003392 A1.
Regarding claim 431 D1 does not teach but D4 teaches
431. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 421, wherein the light deflector includes a reflector array(1703)[0074], the reflector array including a plurality of reflector units.[0074](fig. 17)
432. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 431, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to select one of the reflector units for an outbound path along which at least some of the multiple beams are directed to the FOV.(D4 claims 7 and fig. 17)
433. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 431, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to select one of the reflector units for a return path along which at least some of the light reflected from the FOV is directed to the array of sensors. .(D4 claims 7 and fig. 17 and D1 fig. 2 mirror is selected to transmit toward the particular sensor)
It will be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify teachings taught by D1 with teachings by D4 in order to scan different regions with different resolution.
Claim(s) 421 and claims bellow are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D0 US 20160170202 A1.
Regarding claims bellow D1 teaches
deflect multiple beams toward the FOV (fig. 1)
does not teach but D0 teaches
421. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 415, further comprising a light deflector(13) configured to:deflect the beams emitted by the one or more light sources toward the FOV; and deflect the light reflected from the respective beam spot within the respective FOV portion of each of the sensors onto the respective plurality of detectors.(fig. 1)
431. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 421, wherein the light deflector includes a reflector array, the reflector array including a plurality of reflector units.(fig. 1)
434. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 431, wherein at least two of the plurality of reflector units are configured to pivot synchronously.[0047]
435. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 431, wherein at least two of the plurality of reflector units are configured to pivot asynchronously.[0047]
It will be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify teachings taught by D1 with teachings by D0 in order to imitate large mirror when operate synchronously and work as separate reflectors when beams need to bi directed into different regions at different times.
Claim(s) 429 bellow are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D3 US 20170131388 A1 further in view of D5 US 20160041266 A1.
Regarding claim 431 D1 does not teach but D5 teaches
429. (New) The LIDAR system of claim 421, wherein the light deflector includes a mechanical scanning polygon.[0088]
It will be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify teachings taught by D1 with teachings by D5 in order to alternative scanning means commonly used in the art.
Conclusion
/HOVHANNES BAGHDASARYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645