DETAILED ACTION
Amendment Entered
In response to the amendment filed on November 24th, 2025, amended claims 1, 3-7, and 10-12 are entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks and amendments with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been fully considered. The rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “the output circuit generates a pulse sensing current corresponding to the pulse vibration at the source terminal of the output transistor” in lines 11-13. Claim 6 recites “the output circuit generates a pulse sensing current corresponding to the pulse vibration at the source terminal of the output transistor” in lines 13-15.
Although the Applicant’s Specification recites “the switch T5 in the output circuit 13 may be an N-type MOSFET. By receiving the sensing signal Vs at the control terminal (such as a gate) and receiving the reference signal at the second terminal (such as a source), the switch T5 may generate the pulse sensing current Is according to a voltage difference value between the control terminal and the second terminal thereof. In this way, components of the noise in the sensing signal Vs may be eliminated when the reference signal Vn is deducted from the sensing signal Vs, and thus the pulse sensing current Is not affected by the noise is generated at the output terminal OUT to offset the noise interference” in [0025], there is insufficient support for the pulse sensing current being generated at the source terminal.
Furthermore, even though the Applicant argues that support for the new amendments can be found in Figure 2A, there is still no support for element “Is” being generated at the source terminal, which is assumed to be equivalent to the second input terminal, in Figure 2A.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the source input terminal" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further, it is unclear as to whether this limitation is referring to the previously introduced “source terminal” in line 8 of Claim 1, or a separate element.
Claim 1 recites the "the source terminal" in line 12. It is unclear as to whether this limitation is referring to the previously introduced “source terminal” in line 8 of Claim 1, "the source input terminal" in line 10, or a separate element.
Claim 1 recites “the noise signal in the pulse sensing current” in line 14. It is unclear as to whether this recitation of the “noise signal” is referring to the previously introduced “noise signal” from line 3 of Claim 1, or a separate element. Examiner notes that in line 3, the “noise signal” is part of the “sensing signal”, whereas in line 14, the “noise signal” is part of the “pulse sensing current”. Clarification is requested.
Claim 2 recites “a skin surface of a user” in line 4. It is unclear as to whether this limitation is referring to the previously introduced “skin surface of a user” in line 2 of Claim 1, or a separate element.
Claim 4 recites “second switch is coupled to the gate terminal” in lines 9-10. This limitation is unclear because Claim 1 previously recited that the source input terminal of the output transistor is coupled to the reference circuit, while the gate terminal of the output transistor is coupled to the pressure sensing circuit. Therefore, it is unclear as to whether the Applicant meant to have Claim 4 recite wherein the “second switch is coupled to the source input terminal” or “second switch is coupled to the source terminal” instead, which is actually what is recited in dependent Claim 11. Clarification is requested.
Claim 6 recites “the noise signal in the pulse sensing current” in line 16. It is unclear as to whether this recitation of the “noise signal” is referring to the previously introduced “noise signal” from line 5 of Claim 6, or a separate element. Examiner notes that in line 5, the “noise signal” is part of the “sensing signal”, whereas in line 16, the “noise signal” is part of the “pulse sensing current”. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu (U.S. Patent No. 9,011,343; previously cited) in view of Lee et al (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0206736; previously cited) and Ikeyama (U.S. Patent No. 4,664,127; previously cited).
Regarding Claim 1, Shimizu discloses a pulse sensor (Biological signal measuring apparatus; Abstract), comprising:
a pressure sensing circuit (sensor 21), sensing a pulse vibration from a skin surface of a user to generate a sensing signal comprising a pressure signal (the sensor 21 detects an oscillatory wave (a pulse wave) based on a pulsing motion of a radial artery. A signal processing of the pulse wave is carried out to output a sensor signal P1; Column 8 Lines 60-63) and a noise signal (a pulse wave is measured as a waveform that is generated in a cyclic manner, and a spiny waveform that is generated on an irregular base is mixed to the signal as an electromagnetic or mechanical noise. A waveform of a pulse wave contains a noise in which two components that are a slow fluctuation noise that is generated by a breathing operation and a body motion noise having the large amplitude of vibration due to a physical exercise are mixed, and amplitude is dispersed. A sensor signal P1 that is shown in FIG. 8(a) is a signal in which a fluctuation component of a low frequency wave has been removed by an electronic circuitry method, and is a waveform in which a pulse wave having the dispersed amplitude on an almost flat base line and a spiny noise signal are mixed; Column 8 Line 64 – Column 9 Line 10), wherein the pressure signal corresponds to the pulse vibration (the sensor 21 detects an oscillatory wave (a pulse wave) based on a pulsing motion of a radial artery. A signal processing of the pulse wave is carried out to output a sensor signal P1; Column 8 Lines 60-63);
a reference circuit (reference value signal memory part 23), sensing a signal corresponding to at least a portion of the noise signal from the skin surface to generate a reference signal (The reference value signal memory part 23 stores a threshold value for distinguishing a signal and a noise, and is configured to output a reference value signal P0; Column 9 Lines 11-13); and
an output circuit (oscillatory wave detection part 22), having a drain terminal (the oscillatory wave detection part 22 outputs an oscillatory wave signal P2; Column 9 Lines 28-31), a source terminal (reference value signal P0 are input to the oscillatory wave detection part 22; Column 9 Lines 28-31), and a gate terminal (The sensor signal P1…input to the oscillatory wave detection part 22; Column 9 Lines 28-31), wherein the gate terminal of the output circuit is coupled to the pressure sensing circuit (The sensor signal P1…input to the oscillatory wave detection part 22; Column 9 Lines 28-31), the source input terminal of the output circuit is coupled to the reference circuit (reference value signal P0 are input to the oscillatory wave detection part 22; Column 9 Lines 28-31), and the output circuit generates a pulse sensing current corresponding to the pulse vibration at the source terminal of the output circuit according to a difference between the sensing signal and the reference signal, as to reduce the noise signal in the pulse sensing current (The sensor signal P1 and the reference value signal P0 are input to the oscillatory wave detection part 22, and the oscillatory wave detection part 22 outputs an oscillatory wave signal P2. The sensor signal P1 and the reference value signal P0 are compared with each other as shown in FIG. 8(a), and the sensor signal P1 having amplitude that is larger than that of the reference value signal P0 is output as the oscillatory wave signal P2 as shown in FIG. 8(b); Column 9 Lines 28-36).
Although Shimizu discloses a reference circuit, Shimizu fails to specifically disclose wherein the reference circuit senses an electrical signal corresponding to at least a portion of the noise signal from the skin surface to generate a reference signal.
In a similar technical field, Lee discloses a blood pressure measurement device and method (Abstract), wherein the reference circuit senses an electrical signal corresponding to at least a portion of the noise signal from the skin surface to generate a reference signal (the blood pressure measurement device 10 c of this embodiment further includes a calibration electrode 180 c for filtering undesired interference noise, or generating a calibration value with the first electrode 120 to produce an electrocardio signal average with the first electrode 120 and the second electrode 130 c, thereby obtaining a more accurate electrocardio signal; [0053]; The configuration of the calibration electrode 180 can filter the undesired noise signal away. In addition, the calibration electrode 180 and the first electrode 120 may generate a calibration value for averaging with the electrocardio signal generated by the first electrode 120 and the second electrode 130, thereby obtaining a more precise electrocardio signal…the above-mentioned calibration procedure takes the average of the calibration values as a reference for modifying or revoking the improper values, such as the maximum value and the minimum value. In addition, it is possible to filter the noise signal by capacitors for performing the desired calibration to obtain a more reliable electrocardio signal; [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the noise filtering teachings of Lee into the invention of Shimizu in order to filter out undesired interference noise to obtain a more accurate, precise, and reliable electrocardio signal (Lee [0053, 0061]).
Shimizu and Lee fail to disclose wherein the output circuit comprises an output transistor.
In a similar technical field, Ikeyama discloses a device for measuring heartbeats (Abstract), wherein the output circuit comprises an output transistor (The phototransistors PT of the heartbeat sensors are connected in parallel to each other, each PT having one end connected to a power source and the other end connected to input terminals of analog switches AS1 and AS2. The analog switches AS1 and AS2 comprise each ten analog switching elements which have their output terminals commonly connected together. Connected to input terminals of those elements are the output terminals of the heartbeat sensors. Control signals SG1 and SG2 output from a microcomputer CPU are respectively applied to conduction control terminals of the analog switches AS1 and AS2 (each terminal including 10 lines). An output terminal (SG3) of the analog switch AS1 is connected to an input terminal of an analog switch AS3 through a demodulator DEM, and an output terminal (SG4) of the analog switch AS2 is connected to an input terminal of an analog switch AS4. Output terminals of the analog switches AS3 and AS4 are commonly connected together and then connected to an analog input terminal of an analog/digital converter ADC. The analog/digital converter ADC is in turn connected to the microcomputer CPU; Column 4 Lines 34-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the transistor teachings of Ikeyama into those of Shimizu and Lee in order to ensure that the circuitry comprises a transistor to provide connections between the input and output terminals, the power source, and the microprocessor (Ikeyama Column 4 Lines 34-55).
Regarding Claim 5, Shimizu discloses wherein the output circuit further comprises a first switch (measuring switch 8) and a means for receiving a first reference voltage, reference signal, and a sensing signal (group memory means 4) and providing the pulse sensing current to the source terminal of the output circuit according to the difference between the sensing signal and the reference signal (The sensor signal P1 and the reference value signal P0 are input to the oscillatory wave detection part 22, and the oscillatory wave detection part 22 outputs an oscillatory wave signal P2. The sensor signal P1 and the reference value signal P0 are compared with each other as shown in FIG. 8(a), and the sensor signal P1 having amplitude that is larger than that of the reference value signal P0 is output as the oscillatory wave signal P2 as shown in FIG. 8(b); Column 9 Lines 28-36).
Shimizu and Lee fail to disclose wherein the output circuit comprises an output transistor, a first switch having a first terminal, a second terminal, and a control terminal, wherein the terminals receive signals and the switch provides currents to the terminals.
In a similar technical field, Ikeyama discloses a device for measuring heartbeats (Abstract), wherein the output circuit comprises an output transistor, a first switch having a first terminal, a second terminal, and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal of the first switch receives a first reference voltage, the control terminal of the first switch receives the sensing signal, the second terminal of the first switch receives the reference signal (The phototransistors PT of the heartbeat sensors are connected in parallel to each other, each PT having one end connected to a power source and the other end connected to input terminals of analog switches AS1 and AS2. The analog switches AS1 and AS2 comprise each ten analog switching elements which have their output terminals commonly connected together. Connected to input terminals of those elements are the output terminals of the heartbeat sensors. Control signals SG1 and SG2 output from a microcomputer CPU are respectively applied to conduction control terminals of the analog switches AS1 and AS2 (each terminal including 10 lines). An output terminal (SG3) of the analog switch AS1 is connected to an input terminal of an analog switch AS3 through a demodulator DEM, and an output terminal (SG4) of the analog switch AS2 is connected to an input terminal of an analog switch AS4. Output terminals of the analog switches AS3 and AS4 are commonly connected together and then connected to an analog input terminal of an analog/digital converter ADC. The analog/digital converter ADC is in turn connected to the microcomputer CPU; Column 4 Lines 34-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the terminal teachings of Ikeyama into those of Shimizu and Lee in order to ensure that the circuitry comprises connections between the input and output terminals, the power source, and the microprocessor (Ikeyama Column 4 Lines 34-55).
Claims 6-8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu, Lee, Ikeyama, and Kang et al (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0168592; previously cited).
Regarding Claim 6, Shimizu discloses a pulse sensing system (Biological signal measuring apparatus; Abstract), comprising:
a pulse sensor (sensor 21) comprising:
a pressure sensing circuit (sensor 21), sensing a pulse vibration from a skin surface of a user to generate a sensing signal comprising a pressure signal (the sensor 21 detects an oscillatory wave (a pulse wave) based on a pulsing motion of a radial artery. A signal processing of the pulse wave is carried out to output a sensor signal P1; Column 8 Lines 60-63) and a noise signal (a pulse wave is measured as a waveform that is generated in a cyclic manner, and a spiny waveform that is generated on an irregular base is mixed to the signal as an electromagnetic or mechanical noise. A waveform of a pulse wave contains a noise in which two components that are a slow fluctuation noise that is generated by a breathing operation and a body motion noise having the large amplitude of vibration due to a physical exercise are mixed, and amplitude is dispersed. A sensor signal P1 that is shown in FIG. 8(a) is a signal in which a fluctuation component of a low frequency wave has been removed by an electronic circuitry method, and is a waveform in which a pulse wave having the dispersed amplitude on an almost flat base line and a spiny noise signal are mixed; Column 8 Line 64 – Column 9 Line 10), wherein the pressure signal corresponds to the pulse vibration (the sensor 21 detects an oscillatory wave (a pulse wave) based on a pulsing motion of a radial artery. A signal processing of the pulse wave is carried out to output a sensor signal P1; Column 8 Lines 60-63);
a reference circuit (reference value signal memory part 23), sensing a signal corresponding to at least a portion of the noise signal from the skin surface to generate a reference signal (The reference value signal memory part 23 stores a threshold value for distinguishing a signal and a noise, and is configured to output a reference value signal P0; Column 9 Lines 11-13); and
an output circuit (oscillatory wave detection part 22), having a drain terminal (the oscillatory wave detection part 22 outputs an oscillatory wave signal P2; Column 9 Lines 28-31), a source terminal (reference value signal P0 are input to the oscillatory wave detection part 22; Column 9 Lines 28-31), and a gate terminal (The sensor signal P1…input to the oscillatory wave detection part 22; Column 9 Lines 28-31), wherein the gate terminal of the output circuit is coupled to the pressure sensing circuit (The sensor signal P1…input to the oscillatory wave detection part 22; Column 9 Lines 28-31), the source terminal of the output circuit is coupled to the reference circuit (reference value signal P0 are input to the oscillatory wave detection part 22; Column 9 Lines 28-31), and the output circuit generates a pulse sensing current corresponding to the pulse vibration at the source terminal of the output circuit according to a difference between the sensing signal and the reference signal, as to reduce the noise signal in the pulse sensing current (The sensor signal P1 and the reference value signal P0 are input to the oscillatory wave detection part 22, and the oscillatory wave detection part 22 outputs an oscillatory wave signal P2. The sensor signal P1 and the reference value signal P0 are compared with each other as shown in FIG. 8(a), and the sensor signal P1 having amplitude that is larger than that of the reference value signal P0 is output as the oscillatory wave signal P2 as shown in FIG. 8(b); Column 9 Lines 28-36).
Although Shimizu discloses a reference circuit, Shimizu fails to specifically disclose wherein the reference circuit senses an electrical signal corresponding to at least a portion of the noise signal from the skin surface to generate a reference signal.
In a similar technical field, Lee discloses a blood pressure measurement device and method (Abstract), wherein the reference circuit senses an electrical signal corresponding to at least a portion of the noise signal from the skin surface to generate a reference signal (the blood pressure measurement device 10 c of this embodiment further includes a calibration electrode 180 c for filtering undesired interference noise, or generating a calibration value with the first electrode 120 to produce an electrocardio signal average with the first electrode 120 and the second electrode 130 c, thereby obtaining a more accurate electrocardio signal; [0053]; The configuration of the calibration electrode 180 can filter the undesired noise signal away. In addition, the calibration electrode 180 and the first electrode 120 may generate a calibration value for averaging with the electrocardio signal generated by the first electrode 120 and the second electrode 130, thereby obtaining a more precise electrocardio signal…the above-mentioned calibration procedure takes the average of the calibration values as a reference for modifying or revoking the improper values, such as the maximum value and the minimum value. In addition, it is possible to filter the noise signal by capacitors for performing the desired calibration to obtain a more reliable electrocardio signal; [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the noise filtering teachings of Lee into the invention of Shimizu in order to filter out undesired interference noise to obtain a more accurate, precise, and reliable electrocardio signal (Lee [0053, 0061]).
Shimizu and Lee fail to disclose wherein the output circuit comprises an output transistor.
In a similar technical field, Ikeyama discloses a device for measuring heartbeats (Abstract), wherein the output circuit comprises an output transistor (The phototransistors PT of the heartbeat sensors are connected in parallel to each other, each PT having one end connected to a power source and the other end connected to input terminals of analog switches AS1 and AS2. The analog switches AS1 and AS2 comprise each ten analog switching elements which have their output terminals commonly connected together. Connected to input terminals of those elements are the output terminals of the heartbeat sensors. Control signals SG1 and SG2 output from a microcomputer CPU are respectively applied to conduction control terminals of the analog switches AS1 and AS2 (each terminal including 10 lines). An output terminal (SG3) of the analog switch AS1 is connected to an input terminal of an analog switch AS3 through a demodulator DEM, and an output terminal (SG4) of the analog switch AS2 is connected to an input terminal of an analog switch AS4. Output terminals of the analog switches AS3 and AS4 are commonly connected together and then connected to an analog input terminal of an analog/digital converter ADC. The analog/digital converter ADC is in turn connected to the microcomputer CPU; Column 4 Lines 34-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the terminal teachings of Ikeyama into those of Shimizu and Lee in order to ensure that the circuitry comprises a transistor to provide connections between the input and output terminals, the power source, and the microprocessor (Ikeyama Column 4 Lines 34-55).
Although Shimizu, Lee, and Ikeyama teach a pressure sensor, Shimizu, Lee, and Ikeyama fail to disclose a sensing array, comprising a plurality of pulse sensors.
In a similar technical field, Kang discloses an apparatus for analysing pulse using array of pressure sensors (Abstract), comprising a sensing array (array of pressure sensors 100), comprising a plurality of pulse sensors (The array of pressure sensors (110) may comprise a plurality of pressure sensors, which are preferably piezoresistive pressure sensors, that measure the applied pressure and the pulse pressure at the pulse diagnosis site; [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the sensing array teachings of Kang into those of Shimizu, Lee, and Ikeyama in order to enable the number and area of the sensors to be adequately changed depending on the particular site to be diagnosed and the size of the particular artery (Kang [0037]).
Regarding Claim 7, Shimizu discloses wherein the sensing array is controlled by an output selection signal to respectively determine whether to output the pulse sensing current (The sensor signal P1 and the reference value signal P0 are input to the oscillatory wave detection part 22, and the oscillatory wave detection part 22 outputs an oscillatory wave signal P2. The sensor signal P1 and the reference value signal P0 are compared with each other as shown in FIG. 8(a), and the sensor signal P1 having amplitude that is larger than that of the reference value signal P0 is output as the oscillatory wave signal P2 as shown in FIG. 8(b); Column 9 Lines 28-36).
Shimizu and Lee fail to specifically disclose a plurality of drive switches, respectively coupled to the source terminals of the output transistors.
In a similar technical field, Ikeyama discloses a device for measuring heartbeats (Abstract), further comprising a plurality of drive switches, respectively coupled to the source terminals of the output transistors (The phototransistors PT of the heartbeat sensors are connected in parallel to each other, each PT having one end connected to a power source and the other end connected to input terminals of analog switches AS1 and AS2. The analog switches AS1 and AS2 comprise each ten analog switching elements which have their output terminals commonly connected together. Connected to input terminals of those elements are the output terminals of the heartbeat sensors. Control signals SG1 and SG2 output from a microcomputer CPU are respectively applied to conduction control terminals of the analog switches AS1 and AS2 (each terminal including 10 lines). An output terminal (SG3) of the analog switch AS1 is connected to an input terminal of an analog switch AS3 through a demodulator DEM, and an output terminal (SG4) of the analog switch AS2 is connected to an input terminal of an analog switch AS4. Output terminals of the analog switches AS3 and AS4 are commonly connected together and then connected to an analog input terminal of an analog/digital converter ADC. The analog/digital converter ADC is in turn connected to the microcomputer CPU; Column 4 Lines 34-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the terminal teachings of Ikeyama into those of Shimizu and Lee in order to ensure that the circuitry comprises connections between the input and output terminals, the power source, and the microprocessor (Ikeyama Column 4 Lines 34-55).
Regarding Claim 8, Shimizu discloses a drive circuit, providing the output selection signals enabled in sequence to the sensing array (A sequence of processing operations described above can also be repeated. In the case in which a user repeats a measurement of a pulse wave and a new oscillatory wave signal P2(2) is generated, the oscillatory wave period measuring part 3 measures a time interval of the new oscillatory wave signal P2(2) from the oscillatory wave signal P2(2) and a clock signal C, and outputs a new plurality of periodic data Da(2) in a serial manner; Column 14 Lines 26-33); and a pulse analysis circuit, wherein the plurality of pulse sensors receive the pulse sensing currents and analyze a frequency spectrum of the pulse sensing currents to generate pulse sensing information (The microprocessor 10 controls the entire operation of the biological signal measuring apparatus 1, and assumes a main function of inputting a sensor signal P1 and outputting the vibration frequency data Db; Column 16 Lines 19-22).
Regarding Claim 12, Shimizu discloses wherein each of the output circuits comprises a first switch (measuring switch 8) and a means for receiving a first reference voltage, a reference signal, and a sensing signal (group memory means 4) and providing the pulse sensing current to the source terminal of the output circuit according to the difference between the sensing signal and the reference signal (The sensor signal P1 and the reference value signal P0 are input to the oscillatory wave detection part 22, and the oscillatory wave detection part 22 outputs an oscillatory wave signal P2. The sensor signal P1 and the reference value signal P0 are compared with each other as shown in FIG. 8(a), and the sensor signal P1 having amplitude that is larger than that of the reference value signal P0 is output as the oscillatory wave signal P2 as shown in FIG. 8(b); Column 9 Lines 28-36).
Shimizu and Lee fail to disclose wherein the output circuit comprises an output transistor, a first switch having a first terminal, a second terminal, and a control terminal, wherein the terminals receive signals and the switch provides currents to the terminals.
Ikeyama discloses wherein the output circuit comprises an output transistor, a first switch having a first terminal, a second terminal, and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal of the first switch receives a first reference voltage, the control terminal of the first switch receives the sensing signal, the second terminal of the first switch receives the reference signal (The phototransistors PT of the heartbeat sensors are connected in parallel to each other, each PT having one end connected to a power source and the other end connected to input terminals of analog switches AS1 and AS2. The analog switches AS1 and AS2 comprise each ten analog switching elements which have their output terminals commonly connected together. Connected to input terminals of those elements are the output terminals of the heartbeat sensors. Control signals SG1 and SG2 output from a microcomputer CPU are respectively applied to conduction control terminals of the analog switches AS1 and AS2 (each terminal including 10 lines). An output terminal (SG3) of the analog switch AS1 is connected to an input terminal of an analog switch AS3 through a demodulator DEM, and an output terminal (SG4) of the analog switch AS2 is connected to an input terminal of an analog switch AS4. Output terminals of the analog switches AS3 and AS4 are commonly connected together and then connected to an analog input terminal of an analog/digital converter ADC. The analog/digital converter ADC is in turn connected to the microcomputer CPU; Column 4 Lines 34-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the terminal teachings of Ikeyama into those of Shimizu and Lee in order to ensure that the circuitry comprises connections between the input and output terminals, the power source, and the microprocessor (Ikeyama Column 4 Lines 34-55).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu, Lee, and Ikeyama, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Kolar et al (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0235367; previously cited).
Regarding Claim 2, Shimizu fails to disclose wherein the pressure sensing circuit comprises a piezoelectric conversion element having a first electrode and a piezoelectric material layer disposed on the first electrode structure, and the piezoelectric conversion element is for being attached to a skin surface of a user to sense the pulse vibration to generate the sensing signal, wherein the reference circuit comprises a first capacitor, the first capacitor has a second electrode structure, and the first capacitor is for being attached to the skin surface of the user to generate the reference signal according to the base signal.
In a similar technical field, Lee discloses a blood pressure measurement device and method (Abstract), wherein the pressure sensing circuit (blood pressure measurement device 10, body 100) comprises a piezoelectric conversion element having a first electrode structure (first electrode 120) and a piezoelectric material layer disposed on the first electrode structure (the film-type pressure sensing unit 110 may include at least one or more strain gauge, a piezoelectric element or any other component that can sense the pulse; [0046]), and the piezoelectric conversion element is for being attached to a skin surface of a user to sense the pulse vibration to generate the sensing signal (FIG. 3A is a schematic diagram showing a finger contacting the film-type pressure sensing unit 110; [0044]), wherein the reference circuit comprises a second electrode structure (second electrode 130), which is attached to the skin surface of the user to generate the reference signal according to the base signal (the second electrode 130 is disposed on the body 100 and is located corresponding to the first electrode 120. The second electrode 130 can be disposed on the side surface of the body 100, the inner wall of the concave portion 101, or any place of the body 100 that can be easily touched by the user; [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the piezoelectric conversion element teachings of Lee into the invention of Shimizu in order to enable the user to accurately sense the pulse signal through a piezoelectric material, which is light and thin and allows the user to sense the vibration of the pulse sensing surface (Lee [0046]).
Shimizu, Lee, and Ikeyama fail to disclose wherein the reference circuit comprises a first capacitor.
In a similar technical field, Kolar discloses a device for contactless monitoring of patient's vital signs (Abstract), wherein the reference circuit comprises a first capacitor, the first capacitor has a second electrode structure (The deflection of the piezoelectric sensor 7 causes a change in distance between one of the conductive electrodes 9, 10 of the piezoelectric sensor 7 and the third conductive electrode 13 from distance a to distance b. It results in a change of capacitance of the formed capacitor measured between one of the conductive electrodes 9, 10 of the piezoelectric sensor and the third conductive electrode 1; [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the capacitor teachings of Kolar into those of Shimizu, Lee, and Ikeyama in order to enable the method of measurement to react to rapidly caused changes with great accuracy through small changes caused by mechanical expressions of the patient's body (Kolar [0022]).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu, Lee, Ikeyama, and Kolar as applied to Claim 2 above, and further in view of and Cheng (U.S. Publication No. 2010/0289555; previously cited).
Regarding Claim 3, Shimizu discloses wherein the pressure sensing circuit further comprises a first switch (measuring switch 8) and a means for receiving a reference voltage and a scan signal (group memory means 4), storing and outputting the sensing signal (group memory means 4; indication means 6). Lee discloses a piezoelectric conversion element having a first electrode structure (first electrode 120) and a piezoelectric material layer disposed on the first electrode structure (the film-type pressure sensing unit 110 may include at least one or more strain gauge, a piezoelectric element or any other component that can sense the pulse; [0046]).
Shimizu and Lee fail to disclose wherein the first switch has a first terminal, a second terminal, and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal of the first switch is coupled to the piezoelectric conversion element, the second terminal of the first switch is coupled to the gate terminal of the output transistor; a second switch, having a first terminal, a second terminal, and a control terminal, the second terminal of the second switch is coupled to the second terminal of the first switch.
In a similar technical field, Ikeyama discloses a device for measuring heartbeats (Abstract), wherein the first switch has a first terminal, a second terminal, and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal of the first switch is coupled to the piezoelectric conversion element, the second terminal of the first switch is coupled to the gate terminal of the output transistor (The phototransistors PT of the heartbeat sensors are connected in parallel to each other, each PT having one end connected to a power source and the other end connected to input terminals of analog switches AS1 and AS2. The analog switches AS1 and AS2 comprise each ten analog switching elements which have their output terminals commonly connected together. Connected to input terminals of those elements are the output terminals of the heartbeat sensors. Control signals SG1 and SG2 output from a microcomputer CPU are respectively applied to conduction control terminals of the analog switches AS1 and AS2 (each terminal including 10 lines). An output terminal (SG3) of the analog switch AS1 is connected to an input terminal of an analog switch AS3 through a demodulator DEM, and an output terminal (SG4) of the analog switch AS2 is connected to an input terminal of an analog switch AS4. Output terminals of the analog switches AS3 and AS4 are commonly connected together and then connected to an analog input terminal of an analog/digital converter ADC. The analog/digital converter ADC is in turn connected to the microcomputer CPU; Column 4 Lines 34-55; Examiner’s Note: Although Ikeyama does not specifically disclose a piezoelectric conversion element, the piezoelectric conversion element is taught by Lee, which is equivalent to pressure sensing circuit sensor in this case); a second switch, having a first terminal, a second terminal, and a control terminal, the second terminal of the second switch is coupled to the second terminal of the first switch (The phototransistors PT of the heartbeat sensors are connected in parallel to each other, each PT having one end connected to a power source and the other end connected to input terminals of analog switches AS1 and AS2. The analog switches AS1 and AS2 comprise each ten analog switching elements which have their output terminals commonly connected together. Connected to input terminals of those elements are the output terminals of the heartbeat sensors. Control signals SG1 and SG2 output from a microcomputer CPU are respectively applied to conduction control terminals of the analog switches AS1 and AS2 (each terminal including 10 lines). An output terminal (SG3) of the analog switch AS1 is connected to an input terminal of an analog switch AS3 through a demodulator DEM, and an output terminal (SG4) of the analog switch AS2 is connected to an input terminal of an analog switch AS4. Output terminals of the analog switches AS3 and AS4 are commonly connected together and then connected to an analog input terminal of an analog/digital converter ADC. The analog/digital converter ADC is in turn connected to the microcomputer CPU; Column 4 Lines 34-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the terminal teachings of Ikeyama into those of Shimizu and Lee in order to ensure that the circuitry comprises connections between the input and output terminals, the power source, and the microprocessor (Ikeyama Column 4 Lines 34-55).
Shimizu, Lee, Ikeyama, and Kolar fail to disclose wherein the control terminal of the second switch receives a reset signal; and a second capacitor, coupled to the second terminal of the first switch.
In a similar technical field, Cheng discloses wherein the control terminal of the second switch receives a reset signal; and a second capacitor, coupled to the second terminal of the first switch (The first terminal of the feedback capacitor Cint1 is coupled to the second terminal of the switch 405, and the second terminal of the feedback capacitor Cint1 is coupled to the negative output terminal of the fully-differential amplifier 411. The first terminal of the reset switch 409 is coupled to the first terminal of the feedback capacitor Cint1, the second terminal of the reset switch 409 is coupled to the second terminal of the feedback capacitor Cint1, and the control terminal of the reset switch 409 receives the reset signal RES. The first terminal of the feedback capacitor Cint2 is coupled to the second terminal of the switch 406, and the second terminal of the feedback capacitor Cint2 is coupled to the positive output terminal of the fully-differential amplifier 411. The first terminal of the reset switch 410 is coupled to the first terminal of the feedback capacitor Cint2, the second terminal of the reset switch 410 is coupled to the second terminal of the feedback capacitor Cint2, and the control terminal of the reset switch 410 receives the reset signal RES; [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the reset teachings of Cheng into those of Shimizu, Lee, Ikeyama, and Kolar in order to easily control the operations of all the switches and the cancellation means (Cheng [0008]).
Regarding Claim 4, Shimizu discloses wherein the reference circuit further comprises a first switch (measuring switch 8) and a means for receiving a first reference voltage and a scan signal (group memory means 4).
Shimizu and Lee fail to disclose wherein the reference circuit further comprises: a first switch, having a first terminal, a second terminal, and a control terminal; and a second switch, having a first terminal, a second terminal, and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal of the second switch is coupled to the second terminal of the first switch, the second terminal of the second switch is coupled to the gate terminal of the output transistor.
Ikeyama discloses wherein the reference circuit further comprises: a first switch, having a first terminal, a second terminal, and a control terminal; and a second switch, having a first terminal, a second terminal, and a control terminal, wherein the first terminal of the second switch is coupled to the second terminal of the first switch, the second terminal of the second switch is coupled to the gate terminal of the output transistor (The phototransistors PT of the heartbeat sensors are connected in parallel to each other, each PT having one end connected to a power source and the other end connected to input terminals of analog switches AS1 and AS2. The analog switches AS1 and AS2 comprise each ten analog switching elements which have their output terminals commonly connected together. Connected to input terminals of those elements are the output terminals of the heartbeat sensors. Control signals SG1 and SG2 output from a microcomputer CPU are respectively applied to conduction control terminals of the analog switches AS1 and AS2 (each terminal including 10 lines). An output terminal (SG3) of the analog switch AS1 is connected to an input terminal of an analog switch AS3 through a demodulator DEM, and an output terminal (SG4) of the analog switch AS2 is connected to an input terminal of an analog switch AS4. Output terminals of the analog switches AS3 and AS4 are commonly connected together and then connected to an analog input terminal of an analog/digital converter ADC. The analog/digital converter ADC is in turn connected to the microcomputer CPU; Column 4 Lines 34-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the terminal teachings of Ikeyama into those of Shimizu and Lee in order to ensure that the circuitry comprises connections between the input and output terminals, the power source, and the microprocessor (Ikeyama Column 4 Lines 34-55).
Shimizu, Lee, Ikeyama, and Kolar fail to disclose wherein the second terminal of the first switch is coupled to the first capacitor, and the control terminal of the first switch receives a reset signal.
Cheng discloses wherein the second terminal of the first switch is coupled to the first capacitor, and the control terminal of the first switch receives a reset signal (The first terminal of the feedback capacitor Cint1 is coupled to the second terminal of the switch 405, and the second terminal of the feedback capacitor Cint1 is coupled to the negative output terminal of the fully-differential amplifier 411. The first terminal of the reset switch 409 is coupled to the first terminal of the feedback capacitor Cint1, the second terminal of the reset switch 409 is coupled to the second terminal of the feedback capacitor Cint1, and the control terminal of the reset switch 409 receives the reset signal RES. The first terminal of the feedback capacitor Cint2 is coupled to the second terminal of the switch 406, and the second terminal of the feedback capacitor Cint2 is coupled to the positive output terminal of the fully-differential amplifier 411. The first terminal of the reset switch 410 is coupled to the first terminal of the feedback capacitor Cint2, the second terminal of the reset switch 410 is coupled to the second terminal of the feedback capacitor Cint2, and the control terminal of the reset switch 410 receives the reset signal RES; [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the reset teachings of Cheng into those of Shimizu, Lee, Ikeyama, and Kolar in order to easily control the operations of all the switches and the cancellation means (Cheng [0008]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHANEL J YOON/Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /ALEX M VALVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791