DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Claims 1-8, and 10-13 have an effective filing date of 11/03/2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/10/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restriction
In the response filed on 8/15/2023, Applicant elected, without traverse:
Method of treatment, claims 2 and 7-17 read on the elected species
Status of Claims
Claims 1-8, and 10-13 are currently pending and presented for examination on the merits.
Claim 2 is amended.
Claims 1, and 3-6 are withdrawn from further consideration by Examiner under CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claims 9, and 14-17 are canceled.
Rejections Maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7-8, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Audit et al (US 20200239589 A1, Previous OA), and further in view of Fau et al (Drug-Disease Interaction and Time-Dependent Population Pharmacokinetics of Isatuximab in Relapsed/Refractory Multiple Myeloma Patients, CPT Pharmacometrics Syst Pharmacol (2020) 9, 649–658, IDS 8/16/2023).
Audat et al teaches methods of treating multiple myeloma with an anti-CD38 antibody [0008]. Audat et al further teaches administering the anti-CD38 antibody at 10 mg/kg [0008]. Audat et al further teaches the anti-CD38 antibody is isatuximab [0019]. Audat et al further teaches isatuximab administered days 1, 8, 15, 22 of the first month cycle [0020]. Audat et al further teaches administering isatuximab at 10 mg/kg after the first month once every two weeks [Table C]. Audat et al further teaches the method extending PFS of the individual [0007]. Audat et al further teaches maintenance administration of the anti-CD38 antibody as patients continued treatment until disease progression, unacceptable adverse events (e.g., unacceptable toxicity), or patient wish, whichever came first [0133]. Audat et al further teaches administering isatuximab once every two weeks for one or more one-month cycles after the first month cycle [Table C]. Audat et al further teaches patients that achieved VGPR or better after receiving isatuximab [0032, Fig. 6A].
Audat et al does not specifically teach administering the CD38 antibody at a dose of 10 mg/kg once a month once VGPR is maintained for at least six months. However, this deficiency is made up in the teachings of Fau et al.
Fau et al teaches the treatment of multiple myeloma comprising administering isatuximab [Abstract]. Fau et al further teaches patients received 1-20 mg/kg dosage of isatuximab [Abstract]. Fau et al further teaches a typical 50% decrease in linear clearance from initial treatment to steady-state for isatuximab [Abstract]. Fau et al further teaches isatuximabs pharmokinetics were well-characterized by a two-compartment structural kinetic model with parallel linear and nonlinear eliminations from the central compartment [Discussion, pg. 655]. Fau et al further teaches linear clearance is the predominant clearance method for isatuximab accounting for 90% of clearance [Discussion, pg. 655]. Fau et al further teaches a decrease in isatuximabs linear clearance of about 50% [Figure 2 (a), pg. 654]. Fau et al further teaches isatuximab plasma concentration demonstrated that the saturation of the target (> 80% of target occupancy), was reached for concentrations corresponding to the ≥ 10 mg/kg q.w. dose level [Discussion, pgs. 655-656]. Fau et al further teaches isatuximab, the magnitude of CL change over time was larger than for other mAbs, and an average 50% decrease was estimated for isatuximab from the first dose to steadystate [Right column, 2nd paragraph, pg. 656].
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, would have been motivated to combine Audat’s methods for a method of treating multiple myeloma comprising administering isatuximab at a dose of 10 mg/kg QW for a first one-month cycle, and then 10 mg/kg Q2W for subsequent cycles and achieving VGPR, with Fau’s method of decreasing dosages based upon a decrease in clearance and an increase in plasma concentration of isatuximab from 1st dose to steadystate. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art (MPEP 2144.06). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is an exemplary rationale for a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP2143. It would have been prima facie obvious to combine Audat and Fau’s methods for a method of treating a human individual having multiple myeloma comprising administering isatuximab at 10 mg/kg for a first one-month cycle, then at 10 mg/kg for one or more one-month cycle until VGPR is maintained for at least 6 months, based on monitoring, then administering the isatuximab at 10 mg/kg QM for one or more one-month cycles. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the administration schedule and dosage of a therapeutic regimen represent optimizable variables that affect the safety and efficacy of a therapeutic regimen, and one of ordinary skill in the art would thus recognize the utility of optimizing the administration schedule and dosage of medicaments in a therapeutic regimen. The invention of the conflicting claims, Audit and Fau meets the limitations of claims 2, and 10-13.
With respect to claim 7, Audat et al teaches blood samples from patients were used to assess the pharmokinetics of isatuximab [0121].
With respect to claim 8, Audat et al teaches the assessment of M-protein by immunofixation and electrophoresis [0128].
Applicant’s Arguments:
The references, either alone or in combination, do not specifically disclose all the limitations recited in independent claim 2, and dependent claims 7, 8, and 10-13
Audat does not specifically disclose monitoring response to the treatment, and if the treatment achieves a response of at least very good partial response (VGPR) and the response of at least VGPR is maintained for at least about 6 months, administering the anti-CD38 antibody at a dose of 10 mg/kg once a month for one or more additional one-month cycles.
Fau does not cure the deficiencies of Audat. Fau does not specifically disclose administering the anti-CD38 antibody at a dose of 10 mg/kg once a month for one or more additional one-month cycles, let alone administering the anti-CD38 antibody as such if the treatment achieves a response of at least very good partial response (VGPR) and the response of at least VGPR is maintained for at least about 6 months.
Therefore, a skilled person in the art, reading Audat and Fau, would not be motivated to decrease the dosing frequency once VGPR is achieved for at least 6 months with a reasonable expectation of success that such a decrease in the dosing frequency would not lead to adverse results.
Examiner’s Response:
With regard to if the treatment achieves a response of at least very good partial response (VGPR) and the response of at least VGPR is maintained for at least about 6 months, administering the anti-CD38 antibody at a dose of 10 mg/kg once a month for one or more additional one-month cycles, the frequency of administration is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of each ingredient needed to achieve the desired results. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, the optimization of ingredient amounts would have been obvious at the time of applicant's invention.
The principle of law states from MPEP 2144.05: "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."(Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382); Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Furthermore, Fau et al teaches that for isatuximab, the magnitude of CL (Linear clearance) change over time was larger than for other mAbs, and an average 50% decrease was estimated for isatuximab from the first dose to steady state [Right column, 2nd paragraph, pg. 656].
Furthermore, Fau et al teaches the higher magnitude effect for isatuximab might be explained by perturbation of FcRn-mediated recycling pathway, which is particularly pronounced in MM. This disease is characterized by high production of serum M-protein, usually in the g/L range, which is ≥ 10 times higher than most therapeutic mAb concentrations. About 50% of patients in the ICARIA trial had plasma levels of 20 g/L or more, and 64% of patients with MM secrete an IgG subtype that competes with all other IgG species for FcRn recycling. This competing environment tends to decrease over time in responding patients as the tumor burden is reduced and, thus, translates to lower mAb CL. For daratumumab, a decrease in CL of up to threefold was predicted by a physiologically-based PK model when M-protein was reduced from 30 to 0 g/L, an ideal scenario for a fully responding patient. [Right column pg. 656 – Left column pg. 657]. Furthermore, Fau et al teaches Figure S5 shows isatuximab clearance stabilizing in patients over 24 weeks [Figure S5].
Figure S5 – Distribution of linear clearance vs time
CL: clearance
P: percentile
One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, would have been motivated to decrease the dosage of an anti-CD38 antibody if the treatment achieves a response of at least very good partial response (VGPR) and the response of at least VGPR is maintained for at least about 6 months. It would have been prima facie obvious to decrease the dosage of an anti-CD38 antibody because Fau et al teaches in 64% of patients with MM secrete an IgG subtype that competes with all other IgG species for FcRn recycling. This competing environment tends to decrease over time in responding patients as the tumor burden is reduced and, thus, translates to lower mAb CL.
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 7-8, and 10-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 17/259,135 in view of Audit et al (US 20200239589 A1, Previous OA) and Fau et al (Drug-Disease Interaction and Time-Dependent Population Pharmacokinetics of Isatuximab in Relapsed/Refractory Multiple Myeloma Patients, CPT Pharmacometrics Syst Pharmacol (2020) 9, 649–658, IDS 8/16/2023).
The teachings of Audat et al and Fau et al are discussed above.
Claims 2, 10-12 are directed to an invention that is not patentably distinct from claims 1-4 of provisional co-pending application 17/259,135. Specifically, a method of treating multiple myeloma comprising administering an anti-CD38 antibody, wherein the anti-CD38 antibody is isatuximab. It would have been prima facie obvious to combine Audat and Fau’s methods for a method of treating a human individual having multiple myeloma comprising administering isatuximab at 10 mg/kg for a first one-month cycle, then at 10 mg/kg for one or more one-month cycle until VGPR is maintained for at least 6 months, based on monitoring, then administering the isatuximab at 10 mg/kg QM for one or more one-month cycles, because Audat teaches these administration regimens and dosage. Furthermore, Fau et al teaches method of decreasing dosages based upon a decrease in clearance and an increase in plasma concentration of isatuximab from 1st dose to steadystate. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the administration schedule and dosage of a therapeutic regimen represent optimizable variable that affect the safety and efficacy of a therapeutic regimen, and one of ordinary skill in the art would thus recognize the utility of optimizing the administration schedule and dosage of medicaments in a therapeutic regimen.
With respect to claim 7, Audat et al teaches blood samples from patients were used to assess the pharmokinetics of isatuximab [0121].
With respect to claim 8, Audat et al teaches the assessment of M-protein by immunofixation and electrophoresis [0128].
With respect to claim 13, Audat et al teaches the method extending PFS of the individual [0007].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Applicant’s Arguments:
Applicant respectfully submits that the pending claims in the present application and the pending claims in Application No. 17/259,135 (US 20210155708) are patentably distinct. Applicant respectfully requests the rejection be withdrawn.
Examiner’s Response
Applicant states the pending claims in Application No. 17/259,135 (‘135) is patentably distinct from the instant claims.
Instant claim 2 is directed to an invention that is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of ‘135. Specifically, a method of treating cancer comprising administering an anti-CD38 antibody. In view of the teachings of Audat et al administering isatuximab at 10 mg/kg after the first month once every two weeks [Table C]. Combined with, Fau et al teaching a decreasing in drug clearance over 24 weeks [Figure S5].
Conclusion
/DENNIS J SULLIVAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1642
/NELSON B MOSELEY II/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642