DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 05/11/2026 has been acknowledged.
Amendment Summary
Claims 1, 9, 13 are amended.
Response to Arguments/Amendment
The amendment to Claims 1, 9, 13 has overcome the 112th(b) rejection, as applied to claim # 1-20. Thus the 112th(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments/Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims # 1-20 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
1)
Applicant current amendment has not changed the scope of the claims that were rejected by the board.
Examiner maintained rejection and board decision since the scope of the claim is not changed, the board decision and arguments still applied to the amended claims. The arguments about device generated authentication are different than its interpretation in the claim. The lack of antecedent renders the argument moot.
Conclusion
Therefore for each of these about reasons, Lu in view of Schwagmann does teach all of the limitations of claim 1. Claim 9, 13 contain similar features as claim 1, therefore it is subject to all explanations above. The rejections on the dependent claims with respective to claim 1 and claim 9 and Claim 13 remain.
Therefore, Applicant requests that this art ground of rejection of these claims under 35 U.S.C. §103 to be withdrawn has been denied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (US 2013/0125227 A1) in view of Schawagmann (US 2008/0003957 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, 9, 13
Lu discloses a method (See [Abstract]; a method for accessing a storage server of an IM service system and an IM service system) comprising:
receiving, at a server (Fig.1(IM Server)) and from a particular device (Fig.1(IM Client 1), a registration request (See [0041-0043]; an IM client sends a registration request message to an IM service system) for registering a first user identifier (See [0045]; a registration process is triggered) for at least one service (See [0042]; IM Service) on a particular device (Fig.1(IM Client 1),
the registration request comprising device-generated authentication information (See [0043-0044]; user identifier associated and generated by one device)
obtaining, by the server, other user identifiers associated with the first user identifier (See [0043]; obtains other user identifiers associated with the first user identifier),
the authentication information that was generated for the particular device (Fig.1(IM Client 1) and cryptographically binds each of the plurality of user identifiers the particular device (See [0010]; [0045]); registration process triggered authentication of each user identifiers).
performing, by the server (Fig.1(IM Server)), an authentication of a plurality of user identifiers associated with the particular device (See [0045]; the registration process triggers the authentication process of the first user identifier and a plurality of user identifiers associated with the first user identifier) based at least on the authentication information (See [0045]; The authentication is performed using the plurality of user identifiers);
performing, by the server (Fig.1(IM Server)), a registration of the at least one service for the particular device (See [0045-0046]; the service associated with the plurality of user identifiers is registered) using the authenticated plurality of user identifiers (See [0045]; The authentication is performed using the plurality of user identifiers); and
transmitting, from the server (Fig.1(IM Server)), to the particular device (Fig.1(IM Client 1), information for accessing the at least one service via each respective user identifier of the plurality of user identifiers (See [0045-0046]; transmitting registration success response to IM client).
But Lu fails to explicitly recite about
A registration request for registering a plurality of user identifiers for a particular device.
However in an analogous art,
Schawagmann teaches about a registration request corresponding to a plurality of user identifiers associated with particular device (See [0078])
Lu and Schawagmann are analogous art because they all pertain to server and client device interaction in term of registration and authentication. Lu teaches about registration request comprising a user identifier and authentication information. Schawagmann teaches about a registration request corresponding to a plurality of user identifiers associated with particular device where one identifier can be used for all associated user identifiers. Lu could use Schawagmann features in term of using one message comprising all user identifiers to be registered and authenticate all corresponding user identifications associated with a particular device. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filing of the application to combine Schawagmann and Lu as to obtain an efficient telecommunication system.
Regarding Claim 2,
Lu and Schawagmann teach all the features with respect to claim 1 and Lu further teaches
performing, by the server (Fig.1(IM Server)), a registration of the at least one service (See [0045]; the registration process triggers the authentication process of the first user identifier and a plurality of user identifiers associated with the first user identifier) for a plurality of devices (See Fig.1; multiple clients can register to at least a server service),
wherein the registration includes at least one respective handle (See {[0047]; [0051]; client uses login request to access services) for accessing the at least one service on a respective device via each respective user identifier (See [0047]; [0051]; in order to access at least one service, client needs to be authenticated).
Regarding Claim 3,
Lu and Schawagmann teach all the features with respect to claim 2 and Lu further teaches
wherein the performing the authentication (See [0045]; [0051]; authenticating IM client associated with multiple users) comprises
performing a batch operation of authenticating the plurality of user identifiers
associated with the plurality of devices (See [0045]; [0051]; the registration process triggers the authentication process of the first user identifier and a plurality of user identifiers associated with the first user identifier).
Regarding Claim 5, 11
Lu and Schawagmann teach all the features with respect to claim 1, 9 and Lu further teaches
wherein at least one corresponding user identifier is associated with a corresponding subscriber identity module (See Fig.1(3G); [0014-0016]; [0070-0072] an identity verification module is used in the network).
Claim(s) 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Lu (US 2013/0125227 A1) in view of Schawagmann (US 2008/0003957 A1) and further in view of Examiner Official Notice.
Regarding Claim 6, 12
Lu and Schawagmann teach all the features with respect to claim 1, 9
But Lu and Schawagmann fail to explicitly recite
wherein the registration includes a tag identifying a priority of each of the plurality of user identifiers for accessing the at least one service in a particular order.
“Examiner Official Notice”
Examiner takes official notice in that assigning a tag for associating priority tag to an identifier among plurality of identifiers in order to access a server in order of priority is trivial and is known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious for Lu to use this feature in its art in order to obtain an efficient registration/access server method.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, 8, 10 and 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in statutory independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GARY LAFONTANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646