DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 13-16 appear to be mislabeled as “Withdrawn” however in view of applicant’s arguments filed on 4/9/26 the claims appear to be cancelled therefore it should be labeled as –Cancelled--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-19 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maiorino et al. (2008/0132943) in view of Nawrocki et al. (2010/0160961).
Maiorino discloses a knotless wound closure system (Fig. 4-7) comprising: an elongated suture filament (20) (Fig. 1 and [0015]) having a proximal end (end with needle as seen in Fig. 1) affixed to a needle (22) (Fig. 1 and [0015]) and a distal end (Fig. 1), the elongated suture filament having one or more apertures (16) (Fig. 1-2d and [0015-16]) dimensioned to admit one-way passage of the elongated suture filament therethrough (Fig. 4-7, [0015], and [0022]), wherein the elongated suture filament further comprises one or more prominences (14) (Fig. 1); , wherein at least a portion of the elongated suture filament is flexible (Fig. 4-7 and [0015]); wherein at least a portion of the elongated suture filament is resorbable ([0025]); wherein at least a portion of the elongated suture filament has a circular cross section (Fig. 3d and [0017]).
Maiorino discloses all the claimed limitations discussed above; however, Maiorino does not disclose that at least one of the prominences has a cone shaped configuration.
Nawrocki discloses another well-known knotless suture wound closure system having an elongated suture filament (102, 202) (Fig. 3a-5) having a proximal end (104) (Fig, 3a) and a distal end (106) (Fig. 3a) wherein the elongated suture filament further comprises one or more prominences (108, 208) (Fig. 3a-5), and wherein at least one of the prominences has a cone shaped configuration (Fig. 3a-5 and [0051]); wherein the prominences have a leading edge (smaller diameter of cone shape as seen in Fig. 3a-5) and a trailing edge (larger diameter of cone shape as seen in Fig. 3a-5) and wherein the leading edge has a smaller diameter than the trailing edge (Fig. 3a-5); wherein the leading edge of the prominence is disposed toward the proximal end of the suture and the trailing edge of the prominence is disposed toward the distal end of the suture (Fig. 3a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the prominences of Maiorino to have a cone shape configuration, as taught by Nawrocki, since it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another will yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82, USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the prominences of Maiorino to have a cone shape configuration, as taught by Nawrocki, in order to decrease the force needed to pull the surgical suture through tissue or a prosthetic device as well as being able to collapse easily during insertion, but provide significant holding strength when pulled in the opposite direction ([0013]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maiorino et al. (2008/0132943) in view of Nawrocki et al. (2010/0160961) and further in view of Avelar et al. (2011/0319932)
Maiorino teaches all the claimed limitations discussed above however; Maiorino does not disclose that one or more of the apertures or one or more of the prominences are color-coded.
Avelar discloses a suture with markers wherein the markers can be locator bands having a visually identifiable distinctive coloring ([0067]) or is located one of a plurality of locator bands having visually identifiable distinctive coloring ([0067]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Maiorino in view of Nawrocki with locator bands/markers in view of the teachings of Avelar, in order to identify the location of the of portions of the suture, the depth of the suture, or to indicate suture stress ([0067]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 4/9/26 have been considered but are moot in view of teh new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIANNE DORNBUSCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771