DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed September 3, 2026 has been fully considered and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-15, 17, 18 and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Onaka (US 2018/0254832 A1) in view of Frolov et al. (WO 2004/072691 A2), further in view of Jiang (CN 107533196 A).
Regarding claims 13 and 17, Onaka discloses an optical transposer (922 and directly coupled “optical fiber[s]” in Fig. 1B) that is distinct from an optical amplifier (923; described as optical amplifying fiber in paragraph 0048); and a waveguide assembly configured for connecting signals from a photonic circuit (915) with a doped fiber amplifier (923) comprising: a first waveguide (“optical fiber” connected to 923), having a first end for connecting to the doped fiber amplifier (923) and connected with a wavelength division multiplexer (922) at an opposite second end; a second waveguide (“optical fiber” connected to 915), connecting the wavelength division multiplexer (922) to the photonic circuit (915); a third waveguide (“optical fiber” connected to 921), connecting the wavelength division multiplexer (922) to a pump laser (921); wherein the wavelength division multiplexer (922), is configured to multiplex the laser light at the first wavelength with the signals connected between the photonic circuit and the doped fiber amplifier (paragraph 0048).
Still regarding claims 13 and 17, Onaka teaches the claimed invention except for an optical splitter. Frolov discloses a passive planar lightwave circuit (606 in Fig. 6; paragraphs 0003 and 0045-0048); an optical splitter (620) supported by the PLC and connected to a laser output fiber (609) into which a pump laser (605) emits pump light comprising a first wavelength, wherein an input end of the optical splitter is configured to receive the pump light having the first wavelength and wherein output ends of the optical splitter are configured to carry divided pump light at the first wavelength (splitter 620 is a “power splitter”). Frolov further discloses a plurality of waveguide assemblies defined by the PLC, comprising a plurality of first (621, 622), second (607, 608) and third (waveguides connected to output of 620) waveguides defined by the PLC and a plurality of multiplexers (618, 619) wherein one of the plurality of second waveguides is multiplexed with one of the plurality of third waveguides into one of the plurality of first waveguides, respectively. Since both of the inventions relate to optical devices, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to use an optical splitter as disclosed by Frolov in the device of Onaka for the purpose of processing multiple beams or wavelengths in a compact, robust device.
Still regarding claims 13 and 17, the proposed combination of Onaka and Frolov teaches the claimed invention except for a plurality of mode conversion structures. Jiang discloses a plurality of mode conversion connectors (651 in Fig. 6; 751 in Fig. 7) disposed between a plurality of waveguides (610) and a photonic circuit (620) and configured to transform a mode size of each of the waveguides to a mode size of the photonic circuit. Jiang further discloses the diameters of the mode conversion connectors are tapered such that a diameter of the plurality of waveguides is reduced to a diameter suitable to the photonic integrated circuit. Since all of the inventions relate to optical devices, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to use a plurality of mode conversion connectors as disclosed by Jiang in the device of the proposed combination of Onaka and Frolov for the purpose of improving coupling efficiency. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious for the mode conversion connectors to be supported by the PLC in order to form a compact, robust device.
Regarding claim 14, Onaka discloses the wavelength division multiplexer (922) comprises a first terminal, a second terminal, and a third terminal, wherein the first terminal connects to a second end of the first waveguide which connects to the doped fiber (932); the second terminal connects to a second end of the second waveguide from the photonic circuit (915); the third terminal connects to the third waveguide from the laser (921); and wherein the third waveguide comprises a first signal having a second wavelength, and wherein the first fiber comprises a second signal, wherein the second signal is generated based at least in part on the first signal, and wherein the second signal comprises the second wavelength (923 is an amplifying fiber which generates a second signal, and the wavelength is not disclosed as changing).
Regarding claim 15, Onaka discloses the first waveguide is doped in Fig. 1B and paragraph 0111.
Regarding claim 18, the proposed combination of Onaka, Frolov and Jiang teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating a second pump laser. However, additional/second pump lasers are ubiquitous in the art of optical signals, and Frolov discloses a second pump waveguide in Fig. 1, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a second pump laser at the first wavelength in order to provide redundancy or increased pump power.
Regarding claim 21, Jiang in view of the rejection above, further discloses the plurality of mode conversion connectors comprise one or more grooves or fiber array interfaces (661 in Fig. 6) configured to transform the mode size of each of the second waveguides to the mode size of the photonic circuit.
Regarding claims 22 and 23, Frolov in view of the rejection above, further discloses one or more passive optical circuit elements (623, 624) configured to enable manipulation of the emitted light from the pump laser and the optical transposer is further configured for optical isolation, filtering, and/or polarization management (paragraph 0048 describes how light emitted from the pump laser 605 passes through pump-kill filters 623, 624).
Regarding claim 24, the proposed combination of Onaka, Frolov and Jiang teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating optical signals received by the optical transposer from the photonic circuit via the of second waveguide of the plurality of waveguide assemblies are directed to the optical amplifier via the first waveguides; and optical signals received by the optical transposer from the optical amplifier via the first waveguides are directed to the photonic circuit via the plurality of second waveguides. However, pump and signal light that can travel in opposite directions to form a backward pumped amplifier are ubiquitous in the art of optical signals, as such, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optical signals received by the optical transposer from the photonic circuit via the plurality of second waveguides are directed to the optical amplifier via the plurality of first waveguides; and optical signals received by the optical transposer from the optical amplifier via the plurality of first waveguides are directed to the photonic circuit via the plurality of second waveguides in order to increase the versatility of the device.
Regarding claim 25, Frolov in view of the rejection above, further discloses a substrate (606) forming the PLC comprising one of glass, quartz, fused silica, and plastics in paragraph 0048.
Regarding claim 26, Frolov in view of the rejection above, further discloses the PLC is two-dimensional in Fig. 6.
Regarding claim 27, Onaka discloses each of the plurality of waveguide assemblies is configured to direct the laser light at the first wavelength along an undoped path between the laser and the first end of the first waveguide (see Fig. 1B, “optical fiber” between 921 and 922 is undoped as opposed to doped fiber 923). Further, Frolov in view of the rejection above, also discloses each of the plurality of waveguide assemblies is configured to direct the divided laser light at the first wavelength along an undoped path between the optical splitter and the first end of the first waveguide (see Fig. 6, only waveguides 621, 622 are disclosed as being doped).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed September 3, 2026, with respect to claims have been carefully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. However, in order to expedite the prosecution of the application, the relevant portions of Applicant’s response will be addressed.
On pages 10-12, Applicant asserts that the cited references do not teach a passive PLC. However, Frolov specifically states the use of an erbium-doped waveguide amplifier, or EDWA, and that “it is natural and straightforward to integrate an EDWA with other passive or active optical components on the same planar substrate” (see paragraph 0003). Frolov further discloses “Fig.6 schematically shows the layout of an EDWA transceiver module exemplifying the present invention” (paragraph 0047). Thus, the embodiment in Fig. 6 is based on an erbium-doped waveguide amplifier EDWA, which can be integrated with passive optical components. That reads on the claimed “passive PLC.”
It is also noted Applicant emphasizes Onaka and Frolov having “Er-doped waveguides” multiple times in the response. The implication being that the active gain medium within the doped waveguides teaches against a “passive” PLC. However, the gain medium being “active” does not contradict the optical components on the substrate/lightwave circuit being “passive” – they are separate components and operate independently of one another. Applicant’s own specification discloses the use of “active gain medium in doped fibers can be doped with rare-earth elements such as erbium, ytterbium… “ in paragraph 0052. Thus, the use of fibers/waveguides doped with erbium in Frolov do not contradict the use of a passive PLC as detailed above.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general or clerical nature should be directed to the Technology Center 2800 receptionist at telephone number (571) 272-1562.
Chris H. Chu
/CHRIS H CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 October 13, 2026