DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 08/03/2026 has been acknowledged.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114.
Amendment Summary
Claims 1, 4, 5, 9, 10, 13, 18 and 19 are amended.
Response to Arguments/Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims # 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of the references being used for the current rejection of the above claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-11, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (US 2013/0125227 A1) in view of Schawagmann (US 2008/0003957 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, 9, 13
Lu discloses a method (See [Abstract]; a method for accessing a storage server of an IM service system and an IM service system) comprising:
receiving, at a server (Fig.1(IM Server)) and from a particular device (Fig.1(IM Client 1), a registration request (See [0041-0043]; an IM client sends a registration request message to an IM service system) for registering a first user identifier (See [0045]; a registration process is triggered) for at least one service (See [0042]; IM Service) on a particular device (Fig.1(IM Client 1),
the registration request comprising authentication information (See [0045]; the registration process triggers the authentication process of the first user identifier) for authenticating that the respective user identifier is associated with the particular device (See [0045]; received success response from the IM client for the user identier);
obtaining, by the server (Fig.1(IM Server)), other user identifiers associated with the first user identifier (See [0043]; obtains other user identifiers associated with the first user identifier),
the authentication information that was generated (See [0010]; [0045]; registration process triggered authentication of each user identifiers) for the particular device (See Fig.1(IM Client);
performing, by the server (Fig.1(IM Server)), an authentication of a plurality of user identifiers associated with the particular device (See [0045]; the registration process triggers the authentication process of the first user identifier and a plurality of user identifiers associated with the first user identifier) based at least on the authentication information (See [0045]; The authentication is performed using the plurality of user identifiers);
performing, by the server (Fig.1(IM Server)), a registration of the at least one service for the particular device (See [0045-0046]; the service associated with the plurality of user identifiers is registered) using the authenticated plurality of user identifiers (See [0045]; The authentication is performed using the plurality of user identifiers); and
transmitting, from the server (Fig.1(IM Server)), to the particular device (Fig.1(IM Client 1), information for accessing the at least one service via each respective user identifier of the plurality of user identifiers (See [0045-0046]; transmitting registration success response to IM client).
But Lu fails to explicitly recite about
A registration request for registering a plurality of user identifiers for a particular device,
wherein the authentication of each respective user identifier of the plurality of user identifiers is based at least on the respective cryptographic signature corresponding to the respective user identifier;
However in an analogous art,
Schawagmann teaches about a registration request corresponding to a plurality of user identifiers associated with particular device (See [0078])
Lu and Schawagmann are analogous art because they all pertain to server and client device interaction in term of registration and authentication. Lu teaches about registration request comprising a user identifier and authentication information. Schawagmann teaches about a registration request corresponding to a plurality of user identifiers associated with particular device where one identifier can be used for all associated user identifiers. Lu could use Schawagmann features in term of using one message comprising all user identifiers to be registered and authenticate all corresponding user identifications associated with a particular device. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filing of the application to combine Schawagmann and Lu as to obtain an efficient telecommunication system.
Lu and Schawagmann fail to explicitly recite
wherein the authentication of each respective user identifier of the plurality of user identifiers is based at least on the respective cryptographic signature corresponding to the respective user identifier;
However in an analogous art,
Taguchi teaches about authentication information between terminals and multiple servers through cryptographic communications where user identifier is also transmitted through cryptographic communications (See [0058-0059]; [0094-0100]).
Lu, Schawagmann and Taguchi are analogous art because they all pertain to server and client device interaction in term of registration and authentication. Lu teaches about registration request comprising a user identifier and authentication information. Schawagmann teaches about a registration request corresponding to a plurality of user identifiers associated with particular device where one identifier can be used for all associated user identifiers. Taguchi teaches about authentication information between terminals and multiple servers through cryptographic communications where user identifier is also transmitted through cryptographic communications Lu and Schawagmann could use Taguchi features in term of using security transmission between user terminal and sever through cryptography. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the filing of the application to combine Schawagmann, Lu and Taguchi as to obtain an efficient telecommunication system.
Regarding Claim 2,
Lu, Schawagmann and Taguchi teach all the features with respect to claim 1 and Lu further teaches
performing, by the server (Fig.1(IM Server)), a registration of the at least one service (See [0045]; the registration process triggers the authentication process of the first user identifier and a plurality of user identifiers associated with the first user identifier) for a plurality of devices (See Fig.1; multiple clients can register to at least a server service),
wherein the registration includes at least one respective handle (See [0047]; [0051]; client uses login request to access services) for accessing the at least one service on a respective device via each respective user identifier (See [0047]; [0051]; in order to access at least one service, client needs to be authenticated).
Regarding Claim 3,
Lu, Schawagmann and Taguchi teach all the features with respect to claim 2 and Lu further teaches
wherein the performing the authentication (See [0045]; [0051]; authenticating IM client associated with multiple users) comprises
performing a batch operation of authenticating the plurality of user identifiers
associated with the plurality of devices (See [0045]; [0051]; the registration process triggers the authentication process of the first user identifier and a plurality of user identifiers associated with the first user identifier).
Regarding Claim 5, 19
Lu, Schawagmann and Taguchi teach all the features with respect to claim 1, 15 and Lu further teaches
wherein at least one respective user identifier of the plurality of user identifiers is associated with a corresponding subscriber identity module (See Fig.1(3G); [0014-0016]; [0070-0072]; the identity verification module is used in the network can be associated with a SIM for accessing a cellular network).
Regarding Claim 11,
Lu, Schawagmann and Taguchi teach all the features with respect to claim 9 and Lu further teaches
wherein at least one of the plurality of user identifiers is associated with a corresponding subscriber identity module (See Fig.1(3G); [0014-0016]; [0070-0072]; the identity verification module is used in the network can be associated with a SIM for accessing a cellular network).
Claim(s) 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Lu (US 2013/0125227 A1) in view of Schawagmann (US 2008/0003957 A1) in view of Taguchi (US 2017/0201510 A1) and further in view of Examiner Official Notice.
Regarding Claim 6, 12
Lu, Schawagmann and Taguchi teach all the features with respect to claim 1, 9
But Lu, Schawagmann and Taguchi fail to explicitly recite
wherein the registration includes a tag identifying a priority of each of the plurality of user identifiers for accessing the at least one service in a particular order.
“Examiner Official Notice”
Examiner takes official notice in that assigning a tag for associating priority tag to an identifier among plurality of identifiers in order to access a server in order of priority is trivial and is known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious for Lu to use this feature in its art in order to obtain an efficient registration/access server method.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, 8, 10 and 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in statutory independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GARY LAFONTANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646