Drawings
The drawings are objected to because: Within Fig.9, both paths from step 906 are indicated as “No”. According to Para.[0089], the path to step 904 should be indicated as “No” and the path to step 908 should be indicated as “Yes”.
Claim Objections
Claims 14, 16 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Within claim 14, line 11: “selecting based on at least the estimated link quality metric one of” should be “selecting, based on at least the estimated link quality metric, one of”.
Within claim 16, line 1: “The method” should be “The radio”.
Within claim 18, line 1: “The Radio” should be “The radio”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Specifically, the claim limitations “means for estimating” (claim 14, line 10 and claim 18, line 1) and “means for adapting” (claim 14, line 16) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 and 16 recite the limitation “maximum error rate” in line 2. This limitation is not supported within the specification. Examiner recommends changing to “packet error rate” as supported within the specification para.[0076] that states, “One metric for performance of a communication link between a base station and a remote radio on given local channel to support train control is packet error rate.” The claims will be examined as recommended above.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a default rate”. It is unclear to examiner which rate to which the Applicant is referring to. The claim will be examined as if “a default rate” is referring to a default data rate”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.101 because the claimed invention directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding independent claim 1:
Step 1: The claim is directed to a method which falls within the statutory category of a process.
Step 2A Prong I:
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recites an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection.
Claim 1 recites: A method for adapting one or more transmission parameters to transmit packets containing data for train control over a wireless link between a first radio and a second radio in a wireless network supporting positive train control, comprising: estimating with the first radio a link quality metric for the wireless link based on packets received by the first radio from the second radio over the wireless link; determining with the first radio a data rate for transmitting data over the wireless link to the second radio, wherein determining the data rate comprises selecting a transmit data rate from a plurality of predetermined data rates based on the link quality metric for the wireless link, each of the plurality of predetermined data rates having a corresponding predetermined modulation and coding scheme capable of transmitting data at the predetermined data rate over a wireless link having the estimated link quality metric while meeting at least one or more predefined performance metrics; and transmitting with the first radio a packet comprised of at least a header portion and a payload portion over the link to the second radio, the payload portion being transmitted at the transmit data rate using the predetermined modulation and coding scheme corresponding to the transmit data rate.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, “estimating...” in the context of this claim encompasses a person looking at data collected and deriving further data and “determining” in the context of this claim encompasses a person using the provided data to form a simple judgement. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong II:
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
A method for adapting one or more transmission parameters to transmit packets containing data for train control over a wireless link between a first radio and a second radio in a wireless network supporting positive train control, comprising: estimating with the first radio a link quality metric for the wireless link based on packets received by the first radio from the second radio over the wireless link; determining with the first radio a data rate for transmitting data over the wireless link to the second radio, wherein determining the data rate comprises selecting a transmit data rate from a plurality of predetermined data rates based on the link quality metric for the wireless link, each of the plurality of predetermined data rates having a corresponding predetermined modulation and coding scheme capable of transmitting data at the predetermined data rate over a wireless link having the estimated link quality metric while meeting at least one or more predefined performance metrics; and transmitting with the first radio a packet comprised of at least a header portion and a payload portion over the link to the second radio, the payload portion being transmitted at the transmit data rate using the predetermined modulation and coding scheme corresponding to the transmit data rate.
For the following reasons, the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of “the plurality of predetermined data rates having…” the Examiner submits that these additional limitations merely function to further limit the abstract idea. The recitation of the specific variables (i.e. predetermined data rate, estimated quality metric) or the context in which the variables were obtained (e.g., corresponding predetermined modulation and coding scheme) is insufficient as “merely selecting information, by content or source, for collection, analysis, and display does nothing significant to differentiate a process from ordinary mental processes, whose implicit exclusion from §101 undergirds the information-based category of abstract ideas (See Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1355 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Further, the limitations of “transmitting with the first radio….” and “ the payload portion being transmitted” are insignificant extra-solution activities.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional limitations of “transmitting with the first radio….” and “ the payload portion being transmitted” the examiner submits that the limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitation of “transmitting with the first radio….” and “ the payload portion being transmitted” is well-understood, routine, and conventional activities because they are basic operations of receiving or transmitting data over a network. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2, 3, 7, 8, 9 and 11 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. The additional limitations merely function to further limit the abstract idea. The recitation of the specific variables (i.e. predetermined data rate, estimated quality metric) or the context in which the variables were obtained (e.g., corresponding predetermined modulation and coding scheme) is insufficient as “merely selecting information, by content or source, for collection, analysis, and display does nothing significant to differentiate a process from ordinary mental processes, whose implicit exclusion from §101 undergirds the information-based category of abstract ideas (See Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1355 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Dependent claims 5 and 6 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim to be patent eligible. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit).
Dependent claims 4, 10, 12 and 13 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of the dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application as they are basic operations of receiving or transmitting data over a network. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner.
Regarding independent claim 14:
Step 1: The claim is directed to a method which falls within the statutory category of a process.
Step 2A Prong I:
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 14 includes limitations that recites an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection.
Claim 14 recites: A remote radio for transmitting real time application messages from a base station radio of a wireless network capable of supporting positive train control, comprising: a receiver for receiving packets transmitted over a wireless link from a base station radio, the receiver configured for receiving, demodulating, and decoding wireless data packets sent with any one of a plurality of predetermined transmission schemes, the plurality of predetermined transmission schemes including a default transmission scheme and one or more faster transmission scheme for transmitting at higher data rates; a transmitter configured to adapt dynamically the transmission scheme with which it transmits data over the wireless link wireless packets containing positive train control messages; means for estimating a link quality metric for the wireless link based on packets received by the receiver and selecting based on at least the estimated link quality metric one of the plurality of predetermined transmission schemes for transmitting a payload of a wireless packet, the selected transmission scheme being capable of transmitting data at a faster data rate while meeting one or more predefined performance metrics established for transmitting real time application message data; and means for adapting the transmitter to transmit at least a payload portion of the wireless packet over the wireless link with the selected transmission scheme.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, “estimating...” in the context of this claim encompasses a person looking at data collected and deriving further data and “determining” in the context of this claim encompasses a person using the provided data to form a simple judgement. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong II:
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
Claim 14 recites: A remote radio for transmitting real time application messages from a base station radio of a wireless network capable of supporting positive train control, comprising: a receiver for receiving packets transmitted over a wireless link from a base station radio, the receiver configured for receiving, demodulating, and decoding wireless data packets sent with any one of a plurality of predetermined transmission schemes, the plurality of predetermined transmission schemes including a default transmission scheme and one or more faster transmission scheme for transmitting at higher data rates; a transmitter configured to adapt dynamically the transmission scheme with which it transmits data over the wireless link wireless packets containing positive train control messages; means for estimating a link quality metric for the wireless link based on packets received by the receiver and selecting based on at least the estimated link quality metric one of the plurality of predetermined transmission schemes for transmitting a payload of a wireless packet, the selected transmission scheme being capable of transmitting data at a faster data rate while meeting one or more predefined performance metrics established for transmitting real time application message data; and means for adapting the transmitter to transmit at least a payload portion of the wireless packet over the wireless link with the selected transmission scheme.
For the following reasons, the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of “the plurality of predetermined transmission schemes including…” the Examiner submits that these additional limitations merely function to further limit the abstract idea. The recitation of the specific variables (i.e. predetermined transmission schemes, predefined performance metrics) or the context in which the variables were obtained is insufficient as “merely selecting information, by content or source, for collection, analysis, and display does nothing significant to differentiate a process from ordinary mental processes, whose implicit exclusion from §101 undergirds the information-based category of abstract ideas (See Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1355 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Further, the limitations of “transmitting at higher data rates….” , “transmitting data at a faster data rate”, “receiving…” and “ transmitting real time…data” are insignificant extra-solution activities.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claim 14 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional limitations of “transmitting at higher data rates….”, “transmitting data at a faster data rate”, “receiving…” and “ transmitting real time….data” the examiner submits that the limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitation of “transmitting at higher data rates….”, “transmitting data at a faster data rate”, “receiving…” and “ transmitting real time….data” is well-understood, routine, and conventional activities because they are basic operations of receiving or transmitting data over a network. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 15, 16, 17 and 18 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claims to be patent eligible. The additional limitations merely function to further limit the abstract idea. The recitation of the specific variables (i.e. predetermined data rate, estimated quality metric) or the context in which the variables were obtained (e.g., corresponding predetermined modulation and coding scheme) is insufficient as “merely selecting information, by content or source, for collection, analysis, and display does nothing significant to differentiate a process from ordinary mental processes, whose implicit exclusion from §101 undergirds the information-based category of abstract ideas (See Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1355 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Therefore, claims 1-18 are ineligible under 35 U.S.C.101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20090161641 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Kim discloses a method for adapting one or more transmission parameters to transmit packets containing data for train control over a wireless link between a first radio and a second radio in a wireless network supporting positive train control, comprising: estimating with the first radio a link quality metric for the wireless link based on packets received by the first radio from the second radio over the wireless link (722; Fig.7c and Para.[0080], lines 7-9); determining with the first radio a data rate for transmitting data over the wireless link to the second radio (724; Fig.7c), wherein determining the data rate comprises selecting a transmit data rate from a plurality of predetermined data rates based on the link quality metric for the wireless link, each of the plurality of predetermined data rates having a corresponding predetermined modulation and coding scheme capable of transmitting data at the predetermined data rate over a wireless link having the estimated link quality metric while meeting at least one or more predefined performance metrics (724; Fig.7c and Para.[0079], lines 4-10); and transmitting with the first radio a packet comprised of at least a header portion and a payload portion over the link to the second radio, the payload portion being transmitted at the transmit data rate using the predetermined modulation and coding scheme corresponding to the transmit data rate (726; Fig.7c and Para.[0059], lines 2-4, 11-15) .
The recitations “for train control” and “supporting positive train control” have not been given patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Regarding claim 2: Kim discloses a method wherein the link quality metric is a signal to noise ratio (Para.[0079], lines 8-9).
Regarding claim 3: Kim discloses a method wherein the at least one or more predefined performance metrics comprises a .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of McHenry et al. (US 20100097952 A1).
Regarding claim 4: Kim does not teach a method wherein the header portion is transmitted at a default rate.
However, McHenry teaches wherein the header portion is transmitted at a default rate (Para.[0224], lines 26-29). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kim with the adaptive modulated header of McHenry to increase transmission efficiency by utilizing data overhead effectively with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Attar et al. (US 20040038697 A1).
Regarding claim 5: Kim teaches a method with a first radio and a second radio (Para.[0006], lines 29-31). Kim does not teach wherein the first radio is a remote radio and the second radio is a base station radio, the base station radio controlling the use of a local channel of the wireless network in a geographic area covered by the base station.
However, Attar teaches wherein the first radio is a remote radio (access terminal 104; Fig.1 and Para.[0009], lines 1-5) and the second radio is a base station radio (access point 100; Fig.1 and Para.[0008], lines 1-4), the base station radio controlling the use of a local channel of the wireless network in a geographic area covered by the base station (Para.[0008], lines 4-5 and Para.[0040], lines 3-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kim with the base station and control of the local channel of Attar to allow base stations to effectively control geographical sections of a communication network for efficient and accurate transmissions with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 6: Kim teaches a method including a predetermined multiple access scheme (Para.[0059], lines 11-15). Kim does not teach wherein the base station radio controls access to the local channel, the base station radio allocating slots to remote radios using the local channel for transmitting packets containing data.
However, Attar teaches wherein the base station radio controls access to the local channel (para.[0040], lines 3-4), the base station radio allocating slots to remote radios using the local channel for transmitting packets containing data (Para.[0074]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kim with the allocation procedures of Attar to allow base stations to effectively control geographical sections of a communication network for efficient and accurate transmissions with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 7: Kim does not teach a method wherein the remote radio estimates the link quality metric using unicast or broadest transmissions of the base station over a period of time.
However, Attar teaches wherein the remote radio estimates the link quality metric using unicast or broadest transmissions of the base station over a period of time (Para.[0040], lines 13-17, 21-24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kim with the time period estimations of Attar to ensure accurate link quality estimations with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 8: Kim does not teach a method wherein the period of time comprises a sliding window of time.
However, Attar teaches wherein the period of time comprises a sliding window of time (Para.[0077], lines 9-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kim with the time period estimations of Attar to ensure accurate link quality estimations with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 9: Kim does not teach wherein the link quality metric is an average of estimates of the link quality metric made over the period of time.
However, Attar teaches wherein the link quality metric is an average of estimates of the link quality metric made over the period of time (Para.[0077], lines 9-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kim with the time period estimations of Attar to ensure accurate link quality estimations with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 10, 14, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Siriwongpairat et al. (US 8340056 B2).
Regarding claim 10: Kim teaches a method including transmitting the determined data rate to the second radio by the first radio (724; Fig.7c). Kim does not teach transmitting at a default data rate, a control packet requesting the second radio to allocate to the first radio a transmission slot in a multiple access scheme for a local channel used by the link to transmit train control data.
However, Siriwongpairat teaches transmitting at a default data rate, a control packet requesting the second radio to allocate to the first radio a transmission slot in a multiple access scheme for a local channel (Col.18, lines 44-46) used by the link to transmit train control data (Col.1, lines 14-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kim with the control packet and slot allocation of Siriwongpairat to provide effective and accurate transmissions within the wireless network with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 14: Kim teaches a remote radio for transmitting real time application messages from a base station radio of a wireless network (Fig.1) comprising:
a receiver (101; Fig.1) for receiving packets transmitted over a wireless link from a base station radio, the receiver configured for receiving, demodulating, and decoding wireless data packets sent with any one of a plurality of predetermined transmission schemes, the plurality of predetermined transmission schemes including a default transmission scheme and one or more faster transmission scheme for transmitting at higher data rates (Para.[0059], lines 11-15);
a transmitter (100; Fig.1) configured to adapt dynamically the transmission scheme with which it transmits data over the wireless link (Para.[0080], lines 7-9);
means for estimating a link quality metric for the wireless link based on packets received by the receiver and selecting based on at least the estimated link quality metric one of the plurality of predetermined transmission schemes for transmitting a payload of a wireless packet (Para.[0080], lines 7-9), the selected transmission scheme being capable of transmitting data at a faster data rate while meeting one or more predefined performance metrics established for transmitting real time application message data (Para.[0079], lines 4-10);
and means for adapting the transmitter to transmit at least a payload portion of the wireless packet over the wireless link with the selected transmission scheme (726; Fig.7c).
Kim does not teach the wireless network supporting positive train control or wireless packets containing positive train control messages.
However, Siriwongpairat teaches a wireless network supporting positive train control and wireless packets containing positive train control messages (Col.1, lines 14-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the radio of Kim with the positive train control data of Siriwongpairat to allow effective transmission and adaptation of train control data with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 15: Kim further teaches a radio wherein the link quality metric is a signal to noise ratio (Para.[0079], lines 8-9).
Regarding claim 16: Kim further teaches a radio wherein the at least one or more predefined performance metrics comprises a .
Claims 11, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Baum et al. (US 6385462 B1).
Regarding claim 11: Kim does not teach a method further comprising determining with the first radio a transmit power for the link, the transmit power being set equal to a default transmit power or, if the estimated link quality metric exceeds the link quality metric required for selecting a highest data rate among the predetermined data rates, to a lower transmit power that allows for the transmission of data over the link at the highest data rate while meeting the one or more predetermined performance metrics.
However, Baum teaches determining with the first radio a transmit power for the link (Col.4, lines 10-13 and 35-38), the transmit power being set equal to a default transmit power or, if the estimated link quality metric exceeds the link quality metric required for selecting a highest data rate among the predetermined data rates, to a lower transmit power that allows for the transmission of data over the link at the highest data rate while meeting the one or more predetermined performance metrics (Col.4, lines 47-62). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kim with the transmit power control of Baum to provide efficient power utilization and lowest signal interference with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 12: Kim teaches a method including transmitting over the link a packet containing the determined data rate from the first radio to the second radio (726; Fig.7c). Kim does not teach the packet including the transmit power determined with the first radio.
However, Baum teaches the transmit power being determined with the first radio (Col.4, lines 10-13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kim with the determined transmit power of Baum to provider power control indication for efficient power utilization and lowest signal interference with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 13: Kim teaches a method including transmitting over the link a packet containing the determined data rate from the first radio to the second radio (726; Fig.7c). Kim does not teach the packet including an indication of the transmit power determined with the first radio.
However, Baum teaches the indication of the transmit power being determined with the first radio (Col.4, lines 10-13). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kim with the determined transmit power of Baum to provider power control indication for efficient power utilization and lowest signal interference with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Siriwongpairat and McHenry.
Regarding claim 17: Kim does not teach wherein a header portion of the wireless packet is transmitted using the default transmission scheme.
However, McHenry teaches wherein a header portion of the wireless packet is transmitted using the default transmission scheme (Para.[0224], lines 26-29). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kim with the adaptive modulated header of McHenry to increase transmission efficiency by utilizing data overhead effectively with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Siriwongpairat and Attar.
Regarding claim 18: Kim does not teach wherein the means for estimating a link quality metric for the wireless link estimates the link quality metric using unicast or broadest transmissions from a base station over the wireless link received by the receiver over a preceding period of time.
However, Attar teaches wherein the means for estimating a link quality metric for the wireless link estimates the link quality metric using unicast or broadest transmissions from a base station over the wireless link received by the receiver over a preceding period of time (Para.[0040], lines 13-17, 21-24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kim with the time period estimations of Attar to ensure accurate link quality estimations with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/HEAVEN R BUFFINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/ZACHARY L KUHFUSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615