DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. This Office Action is in response to the Amendments of 10/02/2025. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 3, 5, 9-18 and 20 have been amended, claims 2 and 4 have been canceled, and claims 21-22 have been added. Thus, claims 1, 3 and 5 -22 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Objections
3. In light of Applicant’s Amendment of 10/02/2025, the objection to claim 17-18 set forth in the Office Action of 07/16/2025, is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 3 and 5-8 are rejected 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham et al. (hereinafter “Graham”) (Pub. No.: US 2017/0218951 A1), as evidenced by Bayyouk et al. (hereinafter “Bayyouk”) (Pub. No.: US 2020/0400140 A1), and further in view of Thompson (Pub. No.: US 2007/0000544 A1), and further in view of Riedel et al. (hereinafter “Riedel”) (Patent No.: US 11,859,757 B2).
Regarding claims 1 and 6-8, Graham discloses a fluid end (fluid end 25, as discussed in Paragraphs [0030] & [0032]) comprising:
a block (fluid end block B40, as depicted in annotated Figures 4&5) formed as a single unit (as shown immediately below, the fluid end block B40 is surely being formed as a single unit) and having an inner surface (as depicted in annotated Figures 4&5, the fluid end block B40 is inherently having an inner surface or internal surface or interior surface 70, as discussed in Paragraph [0040]); coat
a suction bore (fluid intake passage 75, see Paragraphs [0040] &[0042]-[0043]) formed in the block (as seen in annotated Figure 4, the fluid intake passage 75 is clearly being formed in the fluid end block B40) and having a suction valve (intake valve 55, as presented in Paragraphs [0040] &[0042]-[0043]) and a suction valve seat (suction valve seat SS55, as depicted in annotated Figure 4) disposed within the suction bore (within the intake passage 75);
a discharge bore (discharge passage 77, as detailed in Paragraphs [0040] &[0042]-[0043]) formed in the block (as best seen immediately below, the discharge passage or bore 77 is undoubtedly being formed in the fluid end block B40) and having a discharge valve (discharge valve 57, see Paragraphs [0044]-[0045]) and a discharge valve seat (discharge valve seat DS57, as shown in annotated Figure 4) disposed within the discharge bore (within the discharge passage 77);
a plunger bore (defined by a plunger passage 74 for receiving a plunger 27, as presented in Paragraphs [0045]-[0047]) formed in the block (formed in the fluid end block B40) and having a plunger (plunger 27) disposed therein, the plunger (plunger 27) moveable within the plunger bore (within the plunger passage 74);
a seal pack (defined by one or more seal members 88 that are provided to effect the sealing relationship, see Paragraph [0047]) disposed within the plunger bore and between the plunger and the block (as best seen in annotated Figure 4), thereby forming a fluid seal between the plunger and the block (the seal member 88 and the plug 58 can have a suitable O-ring interposed between an exterior surface thereof and the interior surface 70 to provide a sealed interface, as expressly stated in Paragraph [0047]), the seal pack configured to maintain a sealing contact with the plunger as the plunger moves in the first direction and the second direction; and
a first coating band (coating band portion CB1, as depicted in annotated Figure 6) disposed directly on the inner surface of the block (arranged directly on a surface or inner surface of the block B40, as seen immediately below), within the suction bore (within intake passage 75),
a second coating band (coating band portion CB2, as depicted in annotated Figure 6) disposed directly on the inner surface of the block (the coating band portion is surely arranged directly on a surface or inner surface of the block B40), within the discharge bore (discharge passage 77), and
a third coating band (coating band portion CB3, as depicted in annotated Figure 6) disposed directly on the inner surface of the block (the coating band portion CB3 is undoubtedly arranged directly on a surface or inner surface of the block B40, within the plunger bore (plunger passage 74), and between the seal pack (one or more seal members 88) and the block in physical contact with the seal pack (as seen in annotated Figure 4).
Particularly, Graham demonstrates as how the fluid end block 40 defines one or more internal pumping cavities each configured to interact with a respective plunger 27 to draw a working fluid (see Paragraph [0033].
Notably, Graham performs as how the plunger is disposed within the plunger passage such that the plunger is reciprocally movable over a range of travel including a suction stroke and a discharge stroke. The plunger draws the intake valve to the intake open position to open the intake passage during the suction stroke. The plunger moves the intake valve to the intake closed position to occlude the intake passage and moves the discharge valve to the discharge open position during the discharge stroke (Paragraph [0014]).
Further, in Paragraph [0046], Graham specifies: The plunger 27 is disposed within the plunger passage 74 such that the plunger 27 is reciprocally movable over a range of travel including a suction stroke and a discharge stroke. The plug 58 is threadedly engaged with the interior surface 70 of the fluid end block 40 at an end of the plunger passage 74 opposite the plunger 27. The plug 58 can be removed from the fluid end block 40 to provide selective access to the chamber 72. In embodiments, the plug 58 can have a different configuration and can be mounted to the fluid end block 40 using a different technique, as will be appreciated by one skilled in the art.
Furthermore, in Paragraphs {0048]-[0049], Graham teaches that: In use, the plunger 27 can move outwardly relative to the chamber 72 in the suction direction 84 to effect negative pressurization in the chamber to draw the intake valve 55 to the intake open position to open the intake passage 75 during the suction stroke. A source of fracturing fluid can be in fluid communication with the intake passage 75 via the inlet conduit 41. The source of fracturing fluid can be at a relatively low pressure that is not sufficient to overcome the biasing force of the intake biasing mechanism 82, but is operable to propel the source of fracturing fluid into the chamber 72 once the plunger 27 draws the intake valve 55 to the intake open position. The discharge valve 57 remains in the discharge closed position during the suction stroke. After the suction stroke is completed, the plunger 27 can move inwardly relative to the chamber in the power direction 87 during the power stroke to effect positive pressurization in the chamber to pressurize the fracturing fluid in the chamber. In response to the positive pressure generated within the chamber, the intake biasing mechanism 82 is allowed to urge the intake valve 55 back to the intake closed position to occlude the intake passage 75, and the discharge valve 57 moves outwardly to the discharge open position such that the pressurized fracturing fluid in the chamber 72 flows through the discharge valve 57 through the discharge passage 77 to the well bore site. During the power stroke, the intake valve 55 remains in the intake closed position.
Essentially, Graham’s fluid end is designed such that the pump plunger 27 is being moveable within the plunger bore 74 in a first direction and a second direction opposite the first direction such that the plunger 27 directs fluid through the suction or intake valve 55 when the plunger 27 moves in the first direction and directs fluid through the discharge valve 57 when the plunger 27 moves in the second direction, as instantly claimed.
Graham, in Paragraph [0062], then goes on to describe as how: the coating layer 90 completely covers the chamber 72. The coating layer 90 also covers the inner portions of the plunger passage 74, the intake passage 75, and the discharge passage 77. In the illustrated embodiment, the coating layer 90 is offset from each of the first and second plunger end threaded portions 93, 94 and the discharge coupling threaded portion 98.
Most importantly, however, is the specific arrangement of the coating layer 90 which, as stated in Paragraph [0069], is being applied to at least a portion of the interior surface of the body (step 730) and the seal member 88, which can have a suitable O-ring interposed between an exterior surface thereof and the interior surface 70 to provide a sealed interface (see Paragraph [0047]).
As best seen immediately above, Graham explicitly exhibits as how the coating 90 is disposed directly on the inner surface of the block while located within the plunger bore, as instantly claimed.
Clearly, disclosing the arrangement of the coating layer 90, Graham specifically teaches a first coating band CB1 that is disposed directly on the inner surface of the block, within the suction bore or the intake passage 75 and/or a second coating band CB2 disposed directly on the inner surface of the block, within the discharge bore or discharge passage 77 and/or a third coating band CB3 that is disposed directly on the inner surface of the block, within the plunger bore or plunger passage 74.
Surely, with reference to annotated Figures 4 & 6, Graham evidently illustrates as how the seal member 88, which is designated as the seal pack, is disposed within the plunger bore 74 and between the plunger 27 and the block B40, thereby forming a fluid seal between the plunger 27 and the block B40.
In fact, this seal pack or seal member 88 is clearly being configured to maintain a sealing contact with the plunger 27 as the plunger 27 moves in the first direction and the second direction and/or the coating 90, which is directly disposed on the inner surface of the block, within the plunger bore/ 74 and is being necessarily between the seal pack and the block, as instantly claimed.
Although Graham discloses the majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, he is silent as to the specifics regarding a first annular seal disposed between the suction valve seat and the block and/or a second annular seal disposed between the discharge valve seat and the block.
Nevertheless, Bayyouk in the same field of endeavor teaches another fluid end, very similar to that seen in annotated Figure 4 of Graham, and performs as how a valve member for an inlet or outlet valve assembly of a reciprocating pump assembly includes a valve body and a seal member.
Notably, Bayyouk illustrates the fluid end block 18 that “includes inlet and outlet fluid passages 38 and 40 formed therein, which are generally coaxial along a fluid passage axis 42” (see Paragraph [0126]).
Further, in Paragraph [0127], Bayyouk successfully discloses as how: An inlet valve 54 is disposed in the fluid passage 38, and engages at least the frusto-conical surface 44 and the inside surface 46. Similarly, an outlet valve 56 is disposed in the fluid passage 40, and engages at least the frusto-conical surface 50 and the inside surface 52. In an exemplary embodiment, each of valves 54 and 56 is a spring-loaded valve that is actuated by a predetermined differential pressure thereacross.
Still further, in Paragraph [0132], Bayyouk explicitly teaches: the inlet valve 54 includes a valve seat 76 and a valve member 78 engaged therewith. The valve seat 76 includes a seat body 80 having an enlarged-diameter portion 82 at one end thereof. The enlarged-diameter portion 82 of the seat body 80 is disposed in the enlarged-diameter portion 38a of the fluid passage 38. A bore 83 is formed through the seat body 80. The valve seat 76 has a valve seat axis 84, which is aligned with the fluid passage axis 42 when the inlet valve 54 is disposed in the fluid passage 38, as shown in FIG. 3. Under conditions to be described below, fluid flows through the bore 83 and along the valve seat axis 84. The bore 83 defines an inside surface 85 of the seat body 80. An outside surface 86 of the seat body 80 contacts the inside surface 46 defined by the fluid passage 38. A sealing element, such as an O-ring 88, is disposed in an annular groove 90 formed in the outside surface 86. The O-ring 88 sealingly engages the inside surface 46.
Certainly, as best seen in annotated Figure 9, the O-ring is being disposed between the suction valve seat and the fluid block and forming a fluid seal between the inlet valve seat and the fluid block while another O-ring is being disposed between the identical outlet valve seat and the fluid block as well as forming a fluid seal between the identical outlet valve seat and the fluid block.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using an O-ring, as taught by Bayyouk, to the suction valve seat and/or discharge valve seat of Graham, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of O-rings in valve seats to achieve predictable results, in this case, to further provide an improved seal when the inlet valve and/or identical outlet valve being in respective closed position. See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
As such, one skilled in the art would surely recognize that that a first annular seal would be further disposed between the suction valve seat SS55 and the block B40 and/or a second annular seal would be further disposed between the discharge valve seat DS57 and the block B40, as instantly claimed.
However, although Graham, as evidenced by Bayyouk, discloses the majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, it is still silent as to the fact that the first coating band and/or second coating band and/or third coating band being separate sections or discontinuous from each other and/or including a metal alloy having at least one of cobalt or chromium and/or has a thickness in a range of 0.001 inches and 0.009 inches.
Nevertheless, Thompson successfully teaches that: the inner surface, or at least a portion thereof that is adjacent to the guide fingers, is preferably coated with a wear-resistant coating or layer. A variety of coatings that are suitable for reducing friction and wear of the inner surface can be used. Preferably, the surface is coated with a proprietary composite coating such as sold by Eagle Innovations Inc. under the trademark “E-CARBON”. Alternatively, the inner surface can be coated with a thin layer of tungsten carbide or other ultra-hard material (see Paragraph [0025]).
Clearly, by selectively applying the coating to one or more surfaces, the useful life of the union may be significantly increased. Moreover, by purposefully excluding the coating from other surfaces, deleterious effects can be avoided.
In fact, Thompson explicitly exhibits as how applying discrete wear resistant coatings to specific areas (those that come in contact with guiding fingers (124a, 124b, 124c of a valve body 120) of an internal wall of a valve assembly because all those areas that come into contact with the guiding fingers are being subject to more wear that areas that do not come in contact with the guiding fingers, or the coating could be applied to the whole internal surface.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that applying the wear resistant coatings to specific areas that come in contact with annular seals, as taught by Thompson, would meaningfully increase life expectancy of the block and/or the components thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using selected or discrete coating bands, as taught by Thompson, in the fluid end of Graham/ Bayyouk, in order to further extend a usable life of the seal for fluid end and/or reduce maintenance time and expense.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably apprised that the first discrete coating band, the second discrete coating band, and the third discrete coating band would be further being discontinuous with each other and/or a first discrete coating band would be further disposed directly on the inner surface of the block, within the suction bore, and between the first annular seal and the block in physical contact with the first annular seal and/or a second discrete coating band would be further disposed directly on the inner surface of the block, within the discharge bore, and between the second annular seal and the block in physical contact with the second annular seal and/or a third discrete coating band would be further disposed directly on the inner surface of the block, within the plunger bore, and between the seal pack and the block in physical contact with the seal pack, as instantly claimed.
However, although the combination of Graham/ Bayyouk/Thompson discloses the vast majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, it is still silent as to the fact that the first discrete coating band and/or the second discrete coating band and/or the third discrete coating band includes a metal alloy having at least one of cobalt or chromium and/or having a thickness in a range of 0.001 inches and 0.009 inches and/or having a first hardness greater than a second hardness of the block.
Nonetheless, Riedel in the same field of endeavor teaches an improved method, which includes a coating step, that can meaningfully increase life expectancy of the union and/or the components thereof.
Notably, in column 6 lines 33-45, Riedel successfully discloses that: the coating 146 includes a metallic alloy formed from a powdered metal alloy. The powdered metal alloy may include at least one of tungsten carbide, cobalt, or chromium and may include any combination (percentage) of such materials. In some examples, the coating 146 is a thermal spray coating that is applied using a high velocity air fuel (HVAF) thermal spray process. However, in some examples, the coating 146 may be applied as a thermal spray via other processes including a high velocity oxygen fuel (HVOF) thermal spray process. Furthermore, the coating 146 may instead be applied via a plating, diffusion, or physical vapor deposition (PVD) process, among other processes. Other techniques, including but not limited to plasma twin wire arc, may also be used to apply the coating 146 to the identified surfaces. The process may vary based on the type of material used as the first conduit section 102 and the second conduit section 104 and/or the type of material used for the coating 146. Any technique that allows for a robust mechanical bond of the coating 146 to the desired surfaces may be used.
Surely, Riedel exhibits that the coating or separate coating sections being formed from a powdered metal alloy comprising at least one of tungsten carbide, cobalt, or chromium.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a coating made of chromium, as taught by Riedel, in the fluid end of Graham/ Bayyouk/Thompson, since it has been held to be a matter of obvious design choice and within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the invention. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Riedel, in column 6 lines 59-67 and column 7 lines 1-12, then goes on to describe how: the coating 146 may include any suitable thickness. By way of example, and not limitation, the coating 146 may include a thickness between approximately 0.00001 inches and approximately 0.10 inches. In some examples, the coating 146 may have a thickness between approximately 0.0001 inches and approximately 0.01 inches. Additionally, and/or alternatively, the coating 146 may have a thickness between approximately 0.001 inches and approximately 0.009 inches. Furthermore, the coating 146 may be substantially uniform in thickness. Moreover, the coating 146 may have a suitable surface finish. For instance, the coating 146 on the interior beveled surfaces 128 and 144 may need a particularly smooth finish, e.g., to ensure that the coating 146 does not include cracks, rough patches, or other inconsistencies that may be particularly disposed to erosion. In examples, a thermal spray technique such as high velocity air fuel may result in a sufficient surface finish, e.g., without subsequent finishing, polishing, or the like. Furthermore, the coating 146 may be applied to additional or fewer surfaces of the union 100 than described herein.
As such, in view of prior art teachings, the variations of thickness of the coating, as taught by Riedel, is found to be a result-effective variables which effects the operating condition of the sleeve and/or reciprocating element. It has been held that a particular parameter must be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. In re Antoine, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.05 II(B). Furthermore, it has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the invention of Graham/ Bayyouk/Thompson and apply the teachings of Riedel to optimize the thickness of coating through routine experimentation in order to increase fatigue strength and overall reinforcement of the components.
Further, in column 6 lines 16-30, Riedel specifies that: the coating 146 may include a hardness that is greater than the hardness of the material used for the conduit sections 102, 104 and may, therefore, resist abrasive forces and/or resist corrosion which may result in a longer usable life, when compared to a non-coated conduit. In some examples, other surfaces of the conduit sections 102, 104, for example and without limitation, interior surface 122 and interior surface 136 may be substantially free of the coating. As used herein, a surface that is “substantially free” of coating may be a surface to which a coating is not directly or intentionally directly applied, but may still be subjected to some hardening. For example, in a spray-coating hardening process, some overspray may occur on surfaces adjacent to or otherwise proximate surfaces intended to be hardened.
Still further, in column 8 lines 9-20, Riedel notes: coating the first surface 126 with the coating 146 may serve to harden the first surface 126 thereby increasing the ability of the first surface 126 to resist abrasive forces to which the first surface 126 may be exposed via fluid flow. Furthermore, if the flow of fluid is directional, only portions of the downstream conduit section (i.e., either the first conduit section 102 or the second conduit section 104) may include the coating 146 thereon. However, the coating 146 may be applied to portions of both conduit sections 102, 104 in directional or bi-directional flow scenarios.
Hence, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that applying an idea of using the hardness difference, as taught by Riedel, to another surface hardening of the element would improve efficiency and/or would contribute to improving slidability and/or also would prevent warpage.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a difference in hardness, as taught by Riedel, in the fluid end of Graham/ Bayyouk/Thompson/ Riedel, in order to further increase the ability to resist abrasive forces, as motivated by Riedel in column 8 lines 10-15.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably apprised that the first discrete coating band and second discrete coating band and third discrete coating band, which are discontinuous with each other, would be would be further including a metal alloy having at least one of cobalt or chromium and/or the coating would be further having a thickness in a range of 0.001 inches and 0.009 inches and/or would be further having a first hardness greater than a second hardness of the block and/or the metal alloy would be further comprising a thermal spray coating and/or the metal alloy would be further comprising tungsten carbide and/or the metal alloy would be further comprising a high velocity air fuel coating or a high velocity oxygen fuel coating, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Graham / Bayyouk /Thompson/ Riedel substantially discloses the fluid end, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in Paragraph [0035], Graham specifically notes: the high-pressure outlet coupling 43 is mounted to the center pumping chamber assembly 30. The high-pressure outlet coupling 43 is configured to dispense pressurized working fluid (e.g., pressurized fracturing fluid) from the fluid end block 40 of the fluid end 25 for delivery to a working site. For example, in embodiment, a conduit (not shown) can be coupled to the high-pressure outlet coupling 43 such that the conduit is configured to deliver high-pressure fracturing fluid to a subterranean location via a well. In embodiments, the high-pressure outlet coupling 43 can have any suitable configuration.
As seen in annotated Figure 4, Graham evidently illustrates as how a discharge cover DC43 disposed at least partially within the discharge bore 77; and a third annular seal AS57 disposed between the discharge cover DC43 and the block B40, thereby providing a fluid seal between the discharge cover DC43 and the block B40.
Hence, according to the combination, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably apprised that a fourth discrete coating band would be further disposed directly on the inner surface of the block, within the discharge bore, and between the third annular seal and the block in physical contact with the third annular sea, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Graham / Bayyouk /Thompson/ Riedel substantially discloses the fluid end, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in Paragraph [0046], Graham explicitly teaches that: The plug 58 is threadedly engaged with the interior surface 70 of the fluid end block 40 at an end of the plunger passage 74 opposite the plunger 27. The plug 58 can be removed from the fluid end block 40 to provide selective access to the chamber 72. In embodiments, the plug 58 can have a different configuration and can be mounted to the fluid end block 40 using a different technique, as will be appreciated by one skilled in the art.
Further, in Paragraph [0047], Graham states: one or more seal members 88 can be provided to effect the sealing relationship. In embodiments, both the seal member 88 and the plug 58 can have a suitable O-ring interposed between an exterior surface thereof and the interior surface 70 to provide a sealed interface.
Clearly, as best seen in annotated Figure 4, Graham evidently illustrates as how suction cover bore SCB58 formed in the block B40; a suction cover SC58 disposed within the suction cover bore SCB58, wherein the suction cover SC58 can include a seal or suitable O-ring disposed between the suction cover SC58 and the block B40, wherein the coating 90 would be necessarily disposed on a second surface SS of the block B40 between the seal or suitable O-ring and the block B40; and a suction cover retainer, which is defined by the plug 58, configured to secure the suction cover SC58 within the suction cover bore SCB58, as instantly claimed.
As such, according to the combination, the Examiner must assert that a fifth discrete coating band would have been further disposed directly on the inner surface of the block, within the suction cover bore, and between the seal and the block in physical contact with the seal and/or a suction cover retainer or plug being configured to secure the suction cover within the suction cover bore, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
8. Claims 9-10, 13-16 and 19-22 are rejected 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham in view of view of Thompson, and further in view of Riedel.
Regarding claims 9 and 14-15, Graham discloses a fluid end (fluid end 25, as discussed in Paragraphs [0030] & [0032]) comprising:
a block (fluid end block B40, as depicted in annotated Figures 4&5) formed as a single unit (as shown immediately below, the fluid end block B40 is surely being formed as a single unit) and having an inner surface (as depicted in annotated Figures 4&5, the fluid end block B40 is inherently having an inner surface or internal surface or interior surface 70, as discussed in Paragraph [0040]);
a suction bore (fluid intake passage 75, see Paragraphs [0040] &[0042]-[0043]) formed in the block on a first axis (fluid intake passage 75 is undoubtedly being formed in the fluid end block B40 on the axis AA, as depicted in annotated Figure 4);
a discharge bore (discharge passage 77, as detailed in Paragraphs [0040] &[0042]-[0043]) formed in the block on the first axis (discharge passage 77 is surely being formed in the fluid end block B40 on the axis AA, as depicted in annotated Figure 4);
a plunger bore (defined by a plunger passage 74 for receiving a plunger 27, as presented in Paragraphs [0045]-[0047]) formed in the block (formed in the fluid end block B40) on a second axis (on the second axis XX) that is substantially perpendicular to the first axis (substantially perpendicular to the axis AA, as best seen immediately below);
a pump chamber (chamber 72, as discussed in Paragraphs [0040] &[0043]) formed at least partially between the suction bore (fluid intake passage 75), the discharge bore (discharge passage 77), and the plunger bore (the chamber 72 is clearly formed at least partially between the suction bore 75, the discharge bore 77, and the plunger bore 74, as best seen in annotated Figure 4);
multiple coating bands (defined by a combination of different coating portions of coating layer 90 that is applied to at least a portion of the interior surface 70 of the body 69 and/or the coating layer 90 that substantially covers the non-threaded portion of the interior surface 70 of the body 69 that defines the chamber 72, as discussed in Paragraph [0061]-[0063]) disposed directly (as shown in annotated Figure 6, the coating layer 90 is undoubtedly directly arranged on the internal surface or interior surface 70 of the body 69, as discussed in Paragraphs [0061]-[0063]) on the inner surface of the block within at least one of a portion of the suction bore, a portion of the discharge bore, or a portion of the plunger bore (on one or more portions of the inner surface of the block one, as best seen in annotated Figure 6).
Particularly, Graham demonstrates the fluid end block 40 defines one or more internal pumping cavities each configured to interact with a respective plunger 27 to draw a working fluid (see Paragraph [0033].
Notably, Graham performs as how the plunger is disposed within the plunger passage such that the plunger is reciprocally movable over a range of travel including a suction stroke and a discharge stroke. The plunger draws the intake valve to the intake open position to open the intake passage during the suction stroke. The plunger moves the intake valve to the intake closed position to occlude the intake passage and moves the discharge valve to the discharge open position during the discharge stroke (Paragraph [0014]).
Specifically, as discussed in Paragraph [0061]-[0063], Graham explicitly teaches a coating layer 90 that is applied to at least a portion of the interior surface 70 of the body 69 and/or the coating layer 90 that substantially covers the non-threaded portion of the interior surface 70 of the body 69 that defines the chamber 72.
As discussed in Paragraphs [0061]-[0063], the coating layer 90 is undoubtedly directly arranged on the internal surface/ interior surface 70 of the body 69, of the block within at least one of a portion of the suction bore, a portion of the discharge bore, or a portion of the plunger bore (on one or more portions of the inner surface of the block one.
Essentially, Graham’s fluid end is designed such that the pump plunger 27 is being moveable within the plunger bore 74 in a first direction and a second direction opposite the first direction such that the plunger 27 directs fluid through the suction or intake valve 55 when the plunger 27 moves in the first direction and directs fluid through the discharge valve 57 when the plunger 27 moves in the second direction.
Most importantly, however, is the specific arrangement of the coating layer 90 which, as stated in Paragraph [0069], is being applied to at least a portion of the interior surface of the body (step 730). With reference to annotated Figure 6, Graham explicitly exhibits as how the coating is disposed directly on the inner surface of the block while located within the plunger bore, as instantly claimed.
Although Graham discloses the majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, he is still silent as to the fact that the multiple coating bands being discrete coating bands that are discontinues with each other and/or including a metal alloy having at least one of cobalt or chromium and/or having a thickness in a range of 0.001 inches and 0.009 inches and/or having a first hardness greater than a second hardness of the block.
Nevertheless, Thompson successfully teaches that: the inner surface, or at least a portion thereof that is adjacent to the guide fingers, is preferably coated with a wear-resistant coating or layer. A variety of coatings that are suitable for reducing friction and wear of the inner surface can be used. Preferably, the surface is coated with a proprietary composite coating such as sold by Eagle Innovations Inc. under the trademark “E-CARBON”. Alternatively, the inner surface can be coated with a thin layer of tungsten carbide or other ultra-hard material (see Paragraph [0025]).
Clearly, by selectively applying the coating to one or more surfaces, the useful life of the union may be significantly increased. Moreover, by purposefully excluding the coating from other surfaces, deleterious effects can be avoided.
In fact, Thompson explicitly exhibits as how applying discrete wear resistant coatings to specific areas (those that come in contact with guiding fingers (124a, 124b, 124c of a valve body 120) of an internal wall of a valve assembly because those areas that come into contact with the guiding fingers are being subject to more wear that areas that do not come in contact with the guiding fingers, or the coating could be applied to the whole internal surface.
Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that applying the wear resistant coatings to specific areas that come in contact with annular seals, as taught by Thompson, would meaningfully increase life expectancy of the block and/or the components thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using selected or discrete coating bands, as taught by Thompson, in the fluid end of Graham, in order to further extend a usable life of the seal for fluid end and/or reduce maintenance time and expense.
Thus modified, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would recognize that the multiple discrete coating bands that are discontinuous with each other would be further disposed directly on the inner surface of the block within at least one of a portion of the suction bore, a portion of the discharge bore, or a portion of the plunger bore, as instantly claimed.
Although the combination of Graham and Thompson discloses the majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, it is still silent as to the fact that the coating bands include a metal alloy having at least one of cobalt or chromium and/or having a thickness in a range of 0.001 inches and 0.009 inches and/or having a first hardness greater than a second hardness of the block.
Nonetheless, Riedel in the same field of endeavor teaches an improved method, which includes a coating step, that can meaningfully increase life expectancy of the union and/or the components thereof.
Riedel, in column 6 lines 33-45, successfully discloses that: the coating 146 includes a metallic alloy formed from a powdered metal alloy. The powdered metal alloy may include at least one of tungsten carbide, cobalt, or chromium and may include any combination (percentage) of such materials. In some examples, the coating 146 is a thermal spray coating that is applied using a high velocity air fuel (HVAF) thermal spray process. However, in some examples, the coating 146 may be applied as a thermal spray via other processes including a high velocity oxygen fuel (HVOF) thermal spray process. Furthermore, the coating 146 may instead be applied via a plating, diffusion, or physical vapor deposition (PVD) process, among other processes. Other techniques, including but not limited to plasma twin wire arc, may also be used to apply the coating 146 to the identified surfaces. The process may vary based on the type of material used as the first conduit section 102 and the second conduit section 104 and/or the type of material used for the coating 146. Any technique that allows for a robust mechanical bond of the coating 146 to the desired surfaces may be used.
Surely, Riedel exhibits that the coating being formed from a powdered metal alloy comprising at least one of tungsten carbide, cobalt, or chromium.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a coating made of chromium, as taught by Riedel, in the fluid end of Graham/ Thompson, since it has been held to be a matter of obvious design choice and within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the invention. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Riedel, in column 6 lines 59-67 and column 7 lines 1-12, then goes on to describe how: the coating 146 may include any suitable thickness. By way of example, and not limitation, the coating 146 may include a thickness between approximately 0.00001 inches and approximately 0.10 inches. In some examples, the coating 146 may have a thickness between approximately 0.0001 inches and approximately 0.01 inches. Additionally, and/or alternatively, the coating 146 may have a thickness between approximately 0.001 inches and approximately 0.009 inches. Furthermore, the coating 146 may be substantially uniform in thickness. Moreover, the coating 146 may have a suitable surface finish. For instance, the coating 146 on the interior beveled surfaces 128 and 144 may need a particularly smooth finish, e.g., to ensure that the coating 146 does not include cracks, rough patches, or other inconsistencies that may be particularly disposed to erosion. In examples, a thermal spray technique such as high velocity air fuel may result in a sufficient surface finish, e.g., without subsequent finishing, polishing, or the like. Furthermore, the coating 146 may be applied to additional or fewer surfaces of the union 100 than described herein.
As such, in view of prior art teachings, the variations of thickness of the coating, as taught by Riedel, is found to be a result-effective variables which effects the operating condition of the sleeve and/or reciprocating element. It has been held that a particular parameter must be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. In re Antoine, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.05 II(B). Furthermore, it has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the invention of Graham/Jones and apply the teachings of Riedel to optimize the thickness of coating through routine experimentation in order to increase fatigue strength and overall reinforcement of the components.
Further, in column 6 lines 16-30, Riedel specifies that: the coating 146 may include a hardness that is greater than the hardness of the material used for the conduit sections 102, 104 and may, therefore, resist abrasive forces and/or resist corrosion which may result in a longer usable life, when compared to a non-coated conduit. In some examples, other surfaces of the conduit sections 102, 104, for example and without limitation, interior surface 122 and interior surface 136 may be substantially free of the coating. As used herein, a surface that is “substantially free” of coating may be a surface to which a coating is not directly or intentionally directly applied, but may still be subjected to some hardening. For example, in a spray-coating hardening process, some overspray may occur on surfaces adjacent to or otherwise proximate surfaces intended to be hardened.
Still further, in column 8 lines 9-20, Riedel notes: coating the first surface 126 with the coating 146 may serve to harden the first surface 126 thereby increasing the ability of the first surface 126 to resist abrasive forces to which the first surface 126 may be exposed via fluid flow. Furthermore, if the flow of fluid is directional, only portions of the downstream conduit section (i.e., either the first conduit section 102 or the second conduit section 104) may include the coating 146 thereon. However, the coating 146 may be applied to portions of both conduit sections 102, 104 in directional or bi-directional flow scenarios.
Hence, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that applying an idea of using the hardness difference, as taught by Riedel, to another surface hardening of the element would improve efficiency and/or would contribute to improving slidability and/or also would prevent warpage.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a difference in hardness, as taught by Riedel, in the fluid end of Graham/ Thompson/ Riedel, in order to further increase the ability to resist abrasive forces, as motivated by Riedel in column 8 lines 10-15.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably apprised that multiple discrete coating bands, that are discontinuous with each other, would be disposed directly on a surface or inner surface of the block within the plunger bore between the seal pack and the block and/or the coating would be further including a metal alloy having at least one of cobalt or chromium and/or the coating would be further having a thickness in a range of 0.001 inches and 0.009 inches and/or would be further having a first hardness greater than a second hardness of the block and/or the multiple discrete coating bands would be further comprising tungsten carbide and/or the multiple discrete coating bands would be further comprising a high velocity air fuel coating or a high velocity oxygen fuel coating, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Graham / Thompson/ Riedel substantially discloses the fluid end, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in Paragraph [0062], Graham more clearly describes how: The coating layer 90 also covers the inner portions of the plunger passage 74, the intake passage 75, and the discharge passage 77. In the illustrated embodiment, the coating layer 90 is offset from each of the first and second plunger end threaded portions 93, 94 and the discharge coupling threaded portion 98. In embodiments, the coating layer 90 does not cover any of the threaded portions of the interior surface of the body of the fluid end block.
As such, according to the combination, the Examiner must assert that the pump chamber is surely capable of being free of the coating, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Graham / Thompson/ Riedel substantially discloses the fluid end, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in Paragraph [0046], Graham teaches that: The plunger 27 is disposed within the plunger passage 74 such that the plunger 27 is reciprocally movable over a range of travel including a suction stroke and a discharge stroke. The plug 58 is threadedly engaged with the interior surface 70 of the fluid end block 40 at an end of the plunger passage 74 opposite the plunger 27.
Further, in Paragraph [0047], Graham teaches: The plunger 27 can be sealingly engaged with the fluid end block 40 of the fluid end 25 to substantially prevent working fluid from flowing out of the chamber 72 past the plunger 27 through the plunger passage 74. In embodiments, one or more seal members 88 can be provided to effect the sealing relationship. In embodiments, both the seal member 88 and the plug 58 can have a suitable O-ring interposed between an exterior surface thereof and the interior surface 70 to provide a sealed interface.
Clearly, disclosing the one or more seal members 88, Graham specifically teaches a seal pack that is configured to maintain a sealing contact with the plunger 114.
Still further, in Paragraphs {0048]-[0049], Graham especially discloses that: In use, the plunger 27 can move outwardly relative to the chamber 72 in the suction direction 84 to effect negative pressurization in the chamber to draw the intake valve 55 to the intake open position to open the intake passage 75 during the suction stroke. A source of fracturing fluid can be in fluid communication with the intake passage 75 via the inlet conduit 41. The source of fracturing fluid can be at a relatively low pressure that is not sufficient to overcome the biasing force of the intake biasing mechanism 82, but is operable to propel the source of fracturing fluid into the chamber 72 once the plunger 27 draws the intake valve 55 to the intake open position. The discharge valve 57 remains in the discharge closed position during the suction stroke. After the suction stroke is completed, the plunger 27 can move inwardly relative to the chamber in the power direction 87 during the power stroke to effect positive pressurization in the chamber to pressurize the fracturing fluid in the chamber. In response to the positive pressure generated within the chamber, the intake biasing mechanism 82 is allowed to urge the intake valve 55 back to the intake closed position to occlude the intake passage 75, and the discharge valve 57 moves outwardly to the discharge open position such that the pressurized fracturing fluid in the chamber 72 flows through the discharge valve 57 through the discharge passage 77 to the well bore site. During the power stroke, the intake valve 55 remains in the intake closed position.
In fact, Graham’s fluid end is obviously designed such that the pump plunger 27 is disposed within the plunger bore or plunger passage 74 while being moveable in a first direction and a second direction opposite the first direction, as instantly claimed.
In other words, according to the combination, Graham evidently demonstrates as how the one or more seal members, which are designated as the seal pack, being configured to maintain a sealing contact with the plunger 27 as the plunger 27 moves in the first direction and the second direction and/or the multiple discrete coating bands would be further including a discrete coating band within the plunger bore or plunger passage 74 between the seal pack and the block B40, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 16, Graham discloses a fluid system (fluid end 25, as discussed in Paragraphs [0030] & [0032]) comprising:
a fluid block (fluid end block B40, as depicted in annotated Figures 4&5) formed as a single unit (as shown immediately below, the fluid end block B40 is surely being formed as a single unit) and having an inner surface (as depicted in annotated Figures 4&5, the fluid end block B40 is inherently having an inner surface or internal surface or interior surface 70, as discussed in Paragraph [0040]);
a plunger bore (defined by a plunger passage 74 for receiving a plunger 27, as presented in Paragraphs [0045]-[0047]) formed in the fluid block the plunger passage 74 is being in the form of a through-bore, see Paragraphs [0056]-[0057]) and having a plunger (plunger 27) disposed at least partially within the plunger bore (as stated in Paragraphs [0047]&[0049]-[0051]), the plunger passage 74 having the piston 27 disposed therein) the plunger (plunger 27) being moveable in a first direction and a second direction opposite the first direction (a reciprocating or cycling motion of the plunger 27 toward and away from the chamber 72; the plungers 27 move away from the fluid end 25 during a suction stroke into the pumping cavities 47, 48, 49 of the fluid end 25 from the supply of fracturing fluid, and the plungers 27 move toward the fluid end 25, as detailed in Paragraph [0036]);
one or more seals (one or more seal members 88 can be provided to effect the sealing relationship, as presented in Paragraph [0047] and annotated Figure 4) disposed within the plunger bore (within plunger passage 74, as depicted in annotated Figure 4) between the plunger (plunger 27) and the fluid block (fluid block B40); and
multiple coating bands (defined by a combination of different portions of coating layer 90 being applied to at least a portion of the interior surface 70 of the body 69 and/or substantially covers the non-threaded portion of the interior surface 70 of the body 69 that defines the chamber 72, the plunger passage 74, the intake passage 75, and the discharge passage 77, as noted in Paragraph [0061]) disposed directly (as shown in annotated Figure 6, the coating layer 90 is undoubtedly being directly arranged on the internal surface or interior surface 70) on the inner surface (internal surface or interior surface 70) of the fluid block (B40).
Particularly, Graham demonstrate the fluid end block 40 that defines one or more internal pumping cavities each configured to interact with a respective plunger 27 to draw a working fluid (see Paragraph [0033].
Notably, Graham performs as how the plunger is disposed within the plunger passage such that the plunger is reciprocally movable over a range of travel including a suction stroke and a discharge stroke. The plunger draws the intake valve to the intake open position to open the intake passage during the suction stroke. The plunger moves the intake valve to the intake closed position to occlude the intake passage and moves the discharge valve to the discharge open position during the discharge stroke (Paragraph [0014]).
Further, in Paragraph [0046], Graham specifies: The plunger 27 is disposed within the plunger passage 74 such that the plunger 27 is reciprocally movable over a range of travel including a suction stroke and a discharge stroke. The plug 58 is threadedly engaged with the interior surface 70 of the fluid end block 40 at an end of the plunger passage 74 opposite the plunger 27. The plug 58 can be removed from the fluid end block 40 to provide selective access to the chamber 72. In embodiments, the plug 58 can have a different configuration and can be mounted to the fluid end block 40 using a different technique, as will be appreciated by one skilled in the art.
As discussed in Paragraphs [0061]-[0063], the coating layer 90 is undoubtedly directly arranged on the internal surface/ interior surface 70 of the body 69, of the block within at least one of a portion of the suction bore, a portion of the discharge bore, or a portion of the plunger bore (on one or more portions of the inner surface of the block one.
Essentially, Graham’s fluid end is designed such that the pump plunger 27 is being moveable within the plunger bore 74 in a first direction and a second direction opposite the first direction, as instantly claimed.
Graham, in Paragraph [0062], then goes on to describe how: the coating layer 90 completely covers the chamber 72. The coating layer 90 also covers the inner portions of the plunger passage 74, the intake passage 75, and the discharge passage 77. In the illustrated embodiment, the coating layer 90 is offset from each of the first and second plunger end threaded portions 93, 94 and the discharge coupling threaded portion 98.
Most importantly, however, is the specific arrangement of the coating layer 90 which, as stated in Paragraph [0069], is being applied to at least a portion of the interior surface of the body (step 730) and the seal member 88, which can have a suitable O-ring interposed between an exterior surface thereof and the interior surface 70 to provide a sealed interface (see Paragraph [0047]).
Surely, with reference to annotated Figures 5& 6, Graham evidently illustrates as how the seal member 88 is disposed within the plunger bore and between the plunger 27 and the block B40, thereby forming a fluid seal between the plunger 27 and the fluid block B40. In fact, the one or more seals surely configured to maintain a sealing contact with the plunger 27 as the plunger 27 moves in the first direction and the second direction, as instantly claimed.
Although Graham discloses the majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, he is still silent as to the fact that the multiple coating bands being multiple discrete coating bands that are discontinuous with each other and/or including a discrete coating band within the plunger bore, between the one or more seals and the fluid block in physical contact with the one or more seals and/or the multiple discrete coating bands have a first hardness greater than a second hardness of the fluid block.
Nevertheless, Thompson successfully teaches that: the inner surface, or at least a portion thereof that is adjacent to the guide fingers, is preferably coated with a wear-resistant coating or layer. A variety of coatings that are suitable for reducing friction and wear of the inner surface can be used. Preferably, the surface is coated with a proprietary composite coating such as sold by Eagle Innovations Inc. under the trademark “E-CARBON”. Alternatively, the inner surface can be coated with a thin layer of tungsten carbide or other ultra-hard material (see Paragraph [0025]).
Clearly, by selectively applying the coating to one or more surfaces, the useful life of the union may be significantly increased. Moreover, by purposefully excluding the coating from other surfaces, deleterious effects can be avoided.
In fact, Thompson explicitly exhibits as how applying discrete wear resistant coatings to specific areas (those that come in contact with guiding fingers (124a, 124b, 124c of a valve body 120) of an internal wall of a valve assembly because those areas that come into contact with the guiding fingers are being subject to more wear that areas that do not come in contact with the guiding fingers, or the coating could be applied to the whole internal surface.
Consequently, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that applying the wear resistant coatings to specific areas that come in contact with annular seals, as taught by Thompson, would meaningfully increase life expectancy of the block and/or the components thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using selected or discrete coating bands, as taught by Thompson, in the fluid end of Graham, in order to further extend a usable life of the seal for fluid end and/or reduce maintenance time and expense.
As such, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would recognize that the multiple discrete coating bands would be further discontinuous with each other and/or would be further disposed directly on the inner surface of the fluid block and/or would be further including a discrete coating band, within the plunger bore, between the one or more seals and the fluid block in physical contact with the one or more seals, as instantly claimed.
Although the combination of Graham and Thompson discloses the vast majority of Applicant’s claimed elements, it is still silent as to the fact that the multiple discrete coating bands have a first hardness greater than a second hardness of the fluid block.
Nonetheless, Riedel in the same field of endeavor teaches an improved method, which includes a coating step, that can meaningfully increase life expectancy of the union and/or the components thereof.
However, most important aspect in Riedel is that “The method 1000 allows for cost-effective and efficient manufacture of a fluid conduit union, as detailed herein. For instance, because selected surfaces are coated, the union 100 may be more resistant to corrosion, erosion, and/or abrasion. While the method may include an additional step, e.g., the coating step, compared to conventional fabrication, the coating can meaningfully increase life expectancy of the union 100 and/or the components thereof” (see column 11 lines 30-38).
Likewise, in column 11 lines 52-58, Riedel then states: “a union 100 may include a coating 146 on one or more surfaces that are at least partially exposed to fluid flow. By selectively applying the coating to one or more of these surfaces, the useful life of the union may be significantly increased”.
Further, in column 6 lines 16-30, successfully notes that: the coating 146 may include a hardness that is greater than the hardness of the material used for the conduit sections 102, 104 and may, therefore, resist abrasive forces and/or resist corrosion which may result in a longer usable life, when compared to a non-coated conduit. In some examples, other surfaces of the conduit sections 102, 104, for example and without limitation, interior surface 122 and interior surface 136 may be substantially free of the coating. As used herein, a surface that is “substantially free” of coating may be a surface to which a coating is not directly or intentionally directly applied, but may still be subjected to some hardening. For example, in a spray-coating hardening process, some overspray may occur on surfaces adjacent to or otherwise proximate surfaces intended to be hardened.
Still further, in column 8 lines 9-20, Riedel notes: coating the first surface 126 with the coating 146 may serve to harden the first surface 126 thereby increasing the ability of the first surface 126 to resist abrasive forces to which the first surface 126 may be exposed via fluid flow. Furthermore, if the flow of fluid is directional, only portions of the downstream conduit section (i.e., either the first conduit section 102 or the second conduit section 104) may include the coating 146 thereon. However, the coating 146 may be applied to portions of both conduit sections 102, 104 in directional or bi-directional flow scenarios.
Hence, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that applying an idea of using the hardness difference, as taught by Riedel, to another surface hardening of the element would improve efficiency and/or would contribute to improving slidability and/or also would prevent warpage.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably apprised that
the multiple discrete coating bands would be further including a discrete coating band, within the plunger bore, between the one or more seals and the fluid block in physical contact with the one or more seals and/or the multiple discrete coating bands have a first hardness greater than a second hardness of the fluid block, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Graham / Thompson/ Riedel substantially discloses the fluid system, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in Paragraph [0031], Graham teaches that: The power end 23 includes a motor assembly 35 disposed within a housing 37. The motor assembly 35 is configured to selectively drive the plungers 27. The motor assembly 35 can be configured to reciprocally move the plungers 27 to pressurize a working fluid (e.g., a fracking fluid) in the fluid end 25. In embodiments, the motor assembly 35 can have any suitable arrangement. In embodiments, the motor assembly 35 includes a suitable engine, such as, a diesel engine, for example, and a transmission configured to convert the rotational movement of the engine to reciprocal axial movement of the plungers 27. In embodiments, a well stimulation pump system constructed according to principles of the present disclosure can include any suitable power end, as will be understood by one skilled in the art.
Furthermore, In Paragraph [0036], Graham notes as how: During use, the fluid end 25 receives a working fluid (e.g., a fracturing fluid) at a low pressure and discharges it at a high pressure. The pressurization of the fracturing fluid within the fluid end 25 is caused by the plungers 27 as directed by the motor assembly 35 of the power end 23. The plungers 27 move away from the fluid end 25 during a suction stroke to draw low-pressure fluid through the inlet conduit 41 into the pumping cavities 47, 48, 49 of the fluid end 25 from the supply of fracturing fluid, and the plungers 27 move toward the fluid end 25 during a power stroke to pressurize the fluid within the fluid end 25 and to discharge the pressurized fracturing fluid from the fluid end 25 out through the high-pressure outlet coupling 43.
As such, according to the combination, one skilled in the art would surely recognize that the plunger 27 being coupled to a pump motor 35 that drives the plunger in the first direction and the second direction, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Graham / Thompson/ Riedel substantially discloses the fluid system, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in column 6 lines 33-45, Riedel especially teaches that: the coating 146 includes a metallic alloy formed from a powdered metal alloy. The powdered metal alloy may include at least one of tungsten carbide, cobalt, or chromium and may include any combination (percentage) of such materials. In some examples, the coating 146 is a thermal spray coating that is applied using a high velocity air fuel (HVAF) thermal spray process. However, in some examples, the coating 146 may be applied as a thermal spray via other processes including a high velocity oxygen fuel (HVOF) thermal spray process. Furthermore, the coating 146 may instead be applied via a plating, diffusion, or physical vapor deposition (PVD) process, among other processes. Other techniques, including but not limited to plasma twin wire arc, may also be used to apply the coating 146 to the identified surfaces. The process may vary based on the type of material used as the first conduit section 102 and the second conduit section 104 and/or the type of material used for the coating 146. Any technique that allows for a robust mechanical bond of the coating 146 to the desired surfaces may be used.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using a high velocity air fuel coating or a high velocity oxygen fuel coating, as taught by Riedel, in the fluid system of Graham/ Thompson/ Riedel, since it has been held to be a matter of obvious design choice and within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the invention. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Thus modified, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably apprised that the multiple discrete coating bands would be further comprising a high velocity air fuel coating or a high velocity oxygen fuel coating, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Graham / Thompson/ Riedel substantially discloses the fluid end, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in Paragraph [0035], Graham specifically teaches: the high-pressure outlet coupling 43 is mounted to the center pumping chamber assembly 30. The high-pressure outlet coupling 43 is configured to dispense pressurized working fluid (e.g., pressurized fracturing fluid) from the fluid end block 40 of the fluid end 25 for delivery to a working site. For example, in embodiment, a conduit (not shown) can be coupled to the high-pressure outlet coupling 43 such that the conduit is configured to deliver high-pressure fracturing fluid to a subterranean location via a well. In embodiments, the high-pressure outlet coupling 43 can have any suitable configuration.
As seen in annotated Figure 4, Graham evidently illustrates as how a discharge cover DC43 disposed at least partially within the discharge bore 77 and/or an annular seal AS57 disposed between the discharge cover DC43 and the block B40, thereby providing a fluid seal between the discharge cover DC43 and the block B40.
Hence, according to the combination, the multiple discrete coating bands would be necessarily including a discrete coating band within the discharge bore 77, and between the annular seal AS57 and the block B40 in physical contact with the annular seal AS57, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Graham / Thompson/ Riedel substantially discloses the fluid end, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in Paragraph [0046], Graham explicitly teaches that: The plug 58 is threadedly engaged with the interior surface 70 of the fluid end block 40 at an end of the plunger passage 74 opposite the plunger 27. The plug 58 can be removed from the fluid end block 40 to provide selective access to the chamber 72. In embodiments, the plug 58 can have a different configuration and can be mounted to the fluid end block 40 using a different technique, as will be appreciated by one skilled in the art.
Further, in Paragraph [0047], Graham states: one or more seal members 88 can be provided to effect the sealing relationship. In embodiments, both the seal member 88 and the plug 58 can have a suitable O-ring interposed between an exterior surface thereof and the interior surface 70 to provide a sealed interface.
Clearly, as best seen in annotated Figure 4, Graham evidently illustrates as how suction cover bore SCB58 formed in the block B40 and/or a suction cover SC58 disposed within the suction cover bore SCB58, wherein the suction cover SC58 capable of including a seal or suitable O-ring disposed between the suction cover SC58 and the block B40, wherein the multiple discrete coating bands would be necessarily including a discrete coating band within the suction cover bore SCB58, and between the seal or suitable O-ring and the block B40 in physical contact with the seal or suitable O-ring and/or a suction cover retainer, which is defined by the plug 58, would be further configured to secure the suction cover SC58 within the suction cover bore SCB58, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
9. Claim(s) 11-12 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham in view of view of Thompson, and further in view of Riedel, as evidenced by Bayyouk.
Regarding claims 11 and 18, the combination of Graham / Thompson/ Riedel substantially discloses the fluid end and/or fluid system, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in Paragraph [0046], Graham teaches that: The plunger 27 is disposed within the plunger passage 74 such that the plunger 27 is reciprocally movable over a range of travel including a suction stroke and a discharge stroke. The plug 58 is threadedly engaged with the interior surface 70 of the fluid end block 40 at an end of the plunger passage 74 opposite the plunger 27.
Further, in Paragraph [0047], Graham notes that: The plunger 27 can be sealingly engaged with the fluid end block 40 of the fluid end 25 to substantially prevent working fluid from flowing out of the chamber 72 past the plunger 27 through the plunger passage 74. In embodiments, one or more seal members 88 can be provided to effect the sealing relationship. In embodiments, both the seal member 88 and the plug 58 can have a suitable O-ring interposed between an exterior surface thereof and the interior surface 70 to provide a sealed interface.
Obviously, disclosing the one or more seal members 88, Graham specifically teaches a seal pack that is configured to maintain a sealing contact with the plunger 114.
Clearly, with reference to annotated Figure 4, Graham’s fluid end is designed such that a discharge valve 57 disposed within the discharge bore 77 and a discharge valve seat DS57 being disposed within the discharge bore or discharge passage 77, wherein the discharge valve 57 is configured to rest against the discharge valve seat when the discharge valve 57 is closed while an annular seal AS57 disposed between the discharge valve seat DS57 and the block B40, thereby forming a fluid seal between the discharge valve seat DS57 and the block B40, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
This is evidenced by Bayyouk (US 2020/0400140 A1) which discloses another
fluid end, very similar to that seen in annotated Figure 4 of Graham, and performs as how a valve member for an inlet or outlet valve assembly of a reciprocating pump assembly includes a valve body and a seal member.
Notably, Bayyouk illustrates the fluid end block 18 that “includes inlet and outlet fluid passages 38 and 40 formed therein, which are generally coaxial along a fluid passage axis 42” (see Paragraph [0126]).
Further, in Paragraph [0127], Bayyouk successfully discloses as how: An inlet valve 54 is disposed in the fluid passage 38, and engages at least the frusto-conical surface 44 and the inside surface 46. Similarly, an outlet valve 56 is disposed in the fluid passage 40, and engages at least the frusto-conical surface 50 and the inside surface 52. In an exemplary embodiment, each of valves 54 and 56 is a spring-loaded valve that is actuated by a predetermined differential pressure thereacross.
Still further, in Paragraph [0132], Bayyouk explicitly teaches: the inlet valve 54 includes a valve seat 76 and a valve member 78 engaged therewith. The valve seat 76 includes a seat body 80 having an enlarged-diameter portion 82 at one end thereof. The enlarged-diameter portion 82 of the seat body 80 is disposed in the enlarged-diameter portion 38a of the fluid passage 38. A bore 83 is formed through the seat body 80. The valve seat 76 has a valve seat axis 84, which is aligned with the fluid passage axis 42 when the inlet valve 54 is disposed in the fluid passage 38, as shown in FIG. 3. Under conditions to be described below, fluid flows through the bore 83 and along the valve seat axis 84. The bore 83 defines an inside surface 85 of the seat body 80. An outside surface 86 of the seat body 80 contacts the inside surface 46 defined by the fluid passage 38. A sealing element, such as an O-ring 88, is disposed in an annular groove 90 formed in the outside surface 86. The O-ring 88 sealingly engages the inside surface 46.
Certainly, with reference to annotated Figure 9, the O-ring is being disposed between the suction valve seat and the fluid block and forming a fluid seal between the inlet valve seat and the fluid block while another O-ring is being disposed between the identical outlet valve seat and the fluid block as well as forming a fluid seal between the identical outlet valve seat and the fluid block.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of using an O-ring, as taught by Bayyouk, to the discharge valve seat of Graham, as part of an obvious combination of known prior art structures, in this case the use of O-rings in valve seats to achieve predictable results, in this case, to further provide an improved seal when the inlet valve and/or identical outlet valve being in respective closed position. See KSR; MPEP 2141 III A.
As such, one skilled in the art would surely recognize that the multiple discrete coating band would be further including a second discrete coating band and/or discrete coating band, within the discharge bore 77, between the O-ring or annular seal AS57 and the fluid block in physical contact with the O-ring AS57, as instantly claimed.
Regarding claims 12 and 17, the combination of Graham / Thompson/ Riedel substantially discloses the fluid end and/or fluid system, as claimed and detailed above.
Additionally, in Paragraph [0013], Graham especially notes that: The discharge valve is disposed within the discharge passage of the body. The discharge valve is configured to selectively move between a discharge closed position, in which the discharge valve occludes the discharge passage, and a discharge open position, in which the discharge valve permits fluid flow therethrough.
Clearly, as depicted in annotated Figure 4, Graham’s fluid system is designed such that: a suction bore 75 and/or discharge bore 77 being formed in the fluid block B40;
a suction valve 55 seated within the suction bore 75 while discharge valve 118 seated within the discharge bore/discharge channel 128;
a suction valve seat SS122 disposed within the suction bore 124, wherein the suction valve 122 is configured to rest against the suction valve seat SS122 when the suction valve is closed, and the suction valve 57 is configured to open when the plunger 27 moves in the first direction and/or a discharge valve seat DS57 disposed within the discharge bore 77, wherein the discharge valve 57 is configured to rest against the discharge valve seat DS57 when the discharge valve 57 is closed;
and an O-ring or annular seal AS55 disposed between the suction valve seat SS55 and the fluid block B40 forming a fluid seal between the suction valve seat SS55 and the block B40 and/or an O-ring or annular seal AS57 disposed between the discharge valve seat DS57 and the fluid block B40 forming a fluid seal between the discharge valve seat DS57 and the block B40, and the surface 70 is being a first surface, as otherwise, the system cannot normally operate.
This is evidenced by Bayyouk (US 2020/0400140 A1) which discloses another
fluid end, very similar to that seen in annotated Figure 4 of Graham, and performs as how a valve member for an inlet or outlet valve assembly of a reciprocating pump assembly includes a valve body and a seal member.
Notably, Bayyouk illustrates the fluid end block 18 that “includes inlet and outlet fluid passages 38 and 40 formed therein, which are generally coaxial along a fluid passage axis 42” (see Paragraph [0126]). Further, in Paragraph [0127], Bayyouk successfully discloses as how: An inlet valve 54 is disposed in the fluid passage 38, and engages at least the frusto-conical surface 44 and the inside surface 46. Similarly, an outlet valve 56 is disposed in the fluid passage 40, and engages at least the frusto-conical surface 50 and the inside surface 52. In an exemplary embodiment, each of valves 54 and 56 is a spring-loaded valve that is actuated by a predetermined differential pressure thereacross.
Still further, in Paragraph [0132], Bayyouk explicitly teaches: the inlet valve 54 includes a valve seat 76 and a valve member 78 engaged therewith. The valve seat 76 includes a seat body 80 having an enlarged-diameter portion 82 at one end thereof. The enlarged-diameter portion 82 of the seat body 80 is disposed in the enlarged-diameter portion 38a of the fluid passage 38. A bore 83 is formed through the seat body 80. The valve seat 76 has a valve seat axis 84, which is aligned with the fluid passage axis 42 when the inlet valve 54 is disposed in the fluid passage 38, as shown in FIG. 3. Under conditions to be described below, fluid flows through the bore 83 and along the valve seat axis 84. The bore 83 defines an inside surface 85 of the seat body 80. An outside surface 86 of the seat body 80 contacts the inside surface 46 defined by the fluid passage 38. A sealing element, such as an O-ring 88, is disposed in an annular groove 90 formed in the outside surface 86. The O-ring 88 sealingly engages the inside surface 46.
Certainly, the O-ring or annular seal is being disposed between the suction valve seat and the fluid block while forming a fluid seal between the suction valve seat and the fluid block.
Consequently, according to the combination, one skilled in the art would have been reasonably apprised that the multiple discrete coating band would be further being a first discrete coating band and/or would be further including a second discrete coating band, within the suction bore, between the O-ring or annular seal AS57 and the fluid block in physical contact with the O-ring AS57 and/or further including a second discrete coating band, within the discharge bore, between the O-ring or annular seal AS55 and the fluid block B40 in physical contact with the O-ring AS55, as instantly claimed.
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant's arguments filed 10/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection. Further, the Examiner notes that the newly applied references address the applicant's arguments as set forth in the above rejections.
Conclusion
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppair-my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/L.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746