DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to the Reply of Office Action filed September 18, 2025. The Examiner acknowledges the cancellation of claims 3, 10-19 and 21. Claims 1-2, 4-9, 20 & 22 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 18, 2025, regarding the previous rejection of claim 6 under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejection of claim 6 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn. The rejection of claim 15 under 35 USC 112(b) is withdrawn as claim 15 has been canceled.
Regarding the previous rejection of claims 10-11, 13-19 and 21 under 35 USC 101, as claims 10-11, 13-19 and 21 have been canceled, the previous rejection of said claims under 35 USC 101 has been withdrawn.
Regarding the previous rejection of the claims under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Mault in view of Hubbard and in further view of Williams and Suslick, Applicant argues that Williams fails to teach an internal cylinder or functionality attributed to the internal cylinder. Applicant further argues that Williams fails to provide any structural element which would function in accordance with that which the combination of the column and internal cylinder provides, and that the addition of the Suslick reference fails to remedy the deficiencies of Mault as modified by Hubbard and Williams. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument because the Williams reference was not used to disclose the internal cylinder or the column as recited in the claims of the instant application. Instead, Williams was used to teach impingement of breath of a patient/user onto a sensor. Mault was used to disclose both the internal cylinder and column, as Mault teaches an analysis portion 100 that comprises an internal cylinder 110 (i.e., a flow tube) (see Mault, fig. 4, par 0048), wherein the internal cylinder is within a column (see Mault, fig. 4, wherein flow tube 110 is contained within a column) and exhaled breath flows through the internal cylinder into functional contact with a sensor and through said column (see Mault, par 0048, fig. 4, wherein breath flows through the internal cylinder 110 to the sensor 120). As noted in the prior Office Action, Mault as modified by Hubbard fails to teach that the internal cylinder focuses impingement of the exhaled breath onto a surface of the colorimetric sensor, which is why the Williams reference was used. Williams teaches a device for the detection of respiratory system lesions where a subject exhales their breath into a mouthpiece 6 that is connected to a conduit comprising a sensing element 8, wherein the stream of gas exhaled from the breath of the subject impinges upon the sensing element, as the stream of exhaled gas is perpendicular to the sensing element (see Williams, par 0010, 0039, 0056, fig. 3). Therefore, the combination of Mault as modified by Hubbard and Williams teaches an internal cylinder within a column that impinges breath onto a sensor, as recited in the claims, and the rejection of claim 8 over Mault, Hubbard, Williams, and Suslick is proper. See 35 USC 103 rejections below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: capture element in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9, 20 & 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 20020026937 --as previously cited--, hereinafter referenced as "Mault", in view of US Patent Application Publication 20040077965 --as previously cited--, hereinafter referenced as "Hubbard", and in further view of US Patent Application Publication 20120165693 –as previously cited--, hereinafter referenced as “Williams”.
With respect to claim 1, Mault teaches an apparatus 10 (see Mault, figs. 1 & 2) for measuring a respiratory gas in exhaled breath comprising:
a sample collection portion 104 (i.e., a mask) (see Mault, par 0048, figs. 3 & 4) capable of capturing exhaled breath to control the volume of exhaled breath passed through the device during a breath test (i.e., inhalation and exhalation gases are passed through the device) (see Mault, par 0040-0041);
and an analysis portion 100 (i.e., a gas meter, such as a nitric oxide meter) (see Mault, figs. 3 & 4) capable of receiving said exhaled breath from said sample collection portion (see Mault, par 0048), wherein the analysis portion 100 comprises an internal cylinder 110 (i.e., a flow tube) (see Mault, fig. 4, par 0048) which is within a column (see Mault, fig. 4, wherein flow tube 110 is contained within a column) wherein said exhaled breath flows through the internal cylinder into functional contact with a sensor and through said column (see Mault, par 0048, fig. 4, wherein breath flows through the internal cylinder 110 to the sensor 120).
Mault does not teach that the apparatus is used for measuring an ammonia concentration in exhaled breath, that the analysis portion comprises a colorimetric sensor comprising an active component on a substrate, wherein the colorimetric sensor changes color proportional to the ammonia concentration in the exhaled breath, nor that the internal cylinder focuses impingement of the exhaled breath onto a surface of the colorimetric sensor.
Hubbard teaches an apparatus (see Hubbard, fig. 1B) for measuring an ammonia concentration in exhaled breath (see Hubbard, par 0035), and a colorimetric sensor 6,7 (i.e., fiber optic ammonia sensors and a fiber optic instrument reader) comprising an active component on a substrate (i.e., a non-water soluble pH indicator dye incorporated into an ammonia permeable film) (see par 0036), wherein the colorimetric sensor changes color proportional to the ammonia concentration in the exhaled breath (see par 0036 & 0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Mault to comprise a colorimetric sensor comprising an active component on a substrate wherein said colorimetric sensor changes color proportional to an ammonia concentration in said exhaled breath. Doing so improves the system of Mault by enabling the determination of gastric infections, such as that of H. pylori, and the determination of liver and kidney function due to the tight regulation of ammonia levels by those organs (see Hubbard, par 0002-0004 & 0009). Furthermore, using colorimetric sensors provides a simple, rapid, and non-invasive diagnostic test based on measuring ammonia in breath (see Hubbard, par 0013).
Mault as modified by Hubbard fails to teach the internal cylinder focuses impingement of the exhaled breath onto a surface of the colorimetric sensor.
Williams teaches a device for the detection of respiratory system lesions, wherein a subject exhales their breath into a mouthpiece 6 that is connected to a conduit 4 comprising a sensing element 8, wherein the stream of gas exhaled from the breath of the subject impinges upon the sensing element 8 (see Williams, par 0010, 0039, 0056, fig. 3). The stream of exhaled gas from the subject is perpendicular to the sensing element 8 (see Williams, fig. 3), and impinges upon the sensing element 8 as valves 34, 36 respectively close and open as the subject exhales, which ensures the perpendicular stream of breath of the subject impinges upon the sensing element 8 (see Williams, par 0010, 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Mault in view of Hubbard such that the internal cylinder focuses impingement of the exhaled breath onto a surface of the colorimetric sensor because doing so ensures that analytes in the exhaled breath are effectively determined since the exhaled breath makes direct contact with the sensing element/sensor (see Williams, par 0012, 0034, 0039, 0056).
With respect to claim 2, Mault as modified by Hubbard and Williams teaches the apparatus for measuring ammonia concentration in exhaled breath of claim 1. Mault further teaches the sample collection portion 104 comprises a mouthpiece (i.e., a respiratory connector, such as a mask) (see Mault, par 0048, figs. 3 & 4) and an inlet tube 112 (i.e., a flow tube) attached to said mouthpiece (see Mault, par 0048).
With respect to claim 4, Mault as modified by Hubbard and Williams teaches the apparatus for measuring ammonia concentration in exhaled breath of claim 1. Mault further teaches a holder (i.e., the wall of an outer column within the analysis portion 100) capable of securing a sensor 120 in flow relationship with said internal cylinder (see Mault, fig. 4, par 0048).
With respect to claim 5, Mault as modified by Hubbard and Williams teaches the apparatus for measuring ammonia concentration in exhaled breath of claim 4. Mault further teaches that the sample collection portion 104 comprises an inlet tube 112 and said inlet tube 112 has a larger diameter than a diameter of said internal cylinder (see Mault, par 0048, fig. 4).
With respect to claim 6, Mault as modified by Hubbard and Williams teaches the apparatus for measuring ammonia concentration in exhaled breath of claim 1. Mault further teaches that the apparatus comprises a capture element that regulates a volume of said exhaled breath (i.e., a reservoir of respiratory gases that exhaled breath flows into once passing the analysis portion of the apparatus) (see Mault, par 0042).
With respect to claim 7, Mault as modified by Hubbard and Williams teaches the apparatus for measuring ammonia concentration in exhaled breath of claim 1. Mault further teaches that the apparatus comprises a pressure gauge (i.e., a pressure sensor) that can be used to control the flow rate of exhaled breath (see Mault, par 0076).
With respect to claim 9, Mault as modified by Hubbard and Williams teaches the apparatus for measuring ammonia concentration in exhaled breath of claim 1. Hubbard further teaches that the active component is selected from the group consisting of Berthelot’s reagent, Bromocresol Green, Bromophenol Blue, Bromocresol Purple, Titanium(IV) Oxide, and Hydroquinone (see Hubbard, par 0036 & figs. 2A-2D).
With respect to claim 20, Mault as modified by Hubbard and Williams teaches the apparatus for determining ammonia concentration in exhaled breath of claim 1. Mault further teaches the internal cylinder 110 is perpendicular to the sample collection portion 104 (see Mault fig. 4, par 0048).
With respect to claim 22, Mault as modified by Hubbard and Williams teaches the apparatus for determining ammonia concentration in exhaled breath of claim 1. Mault in view of Hubbard fail to teach the internal cylinder is perpendicular to a surface of the colorimetric sensor.
Williams teaches a device for the detection of respiratory system lesions, wherein a subject exhales their breath into a mouthpiece 6 that is connected to a conduit 4 comprising a sensing element 8, wherein the stream of gas exhaled from the breath of the subject impinges upon the sensing element 8 (see Williams, par 0010, 0039, 0056, fig. 3). The stream of exhaled gas from the subject is perpendicular to the sensing element 8 (see Williams, fig. 3), and impinges upon the sensing element 8 as valves 34, 36 respectively close and open as the subject exhales, which ensures the perpendicular stream of breath of the subject impinges upon the sensing element 8 (see Williams, par 0010, 0056).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Mault in view of Hubbard such that the internal cylinder is perpendicular to a surface of the colorimetric sensor because doing so permits the impingement of the exhaled breath of a subject/user upon the sensor which ensures that analytes in the exhaled breath are effectively determined since the exhaled breath makes direct contact with the sensing element/sensor (see Williams, par 0012, 0034, 0039, 0056).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mault in view of Hubbard and in further view of Williams, as applied to claims 1 & 10 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication 20050171449 --as previously recited--, hereinafter referenced as "Suslick".
With respect to claims 8, Mault as modified by Hubbard and Williams teaches the apparatus and method for measuring and determining ammonia concentration in exhaled breath of claims 1 & 10, wherein a sensor dye (i.e., active component) on a substrate is used to detect the ammonia concentration in exhaled breath of a user. However, Mault as modified by Hubbard and Williams fails to teach what the substrate is that comprises the dye (i.e., active component).
Suslick teaches a method and apparatus for detecting ammonia from exhaled breath that comprises a sensor plate that is a substrate with an array of dyes, wherein the substrate is any suitable material or materials, including chromatography paper (see Suslick, par 0031-0032).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and method of Mault as modified by Hubbard and Williams such that the dye is on chromatography paper because Suslick teaches substrates that are used for affixing dyes when detecting ammonia concentrations from exhaled breath can include any suitable material, including chromatography paper (see Suslick, par 0032).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES A MARMOR II/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/D.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3791