DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed, 12 September 2025, of application filed, with the above serial number, on 05 November 2021 in which claims 1, 22-24 have been amended and claims 27-30 have been added. Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9-10, 22-30 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27-30 recites the limitation " the stream filter index value " in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims added recite ‘wherein the stream filter index value enables reporting of a status of individual stream filter instances’ or ‘wherein the stream filter index value enables setting of a status of individual stream filter instances.’ And Applicant notes (see arguments p. 11) support in the spec. in par. 34 as ‘The instance identification entity (e.g., StreamGateInstance, DS-TT port number value) enables per-instance parameter setting, per-instance parameter status reporting, and per-instance parameter update result reporting.’ However, this support appears to be for the StreamGateInstance, DS-TT port number value not the stream filter index value. With the antecedent basis issue above it is not clear if the stream filter index value is the value enabling such reporting or setting of status and it is further not clear where the setting is set or where the reporting is being sent to or if the providing of the table itself is such status reporting as mentioned in paragraph 3.
Claim 1, 22-24 recites the limitation "the respective stream filter instance values" in line 8-9 of exemplary claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is assumed the antecedent basis is for the ‘index’ value and plural, as it is further amended to be singular.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7, 9-10, 22-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TS 24.519 V16.2.0 (hereinafter “3GPP1”; NPL via IDS) in view of IEEE Std 802.1Q™-2018 (Revision of IEEE Std 802.1Q-2014) (hereinafter “802.1Q”, NPL cite “U”).
As per Claim 1, 3GPP1 discloses a method comprising:
managing port parameters related to ports in a time-sensitive networking (TSN) translator of a TSN network, wherein the port parameters comprise a stream filter instance table comprising n stream filter instances, wherein the stream filter instance table is configured for handling of respective stream filter instances of the n stream filter instances, wherein respective stream filter instances of the n stream filter instances comprise a PrioritySpec value, a StreamGateInstanceID value, a tsnStreamldldentificationType value, one or more tsnStreamIdParameters (at least sections 9.2 “Ethernet port management list”, 9.8; TSN AF-requested Ethernet port management procedure setting DS-TT or NW-TT parameters; Stream filter instance table information element is to convey a Stream filter instance table as defined 3GPP TS 23.501 [2] table 5.28.3.1-1; Figures 9.8.1&2: Fig. 9.8.1 Stream filter instance table with Stream filter instance indexes 1…n (see octets 4-o); Fig. 9.8.2 for a Stream filter instance 1 of octets 4-m with index values including PrioritySpec value, StreamGateInstanceID value tsnStreamIdIdentificationType value, tsnStreamIdParameters (which as shown in Fig. 9.8.3,4,5 have plurality of values); Ethernet port management list information element is to transfer from the TSN AF to the DS-TT or NW-TT); section 5.2.1.3, transfer from the TSN AF to the DS-TT or NW-TT a list of operations related to Ethernet port management of the DS-TT or NW-TT; Table 9.2.1: Ethernet port management list information element -> 00E0H Stream filter instance table; Subscribe-notify for parameter (to be notified of changes in the value of the corresponding parameter)) section 5.2.2, DS-TT-initiated Ethernet port management procedure ie. when 00E0H Stream filter instance table is indicated by the TSN AF), and wherein the managing port parameters comprises:
transmitting, by a TSN application function to the TSN translator, a manage port command message to set values of one or more stream filter instances of n stream filter instances, the manage port command message comprising the stream filter instance index value of respective ones of the one or more stream filter instances and values for the one or more stream filter instances (at least sections 8.1-8.1.1 “Manage Ethernet port command”, 9.2, 9.8; { Manage Ethernet port command wherein 8.1.1 specifies in table 8.1.1.1 that those commands in section 9.2 “Ethernet port management list” can be part of the command and section 9.2 lists on p. 33: “When the Ethernet port parameter name indicates Stream filter instance table, the Ethernet port parameter value field contains a Stream filter instance table as defined in 3GPP TS 23.501 [2] table 5.28.3.1-1, encoded as the value part of the Stream filter instance table information element as specified in clause 9.8.”}; TSN AF transmits Ethernet port management procedure setting to DS-TT or NW-TT [TSN translator] to set parameters; Stream filter instance table information element is to convey a Stream filter instance table as defined 3GPP TS 23.501 [2] table 5.28.3.1-1; Figures 9.8.1&2: Fig. 9.8.1 Stream filter instance table with Stream filter instances 1…n (see octets 4-o); Fig. 9.8.2 for a Stream filter instance 1 of octets 4-m with index values including PrioritySpec value, StreamGateInstanceID value tsnStreamIdIdentificationType value, tsnStreamIdParameters (which as shown in Fig. 9.8.3,4,5 have plurality of values); Ethernet port management list information element is to transfer from the TSN AF to the DS-TT or NW-TT); section 5.2.1.3, transfer from the TSN AF to the DS-TT or NW-TT a list of operations related to Ethernet port management of the DS-TT or NW-TT; Table 9.2.1: Ethernet port management list information element -> 00E0H Stream filter instance table; Subscribe-notify for parameter (to be notified of changes in the value of the corresponding parameter)) section 5.2.2, DS-TT-initiated Ethernet port management procedure ie. when 00E0H Stream filter instance table is indicated by the TSN AF); and
receiving, by the TSN application function from the TSN translator, a response to the manage port command message, the response comprising the stream filter instance index value of respective ones of the one or more stream filter instances and current values of respective ones of the one or more stream filter instances (at least sections 8.2-8.2.1 “Manage Ethernet port complete”, 9.2, 9.8; { Manage Ethernet port complete wherein 8.2.1 specifies in table 8.2.1.1 that those commands in section 9.4/9.5 “Ethernet port status” and/or “Ethernet port update result” can be part of the command and section 9.4 lists on p. 34: the status reports the (current) values of Ethernet port parameters of the DS-TT or NW-TT to the TSN AF; section 9.5 for ‘set parameter’ response with fig. 9.5.2 having parameters updated successfully and their values}).
3GPP1 fails to explicitly disclose a stream filter instance index value, wherein the respective stream filter instance values identify each stream filter instance in the stream filter instance table. However, the use and advantages for using such a system was well known to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the teachings of 802.1Q. 802.1Q discloses: “The stream filter instance table consists of an ordered list of stream filters that determine the filtering and policing actions that are to be applied to frames received on a specific stream. Each stream filter contains the following elements: a) A stream filter instance identifier. This is an integer value that uniquely identifies the filter instance, and acts as an index to the table. The ordering of the identifier values defines the ordering of the list of stream filters; smaller identifier values appear earlier in the ordered list.” (at least section 8.6.5.1, page 193-195; section 12.31 page 460-463). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the use of 802.1Q’s stream filter instance values acting as an index that uniquely identifies the filter instance with 3GPP1 as it is an IEEE standard that is referenced for the value in par. 70 of the instant specification, and 3GPP1 discloses the table in Fig. 9.8.1 having each instance listed in order and it would be obvious that each instance in Fig. 9.8.2 would also have a value that uniquely identifies that instance to be indexed to the table and also assist in ordering of the each streams filter in the ordered list in the table, allowing such per stream filtering and policing (PSFP).
As per Claim 3. The method according to claim 1, wherein the ports comprise Ethernet ports (at least section 9.2; Ethernet port management list information element is to transfer from the TSN AF to the DS-TT or NW-TT a list of operations related to Ethernet port management of the DS-TT or NW-TT).
As per Claim 5. The method according to claim 1, wherein the TSN translator comprises a device side TSN translator (DS-TT) or a network side TSN translator (NW-TT) (at least section 9.2; DS-TT or NW-TT).
As per Claim 6. The method according to claim 1, wherein the TSN translator comprises a device side TSN translator (DS-TT) and wherein a device comprises the DS-TT (at least sections 4, 9.2, 9.8; DS-TT).
As per Claim 7. The method according to claim 1, wherein the TSN translator comprises a network side TSN translator (NW-TT) and wherein the NW-TT and a user plane function are embodied by a common device (at least sections 4, 9.2, 9.8; NW-TT).
As per Claim 9. The method according to claim 1, further comprising receiving, by the TSN application function from the TSN translator, an indication that per-stream filter instance handling of the stream filter instance table is supported by the TSN translator (at least section 9.2, 9.8; 9.10-11, 5.2.3.2; When the Ethernet port parameter name indicates Stream filter instance table, the Ethernet port parameter value field contains a Stream filter instance table as defined in 3GPP TS 23.501 [2] table 5.28.3.1-1, encoded as the value part of the Stream filter instance table information element as specified in clause 9.8; 3GPP1 Section 5.2.3.2 discloses the DS-TT indicating to the TSN AF of ethernet port management capability being supported or not in a message).
As per Claim 10. The method according to claim 1, further comprising: setting, by the TSN translator, a feature support information element in a message to a value that indicates whether per-stream filter instance handling of the stream filter instance table is supported by the TSN translator or a value that indicates per-stream filter instance handling of the stream filter instance table is not supported by the TSN translator (at least section 9.2, 9.8; 9.10-11, 5.2.3.2; When the Ethernet port parameter name indicates Stream filter instance table, the Ethernet port parameter value field contains a Stream filter instance table as defined in 3GPP TS 23.501 [2] table 5.28.3.1-1, encoded as the value part of the Stream filter instance table information element as specified in clause 9.8; 3GPP1 Section 5.2.3.2 discloses the DS-TT indicating to the TSN AF of ethernet port management capability being supported or not in a message); and
transmitting, by the TSN translator, the message to the TSN application function (at least sections 9.10-9.11, 9.2, 9.8; convey discovered information for DS-TT ports to TSN-AF shown in Fig. 5.2.3.2.1).
As per Claim 22, 3GPP1 discloses a method comprising:
managing port parameters related to ports in a time-sensitive networking (TSN) translator of a TSN network, wherein the port parameters comprise a stream filter instance table comprising n stream filter instances, wherein the stream filter instance table is configured for handling of respective stream filter instances of the n stream filter instances, wherein respective stream filter instances of the n stream filter instances comprise a PrioritySpec value, a StreamGateInstanceID value, a tsnStreamldldentificationType value, one or more tsnStreamIdParameters (at least sections 9.2 “Ethernet port management list”, 9.8; TSN AF-requested Ethernet port management procedure setting DS-TT or NW-TT parameters; Stream filter instance table information element is to convey a Stream filter instance table as defined 3GPP TS 23.501 [2] table 5.28.3.1-1; Figures 9.8.1&2: Fig. 9.8.1 Stream filter instance table with Stream filter instance indexes 1…n (see octets 4-o); Fig. 9.8.2 for a Stream filter instance 1 of octets 4-m with index values including PrioritySpec value, StreamGateInstanceID value tsnStreamIdIdentificationType value, tsnStreamIdParameters (which as shown in Fig. 9.8.3,4,5 have plurality of values); Ethernet port management list information element is to transfer from the TSN AF to the DS-TT or NW-TT); section 5.2.1.3, transfer from the TSN AF to the DS-TT or NW-TT a list of operations related to Ethernet port management of the DS-TT or NW-TT; Table 9.2.1: Ethernet port management list information element -> 00E0H Stream filter instance table; Subscribe-notify for parameter (to be notified of changes in the value of the corresponding parameter)) section 5.2.2, DS-TT-initiated Ethernet port management procedure ie. when 00E0H Stream filter instance table is indicated by the TSN AF), wherein the managing port parameters comprises:
transmitting, by a TSN application function to the TSN translator, a manage port command message to obtain current values of one or more stream filter instances of the n stream filter instances of the stream filter instance table, the manage port command message comprising the stream filter instance index value of respective ones of the one or more stream filter instances (at least sections 8.1-8.1.1, 8.2.3 “Manage Ethernet port command”, 9.2, 9.8; { Manage Ethernet port command wherein 8.1.1 specifies in table 8.1.1.1 that those commands in section 9.2 “Ethernet port management list” can be part of the command and section 9.2 lists on p. 33: “When the Ethernet port parameter name indicates Stream filter instance table, the Ethernet port parameter value field contains a Stream filter instance table as defined in 3GPP TS 23.501 [2] table 5.28.3.1-1, encoded as the value part of the Stream filter instance table information element as specified in clause 9.8.” section 8.2.3 specifies command to be “Read parameter”}; TSN AF transmits Ethernet port management procedure setting to DS-TT or NW-TT [TSN translator] to set parameters; Stream filter instance table information element is to convey a Stream filter instance table as defined 3GPP TS 23.501 [2] table 5.28.3.1-1; Figures 9.8.1&2: Fig. 9.8.1 Stream filter instance table with Stream filter instances 1…n (see octets 4-o); Fig. 9.8.2 for a Stream filter instance 1 of octets 4-m with index values including PrioritySpec value, StreamGateInstanceID value tsnStreamIdIdentificationType value, tsnStreamIdParameters (which as shown in Fig. 9.8.3,4,5 have plurality of values); Ethernet port management list information element is to transfer from the TSN AF to the DS-TT or NW-TT); section 5.2.1.3, transfer from the TSN AF to the DS-TT or NW-TT a list of operations related to Ethernet port management of the DS-TT or NW-TT; Table 9.2.1: Ethernet port management list information element -> 00E0H Stream filter instance table; Subscribe-notify for parameter (to be notified of changes in the value of the corresponding parameter)) section 5.2.2, DS-TT-initiated Ethernet port management procedure ie. when 00E0H Stream filter instance table is indicated by the TSN AF); and
receiving, by a TSN application function from the TSN translator, a response to the manage port command message, the response comprising the stream filter instance index value and current values of respective ones of the one or more stream filter instances (at least sections 8.2-8.2.1 “Manage Ethernet port complete”, 9.2, 9.8; {Manage Ethernet port complete wherein 8.2.1 specifies in table 8.2.1.1 that those commands in section 9.4/9.5 “Ethernet port status” and/or “Ethernet port update result” can be part of the command and section 9.4 lists on p. 34: the status reports the (current) values of Ethernet port parameters of the DS-TT or NW-TT to the TSN AF; section 8.2.3 gives status in response to “read parameter”}).
3GPP1 fails to explicitly disclose a stream filter instance index value, wherein the respective stream filter instance values identify each stream filter instance in the stream filter instance table. However, the use and advantages for using such a system was well known to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as evidenced by the teachings of 802.1Q. 802.1Q discloses: “The stream filter instance table consists of an ordered list of stream filters that determine the filtering and policing actions that are to be applied to frames received on a specific stream. Each stream filter contains the following elements: a) A stream filter instance identifier. This is an integer value that uniquely identifies the filter instance, and acts as an index to the table. The ordering of the identifier values defines the ordering of the list of stream filters; smaller identifier values appear earlier in the ordered list.” (at least section 8.6.5.1, page 193-195; section 12.31 page 460-463). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the use of 802.1Q’s stream filter instance values acting as an index that uniquely identifies the filter instance with 3GPP1 as it is an IEEE standard that is referenced for the value in par. 70 of the instant specification, and 3GPP1 discloses the table in Fig. 9.8.1 having each instance listed in order and it would be obvious that each instance in Fig. 9.8.2 would also have a value that uniquely identifies that instance to be indexed to the table and also assist in ordering of the each streams filter in the ordered list in the table, allowing such per stream filtering and policing (PSFP).
As per Claim 27. The method according to claim 1, wherein the stream filter index value enables setting of a status of individual stream filter instances (at least 802.1Q section 8.6.5.1, page 193-195; section 12.31 page 460-463).
As per Claim 28. The method according to claim 22, wherein the stream filter index value enables reporting of a status of individual stream filter instances (at least 802.1Q section 8.6.5.1, page 193-195; section 12.31 page 460-463).
Claims 23, 24, 25, 26, 29, 30 do not, in substance, add or define any additional limitations over claims 1, 22, 9, 9, 27, 28 respectively, and therefore are rejected for similar reasons, supra.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 22-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GREGORY TODD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443