DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 24-30 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
The claims are directed to the device having an aperture that is squared shaped which is found in the non-elected species of Fig. 12-13.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 24-30 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maiorino et al. (2008/0132943) in view of Gleiman (2012/0253388).
Maiorino discloses a knotless wound closure system (Fig. 4-7) comprising: an elongated suture filament (20) (Fig. 1 and [0015]) having a proximal end (end with needle as seen in Fig. 1) affixed to a needle (22) (Fig. 1 and [0015]) and a distal end (Fig. 1), the elongated suture filament having one or more apertures (16) (Fig. 1-2d and [0015-16]) dimensioned to admit one-way passage of the elongated suture filament therethrough (Fig. 4-7, [0015], and [0022]), wherein the elongated suture filament further comprises one or more prominences (14) (Fig. 1); wherein at least a portion of the elongated suture filament is flexible (Fig. 4-7 and [0015]); wherein at least a portion of the elongated suture filament is resorbable ([0025]); wherein at least a portion of the elongated suture filament has a circular cross section (Fig. 3d and [0017]).
Maiorino discloses all the claimed limitations discussed above; however, Maiorino does not disclose that at least one of the apertures has an oval shaped configuration.
Gleiman discloses another well-known knotless suture wound closure system having an elongated suture filament (20) (Fig. 1b) wherein the elongated suture filament further comprises one or more prominences (16) (Fig. 1b) and at least one aperture (22a) (Fig. 1b) having an oval shaped configuration ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the aperture of Maiorino to have an oval shape configuration, as taught by Gleiman, since it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another will yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82, USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maiorino et al. (2008/0132943) in view of Gleiman (2012/0253388) and further in view of Nawrocki et al. (2010/0160961).
Maiorino in view of Gleiman discloses all the claimed limitations discussed above; however, Maiorino in view of Gleiman does not disclose that at least one of the prominences has a cone shaped configuration.
Nawrocki discloses another well-known knotless suture wound closure system having an elongated suture filament (102, 202) (Fig. 3a-5) having a proximal end (104) (Fig, 3a) and a distal end (106) (Fig. 3a) wherein the elongated suture filament further comprises one or more prominences (108, 208) (Fig. 3a-5), and wherein at least one of the prominences has a cone shaped configuration (Fig. 3a-5 and [0051]); wherein the prominences have a leading edge (smaller diameter of cone shape as seen in Fig. 3a-5) and a trailing edge (larger diameter of cone shape as seen in Fig. 3a-5) and wherein the leading edge has a smaller diameter than the trailing edge (Fig. 3a-5); wherein the leading edge of the prominence is disposed toward the proximal end of the suture and the trailing edge of the prominence is disposed toward the distal end of the suture (Fig. 3a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the prominences of Maiorino in view of Gleiman to have a cone shape configuration, as taught by Nawrocki, since it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another will yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82, USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the prominences of Maiorino in view of Gleiman to have a cone shape configuration, as taught by Nawrocki, in order to decrease the force needed to pull the surgical suture through tissue or a prosthetic device as well as being able to collapse easily during insertion, but provide significant holding strength when pulled in the opposite direction ([0013]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maiorino et al. (2008/0132943) in view of Gleiman (2012/0253388) and further in view of Avelar et al. (2011/0319932)
Maiorino in view of Gleiman teaches all the claimed limitations discussed above however; Maiorino in view of Gleiman does not disclose that one or more of the apertures or one or more of the prominences are color-coded.
Avelar discloses a suture with markers wherein the markers can be locator bands having a visually identifiable distinctive coloring ([0067]) or is located one of a plurality of locator bands having visually identifiable distinctive coloring ([0067]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Maiorino in view of Gleiman with locator bands/markers in view of the teachings of Avelar, in order to identify the location of the of portions of the suture, the depth of the suture, or to indicate suture stress ([0067]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 7/25/26 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/DIANNE DORNBUSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771