DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
This application claims priority from provisional application 63/109980 filed 11/05/2020.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-8, 12-13 and 16-25 are pending.
Claims 2, 9-11, 14 and 15 have been cancelled.
Drawings
The objections to the drawings have been withdrawn in view of the applicant’s amendments.
Claim Objections
The previous claim objections have been withdrawn in view of the applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Some of the previous 112 rejections have been withdrawn in view of the applicant’s amendments, but claim 12 has been amended in a manner that creates a new issue.
Claims 12, 13, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 12, 13, 23, and 24 have been amended to redefine the range to 100%-400%, but the original disclosure only supported the range of 10%-400%. The refined range is considered new matter because the end posts of the range are not defined as a single range. The applicant is advised to amend the claim to match the specification and say 10%-400%.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 12, 13, and 16-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniel et al. (Daniel) US Pub. No. 2018/0085404 A1 in view of Horton et al (Horton) US 2013/0084314 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Daniel discloses a placental tissue allograft (title discloses a placental graft that is capable of being used as an allograft ), wherein said placental tissue allograft is dehydrated (150 Figure 1), meshed (Figure 10), expandable when hydrated (the nature of the placenta graft materials and the mesh shape shown in Figure 10, inherently results in a flexible expandable graft, additionally whether a graft is expandable depends on the initial shape and configuration, in this case if the graft of figure 10 is hydrated but compressed it will inherently be capable of then expanding from that compressed state), and sterile (165 Figure 1).
However, Daniel does not disclose the openings are slits, an insertion method where the slits allow the allograft to expand at least 10%, or that the allograft is lyophilized.
Horton teaches the use of a placental allograft comprising slits (Figure 5) which when implanted expands its surface area between 10% and 400% ([0010] discloses the perimeter is increased 20% and 600%, a rectangle with 20% increased perimeter will have a surface area increase by about 44% https://www.vedantu.com/question-answer/if-each-side-of-the-rectangle-is-increased-by-20-class-9-maths-cbse-5fb49350aae7bc7b2d3980c4) and the step of lyophilizing the implant (freeze drying is the same as lyophilizing [0020]) in the same field of endeavor for the purpose of providing increased flexibility and moldability to match the needs of each individual patient as well as an implant that can be stored for extended periods.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to replace the circular openings of Daniel with the expandable slits of Horton and to lyophilize the implant as taught by Horton in order to increase flexibility and moldability to match the needs of each individual patient and allowing it to be stored for extended periods.
Regarding claim 3, Daniel discloses the placental tissue allograft of claim 2, wherein the slits are in an engineered pattern (Figure 10) Horton also discloses an engineered pattern (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 4, Daniel discloses the placental tissue allograft of claim 3, wherein all of said slits are parallel to one another (rows of openings are parallel to each other Figure 10) Horton also discloses the arrangement (Figure 5).
Regarding claim 5, Daniel discloses slits which are 0.1-20 mm in length (the diameter of the plurality of holes 1010 are described to be from 0.2 to 2.0 mm which falls within the claimed range, Figure 10; [0058]).
Regarding claim 6, Daniel discloses the distance between two adjacent slits is between 0.1-10 mm (the holes are spaced from 1 mm to 5 mm apart which falls within the claimed range; [0058]).
Regarding claim 7, Daniel discloses wherein a first plurality of said slits are parallel to one another (top row Figure 10 of Daniel and 5 of Horton), a second plurality of said slits are parallel to one another (second row Figure 10 of Daniel and 5 of Horton), and the slits of first plurality and the second plurality are oriented at an angle of 1°-180° relative to each other (Figure 5 of Horton clearly shows all slits arranged at an angle of 180 degrees relative to each other).
Regarding claim 12, the allograft of Daniel may be expanded by 100%-400% along one axis by application of a force that is less than its tensile strength (since the claim fails to define the condition of the allograft prior to being expanded, the flexible implant of Daniel can be folded or rolled up to define an unexpanded state then when unfolded or unrolled it is capable of expanding it to its expanded state which would could be 100-400% expansion depending on the amount of rolling and unrolling, which would inherently take less than its tensile strength because it is just being unfolded and not pulled apart).
Regarding claim 13, the allograft of Daniel may be expanded so as to increase its surface area by at least 10% by application of a force that is less than its tensile strength (as explained above the initial condition is not claimed, therefore if the implant is folded in half or in thirds, the unexpanded implant would have a reduced surface area compared to the unfolded expanded implant, which would have a surface area increase of 100-400%).
Regarding claim 16, Daniel discloses a placental tissue allograft comprising amnion [0020].
Regarding claim 17, Daniel discloses a placental tissue allograft comprising chorion ([0045] discloses the Chorion layer can be used in combination with the amnion).
Regarding claim 18, Daniel discloses a placental tissue allograft comprising amnion and an intermediate layer ([0050] Figure 7).
Regarding claim 19, Daniel discloses a placental tissue allograft comprising amnion layered directly on chorion [0050].
Regarding claim 20, Daniel discloses a placental tissue allograft comprising amnion, chorion, and an intermediate layer [0050].
Regarding claims 21 and 22, Daniel discloses a placental tissue allograft capable of being contained within a sealed pouch that is deoxygenated (since the claims are directed at the allograft and not a kit or method of making/using it, the sealed pouch is considered to be language defining how the allograft is used or made and given limited weight, furthermore Daniel discloses it is packaged and sterilized [0027], which inherently requires the package to be sealed or the sterilizing would be ineffective, and this does not prevent it from being deoxygenated in any way).
Regarding claim 23, Daniel as modified by Horton discloses a method of covering a wound [0054] comprising contacting a wound [0054] with a sterile placental tissue allograft (Figure 1 165), wherein said contacting comprises expanding said sterile placental tissue allograft by at least 10%-400% (See explanation of the Horton teachings above with respect to claim 1) along one axis to cover said wound [0054].
However, Horton discloses a range greater than the applicant’s range of 100%-400%. Reviewing the applicant’s original disclosure the applicant has failed to provide the claimed range as having any criticality. The applicant has not disclosed that having the narrowed range solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Moreover it appears that expanding slightly more or less would perform equally as well at claimed narrow range.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the implant of Daniel as modified by Horton so that it expands 100%-400% in order to achieve a balance between opening sizes and tension on the implant itself, which will better suit the needs of the patient.
Regarding claim 24, Daniel as modified by Horton discloses a method of treating a subject [0054] in need thereof using the placental tissue allograft of claim 1, said method comprising i) expanding said placental tissue allograft so as to increase its surface area by at least 10%-400% (See explanation of the Horton teachings above with respect to claim 1); and ii) applying the expanded placental tissue allograft to the subject [0054].
Claim(s) 8 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniel and Horton (Combination 1) as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 12, 13, and 16-24 above, and further in view of Greener et al (Greener) USPN 8,680,360 B2.
Combination 1 discloses the invention substantially as claimed being described above. However, Combination 1 does not disclose a third plurality of slits arranged not parallel to the other two pluralities.
Greener teaches the use of a flexible sheet comprising multiple pluralities of slits including first and second pluralities arranged 180 degrees to each other and a third plurality of slits arranged 90 degrees/not parallel to the other pluralities (Figures 4-5) in the same field of endeavor for the purpose of providing increased flexibility and expansion in multiple directions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the concept of orienting some of the slots not parallel to the other slots as taught by Greener in order to provided increased flexibility and expansion in multiple directions.
In regards to claim 25, Daniel discloses the openings are provided with a length/diameter of 2 mm and spaced apart by 1 mm [0058]. However, Daniel as modified does not specifically say if the spacing is applied to openings within each row or between openings of two parallel rows.
Greener teaches the use of a flexible sheet comprising multiple rows of slits wherein the ratio of the length of said slits to the distance between two adjacent slits which run parallel to each other but are not on the same line is from 2:1 to 10:1 (Figure 2 as described in 8:41-45 includes a ratio of 3:1) in the same field of endeavor for the purpose of providing increased flexibility and expansion in multiple directions.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to space the slits of Daniel as modified by Horton to have the spacing ratio of 3:1 as disclosed by Greener in order to provided increased flexibility and expansion in multiple directions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As an initial note the applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejection are focused on the Daniel reference individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Specifically:
A. The applicant argues that the circle holes of Daniel’s grafts do not make it expandable without deformation or tearing. As an initial matter any slit or opening that opens and expands to a different shape would inherently be a deformation of the slit and surrounding material. Additionally, the applicant’s arguments are moot because they are all based upon the circular shape of Daniels initial openings. The 103 rejections clearly spells out that these circular openings have been replaced with the slits of Horton. Therefore, the arguments about how the circular openings perform are misplaced and fail to overcome the prior art combination. With regards to the statement about the graft being capable of having a compressed state and expanding to a larger expanded state, this was made to illustrate how broad the claims are were previously worded. As previously explained a rolled-up graft as disclosed by Daniel could inherently be unrolled or unfolded to a larger expanded state regardless of having slits or circular openings. This is extremely basic concept and would not need to be explained or scientifically proven. Unrolling and unfolding a sheet makes the sheet larger and/or increases the surface area.
B. The applicant argues that one of ordinary skill would not try to stretch the holes of Daniel. As explained above the holes of Daniel have been modified to be slits in view of the teachings of Horton. Horton specifically discloses the stretching of his openings. Therefore this argument is moot. In regards to the applicant’s arguments that the changing of the holes would decrease the ability for cell migration, this is not persuasive because the applicant has failed to provide any factual evidence as to how the expanded slits of the combination are any less adequate. Greener clearly shows how slits stretch to expand to be large openings which would have similar sizes to those of Daniels original openings.
C. The applicant further argues that Horton’s methods do not teach freeze drying but teach alternative methods for storing the grafts. This is not persuasive because Horton as admitted by the applicant on page 9 of the arguments filed on 11/07/2025, specifically states that the placental membrane can be freeze dried [0020]. The alternative steps or known benefits of other methods are all moot because Horton also specifically states the implant can be freeze dried. A reference can disclose multiple approaches and explain the pros and cons of each. This does not rise to the level of a teaching away because Horton still lists the freeze drying as an option. The applicant’s arguments with respect to why it would be better to store the grafts in solution and that it doesn’t make sense to place the dehydrated graft in solution are all moot. Horton specifically teaches it is known to dehydrate placental grafts
D. With respect to the Greener combination, the applicant failed to present any new arguments.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER D. PRONE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3774
/Christopher D. Prone/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774